Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
97 Reviews

Write A Review

a lovely thanksgiving get-away

4.8 on December 04, 2014

Danielle and Marcel are wonderful hosts, and their place is wonderful and welcoming


Perfect Place In Afton!

5 on December 01, 2014

We stayed in the Mankin House Cottage at Le Bleu Ridge B&B and we recommend it highly. It was quiet and very comfortable. Danielle and Marcel were amazing and gracious hosts plus the breakfasts were outstanding. Make sure you are hungry in the morning because the breakfasts are abundant and so savory! The B&B is perfectly located in the middle of Route 151 (nelson151.com) where you will find many wineries, breweries, cideries, meaderies and a distillery. In the evenings we enjoyed our dinners at the local breweries which were close to the B&B. We've traveled to the area in the past and would return to Le Bleu Ridge B&B again for sure!


A magical place.

5 on November 08, 2014

Le Bleu Ridge B&B has many good things to talk about. The beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains can be observed from the backyard. The place is kept super clean and the hostess makes you feel at home. The daily breakfast is delicious. We originally went for two nights and decided to stay an additional night. Highly recommended.


A gem of a B&B

5 on October 25, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Let's Bleu Ridge. The room was comfortable and spacious. Danielle was warm and welcoming, a delightful innkeeper and an awesome chef!


Anniversary getaway

5 on October 20, 2014

This small but personal B & B was a wonderful retreat. Danielle & Marcel were outstanding hosts! Breakfast was delicious! And proximity to all of the wineries couldn't be better. Looking forward to our next visit!


Outstanding!

5 on September 25, 2014

We came to Afton to experience the brew ridge trail. The location of this B&B was absolutely perfect. The area is just beautiful. As for the B&B itself, it was excellent. We stayed in the Blue Moon room. It was very clean and spacious. I loved the massaging shower heads. The owners are absolutely delightful and the breakfasts were delicious. Danielle and Marcelle are French Canadian, so it goes without saying, that Danielle makes delicious crepes. This was an outstanding visit. My husband and I will definitely come back to Le Bleu Ridge for the food, the great location, and wonderful company. Merci beaucoup!


Le Fantastic'

5 on September 21, 2014

Our stay in the cottage was wonderful. The breakfast's were great as well as the food from Danielle's Le Chic Picnic food trailer. The cottage was very nice with a comfortable king sized bed, private bath and living area. This is a perfect location for visiting the areas many brewers and wineries. Clean and reasonable! Danielle and Marcel were very nice and made our stay memorable. We will definitely be returning. Mike and Doreen


Fantastique!

4.2 on September 16, 2014

We stayed at Le Bleu Ridge in order to attend the Lockn' Music Festival. Danielle and Marcel are charming hosts. The breakfasts were wonderful. Danielle is quite an accomplished chef. We stayed in the Cottage and it fit our needs quite nicely. We would most certainly stay there again.


A beautiful B&B with warm & welcoming owners

4.8 on September 03, 2014

Two adults and infant stayed in cottage on property. Cottage was spacious and very clean. Owners Danielle and Marcel were gracious hosts. Danielle was also happy to accommodate our special dietary needs for meals, which was appreciated. Would highly recommend Le Bleu Ridge to anyone traveling to the area!


Returning Again!

4.6 on June 11, 2014

This was our third visit to Le Bleu Ridge from Colorado. Danielle and Marcel have always been impeccable hosts as well as a lot of fun to be with.. The breakfasts that Danielle prepares are unusual. delicious, filling and healthy and a perfect start to the day to be enjoyed in rural Virginia. The short drive from Le Bleu Ridge to Charlottesville , Waynesboro, and Staunton makes it a very convenient place to be. The area is itself very scenic in its own right and provides immediate access to route 151 and its many vineyards and breweries.


Tres charmante!

4.6 on June 04, 2014

A lovely escape to the country, in a wine region only a few miles from historic Charlottesville. The hosts are a charming couple from Quebec. Danielle is a chef in her own right, specializing in local, healthful foods, and responsive to special dietary needs (diabetic, vegetarian, etc.). We stayed three days in the guest house, which includes a large and comfortable couch and fridge, with adjacent deck for cocktails to watch the sunset over the mountains. The B&B experience is inseparable from the personality of the hosts; in this case, we enjoyed just the right amount of conversation and parted with hugs.


Our Favorite B&B

5 on May 29, 2014

This is simply our favorite B&B, and we continue to come back. The owners Danielle and Marcel are two of the nicest, friendliest people I've met and are always excited to see us and welcome us into their beautiful home. The Flying Fox Winery Tasting Room sits adjacent to the house and makes it very convenient to pick up some excellent wines for sipping on the large front porch of the home. The main house has two well-appointed rooms, one upstairs and one downstairs, and we've stayed in both. The bath for the upstairs room is down the hall, but since you have the whole upstairs, it is very private and they give you plush robes to wear. The downstairs room has a private bath and waterfall shower with wall jets. That was a welcomed feature after we spent the day hiking at the nearby Humpback Rocks on the Blue Ridge Parkway. There are three excellent breweries within a 15-minute drive that have indoor and outdoor seating and great craft beers. If you want the biggest and best barbecue sandwich you've ever had, stop in at Paulie's Pig Out in walking distance of the B&B. But the best food of all is the delicious breakfasts that Danielle prepares with fresh local ingredients and an artsy flair. Danielle will be opening a mobile kitchen called Le Chic Picnic this summer that will provide "Grab N Go" lunches, snacks and other treats that will compliment the fine selection of wines just across the parking lot. I highly recommend this B&B and we plan to return this fall to see our friends and enjoy the fire pit in the back yard.


