Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
161 Reviews

Write A Review

Comfortable

3.4 on October 24, 2014

Nicely decorated rooms. Friendly host and staff. Delicious breakfasts.


Best stay for a weeken away!

5 on October 23, 2014

The Escalante's Grand Staircase B&B is in a great location for the area! The room is very inviting and clean when you arrive. The bathroom is large and clean with a great bathtub! Tom is an engaging host, willing to tell you the stories of the area and the best places to eat. Don't miss getting dinner at the Cowboy Blues Restaurant- had the best flat iron steak ever!


beautiful room, comfy bed

4.2 on October 17, 2014

Very nice place to stay, peaceful location, just hard to find


Enjoyable Stay & Great Suggestions from Tom

4.4 on October 17, 2014

My travel friend & I were planning to visit the Escalante area for a few days and were fortunate to book a room for two nights at the BNB. Tom was a gracious host, great breakfast fixer, and full of super suggestions of where to go and see in the area. We would definitely stay here if in the area again.


Great stay

4.4 on October 15, 2014

It's a very nice place to stay, the owner has a lot of knowledge of the area and the places to go and see are endless.


A great find!

3.8 on October 12, 2014

Pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our stay . Tom, the owner, was a great host, breakfast was delicious, great suggestions as to restaurants , and wonderful recommendations as to parts of Grand Staircase Escalante National Park we should visit during our stay. Followed his suggestions and was not disappointed. A great find !


Enjoyed our time with Tom

4.6 on October 12, 2014

Tom is a congenial personable host. Very knowledge about local photo ops, dining choices, galleries, the go-to local car mechanic, and in general, a fun guy to talk to.


Good Jumping Off Location

3.2 on October 08, 2014

The B and B is in a great location for exploring the parks. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Tom is willing to adapt breakfast to a variety of schedules.


Very nice!! We would definitely stay there again.

4.4 on October 03, 2014

The rooms were cozy and nicely decorated...love the theme. Beds were very comfortable, The room and bathroom is spacious and amenities very nice. The food was very good and homemade. We very much enjoyed our stay and met some very nice people. I would highly recommend this B & B for anyone visiting the Escalante area and surrounding parks.


Wonderful B&B

5 on October 01, 2014

We made last minute reservations and we were thrilled to find one room left at Escalante's Grand Staircase B&B. Everything was perfect. The location is walking distance to all your town needs. The room was more than we expected and made you feel right at home. We had the sun room, which had a skylight and allowed us to watch an amazing lightning and rain storm. I would highly recommend visiting this Inn. Breakfast was delicious and they take excellent care of your needs.


Quiet Place

4.6 on September 20, 2014

We were pleasently surprise with our stay. Our room was large and clean. It had a theme painting on the wall which was nice. The bathroom was large and clean,too. We were able to sit on the porch and enjoy watching the horses. Our host, Tom was pleasant and fix a greaat breakfast. He also gave ideas where to go and get some great pictures. He also recommended great places to eat for lunch and dinner.


Great B&B for couples

4.0 on September 11, 2014

Tom was very hospitable and helpful. Take his advise and you won't go wrong whether it is choosing a restaurant or planning your days in the area. He steered us right. We were also pleased with the clean and large room.


Wonderful Vacation and B&B

4.0 on September 08, 2014

Our vacation to Escalante was more than we had anticipated. Thanks to Tom and his excellant suggestions, we took a drive down into some amazing areas that we might have missed. Our stay at the B&B was very enjoyable. The location is perfect for exploring Escalante, and we even took a day and drove over to Capital Reef. The breakfasts were a wonderful start to our daily adventures. When we travel back this way, we will Definiately book a room here again! Thank You!


Gem In The Middle Of No Where

5 on September 08, 2014

The GM was very nice, and super accommodating. Room was much more than I thought it may be for the area. Overall I would go here again for a nice retreat off the beaten path!


Escalante Grand Staircase B & B

3.6 on August 18, 2014

Breakfast was a bit scant and only one option.


recommended!

5 on July 27, 2014

a great place to stay near the grand staircase. would absolutely recommend it!


One of the best B&B/inns

5 on July 13, 2014

Loved the spacious room, comfortable bed and the unique decor and furniture. It is a great and quiet location. The host, Tom, was helpful and prepared most delicious breakfast. Would love to stay there again and wish all BB/inns had the same high standard.


Stay here instead of Bryce

5 on July 07, 2014

Large modern rooms with high ceilings and a skylight in the Wind room. And the bed is so large you’ll need a GPS to find your spouse. Tom keeps the EGS Inn well maintained and prepares a tasty breakfast. I recommend staying here instead of the places at Bryce Canyon. In fact, skip Bryce Canyon altogether and explore the public lands around Escalante.


Clean room and delicious food

5 on June 30, 2014

Great experience! Recommended!


Awesome B&B

4.6 on May 29, 2014

We were out in Utah & Colorado for the first time. Our stay was very short. This place was very clean! Rooms were pretty big. Owner was very friendly and had good recommendations. Would definitely recommend and stay at this place again!


Our first trip to southern Utah

4.6 on May 27, 2014

Tom Mansell helped make our stay in Escalante special. He gave us detailed information and directions to Devil's Garden and the Burr Trail and told us we shouldn't miss exploring these areas. We took his advice and were so glad we did as we thoroughly enjoyed the rugged and beautiful sights. We also stopped at the Burr Trail Grill which was a pleasant surprise. Fresh food and excellent home-made pies. The room we stayed in was very nicely decorated with the feel of the area. They were also very clean. We will recommend this B&B to our friends and will hopefully be back sometime in the future. Thank you, Tom.


Highly recommended

4.0 on May 17, 2014

Highly recommended ... clean + nice .. beautiful area


would return

3.6 on May 15, 2014

Host, Tom, is gracious and very knowledgible regarding Escalante area and activities - a great help planning our days there. Rooms are especially spacious and comfortable.


Nice Ambiance

5 on May 14, 2014

We stayed at the Escalante B&B nearby Escalante National Monument. There are limited choices in the area for B&B's or hotels. But the Escalante B&B was a good option! The inn is well-situated to Escalante National Monument. The rooms were clean and had all amenities necessary. Tom, the innkeeper is a great host and could also give us information about the area. I highly recommend this property.


Downtown and Rural

4.4 on May 08, 2014

Centrally located in Escalante, with a view of the horse pastures and chicken yard from the front porch, mesas and canyons in the distance (robin nests on the porch beams). Rooms spacious, well-appointed, new and clean. Tom is a good host and cook, will tell you anything you want to know about the area's many recreational treasures. Walk to best restaurants and markets. Good value (we were there on Memorial Day weekend) in comparison to other BnBs. We'll return soon.


