Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
81 Reviews

Write A Review

English Cottage

3.0 on April 17, 2014

Authentic in appearance - nice accommodations - genial hostess


A fun stay!

4.8 on April 13, 2014

We enjoyed our weekend very much - a lovely property, pleasant hostess, and delicious food.


Maple Festival Getaway

5 on March 12, 2014

We had a lovely stay in Romeo's room - which I like because of the calming green tones. Nice, oversized bathroom, and a comfortable bed with lots of good reading at hand made for a great sleep. Tea and sherry and port available at all hours, which was nice to come back to after a dinner out. We walked to Zynodoa, which is a fantastic restaurant in Staunton's downtown area. The following morning we walked across the street for some time in the old cemetery Thornrose. It was beautiful! Breakfast was fabulous, and Juliette did a lovely job accommodating our dietary restrictions. Thanks again!


Unique b&b

4.2 on December 13, 2013

We stayed at this b&b and enjoyed it very much. It is quite a unique place. We felt like we were in a cottage in the middle of England. Our host was very welcoming and she cooked a good hearty breakfast. This b&b was clean and we'll maintained. We stayed in December so the garden wasn't in bloom. It would be worth going back in the spring for another stay and to check out the garden.


Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B

5 on December 11, 2013

Felt like I was in England. Cottage was cozy. Enjoyed speaking with Juliet the Innkeeper. Would come back again.


Katie'sCharms

5 on November 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. We loved everything, including the room, the beautiful fireplace area, and the breakfast was fabulous! Thank you, thank you!!!


Lovely English Cottage in Virginia

3.6 on November 14, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay and close to the downtown area. However, there is no host/hostess in residence and that might pose a safety concern for single people. The area is a bit questionable at night. Someone comes in to prepare breakfast which is nice. For privacy, this is certainly a great place to stay.


Lovely stay in Romeo;s suite.

4.4 on November 05, 2013

We loved everything about this extraordinary English cottage.


Anne Hathaway's Cottage

4.0 on October 23, 2013

Not a spot-on recreation of an Elizabethan inn but certainly evocative, and a very pleasant, comfortable, homey place with great hosts. The large common room is very pleasant. Food could be better though given the overall pleasantness of the place--fresh fruit rather than canned, homemade rather than store-bought muffins, etc.


Great place to stay

4.0 on October 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Staunton, and staying at the cottage was a huge part of that.


Lovely!

5 on October 15, 2013

We couldn't have had a more lovely time! The decor, food, cleanliness and hospitality were beyond outstanding. Connie's cooking and care of us will be one of the best parts of our memory of Staunton.


Great service!

5 on October 15, 2013

I recently stayed at Anne Hathaway's and the staff was great. It was a very pleasant, wonderful experience. They make sure that there are clean places to sleep and the rooms are very well decorated. There is always hot tea available and you can be assured of a great home-cooked meal in the morning. If you are staying in Staunton or the surrounding area I highly suggest this BnB.


Enjoyable stay in Staunton, VA

4.2 on October 14, 2013

Gardens and cottage are beautiful. Rooms are very nice but we felt the bed was too firm in Romeo's room. Hostess,Juliette, is very pleasant and helpful. This B&B is in the heart of downtown Staunton. East access to shopping and dining.


English countryside right in Staunton, VA

4.4 on October 13, 2013

My husband and I were visiting my daughter, who attends a local college, for the night. Juliette was an excellent hostess. The cottage was adorable- we felt like we were in the English countryside! I would stay there again.


Quality counts

5 on October 13, 2013

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary and could not have picked a more ideal place to stay. Ann Hathaway's Cottage is a wonderful reproduction on a English theme. It's atmosphere and environment wrap tranquility and quality around the visitor. The homemade wholesome breakfast was cooked and presented with great thought and care. We would recommend that you stay, relax and enjoy.


Wonderful stay

5 on September 05, 2013

Had a terrific stay at Anne Hathaway's cottage over labor day weekend. It's a beautiful cottage and very close (10 min walk) to historic downtown Staunton. It was great chatting with Juliette, and breakfast was delicious! We even bought a couple jars of jam for the road.


One night at Anne Hathaway's B&B

5 on August 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Juliette was a gracious host. The location was convenient to downtown Staunton and the room and general environment was pleasant. We will certainly book again on a return visit.


