The Darby Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining5.0

Score Breakdown based on
50 Reviews

Write A Review

The Darby is delightful

5 on September 08, 2013

What a delightful B&B! Hosts, Annie and Josh, are lovely, experienced and welcoming and we had a great night's sleep, a soak in the beautiful outdoor Japanese tub and a delicious, gourmet breakfast in the morning. Very well priced and one of the nicest B&B stays ever!


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast near Darby/Sula Montana

5 on August 14, 2013

This is the first time we were staying in this specific Montana area and we were pleasantly surprised by The Darby Bed and Breakfast. Would we stay again?? YES! It was a quiet place to stay, furnished to compliment it's beautiful Bitterroot Valley location and extremely clean. The new owners, with restaurant experience, were very, very nice and friendly. The gourmet breakfasts were superb and they accommodated by asking if we had any food allergies and by asking what time we wanted breakfast to be served. We stayed two nights in August 2013 and had two completely different, delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts. We were told what ingredients were in the breakfast items and the produce was purchased at the local farmer's market and picked fresh from their backyard garden. The layout of the house and the bathrooms were handicapped assessable. Guests are free to enjoy both the lower floor of the house and the backyard for relaxing, especially in the evening while enjoying the freshly made cookies and fresh coffee prepared just for them. When you are staying in the Darby/Sula area, please consider The Darby as your home away from home and you won't be disappointed! M and S from Iowa


Sightseeing Montana

3.4 on August 13, 2013

My husband and spent the night in Darby at this charming B and B while driving through Montana. I enjoyed the garden all afternoon until it too dark to read. Anne and Josh were friendly and breakfast was delicious. Would stay again.


Wonderful getaway

5 on August 09, 2013

Spent our anniversary at The Darby this year. The accommodations were excellent, The hosts very friendly and Annie's breakfast was superb. Even though we live nearby, we plan to return.


Darby B&B review

4.6 on July 17, 2013

Annie was GREAT! Best night sleep we've had in a long time. SPOTLESS and SUPER breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.


Superb Montana B&b

5 on May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at The Darby during our recent tour of Montana. Inge was a fantastic host, providing an amazing breakfast, an incredibly comfortable and clean room, and a great patio area in which to enjoy the scenic views. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend The Darby unreservedly..


XC skiing weekend

4.8 on February 26, 2013

A very clean an lovely B&B, the food was above excellent and so was the service. The Ofuros soaking tubs were a very welcome experience under a full moon after a day of XC skiing. I would go back again and would recommend to anyone.


Great Experience!

4.6 on January 14, 2013

This B&B was definitely a great place for a quick weekend get-away with my husband. The place was immaculate. Loved the cozy fireplace, the food was outstanding (we are admittedly food snobs), the service was outstanding, and the Ofuro tubs are a must! Inge is very hospitable and makes you feel very welcome. I'd recommend this to everyone. The Bitterroot Valley is so beautiful and sitting in the hot tub at night with the starry sky is a must-do. You wqn't regret it.


Treated Like Family at this Gourmet's Delight B&B

4.8 on November 11, 2012

I was treated like family by Inge at the Darby during my October 2012 stay. The room was simple and modestly furnished, but the bed and the linens were the standouts there as they were super comfortable and I only spent time in the room to sleep anyway. I had views to the mountains from my room and it was super quiet. The breakfasts were outstanding and easily the best meals I've ever had at a B&B and I've been to more than a few. Inge prepares a multi-course meal as if she is feeding you for a day of hard work out on the ranch: pastries, yogurt and fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and then an amazing entree with usually locally-sourced, gourmet ingredients, piping hot served up just as you're done with the first course. I was in heaven with her vegetarian take on eggs benedict and other incredible dishes. She always made sure I had recommendations for lunch/dinner options, too, and I had a great time visiting some of the hiking and sightseeing destinations she suggested. The common space in the Darby was spacious, open, and very inviting. I spent time sitting by the fireplace in a leather chair reading while looking out across their horse pasture to the mountains beyond. The Japanese soaking tubs are amazing as well. I highly recommend doing that as many nights as you can during your stay. It's such a relaxing experience to be outside with the snow gently falling, soaking up to your chin in the fragrant red cedar of the tubs, watching the steam rise into the clear, quiet night surrounding you. All-in-all I had a very good experience at the Darby and would recommend it to anyone!


