502 South Main Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

Great hosts, location, rooms, and food!

5 on May 28, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 2-night weekend stay at 502 South Main. It was WONDERFUL. The B&B is located in a prime spot just south of the historic downtown area. We walked everywhere all weekend and only moved the car to go find a nice nature trail down by the Maury River that Mary Stuart recommended. Mary Stuart and Russ, the owners, are top-notch. They are friendly and give you enough attention without being overbearing. They greeted us with limeade and freshly-baked (delicious) cookies. We were shown to the North Room, which was lovely. It was spacious and modern and had a small fridge, which I LOVE when B&Bs have. The amenities were great and the room had its own climate-control, another key for this 25-weeks pregnant mama. The bed was a king (well, two twins pushed together, but who would ever know?) and super, super comfy. The linens felt expensive and nice. Now, onto the most important thing...the FOOD. The breakfasts were above and beyond. The first morning we started with a very fresh yogurt/fruit parfait, followed by a delicious ham and cheese quiche (huge slices). It was served with yummy toast and her homemade strawberry jam and apple butter. It was scrumptious. Russ and Mary Stuart are great hosts and very generous with the coffee, juice, extra bread, etc. You will NOT leave there hungry and will likely skip lunch. All in all, we are truly happy we stayed here. We are a pretty young couple, but we've stayed in a lot of B&Bs in the 7 years we've been married. I do a lot of research when my husband and I go on trips but I'm still always a bit nervous that a place won't meet our expectations. This one far exceeded them. If you're headed to Lexington, you really ought to enjoy Russ and Mary Stuart's hospitality. You will be so happy you did!


Just what we wanted!

5 on September 03, 2013

Carol and I have stayed at B&B's for 40+ years, and we rate 502 S Main as our new Number 1. Elegant accommodations, great hospitality, and a killer breakfast; what more could we ask? Don Caudle


The perfect place to stay!

5 on August 18, 2013

My son and I took a motorcycle trip through Shenandoah and down the Blue Ridge Parkway. We decided to visit Lexington and try our first B&B stay. Our experience at 502 was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Mary was wonderful! She treated us like family or long time friends. The house was spotless and charming. The rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing! Fresh and delicious. I would drive 6 hours back for more of the blueberry scones! :-) Do you want the perfect stay? Look no further. I would not even consider staying anywhere else! Thank you for making our trip to Lexington so great!


Our Best Ever B&B Experience

5 on July 14, 2013

502 Main is an immaculate property, full of warmth and comfort. The inn is beautifully and tastefully decorated (the website photos do not do it justice). It is ideally located in a quiet residential neighborhood that is a 5 block walk from shops and restaurants. If you are a foodie, as we are, you will enjoy the generous full breakfast and snacks offered. Our charming hosts, Russ and Mary Stuart, made us feel right at home. We highly recommend this B&B for business or pleasure. Sincerely, Elizabeth and James S.


Excellent B&B

5 on July 07, 2013

Dear Mary Stuart and Russ, Michael and I thank you kindly for our visit to 502 South Main! We had a great time. Below is the review that I will be posting. I hope that you approve and find it helpful. Any time we are in town we hope you will have availability for us. We will be back. As an administrative item: We hadn’t planned on Reganne and Ava staying with us and recognize that you would normally charge a fee for additional guests. If you’d like to add a charge to the credit card that I provided, please do so. All our best, Lisa and Michael This B&B is absolutely fabulous! The décor is up to date and luxurious. The location is conveniently located walking distance from downtown Lexington. The owners and hosts, and when I say hosts that means every proper contention of the word, are amazing. The breakfast was fantastic and the conversation with Mary Stuart and Russ was better! We had eggs benedict, a tomato and avocado with high quality balsamic accompaniment, and a starter of homemade granola and (mostly likely organic by the quality) fruit. I thought about it the e-n-t-I-r-e drive back to Alexandria, VA. We stayed in the South room which is spacious and comfortable at the same time. The canopy bed is so very comfortable and in keeping with the home's luxurious décor. The only item of note I would say regarding this review is; it is with selfishness that I say, don't go... that way there is always a room for me! No seriously, GO, you wont regret it! The hosts are the best that can be offered. The breakfast are DC-worthy 5 star rated. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are up to date with marble surrounds. Signed, Lisa M. and Michael M. (and the unintended guests of Reganne and Ava M.)


Great B&B

5 on December 10, 2012

We went for an overnight while my son went on an official athletic visit at W&L. The room was great and the food was outstanding! Excellent B&B and was so relaxing. We loved it and hope to return soon.


Nice place with great hosts

5 on August 01, 2012

Stayed 07/29/12. 502 is a very clean and well maintained B&B. The location is well within walking distance to most all Lexington attractions. Mary Stuart and Russ went way beyond the call to make sure our stay in Lexington was all it could be. This is a perfect place to get away. In our case my wife's 50th birthday. If you are going to Lexington, stay here.


Wonderful

5 on July 09, 2012

502 South Main is lovely. The food is delicious, the rooms comfortable and cozy, the hosts wonderfully gracious.


Wonderful setting / Relaxing time!

5 on February 22, 2012

This was a GREAT B&B. The hosts were fantastic. Mary is an excellent chef and husband Russ is very knowledgeable of the local area, as I believe he went to VMI. They both made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. Gave us the privacy we were seeking -- but helped us when we needed directions! THIS IS A MUST STAY when passing thru Lexington. Ciao.


You feel right a home!

4.0 on February 08, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and it will not be our last! Working in hospitality I knew that ins and outs of what to expect. I was a little weary of going to such a small place and having a food allergy. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised! We were treated as if one of the family. Everything was at your fingertips! The room was very cozy and inviting. The service and privacy was above measure. The room was tip top clean! I didn't want to leave the bed the next morning it was soo comfortable. When we got to breakfast they had fresh fruit and homemade granola....and a special breakfast for me to compliment my food allergy. Breakfast was wonderful and we didn't feel at all rushed to leave. We plan to come back as soon as we can!


We really liked it

4.8 on October 11, 2011

We have stayed in over 50 B&Bs during the last 10 years or so, some excellent and some not so. This one ranks very high in our galaxy of B&Bs. What makes it so ~ exellent breakfast, nice room, clean, located within walking distance of town, but most of the hosts. Mary Stuart and Russ ~ they are first class in every way. You can not go wrong in staying here. Dan and Ginny


Wonderful room and hosts

4.6 on August 10, 2011

We went to 502 South Main for a weekend away in July. Mary Stuart and Russ were amazing hosts, working very hard to please us. A coffee bar was right outside our room and freshly made cookies were waiting for us! They gave great advice on restaurants and things to do. Our room was beautiful, super clean and comfortable, with a great updated bathroom. We felt very spoiled.


502 South Main

Details

  • Nightly Rate $159 - $229
  • Reviews (12) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 001-5404607353

Visit Website »

View details

Top