Lady Neptune Bed & Breakfast Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Lady Neptune is a sweet surprise!

5 on July 03, 2014

Just a short walk to the beach, and a great night sleep with the Bay Breezes blowing through your window. Shirley is a great host, and a great cook as well. You can't go wrong by staying at "The Lady Neptune".


Wonderful time at Lady Neptune

4.6 on June 24, 2014

Shirley was a wonderful hostess! She made my husband and I feel right at home. Her home is a quaint, little gem just a block away from the beach. She had beach chairs for us to use and recommended great places to dine out.


Solid accommodations with an incredibly hospitable host.

3.4 on November 03, 2013

I came to the B&B for a concert at Hampton Coliseum and this was a perfect place for me to stay. The pizza place down the street is nice for a good brew and pizza. The proximity to the waterfront was terrific. Shirley was a generous hostess.


Russ' Stay on September 28th and 29th, 2013

5 on October 08, 2013

Lovely place across from the beach along the Chesapeake Bay. A great place to chill out away from the beaten path.


Friendly B and B by the sea

4.2 on October 28, 2012

Shirley and her family were very welcoming, and the rooms were lovely, for a very reasonable price. I definitely recommend this place!


Lady Neptune - Queit Relaxation

3.6 on August 29, 2012

Very nice establishment, friendly staff and delicious breakfast. Was not thrilled with the bathtub in the sleeping area, but the room did have private bathroom


Diva and the Golden Girls' Annual Vacation Stay

5 on July 17, 2012

Lady Neptune's Bed and Breakfast has become our annual vacation place. It is really a five-star high style, comfortable, exciting and relaxing vacation. The hospitality extended to us by Shirley and her husband is awesome. The meals were delightful!! Such a relaxing atmosphere. It was such a joy to spend a few days at Lady Neptune's Bed and Breakfast.


Shirley & Johnny McQueen are beautiful people

5 on February 23, 2012

The stay was emaculate. It was more than what I expected. I wanted to be in a discrete and quiet location, which I was. The view of the water was peaceable. Each room defined itself with elaborate antique designs and a vintage appeal. I didn't want any comtemporary/commercial setting. I felt so at home and can't wait to return. Also I am a RAW vegan (70%) and Mrs. McQueen accomodated both my partner and I with Vegan meals. It's nice go to a place, be accomodated, and not feel like an inconvenience. Thanks for everything- see you soon! Johnee' Wilson


Great folks and service !

4.0 on January 27, 2012

Totally enjoyed my stay during the last part of December. Even during the winter month, the view from her balcony is breathtaking!!! Keep up the good work Ms. McQueen !!


Job WELL DONE Mrs. McQueen

4.0 on January 25, 2012

From day one, Lady Neptune has been my favorite place to stay and release the burdens of my hectic life. The McQueens have always welcomed me with open arms. Even though I live five minutes away from the B&B, it is a wonderful place to get away to! I can sit on the front porch and hear the water in the background. Wonderful, Wonderful! Pamela Parker a la Maison Event Planning Design 757-729-3929 Where the answer is, YES we can!


A Place To Rest and Explore!!!!!

5 on September 12, 2011

I don't even know where to begin with my review of The Lady Neptune. I felt like I walked into a beautiful, different, and serene, yet exciting place to place my head..not realizing I was putting my heart and soul there also! BEAUTIFUL place to stay..LOVE the decor, LOVE where it is located---right AT the beach and so very close to everything else, wonderful places to eat dinner,local events, malls, cruises...everything you could want to do. Shirley has the most charming personality and loving way about her and it comes out in her in every way...she plans what you ask her to plan just like you want it...her breakfast will wake you up in the morning! Sit outside and enjoy the marshlands behind the beautiful home, or eat inside in her gorgeous dining area...Relaxed atmosphere! You feel like you are part of the household with her and her family! I cannot recommend this place enough to anyone...to relax and just kick back and "beach it", or go down and take a lunch or dinner cruise or local happenings...She knows where it is and how to get you there! Anytime I go to this area, this is where I want to stay! Privacy and loving innkkeeper and anything you could ever want! The sign at the front door say "A place to Rest" and it's just like being in heaven...you can put down your hat and kick off your shoes and enjoy being pampered with wonderful cooking, great rooms that are clean and beautiful. And always and forever service with a huge GENUINE smile...It's all real, even though it feels like a dream...and dreaming there is just where you would want to be! I know I will go many many more times! LOVE it! MEAN it! Susan E. Watters AKA: Susan/Freebird www.dynamicsofenergy.org


Bright and flowery!

4.0 on August 02, 2011

In keepers are fabulous! Food is fabulous! Decor is a mixed bag.


Really enjoyed our stay.

5 on August 02, 2011

We stayed at Lady Neptune's over the weekend. I would like to say that we enjoyed our stay tremendously. The home and room was decorated beautiful and very clean. The breakfast served was delicious. We also had wine & cheese & snacks. Miss Shirley was a wonderful host.