A delightful weekend

5 on November 11, 2012

We just returned from a delightful weekend at the Darby Bed and Breakfast. Under Inge's skilled and thoughtful care, everything lived up to it billing - delicious and plentiful gourmet breakfasts, plush beds, immaculately kept house, and gorgeous scenery. She also arranged for skilled and professional massage therapists and made sure our soaking tubs were heated to perfection. We will tell our friends and anyone looking for a pampered weekend away.


Special people, lovely home.

5 on April 11, 2012

This is one place you'll remember. In addition to simple, comfortable rooms with great beds, squeaky clean bathrooms, neat wood-fired hot tubs and a lovely kitchen, here you'll find Inge Peterson, a consummate host and aware human being. Need a snack? Done. Need spiritual guidance or inspiration? She's got it. A great place to look at the mountains, look at the stars, look inside yourself. You'll like it.


Luscious place for 'foodies'

4.6 on April 08, 2012

We had the most fabulous stay at this B and B. If you want to be treated like royalty and experience the most luscious food...this is the place for you! And that doesn't begin to mention the pampering, snacks, lovely teas, fireplace-warmed reading spot, view of the Rocky Mountains, warm bathroom floor tiles, wheelchair accessibility, and warm, engaging hostess...this place gets as many stars as are possible...and then some!


A very nice place to stay

4.8 on April 08, 2012

My wife and I stayed two days at the Darby Bed and Breakfast. It was great! Inge was a wonderful hostess. The breakfasts were more than fabulous -- the best I have ever had. We stayed over Easter and Inge included hot cross buns and other special Eastery things. Everything was delicious and plenteous. We enjoyed watching the elk and the frolicking of their two horses. We especially enjoyed the hot tubbing under the stars in the chemical free ofuru tubs. We have stayed at many B&B's over the years and this one rates top shelf!


What an Adventure!

4.6 on March 14, 2012

My friend visited me in Montana last weekend, and we decided that a trip to the Lost Trail ski hill and a night at The Darby would be new, exciting, and different for both of us. We had a wonderful time! The ofuro tubs were so neat and the breakfast was AMAZING (a beautiful presentation)! The hosts were sweet as can be, and provided a nice balance between providing services and letting the guests do their own things. Oh and my friend thought that the hot chocolate was the best he's ever had in his life. What a great first-time B&B experience!


Top notch

4.8 on February 13, 2012

We stayed here during a weekend while skiing at Lost Trail only 25 miles down the road. The bed was extremely comfortable and the food was absolutely amazing. We paid the extra money to soak in the private wood fired hot tubs. These were great after a day of skiing. We will definitely stay here again in the future.


FANTASTIC place!

4.4 on January 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Darby B&B for only 1 night while on a roadtrip of 3 weeks. We usually stay in hotels, so this was like coming home! We felt very welcome and the whole place was so warm and cosy and homey. The surroundings are absolutely amazing, and it's sooo quiet... pure bliss. Cookies and tea were waiting for us upon arrival in the evening, and the breakfast was the best breakfast we had in all 3 weeks: SO GOOD!!!! We will definitely come back when we will be around that area. J. from Amsterdam


Wonderful Winter Get-away

5 on December 22, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay for a birthday treat. The hot tub under the starry Montana sky was the perfect conclusion to a day spent skiing. Inge and Monte were very warm and welcoming in every way. Breakfast was plentiful, superbly presented, and absolutely delicious. The Darby is close to many outdoor activities and is a splendid retreat.


Great place; Outstanding host

4.6 on December 10, 2011

Only stayed for one night, but Inge went out of her way to make our stay perfect in every way. Accomodations and hospitality were great and the breakfast was truly outstanding. Would highly recommend trying this one out!!


Just Perfect!

5 on October 14, 2011

Inge was the perfect host - our breakfasts were delicious, beautiful and plentiful. We asked for sack lunches every day and they were just wonderful too. The bed was so comfy that we didn't want to get up - except for the yummy breakfasts and the excellent coffee. Best of all, there were Japanese soaking tubs outside - stars, warmth and relaxation - can't get better! You will feel so pampered here, you won't want to leave. We didn't!


