Inn at Grey Gables Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.7
  • Service4.3
  • Value3.7
  • Cleanliness3.9
  • Onsite Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

Decent

3.2 on September 12, 2012

My biggest complaint was the poor WiFi signal. We stayed in the Jonathan Room and had little to no WiFi signal. The hosts were very friendly. Breakfast was tasty and filling. Cheese and wine was disappointing. The bed was very comfortable. The room was a little cramped feeling at times.


A nice stay

3.6 on August 29, 2011

The innkeepsers were delightful and the service was great. Good food as well. The house could use a lot of maintenance, in particular the carpeting was quite dingy.


Could have been better!

2.2 on August 06, 2010

the carpets were filthy, the room was so small we could hardly manuever. The food was exceptional, however, there was not coffee available unless you rang a bell & waited. I would have appreciated freedom to getr my own coffee at 7am. Only 2 times were allowed for meals, 8:30 & 9:30. 1sta day tried running after breakfast, not good. The meals were exceptional.


Our wonderful stay at Grey Gables

4.8 on June 02, 2010

My husband and I are very happy to say our 4-day stay at Grey Gables was so great we would like to return. We knew in advance that the location was right for us - the proximity to downtown Charlevoix made for easy walking and sight seeing trips to Traverse City and Petoskey as well as various Lake Michigan beaches were easy drives. What we didn't know in advance was how welcome we would be made, what excellent breakfasts we would enjoy, the very gracious wine and cheese afternoons with informative and pleasant discussions, the fluffy towels and comfortable, fresh bed, I could go on and on. Grey Gables is in the process of some needed rehab work, but we were never disturbed. While the Inn could use new flooring, that the Inn needed new flooring didn't distract us from having a very enjoyable stay. Our hosts and chefs, Michael and Scott, truly enjoy serving gourmet dishes; in fact, we attribute their customer service the main reason we would like to return. Our stay at Grey Gables was our first bed and breakfast stay. We recommend Grey Gables to anyone - you will feel very welcome and refreshed upon leaving, although a bit sad you must.


World Class Experience

4.8 on January 22, 2010

This quaint bed & breakfast was such a great winter surprise for us! The extra attention to detail made the difference here: interesting selection of wine and cheeses... fresh and well-paired; outstanding, balanced, abundant, home-cooked breakfast; plenty of relaxation in the living room or our suite; helpful without being intrusive site managers. We booked again for our annual October Fall Color Tour along the Michigan & Canadian coast.


Hospitality to a tee

5 on October 25, 2009

A beautiful inn that was perfectly complemented by the warm, outgoing, and over-the-top hospitality of innkeepers Michael and Scott. Breakfast was the best we've ever had anywhere, hands down. Michael and Scott accommodated our schedule by customizing their attention to our needs--totally above and beyond our expectations. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.


Great Place!

5 on August 27, 2009

Everything was perfect for our stay - the place was clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was delicious and the inn keepers were superb! The list could go on and on and on! I highly recommend The Inn at Grey Gables!


You have my return business !

4.4 on July 05, 2009

Easy to find, Beautiful house & full porch invite you in. Upon arrival I was greeted by friendly and informed innkeepers. Wine and Cheese tasting was a welcome surprise, but not as nice as the freshly baked cookie found in my room at night. My room was quaint, cozy, comfortable the bathroom was clean and well supplied. The breakfast served was baked apple french toast with all the goodies. Coffee hot - service great. I recommend this B & B your next trip to Charlevoix. Thank You Grey Gables for wonderful stay.


Definitely headed back!

4.6 on June 30, 2009

After our visit to the Inn at Grey Gables, we'd certainly recommend it to anyone interested in a excellent B&B stay in Charlevoix. Our innkeepers were welcoming, attentive and very gracious - from the overall sense of hospitality down to the fresh-baked gourmet cookies and meringues before bed, the quality of the job done extended down to small details. The short distance of a block or so from downtown Charlevoix and 5 minutes to the nearby state park are excellent added reasons to settle in here for a getaway.


Deteriorated Under New Mgmt?

2.4 on October 03, 2008

Carpets stained and dirty, service seemed reluctantly provided, and the welcome was NOT warm. Breakfast was very good. No electric outlet in our bathroom.


Nice stopover on the way to Beaver

3.2 on August 21, 2008

We arrived later in the day and missed the wine and cheese welcome but the dinner at the restaurant ( also owned by Grey Gables) was a highlight of the trip. Piano, perfect martini's and fabulous food For those who were hooked on the Olympics, the lack of in-room TV would be a problem, but overall, great value and service


What a great visit!

4.0 on June 01, 2008

We stayed to celebrate our wedding aniversary and had a great time. Margaret, the innkeeper, was wonderful! Breakfast was fabulous and filling (we has to skip lunch two of the days) and the wine and cheese was a great time to meet other guests and start the evening off right. It felt more like visiting a great friend's home than a b&b. Thanks so much.


Great Time....

5 on December 31, 2006

You will have a great time there. You have to attend the wine and chesse hour. Lots of fun! The breakfast is great...not too much food but just enough. And the turn down service is a nice touch. Check out tripadvisor too.....


Inn at Grey Gables

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $219
  • Reviews (13) 4.0
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-231-547-2251
  • Fax 1-2315472251
Top