Old Stagecoach Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
56 Reviews

Write A Review

In the heart of Waterbury

4.2 on October 01, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a trip to New England. Our first stop was Waterbury and we stayed at the Old Stagecoach Inn. Waterbury was the highlight of the trip and this Inn did not disappoint. It's right in the heart of the town (very small town). It felt like we were spending the night at someone's house rather than an Inn. It was very clean and the room had a lot of character. We were very happy with our stay here.


Charming old inn and perfect for a one night stay

3.4 on September 26, 2012

I'm a solo traveler and I stayed here for one night on my New England Road Trip in September. I stayed on the second floor in room #3. Pros: My room was spacious, considering I was in one of the gables. Comfy bed, and plenty of room to move around. The location of the Inn is great, since it's just off the freeway and within walking distance of several restaurants and shopping. John totally reminded me of my Grandpa and we chatted in the bar located on site after I returned from dinner about the previous years flood, 60 minutes and random stuff. They do serve a full breakfast in the morning so guests have plenty of options in the morning. I had the Vermont cheddar omelet with toast and fruit. So good! Cons: The price is right, but you do share a bathroom. Not really a con for me, but I could see how it could be if you spend a long time in the bathroom. My room did have its' own sink, so I was able to shower in the communal bathroom and dash back to my room to finish my morning routine. If you're looking for a romantic room that you will never leave, this is not it but it was perfect for my one night stay as I was just passing through town.


Excellent!

5 on August 10, 2012

Friendly, accommodating, and exceptional service! Clean and quaint rooms at very reasonable prices. John B and staff very welcoming. Highly recommend!


Elegant & friendly

5 on August 08, 2011

Incredible welcoming and responsive staff/owner. The breakfast was great as well. And the owners little dog was fun! Highly recommended,


Columbus Women's Club experience with VT B&B

4.8 on August 05, 2011

19 of us invaded the inn and we had a wonderful time. Hospitality was great, rooms were great, location was great, and breakfast was fabulous!


Genteel Simplicity

4.2 on July 14, 2011

A beautifully cared-for inn-friendly innkeepers, phenomenal breakfast, comfortable surroundings, quiet relaxation (no phone or TV!), all centrally located in an excellent location for a getaway. We'll be back.


great time

4.6 on February 14, 2011

We had a great time, nice rooms, great food, excellent service and a lovely Inn. ...did I mention the breakfast? It's the Best! We found a place to stay when visiting Vermont!


Great B&B

5 on February 08, 2011

Excellent breakfast, nice old-fashioned rooms, ours was quite toasty for our winter stay, and the price was good. Great location a stone's throw from some good restaurants and excellent bars and the staff was ridiculously friendly and courteous. Will definitely stay there again.


Nice bed, great location

4.2 on January 30, 2011

Friendly inn, great location. Nice, clean, well-organized, but the breakfast is the star. Great food.


Great historic Inn

4.4 on October 26, 2010

Our first visit to Vermont from Florida. What a wonderful Inn to base our travels from, friendly inn keepers, comfortable room, and a great breakfast each morning. Enjoyed being able to walk to restaurants downtown and easy access to area attractions.


Old Stagecoach Inn

4.0 on September 03, 2010

After an exhausting day of hiking it was so nice to find Stagecoach Inn. Its a homey comfortable house,they have friendly and helpful staff, and delicious brakfast


waterbury vt historic B & B visit

4.0 on August 23, 2010

The breakfast was tops-with generous portions, customized to YOUR preferences.What a great start to the day!! The staff was friendly and attentive, especially the gals.


Good Bed, Fantastic Breakfast!

4.2 on August 16, 2010

The Stagecoach Inn is a charming B&B with kind owners and filled with antiques. The night's stay was very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing! The huevos rancheros were the best I've ever had!


Loads of Character, Great Breakfast

4.4 on August 11, 2010

Stayed in room #8, very large and comfortable. The inn is furnished with interesting antiques throughout. Charming and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent! Thanks to John.


