Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
55 Reviews

Write A Review

Comfortable, Quaint Accommodations

5 on September 05, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at this lovely home. Ellen and Philip were excellent hosts. The room was clean and comfortable with lovely antique furnishings, punctuated by decorative items that I'm sure were from Ellen's adorable shop attached to the back of the inn. (I couldn't resist making a couple of purchases.) Breakfast was wonderful. We will definitely stay again.


Elegance and Hospitality

4.8 on June 10, 2014

If you are looking to feel cordial, content and coddled, I recommend the Village Victorian. From the well appointed rooms to the gracious common areas, I have never had a more desirable experience away from home. Philip and Ellen are accommodating and experienced in making your stay a memorable one. You will not find more caring and considerate innkeepers showing in every detail from the rhubarb compote and homemade bread for breakfast to offering a favored plant from the garden. Completely perfect in every way!


Awesome Stay

5 on March 30, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the Village Victorian B&B. Stayed in the Pickwick room, wonderful accommodations, comfortable bed and plush bathrobes. The hosts were very friendly, warm and personable. Accommodating with breakfast time so that I could meet my schedule. I will definitely stay there in the future. A truly awesome stay!


Happy customers from CT

5 on November 19, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. The room was spacious; plenty of room for 2-3 people. House beautiful and comfortable, bathroom clean and fixtures modern. We were even able to control the heat in the room. Breakfast was delicious and hosts were very flexible and willing to accomodate changes. Very easy to book also with online registration. Highly satisfied with our stay!


Friendly and warm

4.8 on November 13, 2013

I recently stayed as I was visiting my son. The room was great. Very comfortable and private. I would definitely stay again.


Warm and welcoming, amazing breakfast

5 on October 30, 2013

Philip and Ellen are friendly and welcoming and were eager to make our stay perfect. Our room (Aster Suite) was a really fun and unique space architecturally and we enjoyed all of the intricacies of the decorations. Everything was clean and well-kept. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge. Philip and Ellen went above and beyond with breakfast--the food was plentiful and varied, including fresh fruit, cheese, and yogurt as well as homemade pastries and other breakfast items, all of which were amazing. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area and would recommend it to friends.


Very comfortable

5 on October 08, 2013

Great hospitality, wonderful rooms and amazing breakfast. We would definitely visit again!


We will loved it!

5 on September 30, 2013

My husband and I had not had a vacation sense our honeymoon two years ago and decided Vermont was our destination. I search what felt like every B&B in Vermont before making our reservations at the Village Victorian. We had stayed a B&B before and I wasn’t all that excited about it based on our past experience, but that all changed with this tri!. Ellen and Phil were wonderful! We felt right at home, Phil’s breakfast was fabulous and Ellen’s gift shop was splendid. I am a picky eater, but I promise I left every breakfast full and ready to take on the day. They even let me keep my diet cokes in the refrigerator. The room was cozy and inviting and we rested well. Ellen was wonderful at suggesting things we should do and pulled out her map to show us where to go and get the best views of the changing leaves. When and if we ever return to Vermont we will definitely stay at the Village Victorian! Thank you Phil and Ellen for such a wonderful experience!


Business person's dream away from home

5 on August 27, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. I am a business traveler and could not find anything remotely comparable. The room was very nice, the weather was too, the breakfast was plentiful and a great representation of the state of VT. Thanks a bunch guys. The "Little Debbie" Inspector!


My home away from home

4.6 on August 22, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days in August 2013, and felt immediately at home. Philip and Ellen made me feel welcome and were helpful in getting me oriented to the area. My room was well appointed, comfortable, and had an ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was delicious, featuring many local foods, and I enjoyed the warm camaraderie in the dining room. I have always camped or stayed in hotels in my travels, thinking B and B's would be too restrictive or expensive, but I'm glad I decided to try something different. Ellen and Philip have converted me, and I hope to visit them again.


B&B loaded with value

5 on August 14, 2013

Don't travel Vermont without stopping over at the Village Vicgtorian B&B. My wife and I came here as part of a quilting tour or Vermont and I came back for a personal retreat. The breafasts alone are worth the stop. Ellen and Philip make certain that every detail of your stay is designed to add to the enjoymnet . . . and it does. I already looking for an excuse to return.


Fun stay while at a family reunion

5 on July 31, 2013

Ellen and Philip were enjoyable, fun to talk with, and always asked if we needed anything. Super breakfast and comfortable environment,


Lovely place, wonderful attention.

5 on July 30, 2013

Ellen and Philip really know what they are doing! We loved spending the night in their huge top floor suite for my husband's reunion nearby. Some of husband's friends walked over to visit us before the event and we sat outside on a side porch viewing the lovely yard. While outside, Ellen brought out some champagne and wine glasses for our beverages. That was so thoughtful and much appreciated! Breakfast was huge and great-tasting! The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean! Thank you again Ellen and Philip! We can't wait to visit you again soon!


