Iron Horse Station- Inn, Restaurant, Tavern, Shops Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.2
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
166 Reviews

Write A Review

Nice area

4.0 on May 18, 2014

We had a great stay. We love the small town of Hot Springs. Everything was real nice from the shopping to the dining.


Wedding

3.2 on April 30, 2014

Rooms need insulation as every noise in the hotel could be heard from one room to another.


Outstanding as usual

4.8 on January 30, 2014

This was our third stay at the Iron Horse and our second trip up for New Years Eve. It is cozy, comfortable, and very peaceful...the perfect getaway!


Iron Horse Station is North Carolina's best kept secret!

4.8 on January 16, 2014

When I agreed to a getaway to Hot Springs, NC, a very small mountain town, I expected what anyone would expect from a small unknow place in the Smokies. However, I was overwhelmed with how nice the inn was and restaruants in town. Everything was well done and what you would expect in a much larger city. The food was great, the people were great, and the atomosphere was exceptional. Definitely hit the hiking trails and go to the hot springs. I would have given the rooms a 5 but it is important to note the walls are VERY thin.


Good visit... worth a try

2.8 on January 09, 2014

The Inn is a wonderful place to be staying, but a few tweaks to the service and presentation would go a long way towards making it outstanding.


Iron Horse Station in Hot Springs, NC

5 on January 03, 2014

Wonderful town. Wonderful food. Wonderful people.


Pretty sweet inn!

3.6 on December 26, 2013

The iron horse station is a wonderful place. It's connected to a restaurant and gift/coffee shop. Comforter had some stains, walls were paper thin, and our room was tiny but overall it was a great stay! Highly recommend!


Relaxed Overnight

4.0 on December 07, 2013

The bed was super comfortable! Slept great! Loved the ambiance and sense of history. Everyone was accommodating and pleasant.


Cozy getaway

4.8 on December 05, 2013

Historic hotel, friendly staff , great value :-)


Exceptional Value

4.2 on November 28, 2013

Stayed at the Iron Horse inn on my way back to Kentucky. Had a wonderful dinner and booked myself a hot tub and massage before heading home. Great way to end a vacation! Thanks everyone! Your the Best!


Quick getaway

4.6 on November 27, 2013

We really like making our overnight getaways to the Iron Horse Inn. The staff are friendly and helpful. We did stay in a room that was close to the dining downstairs and could hear in our room the wonderful musician until he stopped for the night which wasn't bad though. We will certainly return during the winter months.


Iron Horse Station in the Fall

3.2 on November 06, 2013

We had a girl's trip for a Fall weekend. Our expectation was very casual and restaurants & shops within walking distance. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in room Spring House 02, which had 2 bedrooms and 1 bath. It was located upstairs in a renovated building next to the Tavern. Room and bath was comfortable and clean-nice linens for the casualness of the town. Great dining experiences at Iron Horse Station and Magnolia House (fabulous chef!!!) and, of course, the diner for breakfast--twice! Went to the mineral baths and had mud and herbal wraps. All of this within walking distance!


Amazing!

4.0 on November 06, 2013

Loved it. It's adorable, unique, clean, homey & comfortable. I highly recommend it!


Historical Charm

4.0 on November 03, 2013

We stayed at the Iron Horse after 3 days of backpacking. Combined with the Hot Springs Resort experience of a mineral bath and massage, it could not be beat! Dinner was delicious and there was live entertainment to boot. After dinner we walked upstairs to our room and relaxed on the huge bed. We felt like pampered pioneers!


Surprise Birthday Present for my wife

5 on October 31, 2013

The room and conditions of the Inn were very clean and enjoyable thanks to the friendly staff. We enjoyed the sounds of the trains that went by with their sounds. It was like a town from the old west.


Iron Horse Station

4.0 on October 24, 2013

We went for a girls weekend and everything was better than expected. The staff was very friendly and everything was very clean.


Not for Sleeping

2.6 on October 23, 2013

The room is over a tavern so expect music and noise until closing time. The bed is more like futon mattress on a floor. At least that is what it feels like. WHat happened to the box springs? WIFI service was really bad couldn't even watch my Netflix on my laptop. No Tv in the room so bring something to read until the bar closes below you. There is a TV in the common room above the restrurant but the entertainers in the open veranda below drown it out. Great place to party I suppose. Not far to go when the bar closes.


We loved the inn!

4.6 on October 22, 2013

Loved the rooms, hardwood floors and the skylight. Really enjoyed the food downstairs and the Inn is within walking distance of the Springs.


Luxary step back in time

4.4 on October 20, 2013

Our stay at the Iron Horse Inn was a delightful delightful step back in time plus some luxurious modern plumbing luxuries. Beverly was extremely helpful in our vacation planning and replanning. We enjoyed the high ceilings with tin panels, the large jacuzzi for two with jets for weary travelers and the large, artsy bathroom sink. Although the rooms (bedroom and large bathroom) had no windows, the skylights added natural light. The restaurant offered plenty of scrumptious choices for food and wine, and the live singer/guitar player was enjoyable, though she was hard to hear in the double- story brick room. Our only complaint was that there was little privacy because of the thin walls and adjoining wood doors between rooms. It made us particularly inhibited at night. All in all it was a pleasant stay, and we look forward to our next visit.


Great place to stay

5 on October 20, 2013

Great little B&B in a great little town!!!


Perfect mountain getaway with walkable night life

4.6 on October 16, 2013

I love this little town! The iron horse was being built when I last visited and it's just amazing. Large dining deck downstairs, fantastic food and friendly, funny staff that extremely accommodating. Live music in the dining area and a little balcony seating area to view it all. The room was beautiful and the bed was so comfy. Never did make it to the actual hot springs so I'll have to return and I'll definitely stay here!


Great stay

4.8 on October 15, 2013

Perfect get away for weekend. Great service and the food was awesome. Highly recommended.


Great Stay for a Beautiful Fall Weekend

4.6 on October 15, 2013

Our stay at the Iron Horse Station was great. We loved the character of the rooms. They were a little smaller than we expected, but it didn't matter to us. The staff was very friendly when we arrived and I loved how it was connected to the restaurant.


Nice place

5 on October 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the station. Several of the reviews I saw before talked about the noise level. That was really not a issue for us. You could turn on the bathroom fan or use the white noise machines beside the bed and drown out everything. Really how could you expect a building that is over a hundred years old to be quite anyway. It was very comfortable and I would go back the next time we are in town. It was great to get away from our crazy schedules and just get out and enjoy the town. Try the spa too. Wonderful is all I can say on that.


