Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
50 Reviews

Write A Review

Excellent place to get away!

4.4 on October 09, 2013

Cozy, comfortable and great place to go to get out of the city and enjoy some peace and quiet. Not far from Lanesboro, where there are some neat shops to visit and enjoy. The best part is the food, as Marie cooks up a family style breakfast that is the best we've had at any B&B. Simply delicious and amazing!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the nice review. We hope you will find your way back the Meadows Inn in the future! Marie and Doug


Fantastic

5 on September 25, 2013

It was wonderful - more than I ever expected!


Relaxing and Romantic

5 on September 20, 2013

Very relaxing stay, the hosts were attentive and personable. The provided wine was outstanding. It was a great romantic getaway for us.


We would definitely come back!!

5 on September 03, 2013

Doug and Marie were extremely nice people. They combine together to make fabulous breakfasts. The wine and snacks in the afternoon were amazing. Their son's homemade sausages reminded us of our trip to Spain. It was truly a wonderful experience!


Delightful B&B!

3.4 on August 14, 2013

The owners are so friendly and the food is over the top! Beautiful setting and very comfortable, nicely decorated rooms!


Amazing Bed and Breakfast!

5 on August 11, 2013

We just spent two heavenly evenings at the Meadows Inn Bed and Breakfast in Rushford, Minnesota. Although we have stayed in numerous B & Bs throughout the country, the Meadows Inn ranks among the best. The setting is cozy, tucked in the woods, overlooking the small town of Rushford, with the bluffs encircling the area. We saw deer, wild turkeys, chipmunks every day of our stay -- bucolic in every sense of the word. The breakfasts are true culinary feasts!! Marie is an amazing chef, with her very carefully-prepared, creative entrees, along with fresh fruits and side dishes. The bedroom was beautifully designed with appropriate furniture for the "provincial" feeling of this lovely place. I can't believe that there would ever be any negative comments about this delightful place to stay -- it was difficult to leave!!


Best B & B in MN

5 on August 01, 2013

Meadows Inn is located in a beautiful area of SE MN. The rooms are large and luxurious with great views of the surrounding woods. Their is a large patio which is a wonderful area to gather day or evening. The breakfast is served communally and is excellent. The morning that we were at the Inn, we started with yogurt and granola parfaits, juice, quiche, ham, Belgian waffles with fresh peaches and whipped cream or with a delicious pecan syrup. A brownie with ice cream ended the meal.


Southeastern Minnesota's finest

4.6 on July 12, 2013

My wife and I love to bicycle the Root River trail whenever we can and this has been our place of choice for lodging for almost 10 years. Doug and Marie are like family now and the location up on a hill and the ambience of the structure are extremely comfortable and welcoming. Also wonderful multi-course breakfasts!


Another great stay at the Meadow Inn

5 on July 04, 2013

We have been coming to the Meadows Inn Bed and Breakfast for a good number of years now. Every visit has been outstanding. Marie and Doug are exceptional hosts and their breakfasts alone are worth the trip - but then again, so are their rooms. On this visit, we found that they had upgraded their kitchen facilities for even better service. We'll be back.


Yum

5 on June 30, 2013

Doug and Marie were superb host. Beautiful grounds and delicious food


Unexpected surprise

5 on June 09, 2013

Our first journey to the Southeast area of Minnesota and Northeast Iowa was delightful. To enjoy the scenery, windy roads for sports cars and artsy little shops in the Rushford area was very enjoyable. Meadows Inn was the perfect place to enjoy a peaceful time at the end of the day while enjoying a glass of wine, cheese and crackers. The breakfasts were outstanding and the friendly service made our stay one that we will always remember. There is no doubt that we will return to Meadows Inn on our next travel to the Rushford area. Thank you to Doug and Marle for making our stay so special.


Outstanding As Always

5 on May 29, 2013

Holiday weekend with friends at The Meadows was fabulous as usual. Doug and Marie are the most gracious hosts you will find, they make everyone feel right at home, including folks who've never stayed at a B and B before. The breakfasts were served precisely at 9am, excellent meals to hold a person through the day. We highly recommend The Meadows for one night or many! Northfield, MN


Meadows Inn - comfortable lodging, gourmet meal!

