House of Two Urns Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
154 Reviews

Write A Review

First time B&B and loved it.

5 on June 10, 2015

All was as advertised. The area is close to the blue line which was perfect for us. The neighborhood was lovely and friendly. The staff, friendly,professional and knowledgeable. The other guests were super cool! The furnishing were tastefully done the only warning might be that if you are not familiar with the Hispanic, Day of the Dead holiday and /or skeletons, familiarize yourself, as some of the art work reflects that theme . The kitchen was nice, I enjoyed some complimentary popcorn. The patio is lovely. We shared a bathroom, that was fine. Everything was super clean! I completely enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again.House of Two Urns was very gracious in accommodating my gluten free needs with delicious choices such as gf muffins and granola not to mention delicious fruits and egg dishes.


Mother and Daughter trip

4.6 on June 08, 2015

Last fall my mom and I began planning a mother-daughter trip to Chicago. We decided we wanted to stay in a bed and breakfast rather than an impersonal hotel. We selected the House of Two Urns, and our choice proved to be a good one. Our two bedroom suite was comfortable and included a fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, garage parking, and a lovely and very private deck in the rear of our suite. Our hosts, Kapra and Miquel, were welcoming and made sure our stay was comfortable. The full breakfast was different each day, ranging from nectarine waffles to eggs Brava to strawberry-stuffed French toast. I highly recommend this B & B, and when I return to Chicago, I won't even look for another place to stay. My heart belongs to the House of Two Urns.


Lovely Sanctuary in Wicker Park

4.8 on June 04, 2015

We were two single women needing a comfortable room in a convenient location. What a find! Perfect for us-super spacious room with two queen beds, club chairs, settee, antiques --and a luxurious bathroom! On a quiet street one block from the L. And at a great price, which includes a gourmet breakfast.


A Chicago Gem!

4.6 on May 19, 2015

Wonderful place to stay on a quiet street in the Wicker Park neighborhood. The proprietors could not have been nicer. I marked "Service" 4/5 because I was to get a sack breakfast one morning as I was leaving very early for an event, and that was forgotten. The internet was somewhat undependable...dropping off frequently, but as I didn't have work to do, it didn't bother me greatly. I would stay at House of Two Urns any visit to Chicago.


A very pleasant, welcoming, convenient, cozy place to stay!!!!

4.8 on May 16, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at The Two Urns and would not hesitate to stay with them again. They were very welcoming and accommodating. the breakfasts were excellent!


a little bit upset at first but then it is a wonderful place

4.4 on May 10, 2015

I did not expect to arrive to a room so hot and no ventilation after two sets of stairs, to find that the bathroom was a set of stairs down, imagine in the middle of the night? But then the place is beautiful, the kitchen well equipped and the people kept smiling in spite of my upset. Eventually I did spend a few days (the weather cooled down) being happy to be there


Never Stay at a Hotel Again!

4.8 on May 07, 2015

I was soooooo pleased with our clean, beautiful, quaint room (the bed was comfy too), private bathroom, parking, the building and it's decor, the kitchen, the location and neighborhood, the service...everything! When we come back to Chicago, and can't imagine staying anywhere else, especially a hotel. . I just wish we had a few more days there!


A gem in Chicago

4.4 on May 04, 2015

House of Two Urns is a great option when visiting Chicago. Rooms are clean, breakfast is tasty, and the price is reasonable. Great location for out of towners as well. One word of caution, they are really into their rules, so as long as you are ready for that, your stay will be a good one.


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on April 27, 2015

Our room and accommodations were clean and very nice. The service outstanding. Enjoyed the delicious breakfast and coffee each day. Our hostess was delightful. We would definitely return.


Wicker Park weekend

3.4 on April 26, 2015

Very well made and delightfully served breakfasts. Interesting art and antiques.


Perfect

5 on March 26, 2015

Very clean charming artistic atmosphere photos don't due it justice! I would recommend it to everybody!


My Nights at House of Two Urns

5 on March 21, 2015

Extremely nice people!


House of Two Urns Chicago, Illinois

4.0 on March 16, 2015

Very good service and friendly staff. They helped us out to figure out how to get around Chicago. Wonderful breakfast! Clean rooms! All amenities included with room!


Lovely

5 on March 10, 2015

Convenient location - close to freeway and the El. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable.


Warm and cozy in frigid Chicago

4.4 on March 09, 2015

Our third floor room was bright and spacious. The first night it was overly warm but staff took care of turning the thermostat down the next day and we were very comfortable. Breakfasts were plentiful and home cooked items were great. My wife appreciated the good selection of quality teas. And the upstairs kitchen where they had snacks and drinks was a very nice surprise.


Warm staff

4.8 on February 19, 2015

Staff welcoming and very helpful during our stay. The location was easy access for everything. This was our second visit we liked it so much.


Winter in Chicago - Loved House of Two Urns

3.6 on February 18, 2015

This was our first B&B experience and we loved everything about HOTU. The room was great, the food was wonderful, the location was charming and convenient, and our hosts were lovely.


Wonderful Stay

5 on February 18, 2015

Our winter-time stay was wonderful! The King room was charming. Our hosts were attentive and breakfast was delicious. We hope to see you again! Thank you.


delightful

5 on February 11, 2015

Everything was delightful and the breakfast delicious and the bed so comfy!


Great B7B just north of the city!

4.8 on February 10, 2015

Loved pretty much everything about this B&B! Spent a long weekend in town with my boyfriend and two friends. We each got our own room - would have like to know before hand that our rooms weren't in the same building (would have made relaxing and having a snack in one of the kitchens a bit easier after a long day) but each of us was pleased with out accommodations. Breakfast was amazing! Sarah greeted us in the most cheery of manners! None of us are morning people - and one had just arrived from China and was a bit groggy - but it was great! Each meal was beautifully served and tasted great! I would have like a bit more o.j. with my meal though :) Parking was fine - located behind the main building - a little tricky to find - Kapra's directions felt a bit rushed and irritated but we found it none the less and left it there til we left. Was within minutes walking distance of the blue line. Normal price was a bit above our range but they were having a sale which made it more than affordable! Boyfriend was able to play the piano after breakfast and I'm sure the patio spaces are wonderful when the weather allows! Overall it was a great stay and would definitely recommend!


House of Two Urns review

5 on February 09, 2015

We plan on making House of Two Urns a regular "get-away"!!


Back again.

5 on January 03, 2015

The House of Two Urns is our first choice, always, in Chicago. The place is artistic and fun and Kapra and Miguel seem to have thought of everything before we know we want it. The free parking and the one block walk to the subway or bus lines makes it easy to get wherever we like. We took Kapras recommendations and explored two great restaurants within an easy walk. The House of Two Urns gives us lots of privacy when we want it but we can enjoy talking to the other friendly guests in the morning and getting advice on our day's plans over breakfast.


