Coombs House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
198 Reviews

Write A Review

Le passé toujours présent

4.0 on August 06, 2014

excellent accueil dans un immeuble historique. Très agréable petit dejeuner Nicole et Jean cClaude


Great Inn, great experience

4.0 on August 01, 2014

Great experience across the board: quiet, clean, comfortable, friendly staff, great breakfast. Beautiful old home that is very well maintained. Actually there are three old homes; we stayed at the main house as well as one a block away, and both were super. We will find a way to get back one day!


olejoehawke

4.0 on July 29, 2014

history buffs will love it, great rooms


quiet romantic weekend

4.8 on July 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the coombs house inn. We stayed in room #9 (sandpiper)... quiet and private. no one to either side of us or above us. The room was lovely and very clean. There is some road traffic during the night but not enough to be worrisome. The innkeepers are so nice and friendly. Our breakfast was superb!!!! We will definitely stay here again!


Loved It

4.6 on July 25, 2014

Everyone was very friendly and helpful, had a wonderful stay. Room was clean and comfy, loved that they left bath salts for the jacuzzi tub. Would highly recommend will definitely be going back.


A Memorable Anniversary in the Coombs House Inn

3.4 on July 08, 2014

We had never been to this area of Florida before and enjoyed exploring this quaint fishing village rich in history. The elegance and charm of the main house added to the uniqueness of our celebration, and we enjoyed the privacy and solitude provided by our suite at the smaller house adjacent to the inn. We also thought less traffic noise since we were at the back of the smaller house in the Cloisters. We enjoyed the lovely breakfast each morning and appreciated the beach chairs provided when we drove to St. George Island. While we thoroughly enjoyed time spent there, we agree our extended family might not enjoy as much due to limited activities (other than beach) for our teen grandchildren.


A must experience in historic Apalachicola

4.8 on June 30, 2014

Very clean, exquisite service, and in walking distance to all the shops and dining experiences of Apalachicola


coombs house inn apalachicola florida

5 on June 23, 2014

The moment we entered the check- in lobby we knew we were in for a great two day visit and nothing altered that first feeling. The staff was welcoming and helpful and we loved the ambiance of every room we visited or glimpsed.


Great Value

3.6 on June 13, 2014

Great value for a quick getaway. The Raney room was great. It had plenty of room and was quiet except for a little bit of road noise. Not enough to disturb my stay. I really enjoyed the proximity to St. George Island and local restaurants. I would definitely stay again.


Overnight Stay

5 on June 13, 2014

Wonderful place and people. Highly recommend. Would definitely stay there again. Rooms large, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Stayed in main building, and would definitely request that building on next trip. Staff wonderful. Breakfast delicious and filling. Loved the place.


Pleasant Stay

4.6 on June 05, 2014

Main house entry and the dining room reflected the original historic house décor. Nice outdoor patio. Bikes available for trips around town. Great location within walking distance to several restaurants, quaint stores, small harbor, library, and an old cemetery (complete with Spanish moss on trees). Warm cookies available in the evening. Breakfast of spinach and tomato quiche, melon chunks, bagels, toast, cereal, muffins, orange juice, coffee.


Great Restful stay

4.6 on June 03, 2014

Our visit to Apalachicola Fl, was made an exceptional weekend getaway because of our stay at The Coombs Inn. The staff called us earlier in the day to welcome us and the room was wonderful. The room and town made us think about visits to our respective grandparents when we were young. I am looking forward to our return visit to the area.


Horrible traffic noise, uncomfortable bed, poor quality breakfast, recently sold to new management"

1.4 on June 03, 2014

The room we were given was named Heron and along with half the others in the building are right on and facing the main highway. The resulting noise did taper down in the evening but starting right up again around 6 am, becoming quite loud and disturbing as I am trying to sleep in on one of my vacation mornings. However, the room was quite large, clean and furnished with a four posted bed and antiques. The hot breakfast that morning consisted of frozen tasting baked biscuits and some Jimmy Dean type prepared sausage gravy, along with the standard cereal, coffee and yogurt. Biscuits and gravy may be considered a hot breakfast to locals but is NOT what one would expect in a nice B&B. We asked for a different room for the next night considering the LOUD noise from the highway and were offered instead a handicapped room in their nearby annex building that was quite literally big enough for one bed, dresser and chair....about 1/4th the size of our previous room but in the rear of the building and noticeably quieter. This is extremely poor customer service and hardly a comparable room, almost punishing us for complaining about traffic noise. This room was quiet overnight but had several maintenance issues along with a mattress in truly awful condition, being able to feel the springs bulginging through the material and very uncomfortable to sleep on. The hot breakfast the following day was dried out, tasteless reheated eggs, again some cheap Jimmy Dean type sausage and store bought bland cubed fruit. We had to ask for the bagel to be toasted as they have no toaster in the dining room. The breakfasts here were overall pitiful, inadequate and sorrowful. The facility itself is nice but with the accompanying inferior customer service, noise and maintenance issues and pathetic breakfast make the Coombs Inn an unacceptable and an entirely unsuitable choice of a B&B to stay while in Apalachicola.


Great Stay at the Coombs House

4.8 on April 30, 2014

Celebrated our wedding anniversary again at the Coombs house, was a nice wedding there and relaxed all weekend.


Great place to stay

5 on April 30, 2014

We stayed one night at the Coombs House Inn. It was great! Very clean. Very pretty. Great breakfast. Nice people.


Delightful

4.8 on April 22, 2014

This is in the top 5% of any bed and breakfast we have ever experienced. The very best feature was the bed. I felt like I was sleeping both on and under clouds. The room was a decorator's delight. I would highly recommend this B and B.


Maryland senior couple in Apalachicola

5 on March 11, 2014

Everything was Excellent -- the house, the Bedroom Bath & Bed, the Breakfast, and especially all the Staff who were wonderful. Location is perfect for the many things to see & do in Apalachicola. We will definitely be back this is a great place to see lots of natural beauty and the Coombs house is the place to experience it from.


Feb 11/12

5 on February 15, 2014

excellent service and food


Perfect getaway

5 on February 11, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend in Apalachicola and the Coombs House was largely responsible for it. Staff, such a Donna and Estella went out of their way to be helpful and the accommodations leave nothing to be desired. We arrived on a rainy, cold evening and were warmly greeted by a cozy fireplace and glass of red wine with cheese. Breakast was excellent the next morning. What more could one ask for!


Reviews were so good but our stay was not

2.0 on February 07, 2014

We arrived early evening and were met by the manager who told us she thought everyone was already in. Nice 3 room suite in a old refurbished building. Had trouble with TV and called to ask how it worked. Next morning we enjoyed the in room coffee and then went for breakfast. They have small buffet with cereal, yogurt, bagels, mini muffins, etc. and the "warm" entre was a breakfast biscuit. Unfortunately, the biscuit was cold, the egg was less than warm but not cold, and the sausage was the same. I decided to have a bagel but there was no toaster so cold bagel. We went back for the advertised tea and home made cookies. Unfortunately, several comments were made to us during that time by the manager regarding hot water and the cookies. There is no temperature adjustment for the room and it was a bit cool that evening. Evidently the temperature is set for all the suites in the veranda building. The instructions said the temperature is controlled by housekeeping but we hesitated to call since it was evening and we did not want any more interaction with the manager. We left the next morning before breakfast. We received a call from the manager who asked how things went. We explained the problems to her but not sure it did any good. She did offer some type of gift certificate for another stay but needless to say we declined. I think this could be a nice place but the comments from the manager need to be less "teasing" or "acidic" because guests don't always understand the context. We went for a "get away" to be together but could hardly wait to "get away" from this facility. I truly hope this was a one time thing but I don't understand how a B&B can serve cold food that does not even appear to be home made.


Worth a detour

5 on February 01, 2014

The Coombs House Inn is an absolute gem, with an interesting history that reflects Apalachicola's grand past. We stayed in the Dupont suite, which was perfect. Breakfast was excellent, with a new cooked dish every morning. The staff constantly went out of their way to make us feel at home, and we truly enjoyed our stay. I would actually make a major detour to stay there again.


"we'll be back"

4.4 on January 30, 2014

This is our 4th time staying at the Coombs Inn. We love it and plan to return until we have stayed in every room :) We have especially enjoyed the cottage that is pet friendly.


Mid week getaway

3.8 on January 19, 2014

Clean, quaint and comfortable Inn with lots of character. Friendly staff. Endless coffee and good breakfast.


Old Apalachicola

2.6 on January 05, 2014

Location was great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean, but needed a second chair. Food was ok, the new years party was excellent. Would s Neededt hree again.


