By The Side Of The Road Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
117 Reviews

Write A Review

We'll Be Back!

5 on December 08, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at By The Side of the Road! From the moment we arrived, we were treated as family house guests. Dennis, Janice and Anna made us feel welcome and we loved visiting with them. Our room was beautiful. The feather bed was so comfortable, the jacuzzi bath was perfect and the fireplace was inviting. All the small details made us feel special - plush bathrobes, decanter of bourbon, bath salts, etc. The breakfast was delicious and it was especially nice having this delivered to the room so we didn't have to rush to get dressed. We will be back!


Simply Amazing! It Caused My Wife To Cry It Was So Amazing!

5 on December 06, 2014

Our stay at By the Side of the Road was absolutely amazing! I book this place for our anniversary and it was the first time I or my wife stayed at a bed and breakfast. The cottage was well decorated, the staff had music playing when we walked in the cottage (this caused my wife to breakdown in tears), and breakfast was served in a picnic basket every morning and delicious, simply amazing! Additionally, Janice and Dennis were very welcoming and friendly, which added to the warmth of the atmosphere. I highly recommend this place for a nice, romantic, and relaxing getaway. My wife and I plan on returning very soon!


Charming cottage!!!

5 on November 16, 2014

We enjoyed our lovely stay in the Water Lily cottage. The room was beautifully decorated and most importantly, clean. The porch with pond view was wonderful. I would recommend this establishment to family and friends.


An outstanding B&B

5 on November 08, 2014

A wonderful stay in the beautiful Manor House. Suite was spacious and attractive and had many amenities. Bed was especially comfortable, and everything was very clean. Delicious breakfast. Lovely, peaceful setting.


Mountain Laurel Room is Impressive

3.8 on October 30, 2014

We stayed in the Mountain Laurel Suite in a separate small building by the side of a beautiful pond. This must be a new build because everything is pristine. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Room has everything you could want and where the owners really excel is in their attention to detail and in providing a plethora of thoughtful extras. It's as though someone sat down and thought to themselves "hmmm…how can I make this even better?" I thought the room was a bit pricy for the area but it really is an outstanding room. A delicious breakfast is delivered right to the door. Absolutely first rate. I would definitely stay here (and nab this very room) if I were ever in the area again.


What a Treat!

5 on October 09, 2014

If you're looking for a great place to stay for the weekend then you certainly won't be disappointed with this B&B! Great ambiance and great service!


Honeymoon

5 on October 08, 2014

This bed and breakfast is by far the best vacation ever! it was so romantic, from the soft music playing when you enter to the candles already waiting to be lit by the jucuzzi tub. Oh did I mention the fireplace. I didn't even want to leave the room. They bring you breakfast every morning at 9 am in a cute picnic basket. I am already planing to stay for our first anniversary. Love love love this place!!!!


Water lily suite- modern B&B

4.0 on September 29, 2014

We bought a groupon to check in to the water lily suite. It was a very modern suite with a huge walk in shower and modern shower fixtures. The bed was very comfortable with a down-feather pillow topper as well as feather pillows. It had a small kitchenette area with a microwave and fridge as well as a sink and dishes. There was a dining room, kitchen and entertainment area were all in a 12 sq ft area of the room directly behind the bed. There was a partition wall separating the bed from the dining area which made it feel like you were entering another room. They had a very nice setup with a electronic fireplace with colorful lights resembling a fire. They also had a small patio just outside the bedroom that overlooked a pond and beautiful wheeling willow tree. My only regret is that I wish it would have been more cozy like the original B&B where you feel like your staying in someone's home. This particular room felt more like I was in a condo. They deliver breakfast each morning which is truly exception. The owners are very nice and allowed us to tour the main house where the you get the real homey feel. All in all I enjoyed my stay but next time I'd prefer to stay in the main house.


Lovely Experience!

5 on September 27, 2014

My husband and I hit the jackpot with this first ever B&B experience. Though surprisingly close to the city of Harrisonburg (great for tasty dinners), our beautiful accommodation in one of the "Spring Water cottages" called Mountain Laurel felt countryside peaceful and secluded. We loved sitting on our private porch and enjoying the scenic spring fed pond, green lawns and huge trees. All the interior appointments (bed, bath, AC etc) were luxurious, clean and in perfect condition. The design of the cottage is amazing, as it is cozy yet has distinct areas for sleeping (great bed), eating, and enjoying conversation or TV. The hosts were kind yet unobtrusive, and Janice's breakfasts were exquisitely prepared and presented. We felt truly well cared for, and at the same time, as introverts we appreciated the full measure of privacy we found there. We highly, HIGHLY recommend By the Side of the Road.


Perfect romantic weekend getaway

4.8 on September 10, 2014

Beautiful 1790 room - the pictures on their site do NOT do justice to this place. Included a balcony, a separate living room area, a nice view over a little creek bed, a claw-foot bathtub in the bathroom - old style south with modern amenities. Oh, and the breakfasts were fantastic! Pancakes with marmalade syrup, herb souffle - brilliant - exactly what I wanted and more.


Get the outside suites

3.8 on September 07, 2014

Overall, a great experience at this mountainous location. Gift card was a great gesture for guests. The Bishop Retreat was okay, I think added more pictures would've helped make a better decision on selecting that room. If you enjoy visiting relatives out in the suburbs this Bed and Breakfast may peak your interest. Pros. Friendly staff Family in home amenities Home feel. Improvements. More menu selections ( guests pick) 360 in room view Special offers for repeat guests


Far exceeded our expectations.

5 on September 04, 2014

This was our second time staying here and I must say the stay was fantastic. Dennis and Janice were the bomb. Loved meeting the new mascot. The house is charming. My wife loved it. The away from home time was awesome. We will be back.


bed and breakfast has room for improvement

3.0 on September 01, 2014

we decided to stay at this bed and breakfast to add a variety in our usual travel plans. the value for the room stay was great since we got it from groupon. the inn keeper meet us with a warm smile and a welcoming worth it's weight in gold. the only concerns we had were the fact that there is a common key used to acess the house and no way to lock your individual room when your out and about touring the area. our room came with a continental breakfast that could of been fresher then it was. warm muffins and fresh fruit on our room door step would of been the way to go however our continental breakfast was in the refigerator the day of our arrival. the floor mat in the bathroom had mildew stains on the underside of it. minor concerns that can be fixed by the inn keeper and owner. i would stay there again.


