Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services5
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
31 Reviews

Write A Review

Happy in Cape Charles VA

5 on June 30, 2014

Very happy in choosing the Bay Haven B&B in Cape Charles VA. We were more than pleased with our room and yummy breakfasts. The innkeeper Tammy was wonderful. I felt like we were more than guests in her home. I would love to come again.


Cape Hospitality at its best

5 on June 23, 2014

Tammy and Jim make excellent hosts. We enjoyed our stay in laid back Cape Charles very much.


Incredible Experience!

5 on June 04, 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our 32nd anniversary at Bay Haven Inn - we had such a great time we extended our stay an extra day. Having visited numerous inns and B&Bs over the years, the gracious hospitality of Jim and Tammy are unmatched. Cape Charles is a beautiful little town on the Chesapeake Bay with a stress-free public beach, great restaurants, friendly local people, and beautiful sunsets. It is the perfect place to escape the busyness of everyday life, unwind with a book or a walk/bike ride, or take a nap on the porch. We will definitely be returning to this Haven by the Bay!


Perfect place to be pampered and unwind

4.6 on May 14, 2014

The Bay Haven Inn was wonderful; the rooms had every amenity we needed and they were very clean and comfortable. In addition Tammy and Jim were excellent hosts and they made sure we had everything we needed and were always gracious and willing to answer our questions. They even had a bottle of wine waiting for us so that we could unwind from a long stressful drive.


Welcoming and cozy

5 on May 12, 2014

I traveled with girlfriends (9 total) for our 2nd Girls' Bay Haven Inn Weekend. We booked the entire Inn Saturday night. Several friends couldn't wait to join us after hearing how much fun we had during our first trip in March 2013. We got into town early Saturday to visit Chatham and Holly Grove Vineyards. We enjoyed the staff at each vineyard. They were warm and inviting. If you have a large group like ours call ahead as they were both very accommodating. We checked in at Bay Haven and were greeted with Tammy's huge smile and hugs for all. We admired the holiday decorations inside and out. They were absolutely breathtaking. No words can describe the amount of work and effort it took to make it look so beautiful. Tammy & Jim's attention to detail is evident in everything they do. We walked to town to shop our favorite places like Bad Girlz Collective & Drizzles. We also stopped by the water and gazebo to take pictures. Once we returned to Bay Haven we kicked off our shoes, ate dinner we brought, had some drinks and enjoyed sitting by the fire to exchange Christmas ornaments. We invited Tammy and Jim to join us as we love their company. Jim, being the daring and brave man he is, had no problem joining all of us women. We stayed up all night talking, laughing and making memories. Sunday morning we woke to a great smelling aroma, Jim's breakfast. It was just heavenly. His gluten free waffles topped with fresh fruit are awesome. We quickly packed our cars so we could walk the B&B Holiday Cookie Trail. It's a walking tour through the local B&B's, each decorated for the holidays and offering a baked treat. After our tour we returned to Bay Haven to tell Tammy & Jim what we already knew...theirs was the BEST! If you want an awesome B&B experience visit Bay Haven Inn. Tammy & Jim are what makes the Inn so special. You walk in as a guest and leave as friends. We all agreed, one night is not enough. Next time we will stay longer...Carolyn Beach, Virginia Beach, VA


Awesome place

5 on May 06, 2014

Overall great relaxing place. Great food & staff! Will be returning


DELMARVA Treasure

5 on April 13, 2014

The town of Cape Charles is a small jewel at the southern tip of the DELaware-MARyland-VirginiA (DELMARVA) peninsula; a good stop on a road trip up or down the peninsula. Once there…the Bay Haven Inn is a must and must be at the top of the list of the town’s B&Bs. The house is immaculate and decorated beautifully - superlatives for sure, but well earned. Four blocks from the beach - or from the little town and six to the harbor, its location is a short walk from everything. Breakfast was delicious and Tammy couldn’t be more personable. Very highly recommended by this pair of B&B oriented travelers.


Perfect Everything!