The Cloisters Suite

3.8 on January 03, 2014

Met or exceeded our expectations for the Cloisters Suite, with one exception: there is no thermostat to control room temperature. Our room was very cold at times over our 3 day stay, and we had to call the Innkeeper each day to ask for some heat in our suite. The Innkeeper and entire staff were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to provide good service.


what a wonderful get-a-way!!

4.8 on November 23, 2013

We had a great time! We could not have felt more welcomed!!


We will be back

4.8 on November 17, 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but after spending 3 nights at the Coombs House, I felt I needed to. From the booking (by phone) to the heartfelt adieus, the staff were remarkably friendly, helpful and professional. They were well informed of the area and shared about local eateries, attractions and folklore. They made the trip vastly more enjoyable. As for the Inn, well it was elegant, comfortable, homey, charming and mysterious. The tales of Mr. Coombs' ghost visiting his old room (the one we stayed in) added to the charm and mystificaton of the Inn. Now to the food! Breakfast, served every morning, was freshly prepared and side dishes were abundantly available. The food was excellent. Sightseeing in Apalachicola is limited due to the size of the town, but it has galleries, antique shops and gift shops aplenty and quaint working waterfront. Oysters are its hallmark and they are the best I have ever had. Apalachicola is home to one of the best Nautical Treasures I have come across, it is The Tin Shed, and is directly across form the river. The surrounding area is lush with tidal preserves and watersports. Fishing and kayaking seeming to be the most popular. Also the beaches in surrounding towns are superb. All in all, we would highly recommend a visit to the area and The Coombs House Inn is a must. We will return in the spring for sure.


"Step Back in Time"

5 on November 03, 2013

My stay in the Magnolia Room of this wonderfully restored home with all the old wood and antique furnishings, was like a trip back in time. The innkeeper and staff were friendly and helpful and made me feel special. Breakfast in the dining room was a culinary delight and the bed was so comfortable that I hated to leave. Hoping that I will get to return again soon.


You've Got to Try This One

4.6 on November 03, 2013

Elegant but relaxing B & B, and great location for shopping & dining in laid back coastal Apalachicola, FL. Would plan to return the very next time that we are in the area.


Charming!

5 on October 30, 2013

It was so relaxing to slow down to a simpler time period and enjoy the beautiful Coombs House Inn. I would recommend it heartily for anyone with a sense of history.


You must go

4.0 on October 29, 2013

Staying here was the best decision I made during my trip.


A Very Special Place

4.8 on October 28, 2013

We loved our time at the Coombs House. It is an elegantly restored inn that caters to their clientele. Our room was charming and comfortable, the breakfast was varied and delicious, the wine & cheese hour a delightful surprise, and the waitstaff simply outstanding. We will gladly return again in the future.


Excellent Service

5 on October 22, 2013

We were in town for Running for the Bay Half Marathon and received nothing but excellent service. We were able to check in early, received a late check out (so we could shower after the run) and they even provided access to breakfast early so we could chow before the run. Everyone was very accommodating and made our stay seamless. Would absolutely recommend to others.


Honeymoon

3.8 on October 17, 2013

We stayed for three days for a short honeymoon following our wedding ceremony. We stayed in the Mr Mrs Coombs Room, which was fantastic. That bed is sooo comfy. Also the jets in the tub are really nice too. The breakfast each morning was wonderful. If we make it down again we're definitely staying here.


Visit for our 60th Anniv.

4.0 on October 09, 2013

We stayed 5 nights & just relaxed, We enjoyed sitting on the porch to read & when the sun got to hot, we went to the patio to read & relax, Always a breeze on the patio. We enjoyed walking all over town & eating a lot of oysters!! We enjoyed our visit very much!!


Elegant B&B

4.4 on September 26, 2013

It met our every expectation. Lovely rooms, free bike and beach towel service and walking distance to local shops and restaurants. We will be back!


Coombs House Inn

4.8 on September 24, 2013

The most wonderful experience! We strongly recommend Coombs House Inn.


A great getaway.

4.6 on September 02, 2013

Coombs Inn was a great place for a getaway. The Inn is beautifully decorated, the room comfortable and the breakfasts tasty. We reserved the smallest room and were pleasantly surprised at check in that our room was upgraded to a beautiful large room, The Raney. We will visit again especially they serve Starbucks Coffee even in the rooms!!! Nice touch.


Perfect Anniversary Getaway

4.8 on August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 11, "Heaven." The room was incredible, so elegant and lovely. It was very clean and we appreciated that the cleaning ladies came at 10am each morning to straighten up the room and provide fresh towels. The staff was wonderful; we arrived later than expected and when I called to tell them of our delay in travel they were very kind and told us to drive safely and not to worry about our arrival time. When we arrived we were greeted kindly, given a tour, and shown to our room. The next morning we had a delicious ham and potato bake for breakfast, along with fresh fruit and bagels. Then we explored the town, which took about 3 hours walking and checking out little shops. We are at Boss Oyster which was very good. We could have walked there from the Inn but didn't due to rain. The main town area is within walking distance of the B&B which is very convenient. Our entire experience was wonderful. So relaxing and romantic. Apalachicola is a cute seaside town that takes you back to another time, when life was simple and uncomplicated by modern technology and ideas.


mother-daughter get away

4.8 on August 19, 2013

I took my beach-loving daughter for a 3 day get-away recently and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were escorted into a relatively small room, which was beautiful and immaculately clean, but more appropriate for a romantic getaway than mother-daughter bonding. When we voiced our disappointment, we were immediately rescheduled for a much larger room with a jacuzzi tub, even tho it was only available for 1 night. The staff graciously moved our belongings into another room the next day so we could spend our time on the beach! The staff went out of their way to make us happy and we couldn't have asked for better treatment. The only thing I would recommend is that you check the complimentary umbrellas before loading up for the beach...the wind is very strong and the first one we picked had a broken stay. Others were available, so we simply chose another.


A great weekend!

4.8 on August 07, 2013

What a beautiful place to spend a weekend. Our dogs and us had a great room (room 17). The breakfast was superb. The owner was a very gracious host and had some great stories about the Coombs House restoration. Be sure to get a room with a jacuzzi tub. Will be back.


A Heavenly Weekend

5 on August 07, 2013

Friendly, hospitable, attention to detail, comfortable, beautiful. Even provided a champagne bucket for our room since we were celebrating our 55th wedding anniversary. The most heavenly bed we have ever experienced!!!


Would have been perfect had king size room been available

4.8 on August 06, 2013

A wonderful 3 days in a lovely B&B. Only wish we had booked earlier to have had a king room or a Jacuzzi suite. Great staff and wonderful breakfasts.


A great place to stay.

5 on August 04, 2013

This house was originally constructed around the turn of the century and has been well preserved and furnished with period pieces. It is very comfortable, we loved the bed. The staff is professional, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and different each day. The atmosphere at breakfast, and throughout the day if you are in, is relaxing and conducive to making new friends. The town and the area are beautiful with several great seafood restaurants.


Our romantic getaway at the Coombs House Inn

5 on August 01, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Coombs House Inn. we stayed in the Veranda House next to the main house and it was great. would recomment it to anyone. the staff was excellent from Maintenance to manager.


We will definitely return again!

5 on July 28, 2013

Our three day visit to the Coombs House Inn far surpassed our expectations. Our accommodations were extremely comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Each day we were served a different and delicious gourmet breakfast. The owners and staff were gracious and so helpful---explaining the history of the inn and the surrounding sites. They also recommended many good restaurants. We definitely plan to return again! Such kind and individual treatment was greatly appreciated.


weekend getaway

5 on July 24, 2013

We went to Coombs for a wedding weekend. The room, stay, breakfast -- EVERYTHING was wonderful!


EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY

4.4 on July 21, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Appalachicola and to Coombs House Inn. It is located in a very convenient place that makes it easy to walk to restaurants, shops, and local attractions. Equally nice is its location just 3 blocks from a Piggly Wiggly grocery store and a CVS. We were treated to a delicious breakfast and cookies in the afternoon. You can have access to tea and coffee all day.


It Was awesome place

4.6 on June 27, 2013

great area and room was perfect


Stayed May 16-19

4.6 on May 21, 2013

We stayed in the Closter Suite--loved it! The breakfast was GREAT!


Nice comfortable B&B in Apalachicola

4.4 on May 08, 2013

Very accommodating we arrived late and the inn keeper made arrangements for us to access our room after normal hours. Bed and room very comfortable. Setting very nice. We borrowed bicycles and enjoyed all that Apalachicola has to offer. We would return again.


