The Mountain Road Resort Reviews

Overall
3.9

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Service3.9
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining3.3

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

Great place to stay

4.4 on October 25, 2014

It is in the perfect spot in Stowe. Right in the middle from downtown to Mt. Mansfield. I stayed in the Mansfield room and it was very cozy and spacious. The jacuzzi they advertise is nothing special and slightly dated, but still makes for a relaxing tub. The fireplace in the room is great on the cold nights. The room is right next to the indoor pool and spa. The indoor pool isn't heated so it was a little colder than i had anticipated. But the hot tub was great. They even had an air hockey table which is a nice touch for families. The staff was very friendly and quiet, you almost don't realize they are there. Which is great compared to bigger hotels and resorts that have a lot of hustle and bustle going on. Breakfast was good and had fresh food, and they do have drinks in the evening. I would definitely stay here again. The place was great for the price and i had a wonderful stay. I would recommend staying in a club suite room as they are more spacious and its not a far walk to the indoor pool and spa.


OK stay

3.2 on October 14, 2014

We stayed in The Mountain Road Resort for one night. It has a nice location, just outside of Stowe. The room was neat and clean and beds okay. We noted that the room pictures on the internet site were not the same as the actual room; it wasn't as nice as shown on the internet site. Also, there wasn't a coffee maker although that should have been in our room according to the room description.... Overall OK and reasonable value for money.


very nice

3.2 on July 17, 2014

Great location. The main building and lobby have recently been renovated and are modern and chic.Our room- less so. It was spacious but outdated and definitely in need of renovation. The bathroom was clean but smelled bad. Given the outdoorsy nature of Stowe, we just spent much of our time around the grounds and spent less time indoors. The dining area was a bit of a mess, likely temporarily, as the floor was being replaced (?) and covered with sheets of paper. the breakfast (included) however was fantastic- a wide range of cereal, fruit, bagels, pastries, which was much more than we expected. The indoor and outdoor pools are great and the grounds very quaint. We enjoyed our stay overall and it provided very good value for our money and we would definitely return, but elect a room in the newer main section..


cool modern lodging in a beautiful setting

4.0 on May 03, 2014

very pleasantly surprised by the modern decor and amenities- wonderful public space in the lobby/breakfast room. only disappointment was that it wasn't open to us when we arrived in the early evening due to our april timing when everything in the area seems to be shut down. highly recommended!


Great Convenient Stay

3.0 on February 23, 2014

The room was recently renovated and clean, bathroom was not renovated but was very clean and had plenty of hot water and water pressure (hard to come by in Stowe!) My only gripe is that the room is very dark during the day - not alot of natural light. Also, not a lot of outlets, so had to unplug lamps to charge cell phones. Not a big deal but a power strip would have been ideal. A little pricey, but would definitely stay here again considering the freshness of the room and proximity to the mountain.


Great stay during vacation week!

5 on January 04, 2014

We loved this place. Nice pool and game room for nighttime fun. Really close to everything in the town. Great price for the expensive vacation week. No complaints and would stay here again. Best part is that they allow dogs! never ate there so I just have that 5 stars.


Very nice surprise

4.4 on October 18, 2013

What a lovely place ! We were very charmed by everything. I know that we'll be back again because it's near from everything at Stowe. The staff was really helpful in all our demands. Nice place to discover !


Great location and beautiful!

4.2 on July 18, 2013

Great place to stay in Stowe! The surroundings are beautiful, the pools were wonderful, and the grounds were picture perfect! The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The best pancakes in town are across the street, and there is a market at the end of the drive with delicious food, drinks, craft beer and wine. :) We really could not have asked for a better location. This was our first visit, and we will be coming back!


Very good value !

4.0 on April 28, 2013

We have been going at the Mountain Road Resort : twice a year since 2004 , new administration , new renovation , very nice . We have travelled in many countries (over 15), Stowe is a wonderful place to RELAX ! Marc/CANADA .


Comfortable stay; good value. Eat breakfast elsewhere!