SIMPLY LOVELY

4.8 on September 15, 2011

Inge and Monte are consummate hosts. Their home is beautifully appointed and one is made to feel very welcome. At the end of a long day of driving, it was wonderful to be able to enjoy their garden and later in the evening, the common area. We were able to have a picnic dinner in the garden and were provided with dishes and access to the kitchen to prepare the dinner. The breakfast Inge prepared was simply outstanding! Without hesitation, we recommend The Darby, as experienced B+Bers from throughout Canada, USA, Europe and New Zealand.


Inge's food and service

4.6 on August 31, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at this B&B. Inge's food and service were great. We were made to feel as though we were at home. The wi-fi service was an added benefit. Breakfast was truly outstanding. Inge and Monty have two dogs.


What a lovely place!

5 on August 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed there for two nights and had a wonderful time. Inge is very warm and welcoming, and was very helpful with all our requests. The breakfast is excellent! The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The place is calm and quiet, perfect for having a relaxing time.


wonderful experience!

5 on August 17, 2011

We only stayed one night at Darby B&B, but wish we had time to stay more. We were welcomed warmly from the day we made reservations to our departure, with promises of keeping in touch. The place is totally wheelchair accessible. The food was exceptional and, as Inge (inkeeper) says 'therapeutic.' Everything about this place was wonderful. Don't miss the experience.


Lovely stay

5 on August 02, 2011

The key details of this B&B are the people. Warm and friendly. They make you feel as if you are home. The garden is very pretty and relaxing. The rooms are clean and bright and the bed is so comforting. We will return on our next visit to Montana.


Great place to stay

4.8 on July 30, 2011

The Darby B&B is a great oasis in Western Montana. Large immaculate rooms, comfy bed and the breakfast was superb. The hosts are charming and have put a lot of effort into making their guests comfortable. Beautiful garden and good location to explore the Bitterroot Valley and environs. Great value. Glad we stayed.


The BEST B&B

5 on July 04, 2011

The premises were extremely well kept. Rooms were clean with all new furniture and carpeting, beautiful, relaxing, and very comfortable beds. Scenic mountains and beautiful 'farm' area with 'clean' livestock in the neighborhood. The service was very pleasant; food was gourmet and delicious and served elegently and on time. Overall it was a wonderful experience and I will visit again when I'm in the area. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!


Great Little Place in Darby!

4.2 on June 22, 2011

What a great little place! We spent the night here before heading over to Triple Creek Ranch for the week. Cozy; low key; just five rooms. Scrupulously clean. Good parking and access. Owners are extremely nice, accommodating, helpful and attentive. Food was Triple Creek quality -- an amazing breakfast (um feast)! Owners are in the process of completing improvements, so I'm sure it'll just be getting better.


Gracious, Attentive service & high quality EVERYTHING!

5 on June 17, 2011

My grandson and I stayed for one night & are anxious to return to again enjoy the excellent accomodations and gracous service!


Great stay!

4.8 on May 08, 2011

This was an incredible bed and breakfast with a great ski & stay package! The food was great and Inge was incredibly helpful with lots of recommendations. Thank you.


Wonderful place to stay

4.8 on April 14, 2011

The Darby was wonderful, Inge was so pleasant and we felt like we were at home. The value was outstanding the food was wonderful, we did the stay and ski package which was a great bonus value. We will go back in the spring/summer and hope to stay a while. We traveled from Great Falls MT and Hailey ID JJ, DE


February ski trip

4.6 on March 30, 2011

Had a very pleasant 2 night stay at The Darby, skiing at Lost Trail during the day and relaxing a the B+B during the evenings. Excellent attention to all the little details to make a stay special. Inge and Monty were great hosts and very easy to be around. Inge's breakfasts were incredible, even catering to a gluten-free + milk free diet. Monty has a wealth of knowledge about the area and we enjoyed hearing some of the local history. If we're in the area again we would definitely stay here again.


