The Chesapeake Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

Best experience ever

4.8 on December 08, 2012

I recently strayed at the inn for a wedding. The staff were wonderful, the rooms were spotless and plush, and the whole experience was just great. I will stay here again.


Great stay!!

5 on December 01, 2012

Great service, clean rooms & everything readily available!


A Wonderful Get-Away

4.8 on October 26, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a get-away, and when the Chesapeake Inn showed up as a Groupon offer we researched it and quickly decided to grab a deal. We were captured by the photos of the individually decorated rooms, and the Urbanna location seemed like it offered plenty of options. The staff was super-accommodating when we had to change our dates on short notice, and our room was delightful. We didn't eat at the on-site restaurant, but were given other excellent recommendations when we checked in. Urbanna has great options for eating and shopping, and the provided bikes made it fun to explore. Even though the parking lot was full we never heard any other guests, and had the patio seating area to ourselves both evenings. Having a full fridge and microwave was great, and so were the provided coffee, cookies, and assortment of teas. On the second morning my husband asked for another 'pumpkin' tea, which the housekeeper didn't have available. She gave him a couple of other selections she recommended, and when we returned to our room later that day we found another 'pumpkin' tea with a note - "Found another one." What service!


Cute refurbished motel.

2.8 on October 21, 2012

Not really a bed and breakfast as no breakfast. Older motel that has been refurbished with upscale decorating. Urbana was a very small river town with just enough to do for a week end. We loved the Inn and the town.


Stayed for one night

4.2 on June 24, 2012

We stayed for one night and chose this inn for two reasons: location - right in the middle of Urbanna, and the flat rate, because our kids are a little older (no extra charge for additional persons). The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were super comfortable. The complimentary items (coffee, tea and some cookies) were nice. Our room had a medium sized fridge with a separate freezer, microwave and coffee maker. We did not hear our neighbors once and the decor was pleasing. The manager was busy with renovations, but stopped everything to take care of any concerns we had. As of the writing of this review there are no dining offerings but the inn is adding a restaurant so I am positive that will only make a stay here all that much better.


How delightful.

4.8 on May 07, 2012

My fiancée and I made an impromptu trip to Urbanna this past week for a stay at the Chesapeake Inn. The rooms are gorgeous, with top quality linens. I didn't want to leave! We will definitely be back, especially after hearing of the opening of Ostra Raw Bar in the Chesapeake Commons building in front of the Inn. Thank you for a wonderful experience!


Wonderful surprise!

4.0 on April 10, 2012

We met friends from Maryland for a couple of days exploration of Urbanna and the Middle and Northern Necks. The photos online suggested the Inn was on the water, so at first we were disappointed that it wasn’t, and outwardly it looked like a motel. But the surprise was in the wonderful, large, beautifully decorated rooms. Everythong gleamed spotlessly; pillows and duvet were Scandia down. Innkeepers were gracious and helpful. There is currently no restaurant at the Inn, but a very nice one is just down the street. Urbanna is very small, so walking the town is a brief experience. The Inn staff had good suggestions and info on other things to do. (Don’t miss the charming Someplace Different restaurant a few mile out of town.) - by the Charlottesville travelers


More and eess than we expected

4.0 on March 05, 2012

This newly refurbished "bed and breakfast" was "bed only". Perhaps we missed something, but we did expect food. The management we met - absolutely wonderful and most helpful. The rooms are beautiful and extremely comfortable. It also appeared to be on the water, which it is not. It was a good experience and we plan to return - but with different expectations. Best of all was "Something Different" about two miles away.


Great central location for further exploration

4.0 on February 05, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful weekend away to Urbanna. We used the Chesapeake Inn as our home base for further exploration into the area. Urbanna and surrounding cities are quite interesting. Our time at the Chesapeake Inn was pretty much limited to sleeping and showering, but the Chesapeake Inn satisfied those two fields quite well. The bed was supper comfortable and like the room it was well appointed. The bathroom was clean and the hot water was eternal! The Chesapeake Inn doesn't really have rooms with a view, but it more than makes up for that in location, comfort and ease. We will definitely be going back.


My dream bedroom...

4.0 on January 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at the Inn and it was fantastic! As soon as I walked in the room I felt like I was at a better home than my own. I didn't even want to get out of the most comfortable bed ever!! But we did get out of bed and checked out the quaint town. We ate breakfast and lunch at "Virginia Cafe" and the ham was delicious...We went for New Years Eve and hung out at Mojo's while jammin' to raggea music to bring in the New Year. The local band was amazing! Jennifer and Ian whom are Mother and Son who own "the garden club" are so inviting and friendly. We had a great time with everyone we met and everyone knew our names before the night was over. It was like a scene off of the old TV show "Cheers". :) We already would like to go back. Thank you, Matt and Claire


perfect holiday getaway!