Nice B&B

4.0 on October 14, 2013

We stayed for one night and the Iron Horse was a very nice place to stay. It's very close to the shops, and restaurants. We will be staying with them again.


skunks, trains, and the grease wagon; view of adjacent alley

2.2 on October 14, 2013

Deluxe room -- room was clean and tidy; bathroom the same. However, definitely not worth $100+/night. since the room is so small with no tv or wi-fi. The website advertises the Deluxe room as "looking out over Lover's Leap and the magnificent WNC mountains. The room provides great comfort with a grand view." My room looked out over an alley, garbage dumpsters, run down buildings, and parking lot. I opened a window for some cool, night mountain air. Trains on nearby tracks --- long and loud --- kept passing nearby until nearly midnight. 1 or 2 AM: a skunk the size of dog must have been messing around the dumpsters below my window because the smell was unbelievably overpowering -- almost like it was in the room. Too late to close the window. To cap it all, around 4 or 5 AM, a grease/waste truck pulled up under the window and --- with as much racket to wake the dead -- proceeded to empty grease hampers (I suppose) with all the noise of diesel at high RPM. Sink space is tiny. Shower was fine. Restaurant was adequate.


Wouldn't stay here again.

4.2 on October 10, 2013

No televisions in the room! You have to go to a guest lounge area. Also, there's no way to regulate the temp in your room. It's all controlled from the office. The heat was a plug-in space heater. Besides that, the service and food was great. But it was kinda like luxury camping.


Great place to stay in the middle of everything

4.4 on September 30, 2013

Iron Horse Station was a nice place to stay. It's clean and a great price. The room was bigger than the picture made it look. It's located right on the main street and lots of things are in walking distance including restaurants and whitewater rafting.


Our Honeymoon

4.2 on September 30, 2013

Gotta love the Iron Horse Saloon, great food, great people, great place, naked in a hot tub after dinner at the Iron Horse can it get any better


I great place to stay and I will be back

5 on September 29, 2013

David Bonnell


A lovely weekend in Hot Springs

4.2 on September 22, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely weekend at the Iron Horse Station in early September. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, spacious and unique. We didn't have a chance to eat at the restaurant, but I heard good things about it. For the weekend we were there, the Iron Horse Station had the best prices in town as compared with similar inns/bed and breakfasts, which is one of the reasons why we chose it. The location is also excellent, right in the heart of downtown.


One night before the hike!

3.6 on September 07, 2013

I enjoyed this quaint little hotel. The only problem was that the room I was in was over a bar and it was pretty noisy pretty late and I had trouble getting to sleep. But I liked the great AC and the comfy bedding and coffee in the hall. thank you!


Overall good stay at Iron Horse Station

5 on September 03, 2013

My husband and I wanted to take a small getaway for labor day weekend. The rooms were small, as to be expected, but clean. There is no TV in the room nor refrigerator. I think the value for the room was great, it met my expectations. We went to the Iron Horse Restaurant at the lower portion of the hotel, and had leftover food. This was early in the day, and we had a lot of food leftover that we didn't want to waste. Our waiter was kind enough to allow us to place the food in the big walk in refrigerator and get it anytime we wanted. I felt this was a true example of customer service. The only issue is that we had a street view room (207) which was beside of a restaurant with a band playing outside until approx. 11pm, this was on a Thursday and Friday night, and the train was right by our room which caused difficulty sleeping at night. Overall, it is a great place to stay in a small town and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to go to Hot Springs.


Excellent Stay

4.4 on August 25, 2013

Staying at the Iron Horse is an experience that my husband and I enjoyed. The staff was very welcoming and friendly both in the Inn and the restaurant. There are stairs to climb and no television in the rooms so know that before you go. We would return to the Inn and stay in the charming town again if given the chance!!


Iron Horse Station

4.2 on August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Spring Creek location and had a very nice stay. Being above the tavern was a bit noisy but it wasn't too bad.


nice surprise

3.6 on August 07, 2013

The Iron Horse Station Inn was a nice surprise! Clean,big comfortable bed,big bathroom with a jacuzzi tub big enough for 2...Check in was quick,a late checkout was no problem,questions about hikes in the area quickly answered and maps provided. No breakfast provided,no tv in the room (although there was a large screen television in the lounge area) and in some areas the Inn could have used some attention (rust in shower stall,dirt on ceiling vent). Overall a pleasant,comfortable stay, won't hesitate to stay again!


Great stay in Hot Springs

4.6 on August 07, 2013

Went white water rafting, an hour in a hot springs tub, and a great dinner with my wife and the Iron Horse resturant. Probably not a place for kids but a great getaway for me and my wife.


Loud late night

3.0 on July 22, 2013

Room 201 is next to atrium and resturant. At late night it can get loud. 11 pm. till 1 am. Tried to keep door closed in hall but people in and out kept it open.


what a great place and really cool town

4.0 on July 17, 2013

we had a really great time - this place is amazing and very friendly staff


Nice hotel!

4.2 on July 10, 2013

A pleasant surprise! The hotel was very nice and clean with friendly staff and extremely convenient to everything in town. We will definitely be back!


Cute and friendly inn

4.0 on July 10, 2013

Clean and cozy room, the hotel and inn staff were very friendly and accommodating. Definitely recommend for a getaway!


Iron Horse - Hot Sorings

4.6 on July 10, 2013

Very clean and cozy. Better than I has expected. Stated years ago, and ambience even then was warm an inviting, but even more so this trip. If I had to identify one thing to improve it would be the initial impression of the front desk person. He just wasn't very friendly, made poor eye contact, and never smoked at me. He was very efficient to be fair though.


nice place

3.0 on July 03, 2013

1920's building that has been updated. No TV , Phone or internet available. Sits above and opens to bar/eatery. Nice, clean smaller rooms. No individual a/c or heat controls but all was OK. Very little noise insulation and hall floors creek. Again, this is a 1920's building. Feels kinda/sorta like you are staying at someones guestroom in an old but fancy home.


Nice stay at Iron Horse Station

4.2 on July 03, 2013

Nice clean rooms. Restaurant has a good variety and the food is great. Personnel very kind and helpful. Would go back! Not for children due to size of rooms and noise level during the night.


2 night stay during Rally Weekend

4.0 on July 03, 2013

Great atmosphere! AMAZING food in the restaurant (filet was perfect)! We had a jacuzzi suit & the tub was big enough for the two of us (each 250lbs+). Only negatives were no dedicated parking for the hotel (parking around the corner in a public lot) and the WiFi signal didn't reach our room. However, we mentioned the WiFi issue to the manager who had no idea it didn't work there - so I have a feeling it will be fixed soon. Overall, a great place to stay & I would definitely stay here again!


