The Farmhouse at Veritas Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining5.0

Score Breakdown based on
75 Reviews

Write A Review

Best B&B in the US, hands down!

5 on July 07, 2014

I really don't know what to say that hasn't already been said... Simply put it is only 100 yards from the main drive into the winery, but that 100 yards transports you to a totally stress free, relaxed and friendly escape from reality. Chloe and the rest of the staff, work tirelessly behind the scenes to make it virtually impossible to have anything but a wonderful and memorable experience. The wine is arguably the best in Virginia and food at The Farmhouse is incredable. The rooms are comfortable and make you forget that you will eventually will have to leave, even though you will not want to. I've stayed there twice, and am already planning when I will return. Best of the best!


Perfect Paradise....

5 on July 06, 2014

WOW....a perfect stay from start to finish! What an incredible experience from Jose and Leticia's warm and genuine welcome to the fond farewell! We went to the Veritas Winery four years ago and absolutely loved it. We were so happy to learn they had opened an Inn and we would be able to enjoy their lovely vista for a breakfast and dinner! The rooms are beautifully and thoughtfully appointed, including a wonderful welcome bottle of Chardonnay and a festive "wine" hour with the other guests. We are so glad we decided to take advantage of Chef Andy's Farmhouse dinner paired with wines from the vineyard. It was delightful and we loved getting to know the other guests who were mostly from Virginia. The property is nicely situated about 20-30 minutes from Charlottesville and an easy ride to other great vineyards and historical attractions. We stayed at 6 inns during our Virginia getaway and, by far, this was our favorite. You can't go wrong.....we will be back, for sure!!!! Wendy and Tom Florida


Paradise in the Blue Ridge

4.6 on July 05, 2014

From the moment we walked in the home the smell of fresh baked cookies filled the air. Greeted by a friendly staff, we were provided a tour of the home which is decorated very tastefully. I felt like royalty as I walked the halls and then saw our room AMAZING! A bottle of the signature wine awaited us in the room and the weather was perfect. It was only a short stroll past the vineyards to the winery where we taste tested and purchased some more local wine. The food was amazing and I felt It was more artwork than something to eat. I wanted to frame it of display it on a pedestal as it was so appealing to the eye but more so, tasted fantastic! I highly recommend a visit to The Farmhouse at Veritas, I know I will be back!


BEST B&B IN THE US! FEELS LIKE HOME, IF YOU ARE LAID-BACK ROYALTY!!!

5 on June 25, 2014

First, it is on the BEST winery in VA, which is not an easy accomplishment. Second, the staff (from Chloe to Leticia) are gifted and focused on making your personal experience the best it can be. Third, the FOOD IS INCREDIBLE. Period. Breakfast and Dinner are always a pleasant adventure. Fourth, each room is unique and elegant while making you feel like you are the only guest at the Farmhouse. The overall experience is classic, understated, rich and very, very personal. We have stayed three times and each time the Farmhouse has deepened the offerings while maintaining the "British Family" atmosphere that makes it our very favorite home away from home. We'll be back every year, FOREVER!


Another wonderful stay at The Farmhouse

5 on June 19, 2014

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Farmhouse at Veritas on three occasions. On each of our 2 night visits, we have been so impressed by the warm and friendly staff and family who take care of the guests. Relaxing while surrounded by mountains and a thriving winery just adds to the appeal. Additionally, we've met some delightful guests. We look forward to our next visit.


one of the best ever

5 on May 01, 2014

As recent transplants from California, we wanted to explore Virginia wineries and picked the Farmhouse at Veritas for our overnight stay. What a marvelous introduction to Virginia wine country and hospitality. The Farmhouse and Veritas Winery were an impeccable experience. We have experienced some of the finest B&B's California has to offer and the Farmhouse rates right up there with them. Both room and service were wonderful. And even more, the meals - dinner and breakfast - were outstanding, prepared on site from locally acquired meats and produce and of course accompanied with the very excellent Veritas wines. We are already talking about a return trip!


Fantastic

5 on April 04, 2014

My wife and I stayed just one but definitely will return. We arrived with 6 inches of new snow in a beautiful setting among the vineyards. We relaxed from the long trip in a spacious, very comfortable bedroom. Breakfast was amazing, two gourmet choices, prepared by the chef de cuisine! Chloe, the owner, was delightful and talked to us about growing up at Veritas. Our only disappointment was they do not serve dinner on weekdays in the winter.


Outstanding B&B

5 on March 27, 2014

My husband and I came here for our 25th anniversary. We were not disappointed. We love the B&B experience and this B&B is one of if not the best we have been to. What a warm and inviting atmosphere, and beautiful scenery. The breakfasts were truly delicious and the chocolate chip cookies were awesome!! We will definitely be doing dinner the next time we stay. Can't say enough about the staff, friendly, helpful and accommodating. Thanks so much to all!


