Le Petit Chateau Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful stay at Le Petit Chateau this weekend

4.4 on June 06, 2011

We found a gem in Hyde Park,NY. We were looking for a clean, comfortable B&B close to our intended visits of the Culinary Institute, the mansions, and a wine tour. We were only able to spend 1 night, but we found the perfect place. You will feel as comfortable here as you would at home - maybe more, if you don't have a private chef at home. Valerie was charming and Marina, our breakfast chef, was a delight. Don't book your time solid as we would have loved to try some of their suggestions. Close to everything but in a peaceful, private setting.


Good experience

3.6 on December 10, 2009

Comfortable bed, large bathroom-rhone room-excellent and healthful breakfast prepared by recent grad. of the Culinary Institute of America.


Our annual fall trip

5 on November 13, 2009

Amazing as always. Valerie and her crew were fantastic. Can't wait to book for next year. Plan to book early in the year to secure our dates!


Respite personified & gourmet food!

4.8 on November 13, 2009

Valerie, our innkeeper, really couldn't have made our weekend more perfect. The physical plant is warm and welcoming at first glance and continues to get better at every turn. She has a heightened awareness for detai & I plan to return again.


Le Petit Chateau Inn

4.6 on November 13, 2009

The inn was very charming and felt like home. The large living room with comfortable furniture, complimentary wine and snacks added to the experience. The room was good size and well decorated and equipped. It felt as if we were invited to stay in a family's home.


60th birthday celebration

4.8 on November 02, 2009

I stayed in le petit chateau and stayed with members of my family and good friend where we took all four rooms in the inn to celebrate a 60th birthday and what a celebration we had. Valerie, in the innkeeper could not have been more gracious and accommodating and we felt like we were staying in our own homes. We had a special dinner prepared by Chefs Michele and Sarah, that was superb and they were so engaging and gracious and it had all the perfect ingredients for a fine evening. We all had a magnificent time and my expectations for this celebratory weekend were fulfilled in every way. I would go back in a heartbeat.


France in Hyde Park

4.0 on October 28, 2009

Our stay was delightful....the staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful...The chef's meals were exceptional. It was truly one of the nicest two day trips we have been on. The setting beautiful, the rooms picturesque. Worth every penny.


Expectations

5 on October 15, 2009

Our accommodations were very convenient and exceeded our expectations in every way!


Le Petit Chateau Inn

5 on September 18, 2009

After our first awesome experience at Le Petit Chateau I knew it was the only place to stay when we visit Hyde Park. My family and I have returned many times and will return many more times. Valerie is a fantastic hostess and always provides 110%. The B&B is homey, inviting and the perfect location. Breakfast is always fantastic and something we all look forward to.


A most pleasant stay

5 on August 22, 2009

Le Petit Chateau, its accommodations, ambience, and service provided, quite properly must be rated as a superior B&B. Set in a rural area away from traffic noise, you begin to relax the moment you drive past its multi-flowered porch, and freshly mowed lawn to park. You enter into the morning eating area, with its great windows spilling light in and offering splendid views of the well-kept grounds. You can’t pass up tasting the cookies that are waiting for you on the sideboard. You notice the entire guest area is air-conditioned. To your left, you have the use of a large, comfortable sitting room, sprinkled with books (mostly on wine), and with carafes of wine (in ice water) and finger-snacks of cheese and crackers. Our spacious second floor room, artfully decorated in a wine motif, had a great king bed, lots of room, and a sparkling clean bathroom. As an extension of our room, our windows framed a panoramic view of a large country pond and a green meadow bordered by a low stone wall. We enjoyed, on our two-day visit, complete breakfasts, prepared dans le style de the nearby Culinary Institute of America - fluffy scrambled eggs topped with mushrooms in a hollandaise sauce, French toast topped with local berries in sauce, hot muffins, fruit, jams, juices and, of course, hot coffee. As important as the accommodations was the help we received from the staff, including the Owner’s assistance in getting us dinner accommodations at the CIA on short notice. You may be sure our next visit to the Hyde Park area will include staying at Le Petit Chateau. William and Priscilla Thoen, Ipswich, MA


four stars in my book

5 on August 16, 2009

Clean,comfortable. great service, and dining experience..quaint, romantic, quiet.. a great weekend getaway..


