The Marshall House Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

Great stay in a lovely historic hotel!

4.8 on March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marshall House in Feb and thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely return if we're lucky enough to get back to Savannah! The hotel is quite lovely, our guest room was charming (we asked for one of the possibly "haunted" rooms in the hope of experiencing somthing, but no luck! LOL), The wine and cheese in the evening was delightful, the service was great, both on the phone when I booked and at the hotel, and the hotel was walking distance from The Olde Pink House where we had dinner. Only wish we'd had more than one night to spend in Savannah!


Wonderful Experience

4.0 on January 27, 2013

We loved our stay at The Marshall House. The breakfast was super yummy & the location of the hotel is perfect. We walked everywhere the whole weekend. The bar is a can't miss & we loved the little touches like the wine & cheese table in the afternoon. One note: bring earplugs because it's an older hotel the hallways can get noisy if it's a busy weekend.


Loved it!!

5 on September 25, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Marshall house for and anniversary trip. Everything was perfect! Great location- it is in walking distance to anything you would want to do in downtown Savannah. Everything was clean and comfortable and very quiet. The only negative things I could think of was the shower was very small- but no big deal for a short trip. Downstairs bar and restaurant were wonderful as well- great food and drinks, excellent service! Perfect place to stay in Savannah for the price!!


Great Location

3.4 on August 22, 2012

This was a really fun place to stay. We didn't use our car all weekend and were able to easily walk anywhere. Wine and Cheese on Thurs evening was a fun perk. Rooms clean and nice enough - overall a charming place. Was very disappointed with breakfast though - would not have minded paying a little more for a nicer meal. Not much better than ordinary chain-type continental breakfast. Seemed out-of-character for a b&b-type place like the Marshall House.


What a Surprise!

5 on May 30, 2012

I say "surprise" because my friend and I just combed through the website and chose the Marshall House. What a good choice this was! The staff was friendly, extremely courteous and very accommodating with our every need. The hotel, itself, has gone through many years of use and the only evidence we could see was that the floor in our room was slanted which only added to its charm. The breakfast buffet was sufficient to start the day and the 5:00 wine & cheese gathering was a great lead in to the night. Many of the guests utilized the breakfast and 5:00 wine/cheese option....this is where we introduced ourselves to and socialized with other couples from different parts of the US & Canada, making friends along the way. It has the perfect location; close to the River and all points within the Historical District. I would recommend this hotel to everyone....you will not be disappointed.


Anniversary

3.0 on May 12, 2012

Bret the concierge was outstanding. His service & knowledge of the surrounding area was impeccable. Because of him our stay in Savannah was that much more enjoyable.


I highly recommend The Marshall House

5 on September 10, 2011

When my wife and I arrived Saturday afternoon we were escorted to the front desk by the valet who eagerly removed luggage from our trunk. The front counter staff were quite pleasant and efficient. The manager was in the lobby and greated us as well. The rooms were well appointed, but every effort has been made to maintain the character of a building built prior to the mid-1800s. I would highly recommend The Marshall House. In fact, I already have!


Marshall House the Good and the Bad

3.6 on July 26, 2011

The Marshall House is a beautiful B&B. The wine and cheese hour was great as well as the restaurant attached. It felt very clean and the rooms had everything I needed. I have only two negative things to say about this B&B is that the air conditioner unit in my room (#423) rattled like a dinosour when it turned on and off I am a light sleeper and I didn't get much sleep during my stay. My room view was a parking deck and looking over the kitchen alley way. Didn't get to see much of Savannah's Historical beauty from my window...


weekend getaway

3.0 on January 27, 2011

The room was beautiful. The hotel itself was very nice too. The breakfast was average, as you would get at any continental breakfast at an average hotel. There was nothing fancy about it. We would stay again for sure, but just plan on eating out for breakfast.


Sept. 2010

3.4 on September 27, 2010

Hotel was great. Location was perfect for seeing Savannah. Hotter than normal for September and air conditioning was very noisy. We enjoyed our stay.


Great place to stay in Savannah

4.2 on June 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed there two nights for a visit in Savannah on our anniversary. All the staff were very friendly and more than willing to help with any questions we had. The room was clean and we loved the claw footed tub. Great location for easy access to everything in the historic district.


old Savannah

3.8 on May 03, 2010

if looking for history, a great place to stay. we liked the old fashioned tub, but not a very easy shower for anybody that has difficulty with balance. wonderful breakfast !


