Gatsby's House Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

OUTSTANDING B&B in historic Alexandria

5 on May 07, 2015

We had the pleasure of spending our last night in Virginia here. It was everything we expected and more. Marie is a gracious and warm hostess and her home is lovely and welcoming. Our room and bathroom was exceptionally clean with lots of high end amenities. The bed was extremely comfortable and the coverings warm, cozy, and fluffy. After returning from a day out and dinner, we were welcomed back with delicious, home-made chocolate chip cookies! The 3-course breakfast was absolutely scrumptious, and very well prepared. Can't wait to return. Joan and John, Maine

Springtime in Old Alexandria

5 on May 06, 2015

Marie couldn't have been kinder, or more gracious, and it really was a home from home, where we could come and go, and feel totally relaxed. This is a very comfortable b & b with delicious breakfasts and in a perfect spot to explore the lovely old neighbourhood, made even more beautiful by the spring blossom. Nearby King Street (free trolley cars) is wonderful for shopping and restaurants, and Marie was very knowledgeable in this regard. We had travelled a good deal before arriving at Gatsby's and it was the perfect place to catch our breath before getting the plane home to England. Ruth and John.

"Best night's sleep Ever!!!!"

5 on March 18, 2015

Our stay was so comfortable, we didn't want to get out of bed. Once we did, we were welcomed by a bountiful gourmet breakfast each day. After being out all day, we couldn't wait to indulge in the delicious treats Marie had waiting for us. Her warm home brought back childhood memories and we most certainly recommend staying here. Thank you for the hospitality, Marie!

Excellent B andB

5 on August 02, 2014

Perfectly located in Old Town Alexandria, a few blocks from King Street the location is charming and quiet. The metro is easily accessible via the free King St. Trolley. The room was spacious and impeccably clean. Marie provided gourmet breakfasts at a time requested by us and every night we found a bedtime snack graciously placed in our room. We plan to stay at Gatsby House each time we travel to the D.C area to visit our family there. The Daniels

Very Pleasant Stay

4.4 on June 25, 2014

Excellent homemade breakfast. Nice location, about 5 blocks from the shops and restaurants on King Street. Service was great with thoughtful personal touches. Third floor room was nice but ac is central and some may find it warm if they normally like to sleep in cooler temperatures. There was a fan available.

Great place to stay

5 on May 28, 2014

A small, (two rooms) but very spacious and comfortable and charming B & B. Within walking distance of old town Alexandria and close to DC which is not a car friendly city) We took the metro in and there is a bus stop to the metro across the street from Gatsby's House. Our room was great, comfy bed and the breakfasts were wonderful, not your old continetal fare but a full breakfast, different everyday and simply goumet. Marie, the innkeeper, is a great cook. Lots of nice little amenities, we were greeted with cold water when we returned from our daily trips and there were great homemade cookies at night.


5 on April 19, 2014

A great stay. Very comfortable and great breakfasts - A great experience overall.


5 on April 03, 2014

Just wanted to share what a wonderful stay we had at Gatsbys Huse on King Street in Alexandria, VA. Maries attention to deail was exquisite...fresh flowers in the bthroom and lounge area and on the table at breakfast, fresh fruit, orange juice and puff pastry shells for the eggs, bacon with fresh greens as well. A truly wonderful experience.

Comfortable and Inviting!

5 on December 16, 2013

My recent stay at Gatsby's House was a delight. My room was warm and cozy, the food was delicious and Marie made me feel right at home. The location is great - quiet and peaceful, and an easy walk to local shopping and restaurants. I'll be back to stay with Marie in the future.

Girls weekend away

4.6 on September 16, 2013

We had a lovely experience at Gatsby's House. Marie is very welcoming and a gourmet cook! We felt pampered. So glad we chose to stay there--what a great location!!

wonderful stay

5 on June 01, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in a number of excellent B&Bs over the years in several countries and we have never been so pleased with our stay in Gatsby House. The property and the landlady are both charming and welcoming, the location in Old Town was perfect. We felt like V I Ps with the excellent food and the care that was taken to make sure our stay was made as good as it gets!!!! We have no hesitation in recommending the Gatsby house for your stay in Washington DC. Thank you Marie Jeff and Dawn

Gatsby's House

5 on May 29, 2013

We just got back home from a trip to DC and this is the FOURTH time we have stayed with Marie at Gatsby's!!! We just feel like family and the room is so charming and inviting. She has the guest quarters on the top floor and we basically live in a world of our own up there. Her garden out back is lovely. We absolutely love staying there. Highly recommended - very highly!


5 on April 29, 2013

April 26-28, 2013 We so enjoyed our stay at Gatsby's House, and hope to return again. Marie is truly a wonderful hostess, providing all we needed and those breakfasts.... wow! so delicious and huge and lasted us way into the afternoon. We bicycled all over, to Gravelly Point, Mount Vernon and around DC. It's a perfect location to do all of that and more! A Super B&B, thanks to you Marie!!

Convenience and Service

4.8 on April 01, 2013

Marie's house was charming and clean and conveniently located to Old Town Alexandria. Marie's hospitality and breakfast was second to none. We will stay again if we can.

What a Gem!

5 on March 19, 2013

We were a party of three adults staying in Gatsby’s house whilst visiting friends currently living in Washington DC. The third floor rooms were beautifully presented private as we had the entire floor to ourselves and the rooms and bathroom had everything we needed and more. Loved the little chocolates left on the bedside table each evening. Marie was a welcoming and extremely helpful hostess especially as my luggage did not arrive until 2 days later – she provided me with several items to help me survive the trauma. Maria makes everyone one feel very comfortable in her lovely home. Maria’s breakfasts are amazing – fruit juice, fresh fruit with yogurt, filled croissants with hash brown, freshly baked muffins and scones, coffee – and that was only the first morning! Lunch is definitely not required after one of these wonderful feasts. Her breakfast table is so beautifully presented, a different colour scheme with matching china each morning. We travelled from Washington to the Florida Keys and there was no competition. We were sorry we could only stay 3 nights. The location is first class for strolling to Alexandria’s many restaurants and delightful little shops and also the waterfront. Public transport is available from right outside the front door. We would definitely recommend Gatsby House without hesitation. You will be in for a wonderful treat.

Absolutely Outstanding

5 on March 05, 2013

We are local and were looking to celebrate an Anniversary. Marie was very prompt in responding to requests and went above and beyond to make our stay special. The top floor is very private and well stocked. The location in Old Towne is quaint and within walking distance to the riverfront, shops, and restaurants. Marie's cooking is wonderful with great variety and portions. It definitely adds to the value of staying there. We look forward to staying again; only next time we would try to stay 2 nights instead of 1.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the review. I enjoyed having you here for your special time away. Please try and come again so that you can enjoy the bike riding and a little R&R All the best, Marie

Rescued from the Storm

5 on July 02, 2012

We were scheduled at a local hotel in Alexandria but when we arrived the power was out all over. I saw the Gatsby's House picture and felt like here could be a great alternative. Called Marie and found that she had just had guests leave and opened her doors to us. The house was beautiful, quiet and soothing. Marie had a recommendation for a lovely dinner place, which we did go to and loved, came home and slept like babies and then woke up to a scrumptious breakfast. Nothing could have been more comfortable or welcoming than Gatsby's House and Marie. Thank you again Marie!

Gatsby's House


  • Nightly Rate $150 - $165
  • Reviews (17) 4.9
  • Rooms 2
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 01-7035196102