Blue Grass Festival Get Away

5 on June 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Iron Station Inn. It was relaxing and a lot of fun. Everyone was so nice and friendly. We could walk through the town and never meet a stranger. The rooms were inviting and comfortable. We would definitley stay there again!!


Charming and historical Bed & Breakfast

3.8 on June 20, 2013

I didn't get a chance to eat there. My son and I arrived late and left early for a week hike on the AT. I really enjoyed the charm and history of the B&B. I would recommend and would return too.


Nice In The Middle of Nowhere

3.8 on June 11, 2013

I arrived late at night and my son, who was already there, had my room key for me. The old wood floors of my room (210) were pretty "creaky" but I wasn't there to dance. I jumped into one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, and I travel for business and have slept in hundreds of beds. The updated bathroom and shower were great! All in all, the Iron Horse met my expectations. I wish they served breakfast but there are diners close by!


Short but Wonderful Stay

4.8 on June 03, 2013

My wife and I had an overnight stay at the Iron Horse Station Inn and loved our experience. We had some scheduling conflicts and weren't able to get to the Inn until after 9p and the staff were so accommodating and friendly. The food and atmosphere at the restaurant attached were awesome! There was live music and very friendly staff. Finally, our room was very comfortable and just what we were looking for. Overall, a great experience!


Extremely friendly staff and so helpful

4.0 on June 02, 2013

The wife and I spent our anniversary there and was morre than pleased with our room and food. Will return in the fall.


Good value

5 on June 01, 2013

Great place to stay in Hot Springs


Wilkerson Weekend

4.6 on May 28, 2013

I loved everything about it - from the time we checked in to out! Everyone was so friendly and helpful and the wait staff at the Tavern were spectacular!!


A great hotel in a great city!

4.4 on May 22, 2013

Hotel and town are very nice, great place to slow down and enjoy the things that make life special. The staff was the best of any hotel I've ever stayed at, and that includes some 5 star hotels - they don't just kiss your butt but rather genuinely care about your stay there.


Great room, great place, but bring ear plugs

4.2 on May 20, 2013

The Iron Horse Station Inn itself was great. The rooms are beautifully finished with hardwood floors, with giant windows and a great bathroom. My room had a nice claw foot tub in addition to a shower. There are great additions to the Inn with an attached restaurant and contiguous boutique, shop and cafe with ICE CREAM! and coffee. The only drawback to the Inn is its location relative to the train crossing. The train is loud and went through a little after midnight and then again at 3 am. The train sounded like an industrial sawmill times ten. Even with the white noise machine provided by the hotel, the train was overwhelming. I had a poor night's sleep.


A Great Adventure

5 on May 19, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the Iron Horse Station we knew we were in for a treat.. Beverly made us feel right at home and the place is a real lesson in the history of the hot springs,trains, and the trail experience... The room was clean and well decorated...the bed comfy. The restaurant excellent, a real treat! The balcony a great surprise and so enjoyable. The shops and deli an added enjoyment. Then the Wilhelm Brothers topped off Saturday night. Beverly, Hannah and Kim were so helpful in giving us touring information and they made us feel right at home. The hot springs were a littl disappointing as we had thought they were an onsen style hot springs, but then again this is not Japan.... The trains rolling through were the big treat. We counted one at about one thirty a.m. that had more than one hundred cars behind it. (I actually did not count them) We are already looking at a return trip.....Thanks ladies for making our stay so much fun!


Mother's Day Weekend

3.4 on May 18, 2013

Great location to stay when visiting Hot Springs. Everyone was friendly and helpful. There is no tv in the rooms but their wifi works great compared to other places in the area.


Great stay, excellent location in a great town

3.2 on May 15, 2013

Our wedding guests stayed at the Iron Horse Station in May 2012 and had nothing but great things to say about it. For our first anniversary, we decided to give it a try and were very pleased. There were some issues with the air conditioning, making our room very hot at night. Also, despite staying two nights, our room wasn't cleaned for some reason. Also, I forgot my hair dryer, and the one provided at the front desk didn't work, so I would advise the hotel to invest in a few good hair dryers for forgetful travelers like me. Overall, a great stay. Beverly and her staff are always so friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.


perfect weekend getaway!

4.6 on May 15, 2013

This is our second stay at the Iron Horse Inn and I know we will be back. The rooms are simple but lovely and the atmosphere is so relaxed. It feels like a small inn in southern Europe, in that it has lovely comfortable common areas. The restaurant and live music are awesome. The building seems very lovingly restored. In the hallways we feel as if we are in a stately traveler's lodge from the 1800s.


Great stay in Hot Springs

4.6 on May 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night this spring. Easy check-in. Small, charming room. Restaurant downstairs with good food and super friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.


Romantic getaway

4.4 on May 13, 2013

We had a great date night away at Hot Springs and enjoyed our stay at Iron Horse Station. The room and bathroom were very large and clean and the bed very comfortable. The hot tub was a great way to relax. It is rather an expensive hotel for such a small town though. We enjoyed our meal at the Iron Horse station restaurant too and the upstairs lounge with coffee facilities for guests of the hotel was an added bonus.


Nice stay and friendly staff!

3.8 on May 13, 2013

Great stay in beautiful Hot Springs. The rooms are spacious and clean, a bit noicy late evenings. Staff is doing and outstanding job, very friendly too! Will come back!


We loved The Iron Horse in Hot Springs

5 on May 08, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a "Pullman" room in the section that was a 1929 hotel. The hotel has been beautifully restored with so many 1929 featues retained: stamped tin roof, original doors, working transoms, wood floors, period type furniture. The 1929 level of soundproofing and proximity to the railroad tracks only added to the ambiance. The bathrooms were efficient and sufficient and rooms clean. We would love to stay there again.


Iron Horse

5 on April 30, 2013

Had a great stay. The food was amazing!


Quintessential Hot Springs

4.4 on April 16, 2013

I loved this truely historic Iron Horse Inn. The only snag to sleeping were the trains that went by directly next to the building at two times during the night. I have stayed there before and will do so again.


My first stay

3.4 on April 10, 2013

Room clean and comortable. But the following needs to be addressed: 1- A small cable TV and radio would be nice for each room. 2- A small referigerator and microwave. 3- News papers made available in the main TV room. 4- Coffee ready by a spicific time, more than one pot when rooms are all ocupied. 5- At least a continental breakfast. 6- Room walls are paper thin- You can hear EVERYTHING happening next door and via the HVAC vents. But the work done and the experience was good.


