Berney Fly Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
35 Reviews

Write A Review

FIRST TIME

4.4 on August 18, 2014

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at a bed and breakfast. the experience we had while staying here, will definitely make us not only choose Berney/Fly when we visit Mobile or near it. But it will make us now always consider staying at a B&B. Stephen was an outstanding host, he was always willing to accommodate and almost dared you to ask a question that he could not solve. Overall and because of our stay at Berney/Fly it truly made our 22nd wedding anniversary memorable.


A wonderful visit ....Like staying with an old friend!

4.4 on June 24, 2014

I found my recent stay at the Berney Fly Bed and Breakfast most pleasurable. The antique furnishing of the house were complemented with an eclectic twist.Steven was hospitable while also giving ample privacy. I found myself right at home when he joined us (my wife & I ) for breakfast.Steven is most knowledgeable about Mobile and made a wonderful restaurant suggestion.I look forward to my next visit to Mobile and a stay at the Berney Fly Bed and Breakfast.


A Pleasant Surprise!

3.6 on July 25, 2013

The Berney/Fly B&B was in walking distance of the downtown district of Mobile. The home is welcoming and comfortable with historical atmosphere. Thank you Steven.


Wonderful Trip

4.6 on April 16, 2013

We recently stayed at Berney/Fly and were very pleased with the accommodations. Everything is very convenient. You can take walks through beautiful neighborhoods. The rooms are lovely, and the back yard pool area is very nice. Breakfasts were delicious. The innkeepers were very friendly. I would definitely recommend the Berney/Fly to anyone staying in the Mobile area.


Spring Break Getaway to Mobile

5 on March 28, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights on our Spring Break Getaway to Mobile. The whole vacation exceeded my expectations. The great sandy beaches of Gulf Shores, the Bellingrath Gardens, the Festival of Flowers and the Battleship Park were worth the trip, but our stay at Berney/Fly was the highlight. Stephen went above and beyond any host we have ever had at a bed & breakfast. Twice he cooked breakfast early to accommodate our schedule. Each morning he cooked something different and everything was delicious. For the first time in my life I finished all the grits on my plate and even had seconds. We walked the neighborhood and admired the huge oaks and houses. Unfortunately, we stayed in March and couldn't take advantage of the vast, nicely landscaped pool area. We did eat leftover ribs out by the pool, which Stephen was kind enough to reheat for us. I can't imagine any better lodging alternative in Mobile for the price. What a value.


Tennis Sectionals 2013 (3) night stay.

5 on March 03, 2013

I stayed (3) nights in the poolside bungalow during the Southern-Combo Sectionals (Tennis). I slept very well and was delighted with the accommodations and breakfast. The Owner/host was very accommodating and always went the extra mile to ensure that my stay was successful. I highly recommend the Berney/Fly. Also, It is an especially excellent alternative to a traditional hotel for the business traveler.


Mardi Gras Stay

5 on February 21, 2013

First time at Mardi Gras the Hospitality was of the upmost highest standards the Host's were so great will Defiently be back. Thanks to Steven and Enoch Outstanding service


Feb 2013 weekend

4.8 on February 11, 2013

We lucked out and stayed at the start of Mardi Gras. Stephen was very helpful in alerting us to things to see and do plus good dining tips. The house is beautiful and the room perfect.


Great place to stay for Mardi Gras

4.6 on February 07, 2013

This was our second stay at Berney Fly and it was everything that we remembered it to be. The room was comfortable and clean, the breakfasts were imaginative and delicious. Steven was creative in accommodating our dietary restrictions, very friendly & helpful. The location is perfect for walking downtown. We will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Mobile.


Great BnB!

