The Inn and Spa at Parkside featuring Spa Bloom Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
99 Reviews

Write A Review

Sacto experience

4.4 on November 20, 2013

Arrived during owner changeover. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.


Great getaway

4.2 on April 02, 2013

The Inn at the Parkside was a wonderful experience which we will do again. The Spa treatments were great. Location is within walking distance to many of Sacramento museums and sight seeing venues. I highly recommend this place to anyone.


Happiness Suite is Awesome

5 on March 22, 2013

The Happiness Suite is Awesome! I highly recommend this bed and breadfast. Everything was perfect and wonderful :) Thank you!


Absolutely romantic room and breakfast was fabulous!

5 on March 19, 2013

I live in Sacramento and so never thought to stay at an Inn here until my girlfriend told me about the rooms. My fiance and I had a wonderful time and absolutely loved the room with the jacuzzi tub.


Sacramento getaway

3.0 on March 04, 2013

We stayed two nights and had the couples massage package. The Inn is an easy walk to Leland Stanford mansion and Morton's of Chicago. Our massages were a new experience. It is not like at a resort - the massage rooms were in the basement. Even though the surroundings were a little sparse, the massages were one of the best we have experienced. In addition to the massages was sugar ex-foliation, chocolate covered strawberries, and jacuzzi.


Valentine's Day

5 on March 01, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Parkside Inn. Great customer service, fabulous massage and wonderful atmosphere!


Our Wedding Night

4.6 on February 06, 2013

The Kiss Room was very romantic & comfortable. Loved the big in room tub!


A great anniversary destination!

4.0 on December 13, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful 23rd anniversary in one of Inn's beautiful rooms. We arrived fairly late in the evening and were quickly and kindly greeted by our host. It was our first visit and our room was warm, clean and beautiful. The little extras I ordered were quickly brought to our room along with fresh robes for the evening. The room was nicely decorated and very private. What a wonderful "in town get away." The breakfast was incredible! I hope others have the chance to enjoy this beautiful get away.


Sacramento stop

5 on November 03, 2012

Wonderful place to stay, the staff were outstanding,extremely helpful. One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in, and we would stay here again, HANDS DOWN!!!!!!!


Romantic weekend

4.0 on October 08, 2012

My husband and I love to discover new places and we travel a lot and so our standards are pretty high. There were a few highs and a couple lows, but in the end we would stay here again. We were impressed with the couples spa retreat package at the hotel's spa. The masseuse was excellent and the ambiance was amazing. After the massage and salt scrub they left us to the jacuzzi tub to rinse and relax to kick off the romance. This was a fabulous place to start. Our room was charming and romantic but not good for tall people. We got the Happiness room which is on the top floor, so the ceiling is slanted all different ways and you have to be careful about where your head is at all times. Some downfalls were our bathroom insert fireplace was out of order and the toilet paper dispenser came crashing down. Seemed to need a little maintenance. When the breakfast arrived the next morning we were surprised to see oatmeal, a muffin, and some fruit. We were expecting more. But after tasting the food we were happy. Everything was delicious! The fruit compote served on the side had whole raspberries and blueberries and everything tasted great. I admit I couldn't finish mine because it was too sugary for me but that's probably why it tasted so good. Great service and a fantastic weekend!


A Must-Stay for couples!

4.8 on October 03, 2012

Our stay at the Inn and Spa at Parkside on 9/29/12 was amazing. Check-in was a breeze and our concierge, Michael, is very professional. Parkside definitely need to give that guy a raise. The beds are comfty and clean. I would definitely return to this B&B.


Romantic atmosphere

4.8 on September 27, 2012

My wife and I spent the first night of our honeymoon here and our only regret is not booking more nights. The staff was helpful and welcoming. The greetings were so warm it felt like coming home. The room was comfy and quiet and felt like a little sanctuary. We definitely plan on going back! A+.


Relaxing Getaway

5 on September 26, 2012

We stayed here for our Wedding weekend and have nothing but good things to say. The room was relaxing and comfortable, the staff wonderfully helpful & friendly, and my massage was great. They will even deliver your gourmet breakfast right to you room! Highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast!


Could've been better...

3.2 on September 05, 2012

The Kiss Room felt smaller than the pictures indicate. However, it is very comfortable and cozy. Jacuzzi tub was bigger than expected. Breakfast in our room was GREAT! A little surprised there wasn't any tissue/kleenex in the room. Also, was a little surprised by a minor ant problem in the room.


Hidden Treasure

5 on September 03, 2012

Stayed in the "Happiness" room, the beautifully converted attic space in this charming old mansion. Nicely appointed with skylights, mood lighting and a gorgeous bathroom, complete with two-headed shower and jacuzzi spa tub. Breakfast, served in the room, included eggs, bacon, fruit and incredible blueberry pancakes topped with whipped cream. Great getaway, only blocks from the State Capitol. I recommend it.


Nice!

4.0 on August 30, 2012

Got the Living Social package including the couple's retreat. It was nice, but we could have just booked massages (not the Couple's Retreat) and saved money since the jacuzzi is back in the room and we can turn it on ourselves.


A memorable place but with a few hiccups.

