L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
77 Reviews

Write A Review

Engagement weekend

4.8 on June 23, 2014

I truly enjoyed every minute L'Auberg. It was amazing time. Even though the pool wasn't available during our stay the staff more than made up for that loss. The dinner was amazing and how the room was set up for my proposal was perfect. I am glad to have such a beautiful memory that we will be able to tell our children and grand children in the future.

Innkeeper Response
Congratulations on your engagement! We were happy to help in any way to make your proposal a day to truly remember for a lifetime. After the horrible winter this year, it did take longer to open the pool than normal. All the tiles were falling off and we had to drain the entire pool! Luckily we found our favorite tile person (all the way from Philadelphia)who came to help with the repairs, or we would still be waiting. Now it is up and crystal clear and refreshing. If you get a chance to come out this summer, we hope you can enjoy it then! Again our sincere congratulations to you and your fiance.


Wonderful Overnight Getaway

4.0 on June 20, 2014

My wife and I spent a lovely evening at L'Auberge Provencale. The room was cozy and comfortable and the meals - both dinner and breakfast - were exceptional. We'll be back!


Wonderful Anniversary Weekend

5 on June 19, 2014

We had a wonderful time at L'Auberge for our first Anniversary. The owner's were extremely kind and exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was fresh and everything was delicious. Dinner at the main location was very special. We will certainly return to L'Auberge for future trips. Thank you for making our weekend a special one.


Reputation exceeds reality

3.4 on June 17, 2014

We enjoyed our meal. Our overnight stay was slightly disappointing. Our room was missing soap, shampoo, etc. when we arrived - it was also noisy both with downstairs chatter and the road out front. We expected a little more hospitality considering the price, etc.

Innkeeper Response
We take very seriously our service here at L'Auberge Provencale and our attention to detail. It is never a good excuse to be missing any amenity in the room and we will address that issue with the housekeeping staff. It is so unlike them, however, as they have been with us for years and this certainly was an exception to the rule. As noted in all of our reviews, our staff is hospitable and friendly, but during a busy weekend may not have had the time to give enough individual attention to each guest. We know with addition of new staff this will be remedied. Busy weekends lend to chatter and fun from our guests, especially from a wedding. I would suggest, maybe next time try one of our garden rooms which are away from the road and the restaurant. Let us know if you are visiting again and we can ensure you have a private, quiet experience.


Quality Has Been Maintained

5 on June 17, 2014

We've come here since their opening, and continue to enjoy the cooking, service, ambience, and amenities. The staff did their level best to make our 50th wedding anniversary weekend (its Friday night) in this neck of the woods a memorable and happy occasion -- specially crafted dessert plates, personal attention, original and very inventive & complex cuisine that sets a standard, and willing stand-in photographers from the staff, all in the midst of their preparations for a Saturday wedding. We couldn't always tell who was in charge, but nonetheless everything worked, and nobody was less than wholly cheerful throughout our visit. And the place itself remains simply beautiful, a work of art from the gardens to the washrooms. It's well worth making this a destination, and not merely a detour, as the Guide Michelin might say. (The bookstore on the main street in nearby Berryville, along with The Red Schoolhouse antiques and Iron Penny Lamp Shop in neighboring Greenwood, might also be a motive.)


Awesome, Relaxing Weekend Getaway

5 on June 04, 2014

This B&B is Fabulous. Celeste (owner) is so amazing and kind. We missed breakfast because my husband and I somehow managed to mess up the time. We were so disappointed because their breakfast is fresh, healthy and yummy. Upon check-out we told her what happened and she refused to let us check out until she gave us breakfast. She packed us a bag (huge) full of croissants, fruit, yogurt, orange juice etc...Honestly I was so moved almost to tear because she really didn't have to do it. It is hard to find good customer service and meet someone who is so incredibly kind. I should mention I was 7 months pregnant. Overall, we loved our stay there. Room was clean, very accommodating staff, food was fresh and beyond delicious. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the DMV, this is a wonderful place to visit.

Innkeeper Response
At L'Auberge Provencale we want to assure our guests we take our service to our customers very seriously. It was my pleasure to make sure you had some healthy and tasty breakfasts to take on the road. We wish you every happiness with the new baby and are very glad you enjoyed your stay here at our Virginia bed and breakfast.


