The Storefront Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
21 Reviews

Write A Review

Incredible value, wonderful amenities

5 on November 18, 2013

Like it says, a whole building for the price of a hotel room. We had room to spread out, our kids stayed with us and had their own space and their own bathroom. Heaven!


Who could ask for anything more?

5 on June 09, 2012

This was an amazing hotel! Everything a guest could possibly want was included: two TVs, DVD player, plus a very nice assortment of food (including fruit and pastries) waiting for us when we arrived! We enjoyed being right in the middle of Staunton, which meant that we pretty much parked our car in the garage directly across the street and walked to all the attractions in Staunton, and there are lots of them! We particularly enjoyed the way Terry had decorated the hotel with spectacular art. There were even books available for us to borrow. The only thing we regret is not being able to meet our genial innkeeper, but next time hopefully we will have a chance to thank him in person.


Unexpected Treasure

4.8 on May 10, 2012

Staying at the Storefront West was like stumbling over a diamond while strolling through a garden. Driving the Blue Ridge Parkway, we stayed at some lovely old inns, but Storefront West--with its architectural detail, creative decorating (including mounted bicycles), spaciousness, great lighting, central downtown location, and amazingly affordable pricing--was a surprising find. We liked the privacy of entering with a pass code and the provided continental breakfast. We also found Staunton to be more interesting than we had expected--lots of historical and architectural significance. We enjoyed a lengthy walk about town the morning we left.


The Storefront is AMAZING!

5 on November 19, 2011

I have the opportunity to stay at The Storefront this past week. I can't tell you enough how warm and inviting the property is. Ideally situated in the middle of the historic district in Staunton, I was within one or two blocks of many fantastic restaurants and boutique shops. This property is ideal for business travelers, families, and couples alike. I have never stayed at a place that was as fully stocked with amenities and decorated so nicely (modern with a retro vibe). My check-in and check-out process were seamless and all my colleagues were jealous when they saw just how fabulous of a place I was staying. I will be staying here again when I am in town in 2012. Thanks, Terry!


This place is amazing, especially for business clients!

5 on November 16, 2011

I had the privilege of staying at The Storefront recently and was simply blown away by the B&B and the amenities offered. You walk into a swanky downstairs lounge area, perfect for relaxing with friends, family or yourself. The furnishings are modern but with a retro kitschy vibe. There's a bathroom and laundry facilities downstairs. Everything was clean and immaculate when I arrived. Upstairs, you walk past a bookcase and a bathroom and stumble upon a small (but fully stocked) kitchen. The kitchen is beautifully done and kitted out with everything you need. There's complimentary breakfast foods available and day-time snacks. The bedroom is gorgeous. Overall, I was highly impressed with the facilities and furnishings, the cleanliness and the ease of getting in and out of the building. The Storefront is perfectly situated in the middle of the downtown historic district. I will be staying at The Storefront when I am in town in 2012!


BEST place to stay in the Valley!

5 on November 02, 2011

I lived in Staunton for five years after Hurricane Katrina and went back to visit friends recently. My wife and I stayed at the Storfront for the first time during the last week in October and it is a jewel! Plenty of space, perfect location, the owner was extremely helpful and friendly, and the rates are wonderful. If you are planning a trip to the Staunton/Shenandoah Valley area and don't stay here, you are making a huge mistake. COmplimentary breakfast at The Cranberry across the street is a great bonus; try and of Lester's coffee's or specials and you will be glad you did. There is no way we are going back without staying here again. Thanks Terry!


Glorious stay at The Storefront

5 on November 01, 2011

A marvelous guest accomodation, in that it spoils you with so much space and so many amenities. My eldest daughter stayed with us and slept downstairs in the cozy lounge, which has a comfortable fold down sofa bed complete with linens and it's own half-bath. The bar area is wonderful, we spent the weekend playing bartender to each other and sipping wine. It will be hard to go back to the standard, one-room guest accomodation after this.


Amazing, one of a kind accomodation

5 on October 26, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had at The Storefront. It has all the comfort and cleanliness of a luxury boutique hotel room, but six times more space. Breakfast at Cranberry's was delicious. So many amenities inside, and the extra bathroom was something we weren't expecting. The laundry facilities and the full kitchen came in handy as well. We will return.


A wonderful place to stay

4.6 on August 17, 2011

Can't recommend this enough! Privacy, convenience, and nicely furnished. Many good restaurants and places to visit within an easy walking distance. Parking is easy, and cheap, just across the street. Rooms are quiet and private. The owner is friendly, welcoming and helpful. I normally do not like B&Bs but The Storefront is great! Will definitely make this a destination spot!


not so good

2.2 on August 16, 2011

Yes, the bed sleeps well. We made our dinner in the kitchen, a nice feature. We don't happen to watch TV so the flat screens were not useful to us. We were glad to use the combination lock, freeing us from keeping track of keys. The art work was fine and abundant. Yet, the floors were dusty, so unattended that a former guest's underwear were beneath a table in the bedroom. The small Ikea rugs were stained, even the bath mat was dirty. The owner had told us that no pets were allowed since he wanted the space to be fit for guests who might be allergic to pet dander, yet a strong perfume scent lingered. I guessed it was to welcome guests, perhaps it simply lingered from previous guests. I prefer the scent of cleaning products and the feel of a clean floor beneath my bare feet. We won't be staying there again.