A Vermont Gem

5 on August 03, 2010

Unbelievable! If you want to feel at home while travelling, this is the place to visit. The owners and their staff are top notch in service and knowledge of the area. Don't hesitate to ask about anything local, they have the answers. The food is great, breakfast is better than any I have had anywhere. Clean, warm and cozy, that's what this Inn is. We are already planning a return trip in January.


Visit With Daughter

5 on August 02, 2010

We were very impressed with the inn. The innkeeper was very resourceful in being able to accommodate our needs. The made to order breakfast was an unexpected pleasure. I highly recommend the Old Stagecoach Inn.


Great inn, great value

4.6 on July 24, 2010

Great service, friendly staff, spacious room, fabulous breakfast! For the price this inn far exceeded my expectations.


Never Felt More Welcome!

5 on June 25, 2010

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, it was perfect! The Parlor, the Bar, the rooms, the food, the people, the surrounding areas, the ambiance, the dog, the parrot, the scenery, genuine feeling of family! It was all there!!! Thanks!!!


Lovely!

5 on April 02, 2010

Charming; the breakfast - huevos rancheros - was great; lovely innkeepers; cute dachshund, May, and temperamental African Grey are great assets too.


Felt Like Home

4.2 on March 15, 2010

Very welcoming, anything you needed they had or would help you find. Loved the animals and overall feel of the inn.


Lots of Character

4.0 on March 08, 2010

This is not a "stuffy"-staid" B & B! This inn has a lot of character! It is full of activity and yet, provides a restful night's sleep and a welcoming, homey atmosphere. The many bedrooms are filled up on weekends(quieter during the week), the breakfast is open to the public, and the inn has a resident "animal life" that adds charm to the place! Take the train to Waterbury! The Old Stagecoach Inn is about a half mile from the train station-an easy walk, even in dead of winter. The breakfast was a combination buffet and cook-to-order. Everything was delicious! (Especially the cinnamon rolls) The whole inn is eclectically decorated, which gave an added interest over other typically "fluffy" decorated B&B's. Our friends and we took the two largest rooms and they were very clean and offered plenty of "visiting" space. The very well-stocked bar is a quiet refuge compared to the youth-filled bars in town. Errol, the bartender, is very knowledgeable about Vermont history. The best was the African Grey Parrot and Max the dog, who added their personalities to the overall operation. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.


Old School Charm with a Great Breakfast

3.8 on February 25, 2010

Great inn. Wonderful breakfast. Nice bar area.


Very hospitable

4.6 on February 19, 2010

The staff was wonderful here and my family was well taken-care-of. We will definitely come back!


Fabulous Weekend

5 on February 17, 2010

The facility, staff and food were absolutely wonderful! The five days we stayed at the Old Stagecoach Inn were like staying with family - so warm, welcoming, the breakfasts extraordinary!


Excellent place and will stay again this Summer

4.2 on January 28, 2010

we stayed at the Inn for 4 nights during the weekend of MLK holiday. John, the Inn keeper was very helpful especially with the discount tickets for Bolton Valley ski lifts. The breakfast aws outstanding, 5 stars and very plentfuf. we felt like at home espcially the fire place, Max and Sophie


Ideal B&B

4.2 on January 12, 2010

Friendly innkeepers and staff. Extensive breakfast selection nad all choices are delicious! Clean and cozy. Great rates!


Home away from home

4.8 on January 07, 2010

We felt right at home by the fire with Max sleeping at our feet. Five star breakfast and accomodation. The Waterbury location is central to various ski slopes. Restaurants are within walking distance.


Great Find!!!