A Lovely Anniversary

5 on June 03, 2014

Our compliments to the chef. We enjoyed the Chef's Tasting Menu with wine pairings for our wedding anniversary. It was superb as was our stay.

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here at L'Auberge Provencale! Wedding anniversaries are days truly to remember and we are glad you felt we deserved this excellent review for both the stay and dinner here at the inn. We wish you more Happy Anniversaries to come!


Anniversary weekend

5 on May 26, 2014

Wonderful stay at our favorite get-a-away

Innkeeper Response
It is always great to hear from our repeat guests that they enjoyed L'Auberge Provencale and come back for another great stay here at our bed and breakfast. Our new chef Joseph Watters has been creating just wonderful meals here at the inn and makes all get-a-ways more special. We hope to see you soon here in sunny Virginia.


Golden Anniversary

5 on May 21, 2014

Great stay. Please provide instructions for shower operation. Burnt my finger. Thanks


Country Stopover

4.4 on May 19, 2014

Lovely B&B with fabulous service and terrific food.


Great place for a second time!

5 on May 08, 2014

The room as once again perfect. You know you're in the country when you hear birds chirping in the morning. Food was fabulous. I love how adventurous they are. The wine pairings are always a hit.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind words about your room and you dinner here at the inn. Chef Joseph is really creating a dinner to remember and sommelier Christian is happy you say his wine pairings are a hit! If second time around was great, hopefully, the third will be charmed.


If you can't make it to Europe. . .

4.4 on May 08, 2014

stay here! What a lovely retreat. The grounds are so beautiful, relaxing and well maintained. I had a delicious gourmet dinner and the breakfasts were bountiful, my server in the morning (sorry I can't remember her name) was so friendly and helpful with local information. The property is a short picturesque ride to Middleburg. I will definitely return to L'Auberge Provencale and visit more of the surrounding area.


gonna come back

4.0 on May 03, 2014

The food was excellent, service great. The afternoon snacks were a delicious treat. Rooms are very nice and the surrounding grounds are beautiful. Peace and quite. Will return.


excellent, inventive food

4.0 on April 29, 2014

excellent service. large rooms, big bathroom very comfortable bed.


Superb Experience at L'Auberge

4.2 on January 04, 2014

My boyfriend and I very much enjoyed our recent stay at l'Auberge Provencale. The room was absolutely lovely, the fireplace was delightful, and the breakfast was good. The shining star of our stay was the evening dinner service. We were served more than a meal-- the chef created a very memorable experience. All of the courses, including the amuses-bouches (yes there were two), and all of the other delicious surprises along the way, were spectacular. It was evident that the chef paid great attention to every detail, and the food was not only delicious with layers of nuanced flavors, but also creative and whimsical. L'Auberge exceeded my expectations, but the chef's dinner service was truly outstanding.


Bed was good, breakfast, not so much.

2.6 on December 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the other night based on a glowing recommendation of friends. The drive away from the hustle of the NOVA burbs was beautiful. The house and views were very nice. Our room was spacious and comfy (perhaps a little interior decorating help required). We enjoyed some sweets and spiced cider in front of a fire. Dinner began well enough with wine and interesting menu selections. The first taster that came out was a little potted plant with a baby radish planted in ricotta cheese, topped with ginger crumbs. It was so cute, but none of it had any taste, including the radish. And so it went for most of the remaining courses. The presentation was terrific, but the food largely lacked flavor, either good or bad. It was just bland. The exceptions were the chicken liver and lamb that were entirely too salty. The desserts were good. Not great, but good. We waited to pass judgement until after breakfast the next morning. That was when we discovered tasteless chocolate chip pancakes (unless you count the burned flavoring) and a tasteless Spanish omelette. The best way for me to describe this is nice looking hospital food. After the terrific reviews and the recommendations we received, we were quite surprised, and not pleasantly so. The house was nice. The Staff was very friendly. The food, however, was quite poor. Sorry.


10 Year Anniversary

5 on November 09, 2013

We visited several great wineries with in 15 minutes of L'Auberge and really enjoyed our stay. Dinner and Breakfast were amazing!