3.2 on January 05, 2013

Hotel is partially renovated; renovated sections really lovely and non-fully-renovated rooms have everything needed for comfort. Non-renovated rooms are good size, clean and bed very comfortable. Furniture older but fine. Sofa bed OK - not great. Pool and hot tub are fabulous; gorgeous outdoor view. Renovated lobby/bar/breakfast very nice. Two downsides to this property: 1) breakfast is really pathetic. Cellophane covered danish that you can buy really cheaply at the supermarket, bagels still in supermarket plastic bags, no oatmeal, cheap, sugary cereals (fruit loops, cinnamon toast crunch, etc) in single-serve plastic bowls, some fresh fruit (best part of this breakfast) and good coffee. We've traveled quite a bit and stayed everywhere from the Four Season's to the Super 8. This goes down as one of the worst breakfast offerings we've ever experienced. What's worse is that we believe it's intentional not to spend $'s or time on breakfast because the afternoon appetizers are quite elegant and tasty. So, the innkeepers clearly know what better quality is, but are choosing not to offer better quality at breakfast, which is key when heading out to ski. By simply adding some muffins from the Harvest Market, picking some better quality cereals and maybe adding oatmeal and a do-it yourself waffle iron (none of which are too expensive), things would improve greatly. 2) Walls are thin. This wasn't an issue for us until our last night when a group of kids were clearly staying above us. Jumping/stomping/voices could definitely be heard clearly. The first several nights we had quieter neighbors & didn't suffer at all from the thinner walls. So, it's the luck of the draw. All in all, we would definitely stay here again, though if we find somewhere around the same price point with a better breakfast, we'd probably try that. A good value for the money & very comfortable overall.


Very good over all experience

4.2 on September 12, 2011

Room was great, big, clean Bed was comfortable Will stay here again on any trip to VT


Room 36

4.0 on March 09, 2011

We packed 5 people into room 36 which is in the building with the indoor pool and away form the main building. It was nice with a little kitchen area, fireplace, 2 double beds, patio and enough space for an air matress on the floor. The "mirror top bar" that they claimed was in the room was not there, but thats ok. The pool area/hot tub was pretty nice. We partied hard the few nights we stayed there and had no problem, other than there was no large garbage can, or place to put all of our beer cans. Nice little bar across the street and the Rusty Nail is right down the street within walking distance. Good Location and good price, ill probably be back in the summer with my mountain bikes.


It was great all around! We had a good stay!

4.0 on January 16, 2011

Hotel is bigger than it seems in photos- We stayed in the separate building by the pool. It was great! Our room was an upgrade, but it was very large (set-up like a small apartment with living area and fireplace). Like everyone said, the furniture is older and outdated, but the rooms are extremely clean and nice. Service was great- We will go back again!


Lovely People

4.2 on January 07, 2011

The service here was incredible; everyone who works here was so nice and easy-going. We were really able to make ourselves at home in the lobby. They even picked up our skis for us from the post office! The rooms aren't swanky, but are perfectly adequate. If you're expecting the Ritz, look elsewhere. If you want a clean, good sized room with a comfy bed, you'll be well pleased. The location is great. The lodge is cozy and attractive (with local beers on draft!). The hot tub is nice. The people are unbeatable. Highly, highly recommended. Will definitely stay again next time I'm in Stowe.


Very Satisfied!!! Needs longer hours

3.4 on January 07, 2011

We stayed at the Mountain Road Resort for 4 nights over New Year's week. The price they charged was a steal during this peak week! Location was perfect: halfway between the mountain & the main part of town. It was easily accessible to Rtes. 100 & 89, so we got to explore the Burlington & Shelburne areas as well. I got a great deal from Bed&Breakfast.com & also had a coupon code. We paid about $125 per night & the room was warm, clean & spacious. I can’t believe pets stay here as there was absolutely no odor. However, the rooms were a bit outdated, but still had newer rugs. I knew this ahead of time so I wasn’t expecting a contemporary room. The shower head was better than the one I have at home but the bath towels were tiny. Hairdryer & coffee pot was in the room & the mini-fridge & wet bar area were very much needed & used! Breakfast was nice (an AMAZING quiche on Sunday that I need the recipe for) but it could’ve started & ended later. The resort had more of a bed & breakfast/motel feel to the place. The front desk staff was very willing to do whatever you needed to make your stay more enjoyable. The pool & hot tub were nice but I wished they had been open later. There were always a few kids jumping in & out of the jacuzzi during the early evening so we didn’t get much relaxation. If we were able to access it later, it would better accommodate those guests without children. I would have also have liked the common area with the fireplace to be open later as I was looking forward to drinking a bottle of wine by the fireplace & ringing in the New Year. However, The Grey Fox Inn across the street does have a bar, which I sadly didn’t realize until the next day. I wouldn't really consider the area next to the breakfast room a "wine bar" so you may be best off purchasing your own at the market or the wine stores down the road (Fine Wines or the state liquor store are about a 5 minute drive). Overall, we had a fantastic trip. Rooms were quiet & I slept like a baby!


