Barsen House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

Thanks for everything

5 on September 26, 2012

What a relaxing stay. The Barsen House Inn was the perfect escape from reality, complete with quiet plush gardens, relaxing fire pit, and delicious fresh food. It is only a few hundred yards up the road from Lake Champlain and the innkeepers Peter and Daphne could not be nicer.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 25, 2012

The Barsen House is an absolutely lovely bed and Breakfast. The owners are very friendly and accommodating and the setting is quite beautiful. The Inn is very clean and they serve a delightful variety of breakfast food. A wonderful atmosphere for whatever your get-away needs may be.


Amazing Weekend in Addison, Vermont

5 on September 05, 2011

This is a beautiful B&B. We were an hour away from The Champlain Valley Fair. The roads to get to the fair are very pretty. Daphne and Peter are wonderful hosts. Their home has a warm and welcoming feeling. Daphne is an amazing cook! You won't leave there hungry and might not even be hungry for dinner. Yogurt and fruit, homemade muffins and breads; scrambled eggs with homemade salsa on the side (if you wish, don't pass it up) and apple pancakes and bacon. If you wish to sit and do nothing the grounds are just beautiful. The price is just right!


excellent VT get-away

4.0 on August 10, 2011

This Inn is set amidst lovely gardens, home to wildlife and pets. The immaculate cleanliness everywhere sets off the perfect taste in art, and VT themed furniture and crafts. The food was exquisite, and Daphne was very willing to adjust the meal time to suit us. She and Peter are interesting and friendly. We feel that we hit the jackpot here!


Exceptionally comfortable & clean with the best B&B food I've ever had

5 on September 29, 2010

It's worth staying here if you're planning on visiting anywhere within a 2 hour drive radius. Excellent. Cannot rave enough about the service, cleanliness, etc. One of our favorite parts about our honeymoon in VT.


Quintessential Vermont B&B

5 on August 16, 2010

Fantastic - people/beds/foods/views- had it all. Clean and comfortable, this place sets the bar!


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

5 on June 02, 2010

I had a great weekend visiting the Inn. The lovely grounds were great to wander around and I thoroughly enjoyed the home-cooked breakfast each day!


Barsen House Inn

3.6 on November 24, 2009

Home reflects the interests of the owners: beautiful craftsman made furnishings and delicious home grown breakfasts. In the country - a drive to restaurants, sights.


The place is beautiful

4.8 on November 03, 2009

The house is great, the hospitality could not have been more gracious and generous.


Love the Barsen Inn

4.8 on October 27, 2009

Daphne and Peter are wonderful hosts. I'd say they go out of their way to keep their guests happy, but they never seem like they're going out of their way. They're just super nice.


A country retreat filled with beauty

5 on October 07, 2009

BHI provided a wonderful respite from busy city life, in a quiet country setting with beautiful gardens and a birder's paradise surrounding a crescent shaped pond. A "one of a kind" house built by innkeeper, Peter, which included his custom-built furniture and artwork by local VT artists. Provided the guests with bountiful breakfasts prepared by Daphne. Gathering around the firepit on a summer evening added to the friendliness.


A Fantastic VT Weekend!

5 on October 01, 2009

The Barsen House Inn is a great Vermont Inn! Daphne and Peter make the stay even better. We look forward to returning!


Wedding

5 on October 01, 2009

This is a perfect peaceful beautiful place for the parents of a wedding couple to stay. The beauty of the gardens, landscaping and the gracious hospitality of the innkeepers make it so calm and pleasant.


Wonderful Stay!

4.6 on September 22, 2009

Innkeepers made us feel at home. Rooms, grounds, breakfast were great. Will definitely stay there again!


The most asthetically pleasing inn with the finest hospitality you'll find in Vermont!

