Kilmarnock Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
52 Reviews

Write A Review

the Kilmarnock inn is still the best!

5 on October 30, 2014

Great room, great breakfast, great service, what else is there to say?


Visitor from Felixstowe, UK

3.4 on October 26, 2014

A very pleassnt experience and will visit again if we are in the neck of Virginia in the future


Great weekend away

4.0 on October 22, 2014

We booked at the last minute and were happy that we were able to get a room here. The room was tastefully decorated, quiet and the whole inn area was very relaxing. If you have a chance, check out the Good Luck Cellars while you're in Kilmarnock-- we had a great time there as well.


Charming and Friendly

4.0 on October 01, 2014

Room not ready upon arrival however, was quicky completed and set up within my walk around the property. Excellent job. Two dinners and one breakfast at the Inn. Tiffany performed an outstanding job as my waiter on one dinner and one breakfast. The chef (only chef) is remarkable in her duties. Food prepared and was excellent. Buffet on Sunday morning excellent. Will return. Kudos to Shawn and Sandy for a wonderful stay. Alan C


Getaway

4.2 on September 11, 2014

Had a great time, Crab Benedict was the best I have had. Friendly staff.


Fantastic 9th anniversary getaway stay!

5 on August 23, 2014

If you are considering the Kilmarnock area, look no further for your stay than the "Inn". The Kilmarnock Inn offers superb dining all day long. I can only attest to the breakfast and dinner experience. All our meals had unique twists with fresh locally caught seafood aptly named for former presidents. We stayed in the bridal suite which was also first class. Shawn Donahue, the owner, was the perfect trip consultant offering unique historical stops in the adjoining towns making the experience memorable. Thanks for adding another enjoyable memory to our lives! The Weinsteins


my wife' s birthday weekend

4.8 on August 11, 2014

The green room was very clean and nicely furnished, very quite, lovely stay, the food was out of this world, cannot wait for our next visit. Thanks Mel and Connie Pemberton PS The Yellow Roses were perfect.


Birthday and anniversary getaway!

4.8 on August 08, 2014

Wonderful, peaceful getaway spot to relax!


Stay or Community Event

5 on August 02, 2014

I have been fortunate to know both Shawn and Sandy for a number of years professionally and personally. In this time and as the Executive Director of a well known non-profit I have had the experience of staying at the hotel with guest and organizing community events. Our stay has been relaxing and enjoyable with the owners and staff taking an intrusive interest in their clientele. An awesome and convenient location to gather for a community event or family and friends reunion reunion. Staff are friendly and there ready with a smile and the stress is taking from you in organizing an event as it is a guarantee that on your arrival everything is ready to kickback and enjoy your evening as intended. Thank you Kilmarnock Inn your community spirit and efficient services makes our events successful and enjoyable for folks invited. I look forward to our next event whether a relaxing stay with family and friends or a community function.


AWESOME EXPERIENCE

5 on August 01, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Kilmarnock. The food was awesome and Mr Donahue was an excellent host


Great service! Kilmarnock Inn is truly a gem!

4.6 on July 30, 2014

My wife and I were taking a road trip down the East coast for our honeymoon. Our first stop was at the Kilmarnock Inn. We stayed in the Madison suite from July 17-19th, 2014 and we must say that it was a great kick off to our honeymoon! The Madison suite was clean, the staff members were great, and the atmosphere of the Kilmarnock Inn was a pleasant surprise. Downtown Kilmarnock was a great experience with plenty of small shops and antiques galore. We were able to tour four local wineries which was a blast. My wife and I left wishing we had stayed longer! If we ever have another chance to head down to the Northern Neck of Virginia again, without a doubt, Kilmarnock Inn is where we will stay! Respectfully, Stan P. Putney, Vermont


Small room is a small gripe.

4.4 on June 30, 2014

This B&B is awesome. Incredibly cute setup with multiple bungalows and a common courtyard. Food was great. People were friendly, attentive and exceedingly helpful. Our room was small (the bathroom was enormous) but it was clean and plenty of space for what we needed. Good value for the money no question and would recommend in a heartbeat.


Comfortable Elegance

4.0 on June 16, 2014

A beautiful stop in a small town near our ferry trip to Tangier Island. Upon our arrival, Shawn took us up to our room and showed us around, making us feel at home.. Dinner was presented nicely in an elegant dining room. Our breakfast the next morning was very relaxed and pleasurable. We only wished that we could have stayed another night to explore the antigue mall and museum a little more!


