The Taft Bridge Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
36 Reviews

Write A Review

Exceptional

4.8 on May 06, 2012

Excellent service. A gem of a place. Nice folks, comfortable space, really conveniently located. Wonderful hospitality.


Home away from home.

5 on April 30, 2012

I have stayed at the Taft Bridge Inn regularly over the past 4 years and regard it as my "home away from home". The innkeepers (Jennifer and Lewis) and the owner are all friendly, welcoming and professional. The inn is always immaculately clean and comfortable, with nicely decorated rooms. Breakfast is a time to engage in fun conversation with the diverse people staying at the inn and the food is great. The location is fabulous - a quiet tree lined street within walking distance of Woodley Park, Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle. Taft Bridge Inn is one of the best places to stay in DC in terms of value and quality!


Excellent Price Value & Super Insider Tip

4.4 on April 19, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Taft Bridge Inn. Charming, clean & conveniently located, the Taft Bridge Inn offers beautiful accommodations and service at an outstanding price value. I can only recommend the place and will definitley return there myself!


We had a wonderful weekend!

4.8 on April 14, 2012

The innkeeper and staff were so friendly yet professional. The room was well appointed, tasteful and comfortable and the property has so much character. Breakfast was such an easy affair, and there was no pressure to be at the table on time. The inn is conveniently located, off Connecticut Avenue and close to the Metro station. We'll definitely be staying here again on our return trip to DC.


Mother/Son Trip to DC

4.6 on April 11, 2012

The Taft Bridge Inn satisfied my need for wi-fi, breakfast and reasonably priced parking. I felt safe as a woman traveling with my teenage son, which was very important as I chose lodging. Location is good and metro is close enough. The Inn itself is really lovely - furnished with lots of antiques and Japanese art reflecting the owner's background. Jennifer makes fantastic omelets and I found breakfast to be quite enjoyable. Our room was very comfortable, large, well furnished, as was our bath. We would have appreciated a larger television for late at night and an available electric outlet by the beds would be very helpful for laptop/smart phone use as batteries recharge, but these are only mentioned as suggestions on ways to improve and not as complaints. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend highly to all of my friends traveling to DC. Great place!!!!


A little tired

3.0 on August 09, 2011

Interesting large old house but a bit run-down. Air conditioners are noisy and don't keep up with the DC heat in the breakfast room. Many guests don't bother with the breakfast, and don't miss much. A place to stay, not a home away from home. A few blocks from Adams Morgan, but not walking distance to the center.


Dupont Delight

4.6 on June 11, 2011

The Taft Bridge Inn exceeded my expectations. It is located in a lovely neighborhood-amongst the many foreign embassies in the NW corner of DC. The inn is about 1/2 a mile up Connecticut Ave from Dupont Circle- within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. There is a small natural foods store on Columbia Ave within a 5 minute walk. Breakfast is served in the dining room; this is not the kind of B&B with cereal boxes lined up next to a pitcher of milk and a bag of bread next to the toaster! Breakfast choices include eggs, toast, bagels, cereals- both hot and cold, juice and fruit. The formal living room is stocked with games, books, magazines, etc. There is also a common sitting area on the 3rd floor - a nice place to read, play board games or chat. For guest convenience, the 3rd floor refrigerator is stocked with cold beverages for a small cost. My room on the 3rd floor was exactly as depicted in the photograph. The bed was comfortable, the closet had adequate storage space. For the 3rd floor guests sharing bathrooms, there were 2 full bathrooms- one on the 3rd floor and another 1/2 a flight down. Lights were plentiful throughout the house - no worries about getting lost in the dark. One downside- the house does not have central air conditioning. Each guest room is equipped with a room air conditioning unit - mine worked well enough. The unit in the shared area of the 3rd floor was a bit noisy. The rooms were impeccably clean; bath towels, hand towels and washcloths were plentiful and the common bathrooms feature bottles of mild (vs. heavily scented) shampoo, body wash and conditioner. I travel next to Washington, whether for business or pleasure, I will definitely stay at the Taft Bridge Inn. I've also highly recommended it to my colleagues and friends.


Home after a long journey

4.8 on December 09, 2010

i traveled for 24 hours to come to Washington D.C. It was late - 7pm and i couldn't make a reservation on-line because i do not have a credit card. I was happy to find Marianne had kept for me a room anyway. She was very courteous and helped me settle in quickly so i could have some rest. I found the place to be very clean and neat, a homely environment i would definitely recommend to anyone coming to the D.C area.