Convenient, clean, helpful and great location

4.8 on December 29, 2014

We were looking for a place close to the subway (just 1-1/2 blocks), clean, and with a kitchen where we could supplement our daily menu besides going out. The kitchen has anything you might need and even laundry facilities. The hosts are friendly and help with information for sightseeing. The house is beautifully decorated. The neighborhood felt safe. We enjoyed our stay so much that we will certainly be back :-)


Artful, lovely place to stay in Chicago

5 on December 21, 2014

I was so happy with my experience at House of Two Urns. The hosts are gracious, interesting people who are knowledgeable about fun ways to explore Chicago. The Bed and Breakfast is in a hip neighborhood full of yummy restaurants, clothing and books stores and coffee shops. I will return.


My Stay at the HOTU

5 on December 11, 2014

I will always seek to stay here when I visit my son in Chicago. It really is like home in all it's warmth and hospitality. Kapra and her staff are excellent hosts! I would confidently recommend the House of two Urns to anyone seeking an experience above a plain old hotel stay, and the price is much better too! Helmut


November 2014 weekend

4.4 on November 23, 2014

Nice location. Locking garage for parking was wonderful. Very nice staff.


just what i needed

5 on November 20, 2014

wonderful location, peaceful and beautiful rooms. i was only able to make it for one sit down breakfast because of an early schedule, but it was phenomenal!


Great Chicago Visit

4.0 on November 09, 2014

Really an outstanding B & B. We especially liked meeting the other guests during breakfast. By the way, the breakfast each morning was well thought out and delicious.The staff was very open and warm. We look forward to our next visit to Chicago and the House of Two Urns.


wonderful!

5 on November 03, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. I regret the fact that we had just 1 night, i know we'll be back someday to your lovely place, thanks for all the hospitality and the kindness and for the wonderful breakfast, love


A delightful find

5 on October 31, 2014

It seemed to us that Two Urns innkeepers have thought of every possible detail. We enjoyed our visit.


What a lovely place to stay

4.6 on October 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Two Urns for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Kapra and all. The B&B was perfectly situated for our needs and we were made very welcome. I would stay there again if re-visiting Chicago.


Perfect Wicker Park home away from home!

5 on October 27, 2014

This B&B is a gem in Chicago. It is perfectly situated for exploring Wicker Park and is very close to a train station for venturing out to other Chicago neighborhoods. The rooms are homey, the beds comfortable, and they provide every toiletry amenity! It's like staying as a guest in a friend's house! And the breakfast - delicious! They even accommodated me with scrambled eggs when French toast was on the daily menu. One consideration to note: request where your room is located - I was in the house across the street and it's a fairly narrow and steep climb up a flight of stairs, so be prepared (and pack accordingly)!


perfectly fine!

3.0 on October 22, 2014

Maybe I have high expectations, but this venue was fine. It was pleasant (though a bit noisy because you could hear the other occupants) and clean. Breakfast was lovely and the staff was friendly. Which is what I expect and why I like to stay at a B&B!


Don't like to have to title reviews

5 on October 21, 2014

Stayed in the lovely & spacious King room for five nights. All was good. The King was on the street side, upstairs (narrow) and shared a kitchen, dining room, sitting room & patio with two other rooms, one a single & one a double. We had the whole floor to ourselves for two nights & barely saw the other guests the other nights. The kitchen was exceptionally well stocked with all sorts of cooking implements. And the bathroom equally well stocked. Noise was not an issue other than one wee hours arrival of ? ??? perhaps the downstairs guests. Only noticed it one night. The breakfasts were superb, pleasantly presented & more than ample. Our hosts, Kapra & MIquel, were very accommodating and happy to offer suggestions for activities and to answer our questions. Our room was in the unit across from the main house where breakfast was served. So, in snow or sleet, you'd want to be sure to bundle up before venturing over to eat. Also, breakfast is arranged in 15 minute intervals, so you need to decide on your desired time beforehand. We did so pretty much day to day and it wasn't a problem getting the time slot we wanted. A note about the permitted street parking offered: the permit does not guarantee you a spot, just allows you 24 hrs should you find one. We didn't have a problem, but we made a point of not moving our car so that we wouldn't have to deal with no parking readily available.. Do note that there is a big paid lot a few doors down that seemed to always have availability should you have a hard time finding parking. Also, the permitted parking is for 24 hours from when you apply your sticker each day, so you have to work with that. Our King room actually included garage parking, but our vehicle was oversized, so we traded for the permit parking. Some of the other units have off street, non-permit parking that would be less of a hassle. Review police say too long, have to top now!


Quite the gem

4.0 on October 21, 2014

I found this place last minute and it was great. Easy access from the CTA, lots of restaurants around and I was given lots of information upon check-in. I will stay here again and recommend it to friends.


Great

4.0 on October 02, 2014

It is great experience to stay at this B& B.


House of Two Urns is like home away from home.

4.2 on September 28, 2014

We spent three nights at the House of Two Urns and the service, hospitality and ambience were a pleasant counterpoint to the rainy, cold, windy weather. We met two patent attorneys from Germany and the photographer for the music fest--these kinds of meetings just do not happen in one of the big-box hotels. We hope to return for a stay (and better weather!) in May.


Weekend getaway

4.8 on September 08, 2014

I was looking for a hotel in Wicker Park, close to where my son lives. I located Two Urns on line. The B&B was such a wonderful place to stay. It was quiet, comfortable and close to all the shops & restaurants in Wicker Park. The breakfasts were wonderfully prepared and add to the value of your stay. Our room was a bit small but we spent little time in it. I hope to stay there on future visits to Chicago.


Nice stay

3.6 on August 26, 2014

Was an hour late and texted that I would be, however no one was there to greet me. My room was actually in a building across the street. No problem getting in though. Bed was small but comfy. Loved the bathroom. Breakfast was awesome.


very nice and convenient extended Chicago weekend

4.2 on August 22, 2014

I was in Chicago to help my daughter move and this B&B was in the area, walking distance of the apartment. The House of Two Urns is on a nice side street off of a busy and interesting street (Division St) in an area with lots of restaurants, bakeries, etc., a bustling area with many young professionals. Miguei and Kapra were warm, welcoming and interesting, the breakfasts were with friendly folks from around the country and some European travellers as well. The train/subway is easy walking distance (The "L"), and our hosts were good guides for getting around. I will definitely stay there again.