Terrific Stay

5 on August 25, 2014

Great property and location... very clean.


Great stay!

4.4 on August 11, 2014

My boyfriend of 4 years and I stayed in mountain laurel suite for a weekend. The stay was great, the rooms were very, very clean and the service was awesome. We would definitely stay at By The Side of The Road again!


Love this Bed & Breakfast!!

4.8 on July 29, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at By The Side of The Road several times and have never been disappointed! The rooms are always very clean and we love all the extra little 'touches' Dennis, Janice and Anna add upon your arrival. The breakfast is wonderful. We will return again and again ~ we love it!!


Historic Charm

4.6 on July 28, 2014

My wife wanted to visit the Virginia state quilt museum, among other things, so in conjunction with our 40th anniversary we looked for a quaint place with historic charm at which to stay during our time in Harrisonburg. We found The Inn by the Side of the Road online and decided to book there. On arrival we were greeted and checked in by Anna and thoroughly introduced to the Inn and our room. The room was more quaint and charming than the pictures online could depict and all the extra touches I had ordered were laid out and ready for us. We spent the following two days visiting the sites we had planned on. Our day always started with a delicious breakfast delivered to our door. The Inn is convenient to the historic center of town, but not in it, so a car is necessary. Checkout was smooth and problem-free and we left feeling like family members. We will return one day.


Incredible B & B

5 on July 28, 2014

I found this enchanting B&B totally by accident and I am so glad I did. It was a truly wonderful experience and Dennis, Janice and Anna could not have been nicer. The room was beautiful and upon our arrival there was flower petals on the bed and a decanter of brandy. Breakfast was a diners delight. I could not wait until the next morning to see what beautiful and tasty breakfast awaited us. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Wonderful Respite

5 on July 24, 2014

We enjoyed our short stay at this B&B. The breakfasts were great and the room was extremely comfortable. We would definitely consider returning if we visit Harrisonburg again.


Well deserved rest

5 on July 22, 2014

I have nothing bad that can be said abut By The Side of The Road. It was a fantastic experience, as usual. It was a one day stay that renews my soul. I can't wait for our next visit there!


50th Anniversary Honeymoon

5 on July 11, 2014

What a wonderful place to spend a honeymoon-the one we never really had! We felt pampered by the wonderful service. Anna prepared the most delicious breakfasts! The area is beautiful. We visited Bluestone Winery and Old Mill Cidery. Dinners at an Irish pub and "Beyond". Worth a return trip!


Relaxing, Refreshing July Fourth Getaway!

4.6 on July 07, 2014

What a great place to unwind, relax, collect your thoughts, and delve into nearby history on our nation's birthday weekend. Dennis, Janice, and Anna are friendly, caring, interesting, and very knowledgeable about the history of the gorgeous house and Fitzgerald Cottage. The breakfasts were elegant and yummy and Dennis brought baskets, complete with a thoughtful note, to our cottage each morning. The Jacuzzi was outstanding, including the lovely candles around the tub. We especially loved rocking on our porch in the evenings with a glass of wine from a local VA winery or, in the mornings, with a cup of coffee listening to the bullfrogs in the nearby pond and all the joyful birds. Highly recommend this B&B!


Great place for a quiet weekend.

5 on July 07, 2014

Everything is done extremely well, breakfast at 9:00am in your room is a fine touch.


By the side of the Road Bed & Breakfast

5 on July 05, 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay at By the Side of the Road Bed & Breakfast. The 1790 Suite was beautiful with a tree shaded porch and great view of the pond. Feather bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Another favorite feature was breakfast delivered to our room. Harrisonburg is a great place to visit. We went to the Green Valley Book Fair, the Arboretum at James Madison University, and had a delicious dinner at the Local Chop & Grill House. We are looking forward to another visit in the near future. Gary & Fiona


Fantastic and Family Friendly

5 on July 04, 2014

As this was our first B'nB experience with our three year old, we were a little hesitant to book the Bishop's Retreat. So GLAD we did. The suite was great. Our daughter enjoyed her super comfy bed with extra pillows and was captivated by the staff who went out of their way to ensure their young guest was comfortable and entertained. No detail was left to chance. If we return to the area, we will definitely stay here again. Thank you!


Short but sweet stay at By The Side Of The Raod Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on July 04, 2014

The whole house was impressive and very clean. The room was great with lots of extra touches like candles and books, games and dvd's. Breakfast was served at the time specified and was left at the room for our convenience. We would definitely go back again.


Wonderful location; fabulous luxurious time travel!

4.2 on June 30, 2014

By the Side of the Road Bed and Breakfast was such a wonderful place to unwind at the end of the day after attending conferences all day at JMU. Janice and Dennis accommodated my breakfast schedule with delicious continental breakfast carryout. I am still feeling the luxury sheets that greeted my evenings!! Wonderful place to stay with a side of the road setting that takes you back in history.


An End of a Hectic Week

5 on June 28, 2014

After a week of traveling and visiting relatives, my husband and I stop at The By The Side of The Road Bed and Breakfast. What a delightful respit before traveling home! The Mountain Laurel Suite was gorgeous and the breakfast delivered to the door was an A+.


wonderful b&b

4.6 on June 26, 2014

nice,clean and great breakfast


Top Notch B&B

5 on June 23, 2014

By the Side of the Road Inn Bed and Breakfast Wow! What a great place to stay. My wife celebrated out 11-year anniversary there and loved it. This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Ardor of Hope Suite. Upon arrival, we received a tour of the house and detailed instruction for our stay from the owner’s daughter. She was awesome! The owners were fantastic and very customer friendly. They took time to chat with us and answer all of our questions and to make recommendations of things to do and places to eat. We purchased some glassware from them on Saturday morning and they had everything wrapped, packaged, and placed in our room upon our return on Saturday afternoon from exploring. They also left us a small bottle of Champagne, two Champagne flutes with a sugar cube in the bottom, and an anniversary card for us…what a great touch to our weekend. We purchased the “Luck of the Irish” package through Groupon, which was fantastic. Along with the stay, we also received a $25 coupon for a Corgans, a local Irish pub that had amazing food. We also received two complimentary bottles of Guinness with two chilled glasses, and a gourmet breakfast delivered to our door each morning. Both breakfasts were absolutely delicious and romantic. The room also had a complimentary Brandy and two small brandy glasses. The house and the rooms were beautiful and included free Wi-Fi, coffee both in-room and in the common area, microwave, fridge, books, and DVD’s to watch. I give this B&B 5-stars and highly recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay.