5 on March 16, 2014

We stayed at the Bay Haven Inn in February 2014. We were driving down to Florida to get out of the horrendous winter weather we were experiencing in New York. We were greeted by Tammy, who made us feel welcome and comfortable. She gave us a tour of her beautiful home and showed us to our room. It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL! I told her I was going to go home and redecorate my bedroom in the same blue and yellow design and style. The room was spacious, cheerful and immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious! We walked to the beach and witnessed an amazing sunset. The following day, Tammy sent us on our way with a bag of homemade goodies. Cape Charles is a very quaint town. There are interesting shops and fun places for lunch and dinner. We would definitely come back in the warmer weather and return to Bay Haven Inn!


A beautiful retreat

5 on March 02, 2014

We had an amazing time in Cape Charles. The bed and breakfast at Bay Haven was the best! We have stayed at a ton of b and b's but this one was by far the most inviting! We felt like we were with family. Tammy is so cheerful and full of genuine love for her guests. She is a precious woman and I am very blessed to have spent time in her home. Jim was also very welcoming and wonderful. The breakfast they made was out of this world and the crab benedict was so delicious!!! Thank you for opening your home to us and may God bless your amazing hospitality! We will be back:-)

Innkeeper Response
What gracious words, that quite simply made my day! Jim and I are incredibly thankful that we have a "job" that affords us opportunities to meet such warm and charming people like yourself! So glad you liked the crab cake benedict, it is one of our favorites too! Our porch awaits your return visit!


Beautiful Home

5 on February 27, 2014

I can't say enough to express how much we enjoyed our wonderful experience at Bay Haven Inn. Tammy greeted us with a warm smile and spent a lot of time with us in our many inquiries about Cape Charles. The house is immaculately clean and is decorated with beautiful antique furniture and luxurious finishes. I particularly enjoyed relaxing on the front porch. Breakfast was delish and Tammy is a delight. My husband and I fell in love with Cape Charles and mentioned to Tammy that we were interested in buying property near the water. Tammy mentioned a house that was for sale and hooked us up with a Realtor. We are now proud owners of the Seashell Cottage a few blocks away. Thank you Tammy. While Jim was away during our stay we did get to meet him briefly. We have fond memories of our stay and would definitely recommend the Bay Haven Inn to anyone looking for grand accommodations while visiting Cape Charles.


A great stay!

5 on December 10, 2013

We were overwhelmed by our stay at Bay Haven! The rooms are absolutely beautiful! Tammy and Jim are amazing hosts! We felt like they were friends from the moment we met them! Food was exceptional! We look forward to many visits!


Perfect!

4.6 on October 11, 2013

First of all let me start by saying this is one of the few B&Bs in Cape Charles that does not have house cats which is very important for me since I am extremely allergic to these furry fuzzy four legged friends! I admit I was never a big fan of B&B….., until now! This was our first time visiting Cape Charles, and Bay Haven Inn was the perfect place for a relaxing weekend getaway. This is a beautiful home, in a great location (only 3 or 4 blocks from the beach), and wonderful hosts. Tammy and Jim were very gracious, and made my wife and I feel right at home. They have set the bar very high.

Innkeeper Response
Dom, it was such a pleasure to host you and Jenn for your 2nd anniversary! Happy we were able to provide an escape from those furry fuzzy four legged friends that might not have been a friend to you! ha It was wonderful to see you all enjoy the screened in porch and of course enjoyed your wine kayaking adventure stories! So glad we turned you around on the B&B experience! We welcome your return visit!


Outstanding!

5 on October 11, 2013

If you stay in Cape Charles- make a point to stay here!


Elopement

5 on July 28, 2013

My now husband and I stayed at the Bay Haven Inn for a weekend in the beginning of June. We eloped that weekend and Tammy and Jim, the owners of the inn, went out of their way to make it a special weekend for us. Tammy helped us find an officiant and made a bouquet for me. Jim took pictures for us and they drove us down to the beach on the back of their golf cart for our ceremony. They did all of this for us either at cost or for very very minimal cost. They were so gracious and genuinely shared in the excitement of our wedding day. The food was outstanding! Each day breakfast was different and superb. They had created a special Bay Haven Inn coffee that was extremely delicious! We stayed in the Alyce Wilson room and it was beautifully decorated! The room was extremely comfortable, relaxing and clean. I highly recommend staying at this bed and breakfast for a long weekend to kick back, relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Jim and Tammy will take great care of you and make your visit extraordinary!


Escape the hustle and bustle….