3.2 on August 27, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at The Inn and Spa at Parkside for our 2nd Anniversary. I had proposed to my wife in the "Happiness" room in 2009 and we absolutely loved our stay. We stayed in the "Kiss" room and found it to be beautiful as well. However the staff were just "polite" if not overly friendly or welcoming. The small fruit and cheese platter we found in the room that we had ordered was meager and certainly not worth the $25 charged. The amenities in the room; from the shower to the spa bathtub and the luxurious bed were fantastic except for the lack of air conditioning. We found a small fan in one of the closets but a muggy August in Sacramento meant that the temp was still 90+ in the room. We were roasting. The next morning we waited for our breakfast which we had asked for by 9AM. By 9:30 nothing had arrived. By 9:40 we called down and were told that "there had been a mix-up." Thus the food arrived 40 minutes late and it was passable at best. A dry quiche, some bread and a cupful of rice pudding. All in all, we enjoyed our stay however it was certainly a misstep in several aspects in comparison to our previous stay. Dan-Reno, NV


Inn at Parkside

4.6 on August 22, 2012

We love this Inn for special occasions. The beds are so comfy. The decorations are very relaxing. The spa is wonderful. Highly recommended for nice relaxing getaway.


Relaxing B&B

4.6 on August 22, 2012

I signed up for an anniversary get away for my wife and I. The room was nice and the massage w/ scrub felt wonderful. My only complaint is that breakfast showed up a little late, but I being able to eat comfortably in our room was nice. The staff was friendly and courteous and helpful.


consistent

5 on August 19, 2012

I always stay here when I need to get away in town; it's the nicest place for the best value. -a local


Parkside Inn

3.6 on August 15, 2012

The Inn was beautiful and the room was nice, but the service was questionable. They clerks seemed to be confused and not well trained. The brekfast in the morning wasnt adequeate very small portions and very plain. The massages and spa were nice, we ordered choc dipped strawberries but there was no choc. on them.


A Nice Surprise

3.8 on August 10, 2012

We were too tired and late to enjoy the dining and other amenities. But we gogt the quiet private night's sleep we needed in a great location downtown. Recommended.


The Inn at Parkside is an Oasis

5 on July 30, 2012

I always stay there when I have business in Sacramento and enjoy their first rate spa treatments in the evening. Bliss!


Pricey but nice

3.2 on June 27, 2012

A nice facility located in a very convenient part of Sacramento. We found the service to be a little snobbish and were extremely surprised when we received a call a day after our checkout with a firm 'request' for tip for the house staff. That left an unpleasant taste. Otherwise, the place is a nice gateway that is geared toward spa goers.

Innkeeper Response
We apologize if any part of your stay was not completely satisfactory. We are training a few new employees, and it is possible they may have seemed offputting, however just still a bit timid. It is not our policy to call guests regarding gratuities as that is always up to the guests' discretion. We would call, however, if there was a tip indicated on a spa invoice or gratuity envelope, but no form of payment. If this was not the case, we do apologize and will discuss the issue with our staff. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you visit again in the future!


HAPPINESS !!!

3.4 on June 20, 2012

My husband and i spent the weekend hear for our 15yr anniversary a little different from the pictures but overall GREAT, we stayed in the room titled HAPPINESS to make a long story short i was very happy with the service the food the room and most of all the spa treatment i would totally recommend this place.


Staying at the Parkside

4.2 on June 18, 2012

The inn was wonderful. It was clean, the staff were fantastic and helpful. The spa was a great addition. The breakfast in the morning was great.


Excellent stay

4.4 on June 13, 2012

Room is clean. We did spa package with facial and massage. Everything was excellent and we had a wonderful weekend. This is one of the hidden gems of Sacramento. definitely a must stay.


The best kept secret in Sacramento!

4.8 on May 26, 2012

I took hubby here to celebrate his 50th birthday; he had no idea where we were going, I wanted it to be a total surprise! We arrived and were warmly greeted, received a parking permit for street parking, the door code and key to our room. We were taken to our room, we stayed in the Kiss room and it was awesome! There were 2 spa robes for our use during our stay; I asked for faux rose petals and chocolate covered strawberries to make things even more special (these are extra for a nominal fee). The color scheme is amazing, the spa tub accommodated both of us (we're not small people) comfortably; the fireplace above the spa tub and the lavender bath salt completed the experience. Breakfast was brought to our room promptly at the time we requested. The bed was softer than we like as I have minor back problems BUT even with that the experience was romantic, beautiful and amazing! I totally recommend this inn and will return to experience the Dream room next!


Wonderful stay.

4.8 on April 25, 2012

I loved my stay at this bed and breakfast. My husband and I stayed here on the night of our wedding. We stayed in the dream room. I loved the privacy of having the whole 3rd floor to ourselves, other rooms shared a floor with other rooms.. The only bad thing was that the air conditioner broke earlier that day so it was VERY hot in our room. And the A/C wasn't in full working order all night. But we called and asked for some fans and they brought us two within the next 15-20 minutes. It cooled the room down fairly well and we were cuddled up under blankets by morning. (We left a window open too) Our breakfast was about 20 minutes late also but the food was so good we didn't care! They are very helpful and anything you need they get it to you as soon as they can. The couples massages are definitely worth it too!


Lovely Inn with all the Amenities

3.8 on March 11, 2012

We stayed in the Spirit room in March. The room was comfortable, the temperature was perfect and the Innkeeper was kind enough to provide sheets and towels that were fragrance free (a spectacular bonus when one is allergic). The park across the street is not to be missed. It has a huge play area for children complete with many large pieces of climbing equipment as well as a swimming pool (it was not open when we were there). Next to that was a moderate sized lake complete with cormorants, egrets and many varieties of ducks. We also saw several large woodpeckers as well as hawks. We strolled around the lake in the morning as those around us performed their morning Tai Chi, jogged or walked their dogs. The breakfast was ample though I did feel sorry for the cook. We had arrived in the middle of the night so they had not informed us as to the breakfast choices. When they arrived tableside with a lovely omelet that included asparagus we had to send it back since neither of us enjoys the taste of that vegetable. But they quickly prepared replacements which were very tasty. If I had to find a fault it was that the Inn was a bit too close to the highway. The trucks disturbed us once in our sleep but it was hardly what I’d call unbearable. In addition to the sheets and the accommodating cook they also called a cab for us who met us at the airport in the middle of the night. He was evidently one of their regular cabbies who arrived on time (both to and from) in a clean car and was quite a pleasant fellow.