First class stay!

4.4 on April 28, 2013

I was very impressed by Coombs Inn attention to detail. The towels had a freshness like no other inn where I have stayed. Both coffee mugs and insulated cups were provided for the room coffee maker. These may not seem like much but when you attend to the details it make for a great stay. I'll be back!


Red Hat Group

5 on April 26, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Everyone was friendly. Breakfast was Fantastic. Enjoy ourselfs. Only 2 blooks from shopping.


Relaxing Getaway

3.4 on April 24, 2013

The Innkeepers (Tam & Scott) were delightful and quite accommodating. We very much enjoyed our stay. Only negative was the busy/noisy highway which unfortunately our room faced, preventing us from having a restful sleep. We would stay there again but in a different room.


A must stay in Apalachicola.

5 on April 19, 2013

What a great place with exceptional staff and managers. Our room was clean and the food was wonderful. It's walking distance to the Apalachicola downtown area and it's a short drive to St. George Island. The Coombs House Inn is nestled in one of the last true gems of the Florida Panhandle. There is nothing better than real places with real people, a real treat. If you love old homes with first rate service and a twist of the seaside village life, look no further and treat yourself.


April getaway

3.6 on April 16, 2013

A quick weekend getaway in a sleepy little town. The rooms were larger than we expected and very private.


Wow! We loved our stay.

4.8 on April 15, 2013

Okay to convince my husband to stay in a bed and breakfast was a huge feat. After the weekend he was amazed at the service and the care in details everything was. He has told me we will be staying there again. The stay was wonderful.


Review of room

4.0 on April 12, 2013

We were overjoyed with our entire experience with the exception of the cleanliness of the room. The bed was clean but the blinds and furniture were not properly cleaned. All had oily polish left on just part of the furniture of some had never been dusted and had 1 inch of dust covering blinds and trim. A mess to say the least. It has beautiful furnishings, food and associates. We loved our stay and will return and hope this problem is addressed immediatly.


Wonderful Seaside Village

5 on April 09, 2013

We had an Outstanding stay at Coombs! People are missing out on a relaxing and fun visit and an opportunity to learn more about the harvest of oysters, sponges and shrimping. The area, including St. George Island (SGI) and light house, is awesome. Apalachicola has some of the best "fresh" seafood you can find and the restaurants are very reasonably priced. Be sure to check out "The Hut" on SGI for great devised crabs, The Owl Cafe for wonderful Black Grouper and shrimp, AJ's Neighborhood Grill for a variety of seafood, and Boss Oyster for 28 varieties of oysters. We had heard good things about Tamara's Cafe, but had to leave before ordering because of the extremely poor service at their store---the only negative to our visit. Coombs staff is very gracious and available at all times...Don't miss their breakfast! The Historic District and most restaurants are within close and easy walking distance. A large number of restaurants are on or have a view of the Apalachicola River. The Maritime Museum is a great visit, also. Coombs is the definite place to be in this village. Mike and Alonda, Bella Vista, AR


Relaxing and delightful!

4.6 on April 08, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 30th wedding anniversary vacation. The room we stayed in was the "Hemingway". It was located above the garage. It was a very private room and great "get away". We loved the walk into town to enjoy the shops and restaurants...especially on days that were not suited for the beach. Thanks for making our stay a lasting memory!


Our weekend stay on The forgotten Coast.

5 on March 18, 2013

We had the most wonderful weekend getaway. We stayed in the charming Coomb's House Inn B&B. The architecture was stunning & inviting. It felt like we had stepped into an era of Victorian romance. We were welcomed like family by Tamela & Scott with an afternoon array of tea & fresh baked cookies. The room we stayed in, the Biltmore, was nothing short of breathtaking. The colors, decor, & the spacious jacuzzi tub were so relaxing, it was hard to leave. We are already making plans for our next trip back.


Loved the area and atmosphere of the Inn

4.8 on March 16, 2013

It was a wonderful experience to stay in this excellent Inn. The staff was excellent and I would stay again in a heartbeat!


Mid week get away with friends.

4.4 on March 15, 2013

We Stay 6 weeks in March and April in St. Augustine FL each year. Each year we do a side trip with friends to some other area to see the countryside. This year we chose Apalachicola and were not disappointed! Found the Coombs Inn and loved the our stay. This area is were Oysters are hand harvested and fresh to the table each day. Destiny our inn host was great in pointing us to the local place for dinning and we loved every place we ate.


SISTERS GET-TO-GETHER

5 on March 13, 2013

AS THE YEARS GO BY, MY SISTER AND I HAVE A MORE DIFFICULT TIME DRIVING THE DISTANCE TO MEET, SO WE PICKED APALACHICOLA FOR A GET TO GETHER AND HAVE OUR MANY GAMES OF SCRABBLE. OUR ROOM WAS PERFECT, SO BIG AND SPACIOUS, AND GOING DOWNSTAIRS FOR COFFEE OR WINE WAS A BONUS. I MAY BE THE SCRABBLE QUEEN, BUT THE INN WAS OUR KING. THANKS FOR THE WEEKEND. NANCY AND DIANE


2 day stay

3.4 on March 12, 2013

A chance to improve - updates needed


Grand Stay

4.0 on March 11, 2013

The Coombs House Inn was the first Bed & Breakfast for us and it was delightful. The furnishings and decor were outstanding. The Innkeepers couldn't have been more accommodating. The website is true to what you will get. Be sure to check out all the details.


Wonderful folks at Coombs house

5 on March 05, 2013

Neat old house. Great hosts and friendly employees. Interesting, historical old town.


Park the car and relax

4.2 on February 25, 2013

This is the second visit to Coombs House Inn and it was better than the first. Because of its location, you can park you car and just walk all the area. There is so much to see and do that riding would cause you to miss so much that is tucked away. There is so much Southern charm not only at the B&B, but the people are friendly and love to share their stories. The Coombs House Inn is a wonderful place to meet new people and discover new adventures with each other. Hope to return soon. Dee Jay Johnson, Dowling Park, FL


Weekend Getaway

5 on February 12, 2013

The southern charm I had grown to love in Mississippi just came back to life in this historic mansion. It's is a super quiet, yet highly affordable getaway. Everything you want to do is within walking distance and super super quiet!


weekend getaway

5 on February 06, 2013

Very beautiful and peaceful place to stay. Accomidations were wonderful & very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was outstanding. Staff upgraded our room to be sure we were away from other events going on that weekend and we had a quiet and peaceful stay. Also pleased they are pet friendly. We will be back again. Very enjoyable.


Cooms Inn, Apalachicola FL

4.2 on January 24, 2013

Excellent accomodations. Stayed in Hemmingway Carriage house. The parlor/sun room in the suite was delightful. Main house looked beautiful. Innkeepers were friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was less than expected, which was certainly surprising considering what we had heard prior (small piece of quiche, slightly unbaked biscuit, and then bagels and muffins). Perhaps it was an "off" day. Was similar to what one might find on complimentary buffet at a fairly nice hotel, at best. Other than that, we were pleased and would definitely consider returning at some point in the future.


Perfect Anniversary Weekend

4.4 on January 08, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Coombs Inn in the "Coombs Room" (#8) for our 13th Anniversary and it was amazing. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and elegantly decorated to reflect the era of the early 1900's when the victorian mansion home was originally constructed. The bed was the most comfortable that I've ever slept in and the jacuzzi tub was an unexpected bonus. The staff was courteous and we had the opportunity to meet the owner/restorer who was generous with her time and information. The town of Apalachicola is small but there are many shops and restaurants to choose from. The property is very close to the town and nearby beaches with incredible views in every direction. We would highly recommend the Coombs Inn and plan to return next year.


Wonderful Christmas getaway

4.8 on December 29, 2012

Beautifully restored, appointed and decorated home in what felt like a very small New England fishing village without the cold winter weather. We were very impressed with the size and appointments of our king-sized bedroom, and the breakfasts were very good, from the coffee, muffins, bowls of fruit and yogurt, to the biscuits and sausage gravy and quiche. The dining room gives you a sense of the history of the place. In town, the fresh-out-of-the-water Apalachicola oyster stew at Caroline's can't be beat, and the shopping is all within easy walking distance beside the bay with some of the trawlers docked there appeared to be awaiting captain and crew. We enjoyed a very peaceful, restful and delicious getaway this Christmas, topped off by the owner of the Coombs house presenting a fabulous five-course dinner Christmas day evening and a brief history of the home. The staff did a great job in all ways, courteous and efficient. We hope to return soon.


