Willoughvale Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining3.7

Score Breakdown based on
46 Reviews

Write A Review

Ryan is a HOSTESS with THE MOSTEST!

2.8 on October 22, 2014

We booked for our first time visit at the end of the foliage seaon and stayed in the Robert Frost Cabin. It was lovely. However the fireplace did not work and wi fi did not work even though they were featured in the marketing! No cell phone service.. Maybe this is why there are free phone calls? The dining room was out of many of the choices on the menu and the staff attributed it to the end of the season even though the INN was totally booked for the weekend. What saved our rainy weekend was the hostess RYAN who accomodated us with dinner takeout and dessert even though the dinner reservations were booked solid. There was no room at the INN dining room. We got our dinner before the seated guests while we waited in the library. ( don't tell anyone). The lake is gorgeous and loons were calling. Though the docks had been taken out there were still canoes to paddle and scenery to swoon over. Plan on using your 4 wheel drive to get to your cabin in inclement weather. NOT a place for people who cannot get around easily!


Perfect!

4.6 on October 22, 2014

A estadia ,foi perfeita,assim como o atendimento.a hospedagem é muito bonita e o local tambem.


Beautiful Inn, relaxing and comfortable

4.6 on October 21, 2014

We loved the Lupine room with great views of the lake. It was large enough for the whole family and our dog-love having a dog friendly option! The dinner wa good, but the breakfast was great. Loved being able to use their canoes and the little play structure for the kids. The game room was a big draw in the rainy hours. Felt very welcome and comfortable.


Relaxing Stay

4.4 on October 21, 2014

The staff was very accommodating. We came for a day of mid-week bike riding in the NE Kingdom. Our timing was a bit off season. Before our arrival - the staff gave us a heads up that they didn’t have dinner service until Friday evening. So we packed a picnic dinner and they keep it cool for us. Super nice.


Birthday Getaway that Turned into Outstanding Experience

5 on October 17, 2014

Took my wife here on a the spur of a moment for a birthday getaway on Columbus Day weekend. Found it online and it looked promising. It was mostly booked up, but we managed to get the one room in the inn that was available. It was a garden view, so not spectacular, but check-in was exceptional with Ryan providing us with outstanding service and lots of info about the inn and the area. Room was very clean, somewhat spartan, bed comfortable, pillows not so much. Bathroom very clean, water pressure not great. Deck views outside were spectacular and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. Had some beers and cheese on porch and then dinner, which was a surprisingly gourmet meal that was outstanding in every way. Portions not large, but I had duck and my wife had Filet Mignon and the sauces, main courses and accompaniments were superb. Free continental breakfast in the morning was a step-up and included eggs. Every person on site went out of their way to welcome and charm us. We upgraded to a lakefront cabin for the second night and that was truly outstanding & spectacular in every way -- very clean, well laid out, TV/DVD, screened porch, deck with grill -- anything you would want. Foliage still remarkable, Lake Willoughby and mountain view breathtaking! Restaurant not open the second night but there is a wonderful country store run by Sandy & Jim a mile away with anything you would ever need -- including pizza! Overall, I would say this is the best bed & breakfast experience I have ever had. I would highly recommend this to anyone!


Northeast Kingdom gem!!!

5 on October 16, 2014

This was a return visit - very enjoyable - great people. My husband and I will certainly stay there again.


What a wonderful surprise!

4.6 on October 16, 2014

The pictures of the Willoughvale Inn did not do it justice! We stayed in the Gazebo room and it was like our own private bit of heaven. Drinking wine, looking out over the lake as the sun went down - it was splendid! Our dinner was first class and "hats off" to the chef! I highly recommend a stay at Willoughvale for anyone and hope to return!


Ready for our next visit!

4.8 on October 14, 2014

We enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and other travelers we met. We thoroughly enjoyed the beauty of the surrounding area. Our room and the common areas were all very nice and clean. My husband would have preferred a heavier breakfast, but I enjoyed breakfast both mornings. If they offer dinner while you're there, take advantage of it. It was only available one of the two nights we were there. It was delicious.


Lovely place to stay

2.8 on October 14, 2014

We stayed in the Angler lakeside cabin. It was perfect for the two of us and our dog. Mattress wasn't very comfortable for us, but that was the only downside. Food in restaurant wasn't great, but it was convenient. View was awesome!