Quintessential B&B

5 on June 19, 2013

I have stayed with Ellen and Philip several times over the past few years. It is a perfect place: clean, charming, restful, convenient and with extraordinary breakfasts. One cannot be on a diet. I totally recommend and would stay nowhere else.


Wonderful hospitality

5 on April 25, 2013

We were travelling from Boston to Montreal and found this lovely website when googling accommodation in the region, and I am so glad we did. Philip and Ellen were absolutely wonderful. They made us feel right at home in their Victorian style house and cooked a beautiful breakfast for us as well. I highly recommend the Village Victorian to anyone wanting a Vermont getaway. Thank you Philip and Ellen


Great place to stay!

5 on March 06, 2013

This B&B was perfect. Phil and Ellen are so pleasant and provided great recommendations for local restaurants. The breakfast lasted us well through lunch. We are already planning our next trip to stay at the Village Victorian.


Excellent all around!

5 on February 27, 2013

Every aspect of our stay was wonderful- the people, the breakfast, the room, etc, etc. Recommend it unconditionally


Another wonderful vacation at Village Victorian!

5 on October 14, 2012

Thanks, Phil and Ellen, for another wonderful, friendly, fantabulous, spectacular visit and stay at your wonder B&B!!! We love being there...you're part of our family and so special!! Thanks!!


Charming B&B

5 on October 11, 2012

Phil and Ellen were excellent hosts. I traveled alone and stayed at their B&B five nights. They treated me like I was part of the family. There was also one morning where I had to eat alone; Phil asked me what I wanted for breakfast. Phil makes AWESOME pastries with maple cream. My room was perfect; it had an excellent view of the cute garden (I got the primrose room on the second floor). The hourly churchbell chimes were soothing to listen to; the smell of bacon in the morning woke us all up for breakfast. Being sarcastic with Phil and chatting with Ellen about my daily travels was great. The place is about a 10 minute drive from Stowe and about half hour drive from Montpelier. The B&B itself is absolutely charming and Ellen's shop is just so cute. The place was worth every dime I spent. :) ~Karina


nice escape

4.6 on October 07, 2012

great stay, great hosts and had a great time.


Village Victorian Excellant

5 on October 05, 2012

I love staying at this B & B. The hosts, Ellen and Phillip are most gracious and accomodating, making guests feel welcome and at home. They go out of their way to assist their guests in any way. This is a lovely old Victorian home surrounded by lovely gardens where guests can relax in nice weather. The Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of restaurants, grocery and drug stores, hospital and only about 20 minutes from the Stow resorts and skiing.


Wonderful place to stay ...

5 on September 27, 2012

Wonderful B&B! We stayed 3 nights during the British Invasion, and everything was perfect! Having never stayed in a B&B before, I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the reviews I read online were right on the spot. The house is gorgeous, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts are delicious, and Philip and Ellen are the perfect hosts. We would definitely stay at the Village Victorian again and would recommend to friends and family.


Welcoming and peaceful

5 on September 07, 2012

This is a lovely place, from which we took full advantage of the stunning Vermont. The house is large and beautiful, perfectly kept. The Victorian ambience predisposes to relax, especially since our hosts were charming and attentive throughout our stay. You can enjoy the jacuzzi (we don't) or the large and comfortable lounge, or relax in our room (primrose), which was spacious and bright, thanks to the bow window. The house is located 3 minutes’ walk from the main street in Morrisville, where are all the amenities (restaurants, banks, post office). The breakfast was just amazing, with a profusion of dishes ranging from seasonal fruits to homemade food (waffles, bread walk) supplemented with local Vermont products of very high quality. In short, we hope to return with the family later in the year, just to enjoy the foliage fall and - why not - the winter season. C’est un très bel endroit, à partir duquel nous avons bien profité du splendide Vermont. La maison est grande et belle, parfaitement tenue. L’ambiance victorienne prédispose à la détente, d’autant plus que nos hôtes se sont montrés charmants et attentionnés tout au long de notre séjour. On peut profiter du jacuzzi (pas eu le temps) ou du grand et confortable salon, ou se reposer dans notre chambre (primerose), qui était spacieuse et lumineuse, grâce au bow window. La maison est située à 3 minutes à pied de la rue principale de Morrisville, dans laquelle se trouvent toutes les commodités (restaurants, banques, poste). Le petit déjeuner était simplement fantastique, avec une profusion de mets allant des fruits de saisons aux plats maison (gauffres, pain de marche) agrémentés de produits locaux de très très bonne qualité. Bref, on espère bien y revenir en famille plus tard dans l’année, histoire de profiter de la chûte des feuilles et pourquoi pas de la saison d`hiver


Village Victorian was excellent

5 on September 05, 2012

We are from Quebec and that B&B was more than we expected with our two little girls. We especially appreciated the living room with all the books and some games for the kids. We also appreciated all the movies available to watch with the children during the evening. The hosts were wonderful. We hope to return.