Excellent place!

5 on May 29, 2014

I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend with my girlfriend and we had an excellent experience. The property is beautiful, the house is really cool and the staff is wonderful. I highly recommend it for a getaway weekend, and there are plenty of wineries, breweries and the like in the immediate area. You'll be glad you checked it out.


Away But Not Too Away

5 on May 27, 2014

My wife and I loved our stay in the Mankin House Cottage, and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and hospitality at Le Bleu Ridge. We had hoped to find a location which felt as if we were away from city life, while having the ability to enjoy opportunities for sightseeing and dining without having to travel a great distance from the B&B. We felt that we more than satisfactorily met that objective.


4th time and still loving it!

4.8 on April 23, 2014

This is the fourth 2-day weekend at this location in less than 2 years. Have a wonderful time, each time. Gracious French Canadian hosts, excellent food and wonderful views. So close to all the wineries, breweries and now distilleries.


B+B with great location and great value

5 on April 21, 2014

Le Bleu Ridge B+B is conveniently located amidst the beauty of the Shenandoah and Blue Ridge Parkway while, also, being within a short distance of excellent wineries. The decor is very comfortable while the hospitality is very gracious . The breakfasts are a great experience in and of themselves.


Wonderful Getaway

5 on April 19, 2014

This was a very last minute decision. This B&B is a quaint house on the VA 151 in Afton, Beautiful rooms, exquisite food, very relaxed atmosphere. If your looking for a moderately priced B&B in the middle of wine taster's alley in VA.... You can't miss with this elegant relaxed atmosphere Inn.


Private Getaway

5 on April 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights to getaway from the busy life we lead. We stayed in The Mankin Cottage. The cottage was clean and nicely decorated with plush towels and refreshingly comfortable bed linens. On the first afternoon we arrived, my husband arranged for a bottle of wine and a cheese tray from Danielle. The wine was great, picked from The Flying Fox vineyard on the property. The cheese tray was delicious with many items coming from local businesses. Both mornings we were there, Danielle treated us to more than a typical breakfast. It was a heavenly three course meal which could of sufficed for our lunch and dinner as well. Danielle was very kind and considerate. She definitely went above and beyond not only in her cooking, but her conversation and accommodations as well. I will recommend this B&B to family and friends.


OUTSTANDING OUT OF THE BALL PARK BREAKFAST

4.8 on April 10, 2014

Good central place to stay and explore the area, good places to eat and shop at in the local area. the breakfast's we had were amazing. I never though about having a salad at breakfast, but it went with the fattata with local bacon and sausage with and the third course French Toast. The second day the poached egg with the greens and curry sauce and the apple crapes were out of this world. We will be back.


wonderful weekend retreat

5 on March 04, 2014

I love this B&B. The setting is warm and inviting. The owners are so easy to be around and friendly, and the food is fantastic.


Lovely stay at le Bleu Ridge b&b

4.8 on January 01, 2014

Danielle and Michel went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The room was charming and cozy. Breakfast was a real gourmet experience. The b&b is conveniently located near many wineries and breweries.


Outstanding Experience

5 on November 25, 2013

We stayed at Le Bleu Ridge for a weekend to explore the local wineries and vineyards. We could not have chosen a better bed and breakfast. The owners were extremely hospitable and kind, even waiting up for us Friday night after we hit heavy traffic and arrived three hours later than we originally planned. The B&B itself was charming and I definitely recommend booking the cottage if there is availability. Also, the meals were fantastic -- generally three courses with fruit and yogurt, a main dish, and a dessert. The breakfast here was a great start to the day. Overall, we had a great experience and will certainly be visiting again, and have recommended Le Bleu Ridge to all of our friends.


Excellent All Around

5 on November 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Le Bleu Ridge for our one year anniversary and were extremely satisfied with our stay. The breakfasts that Danielle cooks up are amazing, the rooms are very clean and tidy and the overall service that they provide is top notch. As a bonus Flying Fox winery is right next door so you can easily get wine there. Additionally there are tons of wineries in the area that you can check out. I would definitely stay there again.


Good for a small group

4.8 on November 18, 2013

This ended up being a great place to go for a mother/daughter weekend. The cottage was perfect for our small group; the meals and hospitality were delightful. I'd very much recommend this place! There is a kitchenette in the room, which is small but could come in handy. We didn't need it. It's a bit far from the interstate but a beautiful drive.


wonderful weekend getaway!

4.6 on November 10, 2013

Marcel and Danielle are such wonderful hosts, and the B & B is delightful. The rooms are large and very well-kept, and personalized attention was given since the B&B doesn't hold too many guests. The breakfast is possibly the best breakfast I've ever had: homemade yogurt, vegetable quiche, amazing french toast with turkey bacon, and tons of fruit and juice. The location is great, in a quiet neighborhood but still very close to vineyards, restaurants, and hiking/driving trails. We would definitely love to come back soon and highly recommend Le Bleu Ridge! Thank you Danielle and Marcel!


