Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art Reviews

Overall
3.8

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Services4.0
  • Value3.8
  • Cleanliness3.8
  • Dining3.4

Score Breakdown based on
18 Reviews

Write A Review

2 days

3.4 on July 05, 2014

Charming hotel.


June 21, 2014

3.4 on June 25, 2014

Fun as always. Love the neighborhood and park.


Our 25th Wedding Anniversary

3.4 on June 25, 2014

Located in the heart of where we wanted to be. FANTASTIC history. Nothing like going to your room for a rest in the afternoon and having the window open while the breeze comes in an you can hear a girl singing and playing guitar. That's where it all began! PEACE AND LOVE. Get over sharing a bathroom. Bring your flip flops and get in and get out and explore the city!


Grand time in grand place.

4.8 on June 19, 2014

Came to town to attend Macbeth at Fort Point and decided to stay in the Red Vick that we have seen many times in visits to the Haight. Loved everything about it - except no bath soap!!!! Must have bath soap in the rooms! Would like more variety for breakfast, also. But the people and facilities were wonderful, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.


Hippie Hideaway at the Red Vic

3.6 on May 31, 2014

The Red Victorian is definitely a unique hotel! A landmark in Haight-Ashbury, the Summer of Love district in San Francisco, all of its rooms are so interesting and strangely decorated and themed by its original owner, Sami Sunchild. Unfortunately, Dr. Sunchild has passed in the last few years, and while much of the hotel has retained her spirit, little has happened here since her death. While the Red Vic might not have the same vibrance it once had, it is still a charming and offbeat place to stay. You have to like hostel-style bathrooms, rooms decorated with branches and found items, and hippie-style breakfast (fruit, yogurt, granola, oatmeal, bagels with cucumbers) to stay here, but it's in an amazing location and it's an amazing testament to one women's vision.


Get into Haight vibe!

4.2 on May 26, 2014

Great place to get into the vibe to start exploring the Haight area or Golden Gate park


Eclectic

3.0 on May 20, 2014

Definitely an eclectic way to experience the Haight. Great location...close to funky shops, Magnolia brewery and the famous Ameoba Music.


Great place to stay

4.4 on May 20, 2014

Great staff, fun environment at hotel. Did I say Great staff.


Colorful and fun.

3.4 on May 18, 2014

This is a delightful B&B. The after hours check-in process went smoothly. Our room and shared bath were clean and colorful. Our breakfast was tasty. The Playground room was missing the toy shelf, large crayons and colorful ceiling canopy pictured on the website and listed in the description so we were mildly disappointed. Also the website did not mention that proprietor, Sami Sunchild passed away in July of 2013. Roxanne from NY


Wonderful B&B full of character!

4.4 on May 11, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in the Red Victorian. It is truly a very special place full of character. We stayed in the Japanese Tea Room wich was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can ask them anything, from information on public transport to dinner reccomendations. Breakfast was delicious and healthy. The neighbourhood and the atmosphere of the B&B is perfect to experience the San Franscisco of the sixties :)


A funky find

3.2 on May 06, 2014

This place has a great feel to it. The flower child room was spacious with a neat bathroom and greenery out the Window. Staff were also very accommodating. A nice Passos away from hustle and bustle of city.


Staying in the Red Victorian B&B

3.0 on May 04, 2014

I am SO grateful that the night person was still able to find a room for me to stay in when we found that there was an error in date for the reservation. My room was comfortable and exactly as expected. The shared bathrooms could use an updated renovation. I had to leave for a meeting at 7:30 a.m. the next day which was before anyone had prepared coffee or breakfast, so this should be verified at check-in in the future.


Keeps of being San Francisco's finest

5 on April 27, 2014

Sami has sadly passed away and Mr Bones is no longer walking around.. but The Red Vic keeps retaining the spirit that made San Francisco finest city of the planet. Best place to stay in the city, by far.


Red Victorian San Francisco

3.8 on May 30, 2013

Red Victorian was a very cool place to stay while visiting the Haight Ashbury district. Old building with lots of charm, great friendly and helpful staff. No TV, few outlets, and some rooms share a bath but overall great stay.


A nice way to meet SF

3.8 on April 29, 2013

I was for the first time in San Francsisco and it was lovely to start this stay in the Haight Ashbury at the Red Vic!


Convenient and quirky!

3.8 on April 05, 2011

The Red Victorian was very east to get to by public transit and is right in the heart of the Haight. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The RV is quirky and fun but still comfortable and clean. Loved sitting in the cafe and talking with other guests while enjoying my delicious breakfast!


The Haight Experience

3.4 on June 08, 2010

I loved this place for the experience it provided (and it's excellent price in a centrally located area). The rooms and bathrooms were all worth seeing and the old building was overall just a really interesting thing to explore. I think people should be aware of what they're getting into when they stay here. If you want a television and immaculate carpets, this is not the place for you. However, if you have a sincere interest in the Haight area and it's history, you will not be disappointed. I would recommend this place primarily to people who have either done psychedelic drugs or who appreciate people who have and the things they make ;)


Red Victorain

3.6 on September 07, 2008

We found the Red Vic B&B to be a friendly, clean and interesting place to stay. The Haight is very interesting and brings back the feeling of the 60's in San Francisco. If you are looking for a clean and reasonable stay in San Francisco that is very close to Golden Gate Park, the Red Vic is for you.


Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art

Details

  • Nightly Rate $79 - $99
  • Reviews (18) 3.8
  • Rooms 18

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-415-864-1978
  • Fax 1-4158633293
Top