Pleasant stay

3.6 on March 08, 2012

The accommodations were very comfortable, the staff as always helpful and the location was excellent for our purposes. All in all, the experience was very good. When we return to Sacramento, we will almost certainly stay here. And get more massages.


Well worth it!

4.2 on February 24, 2012

Lovely room, nice amenities, friendly and helpful staff. Anyone that hasn't stayed there before should definitely take advantage of the massage and facial package for first time visitors - both were wonderful!


Bday weekend 2012

4.4 on February 16, 2012

We stayed in the room called Passion, which definitely needs some repair work. Had a wonderful massage and breakfast in bed the next morning was amazing.


day of relaxtion and romance

4.8 on February 15, 2012

I absoulutely loved my stay here. My singnificant other and I were pleasantly surprised this treasure was tucked away in our own city. Felt like a vacation,away from home. Rooms were clean and extremely cozy and comfortable. Exceeded,my expections. I looked forward to my next getaway here!


Relaxing and comfortable time in Sacramento

3.6 on February 01, 2012

Stayed here before many times...love the Inn. The rooms could be cleaned a little better (nice coat of dust on tables). Always great service and value. Breakfast is always different and delicious. The beds probably need upgraded...we slept on a queen and if you don't sleep in the middle of the bed, it feels like you will roll off the edge. Nice spa services...wife enjoyed the massage. Inn is close to downtown for the great restaurants and ambiance of the downtown area. A favorite of ours if we are looking to stay local.


Romantic Anniversary

4.0 on January 11, 2012

The room was beautifully decorated and set a very romantic atmosphere. We have stayed at the inn several times in the past and have never been disappointed. We will definitely be back.


Warm and cozy

5 on December 08, 2011

We were more than pleased with the entire experience. Have recommended the Parkside Inn to others.


Relaxing weekend getaway

3.8 on December 07, 2011

I stayed at this bed and breakfast recently, and it was a wonderfully relaxing weekend. We stayed in the “Happiness” suite, and it was a breathtakingly beautiful room. It was decorated and arranged to make the most out of the space they had. The sky lights were wonderful, the lighting set a very romantic tone. The concierge staff was friendly and helpful, and make the stay very welcoming. Breakfast was served in our room, and was a delicious quiche. I plan to treat my wife to this stay again next year for our 3rd anniversary.


Worth every penny!

4.6 on November 16, 2011

Fantastic stay. Rooms are lovely and unique. Massage service is outstanding. Breakfast was delicious. Excellent overall!


Best B&B in Sacramento, CA

5 on November 15, 2011

I was transported to a different place in time when I stepped through the doorway of this bed & breakfast at the Inn and Spa at Parkside. Elegant rooms with excellent amenities, sundries, high quality liquid soaps to shampoos and they have free WIFI! What more could you ask for? The breakfast is sumptuous and the coffee is better than Starbucks. I purchased some to take home. I look forward to coming back to this gem in Sacramento, CA.


Will come back again and again

5 on October 19, 2011

This is our second time at the Inn at Parkside and we chose the Refresh room this time. We were pleased with the decor, the jacuzzi and the neutral colors that made the room all that more relaxing. The breakfast which we chose to have in bed was delicious and filling. The hot cocoa was an added bonus. We will definitely recommend the Inn to our friends who need a quick getaway. What a place!


Pleasent and Relaxing

4.4 on October 06, 2011

We had a nice relaxing trip. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean. The food was very good and the service great. We had two spa treatments and they were wounderful!!! Over all our stay was excellent.


A Wonderful Refuge

3.6 on September 28, 2011

Amazingly quiet, beautifully appointed rooms in an attractively furnished house. We will stay again!


Beautiful Sanctuary in Sacramento

3.8 on September 28, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary in the Healing Energy room at the Inn and Spa at Parkside. It was a very lovely place to experience some calm and peacefulness amidst Sacramento's noise. Our only issue was the courtyard area. The chairs were dirty and an ashtray was filled with cigarette butts. It certainly didn't fit in with the rest of the ambience.


Inn at Parkside

3.6 on September 19, 2011

Juccuzi tub available to guests who don't have one in their room. This was our second saty and we will stay here again.


Very comfortable

4.0 on September 17, 2011

We had a great time. The staff was friendly & helpful. the candles they sell there smell wonderful. The room was very clean & decorated nice. The tub was a real treat. Having breakfast in bed was very nice too.


Weekend Getaway

3.6 on September 06, 2011

Since it is located next to a park it gets a little noisy. My boyfriend and I stayed in the happiness room. I went up early to get a facial and a massage. Both were very relaxing. If you go to get a massage ask for Mike...that man has magical hands! Anyway, the room was nice, the tub was huge and comfy. The service was okay but wasn't very welcoming. Later in the evening when my boyfriend and I wanted to light the log in the fire we realized we didn't have one, which was very disappointing. I don't know what the rest of the rooms looked like but there were portions of this room that looked like they could use some attention (lights out in the bathroom, switches that didn't work, chipped paint and wood). The lady mentioned that they had battery operated candles (ingenious idea) but that former guests had tried to light them and kind of ruined them, but they were never replaced (kinda tacky). All in all though the room was very nice and my boyfriend and I had a wonderful time. The negative things mentioned were really just because I paid good money for the room and feel like it fell a little shy of my expectations.


