Inn at Westwood Farm Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
152 Reviews

Write A Review

We will keep returning!

5 on September 11, 2014

This was our second visit to the Inn. Now we hope to make this an annual habit. Jay and Elizabeth are not short on TLC throughout the house and yards. We were treated to the lightest fluffy blueberry pancakes served with other breakfast foods presented artistically on our plates. Everything is fresh and local. Eggs from their own hen house, strawberries picked down the road, honey from the local bee keeper, and more than I can write here. There were fresh flower arrangements throughout the house and little spicy milled soaps. We really enjoyed adirondack chairs down by the barn at sunset. I was amazed by the attention to every detail put into readying for a wedding this weekend. I only wish I were young and getting married here!


Inn at Westwood Farms is wonderful!

5 on August 28, 2014

The Inn is lovely and the hosts, Jay and Elizabeth, could not be more gracious. The country setting is relaxing and convenient. Great for visiting Montpelier, Monticello, wineries, Orange and greater Charlottesville area. There are a number of high quality, farm to table, dining venues in close proximity to the Inn. Really first class food and dining within a few minutes from the inn! We went to the inn with high expectations. We left after three days with our expectations exceeded on all marks. Can't wait to return!


Hidden Treasure

5 on August 22, 2014

Innkeepers Elizabeth and Jay's attention to every detail make this Bed & Breakfast a real gem. Highly recommend!


Hidden Treasure

5 on August 17, 2014

We had a relaxing and wonderful stay. Breakfast was magnificent.


Best Inn Ever

5 on August 05, 2014

My husband and I stayed just one night at the Inn at Westwood Farm, and I've fallen in love with the place. It's a serene setting, within walking distance of the James Madison Montpelier estate. Elizabeth and Jay, the innkeepers, obviously love running a B&B, enjoy their guests, and have put thought into even the smallest details. And I have to say, this is the cleanest home I've ever been in - immaculate! Even the light fixtures sparkle. I'm dying to go back for a longer visit.


Ahhhh....wonderful!

5 on June 26, 2014

Owners, Jay and Elizabeth, couldn't have been more gracious. The Inn is beautiful and it was the perfect place for us to relax and enjoy a great get away. Food perfection, accommodations gorgeous! Loved it!


Wonderful relaxing visit.

4.8 on June 01, 2014

Elizabeth and Jay are great hosts. Their home is beautiful and we were made to feel like visiting family. The guidance on food and places to visit was on point. We will certainly stay again when we visit the area in the future.


Loved every minute

5 on May 27, 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Inn at Westwood Farm. Elizabeth and Jay have anticipated absolutely every longing of a person in need of respite. The careful cultivation of the natural beauty of the land, the house, the food - everything is designed for relaxation and renewal. Next time I'll stay longer.


wonderful place

5 on May 21, 2014

my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend there. Beautiful, relaxing, comfortable environment, and amazing breakfasts.


A Peaceful Escape

5 on April 26, 2014

We recently stayed at the Inn at Westwood Farms for a wedding celebration. Not only were the accommodations fabulous, but Elizabeth and Jay were the most gracious hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and thoughtful, all of the staff at the inn were quick to help and eager to make our stay and the wedding as perfect as could be! We cannot wait to return for a weekend getaway sometime in the near future!


Excellent BnB

5 on January 23, 2014

wonderful hosts. love the chickens.


The Best B&B

5 on December 31, 2013

I was planning a romantic getaway for my wife’s birthday and I was looking for something special. I came across the Inn at Westwood Farm and even though the reviews said this B&B was excellent, I was very skeptical because we have never stayed in a B&B before this. Our Room (#204) was wonderful. Everything was top notch from the linens to the soap/lotion. The house has a sitting room for reading or watching TV upstairs. They also have a refreshments room for simple items like water or sodas. We spent only two nights here, but this B&B is the standard that I measure all other B&Bs. I have been to two other B&Bs since the stay at the Inn at Westwood Farm and nothing comes close to the attention to detail, décor, or ambience. The fact is both Jay and Elizabeth go out of their way to make the customer feel like a treasured guest in their home. This is the best B&B! We will return to this B&B at least once a year because it is a very special place.


short get-away

5 on August 13, 2013

A one night stay didn't give us much time to fully enjoy our stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast. The hosts, Elizabeth and Jay, were very welcoming and the home was so comfortable. We would have loved to stay for another delicious breakfast. Our visit included several local wineries. Sherry and Ron


Great hosts catered to our needs

4.8 on July 29, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Inn at Westwood Farm. It's in a beautiful part of Virginia and convenient for both touring historical sites, vineyards, and other outdoor activities. The farm itself is beautiful and well worth exploring and enjoying a good book on the porch or deck. The room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. We had two very restful nights of sleep. Although there are many B&B's in the area we selected the Inn at Westwood Farm because they said that they cater to special dietary needs. My fiance has celiac disease so this seemed like the best option for us. The food was not just gluten free but out of this world delicious! It was so wonderful to stay at a place where we didn't have to bring our own cereal for breakfast in the morning or worry about cross contamination. Elizabeth and Jay gave us a real vacation without worry. I would be surprised if they were unable to cater to other dietary needs. Elizabeth and Jay were also wonderful resources on places to go and things to do in the area. They were fantastic hosts. We hope to stay with them again.


Incredible service

4.8 on July 29, 2013

It was our first B&B experience, but we really hit a gold mine. We highly recommend Westwood Farm for a relaxing, cozy, all-your-needs-are-taken-care-of stay. The house is so pretty and clean and the grounds are meant to be enjoyed. There are many opportunities for that relaxing time. Coffee, tea, and breakfast was a real joy. We ate like kings and queens. Make your reservation!


Finally, the perfect b&b

4.8 on July 29, 2013

Artistically designed to appeal to all the senses without being overpowering. Amenities are thoughtful and delightful. The innkeepers are knowledgable and the perfect blend of available but never hovering. A great stay.


outstanding in every way....

5 on July 28, 2013

linens, food, furnishings, landscaping, soaps, wine, ambiance.....superb! A must stay!


Another wonderful visit!!

5 on July 19, 2013

I have visited the Inn 5 times now and each visit has been memorable . Again another perfect visit with Elizabeth and Jay already planning my next visit!!


Wonderful get-away weekend

5 on May 25, 2013

We went to the Inn at Westwood Farm for our anniversary weekend get-away. It was truly a delight and Jay and Elizabeth were very friendly and helped us in choosing a restaurant for dinner and also attractions to visit. The rooms were great and the breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend the inn if you are visiting Orange, VA.


The Inn at Westwood Farm is Idyllic

5 on May 17, 2013

The Inn at Westwood Farm is idyllic. The house has been restored with the latest amenities and in exquisite taste. I have never seen such a spotless and beautiful home. Fresh flowers abound, the linens are gorgeous---everything says quality and quiet sophistication. The breakfasts were excellent, with farm fresh eggs, beautiful and perfectly ripe fruit, local country sausage and bacon, served in a bright and sunny dining room on a beautiful table where the serving pieces, the dishes, the napkin rings,--- everything---is special without being precious or off-putting. Our hosts Jay and Elizabeth were as helpful and friendly as they could possibly be: They knew the best places to eat, wineries to visit, historic places to see, and are obviously well thought of and well connected in the community because wherever we went and were asked where we were staying, our response was always met with an enthusiastic, “Ah yes, wonderful”. We hated to leave and are eager to return. Flora Millstein and Richard desJardins


Wish we could have stayed longer!

5 on May 11, 2013

Loved this bed and breakfast and the lovely couple who run it. Westwood Farm is beautiful, and while my fiance and I only stayed one night (due to the inn being booked solid through the weekend) it was a wonderful relaxing time. If you love the countryside and southern living, you will definitely appreciate the charm of this place. Will definitely stay there again!


Great Stay

5 on March 31, 2013

We spent two nights at the inn and had an incredibly relaxing and wonderful stay. Elizabeth and Jay are very gracious hosts. The accommodations are excellent, the breakfasts are delicious, and the area is peaceful and serene. During our stay, we enjoyed horseback riding at a local ranch, wine tasting at one of the many vineyards nearby, and great meals at local restaurants. We can't wait to visit again!


PERFECT WEEKEND GETAWAY!