A Lovely Anniversary Weekend

5 on May 28, 2014

The Kilmarnock Inn was a wonderful place to stay for our first wedding anniversary! The room was spotless clean and very comfortable. All the towels and other amenities were replaced daily without fault. The breakfast is a MUST! Delicious!! The inn staff were so kind and accomodating. Since it was our anniversary, they made cupcakes for us and brought them to our room at my request - the cupcakes were wonderful! They also were so kind to give us a complimentary bottle of champagne to take to our room for our anniversary. Overall - a wonderful place to stay for any occasion! The Kilmarnock Inn staff are 1st class!


Great Place to stay !

4.8 on May 21, 2014

Great courtyard setting in front of all the rooms for a nice cup of coffee and some conversation. Very clean, quiet and cozy !


What a great retreat!

5 on May 21, 2014

We stayed in The Taylor Room. It was clean and quite comfortably furnished. The staff was friendly and pleasant. They even made our little dog feel welcome. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and a great breakfast as well.


OMG A true gold mine

5 on May 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at a very beautiful place. Everyone was so friendly and attentive. Absolutely loved it.


Fantastic B&B

5 on May 05, 2014

The staff was very attentive and friendly.


NORTHERN NECK IDYLL

4.8 on April 27, 2014

Excellent service with phenomenal food. First night's dinner was a bit disappointing but the breakfasts and subsequent dinners were nothing short of outstanding. Sun-dried chicken is the best I chicken I have ever had.


Comfort, convenience, and character. Outstanding.

5 on December 13, 2013

Awesome place. See how I rated everything outstanding. The inn is central to restaurants, shops, etc. We traveled to Kilmarnock to see one of the Rappahanock Arts Council shows -- fiddler Natalie McMaster -- and since their productions are held at the local middle school, we were able to walk from our inn to dine, then to the show, and then back.


The only place to stay at the Northern Neck!!

5 on November 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Kilmarnock Inn many times. What is so wonderful is that they keep improving the decor and the grounds so each time we go back it seems like the first time. Highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates a classy place and to be treated like family.


Great location and Excellent service

4.8 on June 28, 2013

We just spent a long weekend at the Kilmarnock Inn and it couldn't have been a better experience. This was our second stay here and it will not be the last! The owners Shawn and Sandy are amazing and super helpful, the entire staff is professional and friendly. The location is awesome, with many shops and restaurants in easy walking distance and a fun trolley that will take you to the neighboring towns on the weekend. There are a number of great wineries just a short drive away, and the ferry to Tangier Island is less than a 1/2 hour drive. The food at the Inn is wonderful....don't miss the Sunday Brunch!! Fantastic experience, can't wait to go back!


Wonderful time.

5 on December 12, 2012

I had a great time at the Kilmarnock Inn - from the beginning the folks there were very helpful and kind. The accommodations were lovely, clean, relaxing and delightful. I found it an easy and restful place to be.


Beautiful Stay!!!!

5 on May 02, 2012

Room was beautiful & special attention to details. Cant wait to visit again.


Anniversary Getaway

3.6 on February 03, 2012

This was our first time at a Bed & Breakfast and we were going to only stay one night (because two nights would have been out of our budget), but they had a special and if you stayed one night you got the second night free, so that was a wonderful surprise when we made the reservation. We stayed at the Madison Honeymoon Suite and it was very quiet and relaxing and that is exactly what we wanted and needed. The breakfast was the best we have ever had. The food and atmosphere were wonderful! The only thing that disappointed us was we were not told the restaurant at the Inn was not open for Sunday dinner and neither were any other restaurants on Main Street. We wanted a nice dinner and ended up with Chinese food (which was good, but not when a nice steak dinner is what you want). But overall it was a nice, relaxing time and we enjoyed it. I definitely enjoyed and recommend the Bed & Breakfast experience over any hotel stay.


Great Stay

4.6 on December 01, 2011

The owners offered discounted rates for veterans over the Veterans Day holiday. I was truly impressed by their generosity and kindness during our stay. The Inn is a great place and Kilmarnock is a hidden gem on the Northern Neck. The food was delicious, the service great and the stay was very relaxing.


Fabulous stay at The Kilmarnock Inn

5 on September 18, 2011

It was a last minute decision to switch from a nearby dump to something we could be confident didn't have bedbugs, but what a great decision it was for our little group of 3 couples. It was a fabulous weekend that was enhanced big time by that change. This place is fabulous. The owners are hands-on owners that are charming and obviously well suited for their profession as inn owners. The inn and its various presidential "cottages" are meticulously appointed, very clean, and address every need you might have. I saw 3 of the "cottages" and all were lovely. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and the service attentive and professional from the young lady who checked on us at appropriate intervals. At breakfast we all discussed what excuse we could find to come again. We will return! Kathy


Best place to stay in Kilmarnock.

