Green River Bridge House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

We didn't want to leave

5 on November 03, 2013

Our room was utterly charming. We had a view of the river, and were entertained by the wildlife we watched from our deck. It was totally relaxing. Joan's breakfasts were delicious. As we visited with her and the other guests, we felt like family. We enjoyed strolling through the autumn leaves and feeling close to nature.


Wonderful Experience!

5 on September 09, 2013

A beautiful home and a wonderful host. This Bed and Breakfast has spectacular views and beautiful gardens. Joan the innkeeper made us feel so at home. Her home is clean and comfortable. Every bedroom had it's own bathroom. You feel so relaxed when staying there. Breakfast was absolutely delicious! I can't wait to go back.


A great escape

5 on August 30, 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderful weekend retreat at the Green River Bridge Inn in Brattleboro Vt. We would highly recommend a stay in this beautiful country inn. The inn keeper was most welcoming and provided wonderful breakfasts. We hope to go back for another stay.


ROMANTIC ANNIVERSARY GETAWAY

5 on August 16, 2013

Our expectations were exceeded at this B&B. Beautiful landscape and surrounding area and charming inn (inside and out). Five star breakfasts and very warm and welcoming Innkeeper Joan. We plan to return!


Wonderful B&B

5 on July 30, 2013

GRBH is an immaculately restored B&B, in a delightful streamside location in the Vermont woods. Breakfasts are wonderful. Recommend highly.


Outstanding!

4.6 on June 14, 2013

What a find! The GRBH exceeded our expectations. Lovely accommodations, exceptionally clean and beautifully served breakfast (and delicious). All this and an innkeeper extraordinary. Joan did everything to make our visit the best it could be!


Top Class Accommodation in Vermont

5 on June 12, 2013

If you want top class accommodation, with excellent home cooking and a warm welcome you cannot beat Green River Bridge House.


Awesome!

5 on February 24, 2013

The GRBH was the best B&B I have ever stayed at. Mrs. Seymour made my family part of hers. Great experience!


Wonderful Retreat

5 on October 03, 2012

The GRBH is a wonderful retreat from the frantic pace of daily life. Beautiful, natural setting, outstanding accommodations & great service!


Heaven on Earth

5 on September 17, 2012

This isn't just a B&B - it's a home away from home. Joan the innkeeper is a delightful host who makes sure you are comfortable and in need of nothing. And do NOT leave without trying her Fresh Cranberry Torte for breakfast - thank goodness she will gladly share the recipe! How many times can you say you fell asleep to the sound of water flowing under a historic covered bridge? It was tough to leave each day to attend the family reunion. We can't wait for a return visit!


Vacation

5 on September 11, 2012

We have stayed at many B&Bs -- this was truly a special place -- innkeeper was gracious and so giving -- wonderful place to stay!


Lovely, Picturesque; a Perfect Retreat!

5 on September 04, 2012

My trip was for business, but staying here made it feel like vacation! The house is beautifully decorated and maintained and situated ideally by a covered bridge and a river with a peaceful garden. Joan made exquisite breakfasts and was a perfect host/innkeeper! Can't wait till I can go back!


An Enchanting Place.

5 on August 14, 2012

Joan is a warm & gracious host, and we felt privileged to stay at her in. Quiet, serene setting with gorgeous natural surroundings. Breakfasts were outstanding. We wish we were still there!


Beautiful Inn, Graciously Hosted

5 on August 04, 2012

Beautiful inn, area, and people. Breakfast was delicious, Joan was marvelous, and we will return


Amazing B&B

5 on November 21, 2011

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and we were completely blown away by how great The Green River Bridge House is. The house was immaculate and the rooms were beautiful. The scenery around the house was breathtaking. The service was great, Joan was an amazing hostess, she made us feel right at home. The breakfast was exceptional. Each morning Joan creates an amazing home cooked breakfast, with unique breakfast items, no run of the mill pancakes and eggs here. And can I just say the bacon was amazing. I can’t wait to go back, it definitely made our Vermont trip a memorable experience.


A Gem in the Woods

5 on September 01, 2011

My partner and I spent 6 delightful days in this lovely home, and from the first day we felt like welcome family rather than guests. Breakfast each morning was tailored to our needs (I do not eat wheat, my partner loves baked goods) and was delicious. In any direction there is a wonderful view begging to be explored, and I loved the reflections in the pond above the dam, as well as the sound of rushing water as I slept. I recommend Joanie's Bridge House wholeheartedly.