Beautiful inn with delicious breakfasts

4.4 on August 16, 2014

We stayed at the House of Two Urns last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room (The Maxwell Room) was filled with a delightful collection of bears and pretty wicker furniture. It was a bit warm but the air conditioner and ceiling fan refreshed the air quickly. The Maxwell (on the third floor) shares a bathroom (on the second floor) with another room. It takes a bit to get used to traveling downstairs to the bathroom- and luckily the people who shared the bathroom with us were considerate. It's probably not possible, but a sink in the Maxwell room would make a big difference. The outdoor decks were a perfect place to read. The breakfasts were delicious and complete. The daily offering of fruit, muffin and eggs/pancakes were unusual and tasty. In addition, there was yogurt, cereal, bread for toasting, and fruit- all you could ask for! The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely return!


Wonderful stay

5 on August 14, 2014

This was our third visit to House of Two Urns and it was wonderful. Comfortable, clean, walking distance to the Bucktown area, helpful and the breakfast is delicious. We can't wait to return.


Last minute stay in Chicago.

3.6 on August 07, 2014

My son and I had a last minute overnight stay in Chicago. Reservations were extremely easy to make. We were able to find the B & B without much difficulty. It was located a little further out than expected. Owners and staff were friendly, but not as overly welcoming as we expected them to be. We were situated in our cozy room promptly. We had difficulty figuring out DID player and it was addressed immediately. Breakfast was outstanding! I hope you get to enjoy the Red Velvet Muffins. Overall it was a pleasant stay. We would stay there again. My only bit of advice is to make the residents initial getting more warm and welcoming.


House of Two Urns bed & breakfast

4.4 on July 11, 2014

breakfast was OK, but skimpy portions

Innkeeper Response
So sorry you went away hungry from breakfast. Skimpy is not an adjective I hear used about me or my breakfasts, so to clarify this for prospective guests let me itemize what is included in our daily fare: amuse bouche de fruits, freshly baked muffin/scone or bread, hot Chef's Choice entree that alternates one day sweet (french toast, waffles, crepes, etc) and next day savory (eggs scrambled with cheese or veggies, quiche, strata, frittata, omelette, etc). In addition to these items made fresh each morning in our kitchen, we offer a buffet with breads/bagels for toast, greek yogurt, homemade granola, dry cereal, instant oatmeal and whole pieces of fruit - bananas, apples, grapes, clementines, oranges. The buffet is generally what you will find at most of the city B&BS - only a handful serve a hot breakfast at all in Chicago. We offer GF, diabetic and vegan options to our guests with these dietary requests and so we often serve options that are easy to adjust to these demands. Our portions are modest - 2 eggs per person - 1.5 piece of bread for french toasts, 2 waffle sections per serving. We do not like to see food wasted and have adjusted our portions to fit the average guest. As we get many international guests here, they always comment on how huge American portions are and appreciate our serving sizes. Again, my apoligies that you went away feeling cheated from not having had a large enough breakfast.


House of Two Urns

4.8 on July 11, 2014

The food was marvelous, room was lovely, everything clean and we enjoyed talkjng with other guests from other parts of the country and out of the country. The staff was very helpful providing information about Chicago sites and events and how to navigate.. I would have liked more info at the front end about how high the steps were in the B&B especially from the parking lot.--I had a lot of sore muscles although other people did not seem to be bothered so it was not a problem for everyone.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our breakfast - we sometimes joke about our Victorian "Stairmaster" getting up to the Alcova or Maxwell Street Guestrooms or any of our 2nd level guestrooms. We only have 2 guestrooms that are on "street" level - our Blue and Des Amis units. For anyone that is not used to working out or going up or down steps it is better to choose one of these rooms. All other guestrooms are up at least one flight (about 22 steps) of stairs. Not a problem for the young or fit, but yes, it can be challenging even for me at my age and I have to go up and down them a lot some days - it definitely was easier 23 years ago when I started the inn.


Great stay in Wicker Park

4.4 on July 08, 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous time at the House of Two Urns. We love B&Bs and Wicker Park is one of our favorite neighborhoods, so staying there made perfect sense! So many restaurants right outside. Comfortable room and great breakfast conversations.


Comfortable, interesting, convenient

4.2 on July 05, 2014

this was an exceptional "find" for us as it was a most convenient location and it offers parking for the car, a real "plus". Everything was perfectly clean and the breakfasts were spectacular and served with a caring artistic flair. the amenities were endless. It was very spacious. We had to walk up a steep flight of stairs but got used to it! The positive features outweighed this factor! Also we were surrounded by interesting artifacts, antique collections and art of all kinds some of it done by the interesting owners.


Charming B & B

4.4 on July 02, 2014

House of 2 Urns is a beautiful, well kept and expertly maintained B&B. Their rules are specific and clearly posted, which is very helpful, I believe. Although there is only one choice of cooked breakfast, it is freshly made and quite good. We have stayed here twice and will probably do so again.


Special touch is missing.

3.6 on June 29, 2014

This was the first time we had stayed at a Bed and Breakfast. The building we stayed in was one of two homes the B&B owned. Nothing really special or different than any of the other homes in the neighborhood. There warm and fuzzy feeling just wasn't there. We had more interaction with fellow guests at breakfast then we did with the owners. They need to work on the hospitality part of the business.. making you feel welcome and special.

Innkeeper Response
I am so sorry you did not get that warm and fuzzy feeling from us during your stay last week. I was ill and out of commission and so we were one person down. However, our staff always ask if anyone needs help or has questions at breakfast time, so when guests are busy chatting among themselves and don't speak up we assume that all are happy. We find that our guests are here to discover Chicago or to visit nearby family and are not expecting to spend the evening with us. When we host art or writer salons we often invite our guests, but generally we use our evenings for personal or family time.


Great place, great people

4.4 on June 23, 2014

Quiet, lovely garden, great breakfasts, on direct bus and subway lines to anywhere in Chicago. Just what I needed.


Very good location on blue line

3.2 on June 09, 2014

Ideal position very close to blue line. 5 min from city centre and 45 mins from airport (direct train). Room is clean and breakfast excellent. That was a good stay for my quick visit to Chicago.


well located b&b

4.6 on June 05, 2014

nice host & hostess, great accommodations


Charming B&B in Wicker Park

4.6 on May 31, 2014

Excellent stay at House of Two Urns, great location in Wicker Park, quiet street, well appointed rooms and wonderful breakfasts, highly recommended.


What an incredible stay!

5 on May 28, 2014

My nephew and I came two Chicago for athletic events - the Cubs and the Blackhawks. Both locations were ideally suited for this B&B. My nephew had never stayed at one before, so that was fun to get to introduce him as well. Kapra & Miguel took GRAND care of us and all the international guests staying there with us - we were the only Americans, so that gave us some great metropolitan experience as well. The food was just fabulous! And wow - to have a garage parking spot during our stay as well was a great perk. We were literally just a couple blocks from public transportation - 3 major bus lines and the blue line subway. We also were blocks from Wicker Park - and amazing restaurant (60+) and shopping cosmopolitan area. I will absolutely be back and will be referring all my friends!