An Incredible B&B

5 on March 13, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in many wonderful B&Bs on both the East and West cost during our 30+ year marriage. As seasoned veterans, and hopeless romantics, we always have high expectations, especially for Diamond Collection Properties. The Farm House at Veritas didn't disappoint! This beautiful old house, gorgeous surroundings and warm hosts/staff exceeded our expectations across the board. Each guest room is roomy and beautifully appointed, as are all of the common areas. Breakfast was incredible (can't wait to go back to have dinner!!) with a sweet or savory choice of delightful indulgences. We are very fortunate to be close by, and plan to make a habit of visiting the Farm House for special occasions and Winery events! M&S Smith


The Retreat - Ready to Return ASAP

5 on February 05, 2014

I live in the area and had gone to The Farmhouse for a few of the dinners which were spectacular. I kept thinking I should do a mini get-away and stay at the B&B but then decided to try the new fitness program they have called The Retreat at Veritas. A week of yoga and hiking with the addition of cooking classes, horseback riding, massages, wine education, fantastic meals, and more was basically a dream come true. I had a blast, met an amazing group of new friends, and came home feeling completely rejuvenated. I could go on and on but I honestly think you need to just go and check it out for yourself! I'm hoping to return at least once a year so maybe I'll see you there!


Wondeful Romantic Weekend

5 on December 10, 2013

My husband booked The Farmhouse as a surprise getaway for my birthday. It was an incredible 3 days and 2 nights - the Farmhouse itself is beautiful, warm and incredibly inviting. The setting is breathtaking and the inside feels like home - a very nice home at that! From the fire in the kitchen fireplace, to the views of the mountains and vineyards from our room, it was such a special place. Chloe helped make the weekend special by booking a horseback riding tour of the property (that she rode along and commentated for us!), suggesting we dine in the kitchen with the chef for dinner (which was a tremendous treat!), and leaving us a personal note after we had been out all day. The food was to die for - the chefs there are some of the best. Dinner was an event in itself, and breakfast was way beyond our expectations. The staff on hand were so lovely and helpful. The location is central to so many things yet offers so much right outside the door. Veritas has always been our favorite winery and now knowing what The Farmhouse has to offer is just icing on the cake. We will be back again. And again!


Incredible experience

5 on November 29, 2013

We just returned from a stay over the Thanksgiving holiday at this fabulous Inn! First off..... sometimes the pictures you see on the websites aren't quite what you see upon arrival. Not so at this place! As advertised and so much more! Beautiful Inn.... Gorgeous setting.....Family was a delight to meet.....Staff was excellent and the food! Wow! We enjoyed dinner there one night and it was a meal to remember. The owner gave me a route to take a walk up through the vineyards one morning and the view was so peaceful and gorgeous. Plus, I needed a good brisk workout after the outstanding breakfast we enjoyed every morning. We tried to think of what more we could have wanted from our holiday at the Farmhouse and we came up with nothing! It was a perfect time! Thanks to all and we shall return.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for taking the time to review! We so enjoyed meeting you all and I hope you will come see us again soon! Enjoy the holidays!


The Farmhouse at Veritas is awesome!

5 on November 19, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The Farmhouse for 2 nights. The house is beautiful, the grounds are gorgeous, the food and service were magnificent! The location is fantastic! We had THE BEST time, and while we were there booked another weekend this summer.


Fabulous!

5 on November 09, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights there, 7th and 8th of November, 2013. This was beyond what I had expected. The staff went out of their way to deliver a fantastic two days. The property is beautiful, nestled among rolling hills of a vineyard. The food was out of this world and nightly wine with appetizers was something to look forward to sitting by the fireplace. We are going to go back at least twice a year.


First time at the Farmhouse and will definitely be back!

5 on October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Farmhouse for four days and three nights as a fall vacation and a birthday present to her. The breakfast in the morning was AMAZING every day. You can sit at the kitchen counter and watch the chef prepare your meals if you'd like. Two options, one sweet, one savory, everyday and they're never the same from day to day. The grounds are also amazing. The Farmhouse is surrounded on three sides by vineyards. You a views in all directions of the mountains and you can sit on the back porch and look out a the sun as it sets. The dinner was exquisite. A four course, wine paired (four full glasses of wine) meal prepared by the chef and again changing all the time. We had a corn chowder with a goat cheese stuffed jalapeno wrapped in bacon to start, then had a wonderful salad, and then a main course of Chilean sea bass that was cooked to perfection. Desert was a roasted pear wrapped in puff pastry. Everything was fantastic. There's also a wine hour everyday. You get to taste all the different wines from Veritas vineyards, have a full glass of what you like along with a small plate of food usually consisting of cheese, olives, crackers, and a cured meat. The service was also wonderful. Everyone was extremely nice and accommodating. I told them it was my wife's birthday and they suggested a local flower shop for me, put the flowers in my room when they got there, and wrote a happy birthday on our dinner menu cards for her. I was so impressed and happy with everything at the Farmhouse. We will definitely be back and hopefully be bringing friends next time.


Anniversary Stay

5 on October 13, 2013

We enjoyed one the most pleasant experiences in our 35 years of marriage here. From the hospitality, accommodations to the wine and dining, all were impeccable. Will definitely return.


Stay at the farmhose

5 on October 10, 2013

Recently stayed at the Farnhouse at Veritas and had a wonderful visit. The farmhouse was lovely. The staff was highly accomadating. Chef Joel's breakfasts surpassed any we enjoyed anywhere including our stays in Europe.


Awesome!!

5 on October 10, 2013

The service and food was outstanding!!! It was by far the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at!! I will be coming back again!!!