Remarkable cottage

4.8 on August 12, 2013

The house was built to resemble the actual Anne Hathaway cottage (including a thatched roof), but was also intended as a B&B, so the guest rooms have real bathrooms (not converted closets). Our bed was great, Juliette was a gracious host, and you MUST take a walk in the English garden. I had afternoon tea on the deck, reading a book. A delightful place, highly recommended.


Shakespeare upon Staunton

4.0 on July 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night, and the Inn and hospitality were excellent. Juliette was very helpful, and it was a lovely Inn with a definite Shakespearean flavor. Staunton is a fun town to visit, too - with much history. I can give an unqualified thumbs up for Anne Hathaway's Cottage!


Wonderful Stay in Staunton

5 on July 16, 2013

Although the weather did not cooperate, the English gardens were very relaxing to walk through. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was 1st rate and the location near the historic district was convenient.


BB review

5 on July 12, 2013

We had a very nice time st the BB!


Comfortable, Charming, & Relaxing

4.0 on July 09, 2013

Great b&b. fantastic hostess. Just .5 miles to downtown, so a pleasant walk to shops, restaurants, & local attractions.


A lovely respite! The next best thing to England!

5 on June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night to celebrate our Fifth wedding anniversary in the middle of a road trip to New York to see family. We also took in a play at the Blackfriar's Theater (American Shakespeare Center), which was about 3 minutes away from the cottage. For an Anglophile such as myself, the cottage was beyond perfect. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the gardens peaceful and the breakfast was delicious: stuffed French toast with fruit, yogurt, eggs and sausage. I especially loved the selection of British teas in the parlor and the Shakespeare/Britain-themed books in the rooms. I remarked to my husband that the grounds and the house resembled a film set. With a little imagination, one could easily forget that they are in Virginia, but instead in Warwickshire, England. Juliette was a wonderful and kind hostess; we so enjoyed ourselves that we are going to make an effort to come back at least once a year if we can. If a trip to the U.K. isn't anywhere in your near future, but you're longing for a bit of the Sceptered Isle on this side of the pond, you seriously can't go wrong with Ms. Swenson's cottage. Highly recommended!


Wonderful

5 on June 13, 2013

Room very comfortable, hostess very friendly. Love the bread pudding and gooseberry sauce.


Anniversary stay

4.6 on June 10, 2013

My husband and I were looking for an anniversary getaway in the heart of winery country and we certainly found it. I am from England so to find a cottage that took me back home without leaving the States was perfect! We fell in love with the place and will definitely consider going back!


The best I have ever experienced!

5 on May 22, 2013

Juliette was the best host and a great cook! You will love the quaint charm too!


Lovely Stay at Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B

4.4 on May 13, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay--the B&B is so quaint and charming and the breakfast was delicious! The innkeeper, Juliette, was so nice and helpful as well.


Very lovely B&B, amidst a splendid garden. I'll be back.

4.6 on May 11, 2013

BTW, dining experience is bogus. There's no way to skip rating an experience you didn't have. Bit of site-stupidity.


Monticello Get Away

3.6 on May 06, 2013

Excellent clean large room with nice bath. Short walk to downtown. Nice breakfast


Relaxing Stay in a Delightful Cottage

4.6 on April 16, 2013

Wonderfully relaxing evening in a very nice B&B. Great combination of Shakespeare (ASC) play and quiet evening. Very warm hostess--most excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.


Great choice!

4.8 on April 03, 2013

Anne Hathaway's Cottage was a lovely place to stay in Staunton. The inn was comfortable with modern amenities. Breakfast was delicious! I would definitely return.


weekend getaway from DC

5 on March 31, 2013

Spent a weekend at Anne Hathaway's Cottage with my husband. We've been to Staunton before for the Blackfriars (ASC) and went back for a weekend of plays. The Cottage was perfectly charming, walkable to the theater (about a mile), and we had a wonderful time. Because of the cold weather, we did not get to see the garden in bloom, so I hope that we go back sometime in the spring or summer.