5 on July 23, 2013

This was our first weekend getaway as a new couple and we couldn’t have selected a better place. Bay Haven Inn was the perfect escape from our busy lives. The owners Jim and Tammy were so welcoming and the house was truly a home away from home. We could barely pull ourselves away from the swing/hammock combo that we affectionately renamed the “Swammock.” Not only was Bay Haven Inn very quaint and cozy, it was also conveniently located within walking distance of the beach, shops and the fishing pier. We loved it there so much we plan to spend our one year anniversary weekend there. Can’t wait to return!


Anniversary Getaway

4.8 on July 21, 2013

The Bay Haven Inn is a home away from home. I've always wanted to try a B & B, and this was my first. I decided to take my husband away for our 24th anniversary. For us, this was the proverbial hop, skip, and a jump from home (Virginia Beach, VA). So, the travel time was a plus. Tammy and Jim did a fantastic job with renovations. They love to share the before and after slideshow, know so much of the town's cool history, and are full of stories to tell. It's a joy to take part, and we enjoyed some great laughs. The breakfasts are so delicious, and it's difficult not to beg for more. Cape Charles, VA is a quaint little town with easy access to the beach, the best ice cream shop (Brown Dog), and great restaurants (The Shanty and Aqua). Tammy and Jim are more than willing to help you with reservations, too. If you're anywhere near Cape Charles, The Bay Haven Inn is the place for you!


Home away from Home

4.6 on July 17, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Bay Haven Inn... we came upon it by happenstance and I am so glad we did. Tammy met us at the door and showed us around there beautifully restored 1909 home. I really loved hearing all the stories and getting to see the blueprints and photos of the original owners. We felt so welcomed, by the time we left we felt like old friends. Sitting out under the stars listening to the windchimes was so peaceful and relaxing. It will be our destination on our next visit to Cape Charles.


Fabulous Stay

5 on July 15, 2013

We so enjoyed our brief but delightful stay at the Bay Haven Inn. The owners were very accommodating when we said we were just traveling through and only needed one night. Our room was beautiful and the bed was more than comfortable. We liked having our own bath. The restaurant suggestion for dinner met and even exceeded our expectations for two very hungry people in need of fresh seafood. We only wish we could have stayed longer the next day and spent more time in town. We certainly would return to The Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles. Paul and Rosemary


Great Getaway!

4.6 on June 12, 2013

Bay Haven Inn was a terrific choice to celebrate our anniversary! The inn is welcoming, tastefully furnished and comfortable. We were especially pleased with the bright and cheerful Alyce Wilson room. The owners have lovingly restored the inn to meet modern needs while honoring its historical past. Tammy and Jim extend warm hospitality, are knowledgeable about the area and helpful in planning your stay. The town of Cape Charles is charming and very walkable. We enjoyed a half day of kayaking on King's Creek and a romantic sunset dinner on the Chesapeake Bay at Aqua while visiting. We heartily recommend Bay Haven! Gary & Janet


Exceeds Expectations

5 on May 17, 2013

Our stay at Bay Haven Inn was nothing short of amazing in every aspect of our visit. The innkeepers went above and beyond to accommodate our every wish and need. The room was lovely and breakfast was so incredible we are still thinking about it! Thanks Tammy & Jim for a very special and memorable weekend getaway!

Innkeeper Response
We are humbled by your review, I will be sure to pass along the rave reviews to "chef" Jim who takes great joy in making you dream of the food! So very happy that we were a part of your memorable weekend in Cape Charles! Do come back!


Marcia & Bill

5 on May 15, 2013

Tammy and Jim went out of their was to be helpful and accomidating. We felt like we had new friends by the time we left. They were also very knowledgeable about the area and gave use many good hints and advice. We will definately be found sitting on their porch again.

Innkeeper Response
Marcia and Bill it was a joy to have you visit the Bay Haven Inn and was my pleasure to help provide you with nuggets of information about the area, I continue to learn from each and every guest which I am then able to impart to our future guests! We do hope you will be back to visit us soon!


Wonderful, Wonderful!!!

5 on May 06, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Cape Charles and absolutely loved the Bay Haven B&B. Tammy and Jim were such gracious hosts and their home is just gorgeous. Breakfast was so delicious. We stayed in the Wilson room and loved it. We were there for the Crabby Blues Festival which was so much fun. The town is such a gem. It has become our future and we hope to move to Cape Charles some day very soon -- it was that wonderful!!!!.