Relax, soak in the beauty and enjoy the cuisine

5 on October 04, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Farmhouse this past week. In a nutshell, Fabulous! From reservations, to check-in and all the way through to check-out and departure our stay was perfect. We were met by Alex who saw us to our room and met Patricia for a pre-dinner beverage and appetizer plate. We had dinner at the farmhouse and Patricia continued doting on us while Chef Joel prepared our meal. The four course dinner w/ Veritas wine pairings was terrific and discussing the meal with the Chef and exploring aromas, sights, textures and tastes made for a great experience. We stayed in the Devon, which was sufficiently quiet. The early morning offered us a nice stroll up the road and ended with a cup of coffee and a seat under the gazebo as the mist rose from the nearby mountains. At 9am we sat for breakfast and enjoyed a 3 course preparation that offered us one savory and one sweet entrée that, of course, we switched up half way through the meal. I asked my wife: "and we haven't done this once a month, why?" If you need a get-a-way or you are passing through central Virginia, The Farmhouse is a must stay BnB.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for such a lovely review, Rob! It was such a pleasure to meet you and your wife. We can't wait to see you next month!


Gorgeous Place!

5 on October 03, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast was beautiful. From the rooms to the breakfast. We also did the Farmhouse Dinner and it was surely not to be missed. Romantic, beautiful and delicious dinner. From the second you arrive the Farmhouse setting is breath taking. The warmth, generosity and hospitality of the staff and owners is nothing like I have ever seen at a Bed and breakfast. This is one place to visit, stay and go often. We cannot wait to go back.

Innkeeper Response
We can't wait to see you again soon! Thank you for posting the review!


Wonderful experience

4.8 on September 04, 2013

The staff are excellent, warm, friendly and provide service with a smile. They make you feel welcome from the very beginning. We truly felt like family. The setting is beautiful and relaxing. Will absolutely visit again. Rob


Perfect retreat

5 on August 29, 2013

We had one night anniversary celebration that far exceeded our expectations. The serene setting, beautifully decorated room, attentive and gracious staff and delicious dinner and breakfast made us feel very special. We would recommend this to our friends and family.


Wonderful experience

5 on August 07, 2013

Our experience was so wonderful, we are now sending our parents there for a gift next year! The Farmhouse is worth it simply for the breakfast alone. The breakfast was the best we have ever had at any bed and breakfast! The choice of a savory and sweet breakfast was lovely. The amuse bouche was delightful everyday. Getting to taste Veritas wines during breakfast and the amuse bouche was an added plus. The views of the vineyard from the room were gorgeous, including the vines and the farm animals frolicking in the field across from the farmhouse. We cannot say enough about the Farmhouse and its staff.


Wonderful, marvelous...but the 4-course meal option, just so so

4.4 on August 01, 2013

This place so exceptional I can't say enough. However, we opted to dine at the Farmhouse partaking of the four-course meal with wine pairings. Though the chef was delightful and sports an impressive resume, the food in general was just above average, and sadly, the main course (which was a basic pork tenderloin with swiss chard) was terribly overcooked...just didn't match the rest of our experience which was OUTSTANDING! My guess, he just had a bad day - I would give him another try.


Outstanding

5 on July 31, 2013

We were welcomed by a more than friendly and eager to serve staff. The breakfast each morning was unique and delicious. The fruit was so fresh. The wine and cheese hour each night was fun and it gave us an opportunity to sample wines and olives that otherwise we would not have tasted. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They also knew a lot about the area and gave us recommendations for dinner, golf, and antiquing. We will definitely be back!!


Wonderful Stay

5 on July 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Farmhouse for our anniversary. We have visited the Veritas winery over the years and were already aware of their good reputation. The stay at the Farmhouse exceeded our expectations. We had a comfortable room, the surroundings were beautiful, and the staff very friendly. We sprang for dinner one night and had one of the best meals we've eaten. Highly recommended!


A Cut Above the Rest!

5 on July 23, 2013

What a wonderful place! The service is impeccable, the food delicious and the views breath taking. We can not wait to come back. Thank You!


Outsdanding !!!!

5 on July 05, 2013

Do not think twice.... GO! we just came back from the most wonderful 4th of July holiday to celebrate our anniversary. We had a great time at The Farmhouse at Veritas. The staff, the food, the rooms, the wine, the company of other guests and the Innkeeper made us feel at home. We could have stayed there for another week... will go back for sure!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you that was an "Outstanding!!!" review, I cannot tell you how much that means to us.


Perfect Weekend Retreat

5 on July 01, 2013

We've stayed at the Farmhouse twice in the last year and each experience has been wonderful. The staff are friendly and committed to providing you the most relaxing and romantic atmosphere possible. With three-course breakfasts, a gorgeous mountain view, and the winery within walking distance, it's become our favorite weekend vacation spot!


Best B and B I have ever been to!!

5 on June 20, 2013

Our stay at the Farmhouse was truly outstanding. It has most gracious staff in a beautiful setting with the most delicious food I have ever eaten. We were blown away by breakfast and dinner, wine, amuse bouche. I cannot say enough about this inn and its owners. They have obviously done their homework when they made their hires. Everyone could not have done their jobs better. Everyone we were lucky to interact with were just lovely people. We cannot wait to go back. The food is ten star!!


Where to begin ...

5 on June 11, 2013

This is the best place I've EVER stayed! Before this, I would have said that the Inn on Biltmore Estates was unparalleled in terms of hospitality, accommodations and service. I can no longer say that. Chef Joel and the staff are absolutely incredible! The uniqueness of each room and the personalization is incredible! If I could go back every weekend, I would! I'd have to bring a personal trainer along with me so I didn't gain another 5 pounds but it would be worth it! Highly recommend!