Darby Bed and Breakfast

5 on February 15, 2011

Our wrestling team was treated great and the food was wonderful. Very nice Place to stay


The Darby

5 on February 11, 2011

We were given a stay at The Darby as a gift. It was wonderful. Inge greeted us with tea and scones. We chatted about the area and things to do. The inn is warm, inviting and very comfortable. Everything was neat, clean, and very spacious. We got a room with its own bathroom. The bed was plush and the tile floor in the bathroom was heated. The organic bath products are high quality. The views are spectacular, Trapper Peak is right there. Lots of elk were around. Then there is the breakfast...oh my goodness, it was amazing! Your definitely not going to leave hungry. Thank you Inge and Monte for being such gracious hosts. We will absolutely recommend The Darby to our family, friends and customers. Thanks again!


Darby B & B Review 2/8/11

5 on February 08, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is a charming home away from home. The rooms are spacoius and the bathrooms large. The bed was comfortable and the atmosphere very relaxing. I enjoyed a cup of hot tea by the fireplace which was served by Inge the hostess and Cook. And what a cook she is. Inge served a breakfast that was fit for a King. She made homemade banana bread that tasted like heaven. She also made Eggs Augratin, that was so delicious that I think I am going to come back to her Inn just to eat have that meal again. I would definitely recommend this Inn for the eating experinece alone. The hospitality was a 5 star experience. Thank you, Inge for Everything.


Taken by suprise

5 on January 26, 2011

Suprising. I was expecting a whole lot less, but when I arrived it was great. I arrived late at night (because of flight) and warm scones awaited. Inge and Monte bent over backwards for us, from directions, to setting up excursions to any questions we had on places to eat, things to do, see, etc. The food is phenomenal and their hospitality is second to none.


Fantastic Food and Fireside Family Fun

5 on January 19, 2011

I recently spent a week at The Darby with my family. Before arriving at the inn, I was preparing myself to be staying in a run down, funky and slightly uncomfortable setting. When I stepped foot inside The Darby, all my worrying stopped. I immediately felt comfortable and cozy in the home-like environment. The place was sparkling clean, beautifully decorated, and wafts of freshly baked pastries filled air. When I picked my room I was excited to see chocolates laid out on my plush, cozy bed. Inge and Monte are exceptional hosts. Not only are they extremely nice and helpful, but they are fun to be around, and oh, did I mention, Inge makes the BEST BREAKFASTS I have ever had! Seriously, her breakfasts are creative, artistically displayed, and most importantly, the are absolutely delicious! I loved my time spent at the Darby, waking up to a five star breakfast, seeing the beautiful scenery out each window and hanging out by the fireplace after a long day of snow activities. The Darby is just a fabulous place to spend special time being well taken care of by Inge and Monte. I will be back!


Home away from home, if you live with a gourmet cook

4.6 on January 11, 2011

My family and I stayed at The Darby the week before Christmas and bought out the place. The accommodations are absolutely top notch and the decor is tastefully done and comfortable. We really enjoyed reclining by the fireplace on the comfy leather furniture to chat and play games or watch some football, and my brother couldn't stop raving about how comfortable his bed was. I understood why when I tucked myself into the pillow-top bed with the obviously high thread count bedding, it was like sleeping on a cloud. Monte and Inge are everything you could want in a host. They are friendly, caring, helpful, and a real understanding of how a little hospitality can elevate a place from good to exceptional. I would be remiss to write a review without mention of Inge's extraordinary breakfasts. They were beautiful, flavorful, inventive, and bountiful. It was like waking up to eat breakfast at a Michelin star restaurant in your PJ's, fantastic. As for the town of Darby itself, we found out that there are a myriad of activities available in this quaint little cowboy town nestled in the Bitterroot Valley. We went skiing and snowboarding at the fantastic and affordable Lost Trails ski resort on the border of Idaho 40 minutes away, rented gear in Hamilton and went snowshoeing at Lake Como, did some snowmobiling, and also took a scenic drive and had a picnic at the breathtaking Painted Rocks State Park about 20 minutes from the Darby. Coincidentally, we passed by Triple Creek Ranch on the way to Painted Rocks where rates were starting at $650 a night. Believe it or not, I could continue to go on about how magical our stay at The Darby was, but I'll end it here and say simply, if you're thinking about visiting the Bitterroot Valley, stay at the Darby, you will be happy you did.


