Wilburton Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
10 Reviews

Write A Review

Great stay!

3.6 on October 13, 2013

John Schmidt


An Extraordinary Inn

5 on September 16, 2013

The Wilburton Inn staff made a special effort to accommodate 85 guests of a wedding party I recently attended - guest stayed at the main mansion and several villas on the grounds. This was not the usual sort of wedding party, as the guests were from India and the U.S. Nor was the Wilburton Inn, I discovered, the usual sort of Inn. Walking across the broad lawn bordered by woodlands and in the shadow of the Green Mountains, a slight, elder Aunt in her sari stopped me to say, "This is a healing place." Sculpture pieces are placed throughout the natural setting; a glass building overlooks the grounds. The glass building houses murals which illustrate the work of the Inn's owner, Albert Levis, whose psychological research and practice were devoted to the resolution of the many conflicting polarities in human character. The resolution Dr. Levis sought was for individual lives and for the greater human community. In the quiet of her walk across the lawn, the Aunt was sensing this. The majority of the staff were three generations of the owner's family. The mingling of the Indian and American families with the Wilburton Inn family, as they warmly provided hospitality, felt totally easy. They adapted to the desires of the bride and groom by preparing both Indian and Western cuisine. A musical grandson among the Inn's staff welcomed us to the dining hall with music performed on his double bass. After the wedding dinner was served, Mrs. Levis told us the story of this historic Inn and how the family acquired it. Dr. Levis was graciously visible and available to help guests with whatever they needed. If it was conversation you wanted with him, you were in for a treat. Our wedding group invited all of this, but if you are of the mind to be quietly on your own, the staff will not intrude. I fear this review may sound rhapsodic, but this extraordinary place inspires just that.


Great weekend getaway

4.6 on July 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked a long weekend here as a getaway from NYC. The Inn is wonderful, the setting in the great green mountains perfectly natural and romantic, and the staff at the Inn was very helpful and accommodating without being intrusive. Delicious local food, also, and a very short ride to some great shopping and other restaurants and bars in town.


The Inn on the hill

5 on July 19, 2013

Great place to stay. I always suggest to my friends to stay there.


A Beautiful Spot

4.0 on July 17, 2013

Restful, picturesque, with beautiful views from the rooms, dining areas, and grounds. Artistic, somewhat European atmosphere. A very pleasant and relaxing place.


Amazing weekend with friends

4.8 on July 17, 2013

We really loved our stay at Melissa’s house!! She was very helpful, pleasant and hospitable host and even greeted us with a welcome present of local organic bread and cookies. The house was very specious with high ceilings and large deck overlooking amazing mountain views of Vermont with an outside barbecue grill. The rooms were large and comfortable and very clean. The house could easily accommodate our group of 9 grownups and the kitchen was well equipped with a large dining table. The house is located on a 28 acre of the Wilburton Inn which includes an outside swimming pool and a tennis court that was a great addition to our weekend. Also, the inn’s grounds are like a big museum of sculptures and magnificent landscape architecture which was very relaxing and tranquil (a great retreat for Newyorkers!!). We would definitely come back again!! Thanks Melissa!!


Old fashioned romance

4.4 on April 30, 2013

My husband and I discovered the Wilburton Inn and felt like we were kings and queens of the castle. It was so romantic and private - I feel so lucky that we found it. It's truly a one of a kind place. After skiing at Stratton, we came back and cuddled by the hugest fireplace I've ever seen. I loved walking on the grounds and looking at the mountains. We will be back!


Perfect wedding destination

4.4 on June 13, 2009

We hosted our wedding weekend at the Wilburton Inn May 15-17, 2009 and it could not have been more perfect! From Georgette and Albert to Paula, our wedding coordinator, to Chef Jason, everyone was beyond hospitable! When you are a guest at the Inn, you become family. They were more than accomodating from the day we went to tour the grounds and ever since. We highly recommend the Wilburton Inn for a wedding destination or just a weekend getaway! Rachel Hawryluk


They made me feel at home

5 on November 06, 2007

The innkeepers, the Levis family, made me feel like I was staying as an honored guest in their home. The antiques are amazing, the view was out of this world. The setting was everything I imagined it to be, high above the gorgeous lush countryside. The two meals I had there were delicious. I loved it.


Dreaming of the old glory.

3.4 on October 18, 2007

The original building was probably great. It lost with time its glitz. Service however was gracious, great terrace breakfast.


Wilburton Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $380
  • Reviews (10) 4.4
  • Rooms 32
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8023622500
  • Toll free 1-8006484944

Visit Website »

View details

Top