Elegant B&B

4.8 on July 22, 2013

We had a two night "get away" to enjoy the beautiful countryside. The B&B was wonderful and the owners are amazing! We quite enjoyed our Bastille Day Festivities. The meal was incredible!


Excellent stay

4.8 on June 04, 2013

Very nice experience with excellent food and service. Would definitely return.


Mothers Day 2013

3.8 on May 18, 2013

Very relaxing with a nice garden. Will be even better when the poil is open.


Lovely Weekend

5 on May 07, 2013

Along with another couple we stayed at the Villa for a long weekend. Our stay was just lovely. The innkeepers were very warm and welcoming but certainly allowed us to just enjoy ourselves. The perfect mix for a bed and breakfast. Alain was our breakfast host both mornings, providing the most engaging conversation. How he managed to pull off 4 perfectly cooked eggs while talking with us is a mystery. This is on our "must return" list. L'Auberge Provencale is certainly in our top Bed and Breakfast experiences.


The Perfect Weekend

4.6 on January 31, 2013

There are not many places in the mid-Atlantic region that combine the location, quality and 'other worldly' sense the L'Auberge Provencale brings to every guest. The inn is charming and the food is fantastic. The proximity to Virginia wine country, skyline drive, the Shenandoah River and even the area's ski hills makes for an fun filled weekend any time of the year. I've been twice and plan to continue visiting for years to come. Highly recommended.


Outstanding in all ways

4.8 on September 08, 2012

This was our second overnight stay & third dining experience. It is a fabulous choice for vegetarians to be able to dine with elegance! The staff and accommodations were superb!


Wonderful Experience

4.8 on September 08, 2012

Great food, wonderful service and great accommodations. Waiters & staff did a wonderful job accommodating our vegetarian daughter as well.


Fantastic Mother-Daughter Getaway

5 on August 26, 2012

Perfect, lovely getaway spot for a mom & daughter weekend. Celeste and Alain helped us find fun, quality outings. However we equally enjoyed the beautiful poolside views and amazing breakfasts.


Perfect dinner or few-day getaway for couples, close to the DC area.

4.8 on July 07, 2012

Everything was impeccable, the rooms are clean, very tastefully decorated and welcoming, giving you the feeling you are actually in France. The grounds are well taken care of, with a beautiful garden and flower beds in front of each room. They also have their own herb and vegetable garden, a large porch in front of the house, and a patio area outside the restaurant, refreshments and pastries for the guests. Dinner was amazing, both in terms of plating as well as taste. We tried the three-course menu for one person and the five-course menu for the other and split everything. It's the kind of food you have to savor slowly paying attention to every taste and texture. It may seem a bit pricey, but the executive chef does an amazing job. We heard him explain to someone that he personally picks the ingredients for each day's menu, so everything is fresh. The service was outstanding, better than at any other restaurant we had been to before. Wine is expensive. Breakfast was cooked by one of the owners, who is French, and was delicious. What impressed us the most was the attention to detail in every category. You cannot stay/dine here and not notice the effort that goes into ensuring you, as a guest, feel welcome.


Lost in the Shenandoah Valley

5 on June 30, 2012

What a place, what food, what service, what ambiance, what a get-a-way. It was what was portrayed yet better. My girlfriend and I stayed one night (it should have been two). We added the champagne and cheese plate to the room for our arrival It was delightful. We slept as soundly as ever and discussed having to replace our bed at home. The staff, every detail, just great and fun at the same time. We enjoyed the surrounding sights and the time with each other. Great scotch and bourbon list. The food... ESPECIALLY THE CHEF'S TASTING MENU!!!! Everyone should enjoy L'Auberge at least once if not repeatedly. The cheese-wheel was great.