Mother and Daughter Getaway 2013

4.4 on March 14, 2013

We used the B&B weekend to get some much needed rest and relaxation. We were captivated by the charm of the cottage and the wonderful hospitality we received. Breakfasts are heavenly, but you receive attention for any care or need you may have. The atmosphere feels just like home and you are always encouraged to just relax. The heart of town is within walking distance and there is plenty to amuse yourself with. I would reccomend this Inn to anyone who needs a time out to just relax and recharge.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind and lovely review. I have tried hard to create a relaxing and cozy place to come and with you I succeeded!


Excellent Service

4.2 on February 21, 2013

Very unique place! Easy walk to downtown, nice breakfast, comfortable bed, and clean. Really courteous and friendly service. We had a great time.


The perfect accoutrement to a Blackfriars Visit

4.4 on January 08, 2013

From the moment we entered this beautiful inn, we were swept back into Shakespeare's time. We were greeted warmly by Connie, who showed us our room and made sure we knew how everything worked and where everything was located. Teas and coffees are available at all times, and we took advantage of sitting near the fire and enjoying afternoon tea. The cats are part of the charm, for sure - friendly and loving. After seeing Julius Caesar, we returned to a very comfortable bed. The next morning we had an amazing English breakfast - warm fruit over yogurt, eggs, sausage, and the most delicious bread-type pudding (secret recipe, I fear) that I had ever had. It was very clear that Connie wanted everything to be perfect, and it certainly was. There are only three rooms here, so book early for a step back in time and a lovely weekend.


A delightful Christmas detaway!

4.8 on January 08, 2013

We spent Christmas 2012 at Anne Hathaway's and it was a wonderful way to celebrate the holidays. Ju liette Swenson is a remarkable hostess and the setting is delightful. The food was uniformly delicious and expertly prepared. We would recommend this B&B without reservation!!


Perfect!!

5 on November 26, 2012

The place is a gem!! The staff is great, the English cottage style is beautiful, breakfast was wonderful, and it was a fabulous weekend.


November 2012 stay

5 on November 26, 2012

Excellent evening.


Great stay, will come back

4.2 on November 13, 2012

Had a wonderful experience in Staunton at the Anne Hathaway B&B. Stayed in the William room and it exceeding my expectations.


one night

4.4 on November 12, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay. I was traveling alone; Juliette was warm and helped me get a ticket to see a Shakespeare play that night...what fun! Staunton is a beautiful walking town; I would go back.


Authentic English charm

4.2 on October 23, 2012

My wife and I couldn’t be happier about our decision to try Anne Hathaway’s Cottage as our lodgings for a romantic weekend. We celebrated our anniversary with a weekend in Staunton, planned around seeing a play at the American Shakespeare Center. Staying at the cottage gave the weekend a consistent theme. We hoped for the experience of staying in an historic English country cottage, and we were not disappointed. Juliette was a friendly, engaging hostess. The cottage is certainly snug and cozy, but never felt cramped. The space is very well planned out, with a comfortable sitting room/breakfast area, complete with fireplace and many books to browse, mostly with an English theme. We slept beautifully in the Juliette Room, which was just big enough for the two of us. The private bathroom was especially spacious, with such modern amenities as a lighted walk-in shower, hair dryer, and towel heater. Breakfast was equally enchanting, with elegant homemade offerings such as cold strawberry soup, French toast with wine syrup, and lean bacon, yogurt with fresh fruit, egg soufflé with mushrooms, and link sausages. My wife was pleased with the always-open tea service, with many choices of teas and hot chocolate, and I enjoyed taking a nip from the decanter of sherry sitting out for us. It’s within a very reasonable walking distance from the historic district, where you can admire authentic Victorian architecture and visit delightful shops and eateries on your way to the theatre! The cottage’s garden is sizeable enough to separate it from the main street (which is so small and quiet, it hardly matters!). And if you are a cat lover, Puck, Lear, and Portia will keep you company in the great room or in the garden.


Lovely Shakespeare Weekend

5 on August 21, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend of Shakespeare and nothing could have been more pleasant than my stay in Juliet's Room in Anne Hathaway's Cottage. What a sweet idea and perfect for putting me in the mood for a couple plays at Blackfriars. I enjoyed the walk back and forth to downtown and also took the trolley (which let me off right at the bakery next to the cottage). Juliette made lovely breakfasts both mornings. First was French toast with blueberry syrup, sausage and fresh fruit. Sunday morning was a lovely fresh watermelon soup, a nice egg dish (maybe a souffle?) and bacon. I enjoyed the beautiful garden and the kitties around the house and yard. The great room was beautiful and comfy and the perfect place to read on a rainy morning. In addition to Blackfriars, I did a historical walking tour of Staunton, a behind-the-scenes tour at Blackfriars, a haunted Staunton ghost tour (fun!), a tour of the Woodrow Wilson birthplace and museum and a wine tasting at Barren Ridge vineyard. A lovely weekend!