Wonderful Place to Stay While in Savannah

4.0 on April 21, 2010

Excellent experience while staying in Savannah. Friendly and helpful staff. This is a beautifully restored facility. Turndown service was a nice touch. Room was nicely decorated and very clean. Original hardwood floors have been retained with area rugs. Light sleepers may hear guests walking across the floor in the room above. Amenities include a large selection buffet breakfast in the atrium and wine, cheese, crackers and fruit in the evenings. Valet parking available at an additional $5 a day on top of the $10 city parking garage fee. A parking garage is nearby for those who do not wish to use he valet service. One can walk from the hotel to almost everywhere in the historic district. Booking on line gave us a very reasonable rate. We would stay there again.


The Marshall House- a disappointment!

1.8 on April 05, 2010

I was very disappointed in our stay at the Marshall House. For the amount charged per night, we expected so much more. The room we were given, room 306, was in a horrible location-terribly noisy. The room was located right off the elevator, the stairwell, the ice machine and the housekeeping closet. It was impossible to get any sleep. In addition to the above, the walls are not well insulated, so the noise traveling from room to room is horrible. The innkeepers, in good conscience, should never assign a guest to that room. A few other negatives were costly valet parking as the only option, poor housekeeping service (completely did not even service our room on one of the days of our stay) and an unimpressive breakfast for a Bed & "Breakfast". The bathroom only had a shower, (a disappointment) which was not disclosed in the King Superior Room description. The only positives- the bed was quite comfortable and the staff was friendly. Overall, I would not recommend the Marshall House nor do I plan to ever stay there again.


Excellent!!!

3.8 on September 14, 2009

Great place and great service!


REAL SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY

4.6 on September 02, 2009

The hospitality was wonderful...genuine manners and pleasantry.Breakfast was warming and considered all appetites.My family can not wait to spend more time there next year....A special thanks to the gentleman name Carlton whom remember myself and family when we arrived. Thank you again for a outstanding time, Kimberly Ritcey


THE ONE THING

5 on June 12, 2009

Great B&B. We enjoyed the breakfast and the wine and cheese afternoon socials. The room was great but the only thing we didn't like was the mandatory valet parking. We didn't like turning our car key over and not being able to get our own car.


Total Enjoyment

5 on May 12, 2009

We totally loved our stay at Marshall House. The staff was extremely accommodating from the bellmen to the concierge to the front desk. Enjoyed the public areas and having wine & cheese in the afternoon. 45 Bistro was excellent restaurant attached to Marshall House. Ate there twice! Room was totally delightful & cleaning staff was excellent! Loved the bed being turned down, robes on bed and the chocolate candy. Water replenished daily and was free! Proximity to everything was great. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!!!


Wonderful Savannah Experience

5 on July 15, 2008

We loved this hotel. It was beautiful, sophisticated and yet quaint all at the same time. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others,


Charming

3.8 on July 14, 2008

We enjoyed a weekend at The Marshall House recently and had a fantastic time. The staff was courteous and very helpful. The atmosphere and decor was beautiful and we will definitely plan a return visit!


Pleasant hotel

4.4 on February 27, 2008

This is really more of a hotel than true bed and breakfast. The rooms are small but pleasant. Afternoon wine & cheese and breakfast were very good. The staff seemed very attentive.


Great New Rooms!

5 on January 21, 2008

The new renovation is fantastic. The rooms are really nice. We enjoyed our stay!


Adorable B&B

3.8 on September 22, 2007

We fell upon the marshall house when tired & ready to stay at anything that had an available room. We were pleasantly surprised by the quaint rooms, the adorable entry to the "balcony" the outstanding staff & the location was best by far. Breakfast could have offered more for the price, but overall a fantastic inn.


Great B&B, but

4.0 on September 15, 2007

Everything was good except for the mandatory valet parking. We didn't like having to turn our car key over and not being able to drive it in or out of the parking garage ourselves.


The Marshall House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $269
  • Reviews (24) 4.1
  • Rooms 65

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 19126447896
  • Fax 1-9122343334
  • Toll free 1-8005896304
Top