Ivycrest Inn B&B Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
35 Reviews

Write A Review

Very lovely, welcoming Inn

5 on September 18, 2014

Jim and Linda were the most gracious hosts. Ivycrest was beautiful, warm and welcoming. They made sure we had everything we needed, down to reserving us our parking so our spot wasnt taken due to a scheduled event at the Inn. Ivycrest was convienent to shops and of course our Sinkland Farms destination. You couldn't ask for a more pleasant place and host. We will definitely be back in the future and would recommend to anyone staying in the area for special occasions or for that weekend getaway. Thanks Jim and Linda!

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Look forward to you returning again


Hospitality at its finest

5 on November 25, 2013

Jim and Linda were wonderful host. The Inn is beautiful and extremely clean! Breakfast is amazing ( apple dumplings ) WOW! I know why Lindas food has won awards!!!! I dont think i could ever stay in a chain hotel again after that wonderful experience.


great place to stay

5 on October 26, 2013

we were on our way home from vacation from williamsburg va and needed a place to stay after stopping at 2 different motels and not being satisfied we called Jim and Linda at Ivycrest B&B we have stayed there several times before and loved it but we were 2 hours away from there Linda said she had a room and she would wait up on us when we got there we were so glad to see a place where we knew it would be clean and nice Linda was waiting on us welcomed us in and showed us to our rooms they were nice,clean and very welcoming they went far beyond what you would expect in a B&B the food is great and homecooked....we will definetly stay again Thanks Jim and Linda


Weekend football game

5 on October 14, 2013

This was our 2nd stay with Jim and Linda at Ivycrest. They are so hospitable. Room was wonderful. Location is very convenient to go watch Hokies play at Virginia tech.


Comfortable, and great food.

5 on October 13, 2013

We would highly recommend Ivycrest. The owners Linda and Jim are exceptional people. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We felt like we were with family. Our daughter (freshman at VT) stayed 2 nights with us and Linda made a bed for her too. The food is excellent , and we will stay again.


Quiet and Friendly

3.4 on October 05, 2013

Quietness is what we needed and that is what we got. Friendly and very interesting atmosphere, especially if you like dolls, antiques, and/or quilts.

Innkeeper Response
I was very surprised and disappointed in this review, especially after finding my antique coverlet ruined with red nail polish from one of your "dancers" you had with you. Also saw on your FB page where you had taken dolls down and made pictures to poke fun at others and involved the Pastors wife of the church you were visiting.....and your low rating of value ....the church that paid for you to stay here was given a huge discount and it didn't cost you anything. I really hope there was not a review given to your host church like the one you left here. We try to please all our guests but I guess sometimes it just isn't possible. In all our years of business this is the first negative review we have received. We hope future guests will give us a try and see that our main concern is the comfort of our guests.


2 restful nights at Ivycrest Inn B&B

5 on August 13, 2013

August 2013, I stayed 2 different nights and had 2 tasty and filling breakfasts. B&B was quiet and exceptionally clean with interesting antiques, quilts and doll collection. The owners were friendly and helpful. They also provided a small refrigerator stocked with cold drinks and hot water/coffee in the AM. It was convenient to I-81. I was able to workout at nearby Christiansburg Community Center (daily pass -$5) and walked on scenic, paved Huckleberry Trail (southern trail head behind Mall in Christiansburg about 5-10 min drive from B&B). It goes to Blacksburg. Saw runners, bikers and other walkers early in the morning. B&B is convenient to a variety of restaurants and fast food outlets. I enjoyed my stay and will likely go back in future.

Innkeeper Response
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you as a returning guest


WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL

5 on July 17, 2013

Wonderful homey, comfortable environment to rest ones weary and tired head. Wonderful food and attention given to detail in every aspect provided to each guest. Wonderful hosts in Jim and Linda Salyers as they open up their home to you and make you feel most welcomed wanting to never leave. We'll definitely be back.


Beautiful overnight stay

5 on June 07, 2013

We have stayed in many B&B's, especially in South Africa. But Ivycrest Inn is a unique experience. Linda and Jim make you feel at home from the time of arrival to the time of departure. We were so blessed to stay in such a clean and homely place. The breakfast was out of this world. Joe & Maggie


Graduation

4.2 on May 29, 2013

Very kind owners, helpful, went out of their way to make everything perfect.


BEST weekend ever!!!

5 on May 19, 2013

Stayed at Ivy Crest for our sons graduation from VT and I can honestly say that the B & B made our trip even better then we had planned. We traveled with my mother in law and I was worried about what she would think because she does not travel much but she loved it as well. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Linda and Jim, I feel like family and actually miss being there already. We will definitely be back and will definitely refer them to family and friends. You will not be disappointed in anyway by staying there. B&B to VT campus about 10 minutes!!


Wonderful stay at BB. We will be back!

5 on May 05, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The BB was very clean,comfortable,& the Inn Keepers were friendly. Close to restaurants,and local attractions. We can't wait to come back,& stay!


Best Bed and Breakfast in Christiansburg!