Weekend with Friends

4.8 on March 13, 2013

A friend and I met for a few days in Hot Springs, NC to catch up on each other's families and lives since law school. On the recommendation of my hiker husband, we stayed at the Iron Horse Station Inn. The rooms were delightful and the hostess was very helpful in suggesting places to visit. The Magnolia Hotel dinner was superb but so was the lunch at the Iron Horse. The Tavern across the street had several local brews. The outfitter down the street gave us a hiking map and suggestions for a great afternoon.


review of Iron Horse Station

4.6 on January 23, 2013

I wish rooms were more private...room/bathroom set up not great.


Best Kept Secret!

4.8 on January 17, 2013

We love Hot Springs, NC! We are planning to come back and stay at the Iron Horse Station again in a few months! The tavern below has some of the best food and you can literally walk down the hallway and down the stairs and be seated. We were a little concerned about the privacy and noise, but seeing as we booked during New Years, above a tavern, we completely understand the commotion of the night. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and the room was gorgeous. I suggest getting the room with the big shower. If you are looking for a cosy, small, hiking, artful town then Hot Springs is the perfect get-a-way. It's only 40 mins to Asheville and worth the drive!


Will stay again

3.4 on December 27, 2012

We had a lovely day at the spa and enjoyed coming back to the Inn and having dinner and relaxing. I would encourage the heating in the rooms to be better in reference to knowing how to control room temp. Even though it was very cold outside the rooms were unbearable to sleep in at night because it was so hot. The heat was very dry. There also was no coffee in the morning. The can was empty and there was no way of finding anyone to help make any. Overall the stay was great and loved the experience.


A Unique and Charming Place to Stay

4.0 on December 22, 2012

The host was very friendly and helpful even though we arrived well into the evening. The room was very comfortable and clean. The claw foot bathtub in the bath made for some luxurious soaking, and there was even a separate shower. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. One note, however: You really are right next to a railroad track and trains run until midnight.


Loved it!

4.8 on December 13, 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the hotel - the beers on tap in the restaurant were great too! Two thumbs up!


Fun place!

4.6 on November 21, 2012

Stayed in one of the Spring Creek Tavern rooms. Enjoyed the room and the location was great! Will stay here when I come back to Hot Springs.


Great Getaway

4.2 on November 17, 2012

What a great, cozy weekend getaway! The entire place was clean, comforting and very quaint. We definitely plan to come back.


Great Find!

4.4 on November 08, 2012

This was our first visit to Hot Springs. Our stay at Iron Horse Station was great! The historic inn was very clean and quaint with hard woods and pressed tin ceilings. The train ran several times a day directly across the street which added to the ambience. The food in the restaurant was very good, the service was great! There is also a very nice gift and coffee shop located within the inn as well. The Appalachian Trail goes through the town and there are several nearby access points to do day hikes with breathtaking river and mountain views. We will definately be back!


Old Inn has charm

3.4 on October 30, 2012

Rooms were charming and the old feel was kept intact. More table or dresser space to set things on would have been nice. Also, ants were living under the old floorboards and they invaded one of our suitcases.


Great get-away! Off the beaten path.

5 on October 26, 2012

Enjoyed visiting the Inn, the restaurant, and the gift shop. The restaurant was excellent and provided live music which was perfect. Learned about the history of Iron Horse Station. Really loved our stay!


Iron Horse Station

3.4 on October 24, 2012

We actually stayed in the rooms accross the street above the Springs Creek Tavern. The room was extremely clean and had a king size bed. The only bad thing was the shared bathroom. There was a wedding the weekend we stayed and the bathroom stayed busy the whole time we were there. A little inconvienent but not enough to make me not want to come back.


What a Stay

2.6 on October 23, 2012

Bad Stuff The room photos are very missleading regarding size. our room was baren of pictures. The room walls were paper thin where you could hear everyone in the Tavern below. The restaurant was full of grill smoke... kind of made you feel and smell like you were barbqing your dinner. There was no private bath in each room as stated in the description. The Inn Keeper was friendly, however very good at convincing you that there really was not a problem. Good Stuff The beds were very comfortable.


Fantastic!

4.8 on October 20, 2012

Stayed at Iron Horse Station for a short getaway and came away impressed. If you're looking for a place to disconnect and recharge without the distraction of technology, this is certainly the place. Of course, they do have free WiFi if you can't completely break away. Would definitely stay at Iron Horse Station again.


We love Hot Springs, the Iron Horse and Spring Creek Tavern

5 on October 17, 2012

My wife and I have declared Hot Springs to be our second home, but we'll never buy a second house there. Thanks to the Iron Horse and Spring Creek Tavern, two great restaurants/bars under the same ownership right in the middle of the coolest tiny town in the world, we have a place to stay and eat every time we come to town. Buying a second home makes no sense when we can get a room from Jim right in the middle town for very little money and, no matter if you end up above the Iron Horse or above Spring Creek Tavern, great food and craft brews are just a walk down the stairs from your room. The rooms are always clean and are well furnished and everyone in town is always super nice. Must be that fresh country air and spotty cell phone service. If you're expecting the Ritz Carlton you'll be sorely disappointed, but if you want to hang with the hippies, hikers and bikers you'll have a great time and Jim will be a gracious host. We'll be back many, many times.


Loved it!

4.2 on October 04, 2012

i'm Nanci, i came up for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised ! the room was adorable and the hospitality was "just like home".... if i ever come back to this area i will stay at Iron Horse again:) i didn't eat there so i can't really rate it.


Perfect place for a relaxing weekend

3.6 on September 26, 2012

I was surprised to have one bathroom for all rooms. But even more surprised that even with a full house, I never had to wait to use it. It was perfect to stay there for the music fest-close to the campground but much warmer!


Only place I would stay in Hot Springs!!!!

5 on September 25, 2012

I have traveled to Hot Springs several times before-this is the best place to stay ever! It is an older building that has been renovated, with the perfect balance between the historic appeal and new conveniences. The rooms are clean and the service is fabulous, not to mention, right upstairs from the best restaurant ever, the food at the iron horse is just as amazing as the hotel!


Great get away

4.2 on September 24, 2012

We had a great stay the rooms were clean and nice. the food was very good and also enjoyed the entertainment.


Excellent Service

4.2 on September 15, 2012

Excellent service from the moment I walked into the inn. Jim went out of his way to make sure that I got all of my phone messages as there is very little cell phone service in that area of the country. he actually walked across the street while I was at the bar to deliver a message. Rooms were very clean and made up tastefully. I highly recommend this B&B.


