Northfield Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
43 Reviews

Write A Review

Northfield, Vermont's hidden treasure

5 on August 04, 2013

We had such a lovely room in a gorgeously maintained historic home. Our family was able to sit on the porch in rocking chairs drinking coffee, while viewing beautifully landscaped gardens and pond.Breakfast was incredible and the service fabulous. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful place! Peter and Patti


Wonderful facility, even better hospitality

4.8 on November 04, 2012

Visit the Northfield Inn for a night and you will find a clean room, beautiful grounds, and delicious multi-course breakfast. In addition, you may find a friendly "mother, aunt, grandmother, friend" in Aglaia, the Innkeeper. She is very accommodating, takes great interest in her guests, their travels, and their experience with her community.


Norwich Family Weekend

4.4 on October 21, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Northfield Inn for the Norwich University Family weekend. The accomodations were great and Aglaia was a terrific host. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast meals were great. It is a five minute drive from Norwich University to the Inn. This was our first experience staying at a B&B and we would not hesitate to make reservations to stay here again.


Gem in Vermont

5 on August 02, 2010

Beautiful home with wonderful host and outstanding cooking and hospitality.


A Disappointment

4.0 on July 13, 2010

My family and I booked 4 days at the Northfield Inn on a recent trip to Vermont. The terrible service and verbal treatment we received from the Inn Keeper, Aglaia, was dismaying. During an unseasonable cold spell, our rooms were very, very cold. There were no shampoos/lotions, etc., only a small bar of soap. Our group was scolded one evening for enjoying some time visiting (not quiet enough Aglaia said) and told we had her to thank for "fitting us in", when, in fact, there were many empty rooms that week. When one couple in our group arrived w/o their luggage (delayed at airport) Aglaia, when pressed, produced one toothbrush that they could both share! We did not feel welcome at all and would strongly caution prospective guests to avoid this Inn. There are many, many others situated near Norwich University and the neighboring towns. The house itself is very charming, but if you don't feel welcome, what does it matter?


Six Years and Counting!

3.6 on June 29, 2010

We found the Northfield on the web and return every Feb. for a Valentine's weekend. Aglaia is so welcoming and now is a friend.


Relaxing weekend getaway in the Green Mountains

4.6 on June 21, 2010

We spent a relaxing few days at this Inn. We needed a few days of 'down time' and this did not disappoint. It was a peaceful and picturesque location, with a welcoming and hospitable host. Aglaia had great recommendations for local highlights from scenic drives to dinner reservations. The breakfast at the inn was superb. The inn was spotless and tidy, lovely porches, refreshments available round the clock. Our room on the second floor had wonderful vista views, and right next to a shared balcony complete with a comfy swing. If you want a Vermont getaway this is perfect.


Staying at the Northfield

4.0 on June 18, 2010

Recently spent 2 nights at thr Northfield Inn (06/2010). Room was ideally located close to Norwich University. Room was a little smaller than anticipated. Bed was smaller than a standard Queen. Bathroom shower you had to turn sideways to get into. All that being said, service was excellent. It was also a very peaceful stay in an idyllic location. Take time to sit outside and look over the mountain. Fantastic, well behaved dogs!


Northfield Inn - quiet & peaceful

5 on May 14, 2010

Our stay at the Northfield was the most pleasant of our Vermont stays yet. The owner is the sweetest and treats you like family. I felt related to her. The surroundings are wonderful and the atmosphere will drop your blood pressure several points. It's serene and the accomodations are very neat and clean and the food is like none I've had elsewhere. Hot granola! WOW! I highly recommend this Inn.


Great Place in a Quaint Town

4.4 on March 15, 2010

The lady who ran it was great....full of info about the area and very gracious...the views from the room of the mountains were beautiful, too!


Everything & More

4.6 on December 16, 2009

Fabulous remodel. Original flavour. Aglaia's old country hospitality is second to none. The course breakfast alone is with the visit. Super amenities.


A Gracious and Elegant Inn

4.8 on October 25, 2009

We were visiting my daughter at Norwich U and needed last minute accommodations. An internet search turned up the Northfield Inn and we are very glad it did. The hostess and chef were both charming and friendly. The inn is a turn of the century manor decorated with antiques and period pieces. All of the rooms were beautiful. Breakfast was superb and presentation was excellent. Snacks, such as fruit, nuts, cookies , pastries and soda were available throughout the day. The hostess, Aglaia is a remarkable woman who feels like an old friend the moment you meet her. Guests are treated like family. I would highly recommend this place and intend to go back.