An unexpected treat.

5 on December 17, 2012

I just happened upon this B&B and it was such a nice experience that I stayed an extra day.


Wonderful Inn

4.8 on December 08, 2012

My wife & I stayed at the inn for two nights, 12/4 & 12/5, and were treated as if we were the owners of the home. The host and hostess were wonderful and the breakfasts were out of this world. We stayed in Mr. Coombs room and it was a delightful room with plenty of space. We will gladly stay here the next time we are in Apalachicola.


What a delight!

5 on November 19, 2012

What a delightful place to stay. The house itself is so authentic and charming with Steve the innkeeper there to welcome you with interesting history about the house and town. We had seven couples so I got to see many bedrooms...each with it's own special feel. Cookies upon arrival, complimentary wine and cheese at 6:00. After a good nights sleep thanks to the comfortable bed with the big down comforter, Kim made an absolutely delicious breakfast. All 14 of us just loved it!


Excellent value!

5 on November 12, 2012

Great food, wonderful service, room was perfect. We will definitely return! Pace Emerson


Just what I was looking for

4.2 on November 04, 2012

I would definitely recommend the Coombs House Inn. Laina, the Innkeeper, was terrific. They really go the extra mile to make your stay special. Very relaxing Inn in a very relaxing town. If you have dietary restrictions, let them know and they will try to accommodate you. The Inn is actually 3 houses, some of which are more historic/quaint than others, so if that matters to you, ask about it.


Fall Wedding at Coombs Inn

5 on October 25, 2012

We stayed in room 19 in the Vistas for a friend's wedding at the Coombs House Inn. Room was amazing, staff was friendly and helpful, cozy Inn near shopping, fabulous restaurants and bars. Enjoyed everything about our stay! Can't wait to come back again!


Excellent place to stay

5 on October 23, 2012

My boyfriend & I don't get a lot of alone time since I have 2 kids at home & so does he. For his birthday I planned a romantic getaway at the Coombs House Inn. We had a great time & the Coombs House is a beautiful place to stay.


Highly Recommend!

5 on October 16, 2012

Loved our weekend at Coombs House Inn. Highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Friendly staff and yummy breakfast. Within walking distance to the center of town. Just park your car, or motorcycle, and relax.


The Best B&B In Apalachicola FL.!

4.6 on October 14, 2012

Breakfast was outstanding, however, in my husbands case, he felt that the portion size could have been a tad bigger. Our room was wonderful, we loved the veranda. It did however face out to a busy street, which I was unaware of when I booked, so we did hear night and morning traffic. All in all we were very happy with our overall accommodations. We would certainly stay there again and recommend to friends going to Apalachicola.


A Very Memorable Weekend

4.6 on September 19, 2012

Our first Bed and Breakfast experience and I dare say a most memorable one. We plan on coming back to the Coombs House Inn.


Coombs House Inn

4.2 on September 18, 2012

Enjoyed the stay. I liked our room "11" or "Heaven." Call the Inn, they may offer a cheaper rate. Breakfast was excellent. The Innkeepers are very nice and accomodating. I would stay here again.


Beautiful Old Florida

4.2 on August 25, 2012

This was recommend to us and we loved it. The rooms are nice the bathrooms have everything any one could want but space and in an old house that didn't have them originally it is amazing they could carve out space to put them in!The breakfast and afternoon cookies were great and the friendly staff could not have been more welcoming! Thank you ladies!!!


August Visit

4.6 on August 21, 2012

The Coombs Inn is a marvelous getaway spot. The Innkeepers are enthusiastic and well versed on the history of the Inn - quite entertaining. The rooms were clean, well furnished, and well maintained. We definitely plan to return.


Very elegant

5 on August 19, 2012

All the rooms that I viewed were so elegant. The place is full of antiques. I travel to Apalachicola often to visit family. This is the first time I have stayed here. It is definitely the best stay ever.


I will go back for another visit!!

4.8 on July 26, 2012

Beautiful old home that has been lovingly restored. Doors to unoccupied rooms left open so you can see how they have been decorated; had fun exploring. Staff was nice and knew the best places to eat in Apalachicola and on St. George Island. Enjoyed the cookies at tea and the hot breakfast was quite tasty. In the evening I enjoyed sitting on the porch reading a book. Staff suggested I stay in the Sandpiper. The Sandpiper was wonderful! I felt like I was up in a tree house; plus, there was a big 4 poster bed. I love this area along the northern Gulf of Mexico and staying at the Coombs House Inn made my trip extra special. I will go back for another visit!!


Nice B&B

4.0 on July 23, 2012

This B&B is in a great location. You can walk to some very good resaurants and shops. The home historic and is charming. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are a good bargain. Parking was convenient. There is a bit of traffic noise since the house is on the main road into town, but since it is a small town the traffic dies down late in the evening. Each room does not have its own temperture control, but the staff were very helpful about adjusting the temperature to accomatdate my needs.


Great Escape

5 on July 16, 2012

Fantastic B&B in a quaint old town. Service and care were exceptional - especially the cookies and tea in the afternoon. Stayed in three rooms over three nights - all were very comfortable. Only complaint was slopped ceiling in the shower of one of the rooms.


Home Away From Home

5 on July 16, 2012

From the moment we checked in we were impressed with the house, the staff and the accomodations. We stayed in the Osprey Room which was three flights of stairs, but quiet and quaint. It served our purposes well. All the comforts of home, plus a great many amenities. We were able to participate in the wine and cheese hour and meet other guests as well as hear the history of this beautiful town and wonderful old home. The breakfast was delicious and considering their was a wedding going on the weekend we stayed, we still felt we were given special treatment and the staff's undivided attention.


We'll remember the Forgotten Coast!

4.2 on July 12, 2012

We had a great 2-night stay in the Hemingway Room, which I'd really recommend for its space and privacy. Jacuzzi in the bedroom as well as a separate sitting room. The beach is about 15 minutes away and Apalachicola is a lovely little town by the water. We really loved Oyster Boss--sat right by the water and watched boats coming in!


Romantic and charming B&B

4.6 on July 09, 2012

Stayed for our 25th wedding anniversary. Was so delightful.


Beautiful place

3.2 on July 05, 2012

It was a total surprise to find this beautiful place in that area.


June 2012

5 on July 03, 2012

Great getaway weekend! Very charming Inn and town. All the comforts of home and more!! Would love to go back again!


Most renovated

5 on July 01, 2012

This B&B is fantastic! Unfortunately it isn't in the most livliest of towns, but it is nice for a laid back relaxing vacation. The B&B was very renovated and historic all at the same time.


Mother- daughter week-end

4.2 on June 30, 2012

The Astoria was perfect for mom and daughter to catch-up,shop,and go to the beach!


Going Above and Beyond

4.6 on June 27, 2012

We were booked to stay on St George Island when Tropical Storm Debby hit the area and the Island bridge was closed and the Island evacuated. We stopped at Coombs Inn in the torrential rain and were greeted graciously and as family by Maria. Even though we had no reservation they made room for us in a lovely room called the Azalea. And due to our hardship of being displaced they even reduced the room rate for drenched and stranded visitors! Thanks again - everything about the Inn was lovely.


Coombs is Top Notch

4.6 on June 26, 2012

Very nicely appointed rooms. Excellent service, breakfast and social hour.


Such a nice place!

4.2 on June 20, 2012

Beautiful property! Very very nice people! Perfect location! Quiet city, but close to wonderful places such as St Georges Island. Thank you Maria!


Great experience

3.2 on May 30, 2012

Beautiful Bed and Breakfast in a charming seaside town!!! We arrived just in time for afternoon wine and cheese reception and had a delightful time visiting with other guests. We stayed in the Hemmingway Room above the carriage house and so had a lot of privacy. 2 block walk to town center with shops, restaurants, and port goings on. Room was beautiful and had everything we needed----clean and everything worked, including the jacuzzi tub. St. George Island was only a short drive away and we spent a great day kayaking the seagrass beds at St. Joseph Bay only 30 minutes away. Staff was warm, friendly and professional. Definitely recommend this place.


A Wonderful Birthday Gift to My Boyfriend

4.8 on May 29, 2012

We spent the weekend at the Coombs Inn staying in the Biltmore suite. What a great time! We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast each morning was delicious and served with a smile. The Inn was just as charming as the pictures portrayed. We will visit again soon.


A Luxurious B&B & More!