"E-Service" Excellent, Exceptional & Exemplary

4.0 on June 09, 2014

There are several bed and breakfast to choose from in the Shenandoah Valley, however only one will impress you and have you planning a return visit upon check-out. “By the End of the Road Inn and Cottages” gives you “E- Service” - Exemplary, Exceptional and Excellence. This Bed & Breakfast is approximately 2 hours from Washington DC. There are several little luxuries in this quaint B&B; like breakfast being delivered to your door, daily happy hour of red & white wine, and the self-check-in. For a few dollars more add one of the package deals to make your stay complete. I chose the “Shenandoah Wine Trail” which included a wine tour to local vineyards, a packed picnic basket, and a $50 dinner gift certificate to “BEYOND” (an Asian fusion restaurant in downtown). After visiting Luray Caverns Caves, we went to Bluestone Vineyards for the wine tasting and enjoyed our packed basket of goodies while savoring a bottle of wine. Lastly we went to “BEYOND” for dinner, my beau and I split an appetizer, we both had an entrée and a cocktail - our total was $50.25 so we only had to pay .25 cents plus tip. Overall an enjoyable, relaxing and rejuvenating B&B getaway.


what a great weekend.

5 on June 04, 2014

This was a great little spot to stay. Staff were excellent. Breakfast was 5 stars hands down. My wife and I immensely enjoyed the stay. I will highly recommend to everyone. Thank you for making me look good to my wife for picking you for our 14th anniversary. Will definitely be back.


Great Anniversary Weekend

4.2 on June 02, 2014

Loved the Water Lily Suite! Delicious breakfast delivered to your door each morning! Easy drive to nearby Skyline Drive.


Very relaxing & enjoyable

4.6 on May 23, 2014

Our weekend at By the Side of the Road was very nice and the acccomadations were excellent.


Great Weekend! Romantic!

4.6 on May 21, 2014

Very quaint and quiet weekend. Property is well maintained. Janice is a lovely and sweet woman. It was our first experience, and it was memorable visiting this area.


Beautiful bed and breakfast and great hosts!

5 on May 18, 2014

What a lovely place to get away! My husband and I were very pleased and would go back again.


Great Experience!

4.4 on May 12, 2014

We stayed in the Ardor of Hope Suite over graduation and loved it. Close to JMU campus and the downtown area but perfectly quiet and relaxing. Very easy to book, as well. We will definitely be staying here for future trips!


Exceptional B & B

5 on May 04, 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of wonderfully relaxing days at the Side of the Road Inn. We stayed in the Eselyn Taylor suite which was very comfortable and cozy. We were impressed with the delicious breakfasts served to us each morning. The innkeepers were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The weather was a bit rainy, but there is so much to see and do in the Harrisonburg area, it did not keep us from enjoying our stay in the least. We hope to return again.


Charming!

4.6 on April 14, 2014

Loved the room we stayed in - the staff was very gracious and friendly. Breakfast was quite delicious -


Nice B&B

3.8 on April 10, 2014

Always a quiet retreat. This is a great place to relax and get away.


Absolutely Wonderful visit

5 on April 07, 2014

We have stayed at several B&Bs over the past few years and this was by far the best. We stayed in the Water Lily Cottage (highly recommend it) and it was just beautiful with an awesome shower (once I figured out how to work it :) This was the first time we had breakfast delivered to our room and we really enjoyed it. Muchas Gracias for a wonderful visit. We will definitely be back.


Wonderful weekend getaway!

5 on April 02, 2014

Our room was beautiful and complete with all the pampered extras to make our stay delightful. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. The owners and staff were always available to assist in any way and gave us great recommendations on places to visit and things to do during our weekend. We enjoyed our stay at the By The Side Of The Road B&B so much and we plan to go again and highly recommend it to anyone!!


Don't let these average grades deter you..please try for yourself!!

2.8 on March 31, 2014

As me and my girlfriend are making the B & B circuit (Poconos, Dutch country, etc.) I found this nice spot in VA.(the pictures online were nice) and decided to bring her for her birthday. We stayed in the Quill Cottage, itt was quaintly decorated and provided a little bit privacy. However, the actual living quarters were smaller than I thought it would be. The bathroom is HUGE(its the same size as the living quarters) so if you dig big bathrooms and soaking tubs go right away! The Quill cottage does keep you separated from whatever amenities the primary house offers and while they have 24 hour service we didn't really know about it, but I will take some blame for that in not reading all of the rules and regs before settling in. There isn't tons to do...the farmers markets were lacking in my estimation compare to the Dutch country. The breakfast was ok...the portions were small and (pancakes and 2 sausage the first day and a small souffle sitting on a sausage pattie the second) You have to try for yourself...I wasn't overwhelmed by the B&B or the area. I have been to worse B&B's thats for sure.

Innkeeper Response
We remember meeting you and your lovely girl friend at check out on Sunday morning. We are dismayed to learn we didn't measure up to your standards. Hopefully the rest of your B&B visits referenced in your review made for an positive overall vacation. Best regards, Delano.


Outstanding

5 on March 26, 2014

We bought this stay on Groupon- What a great deal and getaway. Food was top notch, accomodations were impressive. Anna is "Awesome".

Innkeeper Response
We think Anna is "awesome", too. Thanks for saying so and for taking time to share your getaway experience. Please come again. Best regards...


Perfect Romantic Getaway

5 on March 24, 2014

We arrived late on a Friday and found the property to be beautiful with spot lights accenting the trees by the lake. The water lily suite was so welcoming. We opened the door to find the fireplace on, music playing, and soft lighting. We felt at home immediately. There were snacks and cordials waiting for us as well, and rose petals on the bed. Just so many nice touches. We enjoyed a lovely two night stay and a gormet breakfast each morning thoughtfully delivered to our door. We would highly recommend this B&B and look forward to returning. Thank you for a lovely weekend. Lou & Tiffany

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy those canopy lights on the trees were enjoyed! Thanks for saying so. Please do return sooner than later; we can't wait to see you again!


Lovely B&B in Harrisonburg.

4.6 on March 06, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at By the Side of the Road. The suite of rooms was cozy and inviting. The food was creative and excellent. Janice and Dennis gave much attention to every detail. Strongly recommend this B&B!