Great B&B in a Great Location -- and VERY helpful host :)

4.4 on May 03, 2014

We had originally planned to stay for two nights at the Boulder Mountain Lodge as our jumping off point to explore the Escalante National Monument area but could only get a reservation for one night. So we looked for a place in the town of Escalante and found this B&B in a guide book. And what a great find! The room was clean and spacious for our family of four, the breakfast was absolutely delicious, and best of all, the owner/host, Tom, was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. He suggested several excursions for us to explore the area, provided us with very specific and accurate directions, and they were all fantastic, a bit off the beaten path, which is exactly what we wanted. The B&B is also located literally across the street from Escalante Outfitters, a store for hikers and rock climbers that also happens to have an excellent restaurant attached to it. We ended up eating two lunches and a dinner at the restaurant -- food was home-cooked and quite good. We would stay again at this B&B in a heartbeat. We even brought brochures back with us to Salt Lake City to leave with our friends who live there, so they can direct future visitors to it.


Hiking ladies enjoy

4.4 on April 16, 2014

Three day hikers certainly enjoyed our stay at the Escalante B and B. Very handy to Escalante's outfitters where we could eat great food and hire great guides. The sun room was lovely. Beds are tall so you need a step stool to get in them. Would have enjoyed an additional trash can near the table. Cats are in the eating area so if are allergic to cats you would not be able to enjoy the lovely breakfast and warm fire. The nicest place to stay in Escalante.


A real gem in God's country

5 on April 12, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and given a choice of rooms. Beautiful, clean, comfortable and very well decorated are some of the words to describe the room. Tom's recommendation for dinner in Escalante was very helpful. Breakfast was exceptional and served in a friendly, comfortable atmosphere. We were pleased to get acquainted with Tom, the Inn Keeper and a few other guests. This B&B is perfectly located for people touring and enjoying the spectacular sights in Southern Utah. Highly recommend this place to everyone traveling in the area. It will be sure to please!


comfort in canyon country

4.2 on November 27, 2013

enjoyed our stay in mid November. the town of ecalante was quiet as the off season had just begun. great local recommendations and conversation from our innkeeper Tom. he kept us smiling and our coffee cups full. a comfortable stay in a charming room- nice murals, clean facilities and a snuggly bed. a beautiful place to hike and relax - can't wait to return!


Wonderful Lodging Near Grand Staircase-Escalante Nat. Mon.

4.6 on October 31, 2013

Looking for a place to stay before heading to Bryce, we spent two fabulous nights in mid-October at Escalante's Grand Staircase B&B. From the road, the inn looks unassuming. Although there is a small sign on the corner of Main Street (just west of Wells Fargo Bank), the inn faces North 300 W. The inn is a collection of three buildings. The rooms are located in two long tan units. Closer to Main Street is a blue house. Tom and his family live in the house which also serves as the office and the breakfast room. The lodging units are modern and the rooms are very large, comfortable and well-appointed. The inn features several different combinations of beds making it work for singles, couples and families. A New England transplant, Tom serves up excellent breakfasts with variations on old favorites: Apple French Toast, scrambled eggs with herbs. Tom is knowledgeable about the area and willing to share directions to hikes, drives and dining in the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. The closest option for dinner or lunch is the quirky Esclante Outfitters on Main Street right across North 300 West from the inn. It serves excellent pizza (sour dough crust), calzones, salads and assorted items plus fabulous home-made desserts and coffee. If you plan to explore the stark beauty of the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument you will want to spend a couple of nights at the inn. You won't be disappointed.


Gateway to the Grand Staircase

4.4 on October 30, 2013

Tom is an excellent host. His rooms are comfortable and very clean. He is always willing to share his vast knowledge of the area and serves delicious breakfasts. We would not hesitate to return or recommend.


3 daxs in Escalante

3.8 on October 23, 2013

We have been for 3 days in Escalante. Tom is a man with strict rules, but friendly and very helpfull to find out a good hiking program. The rooms are decorated with paintings in indian style. -Concerning the breakfast, Tom is a good cook with creative ideas. The guests don't have a choice. If they suffer in allergies, it might be disappointing for him when they just want toast, butter and marmelade. The breakfast room has a high level. All these things have a price, 135 $ per night incl. taxes.


Great B&B

4.0 on October 22, 2013

The room was very clean and comfortable. TV set provided is from the 80's, but I wasn't there for the TV so really not an issue. Location is key and was a great stopping off point on our way to Capitol Reef from Zion.


Loved it.

4.8 on October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The government was shut down so our plans fell through, but he had plenty we could do. The room was large, clean and cute. The bed was so comfy and we spent the first hours of the night out on the porch looking at the stars. The bathroom was nice. There were long hairs on the shower curtain and in the drain that were definitely not mine. A small over site in cleaning that I got over with in seconds. Each breakfast was different and delicious. Although there was no room in my stomach 2nds were always offered. I would go back.


Best stay in utah

5 on October 19, 2013

Tom was a great host and the stay was all we could have asked for!


Nice home away from home!

3.0 on October 18, 2013

A very pleasant B&B in a town with not many accommodations to choose from. The rooms are interestingly decorated, roomy and very clean. There is a great pizza place across the street and Tom gave us good information about places to explore and see in the area. Good days in Escalante!


Escalante in late September

4.0 on October 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Tom and his cats. We were tired after a lot of driving and other activities in the area. We slept great the first night but not so the second due to a barking dog who wouldn't quit all nite. Aside from that, we recommend this B&B.


Comfy B&B

3.0 on October 15, 2013

There was not dining service within the B&B, but the surrounding has some restaurants. It's comfortable and during breakfast meeting different people and exchanged many information.


Very nice stay

4.6 on October 13, 2013

Escalante bed and breakfast is a great place to stay. Hosts are very friendly and accommodating, and have strong knowledge of the area. Look forward to returning.


Best way to stay overnight in Escalante

4.2 on October 10, 2013

Few years ago during my stay in Escalante I had some mixed emotions about the motels I booked in this town. I missed some of the better & bigger chains like Best Western or Comfort Inn there and so the stay 2007 was not in the great way. Thaught about to stay somwhere else in Torrey or Tropic nearby. But I gave it another try: This time I choosed Tom's EGS B&B Inn. After staying there the Rating ist short: Perfect!


Lovely room. Very comfortable. Good breakfast,

3.8 on October 07, 2013

A good stop on beautiful Rte 12.


Wonderful Stay

5 on September 29, 2013

Knowing nothing about the accommodations (except what I could see online) I made the reservation on my way to Escalante. Upon arrival I found my name on an envelope with the key inside. I found our room and was pleasantly surprised (clean room great setting). Instructions with the key indicated the time and place for breakfast. At breakfast we were greeted warmly and served one of the best meals of our vacation. We could not have been more pleased.