5 on May 21, 2012

Our visit to the Coombs House Inn was absolutely fabulous. The best words to describe it are comfort, hospitality, warmth, charm and of course luxury. The Inn has been carefully and wonderfully restored by Lynn Wilson. Not only is it an amazing B&B, the house has an interesting history. Our room, the Coombs Suite, was beautifully spacious room with a rich Victorian décor including a king size four poster bed. A large bathroom with a whirlpool tub, separate glass shower and two pedestal sinks was an extra special touch from the usual B&B. The staff was superb always alert to any needs or special requests. Breakfast in the dining room each morning included a hot item (breakfast burrito, French Toast with blueberries and cream cheese, etc.) with fruit as well as a variety of bagels, muffins and pastries. On weekends they host a wine and cheese hour where we had the opportunity to meet several other guests. Actually, the Inn has three separate houses with a variety of room and suite options. We found it very convenient to downtown Apalachicola –only six blocks away. It has plenty of parking, too. Extras we enjoyed were the complimentary bright yellow bicycles which are great for touring this small historic town and the numerous city parks. Complimentary beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas were welcome for our visit to St. George Island State Park beach. Be sure to visit with Lynn if she is around. An amazing and dynamic lady! She gave us great suggestions for our visit as did her staff. We highly recommend the Coombs House Inn for any visit to Apalachicola area


Our Best B/B Experience to Date

5 on May 20, 2012

I normally gravitate to the larger chain accomodations, I suppose because they are a known quantity, but the Coombs House Inn has turned me around. The casual yet historical elegance of the Inn, the ever accomodating and friendly staff, Maria and Estella plus the location, within walking distance to everything in town has us looking forward to our next visit to Apalachicola.


Romantic B & B

5 on May 18, 2012

very romantic B & B, staff very friendly and helpful, rooms all unique, breakfast was delicious, close to downtown so you can walk to everything...


Great Place!

5 on May 14, 2012

What a great place. We didn't have reservations, but were lucky enough to get a room. We did not actually stay in the main house, but in another one about a block away. It was still beautiful. Breakfast was served in the main house and was fabulous. The woodwork and furnishings are so nice. On top of all that, the price is extremely reasonable for this type of facility. Don't miss a chance to day here if you are in Apalachicola.


Relaxing and Charming B&B

4.4 on May 10, 2012

This was mine and my husbands first time to Apalachicola and we fell in love! The Coombs Inn was perfect, the staff was great and the afternoon cookies and coffee were my favorite. The town was so charming. The seafood was very fresh, and the historic feel of the town is unmatched. I have told all my friends and family that this is a must if they are planning a long weekend get a way. I know me and my family will be back.


Great Time!

5 on May 08, 2012

This is our second time to Coombs Inn. It did not dissappoint. We enjoyed the entire experience.


I Simply Adore Staying At The Coombs

4.6 on May 07, 2012

Our second time staying here and it was as wonderful as I remembered. The whole place has a nice, welcoming, comfortable feeling. The people are very friendly and extremely helpful, the beds are very comfortable, and there was a lot of thought put into decorating the rooms. Short walk to lovely downtown Apalachicola and the wharf/gazebo is a bonus.


Wonderful stay.

5 on May 07, 2012

Excellent service, accommodations, brunch, atmosphere. We were able to speak with the owner and she described how the Inn was rennovated. Incredible time --- highly recommend.


Beautiful bed & breakfast!

4.8 on May 06, 2012

We have been back 4 times and this time stayed 2 nights so we could enjoy the shops & the area - we will return again! The rooms are nicely appointed, the staff is fantastic as are the wonderful breakfasts.


Charming, historic and comfortable

4.6 on May 06, 2012

Owners pulled out all their wonderful service for us, even though the house was booked up for a wedding, we had personal attention and had a great stay


Great experience

5 on May 01, 2012

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here and it was great. This was our first visit ever to a bed and breakfast. The accommodations, amenities, and staff met every expectation we had. Living in north Florida ourselves, we really enjoyed discovering this small north Florida coastal town. So quaint and charming. We definitely recommend Coombs Inn.


Beautiful Inn but Unsatisfactory Accomodations

2.0 on April 30, 2012

Inn is located on noisy Hwy 98. Bathroom had soiled underside of toilet seat and on porcelain. Inner liner of shower curtain was cut short and allowed water to pool on floor. Chairs and Tables on balcony are never cleaned of debris. Breakfasts were not of a high standard, considering the hype this Inn has received in publications. One day we arrived back at our room to find that our door was left open with all of our belongings inside possibly either by the maid or by the custodian. Two good things: complaint about the bathroom was addressed immediately by Management; when we first arrived, Management gave us an unasked for discount due to our length of stay (5 days).


Coombs House Inn is a lovely and fun way to see Apalachicola,Fl

4.6 on April 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Coombs House Inn and plan to return in October. The staff were all very helpful and showed a true interest in making our stay enjoyable. The room was lovely, clean and relaxing. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and in fact did this morning on a walk.


Away From the Madding Crowd

4.6 on April 15, 2012

A wonderful B&B experience. The house is beautiful, filled with antiques and decorated masterfully. We loved the small town with everything within walking distance. Of course, Apalachicola has the world's best oysters and we indulged every day. The staff at Coombs House were friendly, cheerful and very accommodating. The breakfast and afternoon cookies were outstanding. We hope to go back soon.


Charming rooms, good location, fantatstic staff

4.0 on April 11, 2012

Stayed there two nights in April. Within 3-4 blocks of most of Apalachicola. Wonderful welcome and friendly, helpful staff. Will come again.


Great Getaway

5 on March 19, 2012

One night visit to Apalachicola was just awesome. Weather was perfect; food was sublime; and the accommodations at the Coombs House Inn were just perfect. Friendly staff; beautiful room; awesome breakfast; and even bicycles and towels for guests provided. What more could one want?


My recent vist

4.0 on March 12, 2012

Stayed on the night of Friday, March 9. There was pretty much a full house.


Rainy Days In Apalachicola

3.6 on March 01, 2012

We spent two nights at the Coombs House during February when the weather outside was miserable but life in Apalachicola continued (perhaps at a slower pace). The Coombs House provided a place of refuge. The thing that impressed me most was the diversity of the clientele. We met people from various parts of the U.S. and a couple from England. We met some while sitting on the porch and some at breakfast. e


Very helpful staff.

4.4 on February 26, 2012

Pleasure to meet and enjoy 1904 mansion. Moe info on history of Coombs family needed.


happytraveler

4.0 on February 23, 2012

If we ever come back to Apachicola this is the only place we would stay. Everything about our stay was exceptional. Rooms are gorgeous, property is beautifully landscaped and well maintained, staff are helpful and very responsive and breakfast and snacks delightful. A great home away.


Find real America when you get off the interstate

5 on February 19, 2012

In looking for ideas to use in my restoration projects of old houses/buildings via a drive through towns from Fl to MS on the "back roads", I discovered Apalachicola and Coombs Inn. Priceless. And the owner and her husband are icons of what American entrepreneuralism is all about. I just wished I had been a guest at the same time the Sports Illustrated folks were shooting the most recent swimsuit issue and the models were actually staying at the Inn. Chip


Best of the best !!!

5 on February 18, 2012

Great experience - Great breakfast - elegant house. Loved it!


4 very comfortable nights in Apalachicola

4.2 on February 17, 2012

Coombs House Inn is a very special and beautfully decorated place. We felt very welcome and comfortable.


A great get-a-way

5 on February 13, 2012

This is our second visit to Coomb's House & we really enjoyed it. The rooms are very nice & each one seems to have something special about them.. You feel like you go back in time when you see the house & furnishings. They are lovely. The quiche for breakfast was excellent & we had a chance to visit a lot of the shops in town. We really enjoyed that & especially the candy shop. I would highly recommend this great get-a-way.


fun in the armpit of the west coast

5 on February 09, 2012

fabulous inn, beautiful decor, delicious b fast. Great town. Best oysters on earth


our first visit to Coombs House Inn

5 on November 29, 2011

We live in central FL and had never been to the panhandle! We chose Coombs House from ratings on the internet, and they exceeded our expectations. We stayed two nights in a jacuzzi suite, located over what was once a carriage house. It had no other rooms attached and was very private. the room and dining room were immaculate, great service, and lovely location. We stayed two nights over Thanksgiving.


First trip to Coombs House Inn

4.2 on November 27, 2011

We had never been to Apalachicola so decided to do a quick 2 night getaway. My husband is NOT a B&B person. He absolutely fell in love with Coombs House Inn and said we should stay in more B&B's from this point on. We had a wonderful time and would HIGHLY recommend Coombs House Inn to anyone! Thanks!