4.8 on October 23, 2012

My husband had checked out the website but being in a hurry to finally get out of town, we did not book ahead. We called Steven about 45 minutes away and were lucky enough to get the last room! He was very helpful in giving information about local sites and restaurants. Even though we have visited Bellingrath before, he gave us coupons and said we should see it in the fall. He was definitely right! The breakfast was delicious and we met some real nice folks from San Diego. Before we left, we took a stroll down Government Street to see all the historical homes. Beautiful area! We definitely intend to visit Berney/Fly again! - Pam Stephens


Review Berney/Fly Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on September 25, 2012

Just wanted to say how we enjoyed our six nights at Berney/Fly Bed and Breakfast. Steven was such a good host....he gave at lot of information of places to go, places to see, and places to eat. Steven even warmed up our leftover lunch for us that we brought back with us. We would gladly stay there again, Great breakfasts!!! Ron and Joyce Magers, Parsons, Ks


All male; just average B&B.

3.0 on July 26, 2012

Would be great for all male guests, they could have a blast at pool parties. I was only woman I saw there although they were nice. Very good location. Food is good -- they will cook vegetarian.


Delightful B & B

4.6 on June 22, 2012

Charming , witty, helpful host offered many recommendations which we followed that added dimension to our stay in Mobile which gave us a feel for the city beyond mere tourist attractions. Also, bike storage available in the pool area. Wonderful spot. Lee & Gail, San Francisco


The cheese grits were fantastic!

4.8 on March 07, 2012

My family is originally from Mobile and I was in town for a family funeral. The house is lovely from the outside and was only 3 miles from my family, so it was extremely convenient. From the outside, the house is a lovely yellow Victorian that opens up to a lovely space. The room was great (though a new mattress would be great), the bathroom was clean (with a clawfoot tub), the place was quiet at night, the guests were interesting and fun to chat with and the food was fantastic. Steve made his cheese grits for us and they were wonderful. Had french toast as well and everything was good. He's a thoughtful host who was kind enough to ask about the funeral. He made great restaurant recommendations and was an all around good innkeeper. It's a great place to stay.


The Best Bed and Breakfast

5 on December 19, 2011

Being Canadian my husband and I needed to get away from our harsh winter climate last winter. We found a little piece of heaven nestled in Mobile Alabama. Our destination was New Orleans but after coming upon Berney/Fly B&B our one night stay turned into three. This was southern hospitality at its finest. The innkeepers went out of their way to make us feel at home catering to our every want and need. Next time we will bypass New Orleans and head straight to our Alabama home at Berney/Fly B&B. We intend to make it down every year! Thank you for giving us our piece of heaven when we needed it the most. K&D Turnbull


A really great place to stay.

5 on November 22, 2011

My new husband and I are native Mobilians, and decided to forgo the usual hotel room experience in favor of something more cozy on our wedding night. The food was delicious, the host was absolutely gracious, and we seemed to discover new and more interesting things about the place every day that we stayed there. It's a beautifully decorated home in immaculate condition, and we can't wait to book an anniversary weekend stay there.


first time at a BnB

4.2 on November 15, 2011

This was my me & my wife's first time at a bnb, but we had a great time. We were there for 3 nights on our honeymoon. The host was more than helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit and also gave great directions! The history of the house was very interesting and though it was November when we were there and the weather wasn't permitting, the pool looked like it should be at a resort! Overall, had a great time in Mobile! If you find yourself in Mobile looking for somewhere to lay your head, look no further than the Berney-Fly!


Relaxing during the storm

4.0 on September 13, 2011

We stayed there during the labor day storm and had a very relaxing night sitting in the hottub enjoying the light rain. Next time we stay there it will be for a few more days. The breakfast was excellent.


Excellent experience

4.6 on August 08, 2011

This was our first time staying in a B&B, and it was wonderful, to say the least. The home and room were gorgeous, very comfy, and true to the pictures. The food was amazing, and our hosts were open and friendly. We felt very comfortable, and would highly recommend them!


A pleasant stay

3.8 on August 07, 2011

A nice B&B with marvelous style and a great pool. Beautiful location.


Great stay at Berney/Fly B&B!

4.6 on August 07, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Berney/Fly B&B in Mobile. The innkeeper, Steven, was very friendly and accommodating. The inn and pool are gorgeous! We had a lot of fun in Mobile and it was easy to get to Orange Beach! We want to go back for Mobile Mardi Gras!