Anne Hathaway Cottage

5 on June 28, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was simply great! We loved everything about it and will go back again and again!!!!


truly a getaway!

4.8 on June 20, 2012

from the street, the cottage looks unique, hidden behind the tall garden. when you drive up the driveway, you notice all the details of the cottage and how they really wanted to emulate the style of Anne Hathaway's house in England (wife of Shakespeare). the thatched roof and white walls make you think you're in another era. we stayed in Juliet's room, which is on the second floor. the room is very comfortable. the bed is solid and the fan is much appreciated. the bathroom is spacious as well. breakfast was really great, the innkeeper really did a great job with the presentation and it tasted great. would definitely consider staying again!


Very cute B&B

4.6 on June 06, 2012

German pair stayed for two nights. It was absolutely beautiful and exactly that what was described at the web site. We can recommend this B&B.


Great stay in Staunton

5 on May 16, 2012

We enjoyed Anne Hathaway's Cottage for 2 nights in May. We choose this inn because we could easily walk to the downtown area, but will return because of Juliette's gracious innkeeping and great breakfasts! The inn itself is exactly as pictured - a piece of England magically transplanted in Staunton. Lovely public areas and spacious, well appointed guest rooms. Juliette is friendly and gracious. Her gardens are beautiful and she arranges cut flowers for every room. It could not have been better.


Nice B&B

3.0 on May 09, 2012

A quaint place... gorgeous gardens! Comfy bed and beautiful linens. Delicious breakfast.


a gardener's paradise!

5 on May 09, 2012

Thank you Juliette for a wonderful 20th anniversary getaway! My husband and I were looking for a quiet weekend away to explore nurseries and see a show at the Blackfriar's. We were delighted and inspired by your English garden and your hospitality. This is the perfect spot for gardeners.


A nice place to stay for a Shakespearean weekend

3.8 on May 03, 2012

Our stay at the cottage was very nice and Staunton is a must for classical theater fans. The cottage is nicely appointed and helps with the Shakespearean feel of our theater oriented trip. The service was friendly and the innkeeper provided us with excellent advice. The inn is located within walking distance of downtown and the theater so it was great to be able to park the car and not have to drive. In all it is a very good place to stay in Staunton and I will be recommending it to my friends and family.


Perfect getaway!

5 on February 26, 2012

Beautiful place to stay. Amazing breakfast, lovely hosts and stellar accommodations. We'll be back in the summer to stay again. Highly recommended.


Raising the bar for Bed & Breakfasts

4.6 on January 28, 2012

Anne Hathaway's Cottage went beyond what I have experienced at other Bed and Breakfasts. It was a delightful environment that provided great rest and relaxation. It was within walking distance of historic Staunton and the service could not have been improved on. The cost of staying there was not much more than staying at some hotels yet you would never get the personal touch.


Enjoyed our stay and would return

3.8 on December 07, 2011

The first night we stayed we had the place to ourselves and enjoyed a quite evening together. The following morning, we were served a half a grapefruit some homemade breads for breakfast and an english muffin. It was good enough but I was expecting a hot meal rather than a continental breakfast. We ate an early lunch (eat at the Pampered Palate, it is a great value) and walked around town a good part of the day exploring. We were made to feel very welcome by the locals. My wife blew her own glass Christmas ornament which she enjoyed and we rode the town trolley, which was a little ghetto. The driver was a great guy but I have to say that in spite of his best efforts, we did feel a little uncomfortable when he had to tell us to look at him rather than look at this guy getting off the trolley. We would not use the trolley again. We hung out at the B&B for a while to read/relax in the common room and later, we drove back into town even though the trolley could have taken us and did a little Christmas shopping and ate at Emilio's. Dinner quality was in line with the price but the waitress did not seem to get that I was looking for a little help on the wine menu. I could tell she knew a little about it but I cold not get her to give me a straight recommendation. We drove back to the B&B and retired for the evening as my wife was tired from walking most of the day. We got up the final morning and had a breakfast much more in line with what I expected, quiche, bacon and cut fruit. The quiche was store bought which surprised me given how easy it is to make but it was decent enough. The best part of the trip was that they have good tea out all the time. Oddly enough, we enjoyed this part the most and was a major factor (in addition to the nice common area) in us choosing this B&B a second time. We will be back.


