Efuru Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Service4.0
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
11 Reviews

Write A Review

Loved it....

4.8 on October 15, 2010

Loved this place, Lydia is fantastic, and the room we had was clean, cozy, larger than I expected. The area around the building was so much cooler than I expected. Good restaurants and close to the Apollo. Next time we visit New York we will be staying again with Lydia at Efuru


Wonderful place to stay

4.0 on July 05, 2010

I've stayed at Efuru for the last two years (2008 & 2009 in Sept/Oct of each year) I've visited NYC and am hoping to be able to do so again this year. I've stayed in the yellow room and the smaller room with the shared bathrooms on the top floor of the main house (I can't find their pictures on the website so it's possibly not up to date), and both suited me very well and the shared bathroom is kept very clean. Lydia, the owner, is lovely, as are the cleaning staff I met. Security in the building is good and anyone with reservations about staying in Harlem should let go of outdated notions of the area; Harlem is beautiful and easily my favourite part of NYC. The street where Efuru is located is very lovely. There are laundry facilities in the building for a small charge and the TV has a large number of channels (I think it's cable but am not sure). The beds are comfortable and there is air-con in the yellow room (and I think a fan, as well). The 125th St metro is very nearby which offers an express service down to the Times Square area, and I found this to be a much easier line to be on than previously when I stayed in the 116th St area which was a local line (ie. even though 125th St is further up the island, the service is much better and quicker as it is a major stop). The shared bathroom rooms also have a wee kitchenette which they share and I find it very handy to have a fridge. Lydia has always been very accommodating about me storing my (very excessive, ha) luggage with her after I've checked out/prior to check-in and also has a friend who can act as a driver for you out to the airport. It's the same price as a regular taxi fare but much easier to arrange as she knows him and they work together regularly. I'm sure I'll be back many times to come, and would recommend Efuru to anyone. Thanks to Lydia for such a lovely place.


Good place to stay

4.0 on November 08, 2009

I have been recently with my wife and three childeren to NY. I selected Efuru Guest House based on the reviews. Several persons told me that many locations are dirthy and dangereous, especially in the center of Harlem where Efuru is located. We were all pleased with our stay in the Efuru Guest House, very clean and nice rooms, no any difficulties observed during our stay. It is just five minutes walking from the subway which took us in a few minutes to NYC. There are food markets and restaurants close by. We took a Shuttle from Newark Airport, which was very convenient and good priced. The service from Lydia was correct. I made a good choice and recommend it. Succes !


Cosy, calm and a feeling of home

4.4 on December 16, 2008

The Efuru Guest House contributed to a very nice stay in New York. Not too close to crowded palces, you know that you can escape to your room whenever you want. The stove gives you the opportunity to have dinner at the guest house and whatever you want to eat. Right from the moment of booking the room, I felt like the Efuru Guest house staff is very well organized and trustworthy. This was affirmed by the clean and nicely arranged room and by the fact that we felt very safe in the house. Whenever we wanted to be see more of the city, the next subway station is only 5 minutes away (walking way). Finally, an awesome place to stay and to disover New York.


What a gem

4.2 on November 13, 2008

This is a fantastic spot: safe, roomy, clean and perfect for 3 people. It's just a couple blocks from the subway and on a gorgeous quiet street in Harlem. For our first time in NYC we couldn't have picked a nicer spot for the price. With all the amenities, and a great location it made a great place to rest our weary heads. Will stay here again and highly recommend it. Thanks Lydia!!


Beatiful place

4.0 on November 12, 2008

We stay 4 nights in both houses. Lydia was very kind and gave us valuable advice on many things such as restaurants, transport and routes. The area is very quiet and close to the lines of metro. You can reach midtown in 15 minutes. The rooms were very nice and the bathroom, even if shared, was appropriate. What can we say, enjoy in new York choosing Efuru.


Great place for an extended stay

3.8 on October 28, 2008

I stayed at Efuru for a fortnight in October 2008 whilst visiting NYC from Australia. Arriving in the middle of the night did not turn out to be a problem, as the instructions sent to me by Lydia proved to be easy to follow and accurate. In the morning Lydia gave me detailed advice on how to use the subway and recommended an itineray for the day which helped me find my feet in the big city and held me in good stead for the rest of my trip. My 'yellow room' in the main house was spacious, clean and stylish and the shared bathroom and kitchen were just fine. I later moved to another house down the street where I had my own kitchen and a shared bathroom. The room was clean and secure and in both cases matched the photos shown on the website. I felt safe walking to and from the subway both and day at at night. In the area I recommend coffee and meals at Settepani, for the art lovers a visit to the Studio Museum on 125th Street, and a night at the Lenox Lounge for jazz in an art deco setting.


This Lady is really rude!!!!

4.0 on October 16, 2008

I did not have a very good experience dealing with Lydia Smith. I had emailed my request to her she then replied letting me know the room i requested was available. She then said that "i should called her to make arrangements". I called her again and again she never answers her phone NEVER. I had read other review and didnt think that they all could be true but they are the women never picks up her phone. I then emailed her saying that "i had been trying to call her" and she then replied "oh why didnt i email". I explained to her she had "told me to call so that is what i done". She palmed me off saying call another number and speak to Tony. She didnt explain why i was calling another number or who this person was. When calling the other number i then realized it was a completely different apartment with a different rate. So i called her back asking her why she had given me this other number that it was her apartment i was interested in. She said that she now has someone else interested in the room. Ok ...its understandable that she has to let-out the room to who ever is ready to pay but she should of been up front with me from the beginning. I found her to have a very rude tone of voice. Lydia does NOT know how to do business its up to you if you want to stay in Lydia apartment but after reading other reviews and my own experience im happy im not staying in her apartment.


great place to stay

3.8 on September 23, 2008

stayed at efuru guest house in september 08 it was very clean and good value for money.it was also only a few minutes walk from subway .it was also near places to eat and a supermarket .


nice place

4.0 on September 09, 2008

I stayed with my family in August 2008. Very nice place to stay, not expensive and near to tube station. Lydia and his assistant were very nice with us. Bianca and family from Italy


Best stay in Manhattan

4.4 on September 23, 2007

Hi, Me and my wife stayed at the efuru guest house between the in aug 2007 for a week. This place is the best thing you'll get for your money. The guest house manager,Lydia, gave us royal treatment and directons of where to go, where to shop etc'. The surrounding is very quite and peaceful. It took us 5 minutes walk to reach the subway. I came with some doubts but left very satisfied. Josef


Efuru Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate ? - ?
  • Reviews (11) 4.1

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-212-961-9855
  • Fax 1-2129619855
Top