Betsys Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

Es war grossartig!

4.0 on September 04, 2013

September, 02.2012 Nach langer Suche haben meine Frau und ich bei Betsys ein wunderschönes Zimmer erhalten. Die Betreuung war eben so gut wie das Frühstück in geselliger Runde mit den anderen Hausgästen. Vielen Dank für den tollen Emfang und Service. Baerbel und Georg Kammann


A great place to relax.

5 on March 27, 2013

Nice rooms, fantastic hosts and beautiful area.


Pleasant surpise!

4.6 on February 13, 2013

My wife and I had car trouble and got towed to Montpelier and we needed an overnight. we saw this place on the web and called up to get a room. Betsy herself gave us a discount and a lovely, comfortable room. Breakfast was real with eggs and pancakes. Very accommodating, three blocks form downtown Montpelier which has engaging businesses and restaurants.


a wonderful B&B in Montpelier

5 on December 25, 2012

I spent two nights at Betsy's and enjoyed myself thoroughly. The accommodation was great, the value was very good, the breakfast was excellent, and, best of all, Betsy and her husband were very welcoming--Jon even gave me a lift to the train station when I was on my way out of town. I highly recommend Betsy's.


Ok rooms but impersonal treatment

2.4 on October 05, 2012

Room was clean, bathroom felt like a cheap motel. Very impersonal treatment by owner and staff. Good food, not plentiful.


#1 B&B

4.6 on September 19, 2012

Forget allmost all other B&Bs. We spent 2 nights at Betsy. It is outstanding in all aspects, and Mom cannot cook better. Thank You Betsy.


A comfortable place to stay

4.6 on August 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Betsy's B&B. Location was great. Staff very friendly and helpful. The one thing we loved is the common area with small kitchen. We were able to spread it a little and relax.


Best B&B Ever!

5 on June 19, 2012

My partner and I spent 3-1/2 weeks at Betsy's just as Spring was coming into its full glory. We couldn't have found a better place to stay. Staff was warm and welcoming and made us feel like family. Breakfasts were outstanding--plentiful and delicious. The room was quiet and cozy and shared a sitting room and kitchen which we used when friends visited. Location is excellent, an easy walk to downtown. We'll be back!


Comfortable and unpretentious

4.2 on June 18, 2012

If we had read some of the negative reviews I doubt that we would have stayed at Betsy's. However, our experience over a in June 12 weekend was really quite exceptional.. If you expect 5 star accommodations at a two star price you will be disappointed. The rooms are totally adequate, good sized and clean with many Victorian details. The beds we had were firm. Each bedroom has an attached bath (not always available at B and Bs) and there was plenty of hot water. Housed in 2 turn of the century Victorians, the BandB is homey and quirky. The feel is definitely not modern motel with standard cooky cutter furnishings. The breakfasts, served at communal tables were excellent and generous with good choices of pancakes, muffins and eggs and plenty of coffee. The guests were interesting and there was good, friendly conversation at table. We'll stay again when we are next in Montpelier.


horrible bed and so so food.

2.6 on October 17, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's both in the US and abroad. Betsy's rates on the bottom of the list. Bed was so hard that my husband slept on a smaller bed in the room that did have a better matteress. The breakfast was okay but nothing special. Cold ceral, apples or oranges, muffins werent homemade. Breakfast was eggs prepared as you like but the meat selection, either bacon or saugage but not offered on the same day were very skimy portations. The cook was not very friendly. The guests at the table told me where the coffee and tea were located and I seldom saw Betsy unless it was check in and time to check out. She sat at the desk in front of the computer while her unfriendly staff served. Also the room had TV but no regular stations as in ABC, CBS,or NBC. We spent two nites and if we hadnt prepaid we would have stayed only one. I suggest you look for another B and B in the area. OH!! The room, bathroom, and dining area were all very clean!!!


If you're trying to decide...

5 on June 21, 2010

between Betsy's and any other local B&B (who shall remain nameless), PICK BETSY'S! I previously gave this B&B a good review, and now having had to stay somewhere else (Betsy was booked), I have to review Betsy again. The breakfast does not compare to another B&B you may be considering. The food is hot and fresh, the rooms are just as good, maybe a bit smaller than others, but not much. Seriously, if you are considering staying somewhere else, don't do it.


A winter treat for the senses

4.6 on March 06, 2010

A friend and I brought our children for a ski weekend, and shared a common room and kitchen, with separate rooms and bathrooms for each family. Cozy and lovely with a range of wonderful images and smells--yellow fresh eggs in the morning, warm muffins and breads, staff who cheerfully made extra pancakes for my son, sweet decor and beautiful indoor spaces, and the stillness of the porch on a snowy evening, where I took in the quiet with a cup hot, peppermint tea in hand. Betsy and Jon were great--friendly but not gushy, a little quirky and just real. Highly recommended!


Excellent Time!

4.0 on November 17, 2009

My husband and I spent our 5th Anniversary here the first weekend in November. It was a pleasant atmosphere and pleasant experience overall. :)


Felt Like Family

4.0 on October 12, 2009

We spent six nights here during peak "leaf-peeping" season, when the inn was full, but never felt crowded or saw the staff act stressed. We enjoyed the comfortable beds, private baths, gorgeous buildings, and yummy breakfasts. I also had fun making friends with the resident cat and dachsund puppy.