A wonderful experience!

5 on June 09, 2013

The picturesque setting, beautiful accommodations, delightful meals, and the most gracious and accommodating hosts, made our stay at the Farmhouse at Veritas one of our best-ever B&B experiences. This truly exceptional B&B is at the top of our "Stay There Again" list.


Wonderful get-away!

5 on June 09, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Farmhouse in May, and it was fabulous. The staff was attentive, the food was incredible, and the overall ambience was inviting and relaxing. I liked how you had the run of the house and felt comfortable milling about in the common areas...we enjoyed shooting pool and listening to music, sitting on the back porch with our wine and soaking up the sunshine...and just walking around the beautiful property. The location was ideal for hiking and hitting the wine trails, both of which we did. As a side note, the wines at Veritas were the best we tried! Happy hour was a treat, trying their different wines and getting to know the other guests. And the breakfasts, OMG, just amazing. We only wish the dinners were offered during the week, as we stayed on M-T-Wed and couldn't enjoy. I highly recommend this place, and we hope to come back again soon!


Fantastic weekend getaway

5 on June 03, 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding at Veritas this weekend and are so happy that we decided to stay at the Farmhouse. The inn is gorgeous, our room (Cornwall) fit our needs perfectly, and the people are wonderful. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning on the back porch, we stole some quiet moments on the upstairs porch just enjoying the views, and the nightly wine hour was a great chance to taste some wines and enjoy meeting the other guests. We visited several wineries during our stay, and the staff was happy to offer us great recommendations. The wine in our room was a great welcome, and I indulged in more of the delicious cookies than I should have! Overall, our getaway was wonderful, and we can't wait to visit again!


Unbelievable Find

5 on May 22, 2013

I still cannot believe how great this place is, and how long it took me to find it. I am an alum of UVA and I've been to Veritas Winery multiple times, yet I never thought about staying at the Farmhouse until this past graduation weekend when all the typical options (Boar's Head Inn, Keswick, etc) were booked. Man am I happy they were booked! The Farmhouse blows them all out of the water. It's truly 5 star accommodations at 3 star prices. The breakfast alone should win culinary awards and the house and rooms could not be any more charming and comfortable. I will NEVER stay anywhere else when I visit Charlottesville!


Fabulous Getaway!

5 on May 15, 2013

My husband and I live in Washington D.C. and just wanted a nice, relaxing getaway in Virginia Wine Country. We had no idea we were in for such a treat when we booked the Farmhouse! The staff were all incredibly nice and accommodating. The breakfasts were out of this world and of a caliber that I have never experienced at another B&B. We also got to meet several members of the family that owns Veritas and they were all very nice and welcoming! We would highly recommend staying here. I am already planning on booking a another weekend for my mother's birthday!


Lovely escape in Virginia

4.8 on May 15, 2013

Chef was superb, fine dinner and three course breakfast. Entire staff was delightful, warm and friendly.


PERFECT Getaway!

5 on May 11, 2013

We recently stayed at The Farmhouse at Veritas with my sister and brother-in-law to celebrate my birthday and their anniversary. Everything was absolutely perfect: the farmhouse itself is a BEAUTIFULLY restored Civil-War Era home, with gorgeous hardwood floors, paneling and perfectly chosen furniture. We arrived shortly before the "happy hour" and got to sit with the owner and enjoy some of the Veritas wines (and lovely company). Both mornings that we were there we enjoyed delicious meals served by the Chefs... and some sparkling wine! (such a great way to start the day when we you are on vacation! especially the second morning when we got to sit outside... perfect). We toured 2 wineries on our first day there, and then we did the tastings at Veritas before heading home on our 2nd day. We loved the Veritas wine, and became members of their club as it was so good. The staff at The Farmhouse (and the winery) were just so lovely, and it was great seeing what a family-run company they have - very impressive. If you are looking for a truly lovely, romantic (sparkling wine waiting for you in your room upon check-in) get-away then this is the place to go! We have been to several other B&B's in VA and MD but this is now our favorite - can't wait to go back!! Thank you to all of the staff for such a lovely stay.


Unforgettable 30th wedding anniversary celebration!!

5 on April 14, 2013

From the time you walk in until the time you leave you will love The Farmhouse at Veritas. Jose greeted us upon arrival with some fresh baked chocolate chip cookies right out of the oven! We stayed in Somerset, a lovely room. Beautiful artwork, window treatments and paint color. We went to Veritas winery that afternoon. A beautiful setting and very good wine. Wine hour was at 5:30. So nice that Patricia (loved hearing about the history of the Farmhouse and Veritas) joined us. Also enjoyed getting aquainted with other guests. We enjoyed an outstanding 4 course dinner,prepared by the amazing Chef Joel, with each course paired with Veritas wines, on our second night. Breakfast was amazing as well. The entire stay was perfect. Thank you Hodson Family for doing it right...


Favorite Bed & Breakfast!

5 on March 11, 2013

My husband have enjoyed a winter get away trip for the past seven years and have stayed at a different hotel or b&b each year. The Farmhouse at Veritas was our favorite by a long shot! The property was breathtaking, the food and Chef Joel were just divine and Patricia and Andrew were absolutely lovely! You feel right at home. The companionship of the staff was so unique and fun. Everything was perfect at the Farmhouse at Veritas!