Nice alternative to Chicago hotels

3.0 on May 27, 2014

Nice place. Clean, Midwestern friendly (a notch or two below Southern friendly), decent breakfast. The Innkeepers work to accommodate. We stayed two nights. I would book a pricier room if I go back. Ours (the one with the German name) was a tad small for two with all of the furniture, TV, etc. Very nice location. In a cute neighborhood with plenty of dining options within walking distance. Very close to a train that is a 10 minute ride to downtown.


Excelente B&B: atencion y serviciode lo mejor, Gracias!!

4.6 on May 23, 2014

Solo tenemos palabras de agradecimiento para Kapra y Miguel. Un capitulo excepcional son los desayunos: excelentes. Bien ubicado, a 2 cuadras del metro linea azul, buena calidad de descanso, cocina equipada para uso comun, calida decoracion, obras de arte por doquier, amabilidad y servicio en todos los aspectos. La pasamos muy bien, nos sentimos como en casa de buenos amigos! Gracias!!


review

4.2 on May 16, 2014

very enjoyable an easy walk from the Blue Line hosts were very friendly and helpful


Excellent Value and Location

5 on May 14, 2014

We had easy access to activities all over Chicago. The neighborhood provides good restaurants and bakeries. Our hosts provided excellent breakfasts. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. We loved sharing stories with other guests at breakfast. We are recommending the Two Urn to all our friends.


Great break from hotels

4.0 on April 27, 2014

Stayed here during a weekday Blackhawks hockey game. Super place not far from the stadium. Will definitely stay here again when coming to Chicago.


Lovely B&B in Chicago

5 on April 16, 2014

Located in a pleasant neighborhood near the Blue Line and great bus routes, this B&B offers great value. My room, a quiet single, was nicely decorated with comfortable older/antique furniture; my bathroom had everything that I needed; everything was spotless. A full kitchen was outside my room, as was a full dining room, a sitting room and an outside porch - all these available for me and the guests in two other rooms in the house across from the main house, and up a narrow stairway to the second floor. Breakfast in the main house was outstanding and talking with the other guests fun. The owners were very helpful with great advice about neighborhood restaurants - many of them, a great variety of cultures represented. Excellent place to stay!


A Treasure in Chicago

4.0 on December 20, 2013

Step back in time to the Victorian Age! Wonderful old home on a quiet, leafy street. Well appointed rooms, delicious hot breakfast, safe off-street parking- and 1/2 mile from I-90-94! House of Two Urns has it all.


Christmas trip to Chicago

3.8 on January 03, 2013

Breakfast each morning was convenient and very good. Only one breakfast I didn't care for, but just my personal taste. Others who like spicier foods would have liked it. Bathroom seemed cold at night, but then again we are used to a warmer climate. But when I got up in the middle of the night, it was very cold and felt no heat coming from the register. It may have been that particular room which had a door going to the outside areas. The owners seemed to have thought of every detail in the rooms and information was readily available in a binder which was good as unlike a hotel, there was no one around to answer questions.


Wonderful B&B

4.4 on October 10, 2012

Our stay at House of Two Urns was quite wonderful. We had a two bedroom suite with a large bathroom, living room and kitchen. Every thing we could possibly need was included, even umbrellas to use and flashlights! Private garage for our car, too. The breakfast was cooked just for us each morning and was delicious. At breakfast we got to meet the other guests who were travelers from around the world. House of Two Urns is a huge inprovement over a hotel.


Great Stay

4.6 on October 07, 2012

Lovely accommodations. Delicious, hearty breakfast. Easy public transportation to do things in the city. Knowledgeable hosts with arts interests. Made for a great stay.


Two Urns

5 on September 04, 2012

This was our first stay at the House of Two Urns, but not our last. Our room was beautifully furnished, full of amenities & close to family! Breakfast was wonderful and we met and visited with other guests for a great experience to start our day.


Very good

4.0 on August 27, 2012

We had a very good experience in our first bed & breakfast stay. We would consider to come back. We will definitely let others know about our experience.


Fantastic!

5 on August 01, 2012

Stayed five nights at this perfect place in July 2012. Kapra's three course breakfasts are to die for. Location is near the bus/metro and Wicker Park is an exciting neighbourhood. Lots of good restaurants just round the corner. Two Urns is clean, staff is friendly and helpful, garden lovely, and Kapra's cooking is unforgettable. Highly recommended! Nina Kammersten, Oslo, Norway


A Touch of Home

4.8 on July 27, 2012

Not only is the breakfast fantastic, but each room has little things that make it feel like home. This B&B is highly recommended!


Great value and experience

4.8 on July 21, 2012

I stayed 4 days at the House of Two Urns and I am very happy to share my experience. On the first day Kapra gave me some explanation about things to do in Chicago and also helpful maps of the city. I am glad I made the decision to stay there while exploring Chicago! At first I thought it would be a little far from the downtown, sights, but it turned out to be very conveniently located, since there is a bus in the corner that can take you to the city centre and a subway 2 blocks from the B&B. I really felt at home at this place. They have got all the amenities: dryer, coffee machine, full equipped kitchen, slippers, good towels, soap, shampoo, a fridge to put your food, toiletries, iron, etc. I also love the decor with all the camera collection and the laid back environment. Exquisite breakfast too!!! Very customized, super yammi, better than Hotels in my opinion. The muffin, oh my god, and the waffle... I was really amazed. The girls were so helpful and kind. I was also impressed with the cleaness and tidiness of the place. I couldn't find a single hair on the shared bathroom floor. The only (-) was the bed. It was very noisy, old, the mattress was bad, very bad! I stayed in the smallest room, I think they call the standard/ cat room. Other than the bed I really like my room. It was tiny but cozy, I felt like it was mine. There was a closed to put all your belongings and you could lock it. I highly recommend this place!!!


Homey yet private, the perfect big-city blend

4.8 on July 04, 2012

Great combination of homey atmosphere and privacy in a lively residential neighbourhood. We had a comfortable, quiet room and luxurious private bath with direct access to a living room, kitchen and lovely backyard. My husband normally prefers the anonymity of hotels to B&B's, but he easily agreed this was the perfect choice in Chicago. It's quirky, arty and authentic. Our host Kapra offered delicious, hearty and made-from-scratch breakfasts that varied everyday, much of it provided from her backyard garden. For dinner, there are lots of great restaurants minutes away. We parked our car in the lane-way garage (no extra charge) and took the bus everywhere, which was super-easy to navigate. Kapra sells 24-hour transit passes, which are a great deal and only one of the many thoughtful touches offered here. There is no downside to House of Two Urns.