An Inexpensisve Hospitable Gem

5 on November 10, 2010

I have stayed at the Taft many times and never found a flaw; it's perfectly located behind the Hilton, near DuPont Circle, charges 1/3rd of DC's going rates, and provides as much "home" as is possible while insuring privacy, comfort, guest support, and beauty as possible. The breakfast is as good as home, the staff beyond what money can buy, and the decor and very different rooms, from luxery and huge to tiny cheap attic rooms with shared baths, are all that one could hope for. I have traveled everywhere in the world, and stayed often in Dc, and the Taft Bridge Inn is by far the best value. Kal


Excellent Location

4.8 on November 04, 2010

We came to DC to visit museums and to attend the Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear. We chose this B & B for these reasons: positives from a past visit; hospitalty of the staff; closeness to the Dupont Circle Metro; and amenities of the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods. Once again, we made the right choice.


Fabulous place!

5 on October 21, 2010

I recently stayed 6 nights at the Taft Bridge Inn. My original stay was supposed to be for 3 nights, but when my plans unexpectedly changed the staff were able to get me in early with no hassle whatsoever. The rooms are lovely, the service is wonderful, the value can't be beat - particularly in this area of DC. The house is amazingly restored and clean and the breakfast's were delightful. At any given time there were visitors from various areas of the US as well as abroad and morning conversations were fun and interesting. I will definitely stay here again, and can't recommend them enough. They made my visit a joy.


An Okay Budget Stay in DC

3.2 on October 11, 2010

With a large number of guest rooms, we felt more like we were staying in a small hotel than a B&B. Rooms (we stayed in several over the course of a week) were cozy yet clean. Beds were HARD. So, beware if your used to something plush. Breakfast was pretty much the same offering every day, though they will make your eggs to order. We showed up to breakfast five minutes early, and we were scolded for rushing the cook. Not the warm reception we were hoping for. The inn is convenient to Connecticut Ave, about a hundred yards from the busstop giving you easy access to the National Mall. A word of WARNING: There are no safes in the rooms. DO NOT LEAVE VALUABLES IN YOUR ROOM! Enough said!

Innkeeper Response
We are always interested in what our customers have to say and use their comments as a way to improve the quality of their stay. The comments regarding the lack of a safe in our guest rooms leaves the reader wondering if something was missing from the room, which is not the case. We do offer to lock guest valuables in our safe that is located in our office; this area is not available to guests. We have not had any incidents of theft or security issues.


Baby Grand Piano

5 on September 04, 2010

The Taft Bridge Inn is a jewel and Marianne is wonderful. Her cheese omlettes are especially delicious as are the other breakfast selections. My room was beautifully decorated, sparkling clean. The Inn is quiet and located on a quiet street though also close to the bus. I had never been to DC before and the Inn felt very safe and homey. The Inn is decorated in the early 1900's style. The front room, parlor, has a fireplace and an antique baby grand piano which guests can play. I highly reccommend and I'll stay again if I am in DC. It feels like home.


Probably the most tasteful place to stay in DC

4.6 on July 12, 2010

The Taft Bridge Inn is a pretty amazing place to stay in DC. One feels as a priviledged guest in a refined and elegant past-time home, but with all the comfort of modern life. The decoration is extremely tasteful. The staff is very helpful and we were so pleased and happy about our vacations in DC. The marvellous breakfasts, its very artistic display and all the small details (such as fresh flowers in the room) made all the difference. We had a wonderful stay.


Fabulous D.C. inn - an artfully decorated inn, ideally situated,

5 on June 30, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Taft Bridge Inn several times and have always enjoyed our visit there. The rooms are beautifully decorated, everything is spotlessly clean, the service is friendly and excellent, the homemade breakfasts, featuring 3 choices, are a delight, and the guests interesting - from the U.S.and abroad. The inn is conveniently located just off Connecticut Avenue, several blocks north of the DuPont Circle subway station. I look forward to our next visit there.


Karen Australia

2.8 on June 18, 2010

Breakfasts were very good, but as a single person booked a single room, room was very small, I had been in 15 hotels and bed/breakfasts and this was the smallest room and smallest bed I ever had, no TV in the room, even when I asked, no tv's in single rooms. The house was lovely, as was the outside.


Home away from home

5 on October 14, 2009

When you open the door, and indeed before you get to the door walking through the tree-lined neighborhood, you step into a bygone era, resplendent with antiques, soft-lighting, and tasteful art. A feeling of intimacy and privacy pervades, making it truly a home away from home.


excellent services

4.4 on June 18, 2009

Taft Bridge brings me the real feeling of 'home away from home' and it shall be remembered forever!


Taft Inn terrific

4.4 on May 27, 2009

An oasis with old fashioned charm in a new neighborhood, but a short walk to Dupont Circle and the metro. Real breakfast served, too!


weekend stimulus!

3.4 on May 19, 2009

Great historic inn with lovely rooms, opulent library, cozy dining room, and caring staff.


