Salt Ash Inn Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Services4.3
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Quaint old inn

3.2 on June 03, 2011

This place was much cheaper than most others we were able to find in the area, so we thought there had to be a catch, but there wasn't. The rooms are charming and the living room downstairs which is in the 18th century part of the building sends you back a few centuries and has that nice wooden and smokey smell of chalets. The breakfast room is less impressive and the breakfast is fine, but nothing spectacular.


Great find!

3.4 on February 14, 2011

Great inn if you're looking for a cool casual Vermont getaway! Al welcomed us as if we were old friends. The inn is conveniently located near ski mountains and Long Trail Brewery. Breakfast was hearty enough to get you going on the slopes and pub is a great place to wind down at the end of the day. Live music was featured in the pub Saturday night, which was the biggest bonus. We'll definitely come back to the SAI! Thanks Al! 2/14/11


Fun at the Salt Ash Inn

3.4 on January 27, 2011

I loved staying at the Salt Ash Inn! This cozy, funky spot has a common room with a fire place, couches, a bar, and considerate, attentive staff. What more could you ask for after a day of hitting the slopes? The inn is within a 5 minute drive of a ski/snowboard gear rental shop, and within 15 minutes of Bear Mountain. Our room was comfy, and had a full sized bed for two (although some of the rooms had Queen size beds). Breakfast and dinner are included in the price. Their breakfasts were awesome, complete with coffee, juice, eggs, hash browns, and pancakes (or french toast). Dinners were tasty, if not a little simple and carb-friendly, i.e., they didn't offer any vegetables with the spaghetti dinner, but they kept the cheesy, garlic bread coming throughout. Their vegetarian options were so-so. Also, I would recommend bringing your own snacks and desserts, as none were offered (which could be a good thing if you're watching you weight). And they even had great live music on Saturday night (for no extra charge). Overall, I found the staff charming, the building quaint with its maze of rooms and interesting history, and the laid back environment, unpretentious and comfortable (I felt very at home, wearing pj's and sitting by the fire). I would not recommend staying here if you're looking for luxury and a four-star environment, but if you're after a thrifty way to enjoy Vermont, this is a great choice. I look forward to returning to the Salt Ash Inn in the near future!


A perfect place to stay.

3.6 on January 26, 2011

The room and beds were very comfortable and clean. Okemo mountain was not too far. Breakfast was made order and was good. We would defiitely stay here again. The only odd part of the stay was that we never saw the innkeeper (or any other staff except the cook) so we had to figure things out ourselves (lights, heat in other rooms, making coffee). But as three adult moms, it wasn't a big deal for us. The skiing was incredible!!!!!


Bar, Fireplace, and pool in the summer!

5 on January 25, 2011

I had such a great stay at the Salt Ash Inn...I can’t wait to go back! It's low key and I think all eighteen rooms have their own private bath (my room also had a fireplace!)... There is an outdoor pool for summer stays and Al the inn keeper/partial owner was great! Instead of a living room there is a bar with a HUGE fire place which is also awesome! Thanks Al & Roy for a great stay. :)


Perfect location, great service

4.2 on January 17, 2011

My wife and I booked the room for the price and the bar and were very pleased when we arrived. The service was top notch, breakfast hit the spot and, beer was from local breweries ready with good selection each night. There was even very good entertainment to boot. This place was a great find.


Best B&B in the state

5 on January 03, 2011

Greast staff, clean rooms, excellent food, great atmosphere at the bar.


A good experience

4.0 on December 29, 2010

Staffs are very friendly. Location is perfect for skiing at Okemo and Killington. Price is reasonable. Room is clean exept for several flys in December.


Salt Ash Inn- Good Value- needs cosmetic improvements

2.8 on October 17, 2010

Very nice location- convenient to Plymouth, Woodstock, Windham etc.. Outside needs sprucing up a bit- little things like flowers, some decorations, lacy curtains in windows etc.. Otherwise, good value.


two nights in october

3.4 on October 13, 2010

nice funky place. not upscale but that's not what we were seeking. bargain rate considering its competition nearby..... busy intersection, relatively speaking for vermont. i'd go back.....


Our stay at The Salt Ash Inn

5 on October 03, 2010

This was a very nice and quiet stay. The countryside was great with many small towns to go and visit as well. The Fall foliage was beautiful!!!!


Charming AND budget-friendly

4.6 on September 28, 2010

The Salt Ash Inn is only a half hour from Rutland or Quechee, but feels like an excellent spot to escape from civilization for a few days. We stayed in the Moore room, a budget-friendly family suite with full bath and two spacious bedrooms: three comfortable twins in one, and a queen in the other. The Inn has a true sense of history, with plenty of unusual nooks and unique architecture which simply aren't seen in chain hotels. Our experience was very relaxing, especially because Innkeeper Al was completely sensitive to the needs of the small children in our group. Definitely recommended!