Elegant comfort

4.4 on October 21, 2009

A beautifully restored Victorian nestled in the trees on a hilltop in rural VT. The innkeeper is warm & welcoming -- the whole experience perfect. Summer, winter & foliage season would all be great here.


Luxury in the Green Mountains

4.6 on October 21, 2009

The Northfield Inn combines the beauty of Vermont, the atmosphere of 100 years ago, and delicious homemade breakfasts, and goodies out all day & evening. Great getaway!


Northfield Inn

5 on October 20, 2009

Inn was very accommodating to dietary needs


A bit disappointed

3.0 on October 13, 2009

Generally, our stay here was OK. The food was good, but a bit skimpy. The Inn was clean and neat. However, when we got there we were told our room was in the basement. On the phone I was told "lower" level. The room was adequate if you like being in the dark. I did not like the idea of having to keep my bedroom door open in order to get heat into the room. Outside the room was a common area. We missed the "Inn" experience. I think breakfast could be a more flexible. Treats in the afternoon were "run of the mill" packaged food-nothing exciting. The Inn keeper was nice, but not overly welcoming.


Ultimate getaway location

5 on October 08, 2009

We went to see the fall color in Oct 2009. From the time we were greeted at the door by Aglaia, untill the last hugs were given, it was an incredible experience. A great location to use as a home base to explore the area. Her recomendations for sightseeing and local resturants added to the experience. Breakfast was beyond any thing you would expect. Definately a place to experience.


Beyond expectations

4.8 on September 30, 2009

We have stayed at a lot of Inns and this by far was our favorite. The decor was beautiful and yet the inn has lots of warmth. The service was outstanding and the breakfast was gourmet and very filling. Aglaia is a delightful hostess.


Can we go back tomorrow?

5 on September 22, 2009

We were so fortunate that there was space at this lovely Inn for us even though we didn't reserve ahead. The Hostess was so welcoming, and especially made our 4 year old daughter feel at home (so much that our daughter cried when it was time to leave). We would have spent our whole weekend just at the Inn, but followed great recommendations from Aglaia and her staff about things to see on our first visit to Vermont, and knew that at the end of the afternoon we would have a comfortable place to come back for refreshment and respite. Among many other services she provided, the Hostess made a reservation for us at a great restaurant for dinner. On our departure, she filled a bag with fruit (and would have given other treats had we not turned them down) for our trip back to Canada. I would definitely recommend this Inn to others.


Northfield Inn

5 on September 08, 2009

Excellent


Feels Like Home at the Northfield Inn!

5 on August 14, 2009

I have stayed at the Northfield Inn many times over the years and I am finally taking the time to sing its praises online. The guest rooms are charming and the breakfasts are delicious and incredibly generous, portion-wise! Several courses every time. It is such a joy to sit around the table with the other guests in the morning and look at the mountain views and enjoy conversations with people from all over the country, and sometimes the world. Aglaia the innkeeper is such a sweetheart. She’ll give you a hug. The Victorian-style decor is lovely, and the nice thing is that the place is anything but stuffy. You can sit back and relax. It feels like home at the Northfield Inn.


Perfected homestyle comfort!

5 on August 06, 2009

friendly, superb, outstanding experience. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Absolutely gorgeous property, inside and out. Truly genuine B&B ambiance; impeccable service! Meals presented like a 5-star restaurant.


Lovely!

5 on July 31, 2009

Superb experience of a B&B. Exquisite rooms, excellent breakfast, lovely hostess!


A Hidden Gem

5 on July 25, 2009

My recent stay at the Northfield Inn left me more relaxed than I have been in years. The Inn itself is hidden yet convenient to everything. The staff is courteous and kind. The breakfasts are unbelievable! I hope to return some day. I highly recommend this establishment!


Uncommon Hospitality

4.8 on July 02, 2009

Only positive things to say about the Inn, innkeeper and staff; everything about our stay was excellent. Breakfast was incredible and the owner was very accomodating of our requests. I would highly recommend this for the casual traveler if they are looking to be pampered for the night or for the traveler to Norwich University if they want to be close - its a seven minute walk. Everything was clean, tidy and welcoming.