Best of the Best

5 on May 09, 2012

Everything about this place is eyecandy! The rooms are spacious and relaxing with gorgeous furnishings and colors surrounded by lovely, healthy gardens full of flowers and vegetables and fruits. Guests are so pampered! Lemon verbena soap, bath salts, loads of towels as well as all the things everybody else has. The service is so pleasant, everyone smiles at you and is helpful. You will love the restaurant with so many familiar foods prepared in such new and exciting ways. They look so beautiful on your plate you almost hate to eat them. I do not drink wine, but my friends raved. And for heaven's sake save room for the dessert. Everything is locally grown or personally selected by the chef on site. The day I was there the son (also a chef) was flying to Cape Cod to catch some fresh fish for the restaurant. My breakfast the next morning had all kinds of fresh berries cut up with bits of fresh mint, coffee, granola, sweet breakfast bread, yogurt plus three hot items prepared freshly for me. I know I forgot some of the food on the cold offerings tables, there were so many to choose from. Four years ago I found a little Inn in Normandy that became my standard to measure all B&B's. I have a new favorite now: L'Auberge Provencal. Right here in Virginia!


The best food in USA!

4.6 on February 27, 2012

We chose this getaway because it was close to home (2 hours), in the country (no wi-fi! I was soo happy!) and because the food has won so many awards. We plan to go back soon and do the 5-course tasting menu this time! Worth every penny!


Perfect Getaway!

4.6 on February 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the L'Auberge villa (our first experience) to celebrate his birthday and had dinner in the B&B dining room. I can't say enough about the quality of the food and the extent of the service! Alain greeted us warmly upon arriving and we were served an amazing breakfast by Celeste in the villa the next morning. Our one-night stay made us feel relaxed and pampered.....will definitely return!


probably the best I've seen

4.6 on February 15, 2012

I could not find a single thing to "pick" at. We were with two other couples, and none of us had stayed there before this Valentine's Day visit. I saw our room, as well as, the other two and was as impressed as I have ever been. Tremendous attention to detail, luxurious, great design features, and good looks in each suite.


For a romantic stay...this is the place!

3.6 on October 18, 2011

Not only is this place romantic, but it is hands down, the best food I have ever enjoyed at a B&B. Each course is a artistic masterpiece. My husband and I always feel refreshed and pampered after staying here...even if it is only for one night!


Outstanding Inn Experience

4.6 on October 03, 2011

We've celebrated our anniversaries at L'Auberge Provencale for several years. The inn experience has been uniformly excellent. Dinners are creative and delicious, featuring fresh, local fare when possible, and the wine list is extensive. The breakfasts are the best we've been served anywhere in the world-- quail stuffed with their house-made sausage and wonderful egg dishes, among other delights in addition to fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, and croissants.


Wonderful!

5 on September 24, 2011

My wife and I recently visited L'Auberge Provencale and had an absolutely perfect stay. The room was very clean, roomy and welll appointed. The bed was exteremely comfortable. Dinner was delicious and the wine list is terrific. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be returning to L'Auberge Provencale!


Exceedingly high quality

4.8 on September 13, 2011

Amazing rooms. Incredible dinner. Accommodated every request.


Great escape

4.8 on August 29, 2011

We returned to L'Auberge after many years for a two-night visit. Our stay exceeded our expectations (and our memories)-we had a relaxing weekend at the pool and outstanding cuisine.


10th Anniversary Getaway

4.2 on August 05, 2011

Wonderful stay and celebration for our 10th anniversary! Delicious dinner and breakfast! Thank you Heather & Michael


L'Auberge Provencale was fantastic!

5 on July 19, 2011

We celebrated a special birthday of my husband's and had a fantastic two-night stay at the "villa"and a wonderful dinner at L'Auberge. They prepared a vegan menu just for us, and it was unbelievably good! Thank you Sherry & Richard


Beautiful, amazing, relaxing!

5 on July 18, 2011

My husband and I just returned from L'Auberge Provencale after spending the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. From the minute we arrived it was amazing. The setting is beautiful, from the front porch where we sat to escape the June heat under the ceiling fans to the manicured grounds. We enjoyed walking around the grounds admiring the vegetable garden, the herb gardens and the fruit trees. There are lounge chairs under the trees where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful view. Our room was beautifully decorated as is every inch of the inn, right down to the smallest details. We enjoyed two breakfasts in the dining room (unbelievable warm scones, fresh fruit and homemade granola followed by a breakfast entree chosen by the chef) and one dinner where I ate beef that melted in my mouth, and do not skip dessert, the creamiest cheesecake on earth. Lemonade and baked goods, nuts, and dried fruit were offered in the sitting room each afternoon. The staff was very attentive, Rutledge was great! We had no knowledge of the area and he mapped out a wine tasting route for us and gave us some very good tips for things to do in the area. We also loved Vicky who was very friendly at breakfast each morning. I don't think we will ever stay at anotherr B&B and not compare it to the luxury we experienced here. I would highly recommend a stay here, its perfect for a romantic getaway, especially if you enjoy wineries and antiquing (in Strasburg).