5 on March 25, 2013

My fiance and I went to the Inn at Westwood Farm this past weekend to celebrate (belated) Valentine's Day. I couldn't imagine a more perfect place to celebrate! The Inn at Westwood Farm is an AMAZING bed and breakfast! Not only are the grounds and inn itself spectacular, but Elizabeth and Jay are two of the greatest human beings on earth! It's obvious that they take pride in their inn and Virginia Wine Country! They are super friendly, and make you feel like a part of their family. Oh, and the food!!! AMAZING breakfasts! The breakfasts are so filling, which is perfect when you have a day of wine tasting planned! And for all of you celiacs or gluten intolerance people out there, fear not! This is the PERFECT B&B for you because Elizabeth and Jay are very well-versed in gluten free diets (Jay takes a lot of precaution when it comes to cross contamination, which is music to my ears!)! In addition, the rooms have everything you need, including little details like chocolates and bottled water. At 5 pm, Elizabeth and Jay offer local Virginia wines, so it's like a little happy hour! Elizabeth and Jay will go above and beyond your expectations, so if you are looking for a perfect bed and breakfast, look no further!!!!


Best B&B I've Stayed At!

4.8 on March 20, 2013

We stayed as part of a Living Social deal, but still got the royal treatment at the Inn at Westwood Farm. Breakfast was delicious, the room was super clean and there were a lot of nice little touches that made us feel extra welcome and comfortable. We stayed in the one room with a private bathroom out in the hall, but that wasn't bad at all. The Inn is very close to wineries, Charlottesville, Monticello and Montpelier.


Amazing

5 on March 19, 2013

My husband and I spent our first anniversary at the inn and Jay and Elizabeth did everything in their power to make it as special as possible for us. The room was so clean and comfortable, the food was delicious, and the hospitality was amazing. We are so thankful that we chose such a wonderful place to celebrate.


Wonderful Getaway

5 on March 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day visit to the Inn at Westwood Farm. The hosts were gracious, friendly, and knowledgeable of the area. The breakfasts were truly delicious, they used fresh eggs from their own chickens. Our room was lovely and impeccably clean as well as being quiet and comfortable. We definitely will recommend this B&B to our friends.


Amazing Weekend Getaway!

5 on February 05, 2013

I just returned home from a weekend at the inn with three of my girlfriends. It was my first B&B experience and they certainly set the bar high! The inn was very quiet and peaceful, the rooms were equiped with everything I could have possibly needed (bottled water, chocolates on the bed, even the hair dryer was impressive!). The food was locally grown and a lot of it was organic, the inn keepers were awesome cooks. We spent the morning walking the grounds, petting the horses, and taking a million pictures! They are centrally located next to several great wineries and many historical places. The inn keepers took a lot of pride in what they do and it definitely showed in their product. They went above and beyond to make sure you had everything you needed. One person in our group had a gluten allergy and they made sure she was well taken care of...the inn keeper even made her homemade gluten free cookies for the trip home! We are already planning a trip back!!


Great Weekend Getaway!

3.8 on December 05, 2012

I had a wonderful weekend away at Westwood farm. The breakfast was amazing and they were very accommodating with diet. The proprietors were very friendly and informative, but also allowed us time alone. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are amazing. Highly recommended.


A stay for a vet, with thanks!

5 on December 03, 2012

Thank you so very much for offering your lovely place for me and others [vets] to stay at your beautiful inn at the farm. Your service was second to none, the tea and coffee service, the breakfast, clean comfortable rooms allowed me to feel right at home. It was an honest pleasure staying and relaxing with your lovely family....especially Mr. Ziggy and his ladies! Thank you again and it would be my pleasure to stay at The Inn at Westward farm sometime in the near future!! Scott from Langley Air Force Base, Hampton VA


FANtastic B&B

5 on December 03, 2012

I highly recommend this B&B to anyone who would like a wonderful time in the country full of wineries and historical locales. The hosts were phenomenally warm and welcoming and the grounds picturesque. Our room was immaculate, the services were great, the breakfasts outstanding. Great are to visit, certainly a place I would like to visit again.


Everything a B and B should be!

5 on October 30, 2012

The Inn at Westwood Farm is everything a bed and breakfast should be. Elizabeth and Jay are gracious hosts who have created a peaceful and tastefully decorated retreat. Every detail, from antique Persian rugs to handmade soaps to local honey to delicious "Eggs Westwood," prove that E and J truly enjoy their job of making people feel comfortable and inspired. Highly recommended.


Beautiful! I can't wait to go back!

5 on October 26, 2012

I stayed at the Inn in September 2012 for the occasion of my brother-in-law's wedding. Everything about the weekend was wonderful. The Inn was more beautiful in person than I ever could have expected. It was warm and welcoming and I felt completely relaxed and at ease all weekend. Elizabeth and Jay made sure I was comfortable without hovering. The room was plush and luxurious and I could have spent the whole weekend in the soaking tub! I can't wait to go back again!


High end meets country

5 on October 24, 2012

The Inn at Westwood Farms is just beautiful. The inn is impeccably decorated, very clean, the rooms are small but have everything you could need or want, and Jay & Elizabeth provide 5 star service...delicious, balanced meals, luxurious bedding, and more! Their grounds are beautiful and the town of Orange is small, but has great restaurants to choose from. Highly recommend this inn!


Wonderful Weekend

5 on October 07, 2012

My 12 year old son and I spend the weekend at the Inn at Westwood Farm while we went to the Montpelier Fiber Festival and visited Montpelier. The inn and the innkeepers were wonderful. The inn, the rooms, and the grounds were absolutely perfect for a relaxing weekend. Breakfast was delicious. We've been home for a couple of hours and I've already recommended this inn to several friends.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 07, 2012

From the gracious hosts, to the lovely rooms with fresh flowers, to handmade soaps, cozy robes, chocolates on the pillow, wine in the afternoons, and delicious breakfasts featuring eggs and local fare, the Inn at Westwood Farm was just perfect for our couples getaway. We hope to return.


anniversary weekend

4.6 on July 22, 2012

Innkeepers are very friendly and knowledgable about activities in the area. They are respected by all of the locals. This was our second stay and we had a wonderful, personalized, refreshing experience that we will remember the rest of our lives!


Lovely Peace

5 on June 03, 2012

Greeted by fresh flowers and warm smiles.The attention to details was impeccable. The innkeepers were attentive and helpful with dinner selections around town and masters themselves in the kitchen for breakfast. We enjoyed their wine in the evenings on the peaceful back deck with views of the green paddocks, henslays chicken palace, and fragrant lavender and a multitude of blooming varieties. The rooms in the 100-year-old renovated farm house were straight out of a photo shoot for home and garden design magazines. Hand-milled soaps, high end table and bed linens, robes, room flowers, a house library. We loved our stay, hope to visit again and highly recommend it if you are planning a trip to Montpelier, Monticello or Virginia's wine country.


March 2012 Getaway

5 on May 04, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Westwood Farm! I can’t say enough good things about our experience and highly recommend it for a peaceful break... there isn't a single thing that I would change about it. The house is picturesque and lovely. Breakfast was amazing. Jay and Elizabeth are welcoming, super friendly, and couldn't be more helpful. We had never stayed at a B&B before and so a bit hesitant at first, but they helped us feel perfectly relaxed. You can set your own pace... there are plenty of things to do nearby and other ways to pass the day if you want to be more leisurely. We cannot wait to return!


Unforgettable Anniversary

5 on April 28, 2012

Elizabeth and Jay have a wonderfully refurbished home. My wife and I enjoyed spending the last day of our 5th anniversary just taking in the grounds and hanging out, which we highly recommend. This is not merely a place to drop your bags and a sleepy head. You will want to spend some time soaking in the atmosphere. We returned home well rested, well fed, and eager to hunt down some of the exquisite appetizers they served us during the weekend. Highly Recommended. Fletcher & Joanna Metz


The perfect start to a week!

5 on April 04, 2012

We stayed from Monday - Wednesday with my mom, and it was the perfect get-away for a couple of days! The drive-in was absolutely beautiful with the surrounding farms and views, and there are many interesting sites to go and visit! Jay and Elizabeth both provided superb hospitality, with incredible attention to detail and care, and the breakfast in the mornings couldn't have been better at a 5-star restaurant! On top of that, they were both very knowledgeable with where to go for everything from dinner, to entertainment, and more. Would definitely recommend to anyone and everyone looking for a little patch of heaven out in country-side Virginia!


