Alexandria's Treasure House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Nice night

3.6 on July 04, 2016

House is well maintained and the rooms are large and comfortable. We selected this location to be within walking/uber distance of some of our favorite spots in Del Ray and Old Town Alexandria. We didn't want a hotel. The Treasure House was perfect for our needs.


A treasure, indeed!

5 on June 22, 2016

A very charming hostess and a lovely home. Moina was so very accommodating in every way possible. Very nice and clean room. Great neighborhood, walking distance to the Metro and the Old Town area. If you are looking for a lunch or dinner spot I highly recommend Bilbo Baggins!!


Treasure House review

3.6 on May 30, 2016

Very quite and just 6 blocks from the Metra.


Great neighborhood stay close to Metro and Old Town

4.6 on May 25, 2016

Great stay for my business trip. Thinking of returning here for vacation. Easy curbside parking and quiet neighborhood with park around the corner.


Queen Suite Review

3.8 on May 23, 2016

The Alexandria Treasure house is a charming little B&B in VA. The queen suite was very nice and the bathroom was beautiful. Moina is an absolute doll, very spunky and fun to talk to. I would stay here again if I'm ever in the area.


A pleasure to stay at Treasurd House

5 on May 07, 2016

We stayed two nights between a trip to Shenandoah NP and a meeting in DC. Morna Ratliff was a gracious hostess with a fascinating life story. Our room was very comfortable, and it is in a beautiful and quiet neighborhood. It was convenient for our trip to Mt. Vernon and to the National Mall. Would definitely stay there again.


Great stay, great hosts

5 on May 05, 2016

Alexandria's Treasure House is a quiet refuge within easy walking distance of Old Town and the George Washington Masonic Temple. The house is spacious and very tastefully decorated, yet comfortable. The hosts will treat you like a good friend. I always regret leaving and every return feels like a homecoming.


Beautiful home with charming owners.

5 on April 24, 2016

What a lovely home in a beautiful part of town. Though it was farther from the old part of downtown than I chose t walk I could have I know. The room was spacious and so clean in every part of the house it was actually shocking that people lived there. I'd recommend it completely to others.


Absolutely the best.

5 on March 13, 2016

I have stayed in many b&b and they are all unique in their own way. This was a charming old house with a great innkeeper and her daughter. The place was immaculate and we were treated like royalty.


beautiful bedroom but breakfast lacking

3.6 on February 13, 2016

Moina was wonderful. Really caring. Lovely living room and smaller sitting room both available for us. Stayed in Queen Suite. Large, comfortable, restful. Large walk-in closet that is used slightly for storage for household. Bathroom with tub/shower. Great counter space with sink. Only problem is with breakfast. Tableware very nice, linens beautiful. But breakfast itself was minimal; small fresh fruit cup, simple toast, scrambled eggs with bad flavor, two beef sausage links, and large danish that could have been purchased at 7-11. Coffee, tea, orange juice and water. We stayed for two nights and breakfast was worse the second morning. We went out for breakfast that morning. Moina tries really hard, but someone just needs to let her know that B & B customers expect a really nice breakfast, of quality and diversity


Wonderful stay!

5 on January 26, 2016

Moina is always a gracious host and we were very happy to be in her care again, if only for one night. The house is beautiful, the neighborhood is very, very nice, and it's a convenient location for touristing.


Perfect Location for George Washington's Home in Mount Vernon

5 on December 13, 2015

We spent the day in George Washington's Home in Mount Vernon, and then drove a short distance to Alexandria's Treasure House. The owner was very hospitable and helpful. She recommended an excellent restaurant nearby where parking was not an issue. Breakfast was served at a time that was convenient for us and was delicious. The house in general and our room in particular were immaculate.


A very comfortable stay

3.6 on October 09, 2015

We spent one night in the Queen room which is the only one of five rooms with a private bath. The others share a bath between two rooms. It is a lovely, comfortable and spacious room with a walk in robe and a very well appointed bathroom. Everything is spotlessly clean and Moina and Lee have made every effort to provide every amenity you could need. We parked our rental car on the street and left it there throughout our stay. It is an easy stroll down the hill to the Metro stop should you wish to go to Washington DC or to the end of King Street where you can hop on and off the free tram anywhere along the street all the way down to the riverfront. Moina provides a very gracious breakfast. We also used the kitchen during the previous evening to make some sandwiches and enjoy a bottle of wine after a wet excursion to the waterfront. We were the only guests in the house that evening. The garden looked very inviting for a leisurely evening but the weather was horrible during our stay!