Innkeeper Response
Nothing makes us happier than to know you enjoyed your stay enough to recommend us to others. We so appreciate your taking time to do so and welcome your return to By the Side of the Road!


Awesome Bed & Breakfast

5 on February 19, 2014

We stayed in the Eselyn Taylor Suite over Valentines' Day Weekend. My husband & I have stayed at several B&Bs and have to say this one was right up there with the best. The room was delightful and the old house was really cool. Our bed was very comfortable and really enjoyed having breakfast served to us in our room. We had breakfast by the window with the fireplace on - it was very romantic. The innkeepers were extremely nice. Harrisonburg is a great place to visit as well with lots to do and see. This B&B was very close to everything. We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend "By The Side of The Road Bed and Breakfast" to anyone. We hope to get back one day. February, 2014 Joyce & David, Fredericksburg, VA

Innkeeper Response
Dear Joyce & David, Fredricksburg is just the perfect distance for a great weekend getaway. We look forward to next time and will do our very best to make it special all over again. Best regards!


Romantic cottage just perfect for a snowed-in Valentines Day

4.2 on February 18, 2014

Arrived just before a big snowstorm. It was the perfect place to be snowed in with my sweetie. Cozy fireplace, complimentary cream sherry, and the most comfortable bed sheets that I have ever slept on. Delicious breakfast brought to our door in the morning. Thinking about making this place our Valentines Day tradition.

Innkeeper Response
Please DO make By the Side of the Road your Valentine's Day Tradition. Maybe next year it won't be quite so cold and snowy. We can't wait for your return!


Thank you for your hospitality!

5 on February 17, 2014

We purchased this stay for our Pastor and First Lady's 40th Wedding Anniversary to provide them with a place they could just go to relax and get away. From the time they arrived to the time they returned home, both of them were highly elated over the accommodations and particularly the hospitality. Thank you so much for making their getaway a wonderful experience.

Innkeeper Response
What a delight for us to treat your pastor and his "lady". They were so lovely. We are pleased that we were able to fulfill your expectations for a gift-given to those who are extremely important to you and your church family. Blessing to you!


Great Getaway

4.8 on February 13, 2014

What a wonderful place to visit! Not only was the room adorable, antique covered, and cozy, but the entire staff was so friendly. We will DEFINITELY be returning!

Innkeeper Response
We couldn't be more delighted with your experience at By the Side of the Road and welcome your return! Please be sure to mention you are returning guests so that we can provide our "loyalty discount". Thanks for taking time to review our inn; most appreciated!


Review of the Bergey Cottage

4.4 on February 11, 2014

The cottage was fantastic and the owners were great!

Innkeeper Response
Taking time to opine about the cottages and especially we "old" owners, it so appreciated. Please do come again!


Will ABSOLUTELY RETURN....beautiful romantic getaway, staff is super friendly!!!!

5 on February 03, 2014

My boyfriend found this place on Groupon, and we decided to go with a cottage. OMG, it was amazing. The whirltub, the dual fireplace, the decoration, the breakfast, so clean, Anna is so super friendly, informative and nice. I can't wait to come back. It has a coffee maker, microwave, refridge. We also went to Bluestone Vineyard, very nice and free tasting as we were guests at the cottage. Just say you are a guest. Great wine! I included pictures too! Here are some food place recommendations that are in the Old Town Harrisonburg area (definately do some walking here, so pretty). "Beyond", asian flare, delish. The Cuban Burger (an absolute must place to go, so freaking good), Corglish English Pub - we had the lamb shank and salmon, so super yummy with the wedge salad. Walking around it's beautiful with all the churches, the JMU campus is beautiful to take a drive through. Overall, I couldn't of been happier. we stayed here for three days, two nights. I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE. I will definately come back. Thank you very much, Stephanie


We Will Return

4.6 on January 30, 2014

My wife, our newborn baby and I stayed at By the Side of the Road a few months ago as a special getaway before my wife returned to work after maternity leave. Even though I failed to find a place for us to go before the week before, By the Side of the Road had a room available - during peak leaf season - and was one of the few such establishments in the Harrisonburg area that had accommodations for children. The hospitality was wonderful. Even though we only stayed one night, everything was ready when we arrived to check in, and the staff was warm, friendly and helpful. This was our first experience with a B and B, and we will definitely back. From help picking an appropriate restaurant, to suggestions on things to see on our way back to Northern Virginia, to the the wonderful breakfast, we couldn't have asked for more, especially at such a reasonable price. Like I wrote earlier, we will definitely be back for a longer stay!

Innkeeper Response
We are so pleased that The Bishop's Retreat serves families of young children so well. Sometimes you need a "retreat" more that others. Do come again, and thanks for taking time to share your experience. Best regards...


Wonderful Winter Getaway

5 on January 24, 2014

Beautiful, historic inn! Our room was perfect and we enjoyed the fireplace and jacuzzi tub. We have stayed at many B&Bs but never at one where they bring your breakfast to your room in the morning. We were wondering how that be and were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and there was plenty to eat! We also enjoyed the picnic lunch that was packed for us and the friendliness of the inn keepers. A very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay for a nice get away!


An honest evaluation

5 on January 19, 2014

I generally don't take the time to add my opinion of places my wife and I have stayed along our travels which consequently have been many, but this time it seemed like the right thing to do. Our stay here was nothing short of delightful. A very cozy, clean, comfortable, and elegant old house with all the modern amenities for a relaxing stay. And while we only stayed one night along our way earlier this month (January), we went ahead and reserved the same room on our next trip through in June. Dennis and Janice were very nice hosts. Very nice! We weren't bothered with any unnecessaries. Breakfast was left at our door at the agreed time, and was very well prepared and presented. We just simply felt real good about everything, and thought we should share. We've stayed at plenty bed & breakfasts and while we don't nitpick, there usually seems to be some small unpleasantry or obvious overlooked necessity of creature comforts. Not so here. Don't hesitate to try this place out. You won't regret it . Sincerely Appreciative, The Ellerman's Nashville, Tennessee


By the Side of the Road

4.6 on December 04, 2013

An amazing bed and breakfast in a beautiful location. The accommodations were immaculate and of the highest quality. Also, they have enormous whirlpool tubs!