Enjoyable Four Days for Commencement at Norwich

4.8 on May 14, 2009

I had the opportunity to stay at the Northfield Inn, on May 7 - 11, 2009, from the time we arrived to all the hugs when we left I can't thank Aglaia "THE GREATEST INNKEEPER" for a great stay. The food, rooms and hospitality were great. She had many returning guest, and we do know why, she treated us like her family. I think she even adopted my Grandchildren. Thank you Aglaia for a wonderful experience, and if I have to return to your part of the county you'll see me again. Tish O'Connor, Monroe Township, New Jersey


Graduation weekend at the Northfield Inn

4.8 on May 13, 2009

We booked our reseveration at the Northfield Inn one year ago to ensure a nearby place to our son's college graduation. We could not be any more pleased with our stay. We were welcomed with open arms and kindness. We felt at home but with all trimmings. The daily breakfasts not only brought delicious food but great conversation with Aglaia and staff and also with other guests. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. Lots of hot water!! We were offered wine, coffee, tea and home made snacks throughout the day. It was a great experience for our family and would recommend to anyone who needs to get away for some quiet relaxing rest in the green mountains of Vermont!! Jack and Kim Rindt, Roosevelt, NJ


wonderful

5 on April 09, 2009

The inn was beautiful, the view breathtaking! All this while the weather was cold and nothing was green! The proprietor, though, was just the final touch! Great hostess, wonderful cook, very charming!


Northfield Inn

5 on March 03, 2009

My cousin and I went skiing up in Vermont and stayed at the Northfield Inn. We were given a choice of rooms, one more beautiful than the next. Agalia made us feel so welcome, we felt like it was our own home. Breakfast, of course, was outstanding!


wow

4.8 on December 03, 2008

the best B&B I've ever been. more than great accommodation. The breakfast is above and beyond any expectation I had!


Awesome!

5 on December 01, 2008

We got to pick our room. There were plenty of rooms to just sit in and read/work. There were outdoor sitting venues that provided awesome views and peace, which we were unable to take advantage of because of the weather. There was internet access. There were snacks (healthy, homemade, and those for kids) available throughout the day, with wine available in the evening (self-serve). Beautiful view from dining room! Breakfast was superb and available when we wanted. Definitely a homey, friendly, relaxed atmosphere.


Perfection

5 on November 17, 2008

We went away for a relaxing weekend and got just that! The rooms were sooo cozy! The town was cute, the food amazing and the host polite and knowledgeable and gracious. A perfect star!!


Lovely inn-marvelous food!

4.6 on November 04, 2008

We arrived late-8:30 pm and when we told the innkeeper we needed advice on where to dine, she offered us leftovers- they were delicious- many other snacks and the breakfast was divine!!


NOrthfield Inn

4.8 on October 23, 2008

It was warm and cozy, very interesting. The innkeeper was very friendly and you fell part of her home. The food was divine, rooms very clean, each had it's own toilet!


Northfield Inn

4.8 on October 22, 2008

Lovely inn; fabulous yard!


Northfield Inn

3.8 on October 13, 2008

Very charming, wonderfully nostalgic for old vermonters.


Wedding in vermont

4.8 on August 20, 2008

The inn was an excellent place for the family to gather and spend time together through out the weekend of the wedding. The innkeeper made the atmospher so comfortable. It was like we were at a family home.


Excellent Scenic

4.0 on August 19, 2008

Great place! Great Scene! had a great stay!


Northfield Inn

5 on August 12, 2008

Home away from Home Staying at the Northfield Inn was a great getaway with a warm friendly atmosphere, provided by innkeeper and staff. The decor was lovely and quite comfortable.Great Job!


Northfield is delightful

5 on August 10, 2008

We visited the Northfield Inn August 2/08 and was welcomed by our host Aglaia. She was gracious, funny and a real delight. The Inn was cosy, yet roomy. The views are spectacular from the dining room window. The breakfast was delicious. I would return to this Inn and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a wonderful Inn experience.


Northfield Inn, Northfield, Vermont

5 on August 01, 2008

Marvellous B&B. Luxurious. Gracious Hostess. Wonderful scenery. Recopmmended without resevation on our part.


Loveliest B&B to Date!

5 on October 24, 2007

Attentions to details is what one senses when staying at the Northfield Inn. Our hostess, Aglaia, thought of everything to make the experience top-shelf. Victorian furnishings, modern plumbing, exquisite cuisine, warm hostess contributed to a memorable B&B experience!


At Home Feel

4.8 on October 19, 2007

We were made to feel welcome with our first hello. Our hostess Aglaia and her staff were wonderful. We will definitely return.


Northfield Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $179
  • Reviews (43) 4.7
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8024858558

Visit Website »

View details

Top