Fabulous Stay!

5 on July 21, 2015

This was an amazing place. Moina's hospitality was perfect. Breakfast was a true elegant delight.


Loved it.

5 on July 20, 2015

Moina is great and the room was flawless. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.


A lovely place to stay in Alexandria

4.8 on June 17, 2015

We had a wonderful stay and were made to feel right at home. The King Street metro stop is an easy walk, there is on street parking so you can leave your car and visit Washington DC without a problem. Moina and Lee are very friendly and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.


Wonderful time at Alexandria's Treasure House

5 on May 25, 2015

At the last minute, we ended up staying at the lovely Alexandria's Treasure House. We had the room upstairs with it's own private bathroom/shower. The room was fantastic, breakfast was delicious, and the morning conversation around the dining table with Moina was priceless. Would definitely recommend staying here to everyone.


Just a great place to stay

5 on May 21, 2015

Simply just great


Quiet, clean, great company

4.0 on May 19, 2015

Lovely and unique property. Kind caring host who considered every detail. Would recommend treasure house to everyone.


Comfortable, clean and convenient

4.4 on April 29, 2015

Moina was a treasure herself. She is sweet, accommodating, and very much a great hostess. The neighborhood was charming and convenient to the trains and to dining in Old Town. A lovely experience. We'd go there again.


Would definitely stay here again

4.4 on April 19, 2015

Had a great time in this beautiful early 1800 home. It was like walking through a museum. Perfect location.


Lovely, Updated home

4.4 on April 10, 2015

Molina is a thoughtful host. Her home is immaculate with recent renovations. Our Queen Suite was quite large and comfortable. The location is perfect for a long weekend in the DC area.


Had a very nice stay.

4.6 on March 12, 2015

Moina was a very gracious host and was always happy to answer any questions we may have had.


We plan to return.

3.8 on February 14, 2015

Everything and everyone was very pleasant. No complaints at all.


great place. very convenient. wonderful host

4.8 on October 16, 2014

The Treasure House is wonderful! We spent a full week in the Prince room and found the accommodations to be very comfortable. The room was small but adequate. The small flat screen TV is attached to broadcast channels. Our room and the adjacent guest room are on the lower level and they do share the small bathroom sandwiched between rooms. However, during this week there was no one in the other room so we had a private bath. We have stayed at other B&Bs with shared bath and it mostly works well. Breakfast was delicious and varied. We seldom needed any lunch and simply ate an early dinner in Alexandria. Monia and Lee are wonderful hosts. Monia knows the area and the history very well. The neighborhood is very quiet and seemed very safe. The neighbors were out walking and jogging so we felt very comfortable walking all around the area. The inn is about 0.6 mile from the King Street Metro station. We walked to Metro every morning and visited museums and memorials on the DC mall all week and never moved the car parked in front of house. Look into a Metro Smartrip card for easy access to the entire subway system. The card can be used for the local Alexandria Dash buses (AT2, AT5, AT6) to get to bus stop at King St and Walnut within 300 feet of the inn if needed. Also there is some reasonable Smartrip meter parking at the Metro stop if the weather is really bad. Great place!


It was a "treasure"!

4.4 on August 28, 2014

We enjoyed our one night at Alexandria's Treasure House. Moina is a wonderful host,and we had a pleasant visit with her after a delicious breakfast. It was a simple meal but carefully prepared and elegantly presented. The room was nicely appointed and very clean.


Wonderful Experience - Look Forward to our Next Stay!

5 on August 10, 2014

The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the common areas offered many places to relax in the evenings. Breakfasts were tasty and filling and Moina shares genuine interest in each of her guests, and offers good suggestions on local places to go. Near the Kings Street Metro, which offers convenient access to all of DC. We look forward to visiting the DC area again and staying at Alexandria's Treasure House!


A Wonderful place...

5 on May 26, 2014

I had a sudden business trip to Washington DC come and could not find a hotel room within a decent driving distance. My wife located the Alexandria's Treasure House and we made arrangements for me to stay for two evenings. It was such a pleasure to meet Lee and Moina and stay in their wonderful home. The room was great, the garden was spectacular, and I think I may have missed something special when I told Moina I didn't need her to make me a full breakfast everyday! I would recommend Alexandria's Treasure to anyone. Oh, and it's cheaper than a hotel.