Wonderful Stay

5 on October 29, 2013

My husband and I spend 3 relaxing nights and enjoyed 3 incredible morning feasts! To call it breakfast seems to understated, the food was prepared with fresh local ingredients, with a generous portion of love. Served with a warm friendly smile. We look forward to returning one day soon! Highly recommend!


Best B&B in town

5 on October 24, 2013

We were attending a wedding at Veritas and stayed at this fabulous B&B. Great location with a winery on site. Rooms were very roomy and quaint. The breakfast was excellent! I couldn't wait to see what we were having the next day. I would definitely recommend this B&B and look forward to staying here again. The owners were a joy to chat with.


Weekend getaway

5 on October 23, 2013

I booked the Sunset Room at Le Bleu for two nights at the end of September - just in time for Oktoberfest! After reading and hearing so many great things about Nelson Co. and the surrounding breweries and wineries, I had to plan a trip. Le Bleu was wonderful, and so were Danielle and Marcel (and their 2 adorable dogs). The main house was just what I pictured. It was full of character, extremely home-y, and very welcoming. I would highly recommend Le Bleu for anyone planning a trip to Nelson Co. and the wineries and breweries. Just a heads up - if you book the Sunset Room and you haven't taken a bath, not shower, a bath - you're in for an experience.


Unique

4.2 on October 01, 2013

The Inkeepers were warm and friendly. The food was fantastic, presented in several courses none of which was overwhelming so the entire meal was most enjoyable. The location was close to restaurants and wineries, there was a tasting room on the same property as the B&B.


Le Bleu

4.4 on September 30, 2013

The breakfast is AMAZING! Everything was homemade and tasted fantastic! Definitely make some time in your day to enjoy this experience fully!


Fantastic B&B, owned by a fantastic couple!

5 on September 17, 2013

This was my second time staying at Le Bleu Ridge. I loved it so much the first time and the second time was just as good! Danielle and Marcel are fantastic hosts!


Cozy & Very Pleasant B&B

5 on August 27, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Fantastic breakfasts, best we've had at a B&B. Great location if you're touring the area's wineries, breweries and cideries. They share a parking lot with a wine tasting room, and there are other good spots just a few miles down the road.


Super Stay for Super Spartan!

5 on August 27, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay and could not have been more satisfied. The breakfast were filling and healthy. Danielle even prepared us an early breakfast so I could leave early for my race at Wintergreen (Super Spartan). Room was large, clean, and comfortable. We will def return to Le Bleu at some point. Great place to stay for wine tasting and hiking!


Very nice, clean and comfy B&B

4.8 on August 26, 2013

Welcoming, friendly, and accommodating hosts, clean and comfy bed and linens. Great shower head in bathroom. Healthy, tasty breakfast (kept waiting for a waffle, or frittata, or a home made bread of some sort but never found it. But breakfast is plenty good despite of that.) 1st morning was greeted by sound of Edith Piaf wafting in from kitchen which was fantastic since I'm a fan. Was hoping for a nighttime cookie but I guess I'm spoiled by staying at other B&B's. Lots of CD's and books to entertain oneself in evening but no movie choices. Next time if we go we'll bring our own movies. I can't say enough good things about this B&B. Light sleepers do need to be aware since this is located at an intersection, although my husband, who usually is a light sleeper, didn't complain at all.


Quiet Time in the blue ridge

4.4 on August 10, 2013

Very tranquil two days in the Blur Ridge. Charming location with a vineyard adjacent. Lovely hostess, great, tasty, creative breakfasts.


A Quiet Getaway

4.4 on August 07, 2013

My husband and I escaped to the Piedmont region for two days and had the pleasure of staying with Marcel and Danielle at Le Bleu Ridge. Our greatest joy is derived from meeting interesting people and this stay was quite pleasant. Both Marcel and Danielle are warm, accommodating, and have generous hearts. The breakfasts were creative and delicious. Danielle is an absolute artist in the kitchen. The more appreciation you showed, the more effort she put into the little extras which made the meal extraordinary. The sunset room and bath were comfortable and spacious. My only critique...a bedside lamp would be a nice addition for those guests who enjoy reading before sleep. Thanks for a wonderful time!


Cannot wait to return

4.8 on July 12, 2013

We planned this trip for our anniversary but are already hoping to come back and stay in the fall. We felt so comfortable, which is rare for us while away from home. Our room was fantastic and only surpassed by the amazing breakfast Danielle made us each morning. Multiple courses of pure delight! It was nice that she was flexible and willing to work with any diet. We loved the local food she picked up the day before from the local farmer's market. Our stay exceeded our expectations and probably ruined future stays at other B&B's.


Gracious and delicious

4.4 on July 08, 2013

This was a delightful stay with gracious hosts. The highlight of our three days were the breakfasts - prepared by chef Danielle from locally grown ingredients. We have never had three-course meals to start the day, prepared with such imagination and served with such smiling enthusiasm.