4.6 on December 28, 2009

We recently went to Kilmarnock to visit family. Regrettably, their home is too small to accommodate guests. Since my mother was travelling with us, we decided to get a suite at the Kilmarnock Inn over two rooms / share a standard room at another hotel. Unlike some hotels, the suites at the Kilmarnock Inn are actual suites, with a bedroom that has a door. We stayed in the Martha suite, and it was quite roomy, very comfortable, and quiet. There was some road noise, but no noise from other Inn guests. The set-up is quaint, and the courtyard I can imagine is quite lovely when it isn't the dead of winter :-) The breakfast is included with the room, which adds to the value, and it is a GOOD breakfast served with a smile. The only marks I can give against it are the daily housekeeping and the sheets. Here are the disclaimers: my husband and I are VERY neat people who keep even our hotel rooms tidy. The housekeeping did come daily, but all they did was switch out the towels and empty the trash. This is sufficient, but falls short of stellar. We straighten our beds each morning, but they did not remake them. They also left the dirty mugs from in-room coffee in the room and didn't restock the coffee basket. No matter since the coffee in the restaurant is much better, but worth note. Disclaimer on the sheets is that I like crisp sheets, and these were soft sheets. Actually quite nice, but not to my liking. The bath linens were very nice. I will stay only at the Kilmarnock Inn when visiting my brother an family from now on, and highly recommend it to others.


Overnight escape

3.8 on September 23, 2009

Our overnight getaway was a wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the courtyard was beautiful and so was our suite. definitely a positive experience. A must do.


WOW!

5 on September 22, 2009

Everything was perfect. The clean sparkling smell of the rooms to the warm hospitality at check in. Exceeded every expectation.


Extraordinary!

5 on August 31, 2009

The service was exceptionally personal and professional. The food was extraordinary and the accomodations very comfortable. The overall experience was delightful. Chip and Lynne Summers, Camden, SC


What a wonderful weekend!

4.0 on August 12, 2009

We stayed at the Inn while we were in town recently for our friend's wedding.The rehearsal dinner was held there and it was an evening to remember!The food and service was excellent!I can not say enough about the quality of service we recieved- from the waiters to the Inn Keeper- they went above and beyond! Thank you for making our stay so amazing!We will be back!!!!!


Sunday brunch

5 on August 06, 2009

We did not stay at the inn, but after visiting we're sorry we didn't. We did have Sunday brunch and it was by far the best food we had on our entire trip. the innkeeper was very cordial. the property was beautiful, and the food was wonderful. We will definitely stay here if we return to the area!


Wonderful Stay in Kilmarnock

4.8 on July 21, 2009

The folks at the Kilmarnock in were kind enough to take us in when our resort of choice lost power after a storm. The staff was extremely hospitable, the food wonderful and the accomodations exceeded my expectations. It was the best night's sleep that I had in a while. The grounds were charming and the location just off the main street in the charming town of Kilmarnock, VA. Within walking distance were shops, restaurants, grocery store and other. My only suggestion would be to eliminate smoking in the rooms or find a way to rid the evidience of smoking. My allergies were affected by the smell of smoke. Our suite was spacious and charming. I will definitely stay there upon my return to the area.


Wonderful Weekend

4.6 on July 21, 2009

We booked this inn for 2 nights after visiting their website and comparing prices for the accomodations in the area. It is a good value! The staff could not have been nicer, and were proactive in compensating us for excessive noise (made by enthusiastic family reunion party-goers) the first night by upgrading our room to a spacious suite for the 2nd night. The furnishings are comfortable, clean, and beautiful. The full breakfast is delicious! The location is w/in easy walking distance to the Main St. resturants and shops. We would definitely stay here again!


TRULY AMAZING !!!!!