Storefront West

5 on June 05, 2011

After two stays at the Storefront, I certainly had high expectations, but our stay at the Storefront West blew us away. It is an incredible, fun, huge, beautiful space with over-the-top amenities, great light and a fantastic view and we thank you for offering it, especially at such a great price. At the risk of spoiling a great thing, what you offer is worth MUCH more than your generous rate - and that still applies for the weekend rate - best deal I have ever had the pleasure of taking advantage of! I can't wait to get back down to stay with you - we are hooked and, again, appreciate all that your are doing in Staunton.


The Cool Spot

5 on February 26, 2011

A few years back we visited Staunton and had coffee at The Cool Spot. This Cool Spot exuded great charm and ambience and it still does in it's transformation into a B&B! What a surprise, now we could actually stay there. Lester the former owner, designed a great space upstairs too. Streamlined and modern yet cozy too. Totally convenient to everything, including the RR Smith center and a great thrift shop as well as having the Staunton Visitor's Center across the street. What a gem, the current owner being one too!


Amazing, one of a kind accommodation

5 on February 26, 2011

I'll go back grudgingly to the usual small B&B room, but it will be hard after having two floors, a kitchen, bar, etc. The Storefront's location can't be beat, given it's closeness to every restaurant and shop in town. We highly recommend it.


The best place I've ever stayed!

5 on January 18, 2011

I'll have a hard time going back to typical small-scale lodging after staying at The Storefront. You get an upstairs and a downstairs, with all the amenities of any boutique hotel or lavish B&B, save the hovering innkeeper or desk clerk, which we were happy to do without. We checked ourselves in and out, and had complete privacy. The swivel TV downstairs was great because we could watch it anywhere downstairs. We were visiting friends in town, and had them all over for drinks and food, neither of which we could have done in a typical hotel or B&B. Our breakfast across the street at Cranberry's grocery and eatery was both delicious and ecologically friendly. We love Staunton, but The Storefront is a vacation all by itself. Thank you, Terry!


A great stay!

5 on January 12, 2011

What a delightful surprise. The Storefront is in fact the most charming bargain I have ever enjoyed in many years of visiting B&Bs. It's convenient to Staunton's historic downtown, and it has two wide screen TVs to boot! I'm looking forward to a spring visit.


Unexpected charge

2.6 on December 27, 2010

My husband and I were given a gift certificate to bedandbreakfast.com for Christmas from my sisters. We chose to stay at the Storefront because we did not want to stay at your typical bed and breakfast. We had a great time and were actually commenting on how we wanted to come back again; however, when we returned home, we found an unexpected extra charge of $100 on our credit card. When we spoke to the innkeeper, he informed us that we had violated the "no pet" policy. This was impossible, as we had not brought our dog. We did bring a blanket from home, which most likely had dog hair on it (we have a black lab and he tends to shed a lot). When I called the innkeeper to explain what happened, he refunded the money, but rudely told me that I was never welcome back. He told me that he had to wash the comforter because there was dog hair on it (shouldn't he be washing the comforter anyway???) The website clearly states that you don't have to clean before you leave. Had I known how picky they were going to be, we would have washed the sheets ourselves. We were very disappointed in the way this was handled. We were very glad to have the money refunded but were very upset by the rudeness of the innkeeper. Anyone who has a dog knows that a little bit of your dog always travels with you...


Wonderful and unique

4.2 on August 02, 2010

If you're looking for a place out of the ordinary, make this your stop! Totally NOT your average hotel room or even a regular B&B. Loved our stay, Terry is a great guy.


Five star location and accomodation!

5 on November 11, 2009

We enjoyed our stay! We will tell others about The Storefront. The Eliss'


Interesting Place to Stay

4.0 on October 01, 2009

The Storefront is a fun and interesting place to stay. I was in Staunton for a wedding with my two college-aged daughters. The Storefront was a nice alternative to a hotel room where we would have felt cramped and crowded. The one and one-half baths were very nice as were the two TVs (one up and one down). The three of us could spread out and not get in each other's way. The Storefront is in the heart of Staunton and convenient to everything. I would definitely stay there again.


SPECTACULAR!!!

5 on August 27, 2009

Our stay at the Storefront was absolutely fabulous!!!! My husband and I have finally found our favorite getaway. In fact, we are so selfish about the place and town that we would like to keep it to ourselves ;) The Storefront is really the talk of the town. We will definitely be back. Thank you for everything! Warm Regards, M. & T. White


This place is fabulous!

5 on August 03, 2009

This place is like a luxury hotel with a homey feeling. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and you can't beat the price! The innkeepers have thought of everything -- we wanted for nothing during our stay. The location is spectacular -- right across from parking, the tourism office, around the corner fromt he Shakespeare Theatre and dozens of great eats! Everyone stops to read the sign about the Storefront and the whole town is buzzing about this great new idea. You will never want to stay in a regular hotel again. We will definitely be back!


The Storefront

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $159
  • Reviews (21) 4.6
  • Rooms 1
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8042185656

Visit Website »

View details

Top