Visit Painted Rocks while staying at the Darby

5 on January 08, 2011

I took my family to Inge's The Darby B&B at the beautiful south end of the Bitterroot valley and only minutes away from Painted Rocks valley and also skiing. The drive to Painted Rocks was priceless even in the winter! We skied, Snowshoed, Snowmobiled and basically ate great food each morning as Inge really likes to cook sumptuous breakfasts with such a variety of flavors that differ each day so that you lept out of bed to savor the flavor...don't even think about eating lunch after this so it is really a two for one meal ! The Darby is a quaint building warmed by Inge and Monte and their 20 year history of running B&B's in Montana. Monte is a hunter and expert fly fisherman too and the Bitterroot is tops for both. They even have a telescope to starwatch at night! We were quite surprised to find ourselves very actively busy for 7 days at the Darby; a really great location and fantastic food from Inge's kitchen! It is even a very Green Inn, organic foods, with a totally handicapped accessible facility for wheelchairs too.


Best breakfast comes with best place to stay

4.8 on January 05, 2011

Inge made a spectacular breakfast both mornings. Her hospitality was fantastic. She has a great place to stay.


Amazing breakfast

4.6 on January 04, 2011

We were delighted by the breakfast, and especially the baked goods. Inge made some of the best walnut scones and biscuits I've ever had. The beds were delightful with fluffy down comforters and plush blankets. The bedrooms are small but we had a large, comfortable living room with fireplace. We actually had a hard time leaving it to ski.


Top of the Line!

5 on October 19, 2010

I really loved this Bed and Breakfast. The food was delicious, and the people were as nice as you could find. I had a wonderful time. Thanks Inge and Monte!


The Darby is great

5 on October 18, 2010

We arrived on Saturday, Oct 16th, after a tiring drive. Inge greeted us at the door and welcomed us graciously to her home. We were made to feel right at home from the time we arrived. She provided several suggestions for dinner that evening and even called one to make reservations for us. After a good night's sleep, we were treated to the best breakfast on the planet - Greek yogurt, banana nut muffins, croissants, Eggs Benedict, and a German apple pancake. It was absolutely wonderful. Inge was a wonderful hostess and even gave us a discount on our room. We're going to recommend The Darby to all our friends and family, as well as return ourselves.


The Darby

4.4 on October 13, 2010

My stay was very enjoyable. The service was incredible. I was offered tea or coffee with scones on my arrival and breakfast was delicious. I would definitely reccommend The Darby to those who wish to stay in the area.


A stay at the Darby

4.8 on September 22, 2010

Very welcoming atmosphere, fresh cookies awaited us when we arrived. A gracious hostess provided everything we needed. Quiet and restful. The gourmet breakfast was outstanding. Would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in the area.


The Darby

5 on August 11, 2010

Fantastic food, wonderful bed, gracious hospitality. A great way to end 6 days in the backcountry. A definite return to B&B.


Amazing B&B

5 on August 09, 2010

A local friend recommended this great place. Very beautiful, spotlessly clean and the breakfast was the best of any B&B we've experienced.


Visiting the Bitterroot Valley don't miss The Darby

4.8 on August 05, 2010

What a lovely place to stay. Comfortable, peaceful and relaxing. Inge is a wonderful innkeeper offering us suggestions for lunch and dinner, arranging for massages and her breakfast are delicious.


Don't Miss this GEM

5 on July 24, 2010

We stayed for 3 days and it was incredible. The beds are better than a five star hotel. The breakfast was fabulous and we could pick the timing for breakfast or brunch. Inge and Monte are fabulous hosts and make you feel right at home. They know the area and best places to see the sights. A very relaxing stay!


Unexpected Pleasure

5 on July 23, 2010

A friend and I went to MT to spend the weekend at the Darby Days Logging Festival, lucky for us all the Motels and RV sites were reserved and we were refered to this B & B. We spent two nights of pleasurable hospitality with Inga and her husband and felt like we had been gone for a week. Thanks so much for this fun time.


Our Haven in Darby

4.4 on June 22, 2010

Our stay at Darby B and B was perfect....Inge was a wonderful host, retreated us with kindest and respect. And you can't beat the breakfast! Totally pampered!


The Darby Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $115
  • Reviews (50) 4.8
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-406-821-0076
Top