1868 Magnolia House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

Thanksgiving

4.6 on December 27, 2013

Stayed for a week to visit daughter and her husband. Loved the antique furniture in the parlor and throughout the house. The breakfast was divine and each day we were treated to delicious fresh pastries. Wes the innkeeper made the stay very pleasurable. We love BB and this was one of the best stays.


Honeymoon

4.8 on June 04, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mangolia inn the first night of our honeymoon. We stayed in the Lexington Room which has a king size bed that is very very comfortable. The innkeeper was great and accommodated our late arrival. The food was beautiful and tasty. We enjoyed our stay.


Quant, comfortable stay...and gourmet!

4.0 on July 09, 2011

This was our first stay at the Magnolia House. It was quaint, historic and beautiful. It was very clean. Beds were quite comfortable. The A/C dealt with the muggy heat quite well. Our rooms were well-maintained, albeit a bit dark, however, this is typical of old houses. Breakfast was a very large portion and over-the-top with taste. The 'hospitality' amenity room was a welcome surprise with drinks, water, and snacks for free. The grounds were well-manicured. The innkeepers were very attentive, hospitable, and helpful. We highly recommend this B&B to those visiting the Lexington area.


Everything Perfect!!!!

5 on June 19, 2011

The inn keepers were very kind and interesting. The inn was beautifully decorated and meticulously clean. Breakfast was gourmet. I would recommend this to anyone.


Lovely, comfortable getaway!

4.6 on November 08, 2010

We enjoyed a very comfortable night's stay October 24th in the Sunshine room - the room was so cozy and romantic, all the details of the room were well-thought-out w/ the attached bathroom the same. We loved the feel of history throughout the house and the breakfast was divine!! Russ and Mary Stuart made us feel right at home during our brief stay. We'd definitely stop there again!


very comfortable

4.4 on October 25, 2010

We had a very nice time. I wish they would have know more about resturants and nights opened. We enjoyed the morning breakfast and talking to other guests.


Great stay at the Magnolia House Inn

4.0 on October 18, 2010

Tim & Jan are very gracious innkeepers! This is our 3rd visit back to the Magnolia House and would highly recommend it for anyone staying in Lexington. (Also the towels and linens were very soft.)


Magnolia House like being at home

4.4 on October 06, 2010

Our stay at the Magnolia House was fabulous. Besides a B&B having accommodation for our son, which is unusual in a B&B, the service was excellent. Tim and Jan made us feel right at home. There were many sitting areas/porches to enjoy. The fresh baked cookies 24 hours a day were a delight to my son. Will definately return.


Short stay at 1868 Magnolia House Inn

3.0 on September 29, 2010

A very short stay (arrived 6.30pm, left 6.00am) but room was comfortable and Jan was welcoming.


great mom and pop b&b

3.8 on September 28, 2010

The rooms are nice, kind of like stay at your grandmothers home. Service is A+


A beautiful stay!

4.0 on June 28, 2009

I stayed at this B&B in late June, 2009. The inkeepers were informative and helpful. Stayed in the "Lexington room" -it was beautifully appointed, clean and comfortable. The library was a comfortable and impeccably furnished as was the inn. The breakfast was beautiful in setting,superb in presentation, and tasted great! A great place to stay in a nice city with a lot of history! I definitely would recommend this inn!


Genuine Southern Hospitality

5 on January 07, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the 1868 Magnolia House Inn the week-end following Christmas. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodations, the amenities and the welcome we received from Jan and Tim, the owners of the Inn. Breakfast was a special treat with fresh fruit, eggs, biscuits and homemade jams and jellies. Fresh orange juice and "bottomless" coffee and tea was also provided. Everything was well prepared and delicious. Another welcoming amenity provided is a "hospitality" room stocked with bottled water, sodas, tea and coffee. A cookie jar was filled with homemade cookies. It was so nice to have those snacks available after a day of sightseeing and shopping. Jan and Tim were friendly and gracious hosts and we look forward to staying at the Inn again when we are back in Lexington.


wonderful place to stay

5 on December 15, 2008

Quiet, comfortable, clean, and the hospitality was spectacular! Breakfast was terrific! We will stay there again in the future!