4.0 on January 04, 2012

I surprised my fiancee for his birthday at the end of December with 2 nights at the Chesapeake Inn and we had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean, cozy, and plush. The town of Urbanna is adorable and the inn provides bicycles to explore the area. Cute fishing community and perfect getaway for us.


Perfect weekend getaway!

4.8 on December 06, 2011

This weekend holiday was a birthday surprise for my husband. Every room is decorated in a different style - and each is elegantly and plushly decorated. Rooms were spotless and restful. Urbanna is a quiet sleepy little town. There are some quaint eating establishments, excellent seafood, and boutique shops that will occupy your time. The Inn also offers tandem bicycles to guests which make it a novel way to get around town! Angela and John were very accomodating with our requests regarding future reservations. We've already booked another weekend for February 2012.


nice getaway for a weekend

4.6 on December 03, 2011

Inn was very clean. The room was nicely decorated and the king size bed was very comfortable. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The town had great places to eat but the Inn does not serve food. Would stay here again.


Thank you Angela

4.2 on November 17, 2011

Our family stayed at The Chesapeake Inn for three nights while in town for a funeral. The owner is super friendly and goes out of her way to accomodate you in any way she can. One of my family members got sick during the actual day of the funeral and was unable to attend. Angela promised to check up on him while the remainder of our party went to the service. You don't find typically find this type of good old fashioned service at a hotel. Not to mention, the rooms are absolutely gorgeous. I would definetely recommend this hotel & stay again when in town. While there are restaurants close by (within a very short walking distance), if they would offer dining or at least breakfast, this would be close to utopia!


Decorated beautifully/great town

4.0 on November 13, 2011

Stayed overnight the weekend after Oysterfest. This historic town is great to walk in and tour the historic buildings. The people were some of the friendliest people I have met. The establishment is well maintained, intelligently decorated by a designer whose business is around the corner.


Great night away

4.6 on November 13, 2011

This was a great place to go to get away from the city for a night. Quiet and relaxing...


Feeling Pampered is Nice

4.2 on October 11, 2011

Great hidden B&B, recently redone - top notch decorating with comfort, in a lovely little village. John, one of the owners, was terrific, and told me lots of fun information about the area. Definately wll return to this B&B and highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. Right in the center of town so you can stroll to cafes, shops and restaurants and live the "Eastern Shore" way, as we all want to, and should, do. - Suzie Beer


Great room in a delightful town!

4.0 on September 25, 2011

Want to step back in time? Take a trip to Urbanna, a sleepy little town on the banks of the Chesapeake. The Chesapeake Inn provides a luxurious stay and a friendly staff unmatched in many towns and cities by this avid traveller. The room was beautiful and had every amenity we needed. We hope to return in the summer and take advantage of the surreys and welcoming patio furniture!


Excellent Room

4.8 on August 11, 2011

I spent two nights at the Inn and found it to be one of the cleanest Inn's I have ever stayed at. The staff is service oriented and extreme congenial. Everyone in the town were so friendly and helpful. I only wish I could have stayed longer.


Delightful stay!

5 on June 19, 2011

We won a night's stay during a silent auction for a great little day school, St. THomas, in Richmond. The owners of this delightful Inn couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. They have surrey bikes to ride around the historic and quaint town of Urbanna. Nearby, there's shopping and dining, and when you stay here, you get a pass to the town pool--which is awesome! The rooms were clean and large and the bed was SUPER comfortable. Everything was wonderful. We highly recommend The Chesapeake Inn in Urbanna, VA


What a delightful surprise!!

4.0 on June 12, 2011

We spent a Saturday night in this lovely, newly remodeled and redecorated inn. It felt like we were staying in a private home! The decorative touches included artwork, unique lamps, beautiful comforters and matching pillows, delicious chocolate chip cookies and an extremely comfortable bed. They also have adorable surreys for the guests to use to travel around the quaint town of Urbanna.


A comfortable haven after a long day

4.8 on May 03, 2011

What a wonderful surprise this little Inn was! After a long business day traveling in bad weather and traffic, I arrived to the most comfortable room I've stayed in in a long, long time. Beautifully decorated and a heavenly bed, I enjoyed the best night's sleep and awoke fresh ready to take on the world. I highly recommend The Chesapeake Inn.


Chesapeake Inn Stay

4.8 on February 12, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a place to spend our anniversary out of Va Beach. We selected the Chesapeake Inn...We picked the right place. Angela and her husband treated us great. The room was incredible (5 stars!) and the town of Urbanna was great, even in February. Will be here again next anniversary. Highly recommended!