Happiness

4.4 on August 31, 2011

The Inn at Parkside was great. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The food and spa treatment where wonderful. The "Happiness" room is where its at. Best place to stay in Sacramento for a romantic getaway.


pleasant surprise

4.4 on August 29, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in Tranquility and enjoyed the room. Being an older home it has lots of character which we enjoy.


wonderful get-a-away, without the travel!

4.2 on August 11, 2011

My husband and I LOVE this Inn. We've stayed here several times and like to mix it up & stay in different rooms. So far NONE have disappointed. They are uniquely decorated and make you feel like your not just "in a hotel room". In fact, when we stay here, we don't leave the room!! The only 'caution' I would warn you about is the fact that the pictures on the website make the rooms look bigger than they actually are, but if you're in bed or the tub most of the time, it might not matter too much. :) They offer a wine and cheese hour that is fun (and free) & when the weather is nice, you can enjoy the outdoor scenery. The breakfast they deliver to you is OUTSTANDING (I mean it is breakfast in bed... heeelllooo!). I highly recommend this Inn to any adventurous couple not afraid to spend a whole lotta time with that special someone.


Comfortable spot in Sacramento

3.2 on July 05, 2011

This is a lovely inn that I stay in a couple times a year. It rooms and decor is top notch, riffing on the themes based on the fact that the house was once a Chinese embassy. The staff is always friendly and helpful but changes constantly. The breakfast is big and unusual with several course. It is great to find all the newspapers downstairs when you come for breakfast. The neighborhood is quite close to all the action around the capital center of town.


hot time in the city

4.4 on June 25, 2011

Excellent stay but with 100 degree temperatures three days in a row, our bedroom did not stay cool on our second night. Other than that, very comfortable and luxurious. We shared a couples' massage and the service from the spa was wonderful as well.


Great Quick Getaway

3.0 on June 21, 2011

We have stayed at the Inn at Parkside twice now. We love that it's like getti ng away without having to drive for hours. It's a good location with a park across the street. The rooms are wonderful, each one with it's own theme. We love to get a message and then relax in room. Our goal is to return and stay in a different room each time. You can't go wrong staying here.


Great Mother's Day Weekend

4.2 on June 08, 2011

The inn's rooms were quiet, private and luxurious. The icing on the cake was the relaxing massage and bath!


Anniversary Getaway

4.8 on May 21, 2011

My husband and I decided to getaway from life and our little boy for a couple of days for our anniversary. When I started looking for bed&breakfast/ Spa's they were all very very expensive so when I found this highly rated Inn for reasonable prices I was really excited. We stayed in the Happiness room which was amazing. The Inn was easy to find, the staff was warm and friendly and the room was more impressive in person than online. Oh, the spa products were amazing, I kept wanting to take showers because I loved the products so much. We had the breakfasts delivered to our rooms and they were delicious both days. It was very peaceful and quiet in our room, but be warned, the happiness room has low lying vaulted ceiling that could cause some serious headaches for tall people. We had a couples spa treatment with our package that was really nice and relaxing. The only complaint about the spa treatment was that when we had our soak at the end the water smelled sort of funny, could have been the oils they used or because the spa is in the basement of the Inn. Oh, and one more thing, on our second morning (last morning) while I was in lullaby land dreaming away I was woken up at 8 to the voice of someone's little one. Now, like I said, we have a little one too, but this trip was to getaway from early morning and little chitter chatter but for about 10-15 minutes I could hear someone's little one. While I completely understand you cannot always control the volume of their voices I also completely understand that this place is obviously geared towards adult getaways not family fun. I understand the Inn does not want to turn away business but this was a little disappointing to wake up to. This getaway more than exceeded my expectations and I really can't wait to go back in a few years when we can sneak off again.


Inn and Spa at Parkside-The Only Place to Stay in Sacramento

5 on May 17, 2011

I love this place and have been staying there as long as it has been open. The rooms are wonderful and the service personalized to the point that you feel as if you are being taken care of 24/7, without having someone in your face the entire time meaning great privacy, but help at your fingertips. I refuse to stay any where else in Sacramento and which there was an inn and spa at Parkside in every city I visit.


Outstanding Hospitality and Rooms

5 on May 07, 2011

I am taking the time to write an outstanding review of the Inn at Parkside. I am a long time client who's opinion of the service offered by the Manager, April and Concierge, Jessie, only gets better with each visit! I have stayed in two different rooms, Refresh and Happiness. Both offer different amenities and comforts. Both are luxurious! Refresh is in their modern addition and offers a jacuzzi tub large enough to hold my 6'3" boyfriend and my plump 5'9" body. The room was quiet, secluded and right next door to our massages in the morning. Happiness is on the top floor of the historic building. This beautiful, calm and spacious room has sun-lights, jacuzzi tub and the most amazing shower! If you chose to stay longer it also has a kitchenette and a large closet. April and Jesse were attentive, resourceful and accommodating. They confirmed our spa treatments for the next day, let us make our way to our room and in the morning our breakfasts came without dairy. I will continue to stay at the Inn at Parkside whenever luxury and peace are desired.


Great place!

4.0 on April 16, 2011

We stayed here during a conference. I only wish we'd had more time to spend at the Parkside. It's incredibly relaxing, very clean, and had a fantastic breakfast! It's really a haven-- wonderful to come home to after a long day.