5 on April 21, 2013

My daughter and I had the best stay at the Ivycrest Inn. Jim and Linda are wonderful. The rooms were spacious and clean. The food was excellent...we are already wanting to return for breakfast. Don't hesitate to stay here. It is very close to VT.


Anniversary stay

5 on April 07, 2013

Our anniversary was made extra special by staying at Ivycrest. Everything about the B&B was outstanding. I recommend it to anyone needing a place to stay or celebrating a special occasion.


A Great Place!

5 on February 16, 2013

Our stay was fabulus! The rooms were clean, and the food was delicous! The innkeepers were very nice, and welcomed us into their home. I would highly recommend Ivycrest Inn to anyone needing this service.


Best place ever!

5 on December 26, 2012

I LOVE coming to Ivycrest B&B! The hosts are AMAZING, the food is great, and the rooms are very clean!! Would highly recommend this B&B!


Ivycrest Inn B&B is a unique experience and one that I recommend highly!

5 on December 26, 2012

This B&B is a hidden gem that needs to shine. Linda and Jim are wonderful hosts and the location is a perfect setting of yester-year.


Peaceful and Quiet

5 on December 10, 2012

If you want a quiet place to stay but still be close to everything, then this is it. This house is so sound-proof you don't hear a thing once you are inside!!! The beds are some of the most comfortable you will ever sleep on. I have fibromyalgia and usually am not able to rest when I am away from my bed. However, their mattresses and pillows are to die for! Not to mention the delicious breakfast. The portions are huge and the hospitality is divine. A must-stay home away from home.


Winning Stay

5 on November 26, 2012

We were the Fall Winners of the facebook contest that Jim and Linda had in 2012. What a blessing! We were welcomed just like "family". The rooms were beautiful and themed. The on suite bath was clean and fresh. Breakfast was a feast of Linda's Country Breakfast Casserole and Country Apple Dumplin's.. We will be back.


Enter as a guest, leave as a friend - YES

4.8 on November 03, 2012

This lovely couple, Jim and Linda, took as in at the last minute, and every aspect was superior. Our room was spacious, lovingly appointed, impeccably clean, and bed very comfortable. We enjoyed a huge, delicious southern breakfast, including Linda's home-made irresistible creations. But the highest commendation we can offer is the hospitality and warmth of our hosts Linda and Jim. We really did enter as guests and leave as friends. We definitely plan a return visit, just to see them !


Ivycrest Inn Review

5 on October 29, 2012

I had a great time with Jim and Linda. Besides a comfortable room and delicious breakfast they also provided a great dinner suggestion (Amelia's Pizzeria and Restaurant). A marvelous house and hosts.


A true gem

5 on October 16, 2012

Jim and Linda are the best. Staying here brings back such good memories. So cozy and safe feeling, not to mention gorgeous home.


What a find....

5 on October 02, 2012

In September 2012, we went to see a Tech game for my daughter’s 13th birthday. We by chance stumbled upon Ivycrest Bed and Breakfast and what a find. Jim and Linda are so kind and welcoming. When we arrived, it was as if we were long lost friends and we just met. Linda had a little birthday gift waiting for my daughter….what every 13 year old loves….a present! Ivycrest Bed and Breakfast is very clean, wonderfully furnished, with up to date bathrooms , and the very best breakfast. Linda made apple dumplings like my grandmother used to make, which are now my son’s favorite. It was a fantastic way to celebrate a birthday. We are looking forward to traveling to southwestern Virginia again soon and visiting our new friends.


Lovely stay

5 on September 27, 2012

Enjoyed our recent 2 night stay at Ivycrest. Very comfortable beds and wonderful home-cooked breakfast. Highly recommend!


Home away from home...

5 on September 21, 2012

We stayed with Jim and Linda for over two weeks and they made us feel so welcome. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The room was well lit - with both lamps and a ceiling fixture. We had an en suite bathroom that was in the final stages of a remodel - very usable, but missing a few finishing touches. There was also a washer and dryer to use for a nominal charge. One of the highlights of our stay was the superb breakfast each morning, which always included fresh fruit and a hot dish as well. As Linda says, "Come as strangers and leave as friends."


Feel at home!!

5 on August 08, 2012

Was the home of Jim and Linda Salyer who decided to turn their home into a B&B after all children were gone. They are frequent B&B users who know how a B&B should be. Immediate welcome is felt on entering the home. Every detail is addressed to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. Coffee outside your room at 6 30 is a wonderful touch. Breakfast is great!. All this plus the enjoyment of viewing all the collectibles, paintings, and dolls and quilts made by Linda. These items are throughout the house and takes some time to see everything. Jim has been involved with antiquing for 30 years.


Once in a lifetime visit!