Absolutely Charming!

4.4 on October 26, 2011

Spent a delightful night at Anne Hathaway's Cottage and would have spent a week if I could. Perfect in every way – very close to downtown, comfortable and convenient room, wonderful and helpful hostess, fabulous decor, and a sweet kitty to keep me company as I sat on the couch and read. I felt so at home! The Juliet Room was lovely and the bathroom had plenty of room and good water pressure. Each room is individually climate controlled, plus I could open the diamond-paned windows for some crisp fall air. This is definitely the place to stay in Staunton. I'll be back!


Exceptional Bed and Breakfast

4.2 on October 25, 2011

This is an incredible B&B, the attention to detail is staggering and it was extremely comfortable - truly unique! The owner and staff were amazingly helpful, friendly and welcoming. It really is like staying in an English Country home. Staunton centre is but a 10 minute walk with lovely restaurants and a great place to explore. The only minus point was the breakfast - considering the outstanding nature of the B&B it fell rather short and was meagre - don't let this put you off though, it was exceptional apart from that!!


Just what I needed

4.2 on October 15, 2011

I wanted a place, for one night, where I could spend some time alone with my thoughts and reading books in one of my favorite time period settings. After my stay, I felt refreshed, renewed, and energized. The room was immaculate, the bed restful, the bathroom and shower relaxing, and the setting refreshing. Juliette was a gracious hostess. I am hoping to go back for a longer visit next year.


What a splendid B&B!

5 on October 03, 2011

I just loved it. Breakfast was superb. My room was beautifully appointed, and so in keeping with an Elizabethan cottage. The building itself is so authentic it was hard to believe I wasn't actually vacationing in Stratford-on-Avon. Innkeeper Juliette and her husband John were charming and gracious. I plan to come back to Staunton as soon as possible and stay there again.


breakfast left wanting

2.6 on September 23, 2011

Over a 2 night stay we were impressed with the magnitude of the cottage and the amount of work which had gone into creating such a special place. It was therefore a disappointment that the breakfasts were so lacking in quality and quantity - no hot food was available, and what was offered did not make the grade.

Innkeeper Response
The guest probably stayed during the week when only an extended continental breakfast is offered - when the nightly rate is lowered to reflect this difference. Always availabable for a continental breakfast are the following: home made granola - made with top quality ingredients and sweetened with honey, and other cereals, as well as hot oatmeal. All the jams are home made - recently pear lemon balm was available, as well as strawberry peach. Usually 3 different kinds of baked goods are offered as well - maybe the whole thing was the result of a bad hair day!


Go back in time when staying at Anne Hathaways Cottage

5 on September 03, 2011

Julliet, our hostess and owner, went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and at home. The sherry and brandy offered before going to bed was a lovely surprise. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. We look forward to returning and strolling through her beautiful well tended English garden.


Beautiful!

5 on August 02, 2011

So quaint and comfortable yet elegant and spotless. We will be back for sure when next we visit JMU.


English teacher's delight

4.4 on July 17, 2011

No better place to stay for an English teacher who wishes to see Shakespeare performed in Staunton. The outdoor gardens are magnificent, the innkeeper is gracious, and the entire setting is perfect for putting one in the mood for an evening of Shakespeare or romance. Definitely a must stay for an Anglophile. The cottage truly evokes Tudor England, and the helpfulness of the hostess is an added dimension--we took the two night special package and saw two plays at Blackfriars, and the hostess arranged tickets for us. We definitely plan to return here.


Lovely & Relaxing

4.0 on July 12, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely two night stay. Enjoyed the beautiful accomodations & exploring Staunton. Blackfriar's Playhouse was fantastic & Zynadoa Restaurant was top notch! Excellent recommendations from our hostess Juliette. Loved our stay!