Lovely Inn

4.8 on December 03, 2013

We stayed in The Eselyn Taylor Suite which was a bit smaller than I expected but it was very cozy with the fireplace and the bathroom you could tap dance in. The large soaking tub was a nice feature as well complete with candles that you can light around it. The breakfast both mornings we stayed were absolutely delicious--delivered to our door at 9:00-9:15. Pancakes with fresh orange cardamon syrup, sausage and cider from the Old Mill Cider one morning -- the next a delicious egg souffle with fresh herbs with a goat cheese dolop on top, fresh fruit blended with cream cheese and pecans and sausage. Both days were very filling lovingly cooked by both Anna and her Mom Janice. We went on a Living Social deal so they also packed a lovely picnic basket which was at our door the next morning. It was pouring rain the day we got it unfortunately but it was still a very nice touch and we thoroughly enjoyed. We also enjoyed a 1/2 pound of homemade fudge from Grandma's Kitchen compliments of the Innkeepers. Our room was freshened each day we were there. Anna is a sweetheart! She showed us the other cottages at our request, answered any questions we had, was very friendly and helpful. The innkeepers also honor your privacy as well. The noise level in the Manor House is kept to a minimum because of the 15 foot walls, however in our suite because we are close to the front door, you can hear guests coming and going and talking. One night we did hear a TV upstairs but generally very quiet. I would stay in one of the rooms upstairs or the cottages next time. We shall return in the spring perhaps. Julia and Michael from Silver Spring, MD


Amazing First Time Bed and Breakfast Experience

5 on November 21, 2013

We stayed in the Quill cottage for our 15th wedding anniversay. It was more than I expected, everything looked exactly as it does on their website. Very clean, cozy and comfy. The tub was amazing and even fit both me and my 6 foot 2 husband. I would reccommend this B&B to anyone. I was so pleased and the basket delivery of breakfast each morning was delish! You won't be disappointed.


First time Great Time

5 on November 04, 2013

Super service. Wonderful room Really nice folks Smart helpful


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

4.8 on October 30, 2013

We stayed in the Mount Laurel cottage at By The Side of The Road Bed & Breakfast for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We were very pleased with the overall comfort and cleanliness of the cottage and appreciated how close it was to downtown Harrisonburg and the wineries we wanted to visit. Breakfast was delicious and it was just so cozy to relax in.The bed sheets were the most comfortable sheets I have ever slept in! I still want to buy a set of those. I highly recommend this B&B!


A Great Place to Celebrate & Unwind

4.4 on October 15, 2013

We stayed at the By The Side of The Road B&B for our first wedding anniversary and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The Bergey Cottage was adorable, cozy, and the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Highly recommend this B&B!


Best B & B we have ever stayed at

5 on May 02, 2013

My husband & I were able to spend a night at By The Side Of The Road for our anniversary & it didn't dissapoint! Upon arrival, we were greeted with some soothing music. The cabin was spacious & the floor plan quite nice. The sitting chairs were very comfortable! There were many nice ammenities. The large bath tub was the hightlight of my evening! It was so relaxing! In the morning we were greeted with breakfast brought to our door. It was one of my favorite breakfasts I have ever had! The staff was so warm & helpful! It couldn't have been a better place to stay! I highly recommend one of the cottages for your stay! I can't wait to go back!


Fun stay at By the Sid of the Road

4.8 on August 25, 2010

Our experience at "By the Side of the Road" was delightful. Everything was just as we wanted it to be at a Virginia B & B. Good location for exploring southern end of the Shenendoah Valley.


Great Bed & Breakfast in Harrisonburg.

4.4 on July 19, 2010

We stayed in the Eselyn Taylor Suite and had a wonderful, relaxing weekend. The breakfasts were local and fresh, the bed was very comfortable, the bathtub was exquisite, and all of the activities in Harrisonburg were quaint, fun, and exciting! We'd recommend visiting the local farmers market on a Saturday, checking out local vineyards, and taking a bike ride on the Keezletown loop just east of town. There are also some great hikes and swimming holes nearby. A great weekend all around. Thanks!


Wonderful

5 on July 06, 2010

What a wonderful B&B! The staff was wonderful and the accomodations were amazing!


We have never felt so cared for!

5 on June 14, 2010

My fiance and I just returned from a wonderful long weekend at By the Side of the Road in Harrisonburg, VA. Dennis and Janice, the innkeepers, are sweet and caring people, and will do absolutely anything to make their guests feel at home. Breakfast was delicious, and it was exciting to wake up to a different surprise every morning! Also, the package we purchased, the Absolutely LOCAL package, gave us the perfect amount of activities (with tons of gift certificates to local shops/restaurants around town), and we didn't feel rushed or pressured. By the Side of the Road far exceeded our expectations, and was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the quiet surroundings, and each other. Thanks again!


Outstanding Inn!

5 on June 07, 2010

We stayed at By the Side of the Road and loved every minute of it. We will definitely return!


Great Experience!

3.8 on May 31, 2010

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and this was a first for both of us. I had always wanted to stay at a B&B and we got very lucky. We stayed in Quill Cottage and it surpassed our expectations. I reserved a cottage for the privacy but was impressed by the decor and the small thoughtful touches. The breakfast baskets they delivered to our door steps were delicious. The only glitch was the picnic basket. We payed $49 for a two small wedges of cheese, two apples, bread, crackers and cream puffs. I felt it was overpriced. Everything else was fantastic! We will definitely go back.


Wow! No little detail goes unnoticed!

4.8 on May 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights (The Local Package - highly recommend it!) and it by far exceeded our expectations. Extremely clean, homey, comfortable, lavish bedding, gourmet breakfast served on china, dessert wine in the room, candles, nice selection of movies on DVD, yummy homemade baked goods always available.....I couldn't believe everything they provided. It was the perfect romantic getaway! The innkeepers are so friendly and attentive. Loved it! :)


JMU Graduation Weekend

5 on May 20, 2010

JMU graduation weekend!! Service and accommodations just wonderful!! Beautiful room, setting, everything you need to feel at home. Will visit again!


Wonderful Time at By The Side of the Road

5 on May 16, 2010

The place was fantastic - we stayed in the large cottage. We went to bed early, got up late, and had a wonderful breakfast delievered to our door each morning. We had coffee on the porch and regular visits from the B&B resident cat. That was a nice treat! The Fitzgeralds were great - left you alone unless you had questions or just wanted to talk about the history of the place. We'll be back !! bob and carolyn


Great stay...