Wonderful experience

5 on July 03, 2013

A beautiful, well kept inn in an idyllic country setting. The innkeepers Danielle and Marcel make a wonderful experience for their guests. My daughter and I were very comfortable in our beautiful room. Danielle's breakfast (3 to 4 courses) are delicious and unique. She utilizes healthy fruits and vegetables along with local eggs, cheese and meats to make each day a special treat. I tend to search out bed and breakfast inns when I travel and this has been a favorite!I sincerely hope this will not be my last visit there.


Stay at the end of June 2013

4.6 on July 02, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a convenient B & B near the local wineries and the Brew houses in the Åfton area at the base of the Blue Ridge in VA. Many wedding ceremonies are held this time of year and most of the B & B's were full. We had never stayed in the area before. Le Bleu Ridge is conveniently located near Poplar Forest and Monticello. Breakfast was hearty, delicious, and healthy. Danielle used locally grown produce in her preparatioolns. We didn't eat again until dinner! Other couples staying at the B & B provided delightful conversation around the table with our hosts joining in. Plenty of space in the front bedroom area of house where we stayed on the main floor. In addition to the bedroom area, there is a large sitting room and a front porch which I enjoyed despite the heavily trafficked Rt. 151 in front of the house. The cottage looks like a charming and private space. There is a winery next door!


Exceptional weekend getaway!

5 on June 25, 2013

Our stay at Le Bleu Ridge could not have been better. Danielle and Marcel made us feel right at home. The array of food (most of it local and organic) and conversations with other guests during Saturday's and Sunday's breakfast were a great way to begin each day during our stay. Le Bleu Ridge is close to a number of wineries, breweries, handcraft shops and hiking. We'll be back!


Can't say enough about the food!

4.6 on June 13, 2013

Great place to stay when in the area for its comfort and convenience. But the real reason to come back? The Food! Danielle's appreciation for locally sourced ingredients paired with her incredible repertoire make for memorable experiences at the breakfast table -- we can't wait to get back here!


wonderful get away

5 on May 30, 2013

Hosts were wonderful - even provided a bottle of wine after our long drive. I highly recommend this cute, quiet get away!


Great place!

4.4 on May 29, 2013

Le Bleu Ridge is a lovely B&B in a beautiful spot. There is easy access to hiking, wineries, and breweries. The owners are wonderful, the room was clean, and the food was delicious.


A perfect honeymoon!

5 on May 21, 2013

My husband and I had our honeymoon here. We were there for 10 minutes before we decided to come back every year for our anniversary. We stayed at the cabin and it was amazing! We loved the simple and beautiful decorations. It wasn't stuffy or dated. I have never before unpacked my suitcase when I travel -- but I did when we stayed here because it felt like a home. The breakfast was amazing and Danielle was a pleasure. Also, the surrounding areas are lovely -- beautiful mountains and many delicious wineries and breweries very close.


Awesome Place To Stay!

4.6 on May 17, 2013

Danielle and Marcel are wonderful hosts! The food is EXCELLENT and prepared especially for the guests. The cottage was spacious and comfortable enough for a long weekend stay


Perfectly located

5 on May 08, 2013

I've visited Nelson County at least once each year to apple pick and/or tour wineries and breweries. When I decided to stay for a weekend, I selected a place from the many sites online. How wonderful that, with Le Bleu Ridge, what you see is what you get! We stayed for two nights in the Mankin Cottage which allowed us to have the privacy we desired. Not that Danielle and Marcel weren't a complete joy to spend time with. They have wonderful and entertaining stories to tell and the food served for breakfast is superb. We left feeling incredibly spoiled. Le Bleu Ridge is perfectly located on Rt. 151 which is lined with breweries, wineries and restaurants galore. Need a suggestion for sightseeing? Danielle was quick to provide us with maps pointing the way to places like Crabtree Falls - absolutely gorgeous. Spend some time at Le Bleu Ridge - you won't be disappointed!


great stay

3.8 on April 24, 2013

We had a great stay at Le Bleu Ridge B&B. Danielle prepared the most wonderful breakfast. Will consider staying there again.


Wonderful Weekend at Le Bleu! Great Food, Great Location!

4.8 on March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Le Bleu for two nights in early March to go skiing at Wintergreen Resort. Skiing ended up being just another highlight of the weekend! The innkeepers, Danielle and Marcel were so welcoming we felt right at home. The Room (we stayed downstairs in the Blue Room) was clean, fresh, and comfortable. In the morning, Danielle whipped up some delicious muffins and omlettes to get us fed and out the door quickly for skiing. I loved that the eggs were from her neighbor, their "egg lady". We were so full we only had hot chocolate for lunch on the slopes! Wintergreen was an easy 20 minute drive away, and I was glad we got there early in the day before it got busy. In the afternoon after skiing, we decided to check out the local winery that shares a parking lot with Le Beu (can't get more convenient). We enjoyed a wine and cheese tasting there, and then decided to check out Afton Mountain winery 15 minutes away. There were about a dozen wineries within a 15 minute drive. My husband and I used to live in Northern Califonia and frequented the wineries there often. We were impressed with the quality of the Virginia wines we tasted. Saturday evening we went to downtown Charlottesville for dinner (about 25 minute drive), there were a multitude of great restaurants at the "Downtown Mall" - a few blocks of restaurants, shops, and even an ice-skating rink. Sunday morning we awoke to another amazing breakfast cooked by Danielle and "butlered" by Marcel. 3 course breakfast of cheese, Pouched eggs & greens, and apple crepes - YUM. After all that food, we went for a short hike. There were quite a few hiking trails about 10 minute drive from the B&B. For lunch we checked out the local brewery "Devil's Backbone" - great atmosphere, food, and beer. I hope to be back to Le Bleu again soon! Wish I could live there! Thank you Danielle and Marcel for providing a great home base for a very enjoyable weekend!!


thoroughly enjoyable experience

5 on March 26, 2013

What a wonderful B&B! We stayed in the cottage, which was lovely. The breakfasts were amazing, and Danielle and Marcel were so welcoming and friendly. It was fun to have the Flying Fox tasting room right next door, and it's conveniently located to many more wineries and great hikes. Hope to be able to stay here again.


