Causey Mansion Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
18 Reviews

Write A Review

Great experience

5 on August 27, 2011

The rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean. The owner asked us what we wanted for breakfast and what time. All three breakfasts were homemade and delicious.


Causey Mansion - Fantastic in every way

5 on May 21, 2011

This place exceeded my expectations in every way. The service, the food, the comfort, cleanliness and the warmth and intelligence of the owners. It is close to the ferry and the beaches and well worth the price. We didn't want to leave.


Awesome couples/friends get-away!!!

4.4 on January 26, 2011

My husband and I just recently spent a wonderful weekend relaxing with friends at the Causey Mansion. It is a beautiful place and so comfortable and cozy. The mansion is immaculate and has everything you need. We had some delicious dinners within walking distance of the mansion. The Causey Mansion is decorated with so many lovely and interesting antiques, but also offers the modern conveniences of spacious bathrooms and t.v.'s in each bedroom. We would definitely love to return to the Causey in spring or fall to enjoy the grounds in full bloom!


The Governors' would be proud.

5 on October 31, 2010

From Belfast, Maine (The White House Inn) to San Diego, CA (The Elsbree House), Bed & Breakfast Inns have been our home for the past month. Some hide the afternoon baked goods (The Candlelight Inn, N. Wildwood, NJ) whereas others will leave the cookies out all night for midnight snacking (The Carisbrooke Inn, Ventnor, NJ). Some are in quaint, conveniently located sections of a city (La Reserve, Phila., PA) while others are in peaceful mountain retreats (The Coshise Stronghold B&B, Pearce, AZ) One of the very best across this land is The CAUSEY MANSION in Milford, Delaware. This beauty still holds the grandeur of 1763; a former home of Governors' Rogers (1797-1799) & Causey (1785-1789). With fireplaces in every room, this elegant & stately Greek-revival & Georgian-style home features marble fireplaces, intricate moldings and spacious bedrooms. We were welcomed like family & given a tour of the mansion & grounds by the hostess, Jeanne Connolley, who was cheerful, chatty, gracious, and down-to-earth. Our bedroom was large, clean, comfortable, and airy with tall ceilings which dissipated the humidity of the Delaware lowlands quite nicely. (We chose not to use the air-conditioner) The bathroom was gorgeously spacious with plenty of soft towels and any toiletry item you might require. Breakfast was outstanding, plentiful, and delicious~you won't leave hungry. If you recognize good value and want gracious & personalized service, the Causey Mansion will be a home you will want to stay in for awhile. ~~Drs. A. Wathey & W.C. Verica


It does not get better than this

5 on October 17, 2010

If you want comfort , great food, wonderfull atmosphere, interesting surroundings, and a relaxing place to stay,Causey Mansion is the place to be , you will be made very welcome as soon as you arrive , and wished you had stayed longer.Most definitly the best b&b we have ever stayed at.We will return for sure.


Lovely B&B

4.8 on July 08, 2010

My daughter and I had a few days to get away. We decided to try a B&B. Based on the reviews, we chose the Causey Mansion. What a wonderful surprise. It was like stepping back in time. The furnishings are beautiful. Everything is spotless and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. Jeanne is friendly and accommodating. She made us feel right at home. I will be heading back to the Causey Mansion when I return to Delaware.


Best Mini-Vacation EVER!!!

5 on May 03, 2010

My mom and I decided to stay for two nights at the Causey Mansion for a little mother-daughter getaway. From the moment we walked into the mansion we felt right at home. We stayed in the Sunroom - a beautiful bedroom with two beds and walls of windows overlooking the property - and it was just perfect! There was a little sitting area for mom and I to have a glass of wine and chat... the beds were so comfortable.... we could have stayed in our room the entire weekend and been perfectly happy! The breakfast Jeanne made us both days was absolutely amazing... the french toast is to die for! Needless to say, the Causey Mansion is definitely my new favorite vacation spot... I can't wait to go back!


Cheery, Clean and Comfortable

4.4 on April 28, 2010

Causey Mansion is a comfortable and enjoyable place to stay after a long day of exploring all that Delaware has to offer. The Sun Room was comfortable and quiet, and offered a luxurious bath in the evening, and WiFi. Breakfast was great both days: secret-recipe French toast with potatoes one day and ham quiche the next; fresh fruit and great coffee! Would definitely recommend a stay at Causey Mansion for anyone with plans to be in the area.


Simply Amazing!