5 on May 03, 2010

We will definitely return to this B&B...everything was wonderful!


Great weekend get away!

4.8 on April 13, 2010

What a wonderful place for my husband and I to enjoy our weekend get away. Hoping to make it a tradition.


Romantic,Comfortable- Beautiful

3.8 on April 04, 2010

Local Package was great- gave you a feel of the area and wineries. Local Chop & Grill House was outstanding. We spent hours at the Daton,VA farmers market- so much to choose from!


Relaxing Getaway with the most delicious food

5 on January 06, 2010

My husband and I spent four days after Christmas at By The Side of the Road B & B. As soon as you enter the 1700's home, you feel so comfortable. Janice and Dennis have decorated the inn with many period antiques but also many of their personal things. There are even pictures of their family all around the place. Our room (The Arbor of Hope) was spacious and the down bed and pillows were so comfortable. We had a little problem getting our shades down but our attentive hosts immediately checked this out. The breakfasts were delicious....from banana pancakes with carmel syrup and bacon to quiche with fresh fruits and coffee cake...everything was so satisfying that we found we did not even need lunch. And the never ending evening cookies were always crispy and perfect. Dennis gave us wonderful directions to area attractions as well as dining suggestions and Janice was just a delightful hostess with many stories about the area. The location is perfect for getting to many places in the Shenendoah region and the inn itself is near housing developments so there are places for people to incorporate an early morning walk or run before breakfast. We highly recommend this relaxing and charming inn.


Home away from home

4.8 on November 30, 2009

Better than any hotel I've ever been to. My first bed and breakfast and certainly not my last. I can never look for a hotel again after this wonderful b&b!


Nice room, but inn lacked personal touch

4.0 on November 09, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the cottage, the room was very nice, but we felt like we were imposing on the inn keeper. We didn't have to even go the the main house to check-in, so there wasn't that personal touch we love about a bed and breakfast. In the morning when we ventured up to the main house around 7:30 we met the innkeeper, but he was reluctant to let us in due to others sleeping. We were told that our breakfast would be delivered to our cottage at 9:15. When it was delivered, we were just handed a basket with the food, with no offer to come in and set up the table for our breakfast. The only other note is that you can hear traffic noice, as the inn truly is by the side of the road.


Definitely will be back!

4.8 on November 03, 2009

By the Side of the Road Bed & Breakfast made our 24th wedding anniversary very special. We couldn't have asked for more! Beautiful cottage in a relaxing setting. The dual fireplace was very nice and the breakfast was delicious. Thank you - we will definitely be back!!


Great Value and Fantastic Experience

4.6 on October 26, 2009

We stayed in the detached townhouse down the road from the actual bed and breakfast. It was truly a phenominal experience. It is conveniently located close to downtown Harrisonburg and only about 20 miles from Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive. The place is very large and reasonably priced. The townhouse is clean and stocked with movies, books, modest food, and everything you need to have a wonderful get-away weekend. There are great conveniences, like Wi-Fi, Cable in multiple rooms, ,multiple DVD players, and a radio with an iPod docking station. The kitchen is modern, with a great cooktop, microwave, oven, and dishwasher as well as plates, utensils, pots, and pans. The onyl two small negatives are that there were no steak knives and the propane tank for the grill was empty, so it didn't work. We also had a small issue with the Wi-Fi password being incorrect, but that was fixed quickly and easily with one phone call. I would definitely come back!


We had the time of our lives

5 on October 14, 2009

It was awesome from start to finish! Very quiet and peaceful. Very romantic. The breakfasts were amazing! I would highly recommend the picnic basket, it was well worth it. We took it up to skyline drive to a picnic area, it was awesome!! We will definitely be returning to By the Side of the Road B&B


A Tranquil Retreat "By The Side Of The Road"

5 on October 07, 2009

We have stayed at this B&B several times & have enjoyed unique, different rooms in the main house each time. This visit, however, we stayed in the Quill Cottage...a truly wonderful experience. The cottage is decorated so well; it's comfortable, cozy & offers everything you need. We loved it! Of course, Janice's gourmet breakfast is always a treat!!! Janice & Dennis are extremely accommodating hosts who understand that we all need a "retreat" & do their best to make sure you have it By The Side Of The Road.


excellent, beautiful setting

4.8 on September 30, 2009

a wonderfully relaxing, delicious b & b. wife and i have visited many b & b's and would rate this in the top 5%. 1790 is very roomy, hosts extremely attentive to detail and wanting us to be accommodated, and location very close to shenandoahs, wineries and JMU


Perfect

5 on September 28, 2009

The title says it all!


Wonderful Getaway

4.6 on June 29, 2009

This was by far one of the best bed and breakfasts I have stayed at. The rooms were wonderful, especially the whirlpool tub and Janice and Dennis could not have been nicer. I can't wait to come back!


Beyond our expectations

5 on May 12, 2009

We loved every minute of our stay at your B & B. From the rose petals on the bed to the chocolate covered strawberries and picnic basket we ordered for the day of our 20th anniversary, everything about your place exceeded our expectations. The Bergey Cottage was roomy, clean and the gourmet breakfasts were simply awesome. Janice, Dennis & Anna you helped make our special occasion memorable.


weekend getaway

3.8 on April 28, 2009

Very pleasant surroundings and excellent fare. However, we probably will not return - upon return to the room, several of my items were moved and we were unable to locate them at first; left us with an uneasy feeling


Jeff and Kelly's Wedding

5 on April 07, 2009

Wow! Where do I begin!? This is truly an exceptional B&B experience! We stayed in one of the private cottages and simply LOVED it! It was cozy and beautiful and excellently appointed. From the gourmet breakfasts to the romantic jaccuzi tub to the featther beds we had the time of our lives! The owners are terrific and they really go out of their way to see to it that we had a nice time. I can't wait to go back to celebrate our anniversary! We also loved the B&B cat, Dandy! Thanks for an experience to be remembered for a lifetime!


Comfortable and elegant B&B

3.8 on March 26, 2009

An old-fashioned welcome awaits you in an old-fashioned home. This is a family run bed and breakfast inn and you will be assured of a comfortable stay and some delicious breakfasts. Definitely a place to revisit!