Wonderful Visit

4.4 on March 02, 2012

Everything about this visit was wonderful. The linens, the flowers, the extraordinary gourmet breakfast, walking the grounds - everything was great. We enjoyed the library and the bright, airy places to read. The grounds are lovely and nice to walk, and there are chickens! What more could one want? The owners are excellent hosts and have thought of everything. It was a great place to get away from the city and just relax.


Southern comfort in an eclectic

5 on December 09, 2011

Elizabeth and Jay opened there beautiful home to us. We had the place to ourselves being that we were there mid-week for our 25th wedding anniversary! The breakfast each day was exceptional each of them taking a turn in cooking. Really enjoyed meeting them and would highly recommend this inn for your next stay in Orange Virginia!


Peg and David at 2011 Montpelier Hunt race weekend

5 on November 11, 2011

We've traveled far & wide & the Inn at Westwood is by far the best we've stayed in for the quality and comfort! Great hosts, food (esp. Jay's pumpkin cheese cake), outstanding autumn weather & wonderfully cozy inn. We were treated like royalty.


Serendipitous stay!

4.6 on November 09, 2011

If you want to be treated like a queen/king AND a friend, this is the place for you! I had planned a surprise birthday trip for my husband and contacted Elizabeth for her help. The website gave some great ideas and Elizabeth polished them up. Needless to say, he was blown away. The room was comfortable and luxurious. The robes had to weigh 5 lbs! We had everything we needed and more. The french toast was delicious and the eggs for breakfast were straight from the chicken coop and filled us up nicely. As nice as the house and gardens were (and they were beautiful!), the best part was Elizabeth and Jay's hospitality. They make you feel so welcomed, like a good friend come to visit.


Had a great time!

5 on November 08, 2011

Lovely B&B, beautifully decorated, good food and nice inn keepers. We would definitely recommend staying there. It was very relaxing!


Fabulous B&B

5 on October 14, 2011

We will definitely return for another visit. Hosts were very helpful with directions for our destinations. Food was fabulous. Lovely room/very clean and charming. Lovely area and grounds. Met very nice people who were also visiting. Kiki and BIll McConnel


inn at westwood farm : the best !

5 on October 12, 2011

this was my second stay at westwood. everything surpassed my fond memories of my first visit. elizabeth and jay are outstanding hosts. in need of a bed and breakfast in the orange, va. ?, westwood is the place.


Our Stay at Westwood

5 on October 05, 2011

It was wonderful. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and the breakfast set up was always just perfect every morning.


One of the best mini-vacations I have ever had

5 on September 29, 2011

This had to be thee best purchase I have made in a long time. The owners, Jay and Elizabeth treat you like they have known you for years. They make you feel right at home. The food was amazing, the services were fantastic, the amenities were superb. There was plenty to do with an abundance of wineries in the area. A tasty brewery where you can try a number of different beers and have great food while you do it. We got to hang out with their two horses and llamas which was a treat. The weather we had wasn't ideal but there was so much to do, it wasn't a factor. This is the place to go for a quick get-away. It was very romantic and I hope to go again real soon. Thanks Jay and Diane AND Living Social!


The best Innkeepers ever!

5 on September 27, 2011

Before we even arrived we received an invitation to join Elizabeth and Jay on a Historical Society picnic. Of course we said yes and were please with the people we met and the warmth and welcoming we received. The house and the grounds of the Inn at Westwood Farm were beautiful, well maintained and very clean. The food was above and beyond our wildest expectations. Our breakfasts were nothing short of gourmet! We took pictures of the meals to show everyone the presentation that Elizabeth and Jay offer to every guest. Because we were never in this area of Virginia, we needed some guidance on what to see in and around Orange. Elizabeth and Jay provided all the information we needed and more. We learned a lot, saw a lot and need to go back to see more. This will definitely be on our calendar to visit again soon! It was truly a pleasure to be THEIR guests!


Lovely and relaxing

5 on August 23, 2011

We were looking for a few days of relaxing, quiet time with a beautiful setting. We got this and more by being pampered at the Westwood Inn. I would recommend it easily and heartily to all. Lovely hosts made the stay even more special.


Beautiful home!

4.8 on July 27, 2011

Our stay at the Inn at Westwood Farm was a wonderful experience. Jay and Elizabeth are excellent hosts and have a beautiful home to share. The food was excellent and the room we stayed in was very comfortable. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.


Rural paradise

5 on July 21, 2011

Jay and Elizabeth have created a rural paradise. I'm at the beach now, but I want to go back to the inn and eat the fabulous breakfast, feed the horses, drink the local wine, and sleep in the most comfortable bed in Virginia.


Highlight of the trip

5 on July 14, 2011

We stayed at the Inn for two nights as part of a trip up to Philadelphia and the Jersey Shore. It was definitely the highlight of the trip. The breakfast is outstanding with farm fresh eggs used in varied, but always excellent dishes. Homemade cookies and afternoon hors d'oeuvres are special. Jay and Elizabeth couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, making reservations for us as well as tips on where to go and what to do. Our room was outstanding as was our whole, too short, stay.


Great first stay at a B&B!

4.8 on July 11, 2011

Amazing view, horses and llamas in the backyard, within 1/2 hour drive of Charlottesville and a great handful of vineyards, and VERY good breakfasts every morning! Jay and Elizabeth take great pride in this place and it shows. Definitely recommend to anyone coming to or through the Monticello Wine Trail.


Slice of heaven

4.8 on July 09, 2011

Fantastic place! The extras (sumptuous towels, farm fresh flowers, handmade soap, luxurious robes, etc) make you feel like royalty. The food was amazing- from the local wine and cheese to the breakfasts and the late night cookies. Elizabeth and Jay provide light conversation and perfect recommendations (for restaurants, sight seeing, etc). The grounds are the most relaxing retreat from everyday life. Truly a slice of heaven on earth!


Birthday enjoyment at Westwood Farm

4.8 on July 09, 2011

The home sparkles, renovation and decor of 100 year house is fantastic! Room ,bath and especially bed was so nice.Hosts were always there offering whatever to make our stay comfortable.Bedrooms all have private bath, water in each room, top line linens and toiletries.We couldnt have asked for any more.This is a small productive farm and benefits the Inn.Beyond our expectations.


Now I know what heaven on earth is like!

4.0 on July 08, 2011

My husband and I were lokking for a quick getaway and what we got was too short of an experience to remember. The Inn is a beautiful and homey place. Every deatil was attended too which such grace and elelgence. Beleve us we have padi much more and gotten much less. Breakfast was an experience for the palate. Would do it agian as soon as we could!


Stunning B&B!

4.8 on June 14, 2011

We booked the Inn at Westwood Farm based upon the rave reviews it had received. We are now happy to report that our experience was spectacular, intimate, and fun. My husband and I came to the Inn for a "mini" honeymoon. It was all the little thoughtful touches that made our weekend such as the bottle of wine in the room when we arrived and the treats they gave us to feed the horses. Not to mention that breakfast is out of this world. We had some of the best french toast and farm fresh eggs! They gave us a terrific dinner recommendation for Vintage (which we loved) and took care of our reservations for us. Elizabeth and Jay are warm, easy to converse with, and clearly care a lot about their business and their customers. This was our first B&B experience, but we are definitely B&B converts now. We definitely hope to one day come back to the Inn at Westwood Farm and highly recommend this place to everyone!


Monday honeymooners

5 on May 05, 2011

The breakfasts were amazing and I loved the hand made bathroom soaps. The entire inn smelled wonderful (clean and fresh with a hint of lavender). I don't even think there was a spec of dust anywhere as everything was so clean. All and all a very relaxing and refreshing stay. Thank you for your hospitality...wish we could have stayed longer!


You owe it to yourself to visit the Inn at Westwood Farm!

5 on April 18, 2011

Elizabeth and Jay have taken all that one could ask for in a B&B and created the haven that is the Inn at Westwood Farm. We desperately needed a mini-vacation from the city and found our happy place in the service, landscape, atmosphere, cuisine, and comfort of this B&B. The Inn at Westwood Farm has a modern design with all the hospitality of a traditional B&B. The food was wonderfully presented and tasted even better. The location is ideal for visiting Virginia wineries or Virginia's most popular historical sites. It's also a short drive to Charlottesville, Va where we stopped by for our UVa fix. The minute we drove up, our stress level was reduced, but it continued to lower as we were pampered with snacks, drinks, and privacy. All the little details just kept adding up to make our visit even better: an awesome rain shower, a large selection of beverages, beautiful fresh cut arranged flowers, blankets on every reading chair, the current issue of several different magazines, chocolates by our bedside, and on and on. In short, you owe it to yourself to visit Elizabeth and Jay at the Inn at Westwood Farm. You'll be glad you did! We'll definitely be back.