Innkeeper Response
We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Bay Haven Inn and fell in love with Cape Charles as we have...it is a very special place! We are even more excited that you have already booked your return visit to the Inn for Tall Ships Weekend. So what was our favorite breakfast? Ooey Gooey French Toast? Do tell and perhaps it will be on the menu again! :-)


Heaven at Bay Haven Inn

5 on April 27, 2013

I'm not often speechless but when you come across an amazing experience as we had at the Bay Have Inn, it's hard to know where to start. This experience is like no other. Tammy spends time to determine what will optimize your experience, whether it be a specific restaurant menu, local activities such as theatrical plays at the Palace Theater or other local festivities. She and Jim epitomize what you can expect only from the very best Innkeepers. We're Virginians and just wanted a get away for rest and rejuvenation and we found it there at the Bay Haven Inn. The Inn is immaculate as far as cleanliness and decor. You really don't have to leave the Inn to have a great experience, The sheer history of the Inn as it's original inhabitants live it is palpable. Tammy and Jim have the old photos of the family and the changes in the Inn over the decades. It's marvelous. But don't take my word for it, go for the very best B&B experience and go the Bay Haven Inn. I'll definitely go back!! Mmmmm love those ham and sweet potato biscuits and Jim'[s special bread!

Innkeeper Response
What a delightful and heart felt review! It was such a pleasure to be a part of your Mother and Daughter get-a-way and we so look forward to the time when you can return for a few days next time :-) It warmed our hearts to see you both so relaxed, quilting and reading and simply enjoying the inn as we had intended when restoring and decorating the ole' gal. So glad you enjoyed the Inn's signature sweet potato ham biscuits and of course "Jim" Bread...beware it is addictive for sure!


B&Bs Don't Get Better Than This

5 on April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles in early April with my boyfriend, sister, and two friends, and we all had the best B&B experience we have ever had. Weeks before we even arrived, I knew our stay would be great thanks to Tammy and Jim's wonderful reservations service. She was warm, friendly, and genuinely interested in our trip along the Chesapeake Bay. Days before our stay, she made sure to inform us of a special event that would be taking place in Cape Charles so we could arrive on time. Upon arriving, we were immediately taken aback at all of the wonderful and classy details of the house, both inside and out. The rooms are even more spectatular than they seem online. Little details, such as easily available bathrobes, home-made snacks in the kitchen, cute chocolates in the rooms, the softest towels I have ever used, made all the difference. The brunch was deluctable, and Tammy and Jim were quick to accommodate our group's pesky food dislikes. The french toast was some of the best I have had, and Jim was wonderful enough to make his own turkey sausage for my sister, who does not eat pork. We are all still talking about our great experience. Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough to enjoy the house and Tammy and Jim's hospitality and cooking a bit more. My boyfriend and I have stayed at various B&Bs throughout Virginia, and this - by far - has been our best experience. We are already recommending it to friends, and we hope to be back soon!


Great attention to detail

4.2 on April 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Bay Haven Inn. My conversations with Tammy began weeks before our stay as she made every effort to inquire about my wife's dietary needs. She also provided great help in pointing us toward other places in town that we might enjoy. The Bay Haven Inn is meticulously decorated and a very short walking distance to all kinds of fun shops and landmarks. Tammy and Jim are definitely lovely hosts!


A weekend at Bay Haven

5 on April 05, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Bay Haven thanks to its inn keepers Tammy and Jim. They responded to our every need and the inn was clean, warm and attractive. They cooked the most delicious breakfast three days in a row and even at an earlier time than normal so we could get to our 8:10 tee time at Bay Creek Golf Resort. A most memorable weekend thanks to the Bay Haven B&B. Rob Peterson


Warm Welcome at Bay Haven

5 on April 04, 2013

We arrived to a genuine, warm welcome at the beautifully restored historic home of Tammy and Jim Holloway. We enjoyed an afternoon glass of wine and wonderful conversation with our knowledgable and generous hosts. In the morning, we woke from a restful night's sleep to a gourmet breakfast complete with coffee roasted especially for Bay Haven. Our overnight stay felt like a rejuvinating long weekend and, by the time we left, it felt like we had just visited old friends. In true Southern hospitality, Tammy and Jim sent us on our way with some of Jim's homemade chocolate friendship bread. We will definitely be back!


