Auberge de Stowe Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room3.6
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

June 2012 2 night stay

2.2 on July 01, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights B&B in June during sweltering heatwave. The hosts are a charming couple , made us feel welcome, and provided loads of info about the area. The main problem was the accommodation advertised air conditioning and there wasn't any. There was a ceiling fan in the communal lounge but neither us or the other guests could get that to work either. spent a couple of uncomfortable nights sleeping on a towel. Had i known in advance there was no air con I'd never have booked it.


Great value...terrific service

4.0 on June 19, 2012

Great location and our host was very informative and gave us some great tips on the area.


Cozy & Accomodating

3.8 on February 07, 2012

A group of us, around 8, went to Stowe for the weekend and decided to stay here for 2 nights. Shawn and Chantal were very helpful from the very beginning even before we confirmed our stay. Breakfast was delicious, and the environment is so comfortable we considered not leaving for the evening. I think the biggest perk was the hot tub, especially a day on the slopes - your body is in for a treat :). Definitely plan to go back and stay here.


Inexpensive place to stay in a good location

4.0 on October 17, 2011

Hosts were very kind and accomodating. Breakfast was continental. Rooms were kind of drab and plain and water pressure in the shower was a problem. However for Stowe in fall foliage season it was a great value and very affordable. Rooms were very clean. Parking was adequate. We were only there 2 nights so did not have time to spend a lot of time there.


summer trip to Vermont

4.0 on August 26, 2011

It was luck of the draw that we selected Aubergedestowe for the second half of our holiday to Vermont. How lucky we were! Our hosts were friendly, helpful and good company. We were there for 11 days and were made to feel almost like family members.Breakfasts were excellent, our room and en suite more than adequate (comfortable bed!) and we certainly hope to see Chantal (Marie) and Shawn again. Michael and Rennie Foster


lovely place

4.0 on August 10, 2011

I have stayed here twice and enjoyed myself both times. A pool and hot tub along with friendly and hospitable hosts made it a happy experience!


Biggest Fan

4.4 on July 30, 2011

I have been a frequent guest at the Auberge de Stowe for over 5 years. I have stayed at many of the major resorts and hotels in Stowe, but I keep returning to the Auberge for two principal reasons: hospitality and value. The innkeepers have been exceptionally accomodating of guests' requests, particularly mine, and they are genuinely great people; educated, traveled and articulate (in many languages), they are charming and interesting company. The inn itself is like staying at your friend's house and at the price point in the Stowe market, represents a great value. I first chose the Auberge for the value of the property, I continue to return for the hospitality and charm of the Kerivans.


Excellent Accomodation

4.4 on July 09, 2011

We stayed at Auberge de Stowe for our wedding anniversary and found it to be the perfect spot! Chantal and Shawn were friendly but not overbearing, offering conversation at breakfast, but peace if we wanted it. They had great information about the best hiking and food in town, recommendations for other attractions nearby, what to do if it rained, etc, etc, etc. The rooms were clean, the food was fresh and local (from their garden local), and upon learning it was our anniversary they even bought us a keepsake! It was a wonderful balance of care and help as needed, but the privacy we were looking for on this second honeymoon. The spot was convenient to town and picturesque... I'm still daydreaming of eating a croissant and staring out the breakfast room window at the mountains and river. So worth it, really exceptional.


Reasonable for the Rate, Kind Innkeepers

3.4 on July 01, 2011

Overall I would rate our experience at Auberge as good. The innkeepers were friendly and engaged us in conversation both upon arrival and during breakfast. Breakfast was tasty with homemade muffins and croissants and fresh squeezed juice. Unfortunately we slept through it 2 out of 3 days of our stay (ends at 9am in the summer). The rooms were true Vermont style. If you are not accustomed to old New England and are expecting something grand, this is not the place for you. The room was cozy with pretty accents, a small television which has an antenna (so you can check the weather), and a small bathroom. An airconditioning unit was in the room to help fight the humidity resulting from the last 2 months of rain. Towels were musty and rough, so I am assuming were line dried. More typical Vermont! Also, it is an older building, so if you're the type to like long hot showers with good water pressure, you will be sorely disappointed. I think my only major complaint would be the towels and water. We had to wrestle with it daily to get it to "hot but not scalding" and then that lasted only a short period. Towels were not changed out over the course of our stay, but we did not specifically request it either. We weren't too bothered by it because this is typical Vermont, eco-friendly and old fashioned. Our bed was a comfortable king and snacks and drinks were available for a low price should we desire them. It's well located, only a short drive to the center of Stowe and the mountain (5 minutes or less to the town center). Had we not been in town for a wedding we would have taken more advantage of Marie and Shawn's knowledge of the area and the surrounding "must try" restaurants. There is a larger dog (lab) and a cat in the household but both are friendly. Another major plus was the private entrance to the rooms so we didn't have to go tromping through the house at 1 in the morning. Overall we had a good experience, especially for the money.