A terrific night in Apalachicola

3.2 on October 24, 2011

The Coombs Inn is lovely, Stayed in the main house. There are two other buildings. No elevator and stairs may be hard on some individuals. stairsWould in


Needs some attention.

3.0 on October 18, 2011

Seems as though the place is being maintained at a low level right now. Perhaps it is just a sign of the economy. Food was good, service was somewhat lacking.


Wonderful place to stay!!

5 on October 12, 2011

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the coombs in and I have to say it is an excellant place to stay the food is GREAT, the staff is wonderful, over all great place I recommend it to anyone traveling to Apalachicola!!!


Beautiful Bed & Breakfast

5 on October 11, 2011

Coombs House Inn was an amazing B&B nestled amoung beautiful mature trees with spanish moss in Apalachicola. The rooms and the staff were friendly & helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. The Inn is perfectly located a block from the center of town so walking to the old fashioned soda shop and local resturants was a pleasure. Shopping in the local shops and going to the Gorre musuem are just a couple of fun things to do while visiting. Bikes are available to bike down to the waterfront and watch fishing boats come in with Oysters. This was a wonderful trip and can't wait to return.


Another Great Stay at Coombs House Inn

4.2 on September 26, 2011

Just got back from 2 days in Apalach and staying at the Coombs House. As always, great service, excellent accommodations.


ANNIVERSARY GETAWAY

3.8 on September 12, 2011

We had a very nice 3 nights at the Coombs Inn, September 3-6. Very good breakfast. The wine hour on Saturday night was very nice. Cookies and tea/coffee every afternoon between 3 & 5 was a nice touch. We stayed in the main house as that's where the breakfast was served as I would not want to walk from the other two houses, but it's only a short walk. Destinee works really hard and long hours. They had a full house on this holiday weekend and the guest kept her hoping that Saturday morning for breakfast. She did a good job.


Not What We Expected

3.0 on September 07, 2011

We have stayed at many, many B&B's and this one was a little disappointing. It is within easy walking distance to many places to dine as well as the shops in the historic district. We were slightly shocked with the snacks/appetizers provided for the evening social hour. Considering how lovely and ornate the Inn was, crackers/cheese/pickles didn't really seem appropriate and based on our extensive B&B experience, this is definitely not the normal selection. Be aware that this is three different historic homes together and there were over 60 guests when we were there, which took away from the intimate B&B experience we are accustomed to. Overall, if you are in the area, it wouldn't be a bad choice, but I would not go out of my way to stay here.


Charming Time Capsule!

3.4 on August 18, 2011

We spent three nights at Coombs House Inn. we were new to the area and it proved to be an excellent base from which to explore. Loved the big yellow bikes which are available for clients to use and appreciated the beach towels, chairs and sun umbrellas. Allin all the place was very charming and well run. we enjoyed whiling away moments in our swing on the porch outside our room!


Fabulous Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on August 02, 2011

Three quaint homes which offer exquisitely appointed rooms. A great way to relax and share in fellowship with other guests.


Coombs Inn

4.0 on July 27, 2011

If your going to Apalachicola and need to stay overnight, Coombs Inn is the place to stay. A charming town with some good food available. Try Boss's Oysters for some local color and fresh seafood. Coombs has a number of beautiful rooms with great decor and a good breakfast. I would stay again. J Adams Orlando, Fl


Send me back please!

4.0 on July 23, 2011

Lizette made every day there special, from the warm welcome, to her breakfasts, her ideas on where to eat and visit, or just chatting with the two of us. We've only been home for a day and already want to turn the car around and return. Thank you for making our time with you special. Elise and Jeff L.


Awesome

5 on June 28, 2011

We were celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. The staff was incredible, especially the inn keeper. Thank you so much.


Stay no other place then Coombs House Inn

5 on June 20, 2011

Great place to stay One of only a few of B&B that had a wheelchair accessable room Inn Keeper Outstanding


Wonderful Staff, relaxing Great Breakfast

3.8 on June 14, 2011

Very relaxing stay and wonderful Florida charm. Everyone was polite and attentive. Will definitely return.


FANTASTIC!

4.8 on June 01, 2011

This was my first time at a bed and breasfast, and I have to say that now it will be the "bar" that all others must now measure up to. I can't wait to get back there and stay again.


Just okay

3.0 on June 01, 2011

It was just okay, not great, not terrible. The staff at breakfast was wonderful . They went out of their way to accommodate us. The food was okay. I would have preferred fresh fruit, instead of canned.


WONDERFULL

5 on May 21, 2011

This was our first time at a B&B. The Coombs Inn has set the bar high. Lizete was the best innkeeper anyone could ask for. Our 15th anniversary will be one to remember. Thanks Coombs Inn.


Beautiful & Comfortable

4.8 on May 19, 2011

The Inn has been beautifully restored. We B&B frequently, and have rarely found a place so nice for the price. Important to oldsters like us, the bede was nice and firm, with a pillow-top for comfort. (not a sway-back to start back pain). Nice breakfast and a nice place to stay for a good price; don't forget to ask for AAA or AARP discount, if you qualify. Funky little town.


Stepchild suite?

2.4 on May 19, 2011

Our review applies only to the Hemingway Suite. While rooms we saw in the main house were lavishly appointed, the Hemingway Suite -- 2 small rooms above the carriage house (i.e., garage) -- appears to be furnished with a hodgepodge of items. The suite -- especially the floors, baseboards, shower stall and bathmat -- could have been cleaner, as could the fixtures of the whirlpool tub. The stairs up to the suite are steep with steps that are narrow front-to-back, and we found it safest to side-step down, going one step at a time. We don't recommend this suite for anyone who has trouble climbing steps. We liked many things about this inn: location for walking to restaurants and the riverfront; delicious breakfasts and time to chat with other guests; helpful and friendly staff; relaxing porches and verandas. If you want to stay here, you'll enjoy the experience more if you avoid the Hemingway Suite, which we consider the "stepchild" of the many available rooms.


Relaxing Time

4.2 on May 18, 2011

We really enjoyed the break away from the day to day stress. It was really restful. We enjoyed meeting some new people.


Coombs getaway

4.0 on May 16, 2011

We stayed in the Coombs villas. Our room was small, but very adequate for our needs. Very clean and tastefully decorated, comfortable king bed, and with 3 a/c vents very comfortable on a warmish day. It overlooked a side street and the back so no road noise and no noise from other guests even will all rooms occupied. The wine time and breakfast were very good and the lady(sorry for not knowing her name) was very friendly,welcoming, and helpful. They made our dinner reservations at The Owl Cafe for an excellent meal.


Great Getaway Weekend

4.2 on May 16, 2011

The attendants were very gracious, especially Lizette. The beds were extremely comfortable. Loved the special get togethers of cookies and coffee and the wine nights on the weekend. Would recommend that you turn down the A/C so that it is a little cooler in the rooms. Thanks for an enjoyable time.


wonderful B&B wonderful town

4.0 on April 24, 2011

we loved the area -- lots to do and discover and the inn was lovely


40th Wedding Anniversary

2.8 on April 09, 2011

Very pleasant stay the inn keeper kept us well informed, beach chairs and towels were complimentary as was the cycles,the veranda on our suite was excellent to sit outside in the evenings. Our only complaint was the air conditioning in our suite as it controlled 2 other suites and we were told not to switch it off or adjust the settings, this made some evenings too cold or too hot.


Coombs House Inn

5 on March 21, 2011

Terrace place to stay! Beautifully restored mansion, great breakfast, walking distance to town. This was our 2nd visit and we'll be back!


Outstanding Service

5 on March 14, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Outstanding service and convenient location.


escape

4.4 on March 06, 2011

a wonderful place to stay and the staff was great. Beautiful wood work in both rooms and public areas


Great stay in a quaint coastal town

4.0 on March 06, 2011

Stayed 1 night on a gulf coast driving tour. Room was beautiful, neat little town with some great restaurants and quirky shops. Breakfast was superb.


Way Cool Place!

5 on February 23, 2011

This was my 1st stay at a B & B and what a great experience! My room, The Tupelo, was perfect and so pretty. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The staff was so friendly and helpful, and made me feel special. I am already checking the calendar to see when I can plan my next visit. This B & B felt like home. Stay here when you visit Apalachicola, you won't regret it.


A Great B&B

5 on February 21, 2011

By far this is one of the most beautiful B&B's we have ever stayed in and we have been to many...The home has such warmth the innkeeper was great friendly & vary helpful..We most enjoyed our wine a cheese night with the other guest as we met many nice people we have never been to a b&b that has done this before. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a stay in this area..enjoy!!!


