Walden Plantation Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
47 Reviews

Write A Review

Great B&B

4.0 on August 09, 2013

This was a great place and we will come back for sure. The rooms were clean and nice, the breakfast was really good, and the views of the river we great.


Very pleasant stay

5 on July 31, 2013

Check in and out was painless and fast. Manager very pleasant and attentive. Saw wildlife from porch, Easy access to room and amenities. Breakfast was stunningly good, looked almost too good to eat. Bed was very comfy. Room was nice and cool, A/C worked just fine in our hot Texas summer. Only minor thing was the lack of accessible electric outlets in the sleeping area, none under desk for charging computer.


We enjoyed the stay

3.0 on June 02, 2013

Lovely location. We were there on a holiday, so some of their usual services were not available.


Wonderful stay at the walden plantation

4.8 on May 27, 2013

We were very pleased and enjoyed the peace and quiet.The service was outstanding and my wife and i will be back.The simpsons


Luxury Getaway in the Hill Country

5 on April 23, 2013

The property is easy to find, modern, and well run. My only regret is that with my weekday stay I missed the live music that weekend.


Truly a home away from home

5 on March 27, 2013

If you are looking for a true getaway, a home away from home with a warm and inviting staff to take care of all of your needs, than this is the place for you. The location of this b&b is perfect! The only sounds you hear are the running water of the creek and nature at its finest. Minerva is the manager and she prepares a wonderful breakfast and lunch for any palate. The pool and hot tub are crystal clear and very inviting, as are the comfy chairs and couches that are surrounding the entire plantaion. The grounds are well maintained and we like the fact that the parking lot is not right next to the building. You don't hear doors slamming or radios playing. It is truly wonderful and we are so grateful that we have discovered the Walden Plantation! See you soon! - Michael and Jennifer


We had a wonderful time. Look forwards to going back soon.

5 on January 05, 2013

We had a very, very, good experience. We will surely go back. Richard and Ceci


Amazing B&B with amazing owners!

5 on December 19, 2012

The location is out a bit as others pointed out in their reviews but my husband and I found that to be a plus! We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and it was not a long drive at all to see places and dine in some great restaurants. The parking is very reasonable... not far from rooms at all... yet close enough you felt secure even late at night. Walden Plantation is a beautiful place to stay... very relaxed and the owners make you feel as though it is your home while you are there. They did everything they could to make our stay ejoyable and special! We would not hestitate to stay there again!


Hotel wannabe, not a bed and breakfast!

2.4 on August 21, 2012

First of all, it is not 30 minutes from Fredericksburg. It is 45 minutes to an hour depending on traffic. Places to go eat are limited as well. We were very disappointed - we could have gotten the same thing from a chain hotel. Basically a bedroom and bathroom with a free breakfast. They had snacks and drinks in the mini-fridge that they wanted to charge you hotel prices for as well. It is a hike to your room from the parking lot and a hike to the river as well. The hike to the river is full of stickers - we spent 30 minutes getting the stickers out of our shoes when we got back to room. We still encountered stickers left by others in the carpet and bath mat! And yes we stayed on the "path" they had made. The best place to get in the river is actually across from the place too, not on their property. The whole place seemed like they put a lot of money but little thought into it and had not maintained it well. They did not replace used washcloths, coffee make was dirty, a/c was loud and it sounded like a herd of elephants was staying above us! Porches needed sweeping - dead bugs and animal poop all around. To top it off, they were playing Christmas music in August! I will not be going back, nor will I recommend it to anyone.


I looooooved this place.....

5 on August 04, 2012

Minerva (the manager) is all about making you feel at home. Angie the owner is a sweet lady.... every staff member is very kind. If you are looking to get away with no agenda and to simply relax ... This is the place to stay. Breakfast is delicious.... the pecan muffin simply amazing.. I stayed 4 nights to reconnect with friends that I have not seen in over 10yrs ... we all loved this place... cant wait to make plans to go back with my husband....


Beautiful B&B

2.8 on July 07, 2012

Very nice and out of the way, which was what we were looking for. Beautiful view from our second floor room.


Our 1st visit to Walden and our Last!!