Wonderful ski weekend

4.2 on February 26, 2011

Beautiful turn of the century inn. Shawn and Chantel are incredibly helpful and friendly, and were always happy to relay weather updates for the mountain. Definitely planning to return in the future for more skiing or to try summer hiking.


Best place in Stowe

5 on February 01, 2011

After owning a condo on the mountain for 20 years, it's refreshing to stay at Auberge du Stowe and have the helpfulness of a warm, local couple and their two boys, who happen to be the same age as mine. There is lot's of room to spread out or be alone, party or be romantic. I've stayed at lots of funky and fancy places in Stowe, but Chantal and Shawn make it the best. There's fun there all four seasons, and they know how to find it if you don't. Excellent food, and the best value for your money.


The Best B&B in Vermont

4.2 on January 06, 2011

Our family loves to stay at the Auberge. The place has a great energy and the best value in town. Just a few rooms so it is hard find a reservation at the last minute so book in advance. Breakfast is varied daily, everything is fresh and delicious. Coffee was surprisingly good, must be the European influence. The inn keepers are friendly, accommodating and helpful. We love the fact that we get to meet interesting people every time we visit.


Anniversary weekend

4.2 on August 06, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for our 1st anniversary. It is a very lovely place, close by to eclectic downtown Stowe and a short drive to Burlington and Lake Champlain--great location. Absolutely outstanding value--cozy rooms, homey atmosphere, and yummy breakfasts! We stayed two nights, and each morning there was a different specialty dish prepared by Chantal. Very relaxing, something we definitely were looking for--we were able to come and go as we pleased as if we were home. Highly recommend for long weekends, family trips--whatever type of getaway you are looking for!


We will return!

4.8 on July 29, 2010

Sean and Chantel were wonderful hosts. The atmosphere was so pleasant and welcoming. Enjoyed the breakfast very much because we had a different homemade goodie each morning. Although we did not use the pool it looked inviting. We enjoyed sitting by the river and watching some of the wildlife. This B&B is an exceptional value and spotlessly clean. We will most certainly return.


Perfect VT getaway!

4.6 on May 18, 2010

My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our time at this perfect Stowe B&B. The hosts are among the loveliest we've ever stayed with and the location is perfect for both Stowe proper, as well as the many ski resorts in the area. If you're looking for the classic VT B&B with the charm of wonderful hosts, look no farther!


Reccomend it

4.0 on February 13, 2010

We stayed at Auberge de Stowe this January. Cozy B&B, comfortable rooms and very helpful innkeepers. Would definitely stay there again with my whole family on my next trip to Vermont.


Convenient B & B

3.6 on October 24, 2009

I stayed here for a night during the summer and was thrilled to find such a inexpensive bed and breakfast. Not so thrilled with the room as it was a bit musty and not as homey as we would have liked. The hosts were gracious and the breakfast was nice.


Fantastic

5 on March 13, 2009

This a wonderful B and B. It is a great value. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Some rooms do not have a TV but there is a cozy family room with a TV. They also have books, board games and DVD's. There is a nice warm gas fireplace in the family room. We spent each night hanging out in the family room chatting with Chantal and Shawn as well as other guests at the inn.They also have a hot tub but we did not use it as it was to cold outside for us as we are from FL. They also have a pool but we did not use nor see it really as it had 8 feet of snow on top. The breakfast room overlooks a stream. The breakfast was very tasty and filling. The inn also comes with a dog named Max who loves to have his ears and butt scratched. If you are looking for a restfull, cozy family style inn. This is the place to stay. Thank you for a great holiday.


Best B and B

4.8 on February 17, 2009

Auberge is a cozy B and B offering all the amenities you would want. It is well located - close to averything in Stowe. The innkeepers are wonderful and truly want their guests to have an excellent experience. I would recommend Auberge to anyone interested in an experiencing an enjoyable and well priced experience.


auberge de stowe

4.0 on December 10, 2008

i stayed at the auberge in october with my fiance. it was a great weekend getaway! i would stay there again. they were so nice there! and the dog was great as long as he wasnt near your face.


Auberge de Stowe

Details

  • Nightly Rate $69 - $99
  • Reviews (20) 4.1
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-800-387-8789
  • Toll free 1-8003878789
Top