A Gem!

4.4 on April 16, 2011

Authentic country inn with exquisite cuisine and outstanding service.


Elegant Service, Delicious Celebration Dinner.

4.4 on April 12, 2011

A heartfelt thank you for providing the most elegant service in the most calming manner last Saturday evening (April 9th, 2011). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at L’Auberge and we appreciate your hospitality. Our guests enjoyed the dinner and the ambiance. Thank you again and we will see you again very soon. Shiela M.


Weekend at L' Auberge Provencal

4.8 on April 02, 2011

Outstanding Staff. Absolutely wonderful food. Beautiful Rooms. Great weekend R and R.


Gourmet, Luxurious, Charming, Friendly.. what else could one ask for?

5 on December 13, 2010

We stayed in Chambre de mes Amies. It was gooorgeous! Incredible gluten-free accommodations. I had several types of gluten free bread (all delicious) while I was there, and m choice of an amazing five-course gluten-free dinner! Yum! Exceptional food, gorgeous accommodations, gracious hosts. Everything was superb! Thank you!


Delightful stay

4.2 on December 10, 2010

Our stay was delightful and we appreciate all the staff does to make their guests welcome. The rooms are lovely, and the fireplace was especially nice as temperatures had dropped. The steam shower was such a treat and also helped alleviate stuffiness from a cold. Our dinner selections were delicious and the breakfast French toast was so smooth that it was like custard, the best I've ever had. We had a wonderful time touring the historical towns and visiting the local wineries with helpful recommendations and directions by Rutledge. A return stay is definitely planned. Thank you.


A birthday celebration

5 on November 14, 2010

THE CHEFS NEED TO KNOW JUST HOW MUCH WE APPRECIATED THEIR TALENT AND SKILLS! All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful, and David was quite accommodating. Room #4 Blenda and Betsy


Best Anniversary getaway yet!

4.8 on November 03, 2010

The 5 course French cuisine was outstanding! My husband and I left full and completely satisfied. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to meet our every need. The room was very romantic and cozy with the fireplace on a chilly fall night. We have already recommended this inn to our friends and family, and hinted that gift certificates would be a welcome Christmas gift:) Thank you for making our anniversary so special. Shawn & Kristi M.


A special treat

4.4 on November 01, 2010

My husband and I received a wedding gift for the L'Auberge Provencale. We decided to use it to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. What a unique treat. The B&B is so relaxing, customer service warm and friendly and the food outstanding.


Wonderful!

4.4 on September 07, 2010

Thank you for making us feel so welcomed and giving us as much privacy that we could ask for! We’ll be back!


Wonderful 40th Birthday Present!

4.4 on August 30, 2010

What a wonderful way to celebrate my 40th birthday! Impeccable service, beautiful accommodations, excellent food and presentation. I love that the menu was out of the ordinary! Beautifully executed! The inn was lovely and had a warm and inviting atmosphere, but relaxed enough that you could not worry about if you had a bit of lint on your jacket. That is what I think makes the best vacation is when you can truly relax. We had a room with a steam shower which was also wonderful (water was super hot with great pressure too! Something you don't always find in historic places.) My husband also got us massages during our stay which were terrific by a well qualified (licensed) masseuse. They also had flowers and balloons in the room too and a little birthday cake that was just the right size for two people. Delicious too! As mentioned, the menu was interesting and delivered on all the items we ordered. My menu had "Happy Birthday (w/ my name)" on it too - nice touch! So, all in all, it was wonderful experience, good value for our money, and I would definitely repeat the experience!


Another great wedding anniversary visit

4.6 on August 09, 2010

“Thanks for another visit (our 26th Anniversary) to add to our memories!” We stayed in Room 11, the nicest suite, but we have enjoyed all the other rooms in which we have stayed over the years. The pastoral countryside in fields not far away, and the terrific flower gardens surrounding the buildings are a nice contrast to the metro area where we live, and the food, as usual, is imaginative and delicious.