Ski And Lynn's Stay

4.0 on March 24, 2009

This is the first time I have stayed in a B&B and I was a little hesitant. But I was pleasntly surprised by how welcome we felt the whole time we were there. It was like being a part of the family. I would recommend By the Side of the Road B&B very much and look forward to staying there again in the future.


Romatic Getaway!!

5 on February 17, 2009

Wonderful getaway place! Very detailed staff, helped with dinner reservations. Beautiful cottage!! Very private!!!


Perfect Getaway

5 on February 17, 2009

I was skeptical at first, not knowing what to expect from the online pictures to the other reviews, but this particular place set in the countryside of the Shenandoah Valley is the perfect place to get away from all the hustle and bustle of the busy city. From the quaint cottage style rooms filled with relaxing sounds and beautiful ornate walls to the delicious breakfast served right to our door, I can't think of anywhere else in Virginia that I would rather be to spend some time with the one that I love. If you have not been to this Bed and Breakfast experience, you are missing a retreat that you will never forget. The staff was kind and courteous but still left us to a private and romantic personalized getaway. I will return without a doubt.


Romantic Getaway

3.4 on February 02, 2009

Celebration of our 1 year anniversary was a breeze at this wonderful getaway. The Fitzgerald Cottage was like a dream: fluffy king bed, with a spiral stair going to the lower level having a hot tub adjacent a stone fireplace, comfy chairs and romantic music. WOW; for us it was one of the greatest days of our wonderful relationship.


weekend in the mountains

4.6 on December 10, 2008

Janice and Dennis were the perfect innkeepers. They were warm and inviting, while giving us the right amount of privacy and suggestions for trips around town. Janice was a wonderful cook and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.


Getaway Weekend from DC

4.8 on August 29, 2008

This is our third stay at this wonderful B&B and we will definitely return again. The cottages are cozy, clean and have many amenities. The owners are friendly and very accommodating. This is one of the jewels of the Shenandoah Valley and a great base to explore the many excellent wineries in central Virginia.


Excellent

5 on August 23, 2008

We stayed in the Quill Cottage. It was absolutely wonderful! It was a pre-baby getaway and we greatly enjoyed it! The cottage was clean, inviting and had everything you could possibly need!!! Brian and Rebecca


Perfect simple honeymoon

4.0 on August 10, 2008

My fiance and I planned a small wedding at my sister's home and wanted a nice place to stay for the weekend. Originally thinking we would want a cottage, we opted for the main house. This was a first B&B visit for both of us and we were so pleased with our choice for the communal home. The owners and their family members were so nice and the food was delicious (the egg souffle was unforgettable!).


By the Side of the Road B&B

4.8 on July 15, 2008

We will stay at B&B's now more often.


Comfortable Get Away Den

4.6 on July 07, 2008

We loved the comfortable club chairs and good reading light in the living rm of our suite. The bed was also very comfortable and had good reading lights which are rare in B & Bs. The owners don't mingle much with the guests, but they are nice and will help when asked. We received a 15% discount from their newsletter which was greatly appreciated.


Great

4.4 on May 30, 2008

Great


Must Stay

3.6 on May 29, 2008

My wife adn I celebrated our 5th anniversary at "By the Side of the Road". The innkeepers were extremely thoughtful and kind, not to mention the fact that the rooms was impeccable and the bed comfortable. I would recommend this B and B as a "must stay".


A wonderful return visit!

4.6 on April 28, 2008

This was our 3rd visit to By the Side of the Road, visiting our daughter who attended JMU. We have loved it each time. The cost is a little high for the private cottages, but we find it well worth the extravegance. The cottages are so nicely appointed and the privacy is an added plus. The delivery of the breakfast basket is timely and the food is delicious! We've enjoyed the owners respect for our privacy, but find them delightful when our paths cross at check out and while making reservations. The personalized welcome sign in the cottage made us feel especially welcome. We're not sure how long our daughter will remain in Harrisonburg, but we know where we'll stay whenever we visit. Thanks for the great experience!!!!!


Romantic getaway

4.6 on March 01, 2008

The privacy was perfect! THey brought a warm breakfast to our door each morning that was absoloutely delicious! The cottage was very cute and the huge jacuzzi tub in front of the fireplace was just what I was looking for in a romantic getaway!


Exceeded Expectations

4.4 on February 08, 2008

Beautifully decorated. Service customized to the guests.


Great Place!

4.6 on January 29, 2008

We called based on a recommendation from the tourist office in Harrisonburg and they were right! Great place, lovely appointments and very friendly and knowledgeable hosts. We would definitely stay here again. From the friendly tourist office to Janice's tips on where to go, we had a great time and would highly recommend it. Thanks much!


Great potential

2.8 on January 01, 2008

Quiet location quiet w/nice landscaping. Main areas beautifully decorated. Personal greeting by Dennis, final payment, and tour was quick rushed. Stayed in 1790 suite w/1 BR, 1 sep sitting rm, 1 bath. Small flat panel LCD tv/dvd combo is in sep sitting room. LCD screen inhibited viewing from all angles. Gas fireplace was romantic but couldn’t see it while lying in bed. No TV in BR. Claw foot tub awesome. Ran out of hot water 2x. Towel rack behind tub fell in tub when I picked up hand towel from it; needs mount tightening. Bath towels smelled of mildew which meant they were left in laundry 6-8 hrs + before dried; smell transferred to skin. Cookies stale 1st night. Breakfast promptly served at 9 am, no choices, don’t know what you’re getting. Had banana pancakes and sausage-great. 2nd night boyfriend had pink eye; went to local ER until late on New Years Eve. Because of contagious pink eye, we decided not to eat breakfast 2nd day. Dennis walked up to our room door at 9:10 a.m. on New Years Day to ask if we’d be joining and we said no. Leaving, Dennis approached me to ask if anything was broken because “the help” heard a loud noise and laughing the day prior. I said towel rack fell in tub but wasn’t broken. I felt spied on a bit. I felt hunted down when we didn’t go to breakfast. My exit was spent defending myself. I apologized for missing breakfast due to pink eye/ER; his response was that I should’ve still let him know so he didn’t keep others waiting. I was disappointed by the their approach and hospitality. I didn’t feel welcomed and was surprised how unfriendly they were. I saw Janice once briefly. I paid $375.18 for 2 ngts and do not feel I got my money’s worth.


First BandB

5 on October 30, 2007

First Bed and Breakfast experience. My husband and I were not disappointed.


Wonderful Surprise!