Great Stay

4.4 on September 26, 2013

The room was very nice just as pictured on the web site, food was great and Owner was very friendly and informative.


Escalante's Best B&B

4.4 on September 23, 2013

There are not a lot of options in Escalante. Fortunately we found the Escalante Grand Staircase B&B online...and it is lovely. Well located in the center of town it sits back from the street. Our units faced the valley and hills, and the porch provided lovely evening sitting space. Host Tom provides good coffee and breakfasts, even for those of use with specific dietary needs. The B&B is also located a short walk from two restaurants and a great health food store, or just a stroll down the street. Great place to stay.


very kind

4.6 on September 21, 2013

We had a very good time with Tom. His recommendations were very valuable.


quiet, central, comfortable

4.6 on September 19, 2013

we liked it very much and only wished that the breakfast hours had been a bit more flexible.


A Hidden Gem in a Utah Backwater

4.8 on September 18, 2013

Tom Mansell's B&B is a real gem, as is Tom himself! Thanks to his enthusiasm we were able to visit places around Escalante which the uninformed traveller would be unlikely to discover. The real highlight is the Burr Trail, off at the turning in Boulder, but without Tom's tips we would never have discovered such a secret, spectacular canyon. And to add to the experience, Tom is an excellent cook who served up a hearty breakfast each morning with his own fair hand - even catering for my gluten intolerance! We thoroughly recommend this B&B. Hugh & Christina Scotney - Mere, England


Great B&B

4.8 on September 16, 2013

We found our host to be very enthusiastic about the region and willing to offer multiple suggestions of things to do after a wonderful breakfast. They don't need a Chamber of Commerce in Escallante; Tom has that job covered.


Wonderful stay in the Earth Room!

5 on September 02, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for one night on our way to Moab and were so pleased with everything!!! From the fabulous room, to the friendly cats, to the fantastic gourmet breakfast cooked for us...all was wonderful!!! I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling through Escalante!!


we would like to come again

3.6 on August 27, 2013

we would like to come again


A wonderful place to stay

5 on August 24, 2013

Tom, the owner, was a great host and cooked an amazing breakfast. The room was large and well appointed and very quiet. We would recommend anyone to stay there.


A gem

4.6 on August 19, 2013

A great place to stay. Tom was very welcoming and full of information on best routes to take on the next stage of our road trip. Room was spacious with large bathroom. Beautifully furnished (we had the 'Fire' room) in native American art with a touch of whimsey! There is a delightful store cum cafe just across the street for an evening meal or light bite.


Escalante Treat

5 on August 17, 2013

Stayed three nights in August and loved it. Room was spacious, bed comfortable, decor perfect for the setting. But the best thing about this B &B was our host, Tom. A wealth of information regarding not just Escalante but the entire area. He gave us many good ideas when we checked in and presented us with his hand drawn map and suggested itinerary at breakfast the next morning! Took his advice and it gave us a memorable, outstanding day in Escalante. Tom cooks a great breakfast and has exceptionally wonderful coffee. And he is attuned to the needs of his guests. When we mentioned a bottle of wine, he immediately offered a cork screw and wine glasses.


Great place in great location

4.4 on August 13, 2013

This is a nice place to stay, location is great for hiking in Escalante and Dixie Forest. Our room was new, big and clean. Excellent isolation in this hot weather, but poor sound isolation (you can hear the people next door). Breakfast is with NO choice and cheap : a thin 1/2' slice of melon no more, imposed by owner : too bad if you don't like it (and one morning breakfast was not good : toast and cream cheese starchy, not appealing scrambled eggs) : don't expect the usual great choice of B&B. Website and receipt is very precise on all kind of restrictions, including you can't bring your kids or your pet, but forget to mention the 6 cats living there : too bad if you have allergies … Owner charged us $29 more than the price he gave on the reservation and did not dare answering why.


Great time

4.6 on August 09, 2013

The room was decorated and clean. It was quiet, and I sat outside and watched the horses in the homes that were close to our room. Our breakfast was tasty and the people we ate with were delightful.


Good accommodations, good food, good recommendations

4.2 on August 04, 2013

we were very pleased with our accomodations here, plus the good breakfast and advice about where to go and what to see - a great waterfall hike, a sunset picnic, and a scenic road to drive. Thanks!


Nice place, nice rooms, nice proprietor

4.8 on August 04, 2013

We stayed two nights in the EGS B&B Inn. Tom, the owner, is very friendly and helpfull, plus he serves an excellent breakfast. The rooms are big and clean and beautifully decorated with attention to details. Big bathroom as well, lots of closet space.


A pleasant week in Escalante

4.4 on July 16, 2013

All my previous visits to Escalante were so far on the cheap side - either camping or inexpensive hotel. This time I was there with my wife and thought that some level of luxury would be appropriate. The Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast delivered this kind of luxury beyond my expectations. Entering our room for the first time made my wife and I utter a first Ooohhhh. The main wall had a nice hand painting giving the room a meaning to its name - FIRE! The furniture was beautiful and the bed HUGE. I wish I had that kind of bed had home. Each morning we were surprised with a wonderful freshly crafted breakfast. The host did a a great job. It was very tasty and the portions were just the right size to make us ready to hit out hiking trails. Coming back after our hikes was like coming back home. The bathroom with its generous shower was a welcome element after a hot and sweaty day on the trail. The only element of improvement could have been the amount of TV channels.


Fantastic stay!

4.0 on July 14, 2013

We absolutely loved staying at this charming bed and breakfast. Our breakfast was served on time and fabulous too!


Excellent

4.6 on July 11, 2013

Room was unique, spacious and spotless. Location excellent for visiting parts of Escalante Grand Staircase National Park.


Awesome Spot!

4.2 on June 26, 2013

We enjoyed this location for day trips. Our accommodations were excellent. Our host and many of the townsfolk were so helpful, sharing favorite hiking destinations and making suggestions as to timing and gear selection.


EscaLion

4.4 on June 24, 2013

Very nice and calm place. The room had an interesting and unusual look. A big stuffed lion was sitting on a bed welcoming us. Breakfast made by Tom was delicious and energetic. Very nice ambience. Strongly recommend.


Recent Visit

5 on June 18, 2013

Our second stay at this property and had a great time. So comfortable and inviting. Tom takes an interest in the individual visitors and is very knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is great.