Classic Coombs Inn

4.8 on February 16, 2011

We really enjoyed staying at the Coombs Inn for Valentine's Day weekend. The location was perfect and we were able to walk wherever we wanted to go. They had menus of some of the best restaurants right there when you check in. We enjoyed tea and snack when we got there as well as a wine reception Saturday evening that included dips, crackers and cheeses. We used the bicycles they had, but only one worked properly so it cut our bike ride short. However, they said new bikes had been ordered. Also, the cleaning staff did not service our room because they thought that we were checking out. So they communication between them and the office staff was not up to par that day as we asked the office staff several times for clean towels and finally got some when we stopped a cleaning lady right when she was about to leave around 4:30. That though is my only complaint! I would stay at Coombs Inn every time I visit Apalachicola and I hope that some of my friends and family will stay there too some time.


Fabulous experience

5 on January 20, 2011

What a wonderful experience! A very comfortable and relaxing business trip.


Beautiful rooms, great hosts, fabulous food

4.0 on January 01, 2011

A lovely inn within walking distance of downtown and close to sites of interest. Friendly and helpful staff. Afternoon tea, coffee and cookies was a nice treat. And the breakfast was worth the trip in itself!


Delightful Visit

3.6 on January 01, 2011

My husband and I spent just 2 days at Coombs and had a very nice visit. The Innkeepers couldn't have been nicer and were most willing to please. We stayed in the Cloister and found it to be quite comfortable. Only negative the TV was in the bedroom. The breakfasts were more than we'd expected and delicious. We will definitely return there.


IF YOU WISH TO DO A TIME TRAVEL.....

4.0 on November 22, 2010

and go back to an age where elegance of lifestyle, Southern hospitality, and the true definition of service are your criteria.... The Coombs House Inn sets these benchmarks for this historical property, and you will not be disappointed. In particular, the Innkeeper Lizette Bradley, was accommodating to whatever request was made and shared stories and history of the house, Apalachicola, and surrounding areas. It was quite obvious that all the staff take great pride in the Inn and their beautiful city. And, if you are into interior design and architecture you will be amazed at the dedication, passion, and love that Lynn Wilson, the owner, has taken to bring this lovely old property back from extinction to historical accuracy. I highly recommend a stay!


Comfortable stay.

3.0 on October 24, 2010

I recommend the rooms on the side of the house away from the main street because the coastal highway has traffic through the night. Otherwise it's a clean, quiet and comfortable place to stay.


A taste of former times

4.6 on October 15, 2010

From our warm greeting to the fond farewells - we were welcomed into a family home. We arrived as travelers and departed as friends. It was the briefest of stays, but more than sufficient to place a small part of a beautiful town in our hearts. Despite the downturn in business , as a result of the oil spill, the staff was positive and optimistic. Their friendly advice was valuable in ensuring we got the most out of few short hours. Finally, the decor and styling are a real tribute to the flair and skill of the owner. It feels as elegant as it looks.


45th Wedding Anniversary trip

4.0 on October 11, 2010

Lovely place to stay would like to return for another special day. The Inn Keepers are very friendly and helpful. :)


Great Experience

3.6 on October 06, 2010

We had read mixed reviews and a coworker had a bad experience at the Coombs House Inn. We were prepared to be disappointed but were pleasantly surprised, thankfully. Estella couldn't have been a better host. She went out of her way to make sure we were cared for. A wonderful person! Our room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in the main house and it was very nice. Surprisingly quiet for an old home. We didn't hear any noise from Hwy 98 even with our room on that side of the house. We will recommend the Coombs House Inn to others.


2 night stay

4.0 on October 05, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed the hospitality. Great place. We plan on going back and taking some friends. Walk to the Owl restuarant and get oysters at the "hole in the Wall" Fun town!


Lovely inn in Apalach

4.6 on August 23, 2010

We had a lovely room at the back. The room was very clean. The outside of the inn at the was a little weather worn. We loved the inn. Hope that the noise of renovation across the street doesn't bother those who stay longer than one night as we did.


Apalachicola getaway

4.4 on August 11, 2010

My husband and I always stay at the Coombs House when we visit Apalachicola. This time I brought my sister for a special getaway. As always the room was beautiful, the breakfast delicous and Estella's historical perspective was most interesting.


It wasn't as wonderful as the reviews said...

2.2 on August 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I got the honeymoon suite, the 11th Heaven, for two days and though we had a great time because we were together, the Coombs House Inn didn't exceed our expectations and barely met them. Our room, though it looked like the photos, was not as large as it appeared-- rather than calling it a suite, I might perhaps call it a master bedroom. The bed creaked and needed a new boxspring/matress. The breakfasts were a bit meager -- nothing like the equisite "delux" vittles we read about; it was more like a Holiday Inn continental breakfast with a slight twist. Also, the staff wasn't as friendly as one would expect-- seemed like more of a chore than a job or pleasure to be good to the guests. The wine hour was some lower-end wines (Barefoot, Yellowtail...) with no cheese-- just hummus, nuts, crackers and Goldfish-- and no place to sit, standing only. The cookie and tea hour had some regular old cookies and some cold coffee (left over from breakfast) and some cold tea. No hot water was provided and we had to ask for cream for the coffee. The bicycles seem to be in pain, they screamed when you rode them and the umbrellas and chairs they boast of are not worth your time-- they are old and rickety and not in a charming way. We got two bottled waters for our trip to the beach and you'd think it was highway robbery-- the water was supposed to come with the room, and ours hadn't been cleaned and the lady almost didn't want to give us any! When they cleaned the rooms, they did not leave us fresh cups or glasses-- they expected us to reuse what we had. The rooms were clean and the place was quite nicely decorated, and it was romantic and most certainly close to town, but definitely not worth the $500 we paid for two nights.


Excellent stay in Apalachicola

4.0 on July 25, 2010

This is a beautiful Inn-the pictures on the website do not do it justice. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. The beaches on St Georges Island are completely unspoilt and rate among the best in Florida. We ate at The Verandah-recommended by the staff at The Coombs Inn and had a lovely meal.


Great Southern Experience

5 on July 05, 2010

Great Inn...great experience...quiet...easy walk to the downtown area...innkeeper Deb Bergen abov standard...definitely will return.


A Honeymoon with a difference

4.4 on June 22, 2010

we wanted something different that the usual british honeymoon - so chanced upon Apalachicola & coombs inn. Sure, it was a very long drive but the welcome was warm and the cookies delicious! Our room (heaven 11) was beautiful & we enjoyed champagne and chocolates. The town is like stepping back 40 years into a TV show with charm and a soda fountain! We took chairs and towels to St Georges island, got sunburned and cooled off in the enormous bath. It was 3 days of another world - thank you!


Great Accessibility

4.2 on June 22, 2010

I have been handicapped (wheelchair and walker) due to an automobile injury since Oct 2009. I found the accomodations for the handicapped sufficient and comfortable. Room entry was via a long ramp that would provide little verticle resistance to a chair or walker. The room is small and requires advance reservations. Shower stall is a standup stall with rails all around. Toilet was a special needs height with rails. Access to the dining room for breakfast was also via a long ramp with a slow verticle. The best part of my stay was the people. I left a message with the Inn Keeper's number (asking the password for internet connectivity). Through a miscommunication, the Inn Keeper personally came to my room to insure my safety. One of the hose keepers volunteered to take me, via golf cart, back and forth to the dining room (the handicapped quarters and the main dining room are in two separate buildings). The Inn Keeper also insured that I had a table set for me that I could access in the dining room. I have been going to the Coombs House since 2005 and I have always found their facilities and service to be wonderful. Everyone is always friendly and the house is beautful. J. Day, Montgomery, AL


Very Nice Accommodations but Innkeepers Left Much to be Desired

2.6 on June 15, 2010

Our daughter provided a gift of a weekend at the Coombs House Inn for our special 40th Anniversary. She had been in contact with the innkeepers several times prior to our arrival and informed them of this special anniversary. She even sent a card to us at the Inn so it would be there when we checked in. Not once did any of the staff wish us a happy anniversary and the card stayed on the desk for two days until we took if off the desk ourselves. We were virtually ignored during our stay and whenever we attempted to try to use the common areas, we were questioned as to what we wanted and were made to feel like we were intruding. The Inn advertised that cookies would be available between 3:00 and 5:00 each day and when we went down at 3:15, nothing was set out and we had to ask for the cookies, once again being made to feel we were imposing on the staff. While the accommodations were very lovely and clean and the breakfasts adequate, our stay at Coombs House Inn paled in comparison to the many B & B's we have stayed at whenever we travel.


