The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service5
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
11 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely inn in a lovely setting

5 on May 23, 2016

We stayed here mid-week on a lark as a place to rest our head after a meal at the Inn at Little Washington, without paying the prices one would pay in the town of Washington. Not having much expectation, I was so pleasantly surprised by this beautiful place. I will definitely visit this hidden gem again when I have more time to spend there. The house and the rooms are lovely -- some very fine antiques and rugs, all done with class and elegance. Because it was mid-week off season, we were the only guests that night, but we were made to feel very welcome. Upon our arrival we were provided some wine, some delicious rosemary nuts and bottles of water and the next morning we were treated with a sumptuous breakfast spread from Ms. Lillian. Eggs from the farm, homemade jam and granola, sausage, fried apples, fruit, salad, and a full French Press of delicious coffee. The farm and the views cannot be beat. I would recommend to anyone. Another perk is that it is about a 7 minute drive to the Inn at Little Washington.


Wonderful quiet retreat

4.8 on May 16, 2016

We only spent one night, but I could have stayed longer. Cliff, Jackie & Lillian made us feel like welcomed friends. The room was comfortable, the breakfast delicious. the home beautiful. And we loved seeing the horses & piglets.


Hobnobbing on thK nob

4.0 on May 09, 2016

Perched some 600' below the summit of 1169-foot Turkey Knob on a steep southwest facing slope, this historic Miller family residence commands a panoramic view of the Blue Ridge mountains and the Thornton River valley below. Service by Lillian and Jackie was as good as expected and friendlier. A late April hike on the lovely 1.5-mile loop trail to and from the Inn on the forested slopes of this 800+ acre property revealed close up sounds and sights of numerous songbirds, including a brilliant scarlet tanager and a squawking, surprised pair of Pileated Woodpeckers. Near the end of the wooded section of the trail, an enigmatic surprise greeted us. Continuing our walk past the Mt. Vernon farm, with its spacious barns whose inhabitants had been herded across the Thornton to pasture earlier that morning, we encountered several fly fisherman standing in this peaceful tributary of the Rappahannock, waiting for stocked trout to ambush a tied fly. As we climbed the steep driveway from the river to the Inn, we encountered a stately gentleman who stepped out of his car to greet us. We guessed he was the owner, which the distinguished-looking Cliff Miller confirmed. In the warming sun, the three of us did our part to add to the fragrant spring breezes around us. Cliff regaled us with some of the history of the property, which he and his son rescued from deterioration to bring it its present glory. The main source of Cliff's pride, we learned, is his thoughtful and conscientious stewardship of this beautiful spot and the surrounding forest and fields. His generosity in placing a large portion of this estate into a Virginia state easement ensures it will remain pristine for ages to come. This lengthy and educational chat just enhanced our feeling of fulfillment at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm. We'll leave it to you to find out for yourself just what this little charm of many charms at Mt. Vernon may be.


Anniversary Weekend

5 on April 21, 2016

Beautiful Property. Hosts were gracious and did everything perfectly to make sure we had a wonderful stay from the moment we arrived to our departure. The property manager even drove us into the next town for dinner and picked us up when we were ready to return. Can't wait to go back!


A Wonderfully Relaxing and Refreshing Weekend Retreat!

5 on March 23, 2016

Cliff Miller and his staff, Lillian and Jackie, make certain that their guests have every opportunity to enjoy this idyllic setting. Despite cold and rainy weather, we enjoyed hours by the fire, visits to local wineries and a fabulous walk during a few dry hours. Breakfast was fantastic with most food locally sourced if not grown on the farm, and it was fun getting to know the other guests.


Great mountain getaway

4.6 on March 15, 2016

Country inn offers great views and excellent breakfast. Close to Shenedoah Park entrance. Lots of quaint shops and restaurants in the area. Rooms and service are first class.


Beautiful place to stay

4.2 on January 04, 2016

The rooms at the Inn are very beautiful. Our room also had a luxurious bathroom with an excellent 2-headed shower. Lillian and Jackie were warm and welcoming, and provided a really wonderful breakfast. We didn't feel that welcome to enjoy the property's sitting room, but then we were out most of the time, enjoying Sperryville's distillery, brewery and restaurants, and the countryside around Shenandoah.


Perfect stay

5 on December 16, 2015

exceptional early winter stay in our favorite Rappahanok county. first time at the Inn, but definitely will not be the last! magnificent setting, close to town but in a serene, private, country place. Beautifully furnished, comfortable and very welcoming. Innkeeper and owner treated us like we lived there!


SIMPLY OUTSTANDING

5 on December 23, 2012

Exquisite in the fine details at every corner. The buildings, the grounds, the history, the property, the view, the staff — completely amazing — like out of an oscar-winning movie. The breakfast was THE best I'D EVER had in my life. Not cheap — and worth every penny. Can't wait to go back. —Stayed November, 2012 S. Roberts, age 42, Ashburn, VA


Outstanding Country Weekend Inn

5 on October 29, 2011

We stayed at The Inn for our annual Virginia country weekend. The house is beautiful and authentic and the views are exceptional. The Innkeepers are the most gracious, hospitable and enjoyable people we have ever stayed with. We were there for four nights and especially enjoyed the gracious breakfast meals and conversations with the owners. Even better, we were a short ride to everything we wanted to do with our time - hike in Shannedoah, eat in Washington and attend the horse races in Warrenton. It also meant a lot to us that the Innkeepers are running a humane and 21st century farming operation on their property. We just loved The Inn and look forward to returning.


The perfect place for a weekend trip

5 on October 10, 2011

Everything about this inn is perfection. The location is serene with rolling hills, grazing horses and mountain views. The hospitality of the innkeeper will exceed your expectations. The house is decorated tastefully. It is obvious that the owners take time to ensure every detail of your stay is enjoyable. Our room was very charming with cozy bedding. The breakfast was delicious and a clear testament to how much better farm fresh ingredients make food taste. I have stayed at many B and B's and would rank this at the very top of my list. We will be sure to make a return visit to the Inn.


The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5409878115

Visit Website »

View details

Top