Falls Color and nice vistas

3.8 on October 11, 2014

Well equipped cabin with great view and Jacuzzi tub. No instructions on how to use gas fired woodstove so never got it to work. Woke up at 7am by voices near this distant and isolated cabin. Sounded like gardeners working outside but finally decided it was chain saw noise. They were trimming a tree next to cabin with all their trucks circling my car, so they knew it was occupied. So tree trimmers were inconsiderate and owners didn't stop them.


pleasant view for a pleasant stay

4.2 on October 10, 2014

First time to Westmore, VT to view Lake Willoughby, took advantage of a perfect Inn to stay at, Willoughvale Inn. We were welcomed by a lovely lady who was most helpful and informative about the area and the history of the Inn. The Inn was well kept, quaint and extremely spotless. Fresh, crisp and unique hallways, rooms, and dining area. We chose to have dinner at the Inn, which was delicious, just enough food cooked by a wonderful chef, and served by a personable young lady from the area. We truly appreciated our quiet getaway at the Inn. The porch with the rockers was decorated with beautiful flowers of the season. We made sure to take advantage of the sitting room where we learned about the Inn and had a complimentary cup of hot coffee. It offered many lovely books, puzzles, maps and a television. The furniture was true to the era and comfortable.


Utterly wonderful

5 on October 10, 2014

We were lucky enough to arrive at the Inn on a warm sunny autumn(that's fall) evening. The view is spellbinding and the welcome from the staff was warm, friendly and informative. Great dinner, good sleep in a beautiful room with lake view(opened curtains, drapes, at dawn to lie in bed and gaze) and a breakfast to see you through the entire day. Should have booked longer. Couldn't fault it in any way.


Distance to alternative restaurants, a real problem

2.6 on October 04, 2014

The hotel advised that their restaurant was closed after booking, and that they had lists of local alternatives. These alternatives it transpired all involved round trips of over 20 miles which in late September was in the dark. The nearest alternative advised by the desk clerk , who even provided printed directions , was unfortunately found to be closed and we dined courtesy of a local store,(the ingredients) and the hotels off duty chef (plates and cutlery ). An adventure we did not really need !


Terrific Anniversary Stay!

5 on September 30, 2014

Nothing like a quick escape to Northern Vermont for an anniversary celebration. We had a terrific time. Clean room, great food, helpful and friendly staff. We'll be back!


on the Lake for 24 hours

4.2 on September 26, 2014

I spent an overnight at the Inn and wish I've had more time there. The setting is beautiful and the Inn a great place tp stay.


Willoughvale Inn

4.6 on September 25, 2014

We loved out stay at the Willoughvale Inn! The service is excellent, the rooms are comfortable, and the views are outstanding. There is a game room and playground which kept the kids busy. We cannot really comment on the dining as we only had the buffet breakfast which was ok,


Outstanding Experience

4.4 on September 19, 2014

The Inn lived up to everything we had heard about it. The staff was friendly and helpful, the location was amazing and the rooms were charming.


Our family Vermont vacation

5 on September 15, 2014

Our family vacation at one of the Lakeview cottages was outstanding. The accommodations had all of the conveniences of home. The location has a beautiful view of the lake with lake accessibility. The cottages was a short distance to the beach and other Vermont tourist venues.


Willoughvale

3.0 on September 11, 2014

cabin was so perfect and clean the inn smelled so we decided to have dinner some where else which was to bad because the bar looking over the water looked beautiful! Also the inn keeper said it wasn't tier busy season so they would only be open till 730 in the restaurant and bar, that does not make sense! Also doesn't seem fair to the customer who are there.


Angler cottage

4.4 on September 05, 2014

Spectacular location. Unusual to find a lakefront cottage that is available to rent by the day with daily housekeeping service, general hotel services, etc. Pricey but seemed worth the cost.