5 on June 30, 2009

I was married the 1st weekend in June 2009 and we booked the Kilmarnock Inn for the rehearsal dinner and for the wedding party to stay. From check-in until check-out the staff and accommodations were 2nd-to-none !!!! From the initial planning, to the dinner, to the accommodations, the staff bent over backwards to make it easy and fun for us. The food was amazing, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were unbelievable. We are now almost a month out and people are talking as much about the Kilmarnock Inn as they are about the off-site wedding itself. Thank you Shawn, David, Jessica and staff for making our wedding weekend so very special !!!! Best of luck in the future and we are looking forward to another dynamite experience with you soon. Thanks again.


new home on the northernn neck

5 on May 11, 2009

As someone who's visited this part of Virginia for three decades, I never could have predicted an establishment this sublime. Everything about it- from concept to rooms, to breakfasts, to staff- is first rate!


AS wonderful inn in a lovely VA village!

4.8 on May 08, 2009

The ambiance is perfect for a relaxing stay. The staff is friendly and attentive!


Loved it!!

4.4 on February 27, 2009

Will visit again!


Unbelievable value

5 on February 16, 2009

My Husband and I stayed here for the valentines package. We were so surprised at the elagance, and hospitality of this place. The staff were great, David the manager so gracious and accomadating. Jessica, our waitress, very charming and professional. And it was great to meet the owner and see him on the property.His attention to detail is wonderful. the rooms were superb, and had everything we needed, including a great flat screen TV. the food was great, and the play was fun. we will certainly be back and could recommend this as the best place in the northern neck for the value. Thanks for a wonderful weekend Kilmarnock Inn. Lorraine And Miles.


5 star all the way!!!!

5 on January 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed over New Year's in the Madison room. The owner thought of everything from an excellent theme to all the perks! Highly recommended!


Thanksgiving Visit

4.0 on December 22, 2008

My wife and I spent three days around Thanksgiving this year at the fabulous Kilmarnock Inn. We were in the Tyler Room and it was so comfortable and relaxing. But, the best part of the Inn is the staff....from the owner, to the wait staff to the bartender and everyone else in between...these folks know how to make one feel comfortable and had to remind myself on a few occasions, that this was not my home! Wonderful accommodations, fabulous food and an attentive, friendly staff f,charming town, makes this place a destination not to be missed. George and Mary


elegance

5 on December 09, 2008

I stayed in their Honeymoon Suite, I have never experienced such 'Elegance'. Their room and service was excellent. It was a night I'll never forget!!


Kilmarnock Inn hosts three day profesional development event

5 on December 09, 2008

I’m writing to thank you for you for hosting our Virginia Department of Education training event during December. Absolutely everything was perfect! Our participants raved about the delicious food we were served over the three days. The setting was gorgeous, the beautiful holiday decorations made it extra festive. Dave and Nancy were attentive to all our needs and continuously ‘checked in’ with us to make certain everything was going smoothly. Dave’s help with our technology requirements went ‘above and beyond expectations’. Thank you so much for hosting our participants throughout the Commonwealth as we’ve attended training in Kilmarnock this year and for extending your hospitality and expertise with our three day professional development event. Sincerely, Donni Stickney TTAC W&M


cycling in Kilmarnock

5 on December 03, 2008

A great place to stay, plus lovely employees! We loved our stay!


sleep here!

4.4 on October 23, 2008

One block off Main Street, in a rural coastal town, stands a delightful oasis, where a competent staff assure every need is satisfied. Owner Shaun has insured that this sleepy little town will be sleepy no more. PS. The rain did not detract from anything!


Hines Party Stay

5 on October 14, 2008

We stayed at the Kilmarnock Inn for my brother-in-law's 65th B-Day party. It was lovely! The service is wonderful. The ambiance is wonderful. I would definitely recommend the Kilmarnock Inn.


Over Nite Stay

5 on October 13, 2008

A wonderful 1st time experience. Would always consider from now on.


Over the Top

5 on October 13, 2008

It was simply lovely. Everyone was on the top of their game.


Pleasant Visit

4.2 on October 10, 2008

I found the Inn to be clean and warm. The bed was comfortable, great linens and pillows. Breakfast, perfect!


Best B&B in Northern Neck

5 on September 24, 2008

This place is superb, their attention to detail is outstanding. Food was great and the staff is top notch. We loved the place, the owner is great to talk to. The rooms were comfortable, the layout and the grounds are very pretty. Stay here and enjoy a wonderful experience.


Great Location, very romantic

5 on July 22, 2008

Brand new, with very high attention to detail, bamboo linens (very green, but still top notch). 3 course breakfast was great, staff was friendly, gorgeous courtyard, and an easy walk to main street (restaurants, coffee shops, retail shops), plus a few golf courses with in a 5 minute drive.


Kilmarnock Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $285
  • Reviews (52) 4.7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (804) 435-0034

Visit Website »

View details

Top