Wonderful stay in Mobile

5 on August 06, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in a beautiful B & B. The home was immaculate and beautiful, and the grounds stunning. Steven cooked very tasty and interesting breakfasts, and was a veritable travel guide for the area!


Very dissapointed

2.6 on July 12, 2011

Just spent our anniversary at the Berney Fly. We were very dissapointed. The room was nice and the Innkeeper very helpful in area information...BUT...The main reason we stayed here is because of the "quiet" lush pool for relaxing. It was anything but that. We were hoping to relax around the pool one afternoon but when we got done sightseeing there were at least 25 people in the pool.None of these people wewre staying at the Inn.(figured that is why pool was green..too many people and not properly cleaned). There was a steady stream coming in all afternoon. We had the out side garage room and there was a steady parade of people going into next room. We assumed it was for a bathroom. We also had one of the swimmers open our door to come in. We would have had a smaller group at a hotel pool. The breakfast was also dissapointing. It was OK but we have had better breakfasts at hotels. We felt cheated on our stay. Not worth the $100+ that we paid. Would NEVER stay here again or recomend it to others. Try another B&B next time.

Innkeeper Response
During the first week of July, when the heat wave and drought was over, we were grateful; however, the impact of the rain on the pool was unanticipated. After several hundreds of dollars, the pool is clear and pristine blue. While guests stayed with us for three nights, one of the nights for a few hours,the guests relaxed alone in the sub-tropical gardens, which has two gazebos, 14 tables, 76 chairs, 7 chaise lounge chairs, on 2200 square feet of Kool decking surrounding a 35,000 gallons, 35 feet by 25 feet free style swimming pool, where the guests also swam in dim lighting under the stars of Alabama night sky. Next day, as the guests watched from their bedroom window behind unlocked doors, a missed opportunity to get to know local native and the other guests, a cornucopia of backgrounds, professions, and life experiences, who left by 6:00 p.m. The guests were so polite during and after three breakfast; they ate every morsel on their plates without complaining.


Everything and More!

5 on March 28, 2011

Immediately upon entry I knew the website pictures had not done this Inn justice. The information and service was the next thing to blow my mind. Walking into Mobile with limited research and knowledge on the area the Innkeeper provided me with perfect recommendations to make my stay in Mobile memorably perfect! I hope I have a chance to go back soon!


Excellent Choice!!!

4.8 on December 31, 2010

Berney/Fly provided a wonderful stay for our 13th anniversary. The home is beautiful and perfectly kept. The host were amazing both in conversation and directions. Both recommendations for dinner were spot on and did not disappoint. Breakfast was excellent and freshly prepared with VERY LOCAL ingredients!! As far as modern ammenities, the free WiFi was a plus and the OnDemand premium cable was a nice bonus. We were able to relax in the room without having to think of much. One final note, on our way home we received a call that we had left a rather valuable item in our room. Steven quickly offered to mail the item to our home. Stopped us from having to make the trip back. Thanks again.


Play golf and stay at Berney/Fly

5 on October 17, 2010

Berney/Fly is conveniently located for golf courses on both sides of the bay. We easily made our 8:30 tee times at Timber Creek and Magnolia Grove golf courses. The hosts of this fantastic B&B will fix you the perfect breakfast to start your day on the links – they will accommodate your schedule and get you out the door for that early morning tee time. It’s a quiet and relaxing place to rest before dinner in the evening either downtown Mobile or a short drive to some great seafood restaurants on the bay. The hosts will make you think twice about leaving when it is time to go home. A GREAT B&B experience.


Our first Bed and Breakfast Experience

4.6 on April 28, 2010

We just returned home from a wonderful 2 night getaway. This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience, and we were very pleased. We are young parents with a 9-month old at home. Although we enjoy family time, we really appreciated the fact that we were able to have a couple of nights away from our baby. Berney Fly was the perfect choice for us as they do not allow children under 18. This allowed my husband and I the quiet time that we needed. Our host Stephen was very helpful and kind. The breakfast was amazing too. We will definately be back to Berney Fly in the future.


