Freemason Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Onsite Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
14 Reviews

Write A Review

Anniiversary bliss

4.6 on July 11, 2016

Sherry cordially invited us into her exquisite home, complete with fresh cookies and flowers. My wife, a clean freak, marveled at the cleanliness following a thorough exam. Don't forget to relax in the double Jacuzzi. We will go back.


classic and charming

5 on June 01, 2016

stayed here for an anniversary visit. great location in downtown norfolk, near cobblestone streets and mansions and the elizabeth river. minutes walk from great restaurants and shopping. greeted by host Sherry who was available for all of our needs. and since breakfast isn't normally until 8am and we had to leave at 7am, she accomodated! the rooms are beautiful and amenities modern. would easily stay again!


Beautiful room, lovely neighborhood and excellent recommendations!

4.4 on May 25, 2016

Loved the beautiful room and gorgeous bathroom! The bed was extraordinarily comfy and the whole home was beautiful. Loved the recommendation for our celebration dinner at Voila, literally could see if from my window. Their food was outstanding! I will definitely be visiting Freemason Inn again!


Perfect little getaway.

5 on April 14, 2016

Warm, romantic, and cozy.


Wonderful Stay!

4.6 on March 14, 2016

The Freemason Inn B&B was such delightful place to stay in Norfolk. The rooms are large and clean, and the jacuzzi tub was absolutely phenomenal. The Innkeeper was delightful and chatty at breakfast, and we really enjoyed our stay.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review of the Freemason Inn. We feel that Sherry, our new innkeeper, is a real asset to the Inn and will bring back the ambiance we strive for. We hope to see you again soon.


Worst B&B Experience Ever

1.8 on February 26, 2016

This was supposed to be a very special getaway for me and my husband and it was the most disappointing B&B experience we've ever had. The room we stayed in was okay but nothing special considering it was the bridal suite. We were upgraded to that room because "it's too much work to clear out the room you reserved". There was NO service. No innkeeper greeted us when we arrived, just left keys and a parking permit inside on a table. There was no note and no information about the inn or what was available to us as guests. There was an almost empty roll of toilet paper, no trash can, no glasses, ice bucket, etc. When I called later in the evening for toilet paper and a trash can, a young woman who I assume was "in charge" brought the items to us in her pajamas. No apologies, no inquiry about if we needed anything, no information about breakfast. The next morning when I went down about 7:30 looking for coffee and to find out what time breakfast was, there was NO ONE anywhere to be found. Yesterday's cold coffee on the burner, dirty sandals in front of the buffet, a few used dishes on the table. and a vacuum in the corner. I called to find out what was going on and no one answered or returned my call. I also called the emergency room number on the message and no one answered there either. Finally at 8:15 we decided to leave, as it didn't appear we were getting any breakfast. On the way home, someone, I assume the owner, called and apologized, assuring me he would refund my money. This has not happened yet. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
As an owner of the Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast, I would like to say that we are very sorry for your unfortunate experience at our Inn. We had an innkeeper quit and were transitioning with a new hire that ultimately did not work out. Our new Innkeeper, Sherry, is striving to bring back the excellence that the Freemason Inn works hard to achieve.(Please note follow-up review) We have at this point in time refunded you for your stay . We want to thank you for your comments and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.


A jewel in Norfolk

3.4 on October 28, 2015

The Freemason Inn was a lovely place to stay . You can imagine that you are in Europe, with the lite rail running past the inn, the coffee shop steps away and an excellent international restaurant next door. The caretaker was welcoming and attentive to our needs and the Inn is warm and inviting.


Wonderful treat!

5 on May 11, 2015

We unexpectedly were in Norfollk looking for a place to stay that was relatively close the ODU a campus, and found the Freemason Inn! Beautiful room, fireplace on a rainy night, wonderful large jacuzzi tub, tall and oh so comfortable bed. With a beautiful breakfast the next morning! A wonderful treat from start to finish!Z


Business Travel and a B&B

3.8 on March 17, 2015

I stayed at the Freemason Inn while on business in Norfolk and found it to be very comfortable and luxurious. The Innkeeper welcomed me with open arms and upgraded me to the "Bridal Suite" since he had a last minute cancellation. I wish I had had more time to visit the sites in the area around the B&B. My only disappointment was not having being served a full breakfast. I guess this is only provided on weekends. I would definitely stay there again and for longer so I could take full advantage of the environment and hospitality.


Great stay

4.6 on March 12, 2015

I was very apprehensive about staying at a B&B. The Freemason Inn was outstanding! The innkeeper made us feel at home and his service was top notch. The area around the Inn is beautiful and there is lots to do within walking distance. Would recommend this to anyone wishing to stay at a B&B!


Affordable luxury in Norfolk.

5 on September 16, 2014

Perfect in all respects. Great location too.


29 yr anniversary stay

5 on August 18, 2014

My better half waited 29 years to stay here. We had a very romantic stay and a great breakfast I've had in a while. Will stay here again.


Great find in Norfolk!

4.8 on March 17, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here overnight to celebrate our 13th anniversary. We're local to the Hampton Roads area & had never known about this wonderful little spot. The room was lovely, the hostess (Lesley) was great and breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend giving it a try :)


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary. It is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast in downtown Norfolk. Lesley is an excellent host, and the food she makes is amazing. It is located right next to the light rail, and a fairly busy street, but the noise was never a problem. We stayed in the Sir York suite, and the bed was so comfortable, I would definitely recommend it. Everything is within walking distance, and the FreeMason is only a 20 minute drive from Virginia Beach. If you prefer a quiet, tamer beach - we had a great time at Chic's Beach - located on the bay side and again, only a 20 minute drive. Overall, we will definitely return to the FreeMason and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Norfolk.


Freemason Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $225
  • Reviews (14) 4.4
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7579637000
  • Toll free 1-8558900384

Visit Website »

View details

Top