Wonderful experience

5 on March 23, 2009

Comfortable, great breakfasts, great hosts...will definitely return!


Valentine's Day

5 on February 27, 2009

loved everything about it!


charming B&B- quaint and elegant, but not overdone

4.2 on February 12, 2009

Even my husband liked it! Excellent service! I would highly recommend Le Petit Chateau!


winter weekend

5 on February 04, 2009

Spotlessly clean, cordial hospitality, centrally located, great breakfast, wonderful suggestions from owner.


Great stay

4.6 on February 04, 2009

Wonderful facilities, gracious hostess, and good privacy. Looking forward to another visit!


The Perfect Weekend

5 on February 02, 2009

We stayed at Le Petit Chateau overnight for my birthday. It was the loveliest B&B experience I have ever had. I instantly felt at home when I walked into the house, which is beautifully decorated, but instantly made me feel comfortable, warm, and welcome. We had a private lunch with Chef Eric, who was fabulous. It was both informative and fun, as we helped prepare the meal while talking all about food and cooking. Lunch was delicious, and the dessert Eric made was to die for. We stayed in the Champagne Suite, a lovely room with an incredibly comfortable bed, a gas fireplace that made the room extra cozy and warm, and a complementary bottle of champagne. There were fruit and cheese plates in the refrigerator downstairs for the guests, and other delicious snacks were available. Breakfast on Sunday morning was wonderful, served in the lovely dining room downstairs. Valerie and Eric were both such a pleasure to meet and talk with. I'm looking forward to returning for another weekend of pure relaxing bliss. I've never had a dining or hotel/B&B experience that has motivated me to write an on-line review until our weekend at Le Petit Chateau. It was absolutely perfect.


short, but sweet!

4.6 on January 28, 2009

While we only stayed one night, we enjoyed Le Petit Chateau immensely! Hospitality and food were excellent. We will be back!


bringing daughter to CIA to start college

4.6 on January 27, 2009

My husband and I had a great time, room was perfect, food was excellent, Valerie and Eric are great people to sit and chat with, the made up feel welcomed like we were in our own home, we will be back again and again


Lovely

4.8 on January 15, 2009

My boyfriend and I found the Inn Keeper (Valerie), her staff and the overall "Le Petit Chateau" experience warm, inviting and restorative. It is the perfect dwelling for a weekend get-away. While Hyde Park leave something to be desired, mainly the restaurants, we were ablle to take advantage of some of the local historical sites (ie. FDR Presidential Library/Home and the Vanderbilt Grounds) and found some classy eateries in nearby Rhinebeck. For visitors who are looking to send the lion-share of their visit in the B&B itself "Le Petit Chateau" will not disappoint.


Le Petit Chateau

5 on January 09, 2009

Valerie is always a sweetheart and accommodating. The staff is gracious, happy, and more than helpful. no better food anywhere! A must-stop!


Wonderful Surprise!

5 on January 02, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night and it was incredible. The house is beautifully decorated and very warm and inviting. The innkeeper was amazing and helped us with our dinner reservations, which is another great review in itself. This was my first time staying in a Bed and Breakfast, and this experienced ensured that it certainly won't be the last! I hope to return to Le Petit Chateau for another great stay.


Le Petit Chateau

4.8 on December 18, 2008

welcoming, warm, inviting, fabulous breakfast. very personal service!


Great experience

4.4 on December 15, 2008

We had a great Thanksgiving weekend at this little, cozy B&B. Valerie, the owner, is a wonderful person. We will be back there again!


Le Petit Chateau

3.6 on December 01, 2008

great stay


Perfect

5 on November 25, 2008

Beyond dreams- amazing- healing- fantastic- loved it! The meals prepared? FANTASTIC!


Very pleasant experience

3.8 on November 21, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay at the Le Petit Chateau Inn. Our room (Bordeaux suite) was nicely decorated and comfortable. The staff was particularly friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great.