Great Value, some things lacking

3.4 on September 07, 2012

Loved our room, loved the common area with TV and convenient bar/restaurant downstairs. Staff was friendly, but innkeeper and housekeeper were difficult to find at times. We stayed for 3 days and our room did not get cleaned once, even though we requested a room freshen our 2nd day of staying. Would not recommend for families, as the walls are thin and we heard a little more than we wanted from adjacent rooms! Would stay here again though, loved the great value and the fact that the Iron Horse is not your typical chain hotel.


Love Hot Springs

3.6 on August 26, 2012

The food at Iron Horse Station Inn was pretty unimpressive. However, the bed in the room was unbelievably comfortable and it's a beautiful place with a good open area with a big TV where you can gather if there is more than one room in your party. The bathroom and room were not cleaned (i.e. bed was not made, sink wasn't really cleaned off) every day, but they did give new towels, etc.


Great Place in Hot Springs

4.2 on August 25, 2012

Great place in Hot Springs, NC. Especially after hinking. Excellent service and the food downstairs was good too. Really neat to have books available instead of TV.


Good for the money

3.6 on August 23, 2012

Iron Horse Station is two beautifully old restored buildings with quaint rooms and comfortable beds. The people are very attentive, helping whenever they can with whatever you need. Some of the rooms are somewhat noisy when morning arrives and traffic begins


'Best birthday ever'

4.8 on August 15, 2012

My husband and I got a room in the inn to celebrate his 50th birthday. As with most people who have ever been there, Hot Springs is a special destination for us. Eight of our close friends from Asheville joined us for dinner in the restaraunt. The room was charming. The bed was comfortable. The jacuzzi was a treat. The staff (especially the house keeper, Deborah, and Beverly at the front desk) was very friendly and accomodating. My husband (who is not known for his enthusiasm) said at the end of the weekend that it was his 'best birthday ever'. If I could go back and do it all again, I would stay at the Iron Horse Station, in the same room - #213.


nice jacuzzi room

5 on August 14, 2012

It was over all good experience. The owner of the Inn was very friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi room is highly recommended.


Iron Station Has Character & Unique Charm

4.2 on August 05, 2012

Loved the way the building has been perserved. Creates an atmosphere unlike any other. Conducive to our 36TH wedding anniversery. The minerial water jacuzzi from 10PM - 11PM was excellant. We are thinking of coming back in two weeks for more of the same "R&R". John & Susan, Valdese


A great weekend away

5 on July 14, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Iron Horse Inn twice now over the past few years. The owners are always very pleasant and accommodating, the rooms are immaculate, and the entire stay is always very pleasant. The small tavern/restaurant has wonderful food, great local music and a friendly wait staff. The town is small and very quiet, which is perfect for a relaxing weekend getaway. Take the time to go hiking and explore the area, especially Paint Rock! We will definitely be back the next chance we have!!!!


Great Value!!

4.6 on July 13, 2012

My stay was an excellent experience and far exceeded my expectations. The value is great and I would stay there again.


Excellent Get-away Location

4.2 on July 09, 2012

Wonderful location, relaxed friendly small town with all options we needed. Our room was on main street and over looking creek (SCT#1) very nice! Enjoyed Salmon dinner at restaurant and wide range of beer choices at the Tavern. Walked to all parts of town, everyone was helpful. The roads to and from Hot Springs were also enjoyable. Wish we had more time than just one night. 7/4/12 I will try to make it back again. from IL


Lovely spot in the mountains

4.6 on July 08, 2012

Our stay was wonderful and the staff were friendly and helpful. Clean, well appointed and very relaxing!


Nice hospitality

3.4 on July 02, 2012

we enjoyed two nights at the Inn and spent the days visiting the area in the mountains.


Great location in the middle of nowhere.

4.8 on June 24, 2012

Very accomdating to our Motorcycle group, met all of our needs, would stay again!


Very enjoyable

4.4 on June 24, 2012

The size of the rooms was good, the cleanliness was very good and overall Iron-Horse Station was a very nice place to stay. I would definitely recommend it.


Wonderful Stay at the Iron Horse

3.8 on June 20, 2012

The Iron Horse is a unique, cozy place to stay in Hot Springs, NC. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've been on, and I loved the atmosphere. The sitting area with the TV at the top of the restaurant stairs was a great place to hang out. Just coming off of 5 days of kayaking and primitive camping, this place was a little bit of luxury to ease myself back into civilization. The Gilchrist and Soames amenities were a nice touch. The hotel can be a little loud at times with the train going by, but I will definitely be back.


Cozy and relaxing

3.2 on June 19, 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Nice to get away from tv, phones, and distractions. Take advantage of the earplugs if you are a light sleeper!!


Rodger French

4.2 on June 18, 2012

I have stayed at the Iron Horse Station a number of times and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Hot Springs, NC area.


Stay at Iron Horse

3.0 on June 15, 2012

Iron Horse Inn definitely has the market in Hot Springs. While I knew the town was small, I did not know it was that small ... Besides B&Bs, Iron Horse, is really your ONLY choice. I was very disappointed that the people at the front desk knew no information about hiking (uh, the Appalachian Trail is a three minute walk from your hotel) and were extremely unhelpful providing us with directions, details, etc. I expect more from people working at a hotel.


Awesome inn-- completely recommend this place!

4.6 on June 07, 2012

We went up to Hot Springs for a wedding, and chose this Inn because of the affordable pricing. The room we got had a king bed, soft, comfortable sheets and a relaxing atmosphere. The only drawback was that on the hall of four bedrooms, there was only one bathroom so we all had to share. This was surprisngly not an issue. Everyone was coming and going at different times so there was never a line or grouchy guests. The staff at the Iron Horse were great. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. By the way-- if you're hungry, try the spicy black bean burger at the Inn's restaurant. Affordable and absolutely delicious!!! The Inn has a great selection of microbrews on tap too... We plan to return!!


Loved it!

4.8 on June 03, 2012

We were sadly there just one night in late May, but absolutely loved our stay! Charming rooms, GREAT food in the Tavern, and located in the center of everything! We will go back!


Laid Back

3.6 on June 02, 2012

Cool to sit upstairs on the couch watching the flat screen when folks are eating downstairs. Town is quaint & you can walk to all the stores &the other restraunts. AT runs right through town & a lot of interesting trekkers stop here on their way through. Food is good and so are the prices. Architecture of building is nice. TV in room would be a bonus but not a big deal. Blue Heron Whitewater rafting in Marshall is reccomended. Max Patch is not far and worth the trip. Stay here and do aday trip to Asheville as an alternative to staying in Asheville.