Nice BnB

4.0 on July 04, 2012

First we booked a room which had a Queen size bed which was to small (we are 6.4 and 6.0), so we had to upgrade to the Porcelain room. Downside was the 30 dollar higher price pro night, upside is that we also had a private bathroom instead of the share one. Breakfast was delicious with fresh ingredients. Host was helpful en friendly and offered good information and suggestions of what to do.


Chicago great B&B

5 on June 21, 2012

The room was large and clean, the food was very good and the neighborhood was really nice!


Great Location

5 on June 14, 2012

Not only was the food fantastic, but the B&B was located only two blocks from a blue line L station and there were lots of bars and restaurants near by. The rooms were clean and it was quiet in the morning.


Chicago Getaway

5 on June 05, 2012

We had a few days between family obligations in the mid-west so looked for some where to go to take a mini vacation. We found the "House of Two Urns" in Wicker Park, a suburb of Chicago that was very close to the loop and all of the downtown attractions. The inn was a delight. The Queen room we booked was spacious and clean and included a garage for our rental car. The owner, Kapra Fleming was very gracious and happened to also be an excellent cook providing a variety of tasty surprises each morning. The inn is very close to public transportation making it easy to run into the city and return with a minimum of difficulty. I highly recommend this B&B for a base for your next Chicago visit.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your lovely review. I just want to clarify a small point. Chicago has lots of "neighborhoods" and also many suburbs. Wicker Park is actually a neighborhood just west and north of the downtown loop and Michigan Avenue areas - it is 2.5 miles to the center of downtown from our location. Suburbs tend to be in the 10 or more mile range out of the downtown loop.


worth the experience

3.6 on May 17, 2012

I don't regret going to this bed and breakfast.. It is well located and easy access to bus or subway. The room for single person I used, is very small and has little window but very clean and lots of attention to details. I compared this to Best Western with free breakfast. The Best Western in Evanston near the subway was cheaper, the 2 Best Western in Chicago were more expensive even with AAA rates discounts. Conclusion I may try the experience again but in a larger room.


I'll be back!!

4.6 on February 12, 2012

I spent a full week at the House of Two Urns during one of their Chicago Writer's Retreats. What a marvelous place for writers to hide away for a week! The rooms are beautifully decorated with art and antique furniture. My personal bathroom was very spacious and included a very large jetted tub. Each meal was a bit unique and laid out nicely. The neighborhood was charming with its old brownstones. The subway to downtown was easy to access and use, even for this country bumpkin, but a cab ride from downtown was also quick and inexpensive.


Artist Retreat

5 on January 31, 2012

I stayed here this January for an artist's retreat. I spent the first half mostly working, and my partner joined me for the second half in which we played tourist at the various museums and ate deep dish pizza (which I discovered is an abomination, sorry Chicago). I stayed in the Alcova room, which takes up most of the top floor of the house. It's newly renovated, quiet, comfortable, huge, and perfectly clean. The bed was comfy (I only used one, though there were three in the room), the desk has a view of the cute neighborhood (which is a short walk from Wicker Park, one of my favorite hangout areas), and there's a massive selection of Disney films on VHS. I imagine this is where families are often placed when booking; I saw inside some of the other rooms downstairs and they're quite small. I noticed someone else gave a bad review for an issue arising over neglecting to mention they were bringing a child, but if they did mention their kid, they could've ended up with the best room in the house! I can see how some reviewers here and on other websites had issue with the "coldness" of the host; there are very detailed instructions and rules on how to stay at the inn, and I think that reflects on rather strict innkeepers. But I spent a good amount of time with both Kapra and Miguel, and honestly, they were positively delightful. I wonder if there are such specific rules/instructions because they had guests in the past who were disrespectful of their rooms and amenities, which would be easy to find offense in, especially since you're staying in their home. Other cool things: short walk from Pohalanka (best Polish food I've ever had), free laundry, awesome art everywhere in the inn (some pieces of which are made by the innkeepers, others which came from various local artists and have interesting back stories), reliable wireless internet, cheap cab ride from the Loop if you don't feel like walking to the train station.


Christmas Vacation at the Two Urns

5 on January 10, 2012

Don't let the title confuse you, our experience was far from the National Lampoon's disaster! I live in Wicker Park and my family (the whole crew- grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, brothers, parents) really wanted to experience Chicago during the holidays. However, my 1 bedroom 1 bath flat was out of the question so I searched reviews for B&Bs open during the holidays. Not only was The House of Two Urns open during the holidays, but Kapra welcomed everybody like they were her own. She even made a special Christmas breakfast spending the time away from her own family to host and feed our crew. I could not speak higher of our experience. We stayed 5 nights and would've stayed another 5 if we could. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. As previously mentioned, the breakfasts phenomenal! Homemade quiche, pancakes, waffles, french toast, perserves, and pastries all served at a convenient time in the morning for you. Kapra didn't even mind us all stomping downstairs in our pajamas after staying up late on Christmas Eve. We booked her 3 bedroom apartment and had all the kitchen facilities to bake Christmas cookies and make a big Christmas dinner, just like at home. We're hoping to make a return trip in the summer to really enjoy the second floor patio overlooking her flower garden. Parking was included, a rarity in Chicago. And we could not have gotten more for our money, especially given that the bed and breakfast is located in the heart of a very popular and busy area with convenient access to public transit and close to downtown. My family and I would highly highly recommend the Two Urns to anyone visiting Chicago regularly, for the first time, those coming with a complete family, or for natives looking for a relaxing, comfortable in-city getaway.


The most amazing place to stay in Chicago!

5 on December 12, 2011

I have stayed at the House of Two Urns several times. Every time I do, I find the place immaculately clean, the artwork interesting and fun, the food amazing, and of course the hosts are welcoming, hospitable, and fill the place with warmth and care.


Thanksgiving stay proves delightful

5 on December 05, 2011

What a great location – close to the subway, near to unique stores, cafes, and restaurants. The elegant dining room and unrushed pace of the service make for a delightful start to the day. We also enjoyed the company of other guests at the tasty breakfasts. The room was perfect. A comfy bed, well equipped bathroom, and access to a small kitchen allowed a home like experience to our vacation in Chicago.


Great food and location

4.6 on November 29, 2011

They make an excellent breakfast and accommodate a variety of food needs. While the rooms are small and not well soundproofed (there's a white noise app to mitigate that problem, by the way), they are an excellent value in a high-priced lodging market. Very convenient to downtown, O'Hare, and local dining options. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.