4.8 on November 29, 2012

Doug and Maria were very accommodating with our late arrival. Breakfast was amazing! We met a couple who has been coming there twice a year for over 10 years - that's how wonderful this place is! Meal time with the other guests is a joy - Doug and Marie made us comfortable and conversation always flowed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!


Secluded B&B

4.2 on October 25, 2012

Loved the B&B and the owners are wonderful. The only negative was the room we were in was next to another room and we could hear more than we wanted to through the walls. There is one very private room there that we would try. We highly rate the B&B overall.


Perfect place for R & R.

4.8 on October 08, 2012

Doug & Marie were wonderful host & hostess and made us feel like we were part of their family. The food was great. Such a high up, quiet, peaceful setting. If you want to just R & R this is a perfect settiing. There were birds galore and the rustling of the trees was very relaxing. Lovely large windows in the eating area to enjoy the view and very clean & welcoming. Would reccommend it highly.


Quick Getaway

5 on August 23, 2012

My wife and I live in the Twin Cities and celebrated our 1yr anniversary at Meadows Inn. We chose Meadows mainly because most of their food is locally sourced by Featherstone Farms and a wind-turbine orchard. Marie's preparation of the morning breakfast was fabulous and we loved the family-style breakfast. We also loved the late afternoon snack/treat of fruit, cheese and wine in the front entrance and enjoyed the laid back atmosphere. For anyone from Minnesota who hasn't been down in the "bluff country" part of the state, it's a must-see. My wife and I kept commenting how we felt like we were in a mountain state like Colorado or Montana. There's the scenic byway Hwy 16 that runs right through Rushford and a State Biking Trail that runs through rural towns all along the Root River. Lanesboro is just 10 miles away with a lot of quaint little shops. It was all-around a very fun experience!


Best B & B I have encountered

4.8 on August 21, 2012

Beautiful setting up in the hills, lots of trees, birds, creative landscaping. The most gracious hosts, Marie and Doug. The inn and the rooms are lovely as is the patio from which the incredible breakfast is often served, weather permitting. In addition to the best breakfast ever, on weekends there is a happy your at 5:00pm..


Great place! Great people!

5 on July 18, 2012

The food was absolutely excellent and the hospitality as well!


Our favorite B & B!

5 on July 08, 2012

Doug and Marie are the ultimate hosts! The service they provide is outstanding and, yet, they add that personal touch by sitting down with you and visiting over a cup of coffee or glass of wine. Their breakfasts go beyond anything we've experienced before. I can honestly say I have never tasted such excellent food as what they have served on both of our visits with them. We are grateful they have opened their home to those, like us, who are looking for a place to relax and forget the worries of everyday life for a few days.


We'll be back!

5 on June 27, 2012

Great B&B! Friendly inkeepers and the breakfest is fantastic!


Superb! Wonderful! Relaxing!

5 on June 06, 2012

The rooms were great. The venue peaceful among the trees, patio, fireplace for evening discussions. The hosts were the best. The food-excellent. I look forward to returning soon.


Wonderful weekend!

5 on June 01, 2012

Our first experience at a B & B. Meadows Inn was wonderful! Doug and Marie were friendly, helpful, and fun! We look forward to a return visit in the future!


Our stay at the Meadows Inn Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on May 31, 2012

We stayed in the Rose Room. It was really nice and clean. The breakfasts (more like a brunch) were out of this world!! We were so spoiled!! The proprietors were very hospitable and so very easy to visit with. We were also served homemade goodies in the afternoon. We can not say enough good things about this bed and breakfast.


Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast

5 on May 31, 2012

Atmosphere was great, food was great, Doug and Marie took great care of us. Awesome!


Meadows

4.2 on May 23, 2012

Great breakfast, great company. Room was beautiful.


Our first time...

4.6 on May 09, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and it was outstanding from the Inn to the innkeepers to the breakfasts. The Inn was beautiful and comfortable. The innkeepers were very helpful. And the breakfasts were first class and very filling. We didn't have to eat again until evening! We are definitely coming back next year.


