Shenandoah Manor Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

great stopping place near Interstate 81

4.8 on October 16, 2014

We just spent one night at Shenandoah and we had a very nice visit. This is an interesting combination of B&B, art gallery, working studio, and art classroom. There were several other couples there and everyone seemed to be having a good time.The room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and filling. The hosts were gracious and helpful. We made quick trip to nearby Lexington and found it to be an interesting college town. There does seem to be a vibrant art community in the area based on the number of galleries. Highly recommended.


A very relaxing place

5 on August 29, 2014

My wife and I spent three cozy nights at the Shenandoah Manor last week. We stayed in the Dali room for our honeymoon and we had a great time there; we particularly enjoyed the hot tub in the room where we relaxed with some Virginia wines each evening. We had a lot of privacy there and found the whole experience very relaxing. Nancy and Jan-Willem whipped up a nice breakfast each morning, with our favorite being a baked apple pancake. The next time we head back to the Virginia wine country, we plan on staying at Shenandoah Manor.


A night at the manor

4.8 on August 25, 2014

I spent a night in the Rembrandt room, very comfortable, very clean, very nice, unique decor, spacious bathroom. The room comes with a little balcony with a view to the pond and the woods. Excellent location to relax. A touch of European style in everything. Delicious breakfast and the hosts were extremely accommodating in terms of serving breakfast early (even on a Sunday).


Amazing Art themed retreat miniutes from Lexington VA

4.8 on July 24, 2014

Nancy and Jan-Willem were our hosts for three nights as we hiked House Mountain, Sharp Top Mountain and Crabtree Falls. We stayed in the Rembrandt room, each room features a famous master's name. While no Rembrandt's in the room, the whole Manor features the excellent modern art from Jan-Willem and family. The room was well themed with curated pieces and decorative touches to match the art hanging form the wall. The decorative effect made you feel like you were staying at an arts friend's home not at a B&B, which was great. Nancy and Jan-Willem were gracious hosts very willing to provide area information and recommendations. Breakfast was excellent featuring fresh fruit and veggies from their garden. Their grounds were open and featured a large pond with 3 amazing koi including a golden koi that looked like a mythic dragon. And there are 2 sometimes 3 grounds cats that are either hunting or rolling over for belly rubs. Only minimal down sides; you are about 10 min from downtown Lexington, the front rooms, while nice and breeze do pick up some road noise, and the shower pressure was a bit low, but nothing to take away from a great visit. We highly recommend visiting Shenandoah Manor. Don and Susanna


Va stay

5 on July 08, 2014

Clean, homely, serene views and all in all pleasurable experience


A Wonderful Experience!

5 on June 15, 2014

Not only were the rooms awesome, the owners friendly, and the breakfasts delicious, the setting was marvelous! A babbling brook, a pond with goldfish, and a lovely Gazebo were on the property. We took a walk down the road and enjoyed the beautiful countryside. Altogether, it was an perfect getaway for my sister and me. I definitely plan on returning.


Rural beauty and modern amenities

4.8 on June 02, 2014

Nancy and her husband Jan were hospitable and helpful. We loved everything about our two night stay. The setting is lovely and just moments outside of Lexington. Their inn is clean, comfortable and full of artwork and antiques. The breakfasts were delicious and enhanced by the company of other interesting guests around the table.


Great Stay!

4.4 on May 31, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Shenandoah Manor on our way to Washington DC. The inn keepers Nancy were super nice and very welcoming. The house is beautiful and LOVED all the painted pictures. Breakfast was a great time with lots of good conversation. Would stay here again!


Peaceful anniversary getaway

4.8 on January 30, 2014

The Shenandoah Manor was a wonderful place to relax. It was located in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood and we enjoyed an early morning walk soaking in the countryside along Union Run. We enjoyed the gracious hospitality of inn keepers Nancy and Jan-Willem. They were very helpful in sharing suggestions for dining and places to visit in the historic Lexington area. The room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast food delicious and tastefully presented . Being a quilter myself, I enjoyed seeing the numerous quilts that grace their rooms. We would consider returning again and have recommended this B and B to an artist friend as a wonderful place to visit/stay.


Warm, welcoming and fantastic

5 on January 19, 2014

Mid January in the depth of the Arctic Freeze we found this great B&B nestled in the mountains near Lexington VA. Warm, beautiful room, comfortable bed, friendly innkeepers, and a delicious breakfast in the AM. Perfect place for a cold winters night and I can only imagine how stunning the grounds must be in the spring!


Washington and Lee Visit

5 on December 28, 2013

We stayed at Shenandoah while my son visited Washington and Lee. It was an ideal location...close to town/college, but quiet and picturesque. The accommodations were comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast was delicious...taste as well as presentation. We loved the cat greeting committee too! We look forward to visiting again if Jared attends college at Washington and Lee - and if he doesn't, we'll probably still be back!