2.0 on July 01, 2012

When we first arrived I was told we had a model room equipped with microwave, stove, and sink but that they were not functional at first that scared us but the room seemed ok at first why not just remove these appliances would be my question... Towels were rough and hard and one of them had a black stain on them glad we brought our own...At the pool they only had 2 tables with large umbrellas which would have been sufficient but both were broke and hanging over the side were nobody could sit.....I asked the innkeeper and she seemed to have no idea and tried to fix them but the 2nd day they were still hanging and still not able to sit at the tables by the pool again... I did not inquire to why they might not have got fixed.....The spa at the pool also did not work just warm water with no air massage...After a great day in Burnet visiting the caverns we arrived back and ready to cook some steaks in the evening on the barbecue pit along with baked potato and corn on the cob when I went to let the innkeeper aware that I was about to use the grill she told me in a stern voice this was absolutely not allowed and that that grill by the pool was for their use only and not for the guest (I called the day prior to arrival and was told I could cook steaks on the grill) I spent over $50 on steaks and sides for no reason and then we had to drive 30 minutes at 8:00PM and go out and eat.....To make things worse the innkeeper actually called my room to apologize and ask if I wanted to borrow a griddle to cook the steaks in my room....Seriously!!! This was not a bed and breakfast that I would return to or recommend to anyone


Jewel in the hill country.

5 on June 03, 2012

What a beautiful romatic get away hidden in the flower covered hill country. Lovley rooms, great views, outstanding service.


Very Nice

4.2 on May 11, 2012

The Walden Plantation was a very nice B&B for a quiet romantic gateway....very nice scenery.....it would also be great for wedding or business party's....and can be good deal if you catch their specials they run.


anniversary getway

4.8 on May 08, 2012

What a great place to stay! Angie an Brian Walden r the nicest people u could meet . Their staff will do anything too make ur stay the most enjoyable it can. If u want to relax and have fun , stay at the Walden Plantation ,the place too stay. A special thanks too Angie an M. For all u done . Sincerely Jackie an Mark S .


First time stay

4.2 on May 08, 2012

The view of the country side and the Llano River was remarkable. We were there during the middle of the week, so we had the place all to ourselves, so it was very quiet. Breakfast was average, but good. Bed was very nice and plenty of room in the bath area.


walden plantation- worth the drive!

4.4 on April 14, 2012

My wife and I needed a get-a-way and I am so glad we went to the plantation! We had a wonderful stay. The location is very secluded and serene and the amentities were just what we needed and more. Minerva makes a great breakfasr!


Honeymoon

5 on March 23, 2012

We had a great time a the Walden Plantation. We did not know what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a very peaceful/romantic time and will definitely be back. Thank you so much for everything!! If we could give 10 stars we would:-)


Just the respite I needed! All the negative reviews here no longer apply!

5 on February 28, 2012

I am raving about Walden Plantation to all my friends and plan to become a regular visitor. It's just what I needed: the rooms are large, VERY clean, and I felt at home instantly. The breakfast is delicious with homemade salsa from the manager, and they are cognizant of dietary needs (I am diabetic). The facility has lots of places to relax and enjoy the serenity the river has to offer. It was a little chilly to enjoy the pool (which is now gated) but they do have a hot tub to enjoy. Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 10:00 daily. The staff takes the time to get to know their guests and go the extra mile to meet your needs. Definitely recommend!!!!!!!!


What a pleasant surprise!

4.0 on January 30, 2012

Somewhere in the middle of nowhere lies Walden Plantation, an estate that looks misplaced from the last tornado! The rooms are spacious and very well equipped. Tremendous value in comparison to budget stay hotels, very clean and a delicious breakfast to start your day. A definite repeat on my next visit to Llano, Texas.


A Very Restful Time

4.0 on January 10, 2012

We were delighted with the winter pricing, and enjoyed the rest and service we received. The breakfasts were superb. The hot tub outside was great on a cold, but starry night. The only slightly negative thing we noticed was some carpet stains. The staff would bend over backwards to assist with any needs you might have.