We'll definitely stay here again when we visit Escalate next year

4.0 on June 14, 2013

The B&B is right in the middle of town, close to everything. Our room was very well well appointed, clean, creatively decorated with a turbo air conditioner which was most welcome on the hot days. Tom was a great host, and as I am an early riser, kindly had a pot of coffee brewing at 6:30am in the kitchen. Escalate is a quiet town and we enjoyed the quiet B&B. We're planning a return trip next year as the scenery in Grand Staircase Escalante, Cedar Breaks, and Capitol Reef is beyond stupendous. Tom is a great host and we look forward to seeing him again. Oh- I almost forgot, the breakfasts are hearty, well made, and filling.


Our Stay in Escalante

3.6 on June 11, 2013

We had a most wonderful time at this B&B. Breakfasts were yummy and filling. The Tom (the owner) was knowledgable and offered travel suggestions everyday. The rooms were clean,spacious and tastefully decorated. The property was within walking distance of three nice restaurants. We would definitely stay here again. Was within one hour of Bryce Canyon, two hours from Capitol Reef and Zion. Many areas to explore just in the Grand Staircase itself. Will be back!!!


Grand escalante

3.8 on June 09, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff Breakfast catered our request Room, bathroom was clean, bed comfortable Easy to park car Value is fair


5 stars in every respect!

5 on May 31, 2013

This B&B has the most modern and clean accomodations that you will find. Tom makes amazing breakfast fare to top off a quiet and comfortable setting that gives one rest and relaxation. Hardily recommended for anyone in the Escalante area.


Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on May 31, 2013

Room was just lovely. Good restaurant next door and Tom was a delightful host.


A Cut Above

4.4 on May 26, 2013

We stayed two nights, and because the place was not full got a free upgrade on our room. The guest quarters are not in the main house, which is on Main Street, but tucked behind in two low, modern buildings. The common room where breakfast is served was not open except in the morning, but we found our own room spacious and comfortable enough that it wasn't a problem. I thought the breakfast delicious; my husband wanted more. There's a restaurant next door where you can eat lunch or dinner and get a stronger cup of coffee.


Friendly and Relaxing Place to Stay

3.6 on May 09, 2013

The was my second visit and it was quite enjoyable. Met some of the other guests and enjoyed some good conversations. Tom was very helpful and cooked a great breakfast.


Beautiful clean room

4.4 on May 08, 2013

Tom is a very helpful host. Room was quiet and very clean. Breakfast was good and was ready right on time. Location is great to hike.


Amazing Escalante!

5 on May 04, 2013

We were so impressed with this B&B. Our room was huge and lacked for nothing. Our host was very genial and recommended several places for dinner that turned out delicious. In the morning he had prepared a map of "not to miss" views and drives plus the most fabulous breakfast. It is truly outstanding lodgings and host.


So much fun

4.8 on April 30, 2013

We were doing a short vacation and decided to stay at the Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast. It was a great decision and a great time. The room was very warm and comfortable. We have been staying in hotels and this was a great choice and a nice change of pace. It was so relaxing and comfortable. The bed was so soft and comfortable that it made it hard to get up in the morning. The breakfast was delicious and a nice change from eating out all the time. We really enjoyed our interaction with the owner (Tom) and his staff. They were so friendly and helpful in answering our questions and giving us tips regarding the area. We will return again in the future.


Little gem

4.2 on April 29, 2013

Great location. Big, clean rooms. Owner is personable and helpful and makes a great breakfast.


April Get Away

3.0 on April 25, 2013

Tom was most helpful in giving us a good itinerary for the hikes in the area. Our room was exactly as shown in the description and breakfast got us off to a great start for the activites we wanted to do. The one minor mishap was when we arrived for check-in, no one was there to give us a key. We were able to reach Tom by phone and he came within a short time. We will definitely come back.


Excellent experience!

5 on March 13, 2013

An oasis of tranquility! The room was comfortable, very well maintained and clean Tom was a great host and a very good cook!! He helped us with great tips and information of the area, thanks to him we were able to see more than we expected. We enjoyed our stay, thank you Tom!!!


Lap Cats

4.6 on November 28, 2012

Great food and service. Free Lap Cats


Great place to stay!

4.2 on November 27, 2012

we stayed at Escalante's Grand Staircase B&B one night. Our room was great and extremely clean. Tom was great in providing tips about what to see and made us a delicious breakfast. Definitely, stay again!


Highly recommended!

5 on November 27, 2012

We stayed for three nights around the Thanksgiving holidays. This BandB was perfect in all respects, and Tom, the owner, made us feel really welcome. He was also a good source of information on hiking in the area.


Great Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on November 08, 2012

We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. Tom was friendly and had lots of travel tips. His breakfast was outstanding. Room was very clean and comfortable.


A nice place to stay

3.2 on November 06, 2012

They do a nice job. Very friendly and helpful in regard to special places to see in the area. Good breakfast.


Nice, clean and good location

4.2 on November 02, 2012

Had a nice time and Tom, the owner, was very helpful in offering us places to visit and restaurants to dine.


We sure enjoyed it.

5 on October 25, 2012

Innkeeper was very gracious. Breakfast was awesome. And his recommendations for enjoying the sites in the area were spot on.


Can't wait to go back!

5 on October 24, 2012

Comfy rooms, Great host, Near lots for fun outdoor things to do.


Everything was perfect!

4.0 on October 19, 2012

Exceeded our expectations in every area. What a great find in such a great town. Tom the Innkeeper was so helpful. Will most certainly be back! Jim and Missy


Great Place to Stay

5 on October 17, 2012

Great Location! Wonderful, Fun Rooms! Gourmet Breakfast!


Escalante B&B

5 on October 15, 2012

The three of us had a very nice time on Oct 6th. Absolutely no problems. Tom was so nice and the breakfast was wonderful. I plan to stay here again when I come to the area.


Excellent Escalante

5 on October 14, 2012

Great host and wonderful breakfasts. No reason to stay anywhere else!


Great owner who will help in any way possible.

3.6 on October 13, 2012

My complaint about the rooms is that it is that you can hear conversation in the room next door. The owner is very accomodating and very personable. He tries in every way to make your stay enjoyable and will help with any information needed for the area...including good places to eat and visit.


Outstanding Bed 'n Breakfast!

5 on October 05, 2012

Tom, the owne of the B&B is a very nice guy and all the rooms are furnished and decorated with so much loving care by him. In the morning he made fresh cooked strawberry jam and delicious scrambled eggs. Based on my email request he made for us glutenfree pancakes AND best coffee on our 40 days trip through. We could sleep with open windows, that's why we slept very well. We will come back anytime.


Great Get-Away Place!