5 on September 07, 2009

My friend and I stayed here for just one night, and this inn was the nicest of all the bed and breakfasts we stayed at in Vermont. The couple who own the house are incredibly friendly and welcoming. We arrived around 8:25pm, and didn't realize that most of the restaurants in Vergennes stop serving at 8:30. The woman who owns the Inn called the Black Sheep (which is also one of the best restaurants in all of Vermont) and got us a reservation. The Inn itself is beautiful! The husband actually designed the house and built all of the furniture himself and the wife decorated it. I felt as if I had just walked into the pages of a Better Homes and Garden Magazine. And speaking of gardens, the flowers and landscaping were fantastic! They even had a pond where their pet blue heron hangs out. It's truly a little piece of paradise in Vermont. And lastly, I NEED to mention the food. We woke up two different types of fresh homemade bread, fruit cups with fresh fruit, and the most delicious fritatta. They even made their own cheese! If you get the chance to come and stay a night in Addison, Vermont...you must stay at the Barsen House Inn. You will not be disappointed!


A perfect home in Vermont

5 on September 05, 2009

It was my first visit to Vermont where my daughter goes to college. The Barsen House was recommended by another BB innkeeper in Addison County. We had a great time in Barsen House. The beautiful farm environment, the cozy rooms, lovely flowers, delicious breakfast, friendly dog and cats. Most important the host family, Daphne and Peter made our stay a perfect college visit trip and a wonderful vacation for me and my husband. Being a young farmer at age of 13 myself, I can't think of any other place as familiar and comfortable as Barsen House.


A must stay

5 on September 02, 2009

If you are ever in need of lodging within 100 miles of Barsen House Inn, drive the extra distance. The innkeepers are wonderful, the rooms are great, and the property is nirvana!


A wonderful place to stay

5 on August 13, 2009

I felt like I was staying with family that had elegant taste.


Sweet home away from home

5 on August 03, 2009

Everything at Barsen House was lovely. The grounds are impeccable. The house very well kept and clean. I loved Daphne's ricotta pancakes! Hope to return one day!


The Best Country Inn

5 on July 31, 2009

We stumbled upon the Barsen House in the first year it opened in 2002. Since then we have returned at least once a year. It never fails to exceed our expectations for relaxation. Good fun & conversation and true restoration of our souls. Daphne & Pete are superb innkeepers and their inn is truly one of a kind.


truly a delight!

5 on June 30, 2009

Beautiful rooms, gardens, and terrific food. Loved the fact that it is a 'green hotel'!


the best

5 on June 19, 2009

Everything from food to room and hospitality was TOP NOTCH! We loved everything! The grounds were outstanding!


wonderful experience

5 on June 18, 2009

A definite inn to return to many more times. Great outdoor gardens and peaceful surroundings. Welcoming and comfortable atmosphere.


Idyllic retreat

5 on June 09, 2009

This was, by far, the best visit to a B&B I have ever had! The details of the inn were charming, our hosts very accommodating, and the grounds beautiful. Breakfast alone would have been worth the drive!


A winter wonderland

5 on March 01, 2009

Thanks to Peter and Daphne for opening their beautiful home to me during my ski trip to Vermont! After a long drive from Montreal, I was welcomed with a tasty home cooked meal and a warm fire. THe Moonlight room was cozy and I especially enjoyed the handcrafted furniture and art pieces throughout the Inn. I will be back for a visit again soon!


Weekend get away!!

4.0 on February 27, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful winter weekend at the Barsen House. Warm cozy fire, delicious food, and some great snowshoeing and cross country skiing. We want to return in the summer to experience the lake and gardens.


Sanctuary Away from Home

5 on December 29, 2008

This bed and breakfast is absolutely wonderful inside and outside! We visited at the end of the fall season and truly appreciated the beautiful colors that we don't see here in the desert. Inside the house it is an art gallery of paintings and woodwork that I enjoyed revisiting throughout our stay. We stayed in the Sunset room in a very cozy, comfortable bed with a great view. The meals are delicious and homecooked! Our hosts were fun, friendly and very knowledgable about things to do in the area. We hope to return and see the beauty that the other 3 seasons have to offer!


Home sweet B&B!

5 on December 03, 2008

What a great time. Great food, great rooms, great time. Everyone was friendly and warm. Can't wait to go back!


Barsen House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $210
  • Reviews (28) 4.8
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8027592646
  • Toll free 1-8888196103
Top