Two Urns stay October 2011

5 on October 17, 2011

Thoroughly recommended. The location is perfect for both the city and exploring Wicker Park, the fantastic, laid back suburb in which Two Urns is located. It has a wide selection of good restaurants, bars and interesting independent shops within a short walk. Two Urns itself is very comfortable. It is clean, has a wonderful sun deck to the rear and Kapra is a great host. I was made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The breakfasts really set you up for the day too!


lovely place

4.0 on October 02, 2011

We had a good time in this B&B, the location is fine, within reach of restaurants and busses. The room is lovely, the service beyond expectation. Nice to meet other guest in a personal setting (breakfast). The landlady was friendly and helpfull, and made an affort to make the breakfast something special. Nothing bad can be mentioned.


House of Two Urns....great location....spacious rooms

3.6 on August 15, 2011

I am very pleased I chose to stay at Two Urns....had not been to Chicago for 25yrs, not sure what I was in for, but the location, size of room could not have been better. Owner was quite helpful, easy access to public transportation, got a real feel for a "neighborhood". Sharing common areas also allowed for new conversations/meeting interesting people. Would not hesitate to return to Two Urns.


Good value but small rooms.

4.0 on August 14, 2011

House of Two Urns is a good choice for coupes or single travelers looking for a comfortable value B and B. The location is good-near the blue line subway and a neighborhood with good restaurants and bars. The food met my expectations with a hot entree served each day and cereal, toast, and yogurt available as well. The room was small but we had access to a fridge and balcony. Overall, I'd recommend it for someone looking for a good price that's within a half hour subway ride of the loop.


Excellent B&B

3.6 on July 24, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at House of Two Urns -- great location, clean! Very friendly and breakfasts were wonderful.


Wonderful stay

5 on June 17, 2011

This is a perfect place to stay. Located on a quiet street but two blocks from public transportation. The King room is bright and spacious. The common rooms are convenient and I spent relaxing time out on the deck. The breakfasts were some of the best food I have ever eaten! Blueberry french toast, yum! I definitely recommend this B&B.


Like coming home

4.6 on May 26, 2011

I'm not sure if it was more like being on vacation in a foreign country or staying with family you hadn't seen for a long time. My room was just off the kitchen and I took full advantage of making myself tea and knitting at the kitchen table. The apartment common areas were spacious and clean and comfortable with everything decorated in gorgeous antiques. It was a little rainy but I spent part of the morning out on the beautifully crafted multiple level deck overlooking the family garden. Lilacs were fragrantly blooming and it was an amazing Chicago spring morning. We made our breakfast reservations for a later breakfast and by then I was famished. The carrot walnut muffins were amazing but nothing compared to the scrumptious vegetarian strata that was presented a few minutes after being seated. I loved this experience. It was my very first B&B experience and made me want to do it again and again.


Great Home Away from Home

4.2 on April 05, 2011

We stayed at Two Urns for three nights in April and found it to be exactly as described on their website. Kapra, one of the innkeepers, was extremely obliging and helpful. She was a wonderful host. The breakfasts were very tasty and I have to say that the Mexican Strata, which was one of the dishes served, was one of the tastiest meals I have ever had - so delicious! The Inn was located close to the Blue Line subway which made travelling very convenient. We would certainly recommend this accommodation if you are looking for "a home away from home".


Great stay in Wicker Park

3.8 on April 01, 2011

We spent a week at House of Two Urns in March while visiting our daughter. We really liked it; loved the way they have mixed high Victorian decor with wonderful and crazy contemporary art. The rooms are small but comfy, and the common areas are lovely, and a great place to hang out in the evenings when we weren't out and about. Breakfast was always delicious and filling, and served with a smile. Kapra was most helpful advising us how to get around, what to see, etc. Bathrooms were very clean, the towels very thick and soft, the bed was very comfortable, and the bedroom was clean. Our only suggestion would be to damp mop and damp dust the rooms, especially under the bed. It was a bit dusty, and aggravated our allergies. But we would stay there again the next time we visit Chicago, hopefully soon!


Lovely Gem hidden in Wicker Park

4.8 on April 01, 2011

I must say that I was not anticipating finding such a lovely Bed and Breakfast in the middle of Wicker Park in Chicago. The urban setting melted away as you entered the parlor to check in. Kapra, the innkeeper, is extremely attentive, and was very helpful with all my questions, whether about distances to downtown, using the public transit system, or even fun things to do in Chicago. My room was exquisite, very clean, spacious and comfortable. And breakfast was hearty and delightful. Especially considering the relatively low price and convenient location, I will recommend the House of Two Urns to anyone I know traveling to Chicago.


Excellent inn in a very artsy neighborhood with convenient access to downtown.

4.8 on January 17, 2011

Very nicely decorated rooms and common areas. Convenient location to the public transportation. Innkeepers very helpful and friendly, and very accomodating of special dietary needs. Jacuzzi in room was extra bonus. Bed was little hard, but everything else was great and I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!


Great place in Wicker Park

4.8 on January 01, 2011

This was my fourth stay at House of Two Urns. I've been to other Chicago area B&Bs but this is the one I keep returning to. The location is great. It's convenient to public transportation so getting to the Loop is easy, and there are food stores and restaurants within easy walking distance. The rooms are always clean and well-kept. But the best thing about the place is Kapra's breakfasts. Easily among the best I've had and I've stayed in B&Bs and inns all over the country. If you're going to be in Chicago for a few days, give House of Two Urns a try.


Missed on the B & B Part

2.8 on December 04, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in the Alcova room which was clean and warm. The bed was not very comfortable, linens were ok. The worst part was the plastic/vinyl cover on the box springs. Quite noisy and annoying every time you turned which made it hard to get a good night's sleep. I didn't read the information on the website thoroughly so was totally unprepared for no shower in the bathroom and it was a real bummer. The handheld spray in the tub is worthless. A towel rod or hook by the sink would also be very helpful. The towels were nice and and there were plenty of them. The breakfasts were so-so. The fritatta was cold, the pumpkin muffins were burned on the bottom and the waffles were pretty lifeless. The homemade jams were tasty. A chicken or turkey alternative to pork sausage would have been nice. It was quite nice to have a designated free parking spot and the deck looked like it would be pleasant in warm weather.


Location, Vaue and serivce - all three in one place

4.6 on November 21, 2010

Comfortable room, quiet neighborhood, two blocks to the Blue Line, very nice breakfast, thoughtful owner.


House of Two Urns

4.2 on October 20, 2010

Comfortable, convenient & yummy! I would recommend others here to stay.


House of Two Urns

5 on October 19, 2010

Beautiful neighborhood, delicate attentions, unbelievable breakfast, house of charm, nice music (and books). Thanks for the chewing gum.


Cozy Retreat

3.8 on September 14, 2010

Two urns gave us a great night in Chicago. Within blocks of the train we had easy access from the airport and to destinations downtown while staying in a great neighborhood. My only regret is not having time to use the in-room whirlpool.