This place was a fantastic find for our mid-week getaway!

5 on April 07, 2011

Traveling with my wife and 17-month old son, I was somewhat leery of staying in a small place. The inn itself was absolutely fantastic, and the innkeepers were simply the best! They were very engaging with our son and even gave him turn-down service, of sorts. There setting is gorgeous and there is no shortage of places to wonder, explore or relax. We've already suggested this location to several of our play-group parents and we are very likely to return ourselves!


Hide and Seek

5 on March 24, 2011

We are Grandparents to 7 great kids - ages 9 months to 13 years. Lucky for us, they all reside in Virginia :) So, as we "made the rounds" to visit all of them, we snuck away for 2 glorious nights at Westwood Farm. Elizabeth and Jay fed us in heart and body sooooooo wonderfully, we came away feeling like spring chickens ourselves! Isn't life grand?! We highly recommend the Inn at Westwood Farm to all! Anne and David Dodrill, Leesburg, VA


Stay at Westwood

4.6 on March 23, 2011

This was our first B and B experience...it was a great one. Elizabeth and Jay, the innkeepers were great. Very open and accommodating, they went over and beyond. The rooms were clean, quite, and nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious. Perfect place to stay if visiting wine country of VA. Once I found the Inn, they took care of the rest (dinner resorvations, birthday cake, trip route etc. Very well done! Would stay again without a doubt.


A perfect place to visit!

5 on February 25, 2011

Our weekend at the Inn at Westwood Farm was outstanding. The innkeepers, Elizabeth and Jay, we welcoming and thought of everything to make our stay enjoyable. The inn is tastefully decorated and up to date, with beds that were the most comfortable one could ask for. The rooms, indeed the entire inn, is immaculate. We enjoyed local wines and snacks in the early evening. Coffee awaited us upon waking in the hall, and breakfast was outstanding. I can't say enough about the warmth and feeling of welcome. This is definitely worth a stop if you are visiting the area, or worth the trip if you are looking for a get-away!


Wonderful weekend getaway

5 on February 16, 2011

Elizabeth and Jay, the innkeepers, made our weekend most enjoyable. They provided us with plenty of wonderful activities in the area to make for a relaxing weekend. Comfortable is an understatement when it came to the accomodations and no detail was overlooked. I would recommend the Inn at Westwood Farm to anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Whether it is with that special someone or a relaxing trip with friends, you will not be disappointed!


Amazing!

5 on February 15, 2011

This bed and breakfast is hands down amazing. The inn keepers Biss and Jay went over and above to make our stay perfect. Our room was immaculate and they have thought of EVERYTHING, right down to the tiny details. From robes and slippers in our closet to eye masks and ear plugs in the bedside table, appetizers and wine every night we were there and recommendations for the best restaurants, I will definitely be returning to The Inn at Westwood Farms and recommending it to all of my friends!


wonderfully charming mini-honeymoon

5 on February 09, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Inn at Westwood Farm for 2 evenings in September 2010 for a mini-honeymoon celebration. Elizabeth and Jay were just so kind, from the time I began planning our stay over the phone, to the time we were there, to sending us a nice holiday greeting over the winter season. They provided wonderful recommendations both in terms of scheduling and sightseeing, and I appreciated how responsive they were (over phone and over email) to all my questions, and with confirming reservations. After having planned a wedding, it was very nice to be able to trust 2 very wonderful people to take care of you for a weekend :). My husband and I were the only 2 people at the Inn when we visited, so it was rather nice to have the house to ourselves. Seeing the stars at night and waking up to a morning sunrise were both very peaceful experiences. Elizabeth and Jay, in addition to being very warm gracious hosts, and are very talented chefs, and my husband and I were truly spoiled by the breakfasts and lunch prepared for us. The pets are quite a delight as well, and we definitely recommend the Inn at Westwood Farm to anyone looking for a very relaxing getaway - a very charming, peaceful, idyllic experience.


We will definitely be back!

5 on January 28, 2011

My husband and I had an “elopement” wedding at the Inn at Westwood Farm and I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out. As a wedding venue, the Inn is wonderful. The grounds are well maintained and there are tons of cool photo opportunities (huge trees, garden, red barn, white fencing, horses) – we got a ton of great photos. As a B&B, it was terrific and we can’t wait to go back! Breakfast was delicious, our room was nicely decorated, well maintained, comfortable and clean. They really take care of every little detail to really make you feel pampered (locally made soaps, fresh flowers, Virginia wines, artisan chocolates, need I say more?). Last but not least, Jay & Elizabeth are remarkable. They are warm, friendly, helpful…I can’t say enough about them or thank them enough for helping us have the perfect wedding!


I want to live here!

5 on January 21, 2011

The Inn at Westwood Farm is perfect. Elizabeth and Jay are gracious hosts, and the Inn is elegant, warm and inviting, peaceful, very special. I'd like to live here!!!!


Warm and gracious hosts, charming inn, fantastic location

4.6 on January 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our getaway weekend at Westwood Farm! Elizabeth and Jay are delightful innkeepers and lovely human beings - very easy going, obviously foodies given their gourmet breakfasts, and incredibly knowledgeable about their beautiful property, the history of the region, and their local community. The Inn is lovely - historically preserved, but modern with all the updates and conveniences - it is beautifully decorated throughout the house and all the extras are there - loved the rosemary and flowers in every room, the handmade soaps, the glasses of wine at sundown, the specialty chocolates at bedtime, the early morn coffee/tea service, and the endless supply of treats that guests can bestow upon all of the numerous creatures, big and small, of Westwood. We were especially appreciative of how welcoming and accommodating our hosts were of our almost 2 year old son - not necessarily a given at many B&Bs. As a family, some of the best parts of our stay were hanging out with the chickens, llamas and horses, reading books in the library room, and "doing absolutely nothing at all."


Our "New Normal" for Christmas

5 on January 04, 2011

Being an empty nester doesn't have to be lonely when you spend it with such warm and inviting hosts as Jay and Elisabeth. My expectations were exceeded in ways that can not be measured. The inn is a charming and tasteful update while still maintaining the charm of an early 1900 farm house. The farm views are beautiful. All the grounds and interior are immaculate. Every need has been thought of. Not only did we recieve the regular VIP treatment given to all guests any time of year, but we were invited to a sit down dinner with close family friends feeling all the time as though we were all old friends. The food is prepared and presented in a gourment way that isn't only beautiful to look at, but tasted equally as beautiful. YUM! Of all the B&Bs I've tried, this is the best. Don't hesitate to give the Inn at Westwood Farm a try. You won't regret it.


Our wonderful new year's getaway

4.6 on January 01, 2011

We spent two wonderful nights at Westwood Farm. Elizabeth and Jay were so warm and welcoming, we felt like we were staying with good friends. The decor is uncluttered and comfortable. The bed linens were luxurious. All the details, including coffee delivered to your room in the morning to the best soap I've ever used, make this a special place.


Wonderfully relaxing

5 on December 31, 2010

What a great place to stay. Our hostess Elizabeth and her husband were wonderful. The rooms were romantically adorned and the breakfast was a culinary delight. My wife and I will definitely be returning.


Everything we needed for a refreshing get away

5 on December 13, 2010

The Inn at Westwood Farm is worth every penny and then some. Jay and Elizabeth are focused 100% on the comfort and happiness of their guests. We felt completely at ease and in the lap of luxury. We love the location, close to downtown Orange, in the middle of VA wine country, and just across the street from Montpelier... it was a great home base from where to begin exploring the area. Thank you guys for everything, we had an absolutely lovely time and can't wait to come back and visit.


Home away from Home

5 on December 10, 2010

We felt like family, rather than guests, at the Inn at Westwood Farm. The rooms were spacious, spotless, and comfortable. There was lots of extra space for relaxing apart from others or for enjoying the many books, games, and wi-fi provided for the pleasure of the guests. And there was much pleasure! The hosts were delightful, making us feel at home right from the start! The food was yummy, and although we were indeed guests, the gracious and hospitable atmosphere made us comfortable wandering into the kitchen and chatting with Liz and Jay. Adding to our enjoyment was a visit with our granddaughter and her husband, who also stayed the night and who introduced us to the Inn. So it really was a family experience! And we will highly recommend the Inn to our family and friends!