Salt Ash Inn - Plymouth, VT

5 on September 28, 2010

Quaint, rustic, casual, and friendly. My family stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay.


great place

5 on August 21, 2010

We had a great weekend at the sai, definitely would stay there again!


Best Place & Value near Killington Vermont

5 on August 20, 2010

We were recommended to stay here by a friend of mine. I've been there twice already. Once in the winter and once in the summer. Staff is super friendly and very generous with amenities. Large outdoor chill space with pool and shady trees and hammock! Close to best ski mountains in the winter. For the summer, beautiful lake for swimming, sports, and rope-swings. Also right next to a river for chilled-out tubing.


Best in ten!

4.0 on August 17, 2010

My recent stay at the Salt Ash Inn was the latest of my twice a summer (for the last ten years) camp visits to my two daughters at Farm and Wilderness. I've seen it through four owners. These are the best by far. Cheery, and warm they made our stay the best yet. I've stayed in almost every room and they are all lovely. They could due with a freshening of the cushions in the lounge, but other that that its a real gem. MT from NYC


Good Value and Hospitality

3.6 on August 02, 2010

It is an older establishment that is under new ownership and needs some updating. However the room was very nice and clean and our host was very friendly. The atmosphere is very relaxed and low keyed.


Modest comments

3.8 on August 01, 2010

Didn't really know what to expect, but found this to be a charming place. Not a 5-star experience, but homey, comfortable, clean, relaxing...definitely would recommend it and also come again.


Laid back easy going stay!

3.4 on July 27, 2010

Enjoyed a recent weekend visit to the Salt Ash. The owners were very kind, laid back and helpful to all the guests, including myself. The bar was a nice addition as was the pool. We got pretty heat as there was a heat wave there this weekend and no a/c, but they brought us a fan to help. I really enjoyed my stay!


Cozy Winter Retreat

4.6 on July 18, 2010

Cozy rustic country setting grace the lounge of this vintage B&B nestled in Plymouth, Vermont. Fifteen of us went to Salt Ash Inn for snowmobiling in January. The staff was very down-to-earth and accomodating! Great service and nice ambiance. Most of all, it is pet friendly--we loved that we got to stay there with our small puppy. --T. Nostrand


This is quientessential Vermont

4.8 on July 16, 2010

Absolutely loved it! Al, the owner is a great hostess and takes pride in running the place. You sleep in a piece of history. Calvin Coolidge's Mailbox is in the main room! No hard liquor but the Wine and Beer hit the spot whenever I go. Great in the summer, great in the winter. Affordable, but not by any means, distasteful. Even if you are not a great skier (I'm not) you'll enjoy the hospitality before and after the slopes. Hey, this Brooklyn boy knows a deal and this is it!


so charming

5 on July 09, 2010

an incredibly charming b+b with a great pub. was fantastic in spring (maple sugaring demonstration highly recommended!), now we want to come back for the winter. a good deal for such a convenient location.


Salty and Sweet

4.4 on July 09, 2010

We had a two night stay at the Salt Ash Inn and liked it very much. The place was really sweet and cozy. We has planned to stay for only one night but it was really nice to be nestled in a place with so much history we didn't want leave. The walks were beautiful and the nights brought a cool breeze. The staff at the Inn were most accomodating and knew exactly what we needed to make our getaway that much more special. I recommend a stay at the Salt Ash Inn, we're even planning a winter time retreat...stay tuned.


Pleasantly surprised

4.6 on July 09, 2010

Its really hard for me to get away and detach from everyday life. That being said, The Salt Ash Inn is one of the few places I actually felt I relaxed and got to recenter myself over the last few years. I was a little worried that an old establishment such as this might be dirty or rundown, but that was so far from the truth. You can tell that the current owner really cares and is really trying to make you feel at home while you are there. I cannot wait until my next visit!


A great place to spend July 4th weekend!

4.6 on July 08, 2010

I just returned from spending the weekend at the Salt Ash Inn for July 4th and all I can say is that this place really exceeded my expectations. The rooms were extremely well kept, and the service was really amazing. Not to mention the fact that we could basically order anything we want from the food menu! If your looking for a great hotel that goes beyond the call of duty and all for a reasonable price then the Salt Ash Inn is the place to be.


A great spot in Vermont

4.0 on July 07, 2010

A friend and I stayed at the Salt Ash in this past winter and had a great time! The Innkeeper was really helpful and gave us some great tips on the best slopes to hit, and the must see sites ie the Brewery and snowmobiling tour. Our room was really cozy and clean. We actually just booked our summer trip at the Salt Ash Inn and can't wait to go back


Perfect Stay Over the 4th of July!

