The Inn at Ormsby Hill Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

Loved my first Bed & Breakfast stay

5 on July 02, 2014

We can not say enough about how good our stay was at the Inn. The Inn is so beautiful and our room was lovely and very comfortable. It had all the amenities you could think of with some that didn't even cross my mind. Yoshio and Diane are so welcoming and helpful with things to do in Manchester as well as restaurant information to be able to make good choices on where to dine. The grounds are simply breathtaking with comfortable seating inside and outside on the patio. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each day we were there and good conversation with Yoshio and Diane. We can't wait to be able to visit again.


Innat Ormsby Hill

5 on May 26, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Vermont for our anniversary and stayed at The Inn at Ormsby Hill. I must say we were extremely pleased with our accommodation. We stayed in the Anne Eliza room. It was beautifully decorated with a fireplace and hot tub. Each morning we would go down to the dining area for coffee and an amazing breakfast that was prepared by Diane the owner. The flavored butter on the Japanese bread was delicious. The owner's Diane and Yoshio were very outgoing and friendly. They would greet you every morning. As they served you breakfast they would explained what was being served and how it was prepared. Their staff was helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful but unfortunately it rained the weekend we went and were unable to enjoy them. We look forward to going back next year.


Overnight get away

5 on February 10, 2013

This trip was our first to a bed & breakfast, but many more to come and definately at The Inn at Ormsby Hill. Diane and Yoshio made our stay very comfortable and relaxed. We also want to thank Christine for the tour, she sold us on the Inn.


30th Anniversary Trip

5 on October 23, 2012

Lovely stay for our special anniversary. Beautiful room, wonderful breakfast , great conversation with other guests and new inn keepers. Even though Diane and Yoshio have only had the Inn for a few months, you would think they were seasoned inn keepers. We hope to make a trip back soon.


Annual trip to VT

5 on February 07, 2012

The Inn at Ormsby Hill is the only place to stay in Vermont. The innkeepers, Ted and Chris will make your visit an exceptional one. The breakfast is like no breakfast you have ever had before. Where else do you get desert for breakfast. This was my husband and my fourth trip. Our second year we made the mistake of staying at another B&B, and we will not do that again. All of the rooms are exceptionally decorated and cozy. Attention has been paid to every detail. If you stay here, you are guaranteed a wonderful trip.


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on October 14, 2011

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Inn at Ormsby Hill at the end of September. The Inn's decor and our room, the Lincoln bedroom, were beautiful with antique furnishings throughout.Breakfasts were sumptuous,with Chris outdoing herself each day. We met delightful people during our stay and enjoyed the hospitality of the innkeepers-Ted and Chris Sprauge. We will definitely be back. We have stayed at several top B&B's around the country and would put the Inn right at the top. Ed and Linda Smith


A dream weekend

5 on August 03, 2011

Ted and Chris are delightful innkeepers! The breakfasts prepared by Chris were delicious! The inn itself is so beautiful and meticulous. Our room was lovely, and the bathroom was glorious! We really relaxed in the jacuzzi tub with a bottle of champagne. We can't wait to return!!!


A Charming Spot in Peaceful Vermont

5 on July 31, 2011

My husband and I have made many trips to Manchester over the years. The Inn at Ormsby Hill is a true gem in a neighborhood chock full of inns. The common areas, gardens and rooms are inviting and impeccably maintained. The breakfasts rival meals I've had in the finest hotels in the world. A truly pleasant stay.


The perfect "Currier & Ives" New England Bed & Breakfast

5 on December 14, 2010

I just returned from the perfect weekend in Manchester, Vermont, made so by our host inkeepers Chris & Ted Sprague. The Inn at Ormsby Hill is right out of a Currier & Ives photo with fireplaces in all rooms, jacuzzis, canopy beds, beautiful furnishings throughout, and great views. What made our stay so special was that our hosts made us feel like family staying at their home, and not guests. Chris is a wonderful chef and the many course breakfasts could not be beat. We even had a breakfast dessert! Do yourself a favor and visit the Inn at Ormsby Hill soon. You will not be disappointed.