So peaceful

4.8 on August 18, 2011

This was the most lovely and peaceful B&B I have ever stayed at. The Inn was immaculate, beautifully decorated with a lovely setting. The covered bridge, dam, river as well as the little white church up on the hill added to the quaint feel. We stayed in the Sunrise room which had a balcony over-looking the gardens and river. From our room we could hear the sound of the river flowing. Breakfast was wonderful! Joan the Inn keeper is a great cook. We enjoyed stimulating conversation around the breakfast table with Joan and the other guests. We could see many different types of birds coming around the bird feeder just outside the dining room as well as little chipmunks. This all added to this great New England country feel. Loved it!


Amazing Weekend

5 on March 14, 2011

I have to say this is the nicest Bed & Breakfast I have ever stayed at. This home is just beautiful. The renovations that made this old post office in to this beautiful B&B are just amazing. The innkeeper is very warm and friendly and her cooking is wonderful. The rooms are so comfortable and clean. The views of the covered bridge and river right outside your window are breathtaking. We enjoyed Brattleboro and all of the are attractions.


Restfull Weekend

5 on March 14, 2011

Did you ever need a quiet weekend away from the rush of the world? Well, The Green River Bridge House is the place to be. The sound of the Green River flowing along the property and the water rushing over the dam is so peaceful and relaxing. Joan the Inn Keeper makes you feel right at home, she opens her B & B to you like it was your own. Her Breakfast is delicious and the conversation over the table is knowledgeable, entertaining and you make such great friends with the other guests that stay at the B & B. Take a ride into Brattleboro and have the time of your life, wonderful restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. Take a trip and Enjoy the Green River Bridge House, Thanks Joan for a wonderful weekend. I will be back!


Perfect Vermont

5 on December 19, 2010

We loved everything about this quaint, perfectly restored historic inn. The setting is idyllic, the hostess is charming, the inn is homey & comfortable. Nothing is lacking!


Peaceful, Beautiful and Comfy!

4.4 on November 14, 2010

Adjacent to a covered bridge, tucked away in a charming hamlet, the GRBH could not be in a more bucolic location. Inside the decor is elegant yet inviting and scrupulously clean. The breakfast table overlooks a park-like yard and the river. And the food is fabulous. We had a great stay!


Delightful B&B

5 on October 12, 2010

I stayed 2 nights in this charming B&B right on the Green River next to a covered bridge providing a very relaxing, tranquil setting. The innkeeper is delightful, is very warm and caring and offers delicious, gourmet breakfasts. The B&B is spotless and has been lovingly decorated. If you enjoy the outdoors there are walks you can take or you can just sit outside and enjoy the lovely backyard next to the river. The fall was a beautiful time to visit with the changing of the colors. I would highly recommend this B&B.


A wonderful Bed & Breakfast

4.8 on October 10, 2010

My wife & I stayed at the Green River Bridge House this Columbus day weekend. Joan was an exceptional host - she was very friendly and so gracious - but she entirely respected our privacy. The breakfast is wonderful... and such a beautiful setting. We stayed in the sunrise room which has a great view of the fast flowing river adjoining the property. The B&B is about 10 miles outside of Brattleboro - picture perfect setting... very quiet... lovely walks surround the property. Make sure you go to the Farmer's market on Saturday morning. The Green River Bridge House is thoroughly recommended.


The ideal perfect place for Vermont

4.0 on September 08, 2010

Came to the GRBH in August 2010 on our honeymoon through Vermont. This place came highly recommended from my brother who had stayed there twice with his wife and couldn't say enough positive things about it. Even after all that, Green River Bridge House surpassed our expectations. It is the ideal setting to experience Vermont, and gorgeous scenery for swims, runs, walks, and bike riding. Most of the biking in the area is extremely hilly and a great workout, but River Road right on the other side of the bridge is a gorgeous flat road that stretches for miles alongside the river and into Massachusettes. I can't even imagine how beautiful this area must be in the fall. But above all, the magic of this place comes from its owner Joanie. The most wonderful person to meet and have delicious breakfast with, and an inn keeper who keeps the grounds and the rooms inviting and serene. There is no reason to stay anywhere near Brattleboro if you don't stay her


Green River Bridge House

5 on August 02, 2010

This is truly a corner of heaven. The 1800's inn is beautifully decorated and the location is serene... New England covered bridge and waterfall included. Joan Seymour runs an excellent inn!


Charming and unique B and B experience!