5 on July 24, 2012

We stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast while our son was in an out of town hospital for surgery. Jim and Linda made us feel so at home and relaxed especially during this stressful time that we stayed. We stayed for a week and the whole week I felt like royalty. The breakfast was especially outstanding and they were always so accomodating and attentive to our special needs when we needed to leave at specific times for hospital visits (even though we were not the only guests staying there at the time). The rooms were clean and quiet and the remodled bathrooms made it easy for us to feel at home and spread out. They were extremely gracious and hospitable to us. It was so good for us to be around people who were such caring hosts and have rooms that could be a peaceful haven for us. Would absolutely recommend far and above anywhere else you could stay. Thompson Family, Lynchburg, VA


Gorgeous and friendly bed and breakfast experience!

5 on June 10, 2012

The inn is a large, gorgeous, and meticulously clean Victorian-style home. A combination of antiques, dolls made by Linda Salyers in her workshop behind the inn, Amish quilts, and French country- and Victorian-style furnishings fill the parlor, the bedrooms, the kitchen, the dining room, and the upstairs sitting room. Even the recently remodeled bathrooms are decorated down to last detail and include soap, toiletries, and towels. But don’t let the classic décor fool you, the inn also boasts complimentary Wi-Fi and some of the rooms have flat-screen televisions. Each stay includes complimentary snacks in each bedroom, non-alcoholic beverages available from the kitchen refrigerator, coffee, tea, and a wonderful breakfast made by Linda Salyers every morning. My breakfast consisted of a bottomless coffee cup, orange juice, French toast made with fresh apples in a casserole dish (think homemade apple pie with thick bread instead of crust!) and a wonderful breakfast quiche. If you find yourself headed to or through the Blacksburg/Christiansburg area of Virginia, the Ivycrest Inn Bed and Breakfast is a must-stay property.


great choice for our wedding night

5 on May 26, 2012

The inn was conveniently located off the interstate, this was a great stop on our drive to the Charlotte airport. The innkeepers greeted us warmly and allowed us to arrive late after we called ahead. They were very polite and served us an early breakfast so we could get on the road at the break of dawn. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was fresh and delicious. They accommodated us with to-go coffee and food for the road. This was southern hospitality at its best! We highly recommend a night's stay here.


Exceptional Hospitality

5 on May 22, 2012

If you want to be treated like "royal family" in a beautiful home, Ivycrest Inn B&B is your destination! Our family stayed with the Salyers the weekend of Virginia Tech's graduation and Jim and Linda couldn't have done anything more to make us feel welcome. We were blessed to experience their "Exceptional Hospitality."


A WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY

5 on May 07, 2012

We stayed at Ivy Crest Inn B&B this weekend we had a wonderful time. The rooms are great very clean and comfortable . Jim and Linda are great people they make you feel right at home. I felt like I was treated like royalty. The food was homemade and delicious.We had such a wonderful time we did'nt want it to end. If you need a place to stay in this area check this out . The place is beautiful you feel like you have stepped into a magazine.It is decorated so beautiful . I highly recommend Ivy Crest B&B you won' t be disappointed.


Great place to stay!

5 on April 23, 2012

My wife and I just finished staying here. Jim and Linda were wonderful hosts! We arrived with our baby (which I'd forgotten to tell Jim and Linda was coming with us). Without asking, she made fresh, homemade baby food every morning along with wonderful breakfasts for the adults, too! The location is quiet and convenient, and the room was very nice. Jim and Linda will go out of there way to make sure you are having a fantastic experience. My wife is now worried that I will expect her to make breakfasts like Linda did! Highly recommended. Zach and Lori, Texas


A Wonderful Stay

5 on April 22, 2012

My family and I spent the past weekend at Ivycrest and we had a delightful experience. Jim and Linda were extremely gracious in welcoming us into their home. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was outstanding. The rooms and bathrooms were newly renovated and well-kept. It is only about a ten minute drive from Virginia Tech's campus which makes the location tremendously convenient. We will be back soon!


GREAT ACCOMODATIONS

5 on April 05, 2012

My husband and I along with our adult daughter had the opportunity, to stay at Ivycrest Inn B&B in May while attending our son's graduation from Virginia Tech. What a pleasure it was! Even though it was a rainy weekend, we had a very pleasant time. The quiet neighborhood setting is easy to get to and convenient to Tech, the New River, mountains and Interstate 81. The accomodations are excellent. The rooms are large, comfortable and beautifully decorated as is the entire house. Linda prepared our breakfast with our dietary restrictions in mind and it was extraordinarily delicious. But more than that, the Innkeepers, Jim and Linda, made you feel at home. We enjoyed casual conversations before retiring for the night. I highly recommend staying at Ivycrest Inn B&B. We went there as strangers and came away as friends. The Jones Family, Fairfax, Va.


Southern Hospitality and more!

5 on April 04, 2012

I was on a trip with my parents and wanted them to experience some southern hospitality and wow was this the place to take them!! Linda and Jim were wonderful hosts and we felt right at home from the start. We had lovely rooms with lovely furniture and the whole house is beautiful but with a comfortable family feel. The breakfast was AMAZING! Then to finish off they took us on a tour of Christiansburg/Blacksburg which was so kind of them. I would thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast.


Ivycrest Inn B&B

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 540 382-0964

Visit Website »

View details

Top