A place to remember...

5 on August 27, 2012

A very good place to stop and pass a few days. Generous breakfast, exceptionnally delicious and plated whit a touch of finess. A lot of delicates attentions from Ellen. Romms are cleans and aparts, so it make us feel very confortable. We received good informations for our visit at Vermont. Thanks to Ellen and Philipp!


Friendly and homely

4.2 on August 14, 2012

An extremely comfortable stay. Our hosts were very helpful and we were relaxed in their company. The breakfasts were plentiful and gave local specialties the forefront on the table. A nice way to introduce some local ideas. It is centrally placed, not just for Morrisville, but for most activities in the area. The local church does ring out all the hours even during the night though.


Excellant Choice !

5 on August 13, 2012

Just the nicest place w/such friendly, accommodating hosts & a wonderful breakfast


siper stay!

5 on July 12, 2012

very nice rooms and clean bathrooms. centrally located. lovely charm and character, sumptuous breakfasts and friendly owners/hosts. plan to return soon.


Great Time1

5 on July 02, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip! Great service and amazing food. Would highly reccommend this to anybody


Our best Vacation experience in many years.

5 on May 29, 2012

Staying for two nights with Philip and Ellen at the Village Victorian was only the beginning of a tremendous adventure in the Northeast Kingdom. We arrived late Saturday evening to a smiling hostess in Ellen and woke to a fabulous 5Star breakfast and then enjoyed wonder conversations on the back porch to begin our day. We then took advantage of the Lakeside Cottage on Shadow Lake for 5 more nights. The cottage was so peaceful and even though a TV was in the cottage we never turned it on because the days were filled with adventures in the N.E. Kingdom and the evening were spent unwinding while listening to the Owls and Loons that seem to be prolific in that area. We enjoyed getting to know Ellen and Philip so much we made two or three stops back by the house just to say hi or grab a cup of great coffee. Some places you go and want to forget. Others you go to and want to keep it your own secret. But to not share this gem with others would just not be right. We will be back many times for years to come. Darrin and Sheila Koone - Lewisville, NC


Graduation Stay

5 on May 16, 2012

Our stay there was wonderful - the people & the rooms & the service. The breakfasts were wonderful & I Thank Ellen for introducing me to Mint Tea - I LOVE it! Our stay there made our trip for our Son's Graduation all around special. We would certainly stay there again.


One Night Stay

5 on May 03, 2012

Our one night stay was great. We find B and B's to be the best way to go. As usual, this one was too. We'll be sure to stay again when we come back to see our first Great Grandbaby.


A Wonderfull B&B!

5 on May 02, 2012

We stayed one night at the Village Victorian but wish we could have stayed longer. We loved the relaxed atmosphere, the charming bedroom and the yummy and hearty breakfast! Inn-keeper Philip was a delight, with fascinating stories and a great sense of humor, despite missing his wife Ellen (who was out of the country). We will DEFINITELY return to this B&B!


Wonderful experience

5 on April 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here while we went to look at the local college. We came from Maine and this was my first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast. Our stay was wonderful - Ellen and Philip treat you as family members and the breakfast was elegantly served and included Vermont specialties. I would recommend a stay here to anyone visiting that area of Vermont - you will be amazed!


Charming place off the beaten path

5 on March 13, 2012

I was surprised at the warmth and pleasant people I found here. The room was comfortable, with it's own thermostat. Breakfast was more than anything I have ever found at a B and B. Thanks.


Wonderful stay

5 on February 25, 2012

Our first B&B experience was so much more than we expected! Great food and wonderful hosts in a beautiful home with a warm and inviting atmosphere. Such a nice surprise ...


Excellent place, great people

5 on February 21, 2012

The Village Victorian is a wonderful place to visit. The home is beautiful, breakfast is hearty and delicious and the owners are very nice people. They are flexible with breakfast times for those of us that want to be skiing early. I've been twice and will certainly visit again.


Sets a high standard

5 on February 11, 2012

The proprietors of V.V. set a very high standard in every respect, without overdoing it. My wife and I stayed here recently when she had surgery at nearby Copley Hospital, and we felt comfortable from the time we arrived until we left. We've breakfasted at some very fancy hotels and restaurants over the years; Village Victorian offers a real "break-feast" that will start even a bad hair or weather day off on the right foot.


Wonderful Stay

5 on January 05, 2012

My husband and I arrived the night after Christmas anticipating a one night stay... not long after we arrived we quickly added another night! Ellen and Philip were wonderful hosts and we were so blessed by being in their home. We stayed in the Pickwick room and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay. It is a lovely home and the breakfasts were delicious!! We felt like honored guests!! We highly recommend the Village Victorian!