Weekend retreat

4.0 on November 18, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Le Petit Charteau very much. The people were lovely. The food was outstanding. Our fireplace was a plus.


old world charm

4.8 on November 11, 2008

What a charming place right on a lovely pond- very close to all the local attractions, yet feels like your thousands of miles away


Romantic setting

4.6 on November 10, 2008

Highly recommend Le Petit Chateau for a romantic overnight. Perfect setting with exquisite bedding and fireplace. hot water abounds for luxurious bath. Breakfast lacked for nothing!


wonderful stay

5 on October 30, 2008

country setting with pond, relaxing, charming B&B with each room named for a wine region. Stayed in the Champagne room with a complimentary bottle of Champagne! Great food!


Le Petit Chateau

4.2 on October 23, 2008

Valerie was very welcoming to us. We had a great time here, and the view is gorgeous!


Le Petit Chateau

4.6 on October 22, 2008

The accomodations were very affordable. Staff was friendly.


Fun weekend

3.6 on October 13, 2008

Le Petit Chateau is located in a perfect spot. Food, Culture and Country. The Inn is a simple spot with wonderful breakfast and cheese/tea in the afternoon. Wonderful service with a comfortable atmosphere.


Chef's Retreat

4.4 on October 02, 2008

I stayed for 5 nights while attending a pastry class at the CIA. The accommodations were lovely, the staff attentive and the food wonderful.


Le Petit Chateau

4.8 on September 29, 2008

It was a pleasure to stay at this B&B - The rooms and more importantly, the bathrooms - were great. Nice people & great breakfasts!


Anniversay getaway at the Le Petit Chateau

5 on September 13, 2008

Le Petit Chateau is a lovely little bed and breakfast that we stayed at for 2nd wedding anniversary. The rooms are very well done and our room had a beautiful bathroom. Breakfast each morning was a culinary masterpiece, in addition cheese and wine was available when you felt like some. We will definitely be back for another stay!!


Le Petit Chateau Inn

5 on August 19, 2008

Set among 40 acres with its own lake, and very convenient to the country, this B&B makes a wonderful base for exploring the hudson area. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. Were proud to be repeat visitors.


Le Petit Chateau Inn

5 on August 19, 2008

Our stay was outstanding!


Le Petit Chateau Inn

5 on August 12, 2008

Outstanding Services


Weekend Charm

4.6 on August 09, 2008

We weren't sure what we would find when we arrived at Le Petit Chateau Inn. Well, everything was glorious. It's a warm and comfortable place, with attractively decorated rooms with charming touches and top amenities -- soft robes, special soap, fresh flowers. Most important of all, anything at all that can be done to make your stay more pleasant is the pleasure of the staff. There are 40 acres of tree-filled grounds and a pond that's a joy to watch any time of day. Breakfasts are copious and inventive, and the chef is a delight to talk to -- as is the owner. There's cheese and crackers on arrival, wine, fruit and cookies all day. It's all warm and comfortable and charming. And it's a convenient place to visit the area's highlights -- a half mile from the Culinary Institute of America, five minutes from the FDR home and Val-Kill, Eleanor Roosevelt's home, and less than 10 minutes from the Vanderbilt Mansion. It's truly value for the money -- and we're already planning to return in the fall.


Fabulous food!

4.6 on August 04, 2008

Chef very informative. Lovely setting.


Wonderful place

5 on August 04, 2008

Marvelous location, pretty house and guest rooms, big hospitality - we loved it!


Vacation

4.0 on July 31, 2008

The stay met my expectations and was outstanding.


Weekend Getaway

3.8 on July 28, 2008

My stay met and exceeded my expectations.


Le Petit Chateau was Grand

4.8 on July 21, 2008

Our room was sunny and clean. Many gracious touches. We were greeted with cheese and fruit platter and a glass of wine - the breakfasts were outstanding! The buffet was pleasing to the eye and the palate. Ad delightful experience.


A delightful stay - hated to leave

4.0 on July 04, 2008

Our two days at Le Petit Chateau were a true delight! The house and rooms are lovely and comfortable, and setting is simply idyllic. Sitting by the pond on a summer's eve, sipping a glass of wine, watching geese and deer -- what could be more relaxing! And the breakfasts were sensational, as one would expect from a CIA-trained chef. We hope to return again soon!