Breakfast was best part

3.4 on March 13, 2012

The setting is beautiful and relaxing, but the towels, sheets, and toilet paper were not as luxurious as they could have been. The breakfast was fabulous and well worth the stay, but getting woken up to the sound of food being prepared in the kitchen below at 5:30 in the morning interrupted the sleep-in we had been looking forward to.


December 2011 stay at the The Meadows Inn B&B

5 on December 26, 2011

We had a fabulous stay at "The Meadows Inn" The Inn is very cozy and comfortable. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was fantastic!


Amazing Autumn Get Away!

4.6 on November 15, 2011

We arrived on Thursday for a 3 night stay. The late afternoon wine and cheese was the start of our wonderful time at Meadows Inn. Breakfast each day was a dining experience unlike anything we had ever before experienced. The Breakfast Dessert each day was a total delight. Thank you so much for everything!


Terrific Weekend in Rushford

5 on October 26, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at Meadows Inn B&B and had a fabulous time with Doug and Marie. We have stayed in B&Bs all over the country because we like to have a more local flavor when we travel. This was by far the most luxurious time ... with the wine and cheese hour in the evening to a scrumptious breakfast in the morning. Doug and Marie are o be commended for there thoughtful extras and friendly atmosphere. We will be back!!


The usual

5 on October 15, 2011

As usual, out stay was outstanding. Relaxing, good company, even better food and fun.


Fabulous Stay at Meadows Inn

4.0 on September 19, 2011

My husband and I had the best time at Meadows Inn over Labor Day weekend. It is a lovely newer home with a Tuscan feel. Our room over the garage was spacious and beautifully appointed. The hosts are lovely people. Deeply knowledgable about a range of topics and fun to talk to. From the evening wine and cheese to the beautiful, unusual breakfast fare, the food was all to die for. As a connection point to the wonderful Root River Trail, it can't be beat. Highly recommend.


Meadows Inn B&B

4.0 on September 04, 2011

It was a great week-end. The weather was excellent for biking, the breasfasts were super delicious and the hosts were pleasant and informative.


A very special place

5 on August 31, 2011

This is a special B and B. We have stayed with Marie and Doug for many years and their spirit and attitude continue to shine!


Meadows Inn B&B

5 on August 28, 2011

Meadows Inn B&B is a treasure in the Root River Valley. We have made it a destination site for birthday & anniversary celebrations for many years. The beauty of the location, the gardens, and the accommodations are beyond anything we've gotten at a tradtional hotel. The innkeepers are warm, friendly people who make you feel welcome the minute you enter the door. The food servered is way beyond the typical B&B fare. It is a wonderful place to go for a relaxing stay any time of year.


First Time B&Ber

4.6 on August 23, 2011

I Didn't really know what to expect with a Bed and Breakfast. I fear that Marie and Doug might have made it difficult to stay at anything other than Meadows Inn.


Peaceful & Relaxing

4.2 on August 03, 2011

A great weekend. One of the best B & B experiences we have ever had!

Innkeeper Response
I am a little bit confused. Thank you for your review and that you thought it was one of your best B&B experiences, but you only rated us 3 on the rooms, and 4 on the value and cleanliness. Do you have some suggestions that would improve your experience? Thanks, Marie


GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

4.6 on August 01, 2011

This was a wonderful B & B. The innkeepers, Marie and Doug go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. The evening appetizers are yummy and the breakfast is unbelievable. We decided we would go back to stay, just for the breakfast. It will be our "go to place" along the bike trail from now on.


Root River Biking Trip

5 on July 18, 2011

This was our third stay at the Meadows Inn B&B - - absolutely wonderful!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks! Guests like you make it a pleasure!!


Meadows Inn B & B is it!

4.6 on June 06, 2011

After staying in Lanesboro a few times, we found Meadows Inn nearby in Rushford and have gone there ever since. It's a very comfortable Inn/home in a great location for a special, relaxing experience and Doug and Marie feel like our friends. Whether sharing gourmet breakfast with others or having the place to ourselves, we always have a wonderful time.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks--looking forward to your next visit.


Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast Stay

5 on May 31, 2011

The food was the best we have ever had at a B&B! The portion sizes were perfect. Our hosts went out of their way to accomodate our tendency to stay up late, enjoying the fire they prepared for us, and then sleeping in a bit the next morning. Breakfast on the patio provided a great opportunity to enjoy the beautiful birds attracted by the fountain and feeders. We will defintely visit the Meadows Inn again and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends. ~~The Mohrs Sartell, MN


Clean Quiet Tasteful

5 on May 29, 2011

We have stayed at The Meadows many times. It has always been excellent. The food, decor, gardens, patio, woodland creatures out on the lawn in the morning. Marie and Doug are excellent hosts that attend to your every need. It is a beautiful place in the middle of a beautiful area.


Anxious to go back

4.8 on May 29, 2011

Marie and Doug were very gracious hosts. They made us feel comfortable from the moment we arrived. The evening snacks and Doug's homemade wine were a very special treat. The breakfasts were delicious!


Meadows Inn

4.8 on May 21, 2011

We had a wonderful experience. Marie and Doug are great hosts and contribute to a realxed and friendly atmosphere. The food was excellent and prepared even better. Watching the birds on the patio was was the unexpected icing on the cake.


Wonderful weekend

5 on May 04, 2011

Meadows Inn is a beautiful place in a beautiful location. The rooms are meticulously decorated and cleaned, and the little extras provided by Doug and Marie made our stay there a wonderful experience. They provide early tea and baked goodies before their elaborate breakfast, and they serve wine (that Doug makes!) and cheese at 5 in the afternoon. And when we got back from dinner, there were fresh baked cookies. We'll look forward to staying there again.


Great place to stay!

4.4 on May 01, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Meadows Inn in October 2009. We have stayed in quite a few bed and breakfasts, and I have to say, this is at the top of our list for many reasons. The bed was very comfortable! Doug and Marie make you feel right at home from the very start and were so gracious. I have more than one food allergy and they were so accommodating to my needs, AND the food was all scrumptious to boot! We would definitely stay there again if down in that area. Barb Mpls, MN


Great "country" getaway

4.0 on April 26, 2011

My husband and I booked two nights at the Meadows Inn B&B in April. While we were the only two there, the gracious hosts pampered us with champaign & cookies upon arrival, pre-breakfast drinks & treats, a three course breakfast, a cheese & wine happy hour and various yummy cookies after our day of adventuring! What a great couple and so friendly! I would go back in a heartbeat!


An exceptional visit to The Meadows B&B

5 on October 14, 2010

We had a wonderful visit to The Meadows. Our room, Kate's Salon, was beautiful with French doors opening out on to the patio and the valley of Rushford. Very serene. Marie and Doug were gracious hosts. Marie is an exceptional chef. I would suggest purchasing her cookbook. We were served wine before dinner and a lite snack. There was a fire going in the fire pit when we came home from dinner which made the cool Fall evening even more enjoyable. Coffee and a home baked snack at 7am and breakfast at 9, all very good. I have already recommended The Meadows to all of my friends. Thank you Marie and Doug

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the great review. We are glad you had a good time here and hope to see you in the future!


Wonderful

5 on November 26, 2009

Wonderful environment in SE MN. Exceeded our expectations of a small town B & B. Would definitely recommend.


Meadows Inn, Close to the Root River Bike Trail

4.0 on November 24, 2009

5 Stars is just not enough to describe the level of hospitality that we have received numerous times during our stays at the Meadows Inn. It is perfection. The beds are comfy and the rooms are elegantly appointed. The Innkeepers, Marie and Doug, are very welcoming and we always feel right at home. The grounds are beautifully manicured and we especially enjoy the Japanese garden and Koi Pond. You won't find finer accomodations and gourmet cooking. I can't even begin to describe the food! It'll knock your socks off! Overall, I give it 10+ stars!


Meadows Inn Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $165
  • Reviews (50) 4.7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5078642378
Top