Great Bed & Breakfast in Hot Springs, NC

4.6 on May 23, 2012

Spent 6 nights at Iron Horse Station - hiked the surrounding trails, went white water rafting. The rooms were nice and a great value. The restaurant had an excellent menu and dinner the 5 nights we ate there was very good, service was outstanding. We would definitely stay at the Iron Horse Station on our next trip to North Carolina.


First Timers to Hot Springs

4.0 on May 08, 2012

My husband and I were so eager to visit Hot Springs and stroll down the famous street also known as the Appalachian Trail. We wanted to spend the night in the cabins down the street, but didn't realize you had to book way in advance for them. So I found the Iron Horse Station as a perfect back up. We appreciate old rustic buildings with historic backgrounds. We easily made reservations online and the lady that checked us in was quite welcoming. I loved the wide staircase that led us to the rooms and the openness of the second floor. The walls and windows were quite thin, as we could hear everyone's conversation whether they were next door or down on the street. The restaurant is conveniently located around the corner and has a great selection of finger foods and beer. The Iron Horse Station Inn provides a great little taste of city living in a camping/hiking environment!


Nostalgic Experience of Days Gone By

4.4 on April 13, 2012

Quaint. historic and nostalgic place to stay! Wonderfully restored to it's original beauty. I enjoyed opening the window at night and listening to the sounds of the town. Yes, the hotel is located near the train tracks however, the sound of trains passing through contributed to my overall enjoyment of our stay. I would highly recommend staying here and would love to go back myself!


Iron Horse Station-Inn - a brief overview

3.0 on March 15, 2012

Have wanted to stay here for quite awhile after a coworker stayed there last year - very familiar with the Hot Springs area as we pass through it numerous times a year while on a motorcycle. Found the layout and decoration of the common areas on the 2nd floor as well as the room very well done. Linens and especially the comforter were heavenly - they're lucky that the comforter didn't find its' way home with us! Bathroom decor was very modern - only issue with it was that the one night we stayed, the water temperature in the shower would vary from scalding hot to freezing cold in just seconds - numerous times during a shower - possibly something to do with the restaurant operation at night? Didn't observe the issue the next morning. In addition, we retired early that night around 9ish and for the next 2+ hours was subjected to a repetitive LOUD BANGING from somewhere nearby the room - so loud one could feel it and made falling asleep extremely difficult. Fortunately it ceased a little after 11 PM. This brief stay was a birthday present to my wife and we both enjoyed it - loud noises aside!


An Awesome Getaway!!

4.0 on March 05, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 days in Hot Springs at the Iron Horse, we absolutely loved it. We wanted quite time, good food and comfortable room. The Iron Horse was perfect. We plan to add it to our annual get-away for renewal & recharging!!!


ABSOLUTE AWESOME PLACE TO STAY

4.0 on February 28, 2012

My husband and I make an annual trip to Hot Springs every February but this year was the first time we stayed at the Iron Horse Station Inn and it was fabulous. The style was so neat and you could just fill the history behind the Inn. We also loved how it joined to the restaurant below made for a great weekend stay. Will definately be staying there again and again.


Jacuzzi tub is divine.

3.6 on February 26, 2012

The jacuzzi tub was divine. The bed was a little stiff. Overall, enjoyable.


Fun place to stay

3.6 on February 15, 2012

It's old so the walls are thin and the rooms small. However, it is very clean and the best location in town. We had a blast there on a valentines day stay. I would stay there again. You need some white noise like a fan if you are a light sleeper. Good beds and bedding! You can go to a pub and coffee house / local craft gallery without leaving the building. Very cool. We were able to walk to everything in Hot Springs from this location.


Iron Horse Station

4.0 on February 12, 2012

If only there was actually something to do other than the Hot Springs it would have been better.


Met all 3 C's- Clean , Character, Cost

4.0 on February 02, 2012

Staying at the Iron Horse really made out weekend Get-Away wonderful. It has the character of a boutique hotel, very reasonable rates, and the rooms were clean and comfortable.


Great First Visit

3.8 on January 21, 2012

The overall experience was exceptional. We did not know what to expect, as this was our first trip to Hot Springs and had only heard vague second hand stories about the Iron Horse Station. Our experience was overwhelmingly positive. The inn itself is cozy and well maintained. The room was very nicely furnished with an extremely comfortable queen sized bed. We enjoyed the fact that there are no televisions in the rooms, as it would have spoiled the atmosphere. The restaurant/tavern had good beers available and had good food. The live musical act on New Year's Eve was very good. We would both enjoy seeing those gentlemen perform again. If there is any potential downside, it would be the general lack of privacy. As we (and our neighbors) learned the first night, sound carries very clearly between room 206 and the room adjoining closest to the bedroom. Every conversation includes one's neighbors. Though this did not detract from our stay, those who value privacy would do well to keep this in mind. In summary, if you are looking for a cozy and comfortable place to stay with plenty of character then we would both highly recommend the Iron Horse Station. There will definitely be a return visit in our future and we will be greatly looking forward to it.


Very much enjoyed this getaway.

4.2 on January 03, 2012

Great hike up to Lover's Leap, hot springs soak, big country breakfast down the street, good supper at the inn with fun live music.


Comfy Mtn. Getaway

3.6 on December 04, 2011

Great location right on Appalachian Trail and nice restaurant downstairs; however, noise traveled easily in the hotel and you could hear people talking and laughing loudly in restaurant area until 2 a.m. So, bring some earplugs if you need to sleep!


A nice getaway

3.0 on November 23, 2011

I stayed here for a night with my sister for a fun getaway. It was a great little place in the small town. The bed was SO comfy! Would go back to get away from it all!


Beds

3.6 on November 22, 2011

We found the beds to be a little hard for us, and we would love to see a TV put in the rooms.


Iron Horse Station Off Season

5 on November 17, 2011

We stayed at the Iron Horse Station Inn in mid November 2011. The innkeeper was very laid back and friendly. We stayed in one of the smallest rooms interior room and it was lovely. The room was small, but cozy with the queen bed (very firm), bathroom with shower, beautiful hardwood floors. There is not TV or phone in the rooms, but there is a big screen in the common room amd a phone in the hallway. The common room also has a fire place. We ate dinner in the resturant. Excellent. If you just want a nice, quiet, relaxing inexpensive stay I would highly recommend the Iron Horse Inn in mid November.


great time

5 on November 16, 2011

We went a weekend there was a Civil War reenactment (but we didn't know there was going to be...) and there were lots of others there. Jim was very friendly and accommodating, the rooms were clean, and bigger than the pics, and the food at the tavern was much better than I thought it would be. We ended up eating there both nights. The train did come by at night, but Jim had given us earplugs and previous reviews alerted us to that. If possible, the lower numbered rooms are on the other side of the building from the train...We had a great time!