Home away from home

4.2 on May 06, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alexandria's Treasure House, and would second the positive comments others have made, and add that the real treasure is owner Moina Ratliff. She's seen and experienced much, having arrived in WDC in 1950 and worked on Capitol Hill for 26 years, and restored several homes in Old Town. Please take the time to visit with her.


Like you're visiting your favorite family in the country!

4.8 on May 04, 2014

Monia made this a truly special experience. With it's impeccable cleanliness and historical art and decor, this B&B is beyond reproach. I will most definitely return. Close to King street and near the ferry that takes you straight to the baseball stadium. So cute. Anyone would be so lucky to get to stay here!


Great Stay In Alexandria

4.8 on May 03, 2014

A little tricky to find in this beautiful, quiet neighborhood of Alexandria with windy roads, but the accommodations were excellent and owner Moina was gracious and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and the next morning Moina served eggs as requested, and we had a fun conversation about the history of the home and life in Alexandria. We'll be sure to stay again next time we're in the DC area.


Great Holiday Visit!

4.6 on December 30, 2013

Coming from the Southwest, the two of us were looking for a romantic get away to ever more into the holiday spirit. We decided on DC and Alexandria's Treasure House. This was an excellent choice. Situated near Old Town Alexandria, this B&B is in a great location for enjoying Alexandria's history and culture while offering very easy access to DC. We were driving a rental car and did not use the readily available public transportation. Alexandria's Treasure House has parking accessible from the alley and street parking out front. Parking during our sightseeing was a manageable challenge and having the vehicle provided great storage flexibility of jackets and such. Alexandria's Treasure House is nicely finished. The rooms are ample in size, very comfortable, and kept very clean. The bed is very comfortable. The breakfasts are very satisfying. Moina's hospitality is delightful. All in all, it would be an easy first choice to stay here again.


Truly a Treasure In Alexandria

4.8 on September 29, 2013

My family and I recently traveled to Alexandria and had the pleasure of staying at Alexandria's Treasure House. Tucked into a lovely old neighborhood, but with easy access to downtown Old Town and the Metro, this is a charming bed and breakfast. A different but delicious breakfast every morning, immaculate rooms, beautifully tiled bathrooms with thick absorbent towels and superb hospitality. Modern amenities like Wi-Fi are included along with the charming rooms and wonderful hospitality. Moina and Lee were also really fun to talk to! Seattle Travelers


HOME AWAY FROM HOME !

4.8 on April 19, 2013

Our travel plans included touring both Alexandria's "Old Town" and Washington DC. Lodging then, had to be close to the METRO, as well as restaurants and shops. We chose Alexandria's Treasure House B & B which met all of our requirements as well as offering a quiet tree-lined neighborhood where we could get a good nights' sleep following a full day of being on the go. That was not the best part though, as our host, Moina greeted us warmly, having us feel a part of her family from the moment we arrived. Her home is spotless with personal touches and amenities abound; comfort and convenience could not have gotten any better! We booked her largest room with private bath which was comparable to luxury hotels! Bedding, linens and towels were first quality. Our room boasted period furniture which could have held clothing for at least six people! (Most B & B's do not offer useful storage for clothing after unpacking.) My wife and I enjoyed a hot cooked breakfast each morning including juice and coffee. Each evening we helped ourselves to a pot of tea from a selection of many imported teas. The manicured back yard offered a nice setting to kick back with a book, coffee or tea at the end of the day. Parking was found out front, at the curb; it was a pleasure not to bother with parking meters, nor worry about security. Quiet was not the word; we heard nothing at all in the evening; it seemed that all of the pets in the neighborhood were sleeping as well! Alexandria's Treasure House is highly recommended!!


A memorable stay

4.8 on April 13, 2013

We enjoyed Moina's warm and comfortable home. She went the extra mile to ensure we felt welcome and that we had everything we needed. Her wonderful stories of Washington and her fascinating life made our stay truly memorable.


Charming

4.8 on April 12, 2013

Moina was an excellent hostess. The inn is within walking distance of the metro and the town yet is in a quit neighborhood The room we stayed in was large with its own bath. Would highly recommend


Perfect home

4.6 on April 06, 2013

I stayed 4 days and will return. Moina is Great!


Alexandria's Treasure House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $165 - $175
  • Reviews (37) 4.6
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7035485893

View details

Top