A retreat

4.6 on November 29, 2011

This place is a Texas Retreat! It's a great place to go to when you want to leave the city stress behind and have a peaceful weekend. The staff is very friendly and made me feel welcome. The breakfast is enough for a big hungrey man and the pecan pie muffins are a special treat! The rooms are like a luxury hotel and I didn't want to leave the bed (so comfy!). Although it would be nice if they had a dinner service, it gave me a reason to go to Llano (a very charming Central Texas town). I can't wait to plan a girls weekend there and visit the local wineries. It's true there isn't a lot to do at Walden Plantation, but isn't that the point? I enjoyed sitting on the tree sing watching the river flow and melting my stress away!


Exceptional

5 on October 18, 2011

Romantic, secluded and absolutely perfect from check in to check out


be ready for excuses

4.0 on July 12, 2011

Be ready to be bored out of your mind! You are NOT ABLE to bring your own adult beverages, they have no dinner service, no room service,,,,all they service is attitude. They do have beer and wine, at a ridiculous price though! You are 30 minutes from any KIND OF FOOD, and the blazzing heat is bad enough to send anyone PACKING from the pool (during the summer which is when I went). The rooms are lovely, but no pay per view and the housekeeping is lack-luster AT BEST. I will put it this way, for the price of the room alone I could've gone to a 5 Star hotel with better dervice, more amenities and less aggravation!!!! So disappointed! Dont waste your time at Walden, go to Fredricksburg!!!


Wonderful and relaxing

4.0 on May 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed last year for our anniversary and just booked our stay for our anniversary this year. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The river/pool views were amazing. The owners were so nice and accomodating. I really enjoyed laying out by the pool and being served wine and food :) The next morning was so beautiful and peaceful and the breakfast was Amazing! We were then driven to a spot where we could kayak down the river to the B&B. The water will be too low this year to do that but we plan on going to a winery and visiting Fredricksburg. Coopers Barbeque was a really good choice for dinner. We just ordered to go and brought it back to enjoy the scenery at the B&B. We hope to bring our children back with us. I know they'll LOVE the pool and food!


April 2011

3.4 on April 18, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Walden Plantation. The staff was very attentive and the room was very clean and well maintained. If you are looking for a quiet remote location it is great but it may not be the best choice if you want to be closer to Fredericksburg and the wineries. Otherwise, we had a delightful stay.


Just ok

2.4 on March 28, 2011

The room was very nicely furnished but the service was below average. I made my reservation through Bed & Breakfast.com & emailed the Innkeepers to be sure everything was set up properly. I asked for alternatives to down pillows & for a dvd player to be set up in my room & was informed this would be taken care of. Needless to say, the room did not have a DVD player & the pillow ordeal was a fiasco. When we arrived the innkeeper explained they did not have alternatives to the down pillows. When we got to the room there were alternatives but certainly not enough, as there were only two very soft pillows. When we asked if we could have additional pillows the innkeeper said no. They do not have extra pillows. I found this to be bizarre but it was the case. I have never stayed at a hotel or bed & breakfast that did not offer extra pillows. The 1st night we slept so uncomfortable with our two very soft non-down pillows on a very soft bed. The 2nd evening we asked for pillows & were told no. Then, after replying no, the innkeeper said he would find us some. (We were literally only 1 out of 3 visitors there.) He brought us extra pillows! Wow! (He could have done this a day earlier.) This was the only time I actually felt I was receiving service at all. The AC in our room didn’t work properly & was leaking water. Why would they put us in a room where there was something broken when they had vacant rooms? Poor management & simply a lack of concern for the guests. There is not a microwave in the room either which you normally find at any cheap hotel. Since you are on your own for dinner you have to drive into town to get something. You can't plan ahead & stay in because you have no way of heating up your meal. I should note the innkeeper made us feel uncomfortable. He consistently said no when we asked for things & we had to go out of our way to accommodate him. These places are generally a lovely get away with fantastic service & this place was unfortunately not that for us.


Great find

5 on February 09, 2011

Great value. Cold weather precluded outdoor activities provided by the plantation but the room was very pleasant. Very good breakfast!! Our room was large and comfortable. Will stay at this B&B again whenever I'm in the Llano area.