Passion Room

3.8 on March 21, 2011

All in all our weekend getaway turned out a success. The room was quiet, clean and the decorations were beautiful. My big surprise was the awesome jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The website does not really show it and I expected something smaller. Definitely fits two comfortably. We were able to find great restaurants nearby and even a Target to get a couple last minute items. I would definitely recommend this b&b.


Wonderful Place to Stay

4.4 on March 08, 2011

My wife and I drove out to stay in Sacramento to celebrate her birthday. We've always stayed in traditional hotel chains in the past and this is the first B&B we have stayed at. The rooms were beautiful. We stayed in the "passion" room which had a wonderful private jacuzzi. This is probably the nicest tub I have ever soaked in. The Inn is across the street from a really nice park and is in a nice quiet neighborhood with easy access to the rest of the city. I would definitely recommend this place for a nice getaway.


So Wanted to Like this Place!

2.0 on February 16, 2011

First off I had a major health issue and tried to reschedule. So read this with a "grain of salt." I miss read the cancellation policy. It is a seven day cancellation or you are charged for the room. I understand the reasoning but we wanted to spend over $500 and due to their policy they got $189. Sorry economics always sets me off! It worked out fine, but my husband and I really wanted the Spa package which I could not because of said issue. I have been to quite a few B&Bs. Here I felt like I was not a guest but merely a client. The check in person was barely friendly. We were going to be a late check in. We got there at 8:30 and it seemed to bother the Inn keeper because we were early. The Inn has movies you can borrow. I did not know this to be the case until I found the binder explaining the Inn in the morning. It would have been nice if it was mentioned-either the movies or the binder. We originally were going to have breakfast in our room. We woke up early (7:30), and wanted to go down for breakfast. They were supposed to call us. We finally headed down at 9:00. They said they tried but the phone was not working. If it were not for the lovely couple we had breakfast with I would have been totally disappointed. The Inn is beautiful!! Oh yea. The service at breakfast was not very friendly either. They brought me out an egg sunny side up--no one asked if that was what I wanted. The oatmeal was delicious. I have been in the service industry for years. A hello how are you doing goes a long way--even a smile or how was your trip would have been nice! Remember though I was already bummed that I could not reschedule!


Surpassed My Expectations

5 on February 02, 2011

Every aspect of my stay was stellar! The staff, April and Erin, made my stay perfect with small touches of extra service and care. I had a massage and facial at the spa, which were both fantastic. Breakfast every morning was delivered to my room and included sumptuous food which was plated elegantly. Parking was easy and the proximity to the major highways was perfect. There was a lot of privacy, and the room was quiet. I loved the cozy fireplace and big jacuzzi tubs. Stayed in the Kiss Suite and the Relax Suite, and both were outstanding. I'd stay here again, and I'd highly recommend it.


Nice, would stay again.

3.4 on January 03, 2011

Received a beautiful welcome, lovely restored Victorian in downtown Sacramento, comfortable, nicely appointed. Just passing through, did not try the spa services. No shampoo or shower products for women in our room, just heavily scented musk shampoo, conditioner and shower gel for men. The women's product wall dispenser was completely empty (clean, not depleted) so I am not sure what that was all about. Had to shower with the small bar of face soap supplied and shampoo I had from previous Marriott stay. Waffle breakfast was lovely, just not hot. We came down to the dining room at our appointed time to eat, but she was running a little late delivering breakfast to the other guests in their rooms, some of which seemed demanding. So we watched patiently, enjoyed an extra cup of coffee or two while she worked efficiently to catch up. Very nice gal, loved her gentle demeanor in handling the stress of the moment. Just to explain my rating scores... their website sets pretty high expectations for the stay, not much room for "exceeds expectations". Other than the products issue, it was exactly as describe on their website, would like to try the spa services next time.


Kiss Room

4.2 on January 03, 2011

Loved the room! The inn keeper was very kind and helpful. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to all of my friends & family.


A birthday surprise

4.2 on December 07, 2010

I made the reservation as a birthday gift for my husband and I scheduled a couple's massage and had a fruit/cheese tray w/champagne ordered for our arrival. While it was disappointing that the inn was not able to offer the champagne they gave me plenty of notice and told me that it was acceptable for me to bring my own champagne. The set up was wonderful, the massage relaxing and the service was great. What a wonderful surprise for both of us when we discovered we would be served breakfast in bed.


Happy Retirement!

3.2 on December 05, 2010

In honor of my retirement my husband treated me to a weekend at the Inn & Spa at Parkside. Our room "Refreshe" made me feel very pampered and refreshed. The ammenities were wonderful. Very cordial Service Staff. Although it was very pleasant to have our breakfast delivered to our room the portions served were alittle small. Expected the entree to be alittle more generous. Overall the experience exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone! Great way to experience Sacramento!


Passion Room Stay

4.2 on December 02, 2010

We had a great stay here. Service was amazing and I would stay here again.


Great Romantic getaway!

4.4 on November 30, 2010

This was a great place to relax and unwind. We loved our stay in Lounge and are excited to go back and stay in the other rooms! Service was great! We loved all the bath products as well as the tub and shower. The late check out was well worth it since we were so relaxed we didn't want to leave.


Great, great, great!

4.2 on November 23, 2010

The inn itself is beautiful and the spa treatments are a-ma-zing!


Short stay in Sacramento - stay at the Inn at Parkside.

