Cave Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

Sweet hostess, needed input regarding extras

3.4 on March 18, 2014

Our hostess was sweet. Was surprised we had to ask for "goodies" on our arrival. Breakfast was good, but at first we were served sour creamer to put in our coffee- when pointed out she had "good stuff" for replacement readily available


Wonderful Place

5 on February 28, 2014

This was the first time we stayed at this particular B&B. We had a wonderful but too short visit. The home is beautiful and Hannah and Omar are very nice. We definitely hope to return sometime. Diane


My favorite Bed and Breakfast

5 on January 22, 2014

It is a fine line to walk when running a bed and breakfast: hard to make rooms sophisticated and comfortable and private, easy to make rooms cluttered and kitschy and noisy. Cave Hill Farm succeeds where many do not. Our stay was perfect. The rooms were spacious and full of atmosphere, without being fussy and crowded. Rooms were all with a private bath, and the bathroom had heaters, great showers, wonderful fittings. The bed was big and had a wonderful mattress, great pillows and covers, and felt modern, not soft and squeaky. The setting for the house is beautiful and rural, but still convenient to restaurants and highways. Our breakfast was prepared by a kind young couple who knew when to offer assistance and when to leave us alone. All in all, I would recommend this bed and breakfast highly, and would go back. most sincerely, Lee Lawrence


Tranquil and Friendly

4.6 on December 27, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic stay at Cave Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast around the Christmas holiday. It was very convenient to the activities available at both Massanutten Resort and in Harrisonburg, VA but was located in a tranquil setting. The innkeepers made us feel very welcome and were lovely to chat with each morning over breakfast. We would absolutely stay here again!


Review for Cave Hill Farm B&B

4.6 on September 02, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here in July. We just moved to Virginia and weren't aware of the "good spots" as far as B&Bs. This is definitely one of them. I can't remember the last time I slept that well - thanks to the solitude of being on the farm in the middle of what seems like nowhere. Katie and Ryan were more than accommodating and extremely friendly. I was planning my next trip before we even left. This would be great for couples but also if you want to have a "you time" weekend. I want to come back time and time again. It was absolutely beautiful. And the food was ah-mazing. Thanks Katie and Ryan!


Picturesque southern hospitality

5 on August 25, 2013

My fiance and I stayed found this adorable B&B nestled in the foothills of the Shenandoah mountains for a small romantic getaway. We had originally picked it due to the location. It is very convenient to Skyline drive, where we were hiking, along with Grand Caverns and the town of Harrisonburg (I am a JMU graduate who likes to visit). After arriving, we couldn't have been more impressed. The house is very private with a beautiful view of the mountains even though it is located just off Rt 33. Every room is filled with history and gorgeous antiques. Our every need was taken care of including a pleasant surprise of complementary wine available in the kitchen. The small amenities such as bath salts were a great touch and much appreciated after a strenuous hike. The hosts are an unusually accommodating and charming young couple. Breakfast was above and beyond any expectation! Ours included french toast, fresh fruit, and bacon. We will definitely be back for a longer stay in the future. This B&B is an amazing find!


Living History

3.2 on July 17, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. Such beautiful surroundings, ancient trees (one of my personal favorites), and history abounds. It's interesting to realize that people have been sleeping and living here for two hundred years. A lot has happened during that extended period, and the house has testimonies scattered throughout which make for very interesting reading. You really do get a sense of life in those early colonial days, as well as the march of time since then. Fascinating stuff. Being an amateur keyboard player, I even played the beautiful wooden pump organ they have in the "living room;" an experience not to be had in too many places. :-) Beautiful grounds, beautiful views, and beautiful period accommodations. Hats off to Ryan, Katie, and Mr. Hopkins. Glenn D. Reuther


Great Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 27, 2013

This was a nice place to stay, very tranquil and quiet with a very good breakfast. They were also very accommodating to my wife who is vegan.


Our Stay at Cave Hill Farm B&B

4.6 on March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed a Cave Hill Farm this past February and had a wonderful experience. The Inn Keepers were very welcoming, friendly and down to earth. Our breakfasts were amazing and I loved that the inn keepers set out snacks (goat cheese, grapes, crackers) for the guests. It was a nice touch that truly made you feel at home. If you are looking for a change from staying in a chain hotel or a ski resort, this is the place. You will find happiness, relaxation, comfort, and fun. Marie Long


JMU Parents--a great alternative to ho hum Harrisonburg hotels!

5 on March 14, 2013

By our daughter's JMU senior year we were pretty tired of staying at the same hotels and were delighted to find Cave Hill Farm B&B. The front porch is so welcoming, the bedrooms so comfy,and the bathrooms are beautifully updated but still with a vintage feel. Katie and Ryan who just happened to be married here are the cutest couple and the present innkeepers. They couldn't have been more gracious, and gave us a house tour (be sure to see the basement) and a bit of the history of the place. We are looking forward to 2 more stays before our daughter graduates and hope next time to tour the "cave" and property as well as take advantage of some local winery tours.


good quality

5 on December 30, 2012

We took a last minute vacation and were quite impressed. The rooms were beautiful and so was the house. Really nice innkeepers.


Great getaway location and friendly service

5 on September 12, 2012

We stayed at the B & B for our anniversary. The house is located off the beaten-path surrounded by mountains in all directions and has scenic views, but is only 15 mintues from Harrisonburg. Ryan and Katie really worked to accommodate our schedules and provide great customer service. The breakfasts were delicious. Highly recommended.


Cave Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $199
  • Reviews (12) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5402897441

Visit Website »

View details

Top