The Pecan Tree Inn Reviews

Overall
5

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value5
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
27 Reviews

Write A Review

Beyond an Exceptional Experience

5 on January 23, 2014

I travel a lot for my job, and travel all over the world, but seldom have I ever been treated as well as I was at the Pecan Tree Inn. My wife and I stayed at the Pecan Tree Inn while I attended a woodworking class at the nearby Homestead Heritage School. We rented the Cottage, and we were overwhelmingly surprised at how nice it was. It was by far the cleanest place I have every stayed while traveling. Very spacious and nicely furnished living room, kitchen, and bedroom with a huge closet, and well stocked with plenty of towels, handmade soaps, pillows and blankets. We were greeted with a small plate of freshly baked treats on the kitchen table upon our arrival. The kitchen has everything you need (if you want to cook while traveling). The bed was very comfortable. The surroundings were wonderfully peaceful. As for the food, it is hard to describe how good it was. Each morning we were treated to fresh coffee upon our arrival to the quaint and cozy dining room. Each day the table was set with different china that matched the theme of the meal. Every meal was very carefully and lovingly “handmade” from fresh ingredients. The quality of the food was over the top. As for quantity, I am a big eater, and I was very satisfied with what I received, and was always asked if I cared for more. I was very impressed in how one of my fellow guests who had food allergies was treated. The staff went out of their way to make sure that she had as similar meal to what we had; going to great lengths to find recipes and food substitutes to make sure her stay was pleasant. You just don’t find that kind of treatment at a chain hotel anywhere. By weeks end, we did not check out of a cold and uncaring hotel, but said farewell to great friends who treated us like family. We were sad to go, but look forward to our next stay.


Excellent!

5 on October 21, 2013

My wife and I chose the Pecan Tree Inn from a list of many. Our five day stay was magnificent. Words have meaning, I know, but excellence does not seem to express the quality of the service that we experienced at The Pecan Tree Inn. By the way, breakfast was a work of art.


A Destination in Itself

5 on September 28, 2013

I have had the pleasure, nay, the privilege of staying at the Pecan Tree Inn on three different occasions, once in each of the three suites. The quaint and charming country decor, while tastefully done, is also full of heirloom quality furnishings and luxurious bedding and towels, the likes of which one would only find in rare 5-star accommodations. Each suite is exceptionally clean and, anticipating every guest's needs, very well-stocked. But I have to say, the delight is in the details: themed decor, rocking chairs on the porch, artisan soaps, well-lit corners for losing oneself in a good book, signature 'mints', and a decadent welcome treat under a glass-domed cake pedestal... The piece de resistance, though, is the breakfast; from the artfully set table to the array of gourmet dishes masterfully prepared, served up with love and friendship, one could not have a better breakfast anywhere. Sweet dreams in a cozy bed are virtually assured if you know what kind of breakfast awaits you in the morning. While it is the Heath's goal for every guest to have a pleasant, comfortable stay, to describe this B&B as a 'home away from home' doesn't begin to do it justice. The Pecan Tree is both a peaceful retreat, and an epicurean delight. It is a destination in itself! Kim Lopiccolo, WY


Remarkable Accommodations

5 on August 11, 2013

I stayed at The Pecan Tree Inn for 6 days while taking a class at nearby Homestead School. My time there was extremely peaceful and comfortable. My room was clean and larger than I had expected. The staff were such talented cooks as well as warm, caring and friendly. Was so very happy that I chose to stay there as opposed to a hotel. I definitely plan to return again soon.


Waco's Best Kept Secret

5 on July 19, 2013

I'm almost saddened that I didn't know about this place before I saw a business card in town recently. We stayed there for a birthday getaway and LOVED it. All the other reviews are right-the breakfast was phenomenal! Maybe the best I have ever had. And the staff were so kind and enjoyed their job. I can't wait to get back to the Pecan Tree Inn!


Outstanding Ain't Enough

5 on February 28, 2013

My wife Linda and I Rusty stayed at the Pecan Tree Inn Valentine night 2013. Although the bathroom had insufficient counter space for my wife's cosmetics, she even agrees with me how wonderful the experience was. This is a home crafted, hand crafted establishment, and the perquisites of home pervade the place like we had just come home from a journey. There is no tv, which is a tremendous blessing, and there is a garden and chickens and turkeys and a swing set right outside. The living room and the kitchen are very commodious and comfortable, nay, they are welcoming, which applies to the bedroom as well. This is a really nice place to stay. To say that the breakfast presentation surpassed all expectations is saying alike that a Ferrari surpasses a Kia, or that chocolate is better than licorice. There is no way to stay better, even if you pay exorbitant big city five star high dollar prices. These people are doing hostelry like it be an exercise in fine art. An approach like that cannot fail to impress.