Awesome Bed & Breakfast!!!

5 on April 01, 2013

I went with 6 girlfriends for a girls' weekend to Cape Charles and to specifically stay at the Bay Haven Inn that was featured in the Virginian Pilot. We had a fabulous time! We walked to the downtown shops and returned to the Inn for snacks and drinks on the huge porch before walking to town for dinner. There is a guest kitchen so you can bring snacks and drinks. Inn owners Tammy and Jim Holloway have worked hard to make this B&B the best. They paid closed attention to every detail, there was not one thing missing from our trip except more time with friends and the Holloway's. They are easy to work with if you have special dietary needs. The breakfast was incredible including the gluten free waffles. They are very friendly and make you feel at home. It was the best experience ever and we can't wait to go back to visit Cape Charles and the Holloway's. Thank You Tammy and Jim for the best girls' weekend! We all agreed the next time we visit we will spend two nights and would love to have dinner at the Inn with the Holloway's since they're such special people! Carolyn Beach

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much Carolyn for your wonderful review! We still have the image of you all in your Bay Haven Inn spa robes...what a delight it was to hear the laughter ring throughout the walls of this 'ole gal! Come see us soon!


The Bay Haven Inn provides a 5 Star Experience

5 on March 14, 2013

From the beautiful rooms to the exquisite gardens...the fabulous Southern hospitality to the delicious food...there is so much attention to detail at the Bay Haven Inn. And without question, all of those details add up to a top-notch experience for the guest. I stayed in the James Wilson Room and would highly recommend it to others. It is a gorgeous and spacious room with a great view of the community park. I felt very comfortable relaxing in the common areas of the house, as well as on the front wrap-around porch. The innkeepers, Tammy and Jim, are clearly committed to making your stay as relaxing and as memorable as possible. They also know a great deal about Cape Charles and the Eastern Shore and are willing to help you make the most of your time in the area. Cape Charles, VA is a wonderful place to visit and the Bay Haven Inn is a terrific place to call home when visiting the area. By far, my stay at the Bay Haven Inn has been the best B&B experience I have had to date.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your gracious review of the Bay Haven Inn. It was such a delight to have you with us and we already anticipate your next visit! Next time the weather will be warmer and you will be able to enjoy those glorious Cape Charles sunsets!


Beautiful B&B!!

5 on March 07, 2013

Gorgeous B&B and outstanding service. Tammy and Jim were so welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We would highly recommend the Bay Haven Inn --definitely one of the best B&B experiences we have had in all our travels.


Simply "AMAZING!!!"

4.8 on February 28, 2013

First of all I LOVE Cape Charles.....I head over as often as I can from Virginia Beach. I call it my $17 retreat. As for the Bay Haven Inn...WOW is all I can say! I've been staying in B&Bs in the US & Europe for years. This place is AWESOME! Tammy & Jim have taken meticulous care to offer a little bit of heaven for a decent price. I had my adult children & friends home for Christmas...they wanted to spend the night in Cape Charles so asked me to find a B&B. I stumbled upon Bay Haven after attending a progressive dinner recently. As soon as I heard my homework assignment to locate a B&B, I knew I had it - Bay Haven. The place is beautifully but very cozily (important to me!) decorated. Tammy & Jim are fun, warm, informative & accomodating hosts. They're around when you need them but give you a lot of "space" too (which is really nice). Jim is retired Air Force....my son is in the Air Force (as were his friends who went with us). Tammy is actually Martha Stewart in disguise...what she can do to a room is unbelievable. She is a master decorator! I can't rate this place high enough....visit once & you will be back again & again. It feels like home (or the way you WANT home to feel like!) There are 3 rooms available....2 big & 1 small. The first big one has a wonderful strong feel to it (still lovely enough for a woman's taste)...that's the master of the house's room. The other big one was the lady of the house's room...so it is gorgeous, feminine & is decorate with the colors of Delft china (blue & white with yellow added). The 3rd room was their daughter's: girlish, smaller & very delicate. Our group took all 3 rooms - they were all wonderful. We wanted to have breakfast at the Cape Charles Coffee house in town so did not have breakfast at the B&B....I'm certain it too would have been AMAZING!


Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $200
  • Reviews (31) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7573312838

Visit Website »

View details

Top