Wonderfully Located, Decorated and Managed

5 on December 08, 2010

My husband and I were able to visit the Westwood Farm Bed and Breakfast during their Veteran's Day promotion. The owner's Jay and Elizabeth offered a free nights stay for Veterans day to show their appreciation for the military service and the sacrifices military families make in serving our great country. We were welcomed and made to feel right at home. The personable and attentive service that was provided was exceptional. The interior design was absolutely gorgeous. The view from our bedroom was stunning, not to mention the wonderful breakfast made with farm fresh eggs, fresh sausage, garden herbs and vegetables. We will definately visit again and would recommend to our friends and family.

Innkeeper Response
We are happy this guest enjoyed their visit with us and we were proud to host them. On the eve of Veteran's Day we, and other bed and breakfasts, offered all of our rooms free of charge to active military and veterans as our way of saying thank you for their service to our country. We aligned our inn with B&Bs for Veterans, an international program that began a couple of years ago. There was no stipulation that they write a review in order to take advantage of the offer.


A gorgeous Inn with extremely welcoming and kind hosts

4.6 on December 07, 2010

Our anniversary arrived and my wife and I were excited to celebrate and experience a weekend away; the first time we would be apart from our son for more than a single night. Actually getting on the road took more time than we'd anticipated. Even though we arrived very late, when we opened the door to the Inn at Westwood Farm we were met with kind hugs, welcoming smiles, and warm understanding. Walking into the Inn was like being welcomed by old friends, though neither my wife nor I had met Elizabeth or Jay (our hosts). The entire weekend, our hosts were the most helpful, warm, kind, inviting, and caring hosts we've ever had at a B&B. The Inn at Westwood Farm sets the bar extremely high for any Bed and Breakfast experience. The Inn itself is nestled away on a farm in beautiful Orange County, Virginia. The 100 year old house stands welcoming to anyone looking to enjoy some quality time away. We spent an evening in Charlottesville, which is a good 35 minute country drive away; surrounded by gorgeous farms and the mountains in the distance. Both breakfasts we ate at the Inn were absolutely phenomenal! The Eggs Westwood being one of the best meals we'd ever had at a B&B. Homemade jam, eggs from the farm, and food from the surrounding area filled the table (and our stomachs). The accommodations are lovely! The bed is extremely comfortable, and the rain shower and whirlpool bath are definitely a highlight. The room is not very large, but it's also not small. We are used to travelling with a child, so our bags wind up going everywhere. In any case, we certainly enjoyed the library and media room for some extra space. Though constructed in 1910/11, we found the entire house to be sharp, crisp, and clean. I cannot rave enough about this place. If you are looking for a scenic location to unwind, away from the hustle and bustle of a big city ... then the Inn at Westwood Farm could not be any more perfect.


Wonderful!!!

5 on December 06, 2010

This B&B is absolutely wonderful. The inn keepers are lovely people and very accommodating. The breakfast was very nice and enjoyed the fresh fruit and can't for get the great eggs from the hens. The local resturant was fabulous!!! We plan to go back in the spring.


Wonderful Getaway

4.4 on November 16, 2010

A beautiful setting with impeccable service and hospitality. Wonderful breakfasts and delightful place for relaxation and rest.


Excellent place to stay

5 on November 11, 2010

Innkeepers were just great!!! Food excellent!!!! Friendly people and a great place to stay. Innkeepers were so willing to may everything just perfect. All food very fresh and good!!!


Happy Anniversary

5 on October 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Westwood Farm in Oct 2010 for our 32nd wedding anniversary. We have stayed at the nearby Inn at Little Washington and consider Westood Farm of equal caliber without the extraordinary dinners. Elizabeth and Jay are superb hosts with attention to every detail. Their inn is wonderfully welcoming, physically attractive and quite comfortable. Elizabeth assisted us with concierge services such as dinner reservations, winery tastings,reservations at Monticello, and finding locally produced cheeses and produce as well as perfect advice for timing our visits.


Gorgeous country setting at Westwood Inn

4.2 on October 28, 2010

Beautiful setting, lots of room for walking or relaxing on grounds, real farm atmosphere. Hosts are sincerely friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Carla and I will stay again on our next trip to VA


Absolutely lovely.

4.8 on October 26, 2010

The room was wonderful, the food delicious, and no detail was left unattended to. The innkeepers were the perfect balance of friendly and helpful to allowing us to have time to ourselves. It was a great weekend.


Fantastic Anniversary Weekend!

4.8 on September 23, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Inn at Westwood farm. We would definitely recommend this Inn for a relaxing weekend away! Many wineries and great food nearby.


The Perfect Escape from the Daily DC Grind

5 on September 22, 2010

With their beautifully restored farmhouse and surrounding acres Elizabeth and Jay have created a Virginian paradise. Their kindness and easy-going nature made us feel right at home and we enjoyed getting to know them over the course of our stay. They were extremely accommodating to the needs of our 9-month-old daughter, who loved playing with their dog Porter. And we were treated to an amazing breakfast, featuring local sausage and fresh eggs from their chicken coop, every morning. It was the perfect escape from the daily DC grind.


Wonderful Inn with Wonderful Inn Keepers

4.8 on August 25, 2010

My Fiancée and I stayed at the Inn while looking for a venue to get married. Westwood was our first destination and we loved it so much we told Elizabeth we wanted to book it for next September. Elizabeth and Jay made our stay just that much better with great conversation and fantastic service, it was like we had known them for years!


Wonderful Stay Again

5 on July 30, 2010

This my wife and I's second stay at the Inn. Just as outstanding as it was last year. Jay and Elizabeth are great hosts and help make the stay in the area great. Rooms are beautiful, breakfast is fresh, local, and beyond tasty. Can't recommend the Inn at Westwood Farm enough.


The Perfect Setting

5 on July 21, 2010

We loved staying at the Inn at Westwood Farms. Jay and Elizabeth, the owners, could not have been kinder. We felt like we were staying with old friends. The room we were given, no. 204, was large and light filled. The linens were exquisite. The view from the bathroom over the rolling hills and cute red barn was delightful. The breakfasts were fresh, beautifully presented. We loved the location, which was in the country, but near the town of Orange, and also about one mile from James Madison's plantation, Montpelier. There are many things to see and do in the area, and we cannot wait for our return visit.


My new country home (I wish!)

5 on July 02, 2010

I thought the reviews I read before staying here were too good to be true, but they're not. Beautiful, spacious, restrained rooms and decor. An ideal country setting. And the cordial, engaged-but-never-in-your-face attention of Elizabeth and Jay. They put out the wine and a nibble late afternoon and leave coffee outside your door in the morning before laying out an exceptional breakfast. And they coddled us right through the moment we got in the car and (reluctantly) drove away. We plan to return as soon as we can!


Perfect!

5 on June 29, 2010

My wife and I were recently married at the Inn. It was the perfect place for the event and our friends and family all agreed. The Inn and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are elegant, but never stuffy, and the property makes you feel immediately peaceful and at home. Elizabeth and Jay are the most gracious hosts you could ask for. They're kind, generous and funny. And the wedding would not have been as well organized or executed had it not been for their guidance and perseverance. I couldn't recommend it more highly.


A peaceful welcoming night away from DC

5 on June 17, 2010

The owners welcomed us on a beautiful sunny afternoon in April with a little refreshment on the porch overlooking the awesome and green "back 40". Enjoyed a leisurely walk around the property hearing those wonderful sounds of nature. Our room was cozy, comfy and offered a great nights sleep. Breakfast was scrumptious with special attention to allergy requests - thanks.


A great place to stay!

4.6 on June 15, 2010

Elizabeth & Jay are the best innkeepers you will ever know! My husband and I honeymooned here April 2010. Upon arrival, we were made to feel right at home, just like family. The Inn is beautiful, not stuffy and ornate, but fresh, open and contemporary with all the amenities: whirlpool tubs, fresh flowers, exquisite linens, a gourmet breakfast! Every detail has been attended to and the service is excellent! Elizabeth mapped out a scenic motorcycle ride for us almost as soon as she spotted our bike. Our time at the Inn was perfect in every way. And when I mentioned my tentative plans to tour Montpelier, tickets appeared on the banister, compliments of the Inn. We recommend visiting Elizabeth & Jay as often as you can, we certainly plan to!


Can't wait to return.