Wonderful stay!

4.6 on March 20, 2013

This is our second stay. Wonderful accommodations, food and hospitality. Wait until you taste Danielle’s cooking. Mouthwatering! Conveniently located to many great wineries, breweries and outdoor activities. Beautiful views from your bedroom windows. Will stay again and recommend this inn to others, but not too many since it’s a small inn. John and Jane


Wonderful Stay!

4.6 on March 03, 2013

My partner and I had an incredible stay at le bleu ridge. Our hosts were exceptional and they even gave us a cooking lesson. The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts that I've had. I couldn't recommend this place more.


A great little b&b that I was going to keep a secret for myself!

5 on February 21, 2013

I couldn't rave more about this place! Super cozy, in a beautiful area, and Danielle makes the BEST food! It's so close to all the wineries/breweries, hiking, skiing, caverns, and Charlottesville! My wife and I went here for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better B&B! Thank you so much Danielle, Marcel, muffin, and mumu! - Amanda Sidenote: This b&b IS LGBT friendly, which I know is a tiptoe subject in rural Virginia. My wife and I felt very comfortable in the area. The host had no problem with it, and lucky for us - neither did any of the other guests!


Highly Recommend LBR B&B

4.6 on February 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Blue Moon Room at LBR B&B, for an early Valentine's Day weekend. We couldn't have imagined any better hosts that Danielle and Marcel. Our intent was to get away from Richmond for a relaxing weekend and that is what we got. We were greeted by Danielle and Marcel, with a plate of chocolate covered strawberries. From there, Danielle gave us the tour of our room and the living room area, which was equipped with HD TV, with satellite, XBox and all the CDs you could ever hope to listen to. It was chilly, so the gas logs in our bedroom really warmed up the place and set a very relaxing atmosphere. We had a great two night stay in the very comfortable queen bed and brand new bathroom. However, what sold the stay was Danielle's gourmet breakfasts. Danielle is working toward her Master's in nutrition and that shown through in the delightful, organic breakfasts that she made us each morning. If you walked away from the breakfast table hungry, then you were doing something wrong. On our next visit back there we want to stay in the cottage. In all, the views, hosts, food and accomodations were very good and we highly recommend a stay.


Fabulous Hosts & Breakfasts

4.8 on January 24, 2013

Marcel and Danielle are warm and gracious hosts! The rooms were spotless, the linens were comfy, and the breakfasts were beyond compare. Loved that Danielle tries to "locally source" as much of her delicious three-course breakfasts as she can. It's evident Le Bleu Ridge is a labor of love.


Great place to stay

4.4 on January 18, 2013

We stayed in the cottage located next to the main house and really enjoyed it. It was very roomy and had a comfortable,quality bed with great linens. The breakfast was fantastic and the hosts could not be nicer. Highly recommend this place.


Can't say enough good things!

5 on January 17, 2013

What a great, relaxing spot! DEFINITELY RECOMMEND! My husband and I (we're from D.C.) just wanted to get away for the weekend and love the Charlottesville area. We've been several times over the past few years and have always stayed somewhere different (hotels, Wintergreen, etc.), but now know where we'll be staying from now on! I am a true believer that service can make or break an experience and I have to say that the owners, Danielle and Marcel, were the best - so kind and accommodating! The house itself is decorated nicely - we loved our room - and the bed was so comfortable. The food was amazing. I am a pretty healthy eater, so was really appreciative for a breakfast that was both incredibly delicious and healthy. Needless to say, we were both stuffed after. Danielle, who went to culinary school, mentioned she may start offering cooking classes at the B&B - if so, sign me up! Le Bleu Ridge is close to several wineries and breweries - on this trip, we stopped by Afton Mountain and Veritas as well as Wild Wolf Brewery for dinner, but Flying Fox (which shares a parking lot with Le Bleu), Wintergreen, and Blue Mountain Brewery are all also very close. We are already talking about when we can return - we are hoping to meet up with some family and/or friends and rent the entire place. Can't wait to go back!


The owners are the best hosts ever!

3.8 on January 03, 2013

We really enjoyed to stay at Le Bleu Rige B&B for 3 reasons: first of all bacuse the owners are really friendly and service oriented, second, because the breakfast was delicious and finally because it is a good value for the very touristy and high priced region of Charlotteville.


A Wonderful Weekend

5 on December 01, 2012

We spent a weekend at Le Bleu Ridge in November, 2012. Danielle and Marcel are such gracious hosts, and the gourmet breakfast was fabulous. The location is beautiful and very convenient to hiking, wineries, and breweries. We've raved about this to friends and family, and can't wait to spend another weekend there.