Room was like an OVEN and no one cared!

2.0 on April 29, 2010

Called the innkeeper at approx 8 to 9 pm and asked to have the air adjusted. Room was VERY warm - said they would come right over to adjust the air. Called again during the night but got no answer. Room was 82 degrees - hot and muggy. Finally got the windows open, improved circulation, but did not improve the air temp in our room. In the am, other guests were complaining also and owner said, "it's not hot over there now - I turned the air to 68 at 8 a.m. this morning". The fact that we had ALL spent a hot night in Hell didn't seem to matter one bit to her - just went on with her business and dismissed us and our complaints like children in grade school. Never Again - TWO trips in ONE - the first and the LAST.


Romantic and Beatiful

4.4 on April 10, 2010

We stayed here on our honeymoon. It was our first experience with a Bed & Breakfast and we were delighted. The food and service was fantastic.


Wonderful Get Away...

4.4 on March 17, 2010

My Husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Coombs. We were there for several nights and had a different and delicious breakfast every day. Our room was great and very private. We stayed in the Hemmingway Suite above the Garage/Carrige House and I would stay there again!


Romantic & UNFORGETTABLE 5th Year Anniversary!

5 on February 21, 2010

We decided to celebrate our 5th year anniversary at this bed and breakfast. From the moment we first arrived to the time we left we felt more than welcome. The room, 11th heaven, was amazing and much better than the photos online. At first I was skeptical about the inn due to how close the inn was to the main road, and the location of the room vs. the front door, but the inn was so peaceful, quiet and tranquil that we didnt even hear the other occupants come and go. The staff was amazingly friendly and were very knowledgeable of the local restaurants, shops, and sites to see. The packages that they offer are fantastic! The people in town were so friendly and welcoming. If you select the picnic package, I recommend visiting St George Island's Lighthouse or Lafayette Park to enjoy. My wife and I have stayed at B&Bs before, but this one we will NEVER forget. Never the less Coombs House Inn was a trully unforgettable, romantic and amazing experience and my wife and I agreed not only to recommend to all of our friends but to go back for future weekend getaways as well.


Charming historical B&B

4.2 on January 10, 2010

We had the Azalea Room, at ground floor. The room is absolutely charming and romantic with an incredible attention to particulars. Only carpets weren't so clean, but in general the roon was fantastic. Staff is very nice and like to speak and know their guests. They offered us some biscuits just done (wonderful!) and a coffee and we spoke a bit. They told us the best restaurants were have a dinner and in the morning prepared a good breakfast. Breakfast and internet connection are included in the price. We really loved tha stay, one of the best.


Great Stay on New Years' Eve 2010!

4.0 on January 04, 2010

My fiance and I were able to somehow book a guest room at the Coombs Inn a week before NYE 2010 and I must say we were blown away with our experience. This is without a doubt the finest B&B/Inn in Apalachicola! If you are going to Apalach you should try and stay here! Estella and Carol are amazing! Thanks Coombs folks!


Take a break and enjoy a slower pace on the waterfront

5 on January 03, 2010

Be sure to walk along the waterfront and enjoy the slower pace. Coombs Inn is a great place to relax in a unique atmosphere. Friendly, historic, not your average sterile-looks-like-everywhere-else, the antiques are gorgeous. Love the breakfast!


Loved Apalachicola

3.4 on December 30, 2009

The staff at the Coombs House went above and beyond the call of duty to see that all the guests were taken care of on Christmas.


Without a doubt, I will return for another visit!

5 on December 09, 2009

I love historic properties and the Coombs Inn is an absolutely lovely home with great attention to detail both in the restoration/renovation and from the staff. The rooms, regardless of size, were grand and comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful and tasty. The inn's staff was especially friendly and attentive, and very helpful in every aspect of the visit, from finding seafood to bring home to providing extra care to my elderly mother. Without a doubt my next jaunt to Apalachicola will include the Coombs House Inn.


A wonderful day on Florida's 'Forgotten Coast'

4.4 on December 02, 2009

My wife and I celebrated out 8th anniversary with a simple little getaway to the Coombs B&B. I was really surprised how much the charm and history of this place affected me. You really feel like you've stepped into a time machine while visiting the Inn, and the town. The people that run the place will bend over backwards for you, they offered to get us ice, bring us food, they made last minute reservations for us at the nicest place in town to eat. Gave us coupons, a personal tour....well above and beyond. Treat yourself while enjoying this rustic, charming part of FL.


Enjoyed our stay!

3.8 on December 01, 2009

The staff was incredibly welcoming and made the stay very enjoyable. The beds were super comfy - my only recommendation would be to request a room away from the main entrance. We stayed in the Wilson room and it was a little noisy in the morning.


A "Gone with the Wind" feel; just like stepping back in time

5 on November 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Coombs House Inn while traveling the coasts of Florida. It is such a wonderful old Victorian mansion so beautifully restored. With it's beautiful decor and rich dark wood on the original antique handrail on the staircase and throughout the house, it had a "Gone with the Wind" feel. Just like stepping back in time. It was completely different from the other 6 b&bs we stayed in. The staff was so nice; especially Estella. She was so concerned that we had everything we needed and even made sure I had bubble bath for relaxing in the claw foot tub that night! Appalachicola is known as an oystering town. We walked to a seafood restaurant and ate oysters by the water watching for their local crocodile to come up. Then we walked down to the warf. I loved hearing the clanging of the oyster boats and the screatching of the sea gulls. We would have made use of the bicycles they provide to see more of the town if we had had more time, but had to hit the road right after a wonderful breakfast the next morning. We highly recommend staying at this beautiful historic home.


Nice B and B

2.8 on November 10, 2009

Nice, clean B and B. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment; no variety or options. Small portions. Inn keeper was very nice and helpful.


Charming Get Away

4.4 on November 04, 2009

This is a restored home of the Coombs family which has been maintained in a theme consistent with it's history. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and the breakfasts very nice. It is a shprt walk tp historic downtown and the waterfront. The oysters and fish at Boss Oyster are fresh and well prepared.


Recent Visit 11-1-09

5 on November 03, 2009

Friendly greeting; very clean room; an adequate and very tasty breakfast; and centrally located for walks around Apalachicola. Our second visit with fantastic weather.


what a wonderful stay

4.4 on May 06, 2009

staff was great housekeeing made us feel at home.breakfast was very tasty it hit the spot.we will return and bring friends for a nice little get away out of the city.


Loved Apalachicola. Loved the Coombs House Inn.

5 on March 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in July 08. We had never been to this area of Florida before and thought "what the heck". We didn't know what to expect but had a great time in Apalachicola. We were surprised by the quaint shops, restaurants, and things to see in such a small city. We spent a hole day just walking around downtown. We were also surprised to find you can still find a beutiful deserted beach on St. George island. Be sure to take a sailboat ride and go on a kayak trip in the bay. The Coombs House is the best B&B I've been to. We had one of the small, cheaper rooms but it was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was top notch. The staff were helpful and nice. Plus, it's right on Hwy. 98 just a short walk from downtown and a stone's throw from a number of cool historic homes and buildings. I would highly recommend the Coombs House Inn.


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast!!

5 on January 18, 2009

One of the nicest Bed and Breakfast Inns we had the pleasure of staying in. The rooms were gorgeous, the staff were very friendly. The house was beautiful. A nice place to spend a quiet getaway. We came for our anniversary and enjoyed every minute of it, and plan on returning. Thanks for the pleasant experience!!


The best B&B ever

5 on March 26, 2008

I stayed here for a month in 2006,and my time there was fantastic, the care they showed me, the friendships I made. You don't get better than here.


Very nice stay

4.8 on October 07, 2007

We couldn't be happier with our experience with the Coombs House Inn. We gathered there with other friends and family for two very enjoyable nights that provided a perfect venue for visiting and socializing. This historic house just seemed to lend itself to people and visiting. The staff was wonderful and very eager to assist us with any request. We recommend them without reservation. The only reason we didn't give the room an outstanding rating was that the mattress was not to our liking.


Delightful B&B

5 on October 01, 2007

When you enter the Coombs House, you enter a world of relaxation and delight. The staff are absoutely wonderful. You room is extremely comfortable and the breakfast are very good. You will be very happy that you stay at this inn.


Coombs House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $269
  • Reviews (198) 4.4
  • Rooms 23
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-888-244-8320
  • Fax 1-8506532785
  • Toll free 1-8882448320
Top