Wonderful place in stay

5 on June 24, 2013

This B&B, situated on beautiful grounds, was a wonderful place for our family to stay while visiting a nearby college. The owners were very hospitable and eager to please and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds were quite comfortable. The breakfast far exceeded what I would expect even from a wonderful B&B. They were well-planned with multiple courses and the most delicious breakfast meals I have had in ages. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone visiting town.


A great place to stay

4.8 on May 30, 2013

Reviewed May 29, 2013 NEW We just returned from a trip to Lexington, staying at Shenandoah Manor. The care, hospitality, and attention of the owners, Nancy and Jan-Willem Boer, is evident in all that they do. Their inn is extremely clean and tastefully decorated with interesting items and paintings, many by Jan-Willem, who was a commercial artist. The breakfasts were very delicious with an array of freshly prepared food items. They noticed I do not like eggs, and were anxious to provide something I might like to substitute. The brightly colored new quilts on the beds made the rooms very inviting. There was a comfortable feeling of spaciousness as none of the rooms was crowded with too much furniture or decoration. We enjoyed sitting out on the private porch connected to our room, overlooking the garden. The sound of the stream and the fountain made it very relaxing. We were on the second floor of the main house, but there is an adjacent smaller house which would probably be easier for guests who find stairs difficult. We did not notice any problems with the availability of hot water. The Boers were always friendly and kind, offering a welcoming glass of wine, and brought us some hot tea after we arrived back in a thunderstorm from Lexington. They are interesting to talk to, and are sensitive to being professional as well friendly. The price was quite reasonable for the quality of the inn and the breakfast. For us, it was wonderful to be out in the quiet and peacefulness of the country yet close to the restaurants and sights of Lexington. Unless you want to be in the center of downtown Lexington, this is an extremely enjoyable place to stay. We would have liked to remain some days longer!


Peace and Quiet

5 on March 26, 2013

We spent 4 great nights at this peaceful bed and breakfast. Jan-Willem and Nancy are ideal hosts. Their attention to comfort and convenience was excellent. The food was terrific with great presentation. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a beautiful place to stay in Virginia.


Shenandoah Gem

3.6 on March 25, 2013

We recently stayed at Shenandoah Manor for the first time. We visit the Lexington area frequently as college parents. Nancy and Jan-Willem are gracious hosts and make their guests feel very comfortable and welcome in their home. The rooms are very tastefully and artfully decorated. Our room was spacious with a private balcony and lots of light. The house is an art treasure with many rooms filled with Jan-Willem's paintings. It is also an artist's retreat which provides additional charm. Nancy's breakfasts are a real treat. She serves tasty, new dishes each morning and you really look forward to them. We will definitely return to Shenandoah Manor.


Best of both worlds

5 on March 24, 2013

This B&B is being revived by the recent owners that have done an amazing job in less than a year. It lies only minutes away from downtown Lex-Vegas yet benefits from the peace and quiet only a pond and rolling stream can offer. The property is on a beautiful hill/mountain and the home(s) are decorated with Jan-Willen's amazing art work. We were welcomed with a tour and a beer and Nancy was able to get a reservation for dinner in town in spite of every W&L student going out for dinner for W&L's fraternity formal dress night. Breakfast was delicious (Mexican egg cups) and filling and the coffee was spot on. We even had the outdoor fireplace stocked with kindling and firewood for us. Looking forward to going back!


Hidden Gem in Lexington

5 on December 17, 2012

The Shenandoah Art Destination is a hidden gem in the Lexington area. The Manor House is tucked back in the woods with a nearby creek making it the perfect place to relax and to be creative. Even for a beginner without carving experience, Jan provided enough training so that I developed appropriate carving and print making skills. Through Jan's encouragement it was easy to create beautiful prints that we are using for cards. The hospitality, food, and character of this Bed and Breakfast is delightful. We've already highly recommended Shenandoah Manor to our family and friends!


Warm and Inviting B&B

5 on December 12, 2012

Although we were the first guests to stay at the newly opened Shenandoah Manor B&B, one would think it had been open a long time. The inn is exceptionally warm and inviting with the host's incredible art work displayed throughout. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet, and even had a fireplace and porch which was perfect. Breakfast was delicious and beyond expectations. Nancy and Jan-Willem are truly gracious hosts who made us feel at home immediately. We will definitely choose Shenandoah Manor B&B whenever we spend the night in Lexington, VA.


Shenandoah Manor B&B

5 on December 12, 2012

I had a lovely 2 nights at this B&B in the beautiful VA country side. It was extremely quiet, and the room and bed was very comfortable. It was spotless and the bedroom and bathroom was supplied with everything I could have needed.The owners were very attentive and friendly. I enjoyed the breakfasts very much, and the owners were very accommodating and welcoming. I was there for a college Parent weekend which was just a pleasant 10 minute drive from the campus. I would happily stay there again. Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice, each has a private large bathroom which was very comfortable. Allison R.


Shenandoah Manor

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6122211140

Visit Website »

View details

Top