Safety Issues

2.8 on May 19, 2009

This is a beautiful B&B in an ideal location. Pricy and you must pay for parking but I suspect that is just DC. We stayed in room 18 and this review will speak only to that room. The bed is a double. If you are used to a Queen or larger you will not be comfortable. The bed itself is not comfortable. The bath is a accident waiting to happen. The is a raised sill which you will trip over at night. The antique footed tub, while charming, is difficult and dangerous to get in and out of. There are no grab bars. The water is scalding hot and difficult to mix for a shower. Be very careful. The lav has two separate faucets making it impossible to get any temperature but scaling hot or cold. I would not recommend staying there until these issues are resolved. Get to breakfast early. If the house is full there is not sufficient space to seat all the guests at one time.


The House on the Hill

3.2 on May 19, 2009

Charming, comfortable, quiet residential area close to shops and restaurants. Welcoming and full of character.


Suited our needs perfectly

4.0 on February 18, 2009

We made reservations early, but the size of our party changed several times. The staff was very easy to work with and made our stay very pleasant, despite frigid DC temperatures!


A wonderful stay

5 on February 01, 2009

I spent 4 nights at the Taft Bridge Inn after the Inauguration. The owner was very nice and extremely helpful with directions. I only had the opportunity for the breakfast once, but it was delicious and plentiful. Thank you for everything.


Taft Bridge Inn

3.8 on January 28, 2009

nice old home. Owner and staff are extremely attentive. very convenient to downtown DC.


Taft Bridge Inn

3.6 on January 28, 2009

Well located- able to walk to most parts of interest. rooms well appointed- fun decor! Friendly staff/ helpful and attentive.


Perfect Inauguration stay

5 on January 28, 2009

Warm and toasty return from the cold weather...with fireplace! Warm reception from the owner and staff. Lovely, warm breakfasts! Definitely recommend it!


very nice

4.8 on January 28, 2009

very nice


wonderful decor

3.6 on January 03, 2009

The rooms were clean and beautiful. I stayed in room 12 and it was very spacious. The decor was stunning. It was quiet and very relaxing, I had a wonderful time. The only thing is that I wish they served breakfast later or had a brunch menu.


At Home in DC

4.4 on December 31, 2008

I visit Washington each September for meetings with my Congressional Members as a volunteer advocate. After these hectic few days it's so nice to come to Taft Bridge Inn to relax and enjoy the neighborhood while exploring DC. Lots of trees, sidewalks, great buildings to experience in this area. Within walking distance to the Metro and many restaurants. Recomended for adult travelers. The piano in the parlor is a joy to listen to when played by the guests!


A great place to stay!

4.4 on November 26, 2008

My husband and I wanted somewhere a little different to stay, somewhere that reflected Washington, not the usual kind of standard tourist hotel. We were delighted with the Taft Bridge Inn. The owner was welcoming and helpful but not too intrusive. She gave us excellent advice about transport and tourist facilities, museums in particular. Our room was delightful, spacious, comfortable and charmingly decorated. The very reasonable tariff included a choice of delicious breakfasts that ranged from bagels to perfectly cooked eggs. It was also interesting for a couple of non Americans to chat with the other guests around the large breakfast table. The Taft Bridge Inn is in a very attractive neighbourhood and, for art lovers, within easy walking distance of the superb Phillips Collection. It is conveniently placed to the Metro and to the restaurants and shops of the eclectic Dupont Circle. If ever we return to Washington we would look no further.


Had a wonderful stay!

4.0 on October 17, 2008

Last May, I was in DC to pick up my daughter from college and was looking for a reasonable, convenient place to stay. I found the Taft Bridge Inn and was very pleased! After a long day of driving and packing, it was refreshing to check in to a clean, safe, quiet place. The innkeepers were personable and made me feel at home. I will stay there again the next time I am in DC!


Wonderful Inn for the price!

3.6 on August 05, 2008

Charming old mansion with many different size rooms, all welcoming. Staff is warm and cordial.


Wonderful stay!

3.8 on June 30, 2008

My two day visit to DC was made all that more enjoyable through the wonderful hospitality offered by the folks at The Taft Bridge Inn. Lovely inn, great breakfast and superb location!! The off street parking was appreciated. Very enjoyable!!! SF, Lancaster, PA


My home away from Home

5 on June 20, 2008

I travel to Washington frequently and the Taft Bridge Inn is my home away from home. Their staff are friendly and helpful and each guestroom offers something unique and special. I would highly recommend it for business travelers and couples.


B&B in Washington D.C.

4.4 on June 19, 2008

This is a lovely, well-kept historic home in a nice area of Wash. The host is gracious and accomodating. The place is furnished with authentic antiques.


The Taft Bridge Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $94 - $202
  • Reviews (36) 4.3
  • Rooms 12

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-202-387-2007
  • Fax 1-2023875019
Top