It was our first but it won't be our last!

4.8 on June 23, 2008

Last minute reservations let us to this quiet secluded gem just across the street from the Culinary Institute of America so convenient to fine dining. then the breakfast, prepared by a CIA chef was superb. We are looking forward to our next visit.


Quiet, Romantic Getaway

4.6 on June 18, 2008

We had a great time. The atmosphere was great. The cheese, crackers, and wine that was offered was pleasantly surprising. We felt very welcome and relaxed. Breakfast was phenominal. A++ recommendation. The goody bags were a great touch. Would stay again in a heartbeat.


Charming Hyde Park B&B

4.4 on June 10, 2008

Quiet and cozy in a beautiful setting yet minutes away from teh sites. Wonderful breakfasts & treats.


Great People, Great Food

4.4 on June 04, 2008

Everyone at Le Petit Chateau was very accommodating, especially when i had to unexpectedly stay a little later than check out time. The food was amazing and the lake next to the inn is great. I sat out there and read a book the entire day. It's literally down the street from the culinary institute and not far from FDR, and Vanderbilt mansion. Had a great time!


Delightful Gem in the Hudson Valley

4.4 on May 12, 2008

A warm welcome on a rainy Friday afternoon set the tone for a thoroughly delightful one night stay. Very comfortable bed and many thoughtful touches made it feel like home. Breakfast, prepared by Culinary Institute-trained chef and served by CIA student was as delicious and inventive as you might expect if you had your own chef feeding you. We will definitely make Le Petit Chateau "our" place when next we return to the Hudson Valley.


Wonderful Weekend!

4.0 on May 11, 2008

We enjoyed a Chef's Dinner here, staying in the Champagne Room. A perfect choice. While the inn needs to improve its curb appeal - we were slightly nervous when we pulled into the driveway - all concerns vanished the moment we entered the inn. You would think you were in a French county farmhouse: spotless room with comfortable bed linens in soft chapagne colors of white/cream/beige. We went to sleep with the gas fireplace burning, which added a romantic glow. Only minutes from the Culinary Institute of America, employess of the inn are either graduates or current students. Superb attention to detail at the table, beautifully set with fresh flowers, etc. The comfortable living room has complementary wine and cheese or soft drinks, cookies and fruit. An additional sitting room on the second level offers tea service, book and video collection, and a large television. After hiking or bike riding in the surrounding countryside, sitting in the Adirondack chairs pondside, watching the geese and heron, was the perfect way to relax. The chef's dinner was truly fun. The chef called us to arrange the menu earlier in the week. At the appointed hour, we found our way to the kitchen. Chef Eric was delightful. He was friendly, informative without being condescending. We had great fun creating a pasta appetizer, a delicious salad with a blackberry vinegarette, Indian style chicken and rice and a creme brulee with cassis sauce and mixed berries. Eric picked the wines, which were both delicious and reasonably priced. In the morning, a different chef, Nick, whipped up muffins, granola with yogurt, and asparagus with goat cheese omelettes. These were served with robust coffee and an organic local apple cidar. Forget the calories for the weekend. Le Petit Chateau is the place to go to celebrate special occasions, or life in general. We will be back, sooner than later.


A Romantic Getaway-France in New York

4.0 on May 07, 2008

I planned a surprise birthday over night. Le Petit Chateau was more than I could of ever expected. My boyfriend, who has lived in France, speaks French, enjoys good food and wine deserved to have a unique, special birthday. Valerie, the B&B owner worked with me to make this a meaningful and memorable event. A meal was planned by me and a chef from the Culinary Institute. Our sit down dinner was served at the B&B by candle light and wonderful French wine, chosen by Valerie herself. This Chateau is on 45 acres of land with a beautiful pond and great walking paths. Each room is named after a wine. Our room was quaint and truly beautiful, with a fireplace. This b&B is clean, well decorated and truly a wonderful way to get away and feel like you are in France. As my boyfriend said "this was my best birthday". Thank you to Valerie annd to both chefs Nick and Eric.


Le Petit Chateau Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $245
  • Reviews (54) 4.6
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +01-845-4374688
Top