4.8 on June 08, 2010

Westwood is a top class establishment. Jay and Elizabeth make you feel as if you are the only guests. The rooms are finely appointed, and the Inn itself is extremely well kept and decorated. The food is excellently prepared and presented. The hospitality is warm, comfortable, and relaxed. The grounds and surrounding countryside are handsomely gorgeous and accessible. We can't wait to return.


I wish we could have stayed longer...

5 on June 07, 2010

The Inn is beautiful. It was our first night of a 10 day spring break trip through Virginia and DC. We were greeted and felt at home immediately. We had appetizers in the dining room, went to dinner in town, came back to watch a March Madness basketball game, and fell asleep in a wonderfully cozy bedroom. It was fun to hear about the home's history. The breakfast in the morning was SPECTACULAR! If we lived closer...we would certainly return quickly!


Can't wait to go again

4.6 on March 25, 2010

We have stayed at many B&B's but the Inn at Westwood was a stand out. The home is beautifully done - unique in it's blend of clean, contemporary pieces and antiques of different vintages. The setting was serene and bucolic and lent itself to complete relaxation and good conversation. The food was outstanding and the hosts were warm and fun without impinging on our time alone. We're already thinking about when we can get back again.


Excellent Getaway

5 on March 24, 2010

We stayed recently at the Inn for one night and it was a perfect getaway from DC. The dinner at the winery was excellent, and the Inn keepers could not have been more helpful. Wake up the the sound of roosters! Fresh eggs for breakfast, beautiful scenery, a quiet, relaxing weekend in a beautiful spot.


A jewel of an inn

5 on January 19, 2010

This is an inn housed in a renovated 1910 farmhouse where clearly every detail has been carefully considered: the colors, the furnishings and lighting, the feel of the French towels and bed linens, the landscaping and plantings, the menu of fresh local food offerings . . . I could go on and on. The innkeepers have exquisite taste. And on top of that, Elizabeth and Jay are warm and friendly people who were ready to answer all our questions and coordinate our weekend details. We will definitely be returning, and soon!


Oasis in Orange

4.6 on December 29, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Westwood Farm. Elizabeth and Jay have turned this beautiful farm property into a relaxing and comfortable place to enjoy a peaceful getaway. I wish we could have stayed longer.


An "outstanding" visit in every way!

5 on December 22, 2009

Our hosts at Westwood Farm made us feel right at home immediately. They "surrendered" their beautiful home to us completely! Our bedroom was delightful---the bed made up in beautiful linens and the bathroom was a dream. I would highly recommend Westwood Farm to anyone who was going to be in the area visiting Montpelier or the vineyards but I would also say "Make Westwood Farm your primary destination!"


Best B&B in VA!

4.8 on November 09, 2009

The Inn at Westwood Farm is simply amazing! Friendly innkeepers, gourmet food, and beautiful views make the Inn everything one could want in a romantic weekend getaway. It's located within easy drive to Charlottesville, but also is in the backyard of several vineyards and "A" list restaurants. I highly recommend this Inn for those looking to slow their life down a bit!


Inn at Westwood Farm gives the royal treatment

5 on November 06, 2009

We've had the opportunity to stay at the Inn at Westwood Farm for several years in a row, and several times during the year because I son attended a school nearby. Elizabeth & Jay, Innkeepers, always treated our family special - without exception - in all the years we stayed there. Not only is the service outstanding, their breakfast is exceptional with their own farm fresh eggs. The Inn itself is posh with all the modern amenities. For a business or leisure, the Inn at Westwood Farm is the gift you give yourself to stay there!


Perfect in every way

5 on October 28, 2009

You will love everything about the Inn at Westwood Farm - I have stayed here several times and each time has been perfect - the rooms, the atmosphere, the food and the owners are wonderful.


Repeat visitors

4.8 on October 24, 2009

My husband and I had our wedding here last year! It was wonderful! Jay and Elizabeth were great and so helpful! They bring the true meaning to southern hospitality! We returned this year to celebrate our anniversary and I remembered why we chose this location!!! It was beautiful and exactly what I wanted! We now have two great memories here, and hopefully have many more to come! We will be back!


At home on the farm

5 on October 18, 2009

We go often to the Inn at Westwood farm because it reminds us of home. It is exquistely appointed in everyway and yet remains comfortable and easy. The food is outstanding complete with organic specialties that are local. The inn keepers are charming and attentative, but they also respect your privacy. Its location lends itself to R and R, but is also close to many cool adventures.


Perfection is in the details

4.8 on October 15, 2009

Our recent visit to the Inn at Westwood Farm was nothing short of perfection - wine and fantastic snacks awaited us, and we were encouraged to explore the property and make ourselves at home. The innkeepers are welcoming, helpful, and do everything they can to make you feel like a pampered guest. Dinner reservations are offered and special requests are attended to. The rooms themselves are amazing - nothing stuffy or overly fanciful, just luxurious, carefully selected art and furniture. And the beds! Soft sheets and feather beds made me want to stay in all day. As you can see from other reviews, everyone loves this place. Just go! You will be happy you did.


A true getaway

5 on October 06, 2009

We attended the U2 concert in nearby Charlottesville and found this exquisite B&B available. Without question, it's the finest B&B I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The innkeepers made us instantly feel we were staying with new friends. The inn is spotless and tasteful in every aspect. As one of the innkeepers said, "This is a doily-free zone!" How refreshing to stay in a B&B that was NOT Victorian. Simple and elegant best describes the inn, which included a breakfast of farm-fresh eggs (laid by chickens on the farm the day before), French toast, organic sausage, and a unique but flavorful fruit smoothie. A perfect getaway for peace and quiet, a romantic night in the country or even a place to stay after seeing a terrific concert!


Inn at Westwood Farm

4.0 on September 30, 2009

The Inn at Westwood Farm is a beautiful, wonderfully hospitable place. Elizabeth and Jay see to all of the details that make visitors feel truly welcome.


Best B&B

4.8 on September 29, 2009

This was without a doubt the very best B&B I've stayed at. Incredible food, very comfortable rooms, warm hospitality without being intrusive. Excellent!


The Inn at Westwood Farm is simply the best

5 on September 27, 2009

As former B&B owners we think the Inn itself is beautiful,(Elizabeth knows her way around a color palette). The library and the front porch are a great match. Jay has a luxurious hen house, so there's fresh eggs for breakfast!! On top of all that , Elizabeth & Jay are wonderful hosts!! If you are anywhere close (think Washington D.C.) go stay there, you'll love it. Gail&Lee


The absolute best Bed & Breakfast experience!

5 on September 24, 2009

Elizabeth & Jay have created a very comforting environment for their guests and make you feel like you are at home. The Inn is in a beautiful setting with many wonderful amenities such as whirlpool tubs, fresh flowers, exquisite linens, early morning coffee outside your door, and a fantastic breakfast too! You instantly feel like you are part of the family once you walk through the door! Elizabeth & Jay will help you find your way around the area or suggest things to do or places to eat. I highly suggest anyone wanting to stay in the area to stay here....you don't want to miss the experience!


Luxury in Orange

5 on September 23, 2009

This Inn is one that lives up to all the publicity on the internet. We arrived there by chance and regretted that we were only able to stay for two days. Set in beautiful countryside the house is an oasis of peace and tranquility that Elizabeth and Jay work hard to maintain and enhance. Our room was large and beautifully appointed and the extra touches such as bedside chocolates, wine after a day out and morning tea or coffee outside your room with the weather report for the day made you feel very special. Don't miss this chance to visit - you will regret it for sure.


If it's R&R you need, stay at this B&B

4.8 on September 06, 2009

Perfect for working professionals with stressful jobs to escape. Innkeepers are friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Will return.


delightful stay in the VA countryside

5 on August 30, 2009

Comfort and welcoming were the two words brought to mind during my stay at Westwood. And that doesn't include the wonderful food and the pleasure of the horses, chickens, meows and Porter the Beagle! I left a paperback book tangled in my bedsheets. It was promptly returned without a request from me. Elizabeth and Jay are delightful and entertaining hosts. If I am in the area again, I will stay at Westwood! Gail


Rejuvinating simplicity

5 on August 19, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at many B&Bs across the country and this one tops them all! The setting was perfect! The farmhouse was clean, joyful and inviting. The attentiveness of Elizabeth and Jay was superb. Their kindness, service and humbleness were what made us feel so at home. The outside farm animals just added to the appeal of the Inn. The rooms were perfectly appointed and clutter free. The bed ensembles made for restorative and restful nights. The farm fresh breakfasts were food for the body and spirit. If you are looking for pretentiousness and more worldly clutter... then look elsewhere. If you are looking for simplicity, comfort, and beauty then this is the place for rejuvination. And make sure to get a picnic lunch packed by Elizabeth for your daytime adventures for the ultimate romantic picnic!