Outstanding!

5 on January 06, 2011

We stayed here in the spring and the Walden Plantation was fantastic. Good food, great places nearby. Couldn't ask for anything else. This is our go to place from now on in the Hill Country. It was so good we just booked 4 rooms for the end of January 2011 and are bringing friends to share the good times!


Nice place to stay, but in the middle of nowhere

3.2 on September 08, 2010

Really romantic. Make sure you have your dinner packed because it is not advisable to drive to Llano/Fredericksburg after sunset.


Walden Plantation- August 2010

5 on August 11, 2010

Walden Plantation was wonderful. Brian and Angie were so hospitable and the property and room were beautiful. We are looking forward to going again! We also loved the breakfast!!!!!


Great getaway

4.6 on August 05, 2010

The staff is as friendly and attentive as you could imagine. Wonderful bed and linens. Large bath area. Great balconies to relax and enjoy the peacefulness.


The place to stay in Hill Country

4.6 on June 27, 2010

My husband and I came for a relaxing get-a-way and the Walden Plantation did not disappoint. The owners provided outstanding service and went out of their way to make sure you feel at home. The rooms are comfortable and relaxing after a long day of exploring or after a day spent on the lake. I would recommend the Walden Plantation to everyone! We are already looking forward to our next stay!


A Home away from Home

4.0 on May 13, 2010

Wow!!! What an amazing surprise! For a place to be this luxurious in the middle of nowhere. I couldn't believe the attention to detail inside the rooms! It truly was a home away from home. We're talking about bring the entire family next time! Thanks, Robert L


Great place for peace and quiet

5 on February 25, 2010

The Walden Plantation is a great get-away from the "Big City" life. I was surprised to see such a wonderful place out in the country. Loved the oversized bathroom and down comforter. The food was exceptional. We visited in February so did not get to enjoy the hot tub or pool. Will surely come back in the summer to do that.


Two Day Getaway

5 on January 10, 2010

This was the best two day getaway for us, and was fun and relaxing. The staff was great, and the meals were the greatest. Hill country is quiet and beautiful, and the sunsets were very romantic, and we also had a Blue Moon (full moon).


Beautiful and Comfortable

4.0 on October 02, 2009

The staff go out of their way to help you. They are very accomodating. We get the large room for our entire family and its great. There are only stairs, but they will help you with your luggage if you want. Its not a true bed and breakfast, more like a resort. No complaints here. The food is excellent, but wish they offered some changes or something different for the children. They have a few little kinks to work out, but over all I highly recommened and we will be back for opening dear season.


The Best!

5 on September 23, 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay in the Walden Plantation in May 2009. What a truly relaxing, friendly environment. Awesome place to stay if you like stay comfortable but not snob. Cooking was excellent although for European stomaches a little bit too much. We miss this place very much. Hope to be able to re-visit soon. Highly recommendable in every aspect.


More Like A Hotel

3.8 on September 12, 2009

There was no close parking. Only one ramp of stairs from the 2nd floor. Tub was slippery with no adjustment to shower head. No seating in the room except chair at desk. Most B&Bs have a gathering area. Only area was the breakfast room or the outdoor bar area. Breakfast was just a step above what you find in several hotels nowdays. Same muffin was served three days in a row. Not a lot of thought went into the prep of breakfasts. River was not conducive to Kayaking due to very little water. No luggage racks, had to lay luggage on floor of closet. Wait until next year to visit. These things will probably be taken care of since they only opened in March 2009.


Heaven on Earth

5 on August 31, 2009

The service was excellent, the rooms were spectacular, and the atmosphere was fantastic! The staff bent over backwards to meet our every need. The food was amazing. The chef was in the kitchen all day, and cooked whenever you wanted. We even rented Kayaks there and got to lounge in the river. The only problem was that there weren't any choices when it came to breakfast. No alcohol is allowed on the property, but the wine is generously served, and at a decent price as well. We would definitely reccoment this place, and will be back soon!


Exceeded all expectations...