Tennessee Retirees

4.2 on July 11, 2011

Outstanding and personable innkeepers, great location Stayed three nights in June, felt "right at home," and would visit again


My Fabulous, Elaborate Vacation

5 on July 06, 2011

My stay at Lady Neptune Bed & Breakfast was very enjoyable and exciting! It afforded me the opportunity to enjoy a beautiful home, relaxed and wonderful setting along with my friends. The Innkeeper was just like family and very hospitable, making sure your stay would be a memorable one and it is. The meals were excellent!! This was my first experience at a Bed and Breakfast. Indeed I recommend Lady Neptune highly. Wonderful experience. I plan to make this an annual vacation. Diva One


One of the Golden Girls

4.0 on June 24, 2011

My stay at Lady Neptune was OUTSTANDING! The innkeeper was an outstanding hostess. She was very caring and there to meet the needs of her guest. Along with being an awesome cook.The atmosphere was like visiting your favorite family member. This was my first vacation trip alone and my first visit to a B&B. I really did not know what to expect. I rate Lady Neputune as Outstanding in all areas. If you want to be right on the beach and have good food and great hospitality and a value for your dollar I highly recommend Lady Neptune as the place to go.


Lady Neptunes-Fabulous!

4.0 on June 05, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Lady Neptune's and had a wonderful stay! Ms.Shirley couldn't have been nicer. To our surprise our room was upgraded and we actually had two full rooms to ourselves; a bedroom and then a lovely sitting room. The house has a screened in porch and the weather was so nice we ate our breakfast out there- it was such a wonderful morning out there and the breakfast was delicious! We would definitely recommend Lady Neptune's to anyone who is planning a stay in the Hampton area. Great location, comfortable rooms and truly great proprietors!


A cozy, friendly getaway!

4.8 on March 25, 2011

This is a wonderful, welcoming, and beautiful place to stay for a cozy visit to the southern Virginia area. Shirley was incredibly kind and attentive. We are excited to go back.


I'm A Fort Monroe Employee

5 on March 06, 2011

Steph on behalf of Lady Neptune Inn-enthralled with this B&B-so much so, that as a PR person, considering adding to publicity repertoire


“Lovely”

4.0 on March 06, 2011

I spent my 16th anniversary at Lady Neptune and I enjoyed every minute of it. Shirley made us feel right at home and the food is outstanding. I don’t know what she put in her potatoes but oh my goodness you have to taste it for yourself. I would go back just to eat those potatoes. The location is nice and peaceful; we enjoyed walking on the beach and viewing nature. I also found a nice fishing spot.


We Wrapped On Your Door So Late At Night

5 on January 13, 2011

12/2/10 It probably knocked your socks off and gave you a fright.With open arms you welcomed us in,Pillows soft and bed of Linen By morning we woke and softly spoke . How are your eggs? Mine has no yolk with a warm smile and waved . Even though John didn't shave . We say Good By to Shirley And Promise next time we'll be early Many Thanks, (smile) Wendy Drake


Wonderful Hospitality

4.6 on November 20, 2010

Lady Neptune B&B is a great place to stay if you want to have a nice "home away from home". We were very pleased with the warm welcome and great hospitality we received throughout our stay. Ms. McQueen ensured that we were comfortable and our needs were met. This is a great place to stay fi you frequent the beach...it is literally at the doorstep!


A Great weekend

4.4 on July 29, 2010

I needed to get away from home for a weekend and I chose Lady Neptune for my place of rest. The house has a charming aura and the Innkeeper was friendly, considerate and wonderful. Whenever I run away from home again this will be my place to hide away.


Lady Nepune and Shirley One In The Same

5 on July 25, 2010

Shirley and the Lady Neptune was definately a gift to me for my birthday in more ways than one! We ended up staying there because a local, right on the beach, motel messed up reservations and failed to accomadate us in any way. We arrived and Shirley greeted us with elegance and laughter right away! The house was older, but maintained and decorated very uplifting and with lots of "old style" bling! I loved it right away. Our room had a queen sized bed and a living room area with the shower and bath and everything you might need. It was clean and I have to honestly say that the decor was "fun" and elegant at the same time. Shirley made a breakfast fit for a queen and she did that with ease. Deliciouse breakfast of omelette and bacon and sausage, with waffles and strawberries. Coffee and juice....delightful! It was obvious she used to own a resturant there. The back of the house was a beautiful scene of the marsh with birds and serenity and, in fact, was where we had our breakfast...The front, you didn't have to move your car. One block and your toes were on the beach and in the sand. I can't say enough good of Shirley and her place. I'm GLAD the motel messed up the reservations. Her wonderful, warm personality, made me feel right at home! I look forward to staying with Shirley again on that small and quiet beach in Hampton. Kudos to the Lady Neptune! Sincerely, Susan


Courtesy and wonderful surroundings

5 on July 24, 2010

We especially appreciated the wine and cheese soon after arrival and the friendliness of the owner.


Outstanding Place to Stay!

5 on July 12, 2010

My husband and I are always stay at B&B's in our travels around the country. We stayed at Lady Neptune this weekend and were thoroughly impressed. Shirley greeted us with wine, cheese and fruit. The room was well-appointed and every detail was taken care of. The view is very nice and it is a prime location near the beach. Our littlest requests were honored quickly. My request for early morning coffee was satisfied with my own coffeemaker in our room. Shirley even loaned us am umbrella when we left for dinner in a drizzle. The morning breakfast out on the deck was fabulous with quiche, sausage, muffins an fruit. The fact that Shirley used to own a restaurant was very apparent. She is a wonderful cook. The view of the meadow and marsh from the deck and the breeze was very relaxing. We finished our visit with a walk on the beach and through the nearby marina. We will be coming back to the Lady Neptune and for more exploring of the Hampton Area Donna


Lady Neptune Bed & Breakfast Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $175
  • Reviews (26) 4.5
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7578485877
  • Phone 1-7573252385
Top