Our 10th anniversary get-away

4.8 on September 02, 2014

My husband and I were trying to find a great place to spend our 10th anniversary and our friends suggested the Willoughvale Inn cabins on the lake. We couldnt be happier with our stay-it was just what we needed. Beautiful lake,great cabin and wonderful surroundings and the staff was so nice. Thank You for making our 10th one to remember. We will be going back again for sure


Mixed feelings

2.8 on August 31, 2014

Most of my experience was positive, about what you would expect from a "high end" country inn, but things in the dining room were a sheer disappointment. It took 45 minutes to get my order out of the kitchen, and the place was not more than half-busy. Ive seen other reviews from prior years with the same complaint. They have one cook, one waitress and one hostess (who doubles as the Inn's receptionist during dinner hours) for about 50 seats. Also, the breakfast buffet was opened fifteen minutes late both mornings I was there. The thing that saves them from extinction is that ther are the only game in town!


Great place to stay

4.4 on August 25, 2014

On beautiful Lake Willoughby, you can take a canoe or a kayak, you can play bad mitton or build a fire, and swimming out to the trampoline raft is super fun, it's a beautiful place to visit, I would definitely stay here again.


A fun family weekend get away

4.2 on August 09, 2014

We had a great stay. We loved using the kayaks and having a bonfire at night. We also found the game room fun.


Temporary staffingissues in the kitchen.

3.8 on August 09, 2014

The restaurant was experiencing staffing issues and because of that was a disappointment. But the Inn, the room, the location, and the staff who were on hand were terrific.


A marvelous stay

5 on August 07, 2014

This was the perfect getaway. The staff was very helpful and the chef was excellent. We will definitely be returning here for future vacations. If you are looking to get away and decompress look no further than Willoughvale Inn. There's plenty to discover in the surrounding environs and towns. Be forwarned though that there is a lovely beach on the south end of Lake Willoughby that is commonly known as the nudie beach. We just ignored it and enjoyed the beach for its natural beauty (no pun intended).


Would definately return!

4.0 on August 07, 2014

We so enjoyed our stay! Especially nice during warm weather is that guests have access to the Inn's beach area for swimming, the water trampoline, kayaking, canoeing, paddleboarding and motor boat. There's also a net set up for badminton or volleyball and a playground for little ones. (And a larger sandy public beach is within walking distance). Nice care is taken of all the equipment and grounds, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our only wish and suggestion is that the breakfast offerings could be varied a little from day to day, with more attention to fresh fruit, especially when available locally during the summer. Strawberries were in season while we were there but we didn't see any in the dining room. A gluten free offering would be appreciated, too (although I brought my own).


Excellent stay

4.4 on August 05, 2014

We had a very relaxing and wonderful stay at the Willoughvale Inn. The staff was great, the location and facilities could not have been better!


Overnight stay

5 on July 29, 2014

Overnight stay.. Rooms are very clean and everyone was very welcoming! Will definitely stay again and will recommend!! - Kris L.


A wonderful getaway.

5 on July 26, 2014

A gorgeous location. Very relaxing. Great food and ambience. Highly recommended.


One Night Stay at Willoughvale

4.4 on July 26, 2014

No gardens to liven up the vista toward Lake Willoughby, but the Inn itself is quite nice. The room was very clean; bath towels very large and fluffy; but decor and fixtures need updating. Food was outstanding, as was service in the bar dining area. Wonderful receptionist and very presentable and personable staff overall.


Love Lake Willoughby

3.2 on July 25, 2014

We come to the lake every year and stay at various places. This is the third time at the Willoughvale Inn, each time in a different room. The first and second rooms were downstairs, one was the Gazebo Room which is for 2 people. These are great rooms. This time I had my two adult daughters so we stayed at a room upstairs, The Westmore. It had a fridge in the closet and coffee maker. Included is free phone calls to anywhere in the U.S. and free wi-fi. We had a power outage the 2nd night and never got the wi-fi back for the next day. We were given a lantern only because my daughter happened to open the door when someone was coming up to put a lantern in the hall. We went to the beach and shopping in Saint Johnsbury at the Farmer's Daughter. (Farmers Daughter has new ownership so now open again!)


July review

5 on July 24, 2014

The Inn is charming and really lovely. We stayed in the Governor Aiken suite it was beautiful, cozy, very clean and had a wonderful view of the lake.


Willoughvale stay

4.6 on July 19, 2014

Have stayed here a few times and every time is always fantastic. The staff are the most friendliest and helpful at all times. Truly a great place to stay.