5 on March 06, 2010

I treated 2 of my top sales people for 2009 to a night's stay last night. We stayed in the Sun Room which is truly a treat. The room is big, bright, cheerful, clean, and has great beds. The adjoining private bath with shower and claw foot tub is also huge. Loved the big, soft towels! Just so you know, the rates are more than reasonable for what you get. To tell the truth, they probably aren't charging enough! We checked into our room, then wandered around the entire place admiring the antiques and the other beautiful rooms. Then walked downtown (about a block away), did some shopping and had drinks at the local tavern (very nice place) before we enjoyed dinner at a restaurant 2 doors down from the tavern. After dinner, we walked back to our room, freshened up, then walked another 2 blocks via the Riverwalk to a local nightspot for dancing and drinks. All 3 of us were so amazed that such a beautiful place as the Causey Mansion B&B is located practicully in our own backyards. The grounds are lovely - you're right downtown, but feel like you're in the country. The breakfast was great, choice of juices, coffee, fresh sliced strawberries, crisp bacon and hasbrowns. Jeanne, the owner, also prepared some pancakes for us using our own mix (we sell gourmet food products) and I wanted the girls to try one of our new items. Jeanne had no problem with any special requests. She let me use the formal dining area to set up our new product line for display. After we checked out, we roamed the gardens and grounds outside. I will be booking this weekend getaway again next year for my top 3 sales achievers, and 2 of us are already planning to book anniversary weekends here! Can't wait to come back. LOVED IT!!!


Worth the extra drive from the beaches!

4.2 on November 21, 2009

My fiance and I and his two kids (8 and 10) stayed in the Sunroom for a night over the summer season. We would definitely choose this bed and breakfast on our next visit to Delaware, even though it is about a 1/2 hour drive from Cape Henlopen and Rehoboth, because we believed it was very reasonably priced for the quality and historical background of the place, the innkeeper was very personable and made everyone feel welcome, and the Sunroom has a spatious bathroom with both shower and clawfoot tub. Perhaps the only change I would recommend is to make the breakfast more gourmet/creative. It was basic staples (eggs, sausage, fruit, pancakes). However the innkeeper made sure we did not leave hungry! Looking at other bed and breakfasts closer to the beaches, they looked ridiculously priced for what you would get (which didn't look like much). If you have well behaved children and are looking for a wonderful but economical place to stay, try Causey Mansion. My stepkids loved it much more than a standard hotel!


Wonderful place to stay!

5 on November 13, 2009

Everything was awesome! Nice room, great food, everyone was kind, helpful, and friendly. It felt like staying with good friends.


Brilliant Place to Stay

5 on September 20, 2009

My wife and I have just got back from an overnight stay at The Causey Mansion. If you want one of the best places to stay in Delaware then this is it. It is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is as good as it gets and, if anything, the price is too low! Book this place as you just won't find anything better. We would definitely stay here again if we visit the area. It certainly deserves the 5 star rating from other guests.


A Perfect Weekend!

5 on July 27, 2009

Our stay at the Causey Mansion from 7/10-7/12/09 was our third in as many years. Along with several other couples, we enjoy the Mansion as our annual "weekend without kids" destination. Each time we visit, I am taken by the hostesses attention to detail and by the beauty of the home. The history of the inn and its contents are fascinating. Our group loves the feel of the small town and enjoys walking to one of several local dining options. The combination of spending time with friends and then waking up to breakfast that I don't have to cook is my definition of "A Perfect Weekend!"


Loved It!

4.6 on July 27, 2009

A wonderful alternative to the hustle and bustle of highway motels while staying in the Milford, DE area. My room (the sunroom) was large and bright, very comfortable; had private bath. Service by all present was wonderful. Felt just like I was at home. Will definitely stay here again when I am in the area.


Awesome Experience

5 on July 20, 2009

We were welcomed like family & made to feel we could wander around the spacious mansion & enjoy the art, decor and lovely grounds. Our every need was met & the hostess is so gracious & giving. All the staff were superb & made us feel more like we were part of the family. Eunice Duma


Perfectly Relaxing Get-away

5 on July 02, 2009

Alumni weekend event in nearby Milton 36 yo--on holiday with family (1 toddler) Military family


Can't Wait to go Back!

4.8 on June 29, 2009

Imagine that you have a rich great aunt, and she invites you to come and stay in her home. She invites you to walk and enjoy the grounds, and to make yourself comfortable in the formal dining room, the lovely sitting room, and the library. In the morning, she'll arrange to have breakfast ready for you in the informal dining room, so just make yourself comfortable and have a good time. That's what it was like to stay at the mansion. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the towels were so soft! Breakfast was tasty and comforting, and the grounds were just what my toddler needed. It was an excellent value, and I can't wait to go back! Perfect for our little vacation!


Great Place, friendly and very clean

5 on June 01, 2009

It was a wonderful place to stay. It was more like staying with family then a hotel or motel. The food was great, and the place was very clean. Will enjoy going back there year after year..


Causey Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $120
  • Reviews (18) 4.8
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-302-422-0979
Top