4.4 on November 15, 2009

We stayed at the Old Stagecoach Inn the last week of October and had a wonderful time! The inns location was terrific for exploring the area, and there is so much to do that we ran out of time before we ran out of activities! The Inn keepers John and Jack are both great. We discovered that my husband and jack went to the same high school just 45 years apart! Jack is a magnificent story teller and is very engaging. Max (the dog) and Sophie (the parrot) are definitely the real stars of the place. They supplied us with a lot of entertainment on our visit, and are a constant topic of conversation. The inn was very homey; during our stay the Phillies were playing in the World Series and when we mentioned we were from Philadelphia they left the Bar TV room open late for us so that we could watch the game. The breakfast was fantastic; the homemade salsa for the cheese omelet was super duper tasty! It is definitely a must try. We loved our room (I think it was #2) it was huge with a private bathroom, and had seating area. The bed was extremely comfortable. We had dinner one evening down the street at the Alchemist and what a great place! Get the sweet potatoes fries! TRUST ME! Overall we had a great time and loved our time at the Old Stagecoach Inn!


Going back in time

3.8 on November 06, 2009

A warm welcome awaits guests at the Old Stagecoach Inn -- log fire, talking parrot and the taste of a bygone age. Breakfast is outstanding!


Old Stagecoach Inn

3.4 on October 27, 2009

Relaxing, homey historic building. Very helpful owners & staff. Breakfast selection wide and very good. hot food cooked to order!


Old Stagecoach Inn

3.6 on October 16, 2009

Great accommodations and a super breakfast.


Old Stagecoach Inn

4.4 on October 08, 2009

Nice place -- very friendly and great homemade breakfast!


A Step Back In Time

5 on September 30, 2009

We felt like we had gone back to a simpler time. No one hurries. Everything is provided. People are friendly and courteous. Time to relax & enjoy life.


Wonderful stay

4.4 on September 22, 2009

This was the ideal inn experience. The town is adorable; the inn was lovely and the breakfast hearty and amazing. We would visit again and again.


Sept Visit

5 on September 22, 2009

John (owner) was simply superb. His staff was very pleasant and friendly. Food was awesome with many selections. Will stay here again and recommend this inn strongly.


Vermont getaway

5 on August 19, 2009

We were greeted cheerfully and efficiently and the accommodations could not have been nicer. The food was outstanding as was the atmosphere. We would definitely choose the Stagecoach Inn again!


Fabulous hospitality!

5 on August 06, 2009

Homey atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone.


Intimate

5 on August 04, 2009

The host, John, was very cordial, courteous, and helpful in recommending local attractions. The room & bed were great but the highlight was the breakfast. By far the best we had on a thirteen day trip through New England.


Old Stagecoach Inn - There may not be a better place to stay in New England!

4.8 on August 02, 2009

Want to stay in an 1800's environment? With some of today's conveniences, but the ease to be anywhere with something fast? Burlington? Waterbury? This Inn will take you back - way back - in time, yet is close to everything. Lake Champlain, waterfalls, Ben and Jerry's factory tour, colleges, restaurants and much more are an easy walk or drive. The food at the Inn is terrific! The rooms are amazing. The environment is incredibly tasteful. The hosts are gracious and knowledgable. If there is a better place in New England to stay, I have not seen it. Incredible! Truly incredible!


Untitled

4.0 on July 31, 2009

The stay was excellent. Having the lovely breakfast opportunities is a plus.


THE Place to Stay

4.8 on July 04, 2009

What a delightful time we had staying at the Old Stagecoach Inn. Conveniently located and very comfortable, the inn was perfect for our two nights there. The proprietors were friendly and very helpful with all our needs. The breakfast was out standing and the bar was comfortable and fully equiped. We stayed in the two bedroom suite so we had plenty of space and a full kitchen to store whatever we brought in. They even had the most adorable dachsund to make us feel at home. This is THE place to stay in a wonderful part of Vermont. This was our first trip to VT and the Inn made it very special.


it was like going home

5 on June 11, 2009

Waterbury and The Old Stagecoach was just what we were looking for!


We'll be back!

4.2 on June 02, 2009

An unexpected hitch in our plans led to a 4-night stay rather than our originally planned 2. A definite draw is the amazing breakfast and great hospitality. We're coming back in Sept with 9 others. Perfect area for cycling and exploring - lots to see and do within a half hour drive.


wonderful stay-will return!