Everything a B&B Should Be

5 on October 21, 2008

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Magnolia House Inn. It was everything it should have been: beautiful rooms, fancy breakfast, nice location, friendly and very considerate hosts.


A great place to stay

4.4 on June 25, 2008

The Magnolia House was lovely. The inkeepers, Jan and Tim, were very gracious. The breakfasts were the best I have had at any B & B. It was in walking distance to town and many nice restaurants. I would recommend this B & B to everyone.


Relaxing Stay at The Magnolia House

4.0 on May 05, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Magnolia House in Lexington Va and had a wonderful nights rest. The home was clean. The hosts were pleasant. And the food was very good. It was also close to Gen. Stonewall Jackson's gravesite which was an added treat. We would go back for another night's stay as it was clean and quiet! Only drawback was my wife does not like sweets for breakfast and Frenchtoast was the only menu item the morning we stayed.

Innkeeper Response
All guests are invited twice to tell us about breakfast needs: once, in our confirmation letter before they come, where they are asked to tell us of any breakfast foods they don't eat; and again when they arrive, they are asked about any breakfast food issues. When preferences are expressed, either we change the menu for everyone, or we prepare a substitute for the people with special requests.


Nice Place To Visit, But You Wouldn't Want To Leave There!

5 on May 03, 2008

The black wrought-iron front gate is just wonky enough to let you know you are about to enter a magical space. And the English cottage garden filling every inch between the sidewalk and the house welcomes you with open arms. On the front porch are cozy outdoor couches and chairs, saying "Welcome home." That's how it is at Tim and Jan's perfectly furnished Magnolia House Inn in the vibrant college town of Lexington, just a short walk along the street from the delightful downtown area (and especially the Southern Inn, where time stands still, the natives are friendly, and the food is scrumptuous). After meeting and greeting our affable innkeepers in the front parlor (just like grandma's used to be!), we settled into our ground-floor Lexington Room with its four-poster king bed, stately leather wing chair, old-fashioned wallpaper, comfortable bath, and delightful gas-log fireplace. The bedding was luxurious, the ambiance embracing, and the atmosphere romantic. Just perfect for our anniversary get-away celebration! The next morning, we shared a delicious, well-presented breakfast around the dining room table with other guests, striking up new friendships and starting the day with unexpected blessings. Soft music was playing in the background to fill the room with soothing richness for the soul. Laughter and good times brought innkeepers and guests together as family, strangers no more. When it came time to leave, we lingered on the front porch with Tim and Jan for far longer than we had planned to stay. Couldn't tear ourselves away, but just knew we'd be back again. As veterans of many B & B's in America and abroad, we've never had a finer experience. In a trip of many highlights, it was the highlight of all the highlights.


Charm & Warmth

4.8 on October 02, 2007

We had travelled quite a distant and got ourselves lost - Tim was very helpful in getting us to Magnolia House. We felt right at home - with an elegant room, and a great bed for sleeping. The Inn was beautifully decorated and very clean. Meals were more than we anticipated. Hosts Tim & Jan made our stay very comfortable, the little touches in our room as well as providing extras such as tea, coffee and Jan's cookies. As Canadians we will certainly recommend Magnolia House to our friends travelling south. Continued success to you and congratulations. All our best wishes: Bob & Lou Watson, Pickering, Ont. Canada


Magnolia House Inn---A Real Gem

4.4 on June 25, 2007

Everything at Magnolia House Inn was lovely. We were first greeted by Tim and Jan and shown to the lovely rooms (we stayed in the Garden room one night and the Equestrian Suite another night). Breakfast was a true dining experience served on different china each morning. It was delicious as well as plentiful. Tim and Jan pay close attention to detail. We truly enjoyed our stay.


1868 Magnolia House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $219
  • Reviews (19) 4.4
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5404632567
  • Toll free 1-8667518664
Top