4.8 on November 17, 2010

Great ambiance. Rooms are excellent - roomy, comfortable, emaculate and help set the mood. Each room is named and has a theme. Stayed at Tranquility my first stay, and Kiss the second stay; both were great. Highly recommend the Inn. Had massage the first stay which was incredible.


B&B Retreat

3.2 on November 16, 2010

Overall the stay was good and i received an upgraded room. Nice place. The massage was great and the food was also. However, there are a few areas that can be improved: more than one window didn't close completely in the room i stayed in, the table used for dining in the room was greatly off balance, and one of the breakfast juice glasses was cracked. Both the massage and breakfast were served later than scheduled.


Great local getaway!

4.2 on November 14, 2010

Great place for a quick getaway! My husband and I stayed one night here a few weeks ago for our anniversary. We live in Elk Grove and wanted to go somewhere close, as we had a sitter staying with the kiddies and didn't want to be gone long. We stayed in the "lounge" room. It was nice, quiet, romantic and relaxing. LOVED the spa tub and dual head spa shower. The ONLY thing I would advise is to watch your shins! One corner of the bed frame is pretty close to the wall and both my husband and I hit our shins more than once. We had a couples massage that was a great price ($99) but it was mediocre, unfortunatly. Admittedly, I am a "massage snob" and have pretty high expectaions. We requested that breakfast be delivered to our room at 8:15, and it arrived warm and delicious at EXACTLY 8:15! A very filling, high quality breakfast at that. Overall, great stay, and look forward to staying in the "kiss" or "dream" room next!


A great place to celebrate a special occasion

3.6 on November 10, 2010

My wife and I went to the inn to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and gracious. The inn was beautifully decorated and well appointed. We stayed in the Happiness room, which is a converted attic. We had a couple of issues with the room in that one of the pillow shams was covered in candle wax and one of the knobs in the two person shower was broken. We notfified the staff of the issues and they were apologetic. The breakfast was delicious and the beds were very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone!


Our favorite place to stay!

4.8 on October 30, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay in Sacramento. THe rooms are each unique and very nicely decorated and extremely clean. Breakfast is outstanding and finally the staff is amazing!


The Most Beautiful Refreshment

4.2 on October 17, 2010

Our room was sublimely refreshing--the bed, the fire, the tub, the breakfast on the balcony...thank you 10,000 times for a most-wonderful night!


Happy Anniversary

4.6 on October 07, 2010

We stayed in Kiss for our anniversary and it was amazing! The treatment was great and the people were very professional


Wonderful retreat

4.2 on October 07, 2010

My husband & I stayed here for 1 night for a quick local getaway. The neighborhood is a little shady and the inn is right across from a children's playground, so on weekends the rooms facing the front (we stayed in Lounge, which has a balcony facing the park) can be a little noisy during the day. We had massages, which are in the same building as our room, actually right down the hall, which was really convenient. The breakfast was delicious- we had crepes and fruit, and it was delivered to our room, so we ate on our balcony (overlooking the street, but still). I think this is a great little getaway, especially if you're locals and aren't looking to do a lot of sightseeing while you're here, as there's not much to walk to from the inn. It was perfect for our needs and we'll definitely be back!


Another world.

4.8 on October 06, 2010

This was my first experience at any kind of bed and breakfast. I have to say, it was incredible. I took my girlfriend here as a birthday surprise. When we arrived, we were met by a woman who went over everything with us, and escorted us to our room. The personalized service was fantastic. Then when we walked into the room, they had soothing music playing and I felt like we stepped into another world. All of our stress and cares were left outside, and we had an incredible stay. We actually talked about making this a tradition in our relationship. It was excellent, and I would recommend this place to anyone.


44th Anniversary Stay

3.8 on October 05, 2010

We decided to stay at the last minute and were happy to find available room. We had a wonderful spa afternoon and after dinner the room was very comfortable. the Breakfast was very good, we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and will be back.


A wonderful B&B experience

5 on October 04, 2010

After a long hot day at the Capitol, the Parkside Inn was such a refreshing Oasis. My husband and I thorougly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was delicious, and the spa treatments especially rejuvenating. We want to come back soon!!


A great birthday

5 on October 03, 2010

Love this place...stayed in Happiness for 2nd time but love the Lounge. Service great, close to great restaurants, breakfast always spectacular, spa services on site, dvds to watch in room, a wonderful and romantic escape from the hustles of everyday life. Love the spa tub in Happiness, but not a good room if you are taller (attic/loft)...a real headbumper. Will be back again


Nice place... Worth the price? Umm not so much

3.0 on September 29, 2010

Pricey stay!! Not much in the area to do, massages nice but overpriced, the just changed management so some needed changes are in the works so we hear, breakfast was good nice to be served in bed. Room was nice (some repairs needed, but that's what they say is "in the works")bed comfty.


Our 30th Anniversary

5 on August 25, 2010

My husband and I just spent the night at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast ( 8-23-10 ) We aren't big travelers, but I just knew we had to do something special for this big anniversary of ours. Our commute to this INN was 25 minutes :0) and now I know if I just need a day or two to unwind, this will be where I will be going. The room we stayed in was called " The Happiness Room " and it was beautiful, very quiet and relaxing. We had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us when we returned from dinner. The spa tub was so soothing and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home. Oh and we also had wonderful Hot Stone Therapy Massages and were served Breakfast in Bed the next morning and the food was wonderful. Yes, we will be returning. Thank you all so much for treating us so well. :0) Dan and Laura Haywood


Best Valentine's Day at the Inn at Parkside

5 on March 29, 2010

We stayed in Dream just after Valentine's Day. Couldn't have been more lovely or romantic for the occasion. The room is very comfortable, stylish, quiet and private! We had a great time mingling with other guests, the owner Diane and Innkeeper Erin at wine and cheese. And being we had a huge lunch and decided to skip dinner, the spread was more than satisfying. We also had massages with Emily and Pat. They were both amazing! Pat really worked out some issues in my neck and the salt body scrub left my skin feeling like a baby. The jacuzzi and spa shower were both perfect and relaxing. Chocolate covered strawberries and champagne...does it get any better? We stayed in our room the rest of the evening and felt as if we were in our own little world. And breakfast in bed was a luxury in itself. Couldn't have been more perfect! Thank you Inn and Spa at Parkside for a very memorable V-Day!