Serendipitous Discovery

5 on December 02, 2010

In September, my wife and I were searching for a place to lodge the out of town guests attending our October wedding in Saluda. The Chesapeake Inn was suggested and we went on a recon mission, not expecting to discover anything out of the ordinary. What a wonderful surprise was this charming inn and the town in which it is located. Everything about this establishment speaks class, from the beautiful rooms to the attention of Angela and John. During the discussion about the accommodations the subject of a reception venue arose. We examined the facility attached to the inn and knew that we had found the perfect place for our special celebration. In the attached ratings, five stars are available. For us, there should be a dozen more. For a special place, in a storybook town, one could not do better than the Chesapeake Inn. We will be returning, just to relive the joy we experienced.


Best Wedding ever!

5 on December 02, 2010

We were looking for rooms to accommodate out of town guests for our wedding, and were lucky enough to find The Chesapeake Inn. Not only did we rent out the 13 beautifully-appointed rooms for the weekend, but we also rented the reception facilities adjoining the property. The rates were very reasonable, the friendliness and cooperation of the staff was outstanding, and the memories we have from that very special weekend are even better because of The Chesapeake Inn. Angela St. Peter actually helped us find our photographer, our DJ, and our caterer, all of which were superb! We have even returned for a weekend stay, and will do so whenever we are back in Urbanna.


Perfect for a wedding reception & guest lodging

5 on October 11, 2010

The Chesapeake Inn is a jem nestled in the charming town of Urbana. My mother and her new husband chose this location for their wedding reception and preferred option for guest lodging. All I can say is... WOW!! The accomodations and decorations are absolutely stunning and the rooms/beds are incredibly cozy. I travel a good bit for my job and these are some of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. The attention to detail is obvious throughout this property including the reception hall, which is lovely and easily accomodated the 70+ wedding guests. Additionally, the local restaurants provide a variety of food at great prices. With all the loveliness this inn has to offer, it's best feature is its attentive staff. Angela and John helped to ensure my mother's wedding weekend went easily and smoothly. They were always happy to help and were constantly two steps ahead of the wedding events. They made sure everything went just right! I'm so impressed by everything the Chesapeake Inn and Urbana has to offer that I am already planning a surprise anniversary gift for my husband (the fishing enthusiast) at this charming retreat. It also just happens to be right down the road from one of his favorite fishing spots.


Best place to stay for oyster fest

5 on September 17, 2010

We rented three rooms last year (2009) and planning the same three in 2010 and beyond for the Oyster Festival...great spot and great people ....


You must check this place out!!!

4.6 on August 31, 2010

Everything about our stay was great! Angela and John are soooo accomadating fromm letting us check in early to helping us find food platters to take to a get-together (since I left ours in Richmond). The rooms are decorated beautifully and very clean. For the price and location, The Chesapeake Inn is a true treasure!!!!


Peaceful get-away in a lovely little town

5 on August 03, 2010

My husband and I were delighted with our room. The quality of the room's furnishings was evident the second we walked through the door. Attention to detail... that's what it's all about. Everyone we met in Urbanna was friendly and there was great biking, walking or running throughout the local neighborhoods. White wicker seating just outside our door made for great seating to watch the chimney swallows each evening. You don't want to miss the show... and it's common to see eagles soaring over the river banks.


This is the "Jewel in the Crown" of Urbanna, Virginia!

5 on July 30, 2010

After our daughter and family moved to the area several years ago, we fell in love with Urbanna and its charm. And last spring break when we were visiting, we were thrilled that The Chesapeake Inn was open. We get tired of staying the the national brand motel chains. The Chesapeake Inn offers the services of a hotel/motel, however, the atmosphere is much like a B&B with the privacy one relinquishes by staying at a B&B. The rooms are lovely and what impressed us was the fact that the guest rooms are individually decorated with "real" furniture that one would purchase for their own home! The rooms are beautiful, romantic and tastefully decorated without the kitch. We highly recommend The Chesapeake Inn!


Great place to saty !

5 on July 22, 2010

We stayed at The Chesapeake Inn in February and the inn is wonderful! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the innkeeper was so helpful and nice. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud. It's within walking distance to good restaurants. If you are interested in a quaint, lovely place, I suggest you stay at The Chesapeake Inn. You will love your stay!


Hidden Gem!

4.8 on July 11, 2010

This hidden away hotel is awesome! It is spotlessly clean and brand new. We stayed in the map room, and our nephews stayed here for our son's wedding recently. The innkeepers couldn't be more accommodating. Can't wait for a return visit. There is no dining facility within the hotel premises at the present time, but look forward to the existing building to be completed which is right in front of the hotel.