Beautiful and fun stay

4.8 on November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Le Bleu Ridge in October to attend The Festy - a wonderful music festival. First, Le Bleu Ridge is located on one of my favorite stretches of road in Virginia. Nelson County hills with breweries and wineries - a "can't miss" combination. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was a delight. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already booked for the next year. Even trying to talk friends into coming with us.


Blue Ridge Gem

4.4 on November 05, 2012

We stayed two nights her while we took in the beauty of the Blue ridge parkway and visited the local winerys. Rooms were clean, equipped and charming, with fantastic views. Food was superb. Would recommend


Another amazing stay with Danielle and Marcel....

4.8 on October 30, 2012

If you are traveling to the Afton Valley, Le Bleu is the perfect place to stay. The hospitality of Danielle and Marcel with the added addition of Muffin will ensure that you will be truly satisfied with your stay. Danielle's little touches throughout the stay ensures that each stay is a unique experience. This was our second stay with Le Bleu.... and as expected it was outstanding. Starting from our arrival to our departure, our stay was superb. On arrival, had a warm and playful greeting from the newest addition to the Le Bleu family, Muffin, who has to be one of the most outgoing and friendliest puppies ever. Danielle met us with a smile that made you know that you were not only welcomed but right at home. Our room was fabulous and well taken care of during our stay. The bed was elevated and heavenly soft with linens that swallowed you upon entering their lush lair. Our room had a fireplace that was simple to operate and keep us warm and toasty during during the chilly evenings. In the mornings, Danielle wowed us with her healthy organic creations using not your run of the mill items such as buckwheat. Her creative side is revealed in her creations to even include a salad for breakfast.... skeptical at first, but blown away in the end. Marcel is the master of ceremonies at breakfast ensure everyone is satisfied while keeping the atmosphere friendly and warm. So if you are looking for one night or a long weekend, I would highly recommend staying with Danielle and Marcel and the Le Bleu family. The location is ideal for a weekend of wine tasting starting with The Flying Fox which is conveniently located 15 feet across the parking lot. Take a chance and venture off the beaten path of hotel chains and stay at a warm and hospitable couple in a welcoming environment. Matthew Ward Suffolk, VA


Weekend Stay

4.8 on October 17, 2012

We had a very nice anniversary weekend. The food was very good, and the veiw was beautiful. Danielle and Marcel are very frendly hosts. Thanks, Steve & Kerry


Le Bleu Ridge

5 on October 12, 2012

We had absolutely wonderful experience staying at Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast. The surroundings are beautiful, rooms are updated and tastefully decorated, breakfast is excellent. The owners are very friendly people who make you feel you are staying with the family. There is small but very good wine tasting facility on the property. Highly recommend to everybody.


Beautiful, comfortable and such sweet hosts!

5 on August 25, 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at Le Bleu Ridge last week! Danielle made sure we felt comfortable and welcomed. We hope to return soon, especially for that big comfy bed and delicious breakfast of homemade treats! Thank you so much!


Can't wait to go back!

4.6 on August 20, 2012

Loved everything about this place! Great food, wonderful hosts and perfect location. We will go back soon.


Reivie of Le Bleu Ridge

4.4 on July 30, 2012

Danielle outdoes herself preparing breakfast. Our stay was wonderful and found this is a great location for visiting wineries in the area. Will come again in the future


Lovely place and fabulous breakfast!

5 on June 30, 2012

We stayed at Le Bleu Ridge for a couple of nights. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable! The breakfast however was fabulous! Everything was fresh and healthy, but the taste was amazing! It wasn't just a meal, it was an experience! Danielle, our host, was very gracious and a wonderful cook! We will certainly return for another visit!


Fabulous Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 12, 2012

We stayed at Le Bleu Ridge for three nights and our stay was so wonderful. Our room was extra comfortable and the innkeepers, Danielle and Marcelle went way out of their way to accommodate us with dietary issues or whatever. The breakfasts were great and so healthy too. You feel like you are in Europe. We visited around the time of our anniversary and want to do that again each year. It was a beautiful time.


Wonderful stay!

4.6 on June 05, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The B&B is beautiful and resides in a great location. Danielle and Marcel were attentive and kind. The breakfast was amazing- definitely worth a visit.


Elegant details and personality

5 on May 12, 2012

I had to make a stop in a nine hour solo drive and this was right on my way. What a restful and peaceful place. The house is full of elegant and classy details, the hosts were wonderfully friendly and attentive, and the mountain view is stunning. And breakfast was wonderful! I would stay there again!


Le Fantastic

4.6 on May 08, 2012

Fabulous hosts, incredible breakfasts, right in the middle of an absolutely beautiful area.


Gorgeous mountain views and gourmet breakfasts!