4.6 on June 24, 2010

I had a wonderful time at GRBH! Joan Seymour is a charming hostess, the house was gorgeous, spotless, and decorated in a unique and tasteful fashion. The surroundings are lovely, lush, filled with colorful birds and a charming river right on the property. The backyard is like a private park, with a balcony where one can sit and watch the birds fly by and eat from the bird feeders. I highly recommend this B and B to anyone looking for a restful, rejuvenating experience and a chance to chat with a charming lady. I also had a very relaxing and professional facial during my stay.


Romance in Vermont

4.8 on June 07, 2010

My husband and I loved our stay at Joanie's B&B. The room, the personal service, the food and the atmosphere were all fantastic. We highly recommend this B&B for those looking to get away but still be close enough to area attractions such as Brattleboro, VT.


What a treat!

4.6 on May 17, 2010

A group of us rented the entire inn while visiting a friend who lives in the village, and Joan was one of the highlights of our weekend. She is so friendly and warm and takes a genuine interest in all of her guests. Breakfast was excellent, and it was such a pleasure to have her join our conversation. The rooms were very well done, and the living area is large and comfortable. The setting by the covered bridge is idyllic, and we really enjoyed the view of the river from the back yard and the many bird sightings at her feeders. We look forward to staying there again.


Lovely place in a very lovely setting!

4.6 on May 16, 2010

We stayed at this B&B for a weekend while celebrating a friend's birthday. Joan is a wonderful host and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. The breakfasts were delicious and the setting is hard to beat.


Beautiful home. Quiet and relaxing stay

4.2 on February 16, 2010

We recently spent a weekend at the Green River Bridge House and had a wonderful and relaxing stay. It was our first time at a B&B and the bar has been set very high! Joan, the hostess was friendly and made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door. The house was beautifully decorated and the grounds are amazing. Joan is a great cook. Our breakfast was all freshly made and the service was great. I would definitely recommend staying at the GRBH.


The Best Inn EVER!

5 on October 14, 2009

I just stayed at the Green River Bridge House and it exceeded ALL of my expectations! I found it to be OUTSTANDING in every sense of the word. It is a top notch INN - and a great value for the $$$. It was charming, CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN, the location is perfection....This was one of THE nicest places I have EVER stayed - and I do a TON of business travel. I have stayed in some of the finest hotels - and the Green River Bridge house was better than any hotel I have ever been to. Thank you Joan! you'll be seeing me again soon!!!!


Amazing!

5 on October 13, 2009

I don't know what the last person who commented was talking about, whenever my family is in Vermont we stay there! It is beautiful and immaculate. Joan the inn keeper is absolutely amazing and caring. The food is excellent and the place is spectacular! I recommend staying here!


Beautiful Spot

2.8 on October 11, 2009

Location is beautiful but far off the beaten path. Thought it was a little pricey, but guess it was because of the covered bridge views.


Green River Bridge House

5 on October 07, 2009

Excellent and friendly service, Would recommend a stay at this Bed & Breakfast.


A Restful Gem

4.2 on September 25, 2009

Lovely B&B, beautiful setting, charming innkeeper, beautifully furnished, charming and well maintained building, lovely grounds and good breakfast.


Perfection on a Mountaintop in Vermont

5 on September 25, 2009

I will return! Everything was perfection from the property to the renovated home to the warm and welcoming innkeeper Joan. Wished my stay could have been longer!


An amazing oasis in Vermont

5 on September 14, 2009

The inn is immaculate; no detail is left undone. Beautiful furnishings complement the spotless and well-appointed inn. The Green River bridge is just outside, with the comforting sound of the river flowing beneath it. Joan, the innkeeper, is a fantastic chef and a fabulous wealth of knowledge and conversation. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone traveling to Vermont!


Vermont getaway

5 on September 10, 2009

This extremely charming B&B is lovingly maintained and offers a wonderful taste of Vermont with a covered bridge, waterfall, river, delicious full breakfast and exceptional innkeeper/owner.


A great find!

5 on September 03, 2009

The inn, location (and gardens) next to a covered bridge, a crib dam -- more than I ever expected. The food -- all homemade and Joan, the innkeeper, made me feel welcome and relaxed.


fantastic!

5 on July 15, 2009

Welcoming innkeeper hosting a quiet respite in a lovely location by the river.


so beautiful!

5 on December 18, 2008

My stay at the Green River Bridge House was amazing. the scenery is beautiful with it's covered bridge and babbling brook. Our hostess, Joan, was friendly and accommodating. It's a real gem and easily accessible!