Once you stay here nothing compares :)

4.0 on January 01, 2010

We have stayed her two times. Once in PASSION which is a beautiful room with a great spa tub. The other time we stayed in KISS. WOW....huge spa tube with fireplace above it. AWESOME spa shower. Balcony which is perfect for your breakfast. Lounge chair that is so comfy to kick back with a glass of wine and read a great book! Best of all we had the couple massage while in this room..the massage room was next to our room. So after spectacular massages all we had to do is stumble to our room for a terrific nap before walking to Morton's Steakhouse for a lovely dinner. The breakfasts here are terrific and the wine and cheese in the evenings are included and are great. :) I say sign up for email to get heads up on specials and check often right about room picture for the tab for last min. specials. Great way to save $$.


best anniversary ever

5 on December 31, 2009

my wife and i wanted a retreat in our own backyard any we found it. the most stunning room(we stayed in "dream") and best service ever. it made our 27th anniversary the best we ever had! the service from the innkeeper to the staff and owner was superlative . we arrived to a wonderful lay out of wine and cheese and great conversation with the charming innkeeper. after dinner we went to our room and found a thank you card from the owner for spending our anniversary with them! the room was cozy and clean well decorated . the breakfast was unbelievably delicious and they even made accommodation to serving by 7am since i had to be at work by 8. all in all a time to be remembered!


Awesome!!!!!!

5 on November 01, 2009

I was treated to a wonderful surprise from my husband for our anniversary. He booked the "Dream" room and spa services at the this delightful B&B. The room was beautiful, complete with a fainting sofa and jacuzzi tub (for two). The shower was fabulous with 5 shower heads. My spa services were great and the main house was delightful. This B&B was awesome and I am running out of adjectives to describe a visit that was nothing short of memorable. One more important thing, two words to describe the Innkeepers CLASS ACT. Thank you Parkside. We will return again and again, and tell our friends they should do the same. Chris and Teresa


Sacramentos best B&B

4.2 on August 18, 2009

I just stayed at the Inn for my third time and yet again they exceeded my expectations. There rooms are very spacious with great beds and bedding. Jacuzzi tub, flat screen tv, great bathrooms, fireplace, fancy furniture. Really this place is done right. They have a great wine and cheese spread everynight in the front room, all on the house. The owner Dianne is great, lots of good sacramento advice and wine to boot. They also deliver breakfast to your room in the morning. Who doesn't like breakfast in bed? Especially a full breakfast cooked fresh for you, the way you like. Restaurant quality in bed. I have had a few services by the estitician Kristin and they were amazing. She is very comforting and always has me leaving the appointment ready for a nap. The Inn has a hot tub outside in a great little canopy area, a special little nook you wouldn't expect in downtown sacramento. The location of the Inn is very convenient. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. A great place I plan to go back to as often as possible.


Best Bed & Breakfast anywhere!

5 on August 18, 2009

Inn at Parkside, oh, where to start? I absolutely love this place. The inn is located near both midtown and Old Sacramento giving you the opportunity to enjoy the downtown activities, shops, and restaurants. But the best part is that while you are at the inn you can go out, or just stay in. All of the rooms are amazing, I've peeked into all of them :) and the photos just don't do them justice. Every stay is different just like each of the rooms, since each one is decorated differently. Some show off the original character of the historic mansion while others boast a more modern flair. Some even have spa showers, jacuzzi tubs, and patios. Breakfast has been superb every time I have stayed, and I always look forward to wine and cheese hour. It's so much fun to enjoy a glass of wine while sitting in the living room or out on the patio. You can spend time alone with your companion or socialize with the owners, innkeepers, and other guests of the inn. Outside on the tiled patio you can enjoy the sounds of the waterfalls and fountains, lie around on the chaises, and at night take advantage of the huge gazebo-covered hot tub. Inside, the owners have a collection of DVDs and books for you to enjoy during your stay. Don't forget all of the extras available when you stay here. You can call the innkeepers and have champagne and the best chocolate-covered strawberries brought to your room. The Spa Bloom is also on the premises, so you can enjoy a wonderful massage or facial. The owners and innkeepers are wonderful. They do everything possible to make sure you enjoy your stay and make you want to visit again soon. I know I will be! One stay here and you will be hooked, just like me!