4.8 on March 20, 2012

For our first B&B experience this was a great choice! Tucked alongside the Blue Ridge Mountains in Afton, VA, this lovely house was the perfect stop for a getaway weekend vacation. My wife and I spent the weekend in the loft room that contained ample room, a large Queen bed and a private bath (note: The bath contains a lovely clawfoot bathtub only- no shower). We spent the days hiking, visiting wineries (including the one 30 feet from the front door!), and dining out locally and also in Charlottesville (20-30 min drive). Danielle and Marcel (and puppy Muffin) were outstanding and hospitable hosts. We dined to the sounds of French love songs as Danielle served up gourmet breakfasts including eggs to order, frittatas, scones, fruit, crepes.... enough food that we weren't hungry until dinner! My wife and I highly recommend this location for your getaway or romantic weekend. Thank you Danielle and Marcel!


Wonderful get-away

4.4 on February 03, 2012

We spent a weekend at the Mankin House and were pleased with the lodgings, service, and home cooked, mostly organic, and always fresh breakfasts! This was a relaxing weekend get-away at a great value!


october get away

5 on November 16, 2011

my husband and I have stayed multiple times at Le Bleu Ridge and have enjoyed each stay. It's a beautiful setting,the food is wonderful and Danielle and Marcel are very entertaining and friendly.we enjoy wine tasting, hiking,and attending the farmers market when we are in the area.


Perfect place to stay

4.6 on November 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay. The cottage is amazing and the views are breathtaking. Danielle and Marcel were very accommodating.


What a wonderful surprise!

5 on November 15, 2011

So a friend and I decided to just get in the car and travel to Virginia's wine country. It was a beautiful time of the year and we hadn't really made lodging arrangements, thinking we could find some chain hotel. But what a surprise when we came upon Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast. It was a lovely place, and the proprietors were more than cordial and the hospitality was probably the best I've ever experienced. Stay here if you can. I will definitely return when I can stay longer. A++


Beautiful Stay in the Blue Ridge Mountains

4.4 on August 26, 2011

Le Bleu Ridge B&B was a perfect place to stay for a recent girls' weekend. Danielle and Marcel made us feel right at home. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable. The views of the mountains are beautiful. The B&B is centrally located to local farms, wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway for great views and hiking. On top of all of this, Danielle is an excellent cook, offering us multiple courses each morning that were not only delicious, but very healthy! We were nourished each morning with food from local farms, preparing us for the day ahead. I would highly recommend Le Bleu Ridge for a couples retreat or any kind of get-away. I left Virginia feeling rested and relaxed...I will definitely visit again with my husband!


Anniversay celebration

5 on June 24, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful evening at Le Bleu Ridge. What a peaceful setting, immaculate, cozy room. INCREDIBLE breakfast and most lovely, pleasant innkeepers. Thank you Danielle and Marcel for making our anniversary so special!


A tranquil spot close to everything

4.6 on June 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Mankin house at Le Bleu Ridge, which is a small cottage right behind the main house. We loved that we were steps away from the main house for any needs we had, but still had some privacy. We enjoyed the healthy, delicious and filling breakfasts that Danielle made, and she made us feel completely at home. Blue Mountain Brewery and local farmers' markets were a short drive down the road, and Staunton was an easy 20 minutes away. Would stay there again in a heartbeat (and plan to).


we highly recommend this b&b

5 on May 05, 2011

We were delighted with our charming upstairs room and excellent personal service by our host. It is a beautiful setting with the green fields and mountains surrounding. There's a babbling brook nearby and you hear an occassional moo from the local herd. We had a very relaxing and peaceful stay and the gourmet breakfasts were the best we've had. Thank you Danielle - we hope to see you again one day!


We'll stay here again!

4.8 on April 30, 2011

What a delight to discover this affordable gem, and so close to Charlottesville! Danielle was wonderful and responsive, the room was comfortable and well-appointed, and the area was absolutely gorgeous. Once we arrived, we wished we'd booked a longer stay. The pictures and video just don't do the property justice. I'm quite skeptical of bed and breakfasts, typically, and even my husband thought that the comfort and value were outstanding. Thanks, Danielle, for a great trip to Charlottesville!


Relaxing Getaway!

4.2 on April 23, 2011

My stay at The Loft at Le BleuRidge Bed & Breakfast was very relaxing, and a much welcome change from the busyness and crowds of the ordinary Hotel stay. A beautiful scenic respite from the cares of the 'every day rat race!' ... Amenities and thoughtful little extras to make your stay as stress free as possible were a welcome surprise. The Host was most inviting and friendly. I'll definitely list this one as a 'keeper' in my file of "go to's" when needing a rest from the stresses of life! And, I would most assuredly give it a 'thumbs up' to friends asking for suggestions for accommodations in the area. A great place, Danielle & Marcel! Much Appreciated!


Danielle and Marcel are the best!

5 on November 14, 2010

Our room was lovely and our hosts couldn't have been more accomodating. Their breakfasts were truly gourmet, and on the mornings when we had to leave VERY early, Danielle put out coffee and muffins and also packed a scrumptious lunch for us. Totally unexpected but much appreciated. Danielle and Marcel made our trip to Afton a special delight. I'd highly recommend it!


Ahhhhh!

4.8 on October 11, 2010

My Stay at the Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast was a weekend much needed rest and relaxation. I found the rooms to be spacious and the beds to be more than inviting. The food was my biggest and best surprise. All delious and made in the kitchen so you can smell everything as it is prepared. Ingredients from local farms and dairies. Everything served in an atmosphere that is warm and friendly. I really did not want to leave. Thank you Danielle and Marcel for a lovely weekend!