Farmhouse at Veritas

5 on January 27, 2013

My wife & I decided on a last minute get away and we chose the Farmhouse at Veritas. Having been to Veritas several times for wine tastings and dinners we wanted to give their Farmhouse a try. The house was immaculate and very welcoming. All of the staff were very pleasant and made sure all of our needs were taken care of. The breakfasts in the morning were out of this world and left us very filled. I would certainly recommend the Farmhouse to anyone. We will certainly be back for another visit. Thanks to all the staff at Veritas for an enjoyable stay. Sincerely, Hugh & Erica Cline


Outstanding is an understatement!

5 on January 27, 2013

We stumbled upon this gem almost a year ago while making preparations for my husband's 40th birthday celebration. We knew we wanted a "wine tasting" weekend with friends, and we knew we wanted to be together all weekend. This immediately elimated all hotels. The Farmhouse at Veritas was THE PERFECT place for us. We arrived NYE weekend, to a full staff all more than ready to help us get unpacked, settled and organized. Since we has rented the entire house for our guests, I had lots of other provisions to unpack and things to store with the staff. We occupied every room, and each was better than the one before! The gathering room is lovely and very fun. The food is incredible. Valerie, Jose, Joel and Jon could not have been more accomodating and welcoming for our 4 day stay. The meals, the service, the attention to detail were all phenomenal from start to finish. There was NOTHING we asked for the was not accommodated, including a chef prepared dinner for 15! My husband and I and our 10 guests, truly can not say enough about The Farmhouse. BEST TRIP WITH FRIENDS EVER--many many thanks to everyone there. This is a MUST do while visiting the area!


service & food were outstanding

5 on January 26, 2013

We were there for a weekend in January---our visit was wonderful--food and service was outstanding. We especially enjoyed breakfast and hope someday a cookbook will be written. So thank you again for a great weekend. We would difinitely recommend you to our friends.


Best Getaway Weekend

5 on December 16, 2012

My wife and I had never been to a bed and breakfast before. It was the best experience we had. I had made special request to surprise my wife and all were met. The staff was friendly, helpful and made us feel at home. We stayed in the Derby room and the views were beautiful looking out at the mountain and the vinyards. The breakfast and wine pairing dinner was excellent and the chef made some incredible dishes. Our experience at The Farmhouse at Veritas was beyond our expectations and we will definately go back. Even our pet, Brad Pit, enjoyed his stay. To everyone at The Farmhouse thank you.


Outstanding Food & Service

4.8 on November 27, 2012

We absolutely loved our 3 night stay at the Farmhouse at Veritas. Our room was the Surrey Room. The bed was comfy and the room was nicely appointed with nice views and amenities. Our only complaint is that the fireplace wasn’t operational. Both the food and service were spectacular. Chef Joel cooked some amazing breakfasts each morning…..correction…the food was phenomenal! We ate dinner there one night and he knocked it out of the park as well. Valerie’s service was awesome. Having been in their shoes and worked at a 5 Star/Diamond Resort in the past, I could tell that they have the gift of hospitality. We normally don't stay at B&B's but we sure are glad we did. This was our first time to the area and we intend to make this a annual trip. We will only stay at the Farmhouse. No need to go else where. All of the staff, especially Joel and Valerie made us feel at home and very relaxed. Joel is an amazing chef and very personable. We are foodies so being able to discuss with him cooking topics was all part of the great experience. We look forward to our next trip...sooner rather than later!


Over the Top

5 on November 27, 2012

In my 30 years of business and pleasure travel, I have never had an experience that exceeded our stay at the Farmhouse. Awesome staff, felt very special all weekend long. Hats off to the Hodson's, they do it right!


Perfect Getaway

5 on November 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed recently at the Farmhouse. I looked around the area for a place to stay while visiting nearby wineries and found Veritas online. The website made the rooms look incredible, but there is no comparison to seeing it in person. It does not disappoint! The service was wonderful. Joel and Jose were wonderful at breakfast. French press coffee and a 3 course breakfast including Mousseux started our wine-tasting day off right. Highly recommend staying during the week if you are looking for a quiet getaway and extra attention all around. We will definitely be back and will refer friends as well!


Most Incredible Getaway

5 on November 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I had the most incredible time here. It was the perfect weekend getaway, the service was impeccable and the food was to die for. Everything about this place went above and beyond any expectations and we can't wait to go back.


Romantic wine tasting weekend

4.8 on November 14, 2012

My husband surprised me with a weekend at my favorite Virginia vineyard: Veritas. The Farmhouse is both elegant and rustic at the same time. It is both beautifully furnished and comfortable. You get the best of both worlds. They even have a room that they allow pets to stay in! The chef, Joel, was not only a very talented chef, but very friendly and hospitable. Valerie and the crew were so accomodating and friendly. Will we be back again? Absolutely!!!