5 on September 26, 2012

Our recent trip through Escalante became a high-light of our vacation! This B&B is very nice. Tom is very friendly and is a great cook! The breakfast was wonderful! He made you feel like you were more of a long-lost friend rather than just a guest that he had never met before. Tom's suggestions on places to dine at for lunch and dinner, in the area, were very helpful. We had a great time here! Not only that, but the other guests were great, too! Our room was spacious, charming, and clean! We had a skylight and, had we not been so very tired, would've been able to gaze up at the stars in the night! This place was such a pleasant change from the usual offerings available in this area. We have had some not-so-great past experiences with staying in this town before. This B&B was so refreshing that we hope to make this a regular stop whenever we get back to this area again!


We liked it so much we stayed an extra day

5 on September 25, 2012

This B&B is wonderful and so is this little town. Truly an oasis of calm and quiet in an area that sees many tourists. We loved every minute here.


Great location, great place to stay

5 on September 24, 2012

This is a great B&B in a small town in great location near lots of outdoor activities. Tom is great as a host. We locked ourselves out of the room and he responded to a cell phone call and immediately returned to let us in.


Had a great stay, wish it was longer, will be going back.

4.2 on September 22, 2012

An excellent place to stay and see the sites of southern Utah. Tom is a wonderful host and very knowledgeable about the area and activities.


Escalante B&B

5 on September 22, 2012

An excellent experience. Room was very comfortable, it was quiet and the breakfast was to die for. Tom also gave us directions for a wonderful side trip on our way to Capitol Reef. Thanks Tom


Very Pleasant!

3.8 on September 18, 2012

Tom was really friendly and helpful with our hiking plans. The food was good. The rooms were a lot nicer and roomy in person than in the pictures. The location is good. There isn't much around that area but there are a couple of good restaurants within walking distance. The Indian drum inside the room was a great touch. I played it a lot.


What a wonderful stay!

4.8 on September 17, 2012

We recently spent three nights at the Escalante B&B, two nights in the Sage room and one in the Earth room. (we spent a night camping in between) The beds were comfy, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was tasty. Tom, the innkeeper was incredibly nice and so were the cats that he's got around the property. We especially loved that the Sage room has it's own balcony, we sat out there at night enjoying the stars. The location is great, close to the grocery store, and right across the street from a great beer/pizza place. We highly recommend staying here!


outstanding, friendly

5 on September 10, 2012

We enjoy Tom's outstanding breakfast, one of the main reasons to come back to this place when passing the Escalante region


Great nights sleep in a quiet little town!

4.0 on September 06, 2012

Loved the room which had a theme, it was clean and spacious. The bed was quiet comfortable, we slept really well! Tom was very helpful with where to eat lunch and dinner. He also gave great directions and places to go and see. While we missed out on a lot of sights due to our time frame we will be going back and staying at this B&B again. Thanks Tom :)


Great rooms but not a leisurely experience

3.8 on August 27, 2012

The accommodations at this B & B were absolutely delightful. The room was spacious and well furnished, the beds were comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Everything I just mentioned is very important for a pleasant stay and I greatly appreciate the effort it requires to maintain a property in this way - thank you Tom for doing a stellar job! There is, however, one suggestion I would like to make to Tom, the owner of the property, and a caution for any prospective visitors. It is very clear from the moment you make a reservation that everything is done only on the owner's terms and to fit into his schedule. After booking the reservation, you are presented with a long declaration of what NOT to do when you visit and what extra charges there will be if you do them. Upon checking in you are asked to read another long list of things NOT to do when you get to your room. Breakfast is served only at 7:45 or 8:15 in the morning and you are expected to be prompt. At the price we paid for this room, we did want to take advantage of the breakfast, but we would have preferred an experience that was less like mess call at boy scout camp. Check out is at 10:00 am sharp and he states emphatically in his list of things NOT to do that there are no exceptions available unless you are willing to pay an extra $50. On a vacation it is nice to have the luxury of being leisurely and to feel like a welcomed guest. Tom was friendly and pleasant but I think it would be good for him to go and be a guest at a hotel or a B & B where the focus is the comfort and convenience of the GUEST so he can experience first hand how wonderful it is to feel like the number one priority.

Innkeeper Response
Being an Innkeeper I appreciate any and all reviews. This helps me become better at what I do which is in everybody interest. That being said I could respond, in detail, as to why I do what I do. Instead over the years I have found out that it is best to respond/comply and implement what guests want. Every once in a while I will ask guests what they would like to see and how they would handle certain situations. My experience is open breakfasts have been a complete disaster for various reasons thus the certain times, 90-95% of my guests are gone between 9-9:30 thus the 10:00 check-out time. ALL hotels/motels/B&B have "rules" etc somewhere in the rooms. I prefer to tell you up-front. I also inform my guests to please do not take these personally. These are for the unruly, loud, obnoxious guests that are few and far between. I still find it hard to understand why I have to inform guests that they cannot light fires in their rooms. I had a guest light a camp-stove, on a wooden bureau, in an enclosed room. His explanation was I did not tell him he could not do that. I do not make these up. Once again I appreciate all comments and reviews. They help me make my B&B a better place to stay.


A great stay!

4.4 on August 22, 2012

The 40 minute drive from Bryce Canyon to Escalante is beautiful all the way. And though Escalante is small, its main drag is about a half mile section of highway 12, don't pass this B&B up if you're looking to establish a base for both Bryce Canyon and the Grand Staircase area. Each room has its own charm, the beds are huge and comfy, rooms are spotless, the owner is very personable and makes an awesome breakfast. Nights are peaceful and quiet. I wasn't expecting a lot due to the size of the town but I was very pleasantly surprised and will definitely stay here again. Dinner at Outfitter's across the street rivals anything you'd find here in downtown Dallas. This was a great stay all around. GW


Absolutely THE best place to stay in Escalante!

5 on August 14, 2012

Don't be fooled by bogus reviews on other hotels or B&Bs in Escalante! Tom runs THE best place to lay your head at night and makes an awesome breakfast too! I know from experience! We stayed 4 nights in July 2011, and then returned again for 3 nights at the end of May 2012. My husband and I (along with two other couples) visit the Grand Staircase for slot canyoning! What a place, but that's another story. We're active and we like quality accomodations when we travel. Tom was full of good tips to help us enjoy the area. He wakes early to have coffee and breakfast ready for you. I like the separate rooms, almost like an upscale motel, rather than overnighting in the owners house -- that's a part of the B&B scene I don't like -- privacy or something... So Tom has the perfect set-up. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the air conditioners work very well -- something you need in that part of the world! Nice spacious bathrooms, plush towels... you get the idea. Just look at his website -- what you see is what you get. There are only two things I wish Tom would add: 1) a better sign out front because it's hard to find, even though it's a small town -- it's just not visible from the street like it should be and 2) an ice machine would be an awesome addition. We intend to stay again next year, of course. Highly recommended!