Sunday August 1,2010

4.0 on August 02, 2010

We stayed at L'Auberge Provencale to celebrate our 11th wedding anniversary. This was a return visit for us, each time we enjoy our stay more. Room 7 is one of our favorites in the warm season with its lovely patio outside the bedroom. The staff go out of their way to make sure you have all you need. The dining is 5 star. Truly a 5 star bed and breakfast. We are looking forward to many more stays. Bob and Kathleen Waynesboro, Pa


Our Little Piece of Heaven Here on Earth

5 on July 31, 2010

“This was our fifth time staying in your little hotel. Thank you so much for making it a wonderful time away from everything!”


Perfect Getawy

4.4 on January 11, 2010

The Inn and Villas are great! Owners Celeste and Alan are wonderful - you don't expect to get the attention they give you for being owners of the property! The food is terrific...the best breakfast you will ever eat! The price is amazing for what you recieve. The properties are located near several great wineries and shops. I am looking forward to going back for a relaxing and delicious stay!!


November to Remember

3.8 on December 08, 2009

My daughter treated me to a lovely birthday weekend here in November. The rooms and atmosphere were very charming. The food was outstanding, especially the breakfast. Alain and Celeste were very hospitable and we had wonderful conversation with the both of them. And of course Maurice the cat and Bernadette the dog were the perfect hosts! Beautiful country setting close to vineyards, a gem called The Locke Store, and the picturesque town of Middleburg. Friday night we stayed at the main house, and Saturday the Villa. Loved them both!


L'Auberge has 5 new fans!

3.8 on November 14, 2009

First time visiting the Inn. My party had three beatifully decorated rooms w/wonderful, hand-painted tiles framing the fireplaces, etc. Excellent food (duck breast was very nice!)....extensive winelist.....friendly wait staff. Living just outside DC, the location is perfect for us. Tired of the long trek out to The Greenbrier (another fine establishment) -- so we'll definitely be returning to L'Auberge.


Not impressed

4.0 on September 30, 2009

We have stayed at a number of Bed and Breakfast and this facility is more a restaurant with rooms. They care more about the dinner reservations than they do about the customer service the guests receive. There is no social hour with wine and cheese as most B&B's offer to get guest aquainted with one another, when we asked about other restaurants in the area we were informed that there weren't too many close by. However, Winchester is only a short 15 minute drive with fabulous restaurant. We ate at a French Restaurant with a very witty owner, host and met local people whom we had a pleasant 45 minute conversation with. They said the Italian Restaurant in town has been voted the "best in the country". (I can't varify that, however). When our room was serviced I requested in writing an extra bath towel that was never left. We asked for a map of the area and was told she would bring us one but never came back with it. Little things that aren't too much to ask for were missing. After check in we had NO contact with the staff there, other than the service people at the restaurant.


The Perfect Romantic Getaway

5 on July 28, 2009

We had a fabulous time at L'Auberge Provencale. The restaurant/inn and villa were charming and romantic, and the food was completely over the top. We stayed in the villa in a gorgeous huge suite full of sunlight and a spacious sitting area. The room and bathroom were spotless, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We loved waking up to Celeste’s delicious 3-course breakfasts, which (depending on the day) included: eggs, sausage, potatoes, strawberry & peach crepes, zucchini bread, fresh fruit kabobs, homemade granola, croissants, scones, and a bunch of other fattening goodies. The fruit, pastry, and chocolate bowl in our room was always full of treats. We enjoyed chatting with Celeste about politics, world events, and how long it takes to get to the best winery in Virginia. We also enjoyed the lovely pool right outside our room at the villa. We asked for a picnic one day, and it was so bountiful that we saved it for dinner and brought it to a nearby arboretum. The basket included a lamb sandwich, a veggie sandwich, artisan cheeses, chocolate covered strawberries, potato salad, and a few other exotic creations. We drove to Winchester one evening where you can find some restaurants, live music, and a movie theater. Other things you can do in the area are canoeing/kayaking, horseback riding, wine-tasting at vineyards, and ballooning. If you plan to eat dinner at the inn, we recommend saving it for your last night. At $88 per person (not including alcohol), it's not cheap, but it was spectacular. The best thing about this wonderful B & B is that it's only about an hour from the Washington beltway, but for a few relaxing, peaceful days, you feel like you're in the south of France. Think of the airfare you'll save.