Wonderful!

4.6 on June 28, 2011

Wonderful weekend stay great English setting and gardens, close to restaurants and American Shakespeare Center. Rooms very nice, common areas wonderful, Breakfasts outstanding, Juliette was helpful, great hostess.


A truly Exceptional Experience

4.6 on June 03, 2011

All the romance of a Shakesperian-era home and garden, the cleanliness of a German Pension, and with all the modern conveniences, it, and our stay, were absolutely delightful!


Anne Hathaway's Cottage in Staunton, VA

3.6 on May 15, 2011

Stayed for a weekend and attended the American Shakespeare Center, which was a great deal of fun. The cottage was delightful, but the breakfasts were only satisfactory. Unlike some other bed and breakfasts at which we've stayed, which have gone all out for breakfast, these were fairly basic.


Unique experience - we will return

4.0 on April 26, 2011

We stayed two nights and really enjoyed the unique decor and style. The house and garden are amazing! Staunton is a neat town and we visited the Black Friars Playhouse (to see a show) and a nearby vineyard. The stay was very nice and we intend to return for another stay in the future.


Hello

2.8 on April 10, 2011

I loved everything about Anne Hathaway, it was nice and quiet as it said in the information guide. I was expecting Scones but did not get any, and the owner should provide better and more than one pillow. It was hard to sleep on one old pillow. Everything else was good.


A fabulous place!

5 on February 26, 2011

One couldn't find a more beautiful enclave, a charming Cotswold cottage with a thatched roof, and wonderfully tended grounds. Great food served and plenty of it. Charmingly appointed rooms. I'll be returning to Anne Hathaway's on my next trip to Staunton!


An excellent weekend

4.0 on February 16, 2011

My girlfriend and I greatly enjoyed our Valentine's Day weekend getaway. The room was fantastic and the meals were delicious. The cottages proximity to the Black Friar's Theatre was also a huge bonus.


Thank you for making my birthday special

4.0 on January 30, 2011

Your delicious food, Elizabethan ambience, and gracious hospitality combined with our delightful excursions around Staunton (in January even!) have made it a momst memorable celebration. You can be sure we'll return, Lord willing, before too long. Fred and Miriam


Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B

5 on November 28, 2010

Wonderful hospitality & charming home! We had an excellent stay.


An amazing 6th anniversary stay.........

4.6 on September 27, 2010

....What a sincere pleasure to stay in such a special place. The rooms were excellent, the breakfast out of sight, and the innkeeper Juliette was such a pleasure to get to know. We will definitiely come back soon. Wayne Stark Senior Director of Career Cervices Sweet Briar College


Exceptional

5 on August 09, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a weekend getaway to Staunton. What an absolute gem! There's nowhere else in Staunton that we saw that was anywhere close in terms of quality. The cottage: We were surprised to learn that the cottage is newly built because the owner has done such an amazing job of recreating the famous British cottage in the original style: everything from the antique furniture to the artwork, wood trim, hand-painted border design and even old, reclaimed windows. My husband and I often found ourselves sitting in the communal great room, just reading or talking. Or just wandering around the lovely gardens. The location: on the main drag, just a short walk up from downtown. The room: We stayed in Juliette's room, which, along with Romeo's room, is upstairs. The room was beautiful, bed was comfortable, temperature perfect (it was in the middle of summer, so quite hot outside), bathroom was very large and the bathroom soap and shampoo were very nice. Breakfast: We really enjoyed the morning breakfasts prepared by Juliette. The food was delicious and had that taste that food only has when prepared with care and love. She used Polyface eggs one morning for a frittata. And served a lovely fruit "starter" garnished with mint from her garden. Portions were just right. We're tea drinkers and she serves a bizillion different teas. Juliette is so fun and easy to talk to, as were the other guests. I had much more the feel that I was visiting a family member than someone else's B&B. My husband and I definitely plan to return.