Surprising !!!

5 on August 13, 2012

Better than all these chain motels, a superb place on my way from moab to Bryce Canyon. Tom the owner made to an relaxing stop, excellent breakfast, silent, close to mother nature. Will stop again, when I come back in the Region.


Great place to stay

3.8 on July 06, 2012

After 4 days of camping we were ready for a soft bed, a long shower and a room out of the wind. The Bed and Breakfast was the perfect choice. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast was a treat. This is a wonderful base to explore the Escalante region. We took great hikes and scenic drives.


A wonderful getaway in Escalante

5 on June 25, 2012

This is an amazing place to stay in Escalanate, Utah! The Inn Keeper Tom is a wonderful cook and has the "secret" places to see while in Escalanate. We had an amazing vacation and it was partly due to Tom & his B & B! The rooms are amazing! Also, his personal map to route 12 and off shoot roads made our trip amazing! When we are in Escalanate, this is where we will stay again!


charming

4.6 on June 23, 2012

A surprisingly charming B&B in the little town of Escalante. We stayed in the Sun room, which was quite large with high ceilings and southwestern accents and furniture. A nice little porch to enjoy the evening.......the owner was pleasant and recommended a great little cafe for pizza which was right next door. A perfect stop to relax and refresh.


Great Experience

4.6 on June 22, 2012

We had just a short stay in Escalante and enjoyed our visit. The accommodations were very clean and match the Southern Utah flavor. The host was very informative and the area is awesome. This is a great place to stay to explore the Grand Staircase area.


A Visit to Escalante

3.6 on June 13, 2012

The rooms were great, except for the skylight. I loved the idea until it woke me up at dawn due to the light being directly onto the bed. There is no way to shade or cover them. It is a lovely place and very clean. Would probably stay there again, although I might branch out. We didn't have any complaints, though!


May 2012 Visit

3.8 on June 11, 2012

This was a charming place for the price. The room was immaculate and well-maintained. Nice firm bed and wonderful shower. A little more space for toiletries next to the sink would have been useful. Very quiet and peaceful. Go for pizza next door - best we've ever had! Would definitely stay here again.


Great Stay, friendly owner, fantastic room!

4.6 on June 11, 2012

Has a great stay here. Arrived late after owner had left but left me keys and very clear instructions that made me feel very welcomed! Room was beautiful with everything from shower to Wifi working perfectly. Parking place is wonderfully integrated to the place. Great breakfast in the morning before leaving. I would recommend the place to anyone with absolutely zero reserve!!!


Escalante Grand Staircase B&B Review

4.8 on June 08, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Escalante Grand Staircase B&B Inn. Very convenient location with all of the town's restaurants in walking distance. We would stay here again.


Real hiker's territory

3.8 on June 06, 2012

Escalates is an ideal stop off when travelling east from Bryce NP. The town is hot and dry in summer and displays little of its early Mormon history. In such a hot dry environ we would have place we would have appreciated a room fridge. Lovely breakfast and a competent innkeeper made the stay a pleasure.


Eastern Utah stay

3.4 on June 05, 2012

Comfortable and clean room with all needed amenities.


A pleasant surprise

4.4 on June 04, 2012

I traveled with six friends there and we all enjoyed the rooms. Very clean with a Western look. The owner went out of his way to provide us with an early breakfast treat as we had an early departure the following day. The owner recommended a pizza place next door and all of us would travel again just to have another pizza. It was culinary delight.


Nat'l Parks Trip

5 on May 31, 2012

On our recent trip we discovered a wonderful little B& B in Esclante, Utah. Tom, the owner, went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect. The next morning we were treated to a superb breakfast which was enjoyed by all. Our room was spacious and clean. The bed gave us the best nights sleep on our trip and for the first time in a long time the king size bed actually had king size pillows. Why can't hotels figure that out? We would recommend the Esclante B7B to all. Enjoy your stay and come to breakfast hungry!


Very pleasant! A lovely place, in a beautiful setting...RECOMMENDED!

4.6 on May 29, 2012

Our room was nicely furnished, very clean and just as we expected. Food was great, Tom the host is a great guy, who runs a great service.


Gem of a place!

5 on May 28, 2012

This B & B is as gem in the middle of no where. We found it online and were able to pick our room out from the pictures. Every detail of your stay is catered to. Tom, the proprietor, even helped us plan out our touring, hiking itineraries each day. Highly recommend staying here.


Lovely place to stay & relax!

4.2 on May 27, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. Beautiful, large, nicely decorated and furnished room with skylight - loved looking up at the stars at night! Friendly, helpful (made space to park our motorcycle), nice host - Tom knew all about the area and sent us to a fabulous slot canyon that was easily accessible. His frittata for breakfast was delicious, as was the early coffee (0630!). Very inviting, relaxing, and beautiful place. Even Jake the cat was welcoming! Would return and will recommend to others. Thanks!


Enjoyable Stay

4.4 on May 25, 2012

As always Tom provides wonderful accommodations and fabulous breakfasts to start each day. I have been a returning guest for three summers now and have enjoyed each visit.


Lovely Inn

5 on May 25, 2012

The B & B was perfect for our needs. Tom, the owner, is a great cook. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.


Charming b and b

4.6 on May 01, 2012

Just what we were looking for.....an "earthy" feeling reflecting the Indian and Western atmosphere, clean and comfortable, firm mattress, even a tomtom to bang...


Our Stay at Grand Staircase

4.6 on December 08, 2011

For a small town of 750, our visit at the Grand Staircase was very warm and welcoming. The owner was great and went the extra mile to accommodate our needs. Very friendly and warm people in Escalante. They made us feel as if we were a part of the town. Although you didn't get to choose from a breakfast menu, the breakfasts were great.....and if you had a preference, all you had to do was ask. We would definitely make it our choice to stay the next time we visit.


Escalante

3.2 on October 24, 2011

The room was spacious, very comfortable and nicely decorated but the walls were paper-thin and we could hear more than we wanted to hear from the next room. The innkeeper, Tom, was very affable and gave us some excellent suggestions for hikes and places to see.


Escalante's Grand Staircase B and B

2.6 on October 15, 2011

The linens were clean. But the bathroom sink and shower, and shower curtain needed a good scrubbing. Dust everywhere. Needs more attention to detail.


Lovely Place

4.2 on October 12, 2011

We had a great time! Tom and his wife are very kind and made our stay comfortable. Very yummy breakfast and large rooms! Loved the hot shower after a long day of hiking! Thank you! We will definitely be back!


A great stay in a great place

4.4 on October 11, 2011

Good clean, private rooms. Great breakfast and friendly service.