4.2 on October 24, 2007

I was meeting an old friend for a school reunion and we had a wonderful 2 night stay. Charming home, AMAZING breakfasts. Very attentive, friendly hosts. Very enjoyable stay, I'd recommend to friends and hope to visit again when I'm in Va. Thanks!


Great place

4.4 on September 11, 2007

The ambiance was very cozy and relaxing. The owners were very affable and saw to it the stay was enjoyable. I also enjoyed how quiet the neighborhood was.


Anniversary weekend

4.4 on September 10, 2007

We got away for our 27th anniversary. This was our 1st time at a B&B. We were so pleased to have found these cottages. Very private and cozy, just what we were looking for and needed. It was nice to have breakfast delivered to our cottage so we could eat in our pj's. We did not have to leave this cute cottage at all...it had everything, TV, DVD, CD, Microwave, Refrig....all the comforts of home. We highly recommend this B&B for anyone looking for some privacy and relaxation.


Another Great Getaway

4.6 on August 15, 2007

We just returned from a wonderfully relaxing weekend at By the Side of the Road celebrating our 14th anniversary. This marks our 8th consecutive anniversary weekend. This 8th visit was just as special as our first. Dennis and Janice are always friendly and ready for an afternoon catch up session. We spent a leisurely Sat afternoon napping in our suite and then walking in and out of shops in Staunton (a 15 minute ride). We had a nice relaxing dinner at the Mill St Grille in Staunton. Breakfast both mornings was fabulous as usual. In 8 years (16 meals), we have had one dish 3 times - my husband's favorite and the rest of the time it has been something different, and always very satisfying. As we walk to the car on Sunday after check out, we are thinking ahead to our next anniversary and next visit. We are anxiously awaiting our 15th anniversary and 9th stay with the Fitzgeralds. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway.


Romantic and Relaxing Weekend

5 on August 06, 2007

My husband and I searched for a Bed and Breakfast where we could enjoy our anniversary. We are thrilled with our decision to stay at By the Side of the Road. When reflecting about our stay on the way home, we could only think of wonderful things. The hosts were friendly and accommodating, the house was cozy and wonderfully decorated and our room was comfortable and romantic. Everything was as advertised. The home sits on a wonderful property where Dennis and Janice maintain wonderful gardens and seating areas. Breakfast was delightful. We can't say enough about our stay.


Quiet, Romantic, and Elegant

5 on July 31, 2007

My Wife and I were traveling through the area looking at real estate, but also hoping to have some quiet time together. We stayed in a charming cottage that was named for one of their children and we had every creature comfort you could ask for. Janice and Dennis were lovely and attentive, but still gave us our privacy. We especially enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and the assorted cheeses. We'll definitely be back :)


Unhospitable and Unsatisfying

2.0 on July 23, 2007

By the Side of the Road is located on the side of a busy street in a quasi-suburban area in Harrisonburg in the middle of neighborhood (the pictures won't tell you this). The location is less than ideal if you are looking for a location that offers privacy on their grounds or a country/quiet environment. My guest and I stayed in one of the cottages. It was like renting a miniature house in our own suburban area back home, which defeats the purpose of a vacation. The cottage was well-decorated and the amenities in the cottage were nice. It stops here, though. The innkeepers made this stay less than desirable. They did not greet us when we arrived, despite being outside on their property for quites some time. In fact, out of a three day stay, we did not see them until the second day when they knocked VERY LOUDLY on the door and left the breakfast basket. We had to go and seek them out, even still they were less than friendly and seemed less than thrilled to discuss area attractions. Speaking in terms of the breakfast, the innkeepers did not pay attention to our breakfast requests that were based on specific allergies. When we asked them for other options (they serve different breakfast options every day) and reminded them of allergies, they became very confrontational and were less than accomodating... Additionally, they were not willing to clean the hot tub/large bathtub when we requested they do so. They cited their reason as...they are not a hotel. I agree. They are not a hotel, as a hotel would have been given a higher level of customer service considering the money being paid. We will not return to this B&B again, as there are other, more quality B&B's where we can spend our money and time.

Innkeeper Response
We could defend these allegations point-for-point but have chosen not to do so. Occasionally the guest and the inn are not the right “fit”. Sometimes guests arrive angry and impossible to satisfy. That is part of our challenge as innkeepers. As this litany of complaints suggests, we failed to meet the expectations of this couple. We need to say that what was described as a major dairy allergy was treated carefully, as is always the case here. We also need to clarify that the cottage (including the oversized whirlpool tub) was cleaned daily and re-cleaned at 9:00pm on Saturday evening, as requested by these guests. Three pages of the cottage guestbook and an oral “dressing down” by the couple on Sunday morning prepared us for their published opinion here and on “every website and association possible”. So be it…our best fell short of their expectations and while their dissatisfaction is regrettable, we believe it was for reasons beyond our control. We hope you will come be our guests and form your own opinions of By the Side of the Road


First Bed and Breakfast Experience

5 on May 14, 2007

We wanted a weekend to get away from our hectic life at home. Janice and Dennis made us feel welcome right away. They gave us privacy, but were available if we needed anything. We enjoyed sitting on the porch swing and watching the sunset and looking at the pond in the evening. We were nervous about staying at a B&B as it was our first time. They made it completely worthwhile and we can not wait to come back!


Easter Get Away weeked

5 on April 17, 2007

The B&B was most delightful. The food was great. The innkeepers were very kind and very knowledgable about the history of the house and surrounding area. Would highly recommend visiting this area and staying at this wonderful B&!


Delightful

5 on April 17, 2007

Our stay here was delightful. The Bergey Cottage exceeded our expectations; nicely appointed, large, huge bathroom, very clean. Janice and Dennis are warm and hospitable hosts. We would return in a heartbeat.


Delightful and Charming

4.6 on April 09, 2007

This circa 1792/1840 Inn is well managed and most comfortable. Appointed nicely, Dennics and Janice make you feel welcome and totally at ease in this beautiful home. My wife and I along with another couple chose the Easter Weekend for a relaxed get away. We were most pleased with the accomodations, the cleanliness, and well proportioned breakfast delights. The Inn location allowed easy access to the New Market Battlefield and numerous wineries. In summary, a most enjoyable stay and a place I will return to.


By The Side Of The Road Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $179 - $299
  • Reviews (117) 4.6
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5408010430

Visit Website »

View details

Top