5 on July 07, 2010

We found this cozy little Inn online and were very impressed on what they had to offer. When we showed up, everything was exactly as offered on their website (sigh of relief because some inns use stock photos!). The place has a warm, cozy old school charm to it while still maintaining all the latest amenities. The inn keeper was extremely personable and helped us plan our our three day stay as we were not very familiar with all the offerings the surrounding areas offered. The place was clean, comfy, and the rooms really are very charming. The old school fire place added a perfect touch to our stay! Breakfast was simple and to the point plus they have a full bar (which was a nice surprise as well!) Overall A++ experience and thank you Al (inn keeper) for the advice on where to go for good ski lessons as well. We will be back in the winter, this time with all our friends as well.


What a wonderful weekend

3.4 on July 07, 2010

We have stayed at the Salt Ash Inn this passed weekend. It was a weekend full of fun. Rooms were great, green trees blue sky and perfect weather. Breakfast was enjoyable and plentiful. The kids had fun playing on the front lawn, touch football, volley ball and Frisbee. There is a nice size in-ground pool, and yes another volley ball game, in a nice surrounding and an open bar. Would definitely stay here again!


Paradise in the great outdoors!

5 on July 07, 2010

I have been here several times and really enjoyed myself. Killington and Okemo mountains are about 10-15 minutes away (in opposite directions) and the Long Trail Brewery is about 5-minutes away. The bar in Salt Ash is a great place to hang out with other guests and friends; they have two tvs and a nice selection of drinks (both alcoholic -- wine and beer -- and sodas) and food to order. Winter is great for the skiing/snowboarding. Summer is great for hiking, fishing, and swimming (great in-ground pool!). Can't wait to go back!


A wonderul experience!

4.4 on July 02, 2010

A friend that stayed at the Salt Ash this past winter recommended we stay after we were complaining we had a wedding to go to in Vermont and the Inn was very expensive. We lucked out that the Salt Ash was only 20 minutes away from the actual wedding. We loved our room, the innkeeper Al was a real sweetheart. He helped us to our rooms with our luggage and really made our stay delightful.


Terribly Disappointing

1.0 on June 23, 2010

Third stay at THE SALT ASH INN, first two very impressive. Now extremely Hospitality on arrival non-existant. Several attempts to get attention, very srcuffy young man showed up. Not customer friendlyl. Gave key showed us to room. Stated bar would be open later, breakfast 8.30am. Returned to bar later, no one to assist us. After15 minutes we left. Bar was very dark, appeared dirty. Breakfast by same, appeared as just woken up, unshaven, cigarette behind ear, a baseball cap askew.French toast no other choice. Maple Syrup from grocery store not real VERMONT. Had to wash juice glasses and utensil ourselves. Cut our losses and checked out. Photo's on web site taken at least a decade ago? Pool leaking, water filthy, green algea, messy yard. Beautifull garden non-existant. We will be sending a review of experience to the Better Business of Plymouth VT. My husband and I are bitterly disapointed with the whole experience and feel we were robbed.


we have been frequent Salt Ash Inn stayers

4.4 on January 23, 2010

We have stayed at this venerable (1830) property for many years--and many owners. This lovely old, homey and very friendly establishment with new owners again is extremely value priced. The breakfast is ample, very, but basic, not gourmet. We will go again and hope the same owners now find the magic formula!


Ski lodge with romance

3.4 on January 01, 2010

My husband and I stayed here over the christmas break, we stayed in a beautiful room with a gas fireplace, a wonderful treat to warm aching muscles following a day on the slopes. I will preface my comments by advising that apparently the kitchen had just opened after refurbishment when we arrived and so they were not able to offer dinner. This does not seem the place to go if you wish to experience an inn with fine dining and exquisite furnishings, it appears to cater more to the 20 something ski and outdoor sports crowd. The breakfast was rough and ready and served in a hostel style, you pickup your cup, cutlery etc. from a table to the side of the dining room, That is more than made up for though by the above and beyond helpfulness of the innkeeper... though it was christmas day, whilst we were out skiing he called around a few places to find one serving christmas dinner and made reservations for us. All in all, fantastic value with an innkeeper who goes out of his way to ensure your stay is as pleasent as possible


very freindly hosts

4.2 on November 20, 2008

Very friendly hosts with lots of nice amenities. We arrived later in the evening and they fixed us dinner.


charming inn with great hosts

3.6 on October 24, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Salt Ask Inn. The place is really clean and comfortable and has great location for a lot of activities. Our hosts made us feel really welcome and we will definitely go back there again!


The Most Epic Vacation Ever

5 on September 05, 2008

To start, the innkeepers are so down to earth and very personable. The inn is adorable and located in a great area. Very peaceful! I absolutely loved this place!


Simply Divine

4.6 on August 27, 2008

If you want to get away from it all I suggest that you might wish to travel to the beautiful hills of Vermont and stay at this delightful inn. Warm greetings, helpful information, and comfortable surroundings as well as an excellent breakfast. Who could ask for more in summer, fall, winter or spring?


Salt Ash Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $59 - $199
  • Reviews (37) 4.1
  • Rooms 17

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8026723223
Top