Elegant B&B

4.4 on August 18, 2009

The locale of the Inn & Spa at Parkside across from a small park on a cathedral-treed street off downtown Sacramento sets the tone and determines the content of an elegant bed & breakfast. This Inn couldn’t be more conducive for a quiet and very personal overnight stay. The accommodations were excellent. It takes a staff of deep graciousness and sensitivity to deal with all the personal tastes and requests from their guests, and for this place, proprietors Diane & Dan made it look easy. The room was beautiful, the kind of room anyone will be comfortable with in a classy and classic way. We easily can recommend this B&B as one of the best we’ve stayed in.


genuine relaxation far east style

4.6 on August 17, 2009

I recently stayed at the Inn at parkside for the 4th time. I feel bad I haven't written a review earlier. The in keeper Diane makes you feel like you are, literally, right at home. Even down to joining the guests for a glass or two of complimentary white (or red if you prefer)in the living room. Asking you how your day was and offering up suggestions for restaurants to eat at or shops to go to if pleasure is your reason for staying. I've twice taken advantage of the spas masseuses. Both massages were wonderful. Pat the first therapist I had and she gave me a fantastic deep tissue massage. I requested her the next time because, I didn't expect anyone else to go as deep as she did, but she was off. When I started with Angie my worries quickly went away. She was every bit as relaxing and I now feel I'd be comfortable with anyone on staff. Their screeners obviously know what to look for in a great massage. The breakfast has been delicious everytime, but if you stay on a morning when you're lucky enough to get Erin's chiliquilla's let me tell you you are in for a real authentic mexican treat. The prices are very reasonable considering how much more you get than a hotel, or most B&B's for that matter. I highly recommend it to anyone who just wants to get two weeks worth of R&R in two days. JB_Denver


business lady

4.0 on August 08, 2009

I stay in B&B's for work because I feel safer in a small environment. I have stayed here more than once as it is on the way home. The food, rooms, and service are always great but the last time that I stayed there the sheets had holes. This was disappointing and I am going to go looking for another place to stay in Sacramento.

Innkeeper Response
I am so very sorry about your last stay. When the sheets come back from the cleaners and are being put on the beds any with stains or holes are to be brought to me directly. I recently let one of my housekeepers go because they had not done this in the past and then again recently. I hope you'll give us another chance!


Amazing Stay!!!

5 on March 19, 2009

We LOVED our stay and already are planning our return. Everyone was extremely pleasant, but Diane (the innkeeper) made our stay memorable. We felt as if we were staying with great friends that did everything in their power ti make us feel special. We stayed in the room "Happiness" and it was very romantic.


Search no further

5 on January 25, 2009

If you are a local or an out-of-towner, this is the ultimate escape. The rooms are wonderful, the staff accomodating, and the breakfast awesome. There is a jacuzzi in the backyard and a fabulous wine and cheese hour. This is the place to be! I have stayed here numerous times and will continue to return!


Best Kept Secret

4.6 on September 07, 2008

My wife and I have been married for 31 years and lived in Sacramento almost our whole life. We had not heard of the Inn at Parkside until recently. We had to move the first weekend in August and decided after a long day of moving that we should treat ourselves to a nice place. We called The Inn at Parkside and they said they had a room for us. We were quite grubby and almost embarrassed when we arrived but the staff made us feel so welcome and not self-conscious. We were taken to our room which was called, "Tranquility." It was aptly named. After soaking in a nice hot bath I put on a luxurious robe, sat in a very comfortable chair, turned on a ceiling fan that was quite unique and looked out the window through a beautiful shade tree. The stress of moving was quickly melting away and I was transported to a tropical island where there was no one but my wife and me. I melted into the most comfortable, luxurious bed and quickly fell asleep. I slept like a baby and woke up feeling content and rested. We went downstairs and had the dining room all to ourselves as we are early risers. We had coffee, read the paper and then were served a delicious breakfast. I wish I would have known about this place when I was a younger man but it is also a great place for us "mature" folk. I would love to replicate the room in my own house but will settle for an occasional visit.


What a treat!!

5 on September 04, 2008

We stayed at the Inn at Parkside to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday and we had such a wonderful time. Not only were both buildings beautiful on the outside, they were so tastefully decorated on the inside...put us in a relaxing mood instantly. We were greated graciously and were escorted to our room after getting a nice tour around the beautiful property. It is nestled among a cozy neighborhood full of trees that shower the property with beautiful purple flowers. The room was wonderful, the bed was super comfortable and the shower was a dream! The wine and cheese hour was a really nice touch before our dinner on the town. Breakfast the following morning was wonderful; a fresh-out-of-the-oven homemade muffin preceded fresh fruit and a homemade quiche. Our massages were fantastic...they really knew what they were doing and really listened to our requests/needs. I would definitely recommend The Inn at Parkside to anyone and my husband and I can't wait to go back. What a treat!!


Look no Further when in Sacramento

5 on May 01, 2008

I just checked out of the inn after a four day stay which was nothing short of wonderful. Beginning with the delicious complementary breakfast served daily at the time and location of you’re choice and ending with the daily 6:00 pm wine a cheese service, every element of this establishment is a perfect example of relaxed refinement. Located on 6th street I found the walk from the inn to the capital and other downtown locations quick and easy. The staff at the inn were all warm genuine people who did an exemplary job in making sure my needs were met, that I was comfortable, and we invaluable in helping me navigate my way around the city; all of which I did on foot. In short, if you are planning a visit to Sacramento I can think of no better place to hang your hat than at the Inn and Spa at Parkside.


Wouldn't Trade It For Anything Else!

5 on April 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was the life away from life. It was better than one could imagine. The service was great, I enjoyed the friendly, open admisphere. The breakfast in bed. The spa. I didn't want to go home. I felt like a queen and my husband the king. This is a great place to relax and enjoy life!


Perfect

5 on May 28, 2007

We stayed here for our delayed Honeymoon night and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Kiss room and was very happy with it in every way. If you want to feel pampered and "fancy" this is the place for you.


The Inn and Spa at Parkside featuring Spa Bloom

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $259
  • Reviews (99) 4.3
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-800-995-7275
  • Fax 1-9166581809
  • Toll free 1-8009957275
Top