Very enjoyable

4.2 on October 11, 2011

The room decoration was outstanding. We could walk to many locations in Escalante. Breakfast was something of a social event, Tom was a wonderful host and gave us excellent advice on what to see in the area based on the length of our stay. His dining recommendations were also right on the mark. Overall an unexpected find in a very out-of-the-way place.


Beautiful Country

4.8 on October 11, 2011

These accomodations were the best in the area. The themed rooms were well decorated and large. The breakfasts were yummy and substantial enough to get you through a morning of hiking. Tom was very congenial and directed us to several spectacular spots for hiking and driving.


Escalante B & B

5 on October 09, 2011

Experience was great! Tom was exceedingly knowledgeable of the area, what to do and where to go. I highly recommenc.


September

3.0 on September 30, 2011

Nice breakfast, very friendly innkeeper. Unfortunately, dining options in the town (for dinner) are poor.


We love this place.

5 on September 28, 2011

We have stayed here twice and both times had nothing but outstanding service. Tom gives you dinner recommendations and they are great. Breakfast is great and it is always nice to sit down with someone who is traveling and sharing stories. Tom can always give you great recommendations on day escapes from the B&B and there are lots of places you can go.


Wonderful experience in and interesting town

4.6 on September 26, 2011

This was a wonderful experience. Tom, the owner was helpful in pointing us in the right directions for the best experience seeing the park and for letting us know where to dine. The town was an interesting town to visit. We only spent one night but would have enjoyed a second night as well. Everything was clean and there were quiet hours enforced after 10 pm.


Awesome experience

5 on September 19, 2011

This is one of the best B&B we had ever experienced. Highly recommended.


Nice place to spend one night in Escalante

3.8 on September 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Tom was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and very nicely decorated. The only negative is that the walls are a bit thin, but not that big of a deal.


We will be back...

3.8 on September 08, 2011

We stayed in this B&B for two nights to give us the opportunity to go around the area and drive/walk some trails. Tom, the owner of the B&B is a very nice guy and very straightforward. You have breakfast either at 7h30 or 8h15 and there is no choice, he decides. Some may think this is somewhat blunt but in a way it makes everybody's life easier, at least that is my opinion. The rooms we stayed in, The Antique room, was decorated very nicely and the painting really was in place with the area we were staying. So for sure a major upgrade in comparison with the most standard motels you'd find in smaller towns like Escalante. I would and probably will come back again whenever I see an opportunity to visit Utah in the future. Thank you Tom, we had a great time and appreciated your advise on sights to see. Marco, Belgium


Great Time at Escalante Grand Staircase B&B

4.4 on August 28, 2011

We stayed in 2 rooms (Antique & Clay) for 3 nights in mid-August 2011. The rooms were wonderful - very spacious, comfortable beds, and quiet atmosphere. The best part was breakfast cooked by the owner Tom with very generous portions and absolutely delicious. Tom was also wonderful about providing sightseeing advice for our time in Escalante. All in all, a really great time and we would recommend this to others!


Great Conversation. Nice and Clean Rooms.

3.8 on August 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this B&B. The outside of the office/house where you check in from the roadside is not real attractive but it is misleading, the office/house is very clean and nicely decorated inside. Tom, the owner was extremely pleasant and helpful. He had suggestions regarding area attractions as well as the food. He had fascinating stories and was extremely and extremely welcoming and caring person. He does have a few cats which come and go as they please and for someone who is highly allergic to cats I wasn't crazy about them, but they did not do anything to disrupt our stay. The rooms were relaxing and clean. They do have wi-fi at no cost. The TV's were older console models, but if you're coming to Escalante, you're probably not coming to watch TV. The breakfast experience varied from very good to just ok - I was not blown away. I felt the cost was somewhat high, but to be honest it is very comperable to most places in the area. I would recommend the B&B on the basis of Tom as well as the cleanliness of the rooms.


wonderful stay

4.8 on August 11, 2011

We had a great time at Escalante B&B. Our host, Tom, was very nice and always willing to share his knowledge about the area. His hand drawn maps for our hikes were right on with landmarks and mileage/distances. We stayed in the Wind room and it was quite comfy. The restaurant next door has excellent pizza and friendly staff. We would stay there again if in the area.


Best part of the vacation!

4.4 on July 23, 2011

Tom is the bomb! The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Tom's breakfasts were divine. And most of all, Tom's knowledge of the area and willingness to share sightseeing suggestions was awesome! What a great area to visit! We will tell everyone! And, go back if we can.


escalante

4.6 on July 18, 2011

In front of the office some serious weeding needed to take place, my first impression was "oh no, what have I gotten myself into", however the rooms behind and their suroundings where well maintained, very clean & stylish inside. Also, there was no noise, no banging of doors etc, the quietest nights sleep I have ever had while on vacation. The food was excellent, the beds where comfy, the owner was very helpfull, and had pictures of the various hikes we wanted to do which helped us make our decisions. I would certainly stay there again.


Excellent place for motorcycle trips on Scenic Utah Hwy 12!

5 on July 18, 2011

Beautiful very BIG and comfortable rooms. Neat murals and whimsical touches in room. Huge bathrooms! Excellent breakfast. Great parking for motorcycles.


Great rooms, great location!!

4.6 on July 13, 2011

Loved the rooms, very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Especially loved the skylight in each room. Tom was very nice, knowledgeable and pleasant. Our group of 4 adults and 4 kids enjoyed our short stay and loved Escalante!! All the little touches were great, yummy breakfast too :)


A great place to stay.

5 on July 05, 2011

This was our favorite overnight stop in Utah. Tom runs a great Inn. Quiet, clean, beautiful surroundings, good food, and fine recommendations for visiting the National Monument. My 8 year old daughter was treated like a queen, and Tom's wonderful sense of humor made us all feel welcome. I cannot recommend Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn more highly. A perfect stay. Alan, Lila and Katie B.


Escalante Stay

5 on July 05, 2011

This wonderful B&B, centrally located to a number of great hiking/scenic spots was a great find. Tom, the owner, in addition to being a great cook and serving up some delicious breakfasts provided helpful tour guide information of the must see spots. My "Sage" room evening had a small patio to enjoy.


Escalantes Grand Staircase B & B

3.8 on July 05, 2011

Tom put on his tour guide hat and made several hikes to take while in the area. He recommended times to hike and places to visit. We beat the heat and the crowds. It was perfect.


Gem in Escalante

5 on July 01, 2011

Tom cooked the best breakfast that I ever had in a hotel. Quiet location with large clean rooms and Directv after a hard day of hiking. Stay here if you want to stay clear of all the campers and traffic in Bryce.