THE BEST B&B AND BREAKFAST IN MANCHESTER

5 on April 05, 2010

We have been coming to the inn for about 10 yrs, back before there were flat screen tv's in every room. We have been in alot of the rooms over the years. Our favorite is the Taft. It is truly a home away from home. The room is spacious, warm and inviting. There is also a small reading room, which is very comfy, great place to have a glass of wine and catch up on some reading. It also has a fridge to keep your snacks in, if you don't have any, there is some you can enjoy,including wine and cheese, and just add to your bill at end. You also get homemade cookies in your room upon arrival from Chris who is the innkeeper along with her husband Ted. He is the one who keeps the inn in great shape and serves you breakfast. Lets talk about breakfast for a moment. First, let me tell you a little about Chris which we learned from Ted. She is greek and that means if you don't finish breakfast she thinks you didn't like it, and if you do finish breakfast, she thinks she didn't give you enough. Well needless to say, I dare the biggest eater to say he isn't stuffed after one of Chris's breakfast. For starters, you always get cake, followed by ice cream , yes I said ice cream, and a hot fruit dish, followed by some delicious meal which you will never cook at home. There is never any eggs over light or pancakes, as she figures you eat that at home. We have coffee and yogurt. It is so nice to have such a scrumptous breakfast on vaca. Most of us always eat lunch, but not many of us get to enjoy the most important meal of the day.They have plenty of dinner suggestions if you ask, and they are always on the mark. We are not skiers, but come here for some R & R, good food, a cozy stay and of course, some shopping. Marissa and Steve


What a B & B should be...

4.6 on March 13, 2010

The Inn was the perfect escape for a 3-day weekend with my girl. Ted & Chris were extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room (Ethan Allen) was cozy, clean and met all of our expectations. Every detail, down to the breakfasts, wine and dinner recommendations were on-point. It was a great experience and we'll definitely be back. Highly recommended.


Wonderful Place

4.2 on December 01, 2009

We stayed for several nights in October and had a wonderful experience. The Inn is very clean, cozy, and comfortable. We enjoyed Chris and Ted - they are real Vermonters. We met some other nice people who were staying there. All in all a great experience. Only (very small) issue was that the breakfast menu is a little on the heavy side with sauces & cheese, etc. Maybe a lite offering for those who are watching their diets would be a nice touch. Definitely will go back.


Loved it, going back

4.8 on October 13, 2008

Writing belated review now - my husband and I stayed at Ormsby Hill in May 2008 and liked it so much that we are heading back this weekend for an autumn visit. Very comfortable and welcoming, both homey and luxurious. Chris was a lovely host - provided chilled champagne or evening glass of wine on request, fab breakfasts, and information on history of the house and surroundings. I also spent a number of hours working comfortably at the dining room table via free high-speed internet; not every B&B offers that convenience. We can't wait to go back.


Best of the Best

5 on January 23, 2008

The Inn at Ormsby Hill is perfection. The mansion has been beautifully restored with antiques and luxurious fabrics. Ted and Chris have created a very special experience for their guests. Breakfast here will be remembered long after you've returned home. Chris's creations are unique and delicious. This is a total luxury experience


Wonderful! We Will Be Back!!

5 on September 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Ormsby earlier this Summer and had a fantastic time. We've stayed at 3 other inns around the Manchester area, this one is by far the nicest.


Wonderful Stay!

4.6 on June 22, 2007

We stayed at the Inn at Ormsby Hill for 4 nights on our recent trip to Manchester. This was a return trip to the inn for us and our second stay was just as wonderful as the first. The inn is beautifully maintained, the rooms are wonderfully decorated, and the beds are so comfortable you will not want to get up in the morning (but you manage to do so because breakfast here is a real treat, which even includes dessert!!). The innkeepers and staff are very gracious and helpful. This is THE place to stay in Manchester - perfect for a week of rest and relaxation or a romantic weekend. This is also a perfect place to stay if you are attending the Orvis Fly Fishing School. We feel very much at home here and we are already looking forward to our next stay!


Nice retreat from the world!

3.6 on January 08, 2007

Went there for their annual "mud month" specials and we enjoyed our time spent there very much. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast is a feast unto itself and overall we had a wonderful time in a beautiful area of Vermont.


The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Details

  • Nightly Rate $185 - $535
  • Reviews (17) 4.8
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8023621163
  • Fax 1-8023625176
  • Toll free 1-8006702841

Visit Website »

View details

Top