Good place to stay

3.2 on October 17, 2011

Note that this is NOT a B&B, but the diner just a five minute walk away has excellent cheap breakfasts. Also note that there is nowhere to unpack; the rooms are small and there are a few hooks and a bag rack, but no dresser or closet or any kind. Otherwise a good bed, clean room, and warm (if not hot) shower at a very reasonable price make this a good deal. Final note: it is RIGHT next to the active train tracks, so if you're not the soundest of sleeper, be ready to be woken up at least once or twice, as trains come through every 5 hours or so. But this is a feature of the town.


Get-away!

4.4 on October 05, 2011

We were meeting some friends in Hot Springs, and due to travel circumstances, we decided to stay overnight. It was different to stay in a room with no tv or radio! But surprisingly it was quite refreshing!


Great place in the mountains

4.8 on October 02, 2011

This is my second stay at this fine inn, and again, it exceeds my expectations. This time, I opted for one of the larger rooms with the claw foot tub, which was very welcomed after my three day hiking trip. The innkeeper let me drop off a suitcase with a change of clothes and such, so that I didn't have to risk leaving it in the open cab of my small pickup. Jim remembered my having dropped it off, and had it ready for me when I arrived. Wonderful place to stay.


Iron Horse Station a must stay

5 on September 24, 2011

Room was fantastic. Staff went out of their way to make our weekend a fantastic romantic weekend.


Quaint but too cozy.

2.8 on September 21, 2011

The Iron Horse Station Restaurant is outstanding with fresh, new dishes that were beyond all expectations. However, the rooms were too close for comfort. We could hear every move made by our neighbors in the room next door. No way to contact hotel staff for noise control at 4am. No phones in the room, ironing boards or hair dryers. The nightstands had a thick coat of dust. Glad we only stayed one night.


September Weekend

4.0 on September 21, 2011

For the low season, prices were quite high, but overall we really enjoyed our stay.


Great getaway

3.8 on September 14, 2011

It was a great place. enjoy our stay at the hotel. food at the restaurant was great! Very friendly!


Great ambience!

3.2 on September 12, 2011

We loved our 1 night at Iron Horse Station. The building is great, and they've done a nice job keeping the old feel of the place. It's not a video game console, TV-type place.


Perfect place to stay in Hot Springs, NC

4.0 on September 11, 2011

The inn is close to everything there is to do in Hot Springs. The innkeeper is very friendly. The restaurant has a great selection of food.


Clean, Spacious, and Relaxing

3.8 on September 09, 2011

I had decided to splurge a bit and spend a night at the Iron Horse Inn after a backpacking trip on the Appalachian Trail. Normally I would go for a place more cost effective, but I wanted to soak my weary muscles in a jacuzzi, and the room I booked at Iron Horse fit the bill. The Pullman style room was large, with a king sized bed, and the bath/jacuzzi area was huge. Both areas were clean and comfortable. It was a perfect way to end my trip.


Iron horse station the complete stay

4.2 on September 08, 2011

Everything was excellent. had trouble with Wi-fi connection though.


Great stay

4.4 on September 04, 2011

Only stayed one night but loved it. Restaurant below was a real gem and had live music (on Saturday night). Room was wonderful, very spacious, with a claw foot tub. Will definitely stay there again when in Hot Springs.


GREAT ATMOSPHERE CLOSE TO HOME

4.8 on August 22, 2011

We just stayed at the Iron Horse Station. It had great atmosphere surrounded by the beautiful Broad French River and soothing hot springs. Will definitely return!


Jan's Stay at Iron Horse Station Inn

4.6 on August 18, 2011

Very clean, friendly and quiet. Had 2 great meals at Iron Horse Resturant and the shops were really an electric shopping experience.


Nice Small Town Inn

3.8 on August 11, 2011

My husband and I arrived on a Thursday and checked out on Sunday. Thursday night was quiet at the Inn. We stayed toward the center of the Inn (Room 209) and we did hear the train come through town twice during the night, which didn't bother us. One night, Saturday I think, we saw the train come through town and there were 98 cars! We ate at the restaurant twice and the food was good both times. The Inn's WiFi worked very well and it was nice not to have a phone or TV in the room. On Friday some loud guests came and we could hear their conversation in the room next to us and in the hallway, but we just turned on the bathroom fan. Two requests - have a hang tag the guests can place on their door if they don't want housekeeping (we didn't need or want towel or cleaning service, but we had to locate the cleaning staff each morning to let them know) and our room was so cold we jumped into bed (really nice feather comforters) as soon as we would get into the room and we didn't want to get out of bed in the morning...good thing the Inn had nice warm water for showers. Also, a community coffee pot was on each morning and tea bags were available, but there was no hot water to make tea. Maybe the restaurant could send up a pitcher of tea in the morning? The Inn has a good feel to it and it's very open to come and go as you wish. I would suggest this Inn to family members and friends and I would stay here again.


A place that stays with you even after you've gone.....

4.6 on August 11, 2011

On a whim, we (my 11 year old son & I) spontaneously made a reservation at the Iron Horse Station Inn to stay for a day in Hot Springs. WE had no expectations. Everything was amazing. The Inn is charmingly wonderful, a relief from the standard sterile big name hotels. The staff was VERY warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful. A lovely experience!!


Lovely decorated and clean room

3.8 on July 20, 2011

The room was beautiful. the restaurant was good. There was some noise from the kitchen and restaurant until it closed. The hotel is very near the railroad tracks. That was also a source of noise throughout the night. The staff was great, the galleries attached to the hotel had some great local artwork.


Nice stay in a nice town

3.8 on July 15, 2011

What a great weekend getaway! Iron Horse Station was the perfect place to stay so we could enjoy hiking, whitewater rafting, wining, dining and a great escape from the city. Will do again.


Better than the "Resort"

4.2 on July 11, 2011

Jim and one of his staff were very helpful in getting us situated upon arrival and pointing out the local attractions. I loved the vintage look of the rooms, and everything was clean and comfortable. The attached shop, Artisuns, had some amazing art, jewelry, pottery, and even homemade preserves. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't really rate the food.


nice stay

3.6 on July 08, 2011

Would have liked to be able to control the room temperature but the bed was very comfortable and my stay was nice


Iron Horse a great place to stay

4.0 on July 03, 2011

Simple yet satisfactory place to stay. Great beds in a neat little town. I had room with window don't know what I would think about an interior room without. No TV or phone.