Lakeside Lovely

3.6 on July 16, 2014

We unfortunately were only staying for one night, but had a chance to canoe on lovely Lake Willoughby and enjoy the Inn's waterfront. Our room was spacious, well appointed with a panoramic view of the lake and mountains . The staff were very helpful and suggested a great restaurant for lunch that we would have never discovered on our own. We'll be back !


Beautiful location, the lake is magniicent

4.4 on July 07, 2014

My wife and I loved the lake and the inn. Wonderful time.


Our favorite place in the Northeast Kingdom

4.4 on July 02, 2014

We keep coming back to the Willoughvale because of the fabulous location. The lakeside cabins beautifully situated. The renovation done to the Robert Frost Cabin (the one we have always stayed at with one exception) have made it even better. The kitchen is more than adequate, and the DVD and TV are great. Our only complaint is the "rustic" furniture which may be some of the least comfortable we've ever sat on! (Moving the cushions around make it work) The bedrooms are fine; though it may be getting time to replace the beds themselves. Dining at the inn has been mixed. Most of the time the food was quite good; but some of the days the restaurant is closed, so it's not easy to depend on it. The "continental" breakfast was ok, but nothing to rave about. Mostly we used the kitchen facilities in the cabin and do our own breakfast, and sometimes evening meal. The staff have always been attentive, friendly and helpful. A few years back, during an exceptionally hot spell, the staff recommended that we switch from the Robert Frost to one of the lake view cabins because the A/C in the Robert Frost was really not coping with the 90 degree heat. The lakeside cabins have much newer beds and generally feel a lot more upscale--but, and it's a big drawback for us, you miss being right on the lake and hearing the loons. To summarize: for us it's the location on one of the most iconic spots in New England that is the big selling point. You may not experience the coziness or cameraderie of a smaller inn (especially if you stay in one of the cabins) but the views at sunrise and sunset more than compensate.


a Great place to spend time at the lake

4.6 on June 25, 2014

The cottage was right on the lake with a view that would be very hard to top. Our cottage had a very cozy feel; just what one would expect in Vermont. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back; we have book a return trip in August.


good getaway

3.6 on June 18, 2014

fabulous locale but little service was available during off peak season


Great spot and great service

3.6 on June 10, 2014

We were fortunate enough to get the last available room with short notice. Had a nice dinner, great, friendly staff who took good care of us. I loved the firm bed, my wife did not. Continental breakfast was adequate. Really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return.


Best B&B in Vermont

5 on May 16, 2014

We love staying at this beautiful inn in Vermont- Lake Willoughby is breathtaking


nice night away

4.0 on May 14, 2014

Room was large with a nice bathroom and a nice deck over looking the lake. Staff/owners were very friendly answered questions and made sure we were happy. Will stay there again.


One of my Favorite Places!

3.6 on April 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Willoughvale for the past two years as a birthday "gift" to myself. The Weathervane room is beautiful and has a gorgeous view of Lake Willoughby. This will be an annual visit for us!! Love this place!!


An amazing experience

4.4 on August 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at one of their private cottages and were blown away by the views and quality of the modern yet country-like cottage. We loved it so much we made reservations for three more nights in October! The service was great, and the front desk lady even allowed us to check in an hour early and rest our camping-weary bones The dinner dining was perfect. However, the continental breakfast left room to be desired - the cereals and breads were decent, but the pancakes seemed hastily made and slightly burnt, and the eggs were just baked and left out, allowing a waxy coat to form on top that looked inedible.


Best romantic weekend ever!

5 on November 11, 2011

Thanks so much for a fantastic weekend away. The gazebo suite aw perfect...from the spectacular view, chocolates and champagne on arrival, tasty breakfast, kayaking on the lake....not to mention the staff that was so helpful. We can not wait to plan our next trip.


Willoughvale Inn

4.4 on November 29, 2007

We had a delightful stay in a glorious room. The room was well-designed and well-appointed. The only problem is that the Inn is a little too close to the road.


Willoughvale Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $88 - $182
  • Reviews (46) 4.3
  • Rooms 18

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8025254123
  • Fax 1-8025254514
  • Toll free 1-8005949102

Visit Website »

View details

Top