A Virginia Wine Country Treasure

5 on November 10, 2012

We will always treasure our visit at the Farmhouse at Veritas. The beautifully restored, exquisite farmhouse is an architectural and visual delight. So evident is the attention to detail both in design and decor which creates an ambiance of warmth and old Virginia charm. The gardens are delightful, well-maintained cornucopias of country flowers, herbs and vegetables--perfect organic ingredients for Joel's artisanal cuisine. Our private breakfast on the verandah each morning cannot be paralleled. We were made to feel like royalty as Jose and Joel greeted us and presented each course. Joel's interpretive, creative renditions of old Virginia recipes fused a medley of old meets new in each course presented--satisfying both the eye and the palate. His unique talent and friendliness merits distinction. We were surprised by being included in bed and breakfast media for the Farmhouse website, so our visit was made even more exciting. Through Patricia's graciousness and hospitality, our visit to the Farmhouse became a relaxing and memorable experience in the Virginia Wine Country.


Nice Relaxing Getaway

4.4 on October 21, 2012

Great service!! The chefs dinner is a must. Joel is very creative and talented chef,. Served only on Friday and Saturday nights you won’t want to miss it. Minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway, in the foothills of the mountains a relaxing setting on the vineyard estate.


Great Place for Anniversary Getaway

5 on October 14, 2012

It took me a awhile to choose a place for my wife and I to go for our 1st Anniversary, but I'm glad I found the Farmhouse and Veritas. The pictures on the web site really don't show how nice the rooms are. All of the Staff provides superb service. The Chef's at Veritas did a wonderful job on the breakfasts. The inn keeper provided in depth information about other activities and other winerys.in the area. He also helped with special requests that made the anniversay very memorable. If you are a wine lover, then this Winery and Bed & Breakfast, as welll as the surrounding area, make an excellent choice.


B&B the one to goto

5 on October 09, 2012

My two friends and I wanted to get away for a girls' weekend. I tried to get into another B&B, but the other place would not accommedate three of us in one room. We didn't want to split up since late night chatting was a must. The staff was amazing! Royalty was what we were treated like. Joel, the chief, made the most delicious dishes. We highly recommend the additional dinner service. You will not be disappointed. I can not wait to go back. Maybe in the fall with the leaves or the winter so I can sit next to the fireplaces.


Very Special Place!

5 on October 08, 2012

The Farmhouse at Veritas is a very special place! My husband and I couldn't get over the beautiful view outside our bathroom window, no less. It has the views, the quiet peacefulness of the mountain area, wonderful rooms, a fabulous breakfast, and gracious service and staff. The house is beautiful with multiple rooms to enjoy, as well as the outside decks and porches. I loved how they used fresh flowers everywhere! They do many things very well.


Far exceeded our highest expectations!

5 on October 08, 2012

My husband and I spent two wonderful days at Veritas. The hosts were extremely accomodating, the staff bent over backwards to make us comfortable, the food was fabulous, and the fall setting was relaxing . The owners seem to have spent a lot of time creating an elegant, yet extremely comfortable and warm environment in the Farmhouse. The adjacent vin;eyard/tasting room added to the charm. We shared our experience with our close friends and they now want to visit! We give Veritas Farmhouse our highest recommendation!


The perfect getaway

5 on August 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed the first weekend in Aug. before he deployed. We couldn't have had a better and more relaxing experience. The staff is perfectly attentive and make you feel like royalty. We stayed in the room with the loft bedroom, which is a little more private, and it was gorgeous (as is the rest of the house). It had amazing views and did not feel like a hotel room at all. You can definitely tell that the owners' heart and soul have been poured into every aspect of the inn, from the ambiance and decor to the staff and daily operations. The breakfasts were that of a five star hotel, and the chefs were top shelf. Drew, the over-seer of everything wonderful, will make himself available whenever you need him, and he makes you feel completely at home. If you can make it happen, I would definitely recommend going early in the week (we were there Monday and Tuesday night), and you might get the house to yourself which makes it all that more romantic. To top everything off, Veritas has that best wine and the best tasting room in the Shenandoah region by far. My husband and I like to travel new places and always stay in different hotels, but this one place that we will absolutely come back to.


A Top Shelf Experience!

5 on August 20, 2012

At the Farmhouse you get it all! The view, quarters, wine, food, and staff are all second to none. The true highlights that made our weekend most enjoyable were Drew, Valerie, and Chef Joel. They all took great care of us. We had a DYNAMITE Winemaker's Dinner and strongly suggest that anyone who decides to stay here make reservations as soon as you can before the table fills up. You will not be disappointed! Thanks to all at the Farmhouse for a "Best Seen To Date" experience. We will see you again very soon! Cheers! Robster.


Best B&B -Worthy of a Million Stars

5 on August 19, 2012

“In Vino Veritas” means “In wine there is truth” and it is also the credo of the Veritas Winery. Well the truth is the Veritas Farmhouse is a gem!! Although my husband and I have been a fan of Veritas wine since our first sip, this was our first stay at the Farmhouse. From the time you walk into the newly renovated B&B you just feel welcome and by the end of our two night stay it was as if all the employees of the Farmhouse were our best friends. It was honestly hard to leave. The room was incredible and exactly as pictured on the website. The breakfasts were outstanding. Everything is made fresh and they are very accommodating to your dietary needs. We also had a dinner prepared by Jonathan which was an extra charge but worth every penny. Another plus is that the Veritas Wine is available at almost any time morning/day/night. (I think there is more wine than water.) Also, we were able to bring our dog and everyone was so very accommodating. I can’t say enough good things about the Farmhouse and we are already planning our trip back!


will be back!

5 on August 08, 2012

From the welcome bottle of bubbly to the gourmet breakfast, the personal touches of the Farmhouse at Veritas make you feel like you are part of their family. We celebrated our anniversary there last weekend and had such a great experience. I can't recommend this place enough! I just hope they don't get too popular so we can come back again and again, which we plan to do!