A Birthday to Remember!

5 on June 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the villa location of the L'Auberge yet had his birthday dinner at the L'Auberge dining room. Everything about our stay was absolutely fabulous! Celeste & Alain Borel are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts and dinners were awesome. I've never had food that wonderful. They all went out of there way to make my husband's 46th birthday something to really remember, from a personalized dinner menu to the birthday package with Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plates for dessert... everything was completely something to remember. We didn't have one bad second staying at the Villa and the Borel's are tremendous. We will most definately stay there again and again. I'm telling all of my friends and family about the L'Auberge Provencale!


Perfect Getaway

4.8 on May 22, 2009

Being from D.C., my boyfriend and I were looking for a quiet place to getaway. After stumbling across L’Auberge Provencale’s website we decided to give it a try. The service was amazing. We came in several hours before check-in time and we were greeted at the door by Catlin, who personally ran around getting our room ready and made sure we felt at home. We stayed in room #9, which really made us feel like we were back in France, and had great views of the countryside and mountains. Catlin then sent us out for a day of exploring with maps in hand. After visiting the areas museums and several vineyards, we returned for dinner, and we were treated to one of the most amazing meals of our lives. The food was not only cooked to perfection, but the flavors were never over powering and the presentation artful. Joseph, over server, made wonderful wine suggestions, and doted on us without being intrusive. We had a wonderful night of rest and relaxation. When we came down for breakfast, we were again surprised. We had granola and fresh fruit with omelets and duck for breakfast. Catlin again stopped by to check on us, as did Alain, the chef/owner, who told amazing stories of his adventures. Having travelled extensively across the country and abroad, we appreciated the ambience of Provence and the true hospitality of the staff. The only drawback was that we had to leave, but we will return!


A Place Beyond Compare!

4.8 on April 10, 2009

We chose L'Auberge for our 5th anniversary, and I think it may be where we go for every anniversary hereafter! When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Shauna, the assistant innkeeper and Maurice the house cat. Shauna took us us to the main house and immediately offered us Cherry Lemonade and homemade cookies before taking us to our room. We stayed in Room 6, and the pictures on the website do not do it justice! There was an incredibly comfortable king sized bed, and a beautiful bath room with a huge soaking tub (they even provided an herbal bath blend already in the bath room for you!). There were beautiful views of the pasture out back and the mountains in the front, loads of natural light flowing into the room, and a bowl of fruit, chocolates and cookies waiting for us. After getting settled in, we came down and were greeted by Shauna and Celeste (the owner) who chose an incredible before dinner wine for us. Soon after we sat down to dinner, which was by far the best experience I have ever had in a restaurant anywhere! From the amazing service to the food that is beyond compare (I can not rave enough about the pheasant), they continually added incredible special touches that only L'Auberge does to make you feel as if you are the most important clients in the inn (including a personalized menu commemorating our anniversary)! The next morning (after one of the most restful nights of sleep I have had in my adult life), we came down to an exquisite breakfast that started with fresh fruit, breakfast breads, and granola, and juice, and ended with a appetizer of melon soup with raspberry sorbet, and a hot breakfast entree. We also ordered a picnic for our day exploring which was nearly 15 pounds of amazing food and goodies! L'Auberge is a special place with incredible people and cuisine that is not soon forgotten, and, while pricey, is worth every penny!


A Perfect Experience in Every Way

5 on December 21, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary in June at the Villa with a cocktail party and a renewal ceremony at the Villa and a magnificent dinner for our 30 guests at the Inn. Many of our friends, including ourselves, are well-traveled and foodies so we have lots of data against which to compare the Inn. To a person, we could not have been more impressed with inventive, artfully presented and delicious food, the attentive, personalized service and the marvelous ambience of both the Inn and the Villa. We stayed a the Villa for two nights, booking the entire property and the rest of our guests stayed at the Inn. Everyone had a wonderful experience. Breakfast the next day was terrific and extended the magical event for us well into that following day. Celest Borel was terrific to work with and helped us to plan and execute (even when it poured rain during the ceremony!) a tasteful - in every sense of the word - elegant and truly memorable event. Our guests are still talking about it, as are we. Go for dinner, or for an overnight stay, but by all means - go!!