Great dessert - at breakfast

4.8 on October 04, 2010

Very friendly couple running the inn in a wonderful setting. They did a wonderful breakfast that included apple crisp for the third course. Our upstairs room had one side as a bedroom and the other side as a sitting area. Just be aware that it had a big tub without a stand up shower - a hand held sprayer but no shower curtain/shower stall.


Wonderful B & B

4.4 on September 21, 2010

“Staying at Le Bleu Ridge was a real treat. The hosts, Danielle & Marcel, are delightful & very informative about what to do in the area. The three course (no kidding!) breakfast was creative, nutritious & delicious, using ingredients from local farms. Wonderful organic bedding and a pretty view added to our pleasure. We highly recommend this B&B.”


Incredible Hospitality

5 on September 18, 2010

Danielle and Marcel were fantastic from start to finish. They gave us an in depth tour of the two possible rooms when we made our reservations, allowing us to test the wonderfully soft mattresses and enticing our appetites with talk of their three course breakfast. When we arrived for our stay they had the cottage prepared and gave us options of local dining for the evening. Finally, in the morning they fed us with a delicious three course meal with the melody of romantic French music playing in the background. All of this to say, it is an incredible bed and breakfast and is one we highly recommend.


And the breakfasts...

4.8 on August 16, 2010

When we booked Le Bleu Ridge, we had no idea what to expect - but when we left after our short stay, we were struggling to think of anywhere we'd stayed where everything had been of such high quality and the proprietors so helpful! And the breakfasts... if I were you, I'd bring a list of your favourite menus, and then you'll be able to start the day with one of your favourite meals, cooked to perfection, using only the finest and freshest ingredients. Strongly recommended! Andrew and Muriel, July 2010


Love Le Bleu!

4.6 on August 04, 2010

This was an absolutely charming place! I loved the atmosphere and the view of the mountain was gorgeous. It was very cozy and the bed and breakfast were both great! Very nice host and hostess who sang to me, "happy birthday" in french :) . A total treat! Great experience!


"Charming B&B"

4.0 on July 05, 2010

Hosts were very friendly! Breakfast was excellent! Quiet and relaxing!


Hospitality Abounds

4.6 on June 24, 2010

Danielle and Marcel are amazing hosts that greet you with warmth and friendliness when you arrive. This atmosphere continues throughout your stay. Our reasons for being in the area caused us to be up and out early in the morning. However, Danielle packed us a special, organic breakfast that kept us going throughout the day. Both she and Marcel did everything perfectly to make us feel special and welcome. We feel very lucky to have been guests in their cottage Colleen & Bo


Wonderful Weekend

5 on May 26, 2010

Danielle and Marcel are wonderful and gracious hosts. We were met with a fruit and cheese tray and an offer of a local wine. Breakfest was tailored to our needs and was delicious. Due to our schedule, Danielle and Marcel were also willing to pick up items for us at the farmer's market. We could not have asked for a better experience.


Rainy Weekend

3.8 on May 20, 2010

I had a lovely weekend at Le BLue Ridge, Danielle and Marcel were exceedingly hospitable and breakfast each morning was wonderful. The accomodations were excellent and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The weekend I spent there was punctuated on either side by rainstorms, however there are several wineries in the area as well as scenic drives on the Blue Ridge Parkway. All in all, I had a wonderfully relaxing comfortable weekend.


lovely stay at Le Blue Ridge!

4.2 on March 07, 2010

My husband and I truly enjoyed ourselves at Le Blue Ridge B&B! The cottage is comfortable, clean, and roomy. The organic king bed was so lovely! Danielle & Marcel were wonderful hosts-- very genial, kind, and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and we loved meeting their dog Chocco. We highly recommend this B&B. It is in a great location, close to hiking and wineries/breweries.


A secret oasis!

5 on March 01, 2010

A pleasant surprise! We stayed in the private cottage located adjacent to the main house. There was a beautiful view of the mountains through double french doors that opened to a deck as well as the vinyard located just accross the driveway. The cottage was well appointed with a rich, cozy feel. The ceiling is very high with large dark wooden beams giving the room a contemporary, elegant motiff. What was really unusual was that the proprietors use organic and locally grown supplies and foods. From shampoo to body wash to coffee and fruits...all of this was either a local vendor or organically grown. They took the time to ensure everything was perfect and paid so much attention to detail that it was alarming. I am in the hotel business and tend to critique every place I stay. I would live here!! Le Bleu Ridge B&B is actually on the way to Wintergreen Ski Resort and just a 20 minute drive to go skiing. We purchased the ski package which included lift tickets and wine and cheese tray upon arrival at a very reasonable rate. It is also within 30 minutes of several vinyards with the Foxfire Vinyards on the same property! This place was amazing and we will be returning just as soon as possible. Thank you Danielle and Marcel, it was a pleasure to meet you both!


A treasure in Afton

4.6 on February 28, 2010

We had a fantastic quiet stay At Le Bleu. The home is filled with history and charm. The hosts are very friendly—it was like staying at a close friend's home for the weekend. We plan on coming back for the spring and fall as the home is situated in the heart of beautiful Virginia country but is close to Charlottesville shops and downtown. Truly a treasure. We are glad we found it!


Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 434-3611213

Visit Website »

View details

Top