A New England treasure

3.8 on November 03, 2008

A picture-book hidden corner in southern New England. Joannie, our enthusiastic and genuinely welcoming hostess. Beautiful views, lovely home, big jacuzzi, porch to read or watch the stars, a white church on a hill, a rushing stream, a covered bridge


Green River

4.6 on October 30, 2008

We have stayed at this B&B several times and have always been more than satisfied with everything.


Green River Bridge House

5 on October 27, 2008

outstanding stay! great hosts, great food, clean rooms.


Follase getaway

4.6 on October 23, 2008

Charming setting. Friendly atmosphere. beautiful home and countryside. Rooms charming and clean. breakfast was plentiful and delicious. owner was very hospitable, warm, and friendly. the nicest B&B we've ever stayed at.


wish we could stay longer!...

5 on October 22, 2008

Joan creates a warm and wonderful experience at Green River Bridge House. Every room is lovely, the setting is beyond scenic, breakfast was delicious...we'll be back!!


A Gret Surprise!

5 on October 14, 2008

When we made the reservation at GRBH we didn't know what to expect. Joan and her beautiful home and hospitality made our stay one of the best overnights we have ever - experienced. This is quite a statement since we have traveled the world!


Love it!

5 on October 09, 2008

I can not say enough good things about the Green River Bridge House! Its like staying at one of the finest resorts or hotels, only BETTER. Innkeeper, Joan Seymour, is WONDERFUL. Not only is she great at what she does, she is a wonderful person as well. I can't wait to go back again. Now is the PERFECT time of year to go (great leaf peeping) - but I think I might be even more excited to try out her inn this winter. I bet its AMAZING with the snow! Thanks Joan for a GREAT time and I will see you again soon!


Excellent

5 on September 30, 2008

Beautiful place! Clean, Very scenic, innkeeper very nice - good food! Beautiful rooms - love the steam shower.


I cannot wait to go back!

5 on September 11, 2008

I spent 3 weeks in the U.S. last August and my two days at the Green River Bridge House were by far the highlight of my trip! Such a cosy and charming house, so nicely decorated and in the most beautiful natural setting. I felt so relaxed and I was so comfortable, it felt like at home. Add that to the most delicious food, impeccable service and the warmest welcome from the innkeeper, and you're like in Heaven. Believe me, the GRBH is part of Vermont's treasure and Joan the innkeeper is definitely its most beautiful jewel! I cannot wait to go back.


Love this place!

4.8 on September 10, 2008

The location is terrific - country atmosphere without being super far from town and other terrific ammenities. The rooms are gorgeous and the grounds are so beautiful and peaceful. I've stayed here during different seasons and have always enjoyed the stay. The inn keeper treats everyone like family and the service can't be beat. Beautifully decorated and comfortable.


A Must to Spend Time Here

4.0 on September 03, 2008

As I drive over the hill I can see the Covered Bridge, hear the Green River roaring over the dam and there is the Green River Bridge House. Absolutely beautiful. The rooms are very cozy and comforting. You can put your feet up with a good book while the river is roaring or just trickling along the side of the property. The breakfast is made with the utmost care by Joan Seymour the Inn Keeper, who has a charm that will warm you and you will want to return to hear her stories and the history of the Green River Bridge House. A Bed and Breakfast I recommend visiting.


I'll Keep Going Back!

5 on September 02, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed yet another wonderful stay at the GRBH -- I shared it with my best friend this time and we both have incredible memories. The beauty, the warmth, the impeccable service, the gourmet breakfasts...I could go on and on. But it's not just those things that make it special -- Joan Seymour, the Innkeeper, just adds to the warmth and makes the stay pure pleasure. I always feel like I'm going "home" as I pull into the drive.


A Little Bit Of Heaven

5 on September 01, 2008

As I drove over the hill to my final destination which was the Green River Bridge House I was absolutely amazed at what I found. A covered bridge, a dam and a river running along this beautifully maintained piece of property. Inn keeper Joan Seymour has so much love for this beautiful Bed & Breakfast that when she meets you at the door you feel warm and comfortable and ready to relax and enjoy your stay. She has a wonderful tale to tell of how this Bed & Breakfast came to be. The breakfast was just amazing served in the beautiful warm dining room looking out at the river. This is a Bed and Breakfast that must be visited. You will want to return very soon. There is such peace and tranquility spending time here that I'll bet you will make reservations for your next visit. A B & B not to be missed.


Green River Bridge House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $235
  • Reviews (54) 4.8
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8022575771
  • Toll free 1-8005281868

Visit Website »

View details

Top