5 on June 20, 2009

Wow...what an incredible diamond in the rough...Beautiful rooms, breathtaking views, incredible food, and an awesome staff. We are already planning our next trip back. We went for our 10 year anniversary and hope to go back every year. Thank you Angie, Christina, and Justin for making this a trip we will never forget...


wonderful weekend

4.8 on May 08, 2009

The first time we went was a spur of the moment decsion and what a wonderful one it was. The rooms were wonderful the bedding was phenomenal. I didn't want to get up the next morning. the breakfast was just great - fruit, pancakes, muffins, juice, coffee. They also have a bar/kitchen area and we made margaritas in the kitchen. When we were short on a couple of ingredients they helped us out with it. VERY accomodating, I felt very at home. We were very happy with our stay and did not even make it to the hot tub or pool...we plan to next time.


Hill Country Paradise

5 on May 04, 2009

I personally believe that Walden Plantation has to be the most incredible bed and breakfast in the Texas hill country. It's set on a beautiful property a few feet away from the river where you can kayak or go fishing and a backyard with a pool, spa, and fire pit to overlook it all. The building is on another level. Absolutely beautiful. The rooms were perfect. There is an attention to detail here that many other places overlook and that you will not find in fancy hotels. After we unpacked, I remember telling my fiance that I could imagine living in this room. She agreed. Breakfasts were prepared using only the finest ingredients and all from scratch! Try their signature pecan breakfast muffins and you will understand what I'm talking about. I know for a fact that this place will not be kept a secret for long. I've recommended it to all of my friends and family and they're trying to find time in their busy schedules to accommodate a weekend vacation. In my opinion, the price is low for the room, amenities, and service that you receive. The innkeepers and other employees went above and beyond to make our stay memorable.


Amazing get away!

5 on April 20, 2009

Amazing get away! In the middle of God's grand creation of the Hill Country and the Llano River, sits The Walden Plantation. The beauty of the "resort", which is much more than what one thinks of as a bed and breakfast, is incredible in itself. Brian and Angie Walden often visit the plantation and are devoted to making sure that every one has the best experiences. Everyone from Christina, the manager to Mitch and Jeff, the wonderfully talented chef and sous chef, make sure that you are treated as if you were their only focus. Then after a busy day of hiking, kayaking and communing with nature, or visiting the shops in the near by towns of Llano or Fredericksburg, one sinks themselves into the bed that I am quite sure is made of clouds. Two wonderful visits down, must go again and take my friends!


RESORT-LIKE EXPERIEBCE

5 on April 16, 2009

THIS PLACEIS AS BEAUTIFUL AS THE PICTURES.WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY HERE. iT WAS LIKE HAVEING THE BENIFITS OF A B&B AND A LUXURY HOTEL AT THE SAME TIME. THE OWNERS AND STAFF WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE YOU FEEL PAMPERED. WE ESPECIALLY ENJOYED THE HOT TUB TO SOAK OUR TIRED MUSCLES AFTER A DAY OF EXPLORING THE MANY SITES IN THE AREA. we WILL DEFINATELY RETURN.--A.J.


Weekend Getaway

5 on April 02, 2009

I scheduled myself at the Walden Platation for a much needed weekend getaway. The place was beautifully decorated, gorgeous view of the river, and clean. The food was great. The staff was very accomodating. In fact, as nice as the place was, it was the people who made it even better. I will definitely be back and would suggest Walden Plantation to anyone staying in Hill Country that has high expectations.


opening weekend

4.4 on March 29, 2009

Not you’re typical B&B. I thought of it more like a resort. This B&B is for the stressed person who wants to get away for a weekend but still have the comforts of an upscale environment and access to all the high tech devices we have grown accustom to in today’s society. For someone who is sleeping deprived, I welcomed the good night’s sleep I got in their luxurious beds. I thought I was sleeping on a cloud. The staff was genuinely friendly and meals were delicious. I was disappointed the pool and hot tub wasn’t completed for grand opening weekend. I will definitely visit again and look forward to diving into what looks like what will be a beautiful pool when completed. I would definitely recommend this Plantation!


Walden Plantation

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $329
  • Reviews (47) 4.4
  • Rooms 16

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (817) 296-4162
Top