Absolutely Wonderful

5 on February 13, 2013

Wow!! The Pecan Tree Inn is a must if you like B&B's. The value is outstanding for what you get. The pictures do not convey the size or the immaculate cleanliness of the rooms. Very spacious and private, with outdoor areas to relax on. And the breakfast, without exaggerating, is the very best you've ever eaten anywhere at any price!! I told Teresa they should call it a Breakfast and Bed!! The Heaths have a gift for hospitality. You'll leave them as friends, and be looking forward to the next time you can find an excuse to go back. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!


Outstanding is right!!

5 on January 27, 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful weeklong stay at the Pecan Tree Inn to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We took classes at the homestead and stayed in The Nest. We have stayed in quite a few b&b's but by far this was the best experience we've ever had! The Nest was perfectly squeaky clean and cozy with little extra special touches. We arrived to the most beautiful mini Italian cream cake and strawberries and bubbly cider. It was delicious! (thank you, Angela!) The personal attention continued the whole week with scrumptious gourmet breakfasts everyday served with a smile and truly caring hearts by Teresa and Angela. We felt immediately that Brent, Teresa and Angela really want each guest to feel comfortable and special ( and stuffed! :) we looked forward to each breakfast and the chats we enjoyed about gardening, family & faith. My husband and I have decided to return very soon (& often!) for some more special time at the Pecan Tree Inn. It is a little piece of heaven!!!


Just imagine...

5 on December 07, 2012

A place to stay that goes beyond the 5 stars this review site offers. Cleanliness and comfort are just the starting point of what makes The Pecan Tree so special! After experiencing The Heaths love for hospitality and 10 Star cooking, we knew we would be returning. Next time we will be bringing our bikes so we can ride off the huge breakfast and make room for the equally amazing dinner at The Homested Cafe. This is one of those rare treats in life that you are eager to share with others, but at the same time you hope there will always be a room available for yourself!


Beyond outstanding!

5 on November 04, 2012

We had the most enjoyable time at the Pecan Tree Inn. I have been to a lot of B and B, but this one is the BEST! It is a lovely place, but the hospitality exceeds anything I have ever experienced. From the moment you arrive you can tell this is a place, that is a labor of love. Then there is breakfast, WOW!!! Food was amazing from the taste, to the PRESENTATION!!!!!!!10+ All 8 of us were blown away. THE PECAN TREE INN IS A MUST!!!!!


Great little gem

5 on October 18, 2012

I drove down from D/FW to meet my parents coming from San Antonio for a weekend in Waco to take in the Baylor/TCU game. Didn't know quite what to expect, but boy were we in for a treat! Brent, Theresa and Angie were the sweetest hosts. Very friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were wonderful -- you will not go away hungry! Everything was very fresh and clean and the setting was tranquil. They also recommended a farm to table dinner at the Homestead Cafe, which we weren't able to make but heard raves about from fellow guests. In short, if you're looking for a great weekend getaway with farm fresh food and outstanding hosts, look no further than the Pecan Tree Inn. You'll be glad you did. Amy D.


The Best Part of My Summer Vacation

5 on August 11, 2012

Stayed at the Bed and Breakfast for two days before having to start the school year. The service by the host family was beyond my expectations. I stayed there with my three year old and two long time friends in the Blue Bonnet Cottage. The cottage was spacious and nicely decorated as were the other two cottages available. Theresa and her daughter really put forth the extra effort by cooking gourmet breakfasts for us both days. And for my son, she made breakfast extra special. The first day a Teddy Bear Muffin and a rooster shaped egg casserole. Oh! she turned his twice baked potato into a mouse. The second day waffles in the shape of a barn and a cow. The breakfast for us alone was spectacular what with parfaits, smoothies, and pecan bread putting but to go the extra mile with my toddler...I felt like royalty!


Excellent Getaway

5 on August 09, 2012

My two girlfriends and I met up in Waco, Texas to enjoy this splendid bed and breakfast. The Pecan Suite was just perfect. The details made up feel to welcomed. The breakfast was so perfect. Teresa really puts her whole heart into every detail in the suite and in preparing the gourmet breakfast. We were truly blessed with Mr. Brent Heath, Mrs Teresa Heath and Amanda's hospitality.