Idyllic, ideal experience

5 on August 19, 2009

From the moment we pulled up, we felt warmly welcomed into a serene, painstakingly created, elegant environment where every detail had been carefully looked to. The house beautifully blended the best of old architecture with an elegant, modern sensibility - from the contemporary decor to the muted warm colors that echo those of nearly Montpelier, to the truly gourmet food prepared from local sources and augmented by their own garden... all work together to create an exception experience of contemporary simplicity and luxury. We arrived late, and were shown to a room with sprays of heirloom hyacinth from the garden, and a high four-poster with exceptional Yves Delorme linens, goose down and duvet. Each morning was an experience in culinary delight - from the subtle touch of a squeeze of fresh orange in the ice water, to the truly memorable Eggs Westwood - a construction (as I recall) of grilled french bread, pancetta, poached eggs from their own hens and a Bearnaise sauce, set off by sprigs of rosemary and pear tomatoes (again, from their garden). The upstairs library - intimate, fun but also quietly modern - was the setting for more late-night conversation than we have had the opportunity for in years. Most lovely of all were our gracious innkeepers, who are clearly inspired to create something exceptional. In a part of the country filled with historic country inns, they have managed to elevate a B&B to an elegant, refined but relaxed, five-star experience. Their warmth, humor and attention to detail are outstanding - these are truly people you would be delighted to spend a day with, have over to dinner, or spend time discussing the finer points of everything from world events to business to keeping of hens. The only downside ? This will be the standard to which all your future B&Bs (and hotels for that matter) will be judged. We are already planning for the next time we can get away to the inn at westwood.


Lovely Getaway

5 on July 31, 2009

My girlfriend and I are graduate students and we stayed at the Inn at Westwood farm over spring break. It was a wonderful experience. The many little touches add up to make the stay perfect. The breakfasts in the morning were really fabulous. Our host Elizabeth was wonderful. Highly recommended.


Absolutely charming

5 on July 19, 2009

We stayed recently at the Inn at Westwood Farm and could not have been more delighted with it. Everything -- our room, the hosts, the breakfasts, and the late afternoon snacks -- could not have been better. We strongly recommend it.


Beautiful, peaceful and delicious!

5 on June 22, 2009

Our three-day weekend at the Inn at Westwood Farm was perfect, from the gracious and welcoming hosts to the comfortable and beautiful room decor. The food was excellent; the unbelieveably delicious breakfasts included eggs from their own hens and berries from their own bushes. After touring in Charlottesville and driving through the beautiful countryside, we enjoyed the pleasant afternoon glass of VA wine and bruchetta snack. The lovely grounds invited strolls while the veranda encouraged a change of pace with a good book. It was a weekend to remember and certainly worth repeating! We can hardly wait to return.


Sets the standard for Bed & Breakfasts

5 on June 16, 2009

We could not have had a more wonderful stay. The home is very country on the outside from a distance, but from the moment you pull up, you see how maticulous the restoration on the house was done. The more modern and clean touches of this B&B really set it apart from others in the area. The home is just a few miles from Montpelier and is also very close to the Barbousville Winery. The property and home are just beautiful. We stayed in 204, the blue room, which was large, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The attached bathroom was very nice as well. There is high speed internet throughout which made it great for planning are daily outings. Breakfast every morning was stellar using only local ingredients, including eggs from the farm's own chickens. The innkeepers, Elizabeth and Jay, are so incredibly nice and full of information. You would make a big error not taking their advice on some of the things to do and places to see. I could write for page after pages but I can sum it all up by saying I can't recommend this B&B more. Spend a few more dollars then some impersonal hotel and stay here to turn your trip into a truely memorable stay.


Inn at Westwood Farm

4.2 on May 30, 2009

The Inn at Westwood Farm will provide you with outstanding service. The hosts graciously welcomed us. The amenities that we found outstanding included coffee in the sitting room, a library/board game room, and the ability to take books home with you that you could then mail back to the Inn. Jay and Elizabeth offered appetizers and wine in the early evening, another way of going above and beyond. Breakfast was delicious - fruit/granola parfait and a special variation on Eggs Benedict - and I got the feeling that they would have been happy for me to stay forever. The view was fabulous, and we could not have felt more welcome. They even left little chocolates on the pillows. It was like going home. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


elegant and comfortable

5 on May 20, 2009

You are in for a treat here! It is serene and beautiful. They have thought of everything to make your stay memorable.


Great Time! Very Nice Innkeepers!

5 on May 20, 2009

Enjoyed the entire weekend. The kindness of the innkeepers, the breakfast, the view, the home, ALL of IT. Enjoyed the wine festival, the tours and the restaurants in the area...a great weekend!


A taste of Haven

5 on May 19, 2009

The drive to our inn was just breathtaking- and then the lovely home with a warm welcome as we were approaching. This beautify and service continued for our entire stay- always going the extra mile!


Another special visit.

5 on April 26, 2009

This was our 4th visit. Again we came away with another fantastic time. Elizabeth and Jay go way above the bar to make sure you and your needs are taken care of. As you drive up to the Inn your visual impression is met with a neat front porch area with big comfy chairs. Upon entering the Inn you get a feeling of warmth and class. The rooms are very special with so many nice amenities. The hospitality of the Innkeepers will make you return again. Great breakfast. Fresh fruit, juices,and main entre. Oh you get coffee at 7AM outside your room. You must visit the hen house and see the girls and Ziggy the rooster .


Awesome weekend at Westwood Farm

5 on April 22, 2009

We discovered the beauty of Orange County, VA, USA last week. The landscape, flowers, trees and the historical places you can visit make this place unique. But, if you want your vacation time to be perfect there, you MUST stay at the Inn at Westwood Farm, a gorgeous house in the middle of a lovely forest. Very nice rooms, excellent food and, what is even more important, the very, very special and personalized attention you will receive from Jay and Elizabeth, the innkeepers. After travelling worldwide during many years, we can say without hesitation, this is one of the places we will never forget. Paula & Guillermo Moran Ayrolo Buenos Aires, Argentina


wonderful B&B

5 on April 17, 2009

This is a lovely B&B -- beautifully restored with great luxury touches.


Inn at Westwood Farm

4.8 on April 14, 2009

Our stay was truly enjoyable and our hosts were terrific! The accommodations were comfortable and the rooms were large and beautifully decorated with many antiques. I would recommend it to any seasonal traveler!


absolutely wonderful!

4.8 on March 19, 2009

what an absolutely wonderful inn-- one of my favorites of all time-- absolutely delightful hosts; stunning home that was so clean I would have eaten off the floor in a corner of one of the rooms!; the bed was the most luxurious night of sleep I've had; and the breakfast made me want to stay all day-- plus, it's close to one of the most wonderful places in the world-- Charlottesville-- so go soon!


A Gem in Virginia Wine Country

4.6 on March 11, 2009

Sophisticated & stylish yet incredibly comfortable inn. Several wonderful common areas to relax in, and the room/bath were top notch. Incredible, healthy breakfast and the gracious innkeepers rounded out a perfect stay!


Westwood Farm

5 on March 11, 2009

One of teh best B&B's I've ever had the pleasure of visiting. Quiet, thoughtful hospitality came through from start to finish!


Luxurious Comfort - Delicious Food

5 on February 22, 2009

My husband and I found the Inn at Westwood Farm a relaxing, comfortable place to enjoy eachother's company in celebration of his birthday. The ecclectic, warm decor and luxurious linens made me recall stays in 5 star hotels around the world. Jay's breakfasts are not to be missed! If you seek hospitality, this is the place to stay.


Our wedding

5 on December 08, 2008

What an amazing inn. After looking at all the B&B's around Orange, Culpeper, Fredericksburg, and Stafford to have our wedding we decided to book with Jay and Elizabeth. The Inn at Westwood Farm was by far the absolute best. There was nothing that we would change about the whole experience! The wedding went off without a hitch and Jay and Elizabeth accomadated our every want and need! There is no need to keep looking for a great place to stay. We can't wait to stay again next year!!!!!!!