Scottish Traveller

5 on September 20, 2009

I only stay for one night by chance but I would certainly recommend it to everyone.Lovely clean room, peaceful area, five minutes walk to centre of town,good value for money,what more could you want.Neil


Would stay again in a heartbeat

5 on April 28, 2009

We were very pleased with the accommodations, especially compared the the price and value of the Montpelier Inn where relatives stayed. The common living room and kitchen, yet private bathroom, made our stay with children much easier than being in a regular hotel room. Breakfast made to order was fantastic!


Terrific Vermont Experience

4.2 on March 25, 2009

We visited Montelier in March - actually our first time ever in Vermont. Before leaving Dallas I emailed Betsy to iron out a few issues and when we arrived everything was perfect. The room was perfect, bed comfortable and warm, bathroom spic and span. There was even a full kitchen on our floor with all the items needed for morning coffee. Betsy has two homes next door to each other so we walked right next door to breakfast. There was a great selection of teas with individual teapots. Orange pancakes with authentic Vermont maple syrup. Eggs, breakfast meats, everything you could want. Betsy and her entire staff were so very pleasant. Staying here really made the first time Vermont experience a great experience. If my son ends up going to school there we will stay with Betsy every chance we get.


Excellent place to stay

4.0 on November 14, 2008

Close to downtown, very clean and nicely furnished. Very comfortable room. Delicious breakfast.


Great Value, Location and Accomodations

5 on August 27, 2008

My husband and I were given a Gift Certificate for B&B.com, and searched on-line for a location near our daughter's home in Montpelier for our recent visit. Betsy's was in a perfect location, near downtown. The daily breakfasts were delicious, the bedroom & bath we had was lovely, and we even had a "bonus" shared Living Room and kitchen as well. We were very pleasantly surprised. This was our first experience staying in a B&B, and we will definitely consider Betsy's again, as well as other B&B's.


An absolute favorite!

5 on June 15, 2008

My daughter and I have stayed at Betsy's half a dozen times in the last couple of years, as she is at school up in Vermont. We look forward to every visit, knowing we are getting a superb room and a fabulous breakfast every morning! It's almost like going "home"!


Disturbingly Unclean

1.4 on April 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Betsy's B&B and immediately felt concerned when we saw how cluttered and dirty the front porch was. The cushions and furniture were really filthy and there were dirty mops and piles of things that were very unattractive laying around on the porch. When we entered the inn, the carpet was gray with dirt. You could no longer see the colors in the carpets as they were so dirty. This continued through the house and began to fade only as you climbed up the stairs. The house was very cluttered with many undusted, old nicknacks. By the time we arrived at our room, we almost wanted to turn around and leave but we were financially committed by the no-cancellation policy of three days. Luckily our room (#2) appeared to be vacuumed. While the furniture was nice enough, the accessories in the room were cheap looking and cluttered. The electrical outlets did not have proper plates covering them. There was a dirty, worn envelope on the bedside table with a handwritten message soliciting tips (!). In the bathroom the hair dryer only blew cold air. Worst of all there was a window in the ceiling of the bathroom that was uncurtained and looked directly into the neighbor's window. No privacy on the commode or entering/exiting the shower during your stay! Mold in the bathtub - yuck. Overall, there were so many things that made us feel dirty that we could not in good conscience eat breakfast there the next morning.


Betsey's B&B.

5 on September 18, 2007

For our first time at a bed and breakfast, it was something e won't forget. Very clean and above board room, quiet and friendly. very good breakfast and friendly people.


A wonderful place!

5 on September 18, 2007

Betsy's is in two gorgeous Queen-Anne style houses, with original woodwork and period wallpaper and furniture. The rooms and beds are lovely and clean and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious, and was different each of the three mornings we were there. The back yard has a lovely garden with a hammock and a rope swing for smaller kids. State Street is beautiful, lined with Victorian Houses, with downtown at the bottom and Vermont College at the top, both within easy walking distance from Betsy's. The side streets are also beautiful, with quaint houses and gardens. Montpelier is one of the most charming towns I have ever been in, and Betsy's was really wonderful.


Not only a great value

5 on July 19, 2007

Traveling around New England I stayed in many B&Bs. Betsy's was the least expensive and I wasn't sure what that would mean. Well--what I got was a good location, fabulous spacious room and bathroom (the best of all that I stayed in) and a delightful breakfast shared with very friendly guests. The only thing that wasn't perfect was that it was a bit noisy in the late evening and early morning (kids/adult male, crying/yelling/loud talking) --but whether that was in the house or next door it was hard to tell since the windows were open.


Excellent

5 on July 13, 2007

Everything about our stay was wonderful from the reservations, the room and the breakfast. Betsy is wonderful, sweet, and accommodating. Lovely B&B, safe, beautiful, clean, and convenient. A++


Betsys Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $160
  • Reviews (25) 4.4
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (802) 229-0466

Visit Website »

View details

Top