Enjoyed my stay

4.2 on June 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our overnight stay !!!! The jacuzzi tube was really fun and I would recommend this room to anyone. We really liked the Little town of Hot Springs...


Loved it!!!

5 on June 13, 2011

Had a wonderful time....loved everything about the town and the inn. Must visit the hot springs resort...can't wait to return for a longer stay!!! The inn is not your ordinary "hotel" and is just what we were looking for...


excellent stay

4.2 on June 09, 2011

very well kept room,responsive staff;trains passing at all hours but that was unavoidable;will stay there again.


Charming Retro

5 on May 29, 2011

Staying at the Iron Horse is like stepping back in time. The owners checked me in hours ahead of their scheduled check-in time, then led me up a long, creaking stairwell (no elevator, so be warned if that's necessary) to an expansive hallway with beautiful old wood floors. The doors to the rooms have working old transoms, the ceilings are stamped tin. Travelling alone, I had one of the interior Pullman rooms, which was small, but contained everything I needed for a comfortable stay. The train track is across the street, and the trains do run at night, but that honestly only added to the experience. Downstairs, the tavern is everything you could want it to be. Again, old charm and well appointed, with good cool beer on tap and great food. Not your typical cookie cutter chain motel, this is one of the truly unique places to stay.


Iron Horse Station

4.2 on May 27, 2011

The room was lovely. Our king sized bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again. We ate at the on site tavern twice, and both meals were delicious.


Great Stay

4.2 on May 23, 2011

Enjoyed our two day trip to Hot Springs. Great location, shops, rooms, food, and scenery for a two day trip!


A charming, comfortable inn

4.0 on May 11, 2011

The Iron Horse is in a lovingly restored building, just a 10-minute walk from the hot springs. The restaurant/bar downstairs is comfortable and has a good menu. It doesn't have the amenities of a regular hotel (i.e., no TV or fridge), but the bedroom and bathroom were immaculate and charming, and the bed was comfortable. The walls are on the thin side, and the train does go by periodically, so light sleepers might want ear plugs. We didn't mind any of it and slept fine. Would definitely go back.


Brief, but great stay

4.4 on May 10, 2011

We were in town for a festival and so didnt get to take full advantage of the Inn and restaurant, but everything was lovely. Our room was beautiful and the owners were very helpful.


Stepping back in time!

4.6 on April 27, 2011

This was a lovely place in a lovely little town. My husband and I stayed here for an extended weekend while he was hiking the Appalachian Trail. We ate lunch at the restaurant which wasn't the greatest, but we later ate dinner there and it was good. The Inn was great - really clean and quaint. The housekeeper was super friendly. The only complaint I have is that we could hear just about everything through the walls and the windows. We kept the bathroom fan on just to drown out the noise. Still, I would come back to this place!


Weekend in Hot Springs

4.0 on April 20, 2011

Beautifully renovated building with a lot of charm. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the room was larger than I had expected. The only negative thing about our stay was that there was absolutely no sound insulation in the building. We could hear every move other guests around us were making, which made it hard to sleep. Otherwise, it was a wonderful stay.


Great location and options

3.8 on March 30, 2011

My second stay, love this place but this time stayed in the main section and clearly noticed the super thin walls. Basically, you join in the conversation of room next to you. 0 privacy. Previously I stayed in the wing above the restaurant. Much much different experience. Rooms there are quiet and bigger. Jacuzzi room didn't meet my expectation. Will ask for specific room (I think they are 101-103 only)


Great Experience

4.0 on March 22, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Iron Horse Station and plan to return this summer.


iron horse station

3.2 on March 01, 2011

Staff was friendly, restaurant and entertainment rocked. Rooms were clean, linens were great. On the negative side: no hairdryers, no phones, no tv, no thermostat room heat was way too hot. Property is right across from railroad tracks and train came through three times during the night.


Excellent Renovation!

5 on February 24, 2011

The renovation was beautifully executed! The dinner and ambience on Saturday night was excellent. The local band and romantic atmosphere enhanced the already excellent menu. I highly recommend this place and I will use it for overflow guests as I have contracted to buy a vacation home in Hot Springs. And I look forward to being a regular dining guest! Room 204. 2/19/2011.


Nice and Cozy

3.8 on January 13, 2011

The rooms were very clean and had a very home like feel to then, no pressure, could just lay back and enjoy quiet time, no phones or tv in the rooms and that was a great thing. Loved it and plan to go back later on to have a relaxing time.


Excellent get away

4.8 on December 15, 2010

Great rooms, great music, great beer in a great little town! What more do you need?


Fantastic get-away

5 on December 09, 2010

This is a quaint and fun inn, located in the mountains near Asheville, NC. We came for the hot springs mineral bath and spa and decided to spend the night. Rooms are above the tavern; each one is uniquely and tastefully decorated. We stayed in Room 201 - one of the larger rooms with a king-sized bed. Very comfortable and quiet. We ate dinner at the tavern downstairs - excellent food and service. Town of Hot Springs is quaint and seems like a step back in time. Highly recommend this spot and this inn for a weekend get-away.


Great stay!

4.6 on December 07, 2010

Food was great and room was very clean. I would stay here again. I was pleasantly surprised at the menu being it was such a small town.


Good place to stay

3.6 on October 19, 2010

We have stayed here several times. It is very clean and the furnishings are new. However some of the rooms connect via old wooden doors and so privacy/noise is an issue. I think rooms 201-203 are more private- they're also bigger. The food is just ok- they've had the exact same menu since day one. It's not spectacular but it's not "bad" per se. The restaurant is very nicely furnished.


A wonderful weekend stay

5 on October 18, 2010

We reserved our room only a few days before the trip and were lucky that they still had vacancies. The meal and service in the restaurant were excellent and a wonderful welcome after spending all day in the car. The room was cozy and very clean. What a great deal!


WOW!

5 on October 08, 2010

The Iron horse station is really a great place to stay. The History, the hospitality of the service certainly exceeded our expectations. God Bless! BP


Iron Horse Station Recommended!

3.2 on September 10, 2010

The Iron Horse Station is very charming! Rooms were as expected but could have used a little better dusting and cleaning of the floors but the bathroom was up to par! I would recommend staying there and the service at the front desk was outstanding!! As for the lounge, the afternoon service was a little disappointing but the evening ladies were great!!


Iron Horse Station- Inn, Restaurant, Tavern, Shops

Details

  • Nightly Rate $65 - $160
  • Reviews (166) 4.2
  • Rooms 15

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-866-402-9377
Top