Very Pleasant Stays

5 on August 10, 2010

My wife stayed one night for three successive weeks. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, friendliness, and creative breakfasts - many with fresh items from the garden.


Nice Getaway in the City

4.6 on August 09, 2010

Great location in the center of Chicago, yet on a quiet street. Excellent breakfast with ingredients from the garden attached to the building. Comfortable rooms and very friendly and helpful service. We would have stayed longer if we could.


Outstanding B&B in Wicker Park, Chicago

4.4 on August 09, 2010

Beautiful rooms and common areas. Spacious bathrooms with jacuzzi. Excellent location. Garage parking. Helpful and friendly hostess and part-time librarian (plenty of books for guests to borrow!).


Relax and Renew

4.4 on July 30, 2010

Two Urns was perfect for our short stay in Chicago. Great jacuzzi tub and wonderful hostess. It was great.


Art, Food, Fun!

5 on July 22, 2010

Two Urns was a delight! An art gallery inside, delicious food, a great location for walking, baseball, everything!


Comfortable and convenient

4.8 on July 04, 2010

The house was beautifully renovated and decorated with interesting artwork. The location was ideal. It was within walking distance of great restaurants and very convenient to public transportation. It was also easy to get to from the interstate and the free parking was a real plus. The innkeeper was informative and helpful in person and also provided binders of suggestions and information for reference in the rooms. Breakfast was delicious!


A very nice house with excellent service

5 on June 27, 2010

The house is well situated to go downtown by bus. We stayed there for two nights and it was a really wonderful experience. Everything was great, the rooms, the breakfast and especially the kindness of Kapra, the host. We loved to stay there and hope we'll return some day.


Great Romantic Getaway

3.6 on June 27, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights at the House of Two Urns in mid-June for our 8th Anniversary. We had an excellent time and really enjoyed the room (King). The breakfasts were outstandung and exceeded our expectations for breakfast by far. The felt we got a great deal for the price we paid.


Turn In at the Two Urns

5 on June 17, 2010

Delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts, plenty of fresh fruits. Spacious lovely rooms with lots of nice touches. I felt very welcome and pampered.


Karen from Kuranda

3.8 on June 16, 2010

Lovely old fashioned inn, excellent facilities ie kitchen, lounge and laundry. Innkeeper very helpful on whats on and transport in Chicago, Breakfasts are inspiring and very tasty.


Great For Creatives

4.6 on May 27, 2010

Simple yet elegant, Two Urns is ideal for people interested in staying with working artists in a hip area of Chicago.


A Home Away From Home

5 on April 29, 2010

We only stayed for 2 nights, but we had the best time. Clean, friendly, and with the extra communal sitting room, kitchen and roof terrace it really did make us feel like we lived here in Chicago for a few days.


Excellent Stay, Essential Location

5 on April 29, 2010

Not only were the rooms themselves incredible, but the service was outstanding. We got more than we expected. Also, the location was absolutely walking distance from great shpping and nightlife, but a quick ride from downtown.


Charming

4.2 on April 19, 2010

Everything about our stay was charming. The breakfast, the room, the yard, the sitting area - all charming. The only problem is now we don't want to stay anyplace else.


Best of the Best

5 on April 14, 2010

Our accommodations were superb! We were surprised repeatedly by the special, helpful touches with info and accommodations provided. Delightful host - the best of the best!


Excellence in B&B

5 on April 02, 2010

This is an amazing Inn. It was superior in accommodations for our 5 year old. Food was so good, we craved breakfast time. This is hands down the best stay in Chicago.


Wonderful neighborhood and great host!

4.8 on March 19, 2010

We had the Alcova suite, with two queen beds, private bath, and of course, free wifi. Beautiful setting, very private, reasonably quiet for Chicago. Will recommend it to our friends.


First Stay

5 on February 11, 2010

First stay at a B&B, very enjoyable, comfortable, convenient. Made us feel at home. Good conversations with the owners.


Chicago Winter Deal

3.8 on February 08, 2010

Very good experience, fabulous breakfast. Winter rates in effect made this a true bargain. Close to public transportation makes getting around very easy.


Great stay in Chicago

5 on December 12, 2009

I stayed at the House of Two Urns for the second time to visit my daughter who lives in Chicago. As always, the place is enchanting and warm. The breakfasts are fantastic and actually something my daughter looks forward to when I come out. The owners are great and very helpful. I would recommend this B&B to everyone. Chuck


Always a Pleasure at Two Urns

5 on December 12, 2009

I have stayed here repeatedly and ALWAYS have a wonderful experience. The place is lovely, clean and filled with interesting antiques and artworks. Everything is as it ought to be--the small details attended to in the meals, the bedding, the information on the area attractions. I highly recommend it and look forward to enjoying Chicago every time as a guest of the House of Two Urns.


House of Two Urns

5 on December 08, 2009

Our visit to Two Urns was outstanding. The service was wonderful. The breakfast was yummy. We shall return. The Kriegers


Beautiful and comfortable B & B in an historic building

5 on December 06, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at House of Two Urns. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were very tasty and elegant. The owner was very gracious and accommodating. There was a computer for use and there was also Wi-Fi for those who brought their own laptop. Free parking for our car. If you enjoy restored and historic buildings, you will enjoy this beautiful B & B. We highly recommend it


A TREAT

5 on November 23, 2009

My Sister and I were looking for a new expeicance in the Chicago area and found it here. The rooms are charming and cleanner then some 5 Star Hotels I have styed in. The Breakfast was as beatiful look at as it was to eat. Miguel and Kapra were helpful, gave us few great suggestions for food and entertainment. We ha a wonderful weekend and recomend The Two Urns to anyone sick of the same old stay on Michian Ave.


House of Two Urns

3.8 on October 20, 2009

Convenient and cozy. Plus a great value.


Great Value

4.4 on October 03, 2009

I felt very comfortable at the House of Two Urns B & B. The Breakfasts were oustanding and the rooms were clean and cozy. The B&B was conveniently located to all forms of transit, Parking was definitly a plus and at the right price, I also enjoyed the tip of the day, Kapra was a great hostess, I would certainly recomend this to friends and relatives.


Convenient and roomy

4.4 on September 01, 2009

Our family met in Chicago for a mini family reunion and reserved both an apartment and a B&B room to accommdate our group. The apartment comfortably housed four adults and an infant and was used as the communal space for our group of seven. The location exceeded expectation and was an easy five minute walk to bus and subway stops. We also loved all the ethnic restaurants in the area and the friendly neighborhood. We will stay here again on our next vist to Chicago.


Cozy B&B

4.4 on May 18, 2009

Exellent location, charming place I rented the apartament and I felt at home!