A wonderful relaxing weekend

5 on December 07, 2011

When my wife and I go to a B&B over the weekend we expect a special treat. We expect a homy welcoming place and not the typical hotel "atmosphere". And we got so much more than that ... After a great dinner in the Stowe area we went to our wonderfully decorated room (The Primrose room) and had a a good night sleep in a very comfortable bed. In the morning Philip and Ellen were waiting for us with freshly brewed coffee and one of the best breakfasts I every had. If you never had Marple cream ... stay away or you will be addicted to it! ... and you need to try the bacon prepared by Philip! After a day of walking, shopping, and sightseeing we enjoyed the evening at the fireplace. What a wonderful experience. Definitely worth a try and we will be back.


Suited us Perfectly

4.8 on July 28, 2011

Ellen met us, tired from our trip, with friendly, low-key hospitality. She chatted until we felt warmly welcome, then left us blissfully alone in a lovely, thoughtfully decorated room. We slept soundly and enjoyed a walk around beautiful gardens before a luxurious breakfast. We will be back.


Most charming bed and breakfast

5 on July 14, 2011

Absolutely wonderful b and b in beautiful vermont. Ellen and philip could not be more gracious. Most comfortable and quiet rooms and outstanding breakfasts


Best place I have ever stayed!

5 on December 22, 2010

The house was beautiful, rooms were spacious and the food was amazing! We couldnt have asked for a better vacation. Matt and Natalie Coleman


A spectacularly spectacular destination in Vermont!!

4.8 on September 28, 2010

Well, this is the most wonderful, welcoming place in all Vermont!! Philip and Ellen are so warm and friendly..extremely so..the rooms are so homey, warm and cozy and those breakfasts are absolutely deliciously wonderful...words can't express how good they are!! We'll be back for our 7th visit in another week and we can't wait!!! Eileen and Jim


good change from Stowe

4.4 on February 07, 2010

very friendly and helpful hosts, excellent living room with fireplace to hang out in, some nice places in town to eat and get away from the Stowe crowds.


Great Inn

4.4 on January 13, 2010

This is a great inn. Wonderful service. Recommend it to everyone.


A memorable experience

5 on November 08, 2009

In 2004 our daughter spent her honeymoon at the Village Victorian and enjoyed the stay so much that she and her husband gave my wife and I a gift certificate. We have returned every year since then. Philip and Ellen Wolff are wonderful people. Philip's breakfasts are delicious and amazing. The rooms are neat and tidy and there is a home-like atmosphere. Words like comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable come to mind. We will return next year in 2010.


Very pleasant stop

4.2 on September 02, 2009

We needed accommodations in this area and found this charming little surprise on the internet. Excellent hospitality. Excellent breakfast. We shall likely return in the future.


Outstanding Experience

4.6 on August 03, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay. The hospitality was fantastic. The breakfast was amazing. We will miss Phil's home-cooked goodies. We will definitely come back and recommend this B&B to friends & family.


excellent place to stay

5 on July 16, 2009

An excellent place to stay. Good food, and friendly innkeepers. thoroughly enjoyed. Would return again.


Such a pleasant place!

4.6 on June 30, 2009

I have stayed twice at Village Victorian for business and am returning for a vacation stay! Ellen and Philip have created such a nice B&B and breakfast is a treat!


A Great Night in Morrisville!

5 on February 11, 2009

This quaint b&b is a great value! After our long day driving and our dog-sled adventure, thewarm welcome was just what we needed. I can't stress enough how great we enjoyed the comfort of the actual bed! Also, the breakfast was beyond terrific! It was an impressive spread for just the 2 of us who were staying there that particular evening! Itw as the true meaning of superior hospitality!


wonderful

4.8 on February 01, 2009

My daughter and I arrived at the Village Victorian after dinner in a blustery snow shower and were delighted to be tucked in to our lovely room in a spacious but homey inn. The innkeepers, Ellen and Philip, greeted us warmly, and offered us a variety of possible entertainments. The inn itself was charmingly decorated and it was obvious that a lot of thought and experience had gone into the little details that can make guests feel welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable, the inn quiet, and with our own thermostat, which I set to low, we slept wonderfully. My daughter and I were delighted that, although we had to leave very early in the morning to travel to a ski marathon, we had fresh coffee ready to travel in cups with lids, and were offered fruit and muffins. Great place!


Nice find!

4.4 on December 12, 2008

Ellen and Phillip Wolff are lovely hosts and the house is GORGEOUS. It was the perfect little get-a-way for my Sweetie and I over a weekend I was performing locally.


Good Stay In Vermont

4.0 on September 23, 2008

The people running the B & B were very helpful and the breakfats were outstanding.f


Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $120
  • Reviews (55) 4.9
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8028888850

Visit Website »

View details

Top