Stunning piece of paradise in Waco

5 on July 25, 2012

The Pecan Tree is delightful. You will not be disappointed. And bring a big breakfast appetite if you're from Texas! - New Zealand visitors July 2012


Home away from home

5 on June 24, 2012

This is now the 2nd time we've stayed at this BnB, and I have to tell you, it just gets better every time. I have stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels, all over the world, and I have never been made to feel more comfortable, or more welcomed, or at home than Brent, Teresa, and Angela make us feel when we're their guests. The rooms are immaculate and homey. You actually feel like you're in the comfort of your own home. The service is first rate and genuine. You truly get the sense that they want to ensure your stay is as pleasant as possible. We already feel like they're our extended family after only 2 stays. We originally stayed on our wedding night a year ago. They remembered us, and had a small wedding cake and chilled bottle of sparkling cider waiting for us when we checked into our room, since it was only a week after our year anniversary. The breakfasts that they serve are out of this world. Not only do they pay attention to the smallest detail, but the quality of the food is amazing. These are arguably the bests breakfasts I have had anywhere in my life, and most, if not all the ingredients, from the veggies to the meat, are organically raised or grown on their own land. They are also located just down the road from Homestead Heritage. So you can plan an extended stay and take some classes in gardening, woodworking, blacksmithing, or a number of other activities. They also have stores where you can purchase a large variety of handmade soaps, crafts, and organic food items made by the folks at Homestead Heritage and they're all wonderful. Lake Whitney and Lake Waco are both only about a 20 minute drive away. There are also a number of local museums close by. If your Texas travel plans do not put you in the Waco area, change them. You're going to miss out on a truly wonderful and relaxing experience. I can’t recommend this place strongly enough.


Home away from home.. But with better food

5 on February 04, 2012

If you are looking for some where really special to stay while in Waco this is worth the trip. My husband and I love The Pecan Tree, and the breakfast is out of this world. I have lived & traveled all over the world and this is number one. It is so clean, well decorated & I can't stress enough you should come for the breakfast


An exceptional place to stay!

5 on January 26, 2012

Our first B&B experience was 6 nights at The Pecan Tree Inn. It exceeded our expectations in every way! Teresa met us in the driveway and made us feel at home! The Cottage was so comfortable and roomy. Home-baked goodies were waiting on the table, and some bottled drinks in the fridge. Wonderfully fragranced home-made soap at the bathroom sink. Extra linens, and a basket with anything you might have forgotten to bring. Teresa, Angela, and Brent were all so thoughtful to accommodate us in every way! But the most amazing thing was breakfast! Every morning we were treated to a different theme, beautifully arranged, and then served three courses of delicious surprises! You will not leave Teresa and Angela's table hungry. The Heath's have truly set a high standard. We want to go back as soon as we can!


Unmatched Customer Service

5 on November 21, 2011

I've stayed in B&Bs before but this one takes the cake in "Service with a Smile". Teresa made our stay feel like "going home to mamma". She greeted us in the driveway and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was more than I expected and has raised the bar for all the B&Bs to come. I am looking to stay a couple days in Tyler, Tx in the next week or so and just hope I can find a place and proprietor as lovey as the Pecan Tree Inn.


Ona a scale of 1 to 10, this place is a 20

5 on November 14, 2011

WOW!!! An absolutely amazing experience for my first stay in a B & B. The Nest is a beautifully appointed home away from home. The special little things the hosts provided made this an extra special place to relax. From the "welcome treat", the drinks in the fridge, the assortment of coffes and teas, sugars and creamers, the basket of items in the bathroom (they thought of everything in case you forgot), the extra towels, the most amazing homemade bar of soap, the candy, the closet of "extra linens", and last but not least, the deck. I cannot think of enough words to descrbe our inkeepers. Teresa is the most gracious woman that made us feel "at home". We spent a lot of time talking with her. She is the most amazing cook. Be prepared for the breakfast of a lifetime. (perfectly cooked, beautifully served). Angela, Brent, and Teresa are treasures and they make you feel "welcomed into their home". I thought of only one negative thing......I had to leave and go home. THANK YOU Teresa, Brent and Angela (she made the very special treets).


Best B&B ever

5 on October 12, 2011

If you are looking for a nice quiet place to stay where the breakfast is worth skipping dinner the night before this is the place to go. We enjoyed our stay so much we are going back again next week..