Convenient location, excellent food

4.0 on May 05, 2009

Conveniently located near public transportation in a safe neighborhood. I was amazed to see that local residents leave their bicycles outside at night. Breakfast includes homemade bread and muffins with homemade preserves and a freshly prepared hot entree.


Great Stay and Food

4.6 on April 10, 2009

Very clean and comfortable place with unique artifacts throughout, adding to the ambience. Nice to have kitchen facilities as well. Good deli nearby and close to subway. We will be back.


Extremely charming

5 on April 10, 2009

The Two Urns is a treasure. I'm so lucky to have found it. I wanted to stay much longer in this extremely charming and atmospheric house.


Excellent

5 on April 09, 2009

Mine was a short stay but the room was perfect and comfortable. Even a jacuzzi in the bathroom. Breakfast very good and the innkeeper was amazing.


Cutest B&B ever

4.6 on March 05, 2009

I stayed in the Alice Room, which had a Princess & the Pea plus Alice in Wonderland theme. It was adorable. The innkeeper is also so nice and helpful--not to mention an amazing cook!


Two Urns, five stars

5 on February 20, 2009

This is a brilliant place to stay. I came to it via the Amtrak site- it's charming, unusual, and had a unique identity. Breakfast was great too! Thoroughly recommended!


Plan to stop here again!

4.0 on February 04, 2009

Karpa, our hostess, was so welcoming and gracious. Made us feel at home. Her breakfasts were wonderful. Highly recommend the House of Two Urns!


comfortable, quiet, very good breakfasts

4.0 on January 28, 2009

quiet neighborhood near good transportation


:)

4.0 on January 28, 2009

great stay; very accommodating!


nice stay

4.6 on January 22, 2009

nice stay


House of Two Urns

3.8 on January 14, 2009

Quaint- old row house; small room with semi-private bath; very comfy mattress; guest kitchen; excellent breakfast with informative owner.


AFFORDABLE LUXURY

4.0 on January 13, 2009

OUR BEST CHICAGO stay ever! It was a lovely room with a luxurious bath and garage for parking; the food was great, the price was right, and the hostess was charming. A real pleasure to visit!


Thanksgiving in Chicago

3.8 on December 18, 2008

Very pleasant stay- hostess/owner very congenial. Would definitely stay again. Disappointed a better rote not given for a 5 night stay.


wonderful stay

4.2 on December 17, 2008

My family stayed at the House of Two Urns for a long weekend and it was delightful. The common room was comfortable and spacious. The suite was lovely. My son especially liked hiding away in his own room in the back! The breakfast was very good and I would recommend this place to anyone.


My stay at House of two Urns

5 on December 03, 2008

This is just to confirm that the three nights I had were most pleasant! Each breakfast was home cooked and extraordinary! Everything I needed was taken car of, including a place to park my car!


two urns

5 on November 03, 2008

great stay! great hosts, great food, great everything!


wonderful 3 days in Wicker Park

5 on October 31, 2008

The breakfasts were superb! The bed provided an excellent night of sleep. Anything needed by the travelers was anticipated and of the best quality. We will return!


Just like home!

4.0 on October 28, 2008

Located in a quiet part of Chicago, the whole place was the atmosphere of your Grannie's home. Awesome!


House of Two Urns

4.2 on October 28, 2008

The breakfast was outstanding and very special. We also appreciated the museum cards. Great Place to stay at. Thank you!


We are glad we gave up our luxury hotel

4.4 on October 27, 2008

Well managed, room for two of us, spacious, lock and key keep rooms secure, solid, good breakfast, near subway to downtown.


Art Museum

5 on October 13, 2008

Staying here is always a delight. Like living in an Art Museum, also like being at home. Guests are pampered. Other guests are interesting.


Chicago B&B

3.8 on October 02, 2008

Delicious homemade breakfast, convenient location - 1 1/2 blocks from Subway train, clean and comfortable, wonderful art & photography books.


apartment on greenview

4.4 on July 06, 2008

we have just returned from a trip to chicago, we were 2 couples. enjoyed the apartment , just great far exceeded our expectations. clean and fully stocked. great location thanks for a wonderful stay.


The Best so Far.

5 on December 17, 2007

Our family was thrilled with our accomodations. We have never experienced such wonderful hospitality. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I would recommend this b&b to anyone!


Fabulous Chicago B & B

4.8 on August 16, 2007

My husband and I visited chicago mid-july and not only were impressed by the fantastic city, but also by The House of Two Urns B & B which is also a fantastic place to stay. We are in our mid 20s so while we wanted a quiet place to sleep we were also looking for some good nightlife/bars/restaurants/shopping/etc. 2 Urns provides the best of both worls - it is not in downtown chicago, but is very close (10 min by bus / subway and a cheap cab ride at night) - it's located near the Wicker Park/Bucktown neighborhoods which proved to be charming, hip, metropolitan, and great for evening strolls with plenty of eating/drinking options. The B & B is on a residential street a short walk from the nexus of the action, so while we were close to plenty of entertainment the street noise did not reach our bedroom window. The B & B is meticulously clean and the owner, Capra, has thought of all the extra touches to make the stay exceptional (bathrobes, slippers, extra toothbrushes, gorgeous breakfast, loads of tour info. and directions to various places and attractions). The B&B also has a fully functional (plates, utensils, etc) kitchen for guests to use as well as a lovely roof deck for relaxing. We were so impressed by the facilities and the city that we didn't want to leave!! While the location might turn people off (not downtown) - don't let it! Again, it's simple and quick to get downtown and the B & B is located in a special, hip neighborhood that you might not otherwise get to experience. We can't wait to go back : )


Great Home Away from Home

4.6 on July 30, 2007

We recently stayed in the "Chambre des Amis" for a few nights. What a perfect place to stay - the hosts have thought of everything in this suite (and is shares a well-equipped kitchen and living room with another bedroom). Lots of luxurious extras, fabulous breakfasts, very helpful owner and staff - it really is like being home (as long as you live in a very nice house). We will return on our next visit to Chicago.


Highly recommended

4.0 on June 12, 2007

We stay at B+Bs frequently and they can be hit and miss. Two Urns was definitely a hit. It was very attractive and comfortable, the location was extremely convenient, breakfasts were good, and amenities all you could ask for. Surprises like an excellent library of DVDs and two artists as hosts were the icing on the cake. We'll be back.


Unique Bed and Breakfast in Chicago

5 on January 05, 2007

We stayed here last week and will be there for MLK weekend. The breakfasts are outstanding as Kapra is very inventive and generous in her portions. The beds are like European, comforter beds. The Inn's decore is unique because each room has a theme and history for the Chicago area or time period.


House of Two Urns

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $179
  • Reviews (154) 4.5
  • Rooms 8

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-773-235-1408
  • Fax 1-7732351410
Top