A true dinning experience!

5 on November 25, 2008

The food was exquisite and the presentation was pure artistry!


Moules

4.6 on November 25, 2008

Moules are served in a lobster broth with a touch of chilies! Superb. not too spicy. Tender moules! Best ever!


A-M-A-Z-I-N-G

5 on October 25, 2008

We stayed at L'Auberge to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and it was nothing short of a decadent weekend. The room we stayed in was beautiful, clean, comfortable, and every attention to detail was superb, right down to the fruit bowl that was refreshed daily. While we visited the area we also went on a sunrise hot air balloon ride, did some horseback riding, and some sightseeing. We were very impressed by the breakfast picnic basket that was made for us because we weren't going to be present during breakfast hours one morning. We have been telling our friends it's a perfect respite from the real world! L'Auberge really is "an inn where great expectations are quietly met."


Happy Anniversary

5 on October 15, 2008

Outstanding experience. We had a wonderful 15th Anniv. Celeste greeted us and made sure we were comfortable! Happy. Dinner was wonderful and the perfect touch was the customized menu wishing us happy anniversary - Nice keepsake. Room was wonderful, romantic and very clean. Very nice inn - hope to return.


"Simpatico"

4.0 on October 15, 2008

Connect, Graceful, comfortable all apply. Meals were outstanding.


Gourmet Experience

4.2 on October 10, 2008

L'Auberge Provencale genuinely creates a unique French ambiance in the middle of the Virginia countryside. The food exceeded on all criteria & the welcome from the owners & staff made it a real lovely experience.


One of the BEST!

5 on September 28, 2008

The setting, the room #9, the food, the staff and the on-site owner (Alan) are all excellent!! One of the best--on par with many Inn in France.


L'Auberge Provencale

5 on July 18, 2008

We had a great 2 day stay at this upscale B&B. The food was perfect. Everyone was friendly & the service was outstanding. The room was comfortable and every detail was taken care of. We definitely recommend staying here & will go back.


Unbelievable, Incredible

5 on July 18, 2008

Stay here a night, like taking a week vacation. Great dinner, great room, great staff! We will be back! Recommend this a must getaway for any couple.


Nice getaway

3.4 on July 17, 2008

Very lovely - great for a getaway - Relaxing - wonderful food & accommodations!


An Overnight Delight!

5 on May 20, 2008

It was a wedding gift---a stay with everything taken care of--that brought us to this place and we didn't want to leave. The hosts are marvelous, the staff excellent, the ambiance wonderful, the rooms clean, well-furnished, and updated, the food was delicious and beautifully served, and the quiet was wonderful. Even Maurice the cat was charming.


Outstanding Inn

4.8 on May 13, 2008

We just completed a three night stay at L'Auberge Provencale Country Inn. We had purchased the Ultimate Package for our stay which means that they took care of all the details of our stay. The accomodations were top notch and very clean. The service was exceptional and low key. The food and presentation was excellent. The wine list is extensive. A little touch of paradise in the country!


Memorable

4.4 on May 06, 2008

The dinner excelled in taste and aesthetics-innovative, scrumptious French cooking. The room-well appointed and comfortable-made us feel as if we were in France.


Wonderful

5 on April 22, 2008

My husband and I have been coming about twice a year for almost twenty years. We always go home refreshed. Alain and Celeste make us feel like family. We meet interesting people of varying backgrounds and ethnicity. Everything is always wonderful.


Memorable 10th Birthday

5 on April 16, 2008

Everything about our night stay here reflected a style of the game that leaves no detail imobserved and with gracious, yet unobtrusive, service. The experience of outside dining feels like you're in France itself.


Wonderful!

5 on December 11, 2007

My husband and I took advantage of the midweek special that they were running over the summer to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. It was a great deal. The room was very nice and the food was out of this world!!!


L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $365
  • Reviews (77) 4.6
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5408371375
  • Fax 1-5408372004
  • Toll free 1-8006381702

Visit Website »

View details

Top