5 on April 09, 2009

Rooms were well-appointed. Antiques and memorabilia abound. Very friendly, nice parrots and dog. Excellent breakfast.


gracious, comfort at the inn

4.8 on March 03, 2009

We had a wonderful four days at the inn. The owners and staff go out of their way to accommodate guests. The inn is beautifully appointed with antiques and they include a large, delicious breakfast!


Great breakfast, terrible bed

3.0 on March 03, 2009

The inn is a really fun place in a great location. They let us bring our dog and treated us to two excellent breakfasts. The only problem was we had a great room with a TINY bed shaped like a taco; even our dog didn't want to sleep in it!


Surprisingly wonderful alternative to condos

4.8 on February 23, 2009

With a family, we normally rent condos or houses for our ski vacations, but we found the Old Stagecoach to be perfect. With our breakfasts prepared and ski beverages all bases were covered. Can't wait to return!


winter wonderland

5 on February 18, 2009

Just a fantastic peace to stay if you are in route to Montreal or here for days to spend in the area. Breakfast was the best I've ever had in an inn!


Convivial Comfort

4.2 on January 31, 2009

We enjoyed talking with the innkeeper over a cocktail when a couple from the Netherlands came in. This led to fond reminisences of travel. Following a night in spacious Room #1, we had to restrain ourselves at the sumptuous breakfast. We would definitely go again.


Everything and anything you could ask for!

5 on December 09, 2008

Great hosts! Great food! Great room! hot showers! Comfy bed! MAX! We won't stay anywhere else!


Old Stagecoach Inn

3.4 on November 17, 2008

I enjoyed my stay, although, the suite was slightly shabby and not modern. I was disappointed in the suite, but enjoyed the common areas, the location, and the breakfasts- food was outstanding!


Great place to visit!

5 on November 12, 2008

My wife and I needed to get away from city life and found The Old Stagecoach Inn through B&B.com. We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay there. John & Jack were very welcoming and made our stay very comfortable. Ask for Room 1 - very spacious and it has a fireplace. The breakfast was excellent. John is a great cook, and we strongly recommend the Huevos Rancheros (and ask John for some of his homemade salsa). We also enjoyed the company of Max, a friendly daschund who loves to hang around people. The Inn is very close to the train station and is a few steps away from the local pubs and restaurants. The small town of Waterbury has excellent pubs with lots of samples of great Vermont microbrewery beers. Strongly recommend The Old Stagecoach Inn. My wife and I will definitely be back!


What a great place

4.2 on October 28, 2008

We loved the Old Stage Coach, with its old world charm and friendly welcome and check in. Our room was spacious with wonderful antique furniture and a massive bed, so we had a good night's sleep. Then, in the morning, we had a great breakfast. We came from England and it was like a home from home. We will be back.


Wayne's VT trip

3.4 on October 27, 2008

Food was terrific! linens changed daily, but 'insect casings' found in bed each morning - some towels smelled 'moldy' - floors of bedroom not swept in long time - crumbs and dust under bed from beginning to end.


Waterbury B&B

3.4 on October 05, 2008

We picked the Old Stagecoach Inn because of the location. The room was clean and the food was fine, but nothing special.


A Visit-Again Inn

4.8 on October 01, 2008

Authentic 19th c. Stagecoace inn is original chestnut wahscotting, doors, fireplace; primitive American art; cozy pub & livingroom. The innkeeper, ohn, cooks anything you want to order for breakfast - yum! Top it all off with a talkative, smart African grey Parrot and a friendly doghund! Lots to see and do in the area, and good restaurants. This is a visit again Inn!


Old Stagecoach Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $150
  • Reviews (56) 4.4
  • Rooms 11

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8022445056
  • Fax 1-8022446956
  • Toll free 1-8002622206

Visit Website »

View details

Top