Weekend Winery Getaway

5 on August 06, 2012

We stayed at the Farmhouse for a much needed weekend getaway. We just love Veritas Winery and when we heard that a bed and breakfast had just recently opened on the property, there was no question where to stay. I knew that the service would be great, but had no idea what a treat we were in for. From the hospitality and warm nature of the General Manager Drew, to the exquisite cuisine Joel provided on a daily basis, it was truly amazing! We even made new friends with the other guets that were visiting. I believe this has become a home away from home for us!


A great place to stay for the wine country

4.4 on August 06, 2012

We spent a weekend at "The Farmhouse" and couldn't have found a better place to rest and relax after doing wine tastings all day. Drew, the GM and Joel, the Chef, involved us as family members, not as guests. The B&B itself is charming and warm, the real treat was the treatment received from Drew and Joel.


Impeccable

5 on July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Farmhouse for a weekend for my fiance's birthday. From the moment we arrived at the beautiful grounds of the farmhouse and vineyard, the stresses of our 9-5 lives in DC were forgotten. In addition to the complimentary bottle of champagne that was left for us in our well-appointed, clean and darling room, Rebecca gifted my fiance an additional bottle of the vineyard's dessert wine for his birthday. The warm and lovely British owners treated us like family, while Rebecca saw to it that our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. We loved the house itself, filled with small nooks both indoors and out for reading, relaxing, playing games, and drinking some of the vineyard's wonderful wine. The fantastic breakfasts on the covered porch every morning were a great beginning to two beautiful days that included a complimentary vineyard and winery tour, a trip along Skyline Drive and a hike, a special Starry Nights evening of Brazilian salsa, bonfires, and a delicious dinner prepared by Chef Jonathon under the stars. In sum: impeccable. I've stayed in quite a few bed and breakfasts in both the U.S. and Europe, and this is amongst the best of those that I've visited. Thank you so much Rebecca, Patricia, both chefs, and our winery tour guide (also Rebecca).


Our Visit

5 on July 16, 2012

It was an absolutely wonderful weekend. The facility, service and food were superb and we have already signed up to go back.


Amazing Get Away

5 on July 15, 2012

Our weekend away at The Farmhouse at Veritas was amazing! We had the Winemaker dinner on Friday night---it was one of the best meals my husband and I have ever had. Chef Joel is a master at his craft and all of his food was beyond incredible. The staff was there at every turn to make sure our weekend was the best in every way. We are already looking to see when we can book our next weekend there!


You should absolutely stay here!

5 on July 07, 2012

A friend and I stayed at The Farmhouse at Veritas for a weekend in May. It was wonderful. The house itself is beautiful and new. The owners are an incredibly sweet, accomodating British couple who bought the vineyard in their "retirement." It was a bit different [in a good way] than the more traditional B&B's I've stayed at, in that it didn't feel like I was staying in someone else's old, potentially stuffy home--a major plus in my book. The location is a quick drive to other area vineyards, as well as downtown Charlottesville. As you've probably read already, breakfast was amazing. The food was absolutely delicious, included multiple courses, and mimosas. [Side note: after I commented on the chef's perfectly poached eggs, she explained her method to me, so after years of fly-away whites, I now can make my own perfectly poached eggs!]. This type of brunch would run $30 at the low end in an equally quaint-yet-elegant restaurant. So, particularly when you think about what you get for breakfast [and the wine at happy hour], we felt the prices at the time were very reasonable for the great quality! Lastly, my friend and I stayed in the bedroom on the main floor. It was great for us [and cheaper than the upstairs room], but it is just off the common area inside, and some of the windows face the porch, so there is definitely less privacy than the upstairs rooms. Highly recommended!


At home in Veritas!!!!!

5 on July 01, 2012

My husband and I visited The Farmhouse at Veritas for our first B&B ever for two glorious nights. We didn't know what to expect but were thrilled at the great personal treatment we received from Chloe and her wonderful chef Jonathan. They went out of their way to make us feel right at home. The view, the food, the staff all I can say is Wow.......... We will be back, and thanks again for making us feel at home.


Gorgeous and Friendly!

5 on June 27, 2012

I hadn't been to a bed & breakfast before... and now I have very high standards! The Farmhouse at Veritas is so beautiful and the owners/staff are all exceptionally friendly and fun! There is a lot to do in the area... but you wont need to go to another winery because their wine is great!


A Taste of Elegant and Comfortable in the Blue Ridge

5 on June 20, 2012

We met friends from Miami, FL for a lovely weekend of Reunion at The Farmhouse in mid-June. ALL could not have been more special! The rooms are beautiful, immaculate, and every detail is taken into account. We relaxed on all of the porches, savored wine from Veritas vineyards throughout the afternoon and into the evening, starting with a sparkle of Mousseaux at our sumptuous breakfasts! What a great weekend, from every perspective, The Farmhouse was a hit with all of us! Tops in every way! This new B&B is one of the most beautiful we have stayed in, ever.


Fabulous Farmhouse at Veritas

5 on June 14, 2012

We spent two wonderful evenings at The Farmhouse -- it is exceptional in every way. We stayed in the Surrey, which was a delightful, well appointed bedroom and bath. The entire house -- library, billiard room and porches were so welcoming and enjoyable. Breakfast was simply divine, both Saturday and Sunday and, best of all,it was served on the back porch on white clothed tables! So elegant! Visit Farmhouse at Veritas -- you will not be disappointed!!