A nice place to stay in Stowe

3.8 on December 04, 2010

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff, especially Gen. Mgr. Robert, very helpful. There were a few issues but they were addressed satisfactorily.


Second stay, better than the first

3.8 on December 03, 2010

We recently stayed at the Mountain Road Resort for the second year in a row. We were disappointed with a broken refrigerator in our room last year, but liked enough other things about the accomodations that we decided to give it a try again this year. Location is great, on Mountain Road between Stowe village and the mountain. The kids loved the pool, and Mom and Dad were pleased with the jacuzzis (both the private one in our suite and the one near the pool). No breakfast during "shoulder season" now, but they only offer a continental breakfast in season anyhow. We were only too pleased to have a warm breakfast at the Dutch Pancake Cafe across the street. Pretty good value for the money by Stowe standards, and a working refrigerator this time. Plus, they allow dogs without any hassle. We will be back.


What a Value!!! wonderfully accomodating

4.4 on July 03, 2010

My husband and I travel to Stowe at least twice a year and prior to this trip we had never strayed from the Stoweflake resort. We had always liked the grounds of the mountain rd resort so we stopped in and were greeted by Kyle, who was very welcoming and knowledgeable. He even gave us a bit off the room rate since we were a walk in. Kyle explained that the resort had recently changed management (someone local with a hospitality background) and to please provide him with any constructive comments. Well, the room couldn't have been cleaner and the service was warm and friendly so the only thing negative I could mention was the outdoor pool (which was not open but not a big deal to us), Kyle then explained that they were replacing the liner and pool deck this year and apologized that it was taking a bit more time than anticipated. Overall the accommodations are great and especially great when you consider the perfectly priced rate!! We have found our new spot in Stowe!


Do not stay here!

4.0 on May 26, 2010

When my husband and I booked this room we did so on the basis of the appearance of the place not only on B&B's website but on the establishment's website, the description of our room, and also reviews from other patrons on a completely different website. At the time it seemed like a sure thing! Great room and a great price! Boy, were we misled... When we arrived, no one was in the lobby to assist us. (4 in the afternoon) The number provided to reach someone for 'immediate assistance' was of no use as the phone I was directed to use was broken. After waiting for someone to show up, I had to look up the number of the motel myself and call in order to reach someone. I did and he came down from wherever he had been and checked us in. We drove between two overflowing dumpsters to get to our room which should have been a sign to begin with. The room had a "funky" smell as though it had not been aired in quite a while. The "jacuzzi" tub was pink with peeling butterfly decals and missing all of the moulding around the edges leaving a black "mildewy" gap around the lining of the tub. Real inviting. There were two very tattered bathrobes provided, the fireplace didn't work and the 'library corner' consisted of a few books on a small floating shelf. The final straw was that there was no protective cover on the 20yr old mattress. Not even a fitted sheet or any sheet that fit it. The sheets that did grace the old bed were about toilet-paper thin and didn't even cover the entire mattress. My husband and I returned to the lobby to request a refund and I had to call the hotel main number...again...to get assistance. After much stalling and comments about how the place across the street was 'even worse' we managed to get out of there and B&B.com did an awesome job of getting our money back.


The Mountain Road Resort

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $210
  • Reviews (19) 3.9
  • Rooms 30
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8022534566
  • Fax 1-8022537397
  • Toll free 1-8003676873

Visit Website »

View details

Top