Excellent B&B

5 on June 26, 2010

This is really such a lovely B&B, and Juliette makes it so comfortable to stay there. We highly recommend this! I've been in the lodging business for years, and Anne Hathaway's Cottage brings the best of the different types of lodging together at a great value. The rooms are exquisitely decorated and extremely clean and comfortable. It is much more convenient than staying in a hotel, though, as Juliette has thought of everything so you have all the comforts of home but in this charming cottage. You can make your own tea or coffee at any time, store your dinner leftovers in the fridge, get recommendations for dining (there are some terrific restaurants in town), have a spot of sherry or port, read a book in the great room, borrow a movie to watch in your room, and get a lovely full breakfast served in the morning. There is even free wi-fi, in case you just must check your email. At breakfast we got to know the other guests. We were there for 2 nights, and other guests can be quiet, or very interesting.


Charming and comfortable

5 on June 26, 2010

Thanks to Juliette we experienced warm hospitality and a really charming and comfortable cottage!!! We will certainly mention it to anyone we know planning a trip to Staunton!! And we look forward to staying with you again on a future trip to Blackfriars.


Restful days in your care

5 on June 02, 2010

We had a wonderful holiday weekend stay. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect romantic get-away, staying in Juliet's room. Hope to sepnd many more restful days in your care.


What a jewel of a bed and breakfast!

5 on January 10, 2010

We highly recommend Anne Hathaway's cottage - not least because Juliette is such a thoughtful and gracious host. Being at the cottage is like having the best of "English Country Living" while in Virginia. The open access to hot tea and the kitchen was also lovely. We had a wonderful stay!


Thanksgiving stay

4.2 on December 03, 2009

This is a lovely recreation of a beautiful example of English architecture, within a short distance of a great Shakespearean theatre. We were quite pleased and well-fed during our short Thanksgiving stay. Just goes to show - - you can have a great little English B&B, WITH washcloths! Thank you, Juliette, for a warm and hospitable stay. Thanks to you Staunton is graced with a unique and comfortable bit of the isles!


"To sleep, perchance to dream..."

5 on November 08, 2009

What blissful slumber, we have enjoyed a delightful sojourn at Anne Hathaway's cottage, and greatly admire the beautiful appointments and attention to detail. We will surely be back for a return visit. Miss Dolly, our pre-spoiled pooch loved it too.


Wonderful B&B

5 on October 25, 2009

We stayed one night and I wish we could have stayed longer. Juliette, the innkeeper, is very friendly and a great conversationalist but knows the value of letting her guests relax to themselves. The place is extremely well kept and tastefully decorated in keeping with the original cottage's history. We stayed in Romeo's room and loved all the details, from the embroidered bedspread to the signed playbills on the wall. The garden had wound down for the year but was still very pretty. Breakfast was delicious -- fruit, yogurt, granola, then French toast and sausage. We very much enjoyed our stay and plan on returning the next chance we have.


"A truly lovely experience!

5 on September 02, 2009

We felt so comfortable in this beautifully done in - and loved all the small touches and little bits of character. We especially enjoyed being surrounded by all the books. Nice and cozy, size was perfect, delicious food, pleasant conversation. We didn't want to leave! Loved the homemade jams


A slice of England in Staunton

4.4 on July 30, 2009

My husband, Chris and I spent a delightful evening at the Anne-Hathaways Cottage in June, immersed in Shakespeare's time. The Anne-Hathaways Cottage B&B is an charming recreation of Shakespeare's original, with a thatched roof, period furnishings and fabrics, and an inviting, authentic English garden, located in the heart of Staunton, VA. Its three bedrooms, "Shakespeare", "Romeo" and "Juliet" are each appointed in period style with modern bathrooms, phone and cable TV. There are quotes of Shakespeare everywhere along with a stair way photo gallery of Inns in England owned by Anne-Hathaway's seasoned and gracious Inn Keepers. The ambiance had a feeling of intimacy, comfort and engagement. Inn-Keeper, Juliette Swenson greeted us with a glass of sherry and conversation and recommended that we dash off to the Blackfriar's Playhouse Theatre to see the production of The Comedy of Errors. The play was brought alive by its cast and full of laughter and cheer to top off a great evening. The next morning, we were treated by Juliette to a delicious, full course breakfast and more recommendations for where to have lunch and sites to visit in Staunton. We chose the Frontier Culture Museum to learn more about the agricultural history and architecture of the Region and also toured Mary Baldwin College. Our little 24 hour excursion was a delight and possibly our most memorable mini-vacation.


Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $169
  • Reviews (81) 4.5
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5408858885
  • Mobile 1-5402802262

Visit Website »

View details

Top