Wonderful Getaway in Escalante

4.0 on June 27, 2011

We hadn't visited southern Utah in more than 30 years. I was in charge of planning the weekend and my husbands only requirement is that he have a comfortable place to sleep. ThisB&B provided this and much more! The rooms and beds were comfortable, the breakfasts were amazing and the owner is friendly and knowledgeable. There is so much to see and explore that deciding what to do and where to go can be overwhelming but Tom, the owner, gave us great suggestions.


Motorcycling thru Utah 2010

3.4 on June 15, 2011

Our stay at this B&B was blind thru the internet, and after a long HOT day on the motorcycles. We had a little trouble finding it as it's without any large signs/markings. After pulling into the lot and meeting Tom, we found the rooms to be exactly as pictured on the site, very nice, and Tom's welcome very friendly. The evening was delightful, as we sat is chairs and stared out as the sun set over the Grand Staircase. Bkfast/coffee next morning was delicious, friendly chat and stories with the group and Tom, and some local stories to boot...make sure to go down the street and visit with Keven! All in all, I'd suggest this spot to friends as a great value in the middle of the Escalante!!


Escalante B&B

3.6 on June 13, 2011

Wonderful host. Provided us with very good information on where to go and what to do in the area. Wonderful breakfast. The man can cook!


Great B&B

5 on June 02, 2011

This is a great B&B to stay at. Quiet and relaxing. Our room was very well kept and the bed was very comfortable. Our breakfast was awesome! Tom is a great cook. Close to the Grand Staircase - Escalante and the small town of Boulder.


Good but could easily be better

2.6 on May 27, 2011

Stay was fine. Spent 4 nights. Towels were not replaced after use which I like. For a B&B I felt the breakfast was a bit below standards. Not enough choices, not enough food. Considering the price I felt the food should have been better. Bed was a bit on the hard side. Otherwise, we were happy and owners were friendly and accomodating.

Innkeeper Response
Upon checking into the room, I present ALL guests with an informative In-Room Notice which states that if you would like your towels changed please place them in the bath-tub. They were hung up otherwise I would have replaced them. We are located in what they consider"high-desert" so water is at a premium and I encourage guests to reuse towels and linens. Breakfast is cooks choice. I do not do special requests on meals. I throw away food after breakfast. I ask guests if anyone wants more and if no one says anything I am under the assumption that no one wants more. All of my mattresses are pillow-top and medium firmness. I have laid on LOTS of mattresses to find the most comfortable mattress I can. In 13 years of owning my B&B, this is the FIRST review that the bed was a "little on the hard side". I have guest comments stating that staying here was the best night sleep they have had and where can we buy these mattresses! I do not know what room this guest stayed in otherwise I would inform you of the manufacturer.


Great folks; nice rooms; worth the price.

4.2 on May 19, 2011

We stayed after a few nights backpacking in the canyons. Tom and his staff were friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious and prompt. We really enjoyed our stay.


Trip to Utah

4.6 on May 10, 2011

Tom was great! Very helpful, wonderful home cooked breakfast!


Stay at Escalante B&B

5 on April 23, 2011

Owner was very courteous and service oriented. Very friendly and comfortable environment. Helped us with restaurants for dinner in area. Very good options. Room was great. Tremendous value!


excellent value, great location

5 on March 30, 2011

Tom was incredibly friendly and the rooms had great personal touches. Breakfast was delicious and filling. He should really charge more!


Nice surprise

4.0 on March 02, 2011

What a wonderful experience! The room was nice, but it was the personal service and outstanding breakfasts that made this stay so wonderful. We can't wait to go back and stay here again so we can explore more of this gorgeous country!


Escalante's Grand Staircase B&B

3.4 on December 14, 2010

The breakfasts were great! The rooms are not in the main house area but more like a motel behind the home. No phone in rooms and no working pay phone in town. Great location, quiet and peaceful.


Dec 8, 2010

4.0 on December 13, 2010

Great place to stay if you are traveling through the quaint little town of Escalante, UT. The rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfasts are simply amazing! I wouldn't hesitate to stay again!


Stay Away!

2.4 on October 11, 2010

Thet "gourmet" breakfast consisted of coffee, a small wedge of French toast with berries, scrambled eggs, and a piece of ulnripe melon. After breakfast, About 9:15am, I found out that Tom's checkout time is 10:00am.xI asked for a little more time, and he said NO, because he had to clean the room for another bdguest. My wife and I hurried to take showers and I started loading the car. At 5 minutes to 10:00 Tom was standing outside the door with a mop and bucket and ask me if we were out of the room yet. I said "almost" and continued to load the car. At 10:00 sharp he rudely walked into the room with his bucket and said "Oh, I guess you're not out yet", while my wife was still drying her hair! Stay away from this rudeness! Also, I just discovered the place is for sale, so I guess Tom does not care!.

Innkeeper Response
As an Innkeeper I think I can speak for MOST Innkeepers if not all. NO ONE wants an inappropriate review, especially me. I am VERY approachable and NO ONE said anything to me on this stay. I believe the breakfast that this guest was referring to is on our web site under "Breakfast", www.escalantebnb.com and is one of my most popular. If this guest was not satisfied then he could have said something to me, even afterwards, and I would have tried my best to make my guests happy. Nothing was said by either this guest or any other guest. When I check any guest into a room, there is an informative notice on the bed stating all of out policies. I ALWAYS ask guests to read our policies so there are no misunderstandings. One of them is the Check-Out time which is 10 a.m. I am a small business and it takes me about 1-hour to clean each room. I have NEVER walked in on a guess, and I did not on this one, with out their permission OR I was invited in, NEVER. Escalante's Grand Staircase was stated from scratch from the ground up. I have been recognized both Locally and Nationally either in magazines or new paper stories and I have been also featured as a Small Business Administration success story and the list goes on and on. I really do not think all of this could be accomplished OR possible by being rude or not caring to my guests. Once again NO Innkeeper that I know wants an unhappy guest. We all try to make every guest feel welcomed and my advise to every one reading this is to TALK to your Innkeeper if you are unhappy. WE will all try to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one. Just ask or say something. We are all looking to improve our B&B/Inn's


Pleasant stay . . .we recommend it without reservation

4.0 on October 03, 2010

We spent three nights there in late September and recommend it without reservation. The rooms are very clean and the property well kept. Our host Tom served a delicious, home cooked breakfast as early as 7:30 which left plenty of time to go hiking during the day. Tom knows the area well and had several excellent suggestions regarding places to go and things to see. Canyoneering in Peek-a-boo Canyon is not to be missed!


Southern Utah Hospitality at it's best

4.0 on September 18, 2010

Comfy room and bed, wonderful room decor, oustanding breakfast, kind, friendly service. Would recommend to others for sure!


Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4358264890

Visit Website »

View details

Top