The Governor's Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

One of the best bed and breakfasts

5 on August 27, 2014

The owners were more than hospitable. Amazing serivice and knowledge of local history. The home is updated with the latest technology from keypad door entry to automatic toilets. We stayed on the second floor. There was even a butler basket for items you may have forgotten tooth brushes, shaving cream, etc Breakfast was outstanding!!! Easily the best BB we have stayed. A must visit for any vermont goer. More than reasonable prices.


Excellent service and customer care

4.0 on July 09, 2014

Jim (with a J, not a G) was very welcoming as soon as we walked through the door. He gave us a tour of the house and explained the history of the area and of the previous owners. The Inn was beautiful and very well-kept. The Innkeepers were always available to answer our questions, and were extremely helpful in regards to local events, dining, and driving directions. We went for just one night to celebrate a special event, and were treated with as much time and attention as the guests staying for longer. The afternoon Tea was an excellent way to socialize with the other guests and the Inkeepers, and the breakfast was simply delicious. If I return to the area I plan on checking for availability here before going anywhere else.


Wonderful

4.8 on March 13, 2013

Truly enjoyed the entire experience. Was having so much fun and enjoying the hospitality, that found it hard to leave each morning. Jim, Cathy and the team were wonderful hosts. We would definitely recommend to anyone.


Our first trip

5 on March 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to find a bed and breakfast in Vermont, and my friend recommended The Governor's Inn. She had confused the inn for another place, but I'm glad she did! We were supposed to go on Feb 9 but Nemo showed up and the Massachusetts driving ban meant we could not even get our rental car! The owner was very nice and understanding and rescheduled our stay for the next month without an additional charge. The price was very reasonable for the quality and location. I loved the classic style of the inn and the personal touches. We enjoyed the tea time (wonderful!) and were within walking distance of pubs and dining for the night. I'm VERY particular about staying in hotels, etc, when it comes to cleanliness. I am happy to say we had no problems. The bed was spotless, the bathroom was clean, and the downstairs common area was comfy. The breakfast was GREAT. There were plenty of things to pick from as a vegetarian. And I was surprised to see how much came with the meal! My boyfriend wouldn't stop talking about the breakfast on the drive home. Also, the owner was so helpful and friendly when we were picking a place to eat dinner. He had tons of suggestions for dining and hiking nearby. Overall, we had a great time and hope to return in the fall.


Wonderful Experience

5 on September 27, 2012

Our stay at the Governor's Inn was fabulous!!! The room was spotless and expertly furnished, the common areas were inviting, breakfast was incredible, and Jim and Cathy were the perfect hosts. We just wished that we could have stayed for more than two nights as there was so much to do in the surrounding area. With a little luck and planning, we'll make the long drive up from VA again to experience this little gem hidden near the Green Mountains of Vermont.


We keep coming back!

5 on March 16, 2012

We just completed our fourth stay at the Governor's Inn and these days when we are getting ready to ski Okemo we ask one another "When are we going to The Governor's Inn" rather than when are we going to vermont......the breakfasts are not too be missed and the rooms are so comfortable....we won't stop returning!


All we could ask for!

4.0 on January 27, 2012

We were all very tired when we arrived. The mood of our stay was set when Jim met us at the door and in his warm and friendly manner, showed us around. We felt better right away. Our room was spotless and,the beds very comfortable. It was also the largest and prettiest room I have ever stayed at in an inn. Breakfast was wonderful - a delicious homemade three course delight. When we said " Bye" to Jim, we had high hopes of returning.


Great place for a Reunion

4.2 on November 07, 2011

This is a great place for a small group to get together for a reunion (which we did), a ski weekend, or leaf-peeping, You have to stay for a couple of days or more to really appreciate the hospitality and service of the Innkeepers. If you just want to pass through, the crumby Best Western is across the street.


Wow--what an experience

5 on October 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days and were very impressed. We stay at a lot of B&Bs and this is one of the top ones we have ever stayed at. The freindly atmosphere, amazing breakfasts and warm, inviting rooms were incredible. This B&B is highly recommended for anyone wanting an exceptional experience.


3 days of bliss

5 on October 26, 2011

Three days in "The Suite" on the top floor was much more than expected. Breakfasts were unparalleled and the personal attention divine. We wonder how they do it day after day. But they do! Great location and views and their knowledge of the area is outstanding.


Great room, great food, great memories!

4.0 on October 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the hospitality of Jim and Cathy. The room was wonderfully appointed, spacious, and the bed was all we could have asked for. The breakfasts were creative, delicious, and filling. We love to hike, and during our weekend, we hiked up a woods trail to the top of Okemo - That morning's hearty breakfast gave us plenty of fuel for the climb.


Didn't want to leave!

5 on November 02, 2010

Everything was wonderful at the inn. The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful with suggestions on restaurants, sights to see, and supplying directions. But the best part of our stay was the breakfasts which were DELICIOUS! Plus, there was enough food that we didn't need lunch. Afternoon tea each day had more tasty treats. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend The Governor's Inn.


What a get a away!

4.6 on January 26, 2010

We recently stayed at the Governor's Inn. The food was amazing...I never thought breakfast could be so good. The second day we skipped lunch just so we could make room for tea time. Everything was fresh baked and warm right from the oven. The inn keepers and staff were very friendly and helpful. I would not stay anywhere else when going to Okemo.


A delightful stay in a great location

5 on January 01, 2010

We treated ourselves to a stay in the Suite the Governor's Inn this December, and we loved everything about it! Cozy fireplace, views over the village to Okemo mountain, whirlpool tub, and lots of thoughtful details made us feel so pampered. We returned from a day's skiing to warm up with afternoon tea at the Inn. Jim and Cathy are such welcoming and helpful hosts, and breakfast is truly something special!


a superb B&B

5 on December 18, 2008

We are frequent guests at the Governor's and it just gets better. The innkeepers and food are the best. We highly recommend this inn!


fall fun

5 on October 23, 2008

The inn was wonderful and the food was even better! Jim and Cathy were great hosts. The fall foliage was beautiful. My husband and I loved our visit!


The Governor's Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $144 - $299
  • Reviews (16) 4.7
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8022288830
  • Fax 1-8022282961
  • Toll free 1-8004683766

Visit Website »

View details

Top