Not Just a Stay, An Experience

5 on April 06, 2010

Very rarely does a visitor have the chance to immerse into the essence of a place, you will at Berney/Fly. Tell Steven your preferences and voila, he lays out an itinerary completely suited to your interests. The home is a step back into another time, replete with period furniture while maintaining the modernity we have come to expect. I drove down from Cleveland with my husband who was taking a contract job at the new ThyssenKrupp plant. After a rigorous search for a decent hotel at a decent price ˜ $100 (which I did not find), I searched B&Bs and chose this place specifically because of reviewer comments in regards to Steven’s insider knowledge of the area. I can say with confidence that I know more about the history of Mobile than I do Cleveland in less than two days time. We liked it so much my husband chose to remain there through his contract. Need I say more? Let Mobile and the Berney/Fly charm you.


First timers of B&B's

4.2 on February 18, 2010

We stayed for one night, but had a great time. we will definatly be back. one day was not enough. when we arrived our host Steve was waiting for us on the front porch. He was soo nice too us, being that I called him about four or five times that day asking him questions. I would have been ticked off, but he wasnt. Steve helped bring our luggage in and gave us a tour of the house. what a beautiful place!!! Steve gave us a few ideas to do that night and told us when we were ready to come back for the evening to call him up and he would fire up the hot tub for us. We had such a nice evening. In the morning he had a big breakfast cooked up for us. we all had a pleasant conversation with him. With out a doubt we will be back. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. Steve and the house were great. We are really glad that we tried it out, instead of going to a hotel. The price was good and the accomodations we great and the host was very nice. Sorry it took soo long to put this comment up Steve, but thanks again. My wife and I were so impressed with the whole experiance. we are definatly going to become B&B fans where ever we go. Steve & Tina Dufort


My favorite B&B

5 on July 02, 2009

Great rooms, great value, wonderful hosts. This place is a must stay and Mobile is a must visit!


No Need To Stay Anywhere Else

5 on January 16, 2009

Mobile is the best kept secret in the south, and Berney/Fly Bed and Breakfast may be the best kept secret in Mobile, (or maybe it's not such a secret there) but I can't imagine it get any better than this. The proprietors (San Francisco-natives I believe) love Mobile and can help you decide on what to do while you're there, and you won't be disappointed. It's one of my favorite places to stay, in one of my favorite cities in the country. My significant other and I, try to at least go there once a week, and always look forward to it. Do you self a favor and spend a weekend in Mobile, and stay at the Berney/Fly Bed and Breakfast. One day we'll do Mardi Gras there, but you gotta book it way way in advance!


Great Hospitality

4.6 on November 18, 2008

We enjoyed out stay very much, the privacy of the pool side bungalow suited us very well. It was a treat to have a swim every evening before going to dinner. Information on the area was appreciated, as were the varied and interesting breakfast menus.The location of the Berney/Fly allowed us to wander the area on foot and enjoy all that the historic district has to offer. Suggestions for dining, maps, even discounts for touist venus were great. We thank Steven for his hospitality. Terry & Corinne from Canada


wonderful experience

4.8 on April 17, 2008

The home was elegant but comfortable, the innkeeper was friendly and hospitable but not intrusive. The grounds and backyard patio area were most inviting and allowed us to have access to the whole property. The neighborhood was a wonderful historic walking experience. The room was nicely appointed. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.


B and B Victorian beauty

4.0 on January 08, 2008

My friend and I were in Moble to visit a hospitalized friend. What started out as a mission of mercy turned into a pleasant surprise of staying in this Victorian Beauty and going to Mardi Graus.Steven gave us so much helpful information on how to find all of the good eating spots as well as answering our questions about going to the parade. Our room was the one pictured with the huge bay window. The 6' claw foot tub was so relaxing after the long drive down. Our breakfast of plantana(from the back yard) pancakes, sausage and fresh fruit just made our visit the best. This was our 15th stay at a B and B and we were not disappointed. Thanks!


Excellent

5 on January 30, 2007

Very enjoyable. Steven and Enoch are wonderful people.


Berney Fly Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $229
  • Reviews (35) 4.5
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-251-405-0949
  • Mobile 1-2515991923

Visit Website »

View details

Top