Suite No. 2 Night of6/12/10

3.4 on June 14, 2010

Beautifully decorated, however bed coverings were too much and cumbersome. When preparing to sleep,there was nowhere to put the quilt, bolsters etc. except on a chair or the floor. The mixing valve in the bathtub was extremely hard to adjust for temperature & pressure. When taking a shower the tub bottom became very slippery in spite of some grit on the tub bottom. When checking out there was no one available to advise them of our percieved problems.


Great Inn in the heart of Urbanna

4.6 on June 11, 2010

Great Inn in the heart of the small river town of Urbanna. Excellent rooms, very quiet and exuisitely decorated. Would highly reomeend for a get away wekend.


Almost as good as the Ritz Carlton

5 on May 24, 2010

This Inn is a jewel in the quaint small town of Urbanna, Virginia. Completely renovated the rooms are spotless and have beds that you can melt in to. The owners are on site and go out of their way to accomodate your every whim. You are treated as though you are the only guest in the place. We had the opportunity to hold the first function (my son's rehearsal dinner) in the newly done banquet room. The room is fully equipped with a full kitchen, bar, built in speaker system and all tastefully decorated. Top notch service from top notch owners - you can't go wrong here!


Lovely inn; excellent service

4.2 on April 26, 2010

While we only stayed at the Chesapeake Inn one night, we were charmed by its lovely and unique decor and the friendly reception. The room was spotless and included special touches such as board games and a beautiful television. We didn't dine at the Inn so can't rate it high or low. Since we had to include a rating, we rated it as "met expectations."


Chesapeake Inn Easter 2010

4.6 on April 11, 2010

Beautifully decorated rooms. I've stayed in 3 different rooms in 3 stays and every one was different and beautiful. The service has been exceedingly friendly and helpful. We're treated like welcome friends, not just hotel guests. Only negative thing I can say is that the heater/air conditioners could be updated/upgraded to have improved thermostatic controls. They run constantly, which can be a bit annoying until you tune out the fan noise. You must be careful with the control settings otherwise the room gets too hot or cold. Staying in the off season, during the winter months, it was very quiet, almost lonely. During the tourist season, I'm sure they will be very busy. I can't wait to see what they do with the former restaurant in front. This spring they were renovating to provide a large banquet/meeting facility; the largest in the local area. The local restaurants serve great food at inexpensive prices. The small local coffee shop was great as well as the Virginia Diner and the grill inside Marshall's Drug Store.


Felt like home

5 on March 22, 2010

This quaint Inn was perfect for our trip to Urbanna. The Inn was recently renovated and it felt like home. Wonderful linens, comfortable furniture and a very hospitable Innkeeper. The location is also great as it was nice to be able to walk to dinner and the local soda fountain. We have already booked a room for our next visit to the area. Since our son will be attending school close by, I know we will be back often. We highly recommend the Chesapeake Inn!


Urbanna Finally Has an Outstanding Inn

5 on March 21, 2010

The Chesapeake Inn is as friendly and inviting as the town in which it is located--Urbanna, Virginia. The sleepy little Colonial seaport town is lucky to have such a first-rate boutique hotel in its center and I was privileged to stay there for the annual Oyster Festival and again recently for a weekend. I can't wait to go back! The rooms (each is different) are beautiful and immaculate and the bed linens make you want to never leave. The service is just beyond wonderful--they treat you like family. It doesn't hurt that my favorite restaurant is just a few doors away.


Unbelievable!

5 on January 14, 2010

We had decided to stay in Urbanna, Virginia for New Years Eve. We chose The Chesapeake Inn because it was close to the restaurant we had chosen. We couldn't have been happier with our accommodations or the level of service we received. Angela, the inn manager, made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The decor and amenities of our room was so much more than we expected. We can't wait to come back during warm weather to stay at the inn and enjoy everything Urbanna has to offer!


Impossilbe not to LOVE

5 on January 13, 2010

It is impossible not to fall in love with the Chesapeake Inn. Everything about it is charming and unique from its location in the tiny, waterside town of Urbanna to the individually appointed rooms each with its own character. My husband and I spent our first anniversary at the Inn and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. The room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable, linens luxurious and they even have complimentary chocolate chip cookies! The town is small so we were close to everything. We spent time relaxing and chatting in the courtyard before taking a short walk to Mojo's for dinner. The next morning we took one of the complimentary touring bikes to go grab breakfast from the local coffee shop. It was a perfect stay and we are very much looking forward to our next visit to this little treasure. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!


The Chesapeake Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $169
  • Reviews (41) 4.5
  • Rooms 13

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8047581111
  • Fax 1-8047581119
Top