Lucked Out Finding This Place

5 on September 26, 2011

We stay at B&B's once in a while, I decided to try this because the motel pickings weren't so good and we were extremely pleased with the cleanliness and hospitality afforded to us! The rooms were very clean and loaded with extra treats and breakfast was quite haute!


Outstanding place to stay

5 on August 11, 2011

Great place for a great price. I would have paid the same to stay at a hotel and wouldn't have had breakfast. Great beds and great hostesses. Breakfast was fantastic. We would start with a fruit, then a main course, then a fruit drink and a chocolate for dessert. We didn't eat lunch the whole time we were there.


Sweet Dreams & Bon Apetit

5 on July 29, 2011

Our family's week-long stay was wonderful beyond expectation! In addition to being comfortable, the Inn was beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. The Heath's cheerfully accomodated our schedule. Each morning the formal dining table was arrayed in a new theme. The flowers, tablecloth, china and cloth napkins (different fold each day) backdropped an equally exquisite and delicious gourmet breakfast!


Awesome B&B!

5 on July 26, 2011

What a great stay! The Cottage is spacious and very comfortable. This is the nicest and cleanest bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in. After getting a great night's rest I was treated to a delicious breakfast of Huevos Rancheros. The steak melted in my mouth and food was so plentiful that it kept me until dinner time. Brent, Teresa and Angela know how to take great care of their guests. Thank you for everything. I'll be sure to come back!


Beyond all expectations!

5 on May 02, 2011

Our stay in "The Nest" at the Pecan Tree Inn was definitely one of the highlights of our vacation in Texas. The Heaths ~ Brent, Teresa and Angela go the extra mile in every aspect of their B&B. Their attention to detail is unbelievable ~to name few... there are Heath candy bars on the bedside table, delectable pecan tassies on a doily under a glass dome greet you at the front door ~ saying "eat me now", miniature handmade soap wrapped in cute cellophane bags tied with ribbon plus all the other amenities grace the bathroom ~ I could go on and on!! The king size bed was beautiful as well as soooooooooo comfortable ~ the sheets were like silk! If cleanliness is next to Godliness the Pecan Tree Inn is as close to heaven as you'll ever get on earth!! Oh my goodness I haven't mentioned the breakfast yet... WOW where do I begin... let me tell you it's a 10 on a scale of 5! Again...no detail has been overlooked! Not only is it beautiful but delicious ~ the pecan praline crusted french toast, the steak interlaced with bacon kabobs and the orange mint smoothies were just a few of my favorites! All I can say is... stay at the Pecan Tree Inn ~ you won't be disappointed!!


Hospitality to a new level

5 on April 20, 2011

The Heaths take hospitality to a new level – the divine! Every aspect of a stay at the Pecan Tree Inn is a delight, from your first phone conversation to every detail of your stay. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast – amazing! My husband has said he would pay the price of the stay just for the breakfast, so you get the picture:) The surroundings are peaceful and inviting. The Pecan Tree Inn is great for women, couples, families, and even men, who may be taking a class at the nearby craft village or attending business in the Waco area. Much thought is given to prepare according to individual likes and desires. If you like coffee, expect an amazing cup. If you like hot tea, expect a fun variety. If you’re a man, expect a hearty breakfast fit for a king. We are return visitors to the Pecan Tree Inn and will continue to visit and to share the wonders of this place with others. Every stay has been restful and refreshing, not only to our bodies but our souls. Make Pecan Tree Inn your first choice the next time you’re in Waco or the surrounding area.


Home Sweet Home...Away From Home!

5 on March 31, 2011

Our week long stay couldn’t have been any better! Here are some of the reasons why we will be coming back: We really enjoyed seeing all the cardinals and your garden! A great night’s sleep, the bed was more comfortable than our bed at home! Our gourmet breakfast was incredible! Everything tasted as wonderful as it looked; the table was so beautiful that I had to take a photo before I could eat! This B&B is a couple minutes away from Homestead Heritage where we spent our week at a scheduled woodworking class, watching and talking with the sweet people and craftsmen at the Craft Village, enjoying delicious ice cream and our evening meals at the Homestead Café, shopping at the General Store & the “Barn” admiring all the fine crafts, & planning our next trip back to this great place! Many thanks to the Heath’s of the Pecan Tree Inn! Our vacation was a huge blessing thanks to your personal touches!


The Pecan Tree Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $140
  • Reviews (27) 5
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2547238539
  • Fax 1-2548299694
Top