It doesn't get any better than this!

5 on May 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed the weekend of May 11, 2012 and it was absolutely perfect! We were already a huge fan of Veritas as we had our daughter's wedding there the previous fall and were really excited to learn that they opened a Bed and Breakfast right on the property. The Farmhouse is beautiful and every detail is exceptional. It has every possible amenity and is top notch in every detail yet - you feel comfortable and right at home. The welcoming service and accommodations instantly made you feel relaxed and special. The food the entire weekend was incredible - we sat outside for every meal and enjoyed the gorgeous views and excellent service. Chef Jonathan's culinary skills are truly amazing and all of the meals were delicious and the presentation was gorgeous. The winemaker's dinner was really a treat - we loved the fact that Andrew was there to discuss the wines and for providing specials wines throughout the evening. It was also really great to hear from Chef Jonathan about the food and about his background. It was a spectacular evening! We highly recommend The Farmhouse at Veritas and cannot wait to go back! Thank you to the Hodson family for a wonderful and truly special time!


Can't Wait to Schedule the Return Visit!

5 on May 24, 2012

April 6, 2012, was the first night the Farmhouse at Veritas was opened to the public - and we were the lucky ones. My wife Beth and I had just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and we had invited 10 of our closest friends to join us for an overnight and dinner/breakfast at the Farmhouse - along with a tour/tasting of the winemaking facilities at the winery, hosted by Andrew. In short - the entire visit was wonderful! The accommodations are beautiful and were perfect for an intimate gathering of good friends. While we all had ample space to ourselves, we shared a lot of laughs and memories together, both on the main level - including the kitchen - and upstairs in the library over morning coffee and warm croissants with butter and jams. For dinner, Chef Jonathan Boroughs prepared a wonderful 4-course meal, with each course paired with a Veritas wine. The service was outstanding throughout our visit - but they also gave us our space too, which really made us feel at home. If you've ever been to the tasting room, attended a wedding at Veritas, or attended one of their Starry Nights events, you know the level of professionalism and class they extend to their customers. But if you want the best-of-the-best, plan on reserving the whole farmhouse for you and 11 of your closest friends. It will be a magical experience - one that you'll never forget, nor able to duplicate. But we'll be coming back again in April 2013 - if not before. Enjoy!


Excellent

5 on May 02, 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at The Farmhouse while house hunting in Charlottesville. It exceeded our expectations! The staff was very accommodating and the room was impeccable! The breakfast was superb! Jon is amazing Chef! We do plan to visit again. I really enjoyed the expansive library and historical billiards table.


New and undiscovered

5 on April 22, 2012

I had the chance to visit this brand new inn over the weekend. The owners have done a fabulous job of converting this farmhouse into a welcoming B&B. Guest rooms are spacious and light-filled. I loved the retro juke box in the liing room. Just plug in your i-Pod. You can walk to the tasting room and you'll be surrounded by vineyards. I loved this inn and would recommend it highly!!


Absolutely wonderful!

5 on April 18, 2012

Having had enjoyed several wine tours in the Finger Lakes region, my wife and I decided to take advantage of a 3-day Spring Break to explore a Virginia winery tour with no real idea where to begin. With Google and luck, we found a little bit of heavenly truth at The Farmhouse at Veritas in early April 2012. We were greeted with champagne on ice and genuine warmth into an absolutely charming farmhouse. We walked through the vineyard to and from the tasting room - what a treat! The wines were excellent. The pool table has a sibling at Camp David as well as a shortened cue stick to use when the Pandora-ready Wurlitzer jukebox was at your back. The chef, Jonathan, casually welcomed us to chat while he prepared both my wife's fruitful scratch Belgian waffles with raspberry drizzle and my eggs benedictine, oscared (crab), local sausage, and a sauce that meltedinmymouth - can you tell I loved breakfast? We arrived with a need to relax in comfort and left totally satisfied. We've already reserved our room for Starry Nights in late summer and highly recommend The Farmhouse at Veritas.


Perfect from start to finish!

5 on April 18, 2012

As a long time fan of the vineyards at Veritas I was thrilled to learn that they would be opening this B&B. It is located in one of the most breathtaking locations in Virginia. Nearly every window provides you with a vista onto the numerous vineyards and the Blue Ridge Mountains in the background. A complimentary bottle of champagne greeted us in the Nottingham room which was luxurious with the most comfortable bed ever! We enjoyed an evening glass of wine on the porch prior to going out to dinner and were treated to the most delicious breakfast in the morning by chef Jonathan. The kitchen remodel is stunning and is set up so that the guests can sit at the kitchen countertop and watch Jonathan prepare the meal or sit at the beautifully set table and be served. We were fed until we could eat no more and it held us through a day of hiking in the mountains. Patricia has thought out every last detail in the house and we couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more (unless we moved in!). I am thinking about reserving the house for a big birthday celebration in the near future and getting all of my friends to come and stay. Thank you Patricia and Jonathan. Hope to see you soon!


The Farmhouse at Veritas

Details

  • Nightly Rate $160 - $350
  • Reviews (75) 5.0
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5404568100
  • Fax 1-5404568483

Visit Website »

View details

Top