Perfect Celebraation

5 on December 01, 2008

Jay and Elizabeth organized and provided a perfect 50th Anniversary celebration for my parents! They made suggestions, reservations, and made us feel at home in a warm, low-key but efficient way. Very comfortable!


Best guest experience ever

5 on November 19, 2008

The stay at the Inn at Westwood Farm has exceeded my expectations in any regard. The entire interior design with all its beautiful accessories is planned with love, empathy and the wish to offer the guests a memorable experience. Every morning the guest is surprised with another delicious dish based on natural resources the garden of the Inn provides. For the early birds coffee and tea are served to the rooms at 7.00 a.m. And if requested, you can enjoy the sun setting on the wonderful patio with drinks and homemade snacks. The Inn offers all the luxury and service you would expect from a 5 star hotel, but at the same time it is small enough to make you feel at home. It is a place which is a must for all Virginia and B&Bs lovers from both North America and Europe alike. It can be recommended to younger and older couples for different occasions.


Eat well, drink well, sleep well!!

5 on November 05, 2008

Innkeepers, Elizabeth and Jay, have a beautiful and very comfortable property. Set in the historic region surrounded by many vineyards and horse farms, this inn is the perfect place to stay and enjoy the surroundings. Can't wait to return.


Great Escape from the City!

5 on October 15, 2008

My girlfriends and I decided we needed to escape the city and spend some quality time together. We did some internet research and picked the Inn at Westwood Farm because the pictures on the website looked beautiful and for it’s proximity to DC. On our way down we joked about how the place would probably not be anything like the website, but were shocked when we got there to find a gorgeous B&B. It is like no B&B I’ve ever been to before – an old farmhouse updated with modern amenities and a clean modern style that manages to stay true to the historic character. No doilies or mothballs here! My girlfriends and I had a great weekend. We visited local wineries, did some window shopping in downtown Orange, and had delicious meals thanks to the innkeepers’ recommendations. They seriously do not leave out a single detail at this place – everything you could ask for (and more!) is provided for you. My girlfriends want to go back again in the spring, but I think I may have to go down for a romantic weekend with my boyfriend first!


Every Detail was Perfect

5 on September 29, 2008

My boyfriend planned a surprise night at the Inn at Westwood Farm for my birthday. The inn is lovely and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and Elizabeth and Jay were very helpful and friendly. We can't wait to visit again.


Nice Relaxing Stay

4.8 on September 20, 2008

My wife and I had planned to stay in Charlottesville, VA. Luckily for us, everything in the city was booked due to the return of students and the USC vs. UVA football game. I did a search of lodging in nearby towns and found the Inn at Westwood Farm. The Inn was very charming, with a tasteful mix of things new and old. The inn keepers Elizabeth and Jay were friendly, helpful, and directed us to a great little restaurant in the nearby town of Orange, VA. It was a beautiful 40 min. drive through back roads from the Inn to Charlottesville.


a slice of heaven

5 on August 19, 2008

Tucked away on beautiful acres you will find the perfect B&B. Breakfasts are devine. Elizabeth and jay are the most gracious of hosts. You wont want to leave so rest and enjoy!


An Uncommon Experience

5 on August 14, 2008

At a friend's suggestion, we chose to stay where we almost never do---a B&B. If Inn at Westwood Farms is representative of B&Bs, we've been missing a sure bet for years! Exquisite taste in decoration throughout, spotless bedroom and large private bath (jacuzzi, no less), helpful suggestions, and a place where we were treated like royalty but were comfortable as if among family. We were joined for a specially catered dinner that night by eight others, demonstrating that we had innkeepers who knew how to select a caterer and could be flexible in arrangements. Frankly, we loved the whole experience. The only problem---it was too short!


Luxury

5 on August 11, 2008

Inside the walls of the Inn at Westwood Farm lies an escape from the realities of everyday life. There you will be enveloped in luxury from the beauty of your surroundings in the art that decorates, to the linens of the bedroom that beckon with comfort. Recline on the front or back porch with a good book and feast your eyes on the verdant expanse before you. Elizabeth and Jay have created a haven which you will never want to leave.


Warm hosts in designer showcase

4.6 on August 06, 2008

Exquisite inn rebuilt from private home. High-quality floors, rugs, furniture, furnishings, linens, art, carefully selected and customized for each public and private room. Comfortable bed. Windows open onto striking Piedmont views. Outdoor dining in herb garden. Hosts received us like old friends in their home, provided personalized service. We will be back!! Improvement opportunity: Get shower heads with some water pressure.


Simply Exquisite

5 on August 06, 2008

My bridal party and I found this jewel of a place on the internet and simply hoped the inn was truly as divine as advertised. Our hopes were more than gratified. Jay and Elizabeth were delightful hosts. With ease and grace, they took care of our every need and anticipated all that would quell my wedding nerves. The landscaping and environs were so beautiful that I commented if I didn't already have a location booked, I would have been just as happy to have been married right there! The accommodations, the delectable breakfast, and the warm hospitality was among the best I have ever experienced. I highly recommend it.


Lovely

5 on August 05, 2008

Just o lovely place. I was delighted to be a guest here. The pictures are nice but the Inn is even better than you can imagine. The host are very king people ever so accomadating. Anyone who has the chance to go here should, it is a amazing place, sit back and enjoy the view.


Worhty of a President

4.6 on August 05, 2008

Just down Rt. 20 from Madison's Monpelliar, the Inn at Westwood Farm awaits it's guests. Lovely front lawn with speciman nut trees, wonderfully appointed rooms and bathrooms and friendly Innkeepers make this B&B a lovely repeat.


Cissy in Virginia

5 on July 03, 2008

This is the most elegant, warm friendly B&B ever. The setting is absolutely gorgeous and the innkeepres are attentive to everything you might need. Must see it and stay there on your next vacation


An exquisite weekend respite

5 on June 11, 2008

Our weekend at the Inn at Westwood Farms truly exceeded all expectations. The countryside is stunning, the rooms fresh and inviting, and the attention to detail sublime. We will most definitely come back.


Relax

4.8 on June 10, 2008

The innkeepers, Elizabeth and Jay, were a wonderful resource. They even helped us map a good place to run. We enjoyed the relaxing weekend thanks to them for the help!


fabulous retreat

5 on June 04, 2008

we couldn't be more happy with the stay at westwood farm. we will be returning later this year.


Top Drawer Environment

4.8 on May 12, 2008

Elizabeth and Jay are warm and friendly innkeepers who surround their guests with stylish, top quality furnishings and thoughtful touches. Fresh flowers, tasty treats, high-quality linens, ahh-inspiring moves such as the insta-heat hot water for bathing and the abundant bottled drinking water... We drove down from DC to get away to the country, and believe me, this is the best Orange County get-away we've had. It comes with convenient culture and gastronomic opportunity. The farm is just up the road from the Montpellier estate and the Elmwood at Sparks restaurant. Elizabeth had tickets to one and reservations to the other - what more could a girl want? After a nap on our killer mattress on beautifully pressed Yves Delorme sheets, I was ready to tour the herb garden, pet the dog, make friends with the barn cat and quaff some wine with our hosts while munching on artisanal cheese. Do all guests get treated like this? I think I'll go back and investigate further! But I'll tell you, as someone who has been through several home renovations with an architect in tow, this couple has spared no expense in updating this farm. Every hinge, handle, faucet, fixture, fan and coat of paint is top notch. You can see and touch the quality and understand the thought that went into the construction. It just makes you feel good and feel pampered. Bravo, Elizabeth and Jay!


Lovely Inn for a romantic or other weekend getaway!

4.6 on March 03, 2008

This charming Inn at Orange, VA provides the perfect getaway spot without being too much of a "schlep" from the DC metro area. We arrived, got settled, plopped onto our incredibly comfortable bed, and then went out for an afternoon of local wine-tasting. When we arrived back at the house, there was a beautiful spread of hors d'euvres and lovely wine. We had a fantastic dinner at a local, organic restaurant in the area, got in the jacuzzi for a while, and slept like logs! The morning provides an opportunity to use the rainshower head -- really, from start to finish, Inn at Westwood Farm is a wonderful vacation spot.


Inn at Westwood Farm

Details

  • Nightly Rate $185 - $245
  • Reviews (152) 4.9
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5406611293
  • Fax 1-5406611294
  • Toll free 1-8886611293

Visit Website »

View details

Top